Adrian Loveridge – Hotel Owner

Debate, whether it takes place in the Upper House, Elected Chamber or through the various forms of media, demonstrates the presence of a healthy democracy, but unless its informed, does it really have any meaningful relevance?

Sometimes you have to stop and think exactly why certain people utter particular things and the timing of those comments. Ultimately they either believe what they saying is credible and truthful or have become a victim of a sudden and virulent attack of verbal diarrhoea. Perhaps what is also so surprising, is why at this time, with a general election constitutionally due in less than a year, would a person voice such controversial words?

Does he feel that his party has no realistic possibility of being re-elected, so it doesn’t really matter if you alienate those generating your single largest contributing sector of foreign exchange. Even from someone who has a long track record of expressing often outrageous and incredulous statements, frequently from a place of rare privilege, this particular verbatim quote must take the biscuit.

The claim was that ‘the private (tourism) sector was 98 per cent profit and 2 per cent social obligation’.

If it wasn’t so grossly insulting and inaccurate, perhaps many of us could excuse it as another puff of political hot air, but the phrase is so critical to the lack of understanding of this industry, it is frightening.

Whatever your partisan leanings, I sincerely believe the private sector has done an extraordinary job of trying to support Government in their attempt to protect employment and these ill-advised words simply slap those in the face that have defied almost insurmountable odds to stay in business. This despite the current administration’s policy of imposing unbudgeted increases in taxation, that without doubt have contributed substantially to the erosion of any possible profits.

Perhaps a wise undertaking might have been before giving the impression that he actually knew something about the subject discussed, would be to check, which if any, of our remaining hotels had declared any corporation tax liability.  At least this might have indicated a realist level of profitability.

Or did this person not hear the remarks made by the President of the Barbados Bankers Association a few weeks ago, where he stated that a staggering 43 per cent of all non performing loans were tourism related.

Sadly, this is another classic example of the increasing use of square pegs in round holes, and will do nothing to endear the thousands of Barbadians dependent on tourism to feed their families, and who may be less forgiving at the ballot box.

Not everyone of course can be an ‘expert’, but if you are clearly deficient on the subject in question, at least do your homework before engaging the mouth into gear. This is not the time for bluster and bravado, but surely to galvanise all the very best players, who can make a positive difference. We all welcome constructive criticism, but let is be based on fact rather than conjecture.

Then finally, ask yourself a simple question, if owning and operating hotels was all about ‘98 per cent profit’, then why would over 30 of them have closed during the last 16 years?

1. To be clear BU is responsible for the title of the submission.

2. Forgive him for he know not of what he speaks. Ever.

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Observing | July 1, 2012 at 6:01 PM
    This bullshit practitioner man, aka “Mr. Physical Deficit”, takes himself rather seriously and promotes himself as a guru in finance and economics with his experience and skills set well honed at CLICO.
    He even fancies himself as the next Minister of Finance should Stuart win the next election; hence his ardent push for public exposure.
    Bajans on the whole, despite widespread education, have little or no grasp of matters finance or economics. So it is very difficult for them to decipher his bullshit from real analysis. All he has to do is call big words and drop some mispronounced jargon terms (physical deficit for fiscal deficit) and Bajans would elevate him to the same status to that of a sweet talking preacher man. Those so-called economists and accountant who know that the bull shitter is an intellectual fraud are themselves dishonest and hypocritical for not exposing or showing up the fake. He seems to carry lots of sway in the inner political quarters and like his mentor Leroy P, has lots of dirt on the pols. Even those in Parliament and the hierarchy of the DLP- of whom very few (most of them bullshit artist lawyers anyway) know their financial elbow from their economic arse- see him as an influential spokesperson on financially technical matters.

4. Jepter Ince is a physically small candidate but I understand that he has disproportionately large feet, and by extension disproportionately large toes … So Mr. Ince must have a disproportionately large mouth to boot huh … particularly when that mouth can still be used to speak when there is a disproportionately large toe lodged in it …!

5. i won’t be surprised if most of the public agrees with him .because people are sick and tired of giving to the big shots especially in hard and depressed times when the poor is having to carry a big share of the load and these people have no conscience and shame bamboozling the taxpayers for money. SICK AND TIRED! in times of plenty the hotel industry should have planned and managed the excessive money for days like now!the public don’t want to hear their sorry a”sss stories they have their own problems to worry about.,if the shoe fits wear it

6. @ac

This has nothing to do with the poor. This is about some feeling that Ince took a cheap shot at the private sector which has held up its end of the bargain by not sending home people en-mass in the last 3-years.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

There will be a dearth of contributions on this topic coming from the DLP apologists and sycophants.
    Do No expect to hear from ac, !, to the point, FracturedBLP, BLPNationNewspaper and that ilk!

8. they the ones that started talking all this BS about govt not meeting with them after all the years of collecting cu zillion of dollars . now pray tell me was it a decent thing for the outgoing head of the bht to publicly criticised the PM for not meeting with him after in fact he did have a meeting with the minister of finance, as for the poor we are the taxpayers and we are the ones who subsidises these big companies . so when i am hurting i cant run to the govt and demand this and that like them they they have no conscience and in reality it is all about self first.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 1, 2012 at 7:01 PM |
    By marginalising and decrying the two most important forex earners (tourism and international business) this DLP administration is surely digging its own grave.
    But then again ‘ac” you can always blame your favourite bogey OSA for everything going wrong in the country since you can see his DNA behind every criticism of this DLP administration.

10. @ac

To clarify, Ince’s statement was directed at the private sector which Adrian has embraced to include the tourism sector. It is not correct to define the issue based on the recent incident with the BHTA,

11. miller
    it is easy to take your stance. But when things were good the hotel industry got whatever they needed but now when things are bad they pull out the bully horn and stands in the pulpit and stares down the govt tantamount to blackmail if you ask me . No business in their right mind who have an appreciation of what the government has done for them over the years reacts in such a self serving way. right now the people have had enough . when one goes others would come others hopefully that would understand and appreciate

12. well they all the same waiting for handouts and people have had enough;

13. Again this is not about BHTA Vs the government. Yes the government has given incentives BUT the tourist industry is the only sector which generates most of the forex needs of country and then there is the trickle down affect of the industry. It is (should be) a hand and glove relationship. The fact that we have an adversarial relationship taking root reflects poorly on the leadership of both players.

14. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

@david
    Adversarial is an understatement. Take Sinckler’s wrap up for example.

Leave out the ones you can’t win or draw even on. Jepter talked rubbish (as usual). By the way, is your statement that the poor is having to carry a big share of the load your actual opinion? I’m asking before I jump to conclusions.

15. @ observing
    yes that load of s…ht the BLPeft behind.

16. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Somehow I find myself agreeing with AC. The hotel sector of the tourist industry has been given more than most over the years. In times of plenty they have siphoned off the profits with little regard to the long term or even to the country. They knew full well that they were pivotal to the economy and blackmailed the country with their demands. Just recently, one of them with an overrated sense of importance was critical of the PM because Mr. Stuart did not jump immediately when they cracked the whip. Who the hell do they think they are? You might not like Stuart’s style but as PM, but he is still entitled to respect, especially from someone with cup in hand.

Now that I got that off my chest, let me get back to the pompous hoteliers who think that this country owe them a living while most of them do little to pull their own weight. Most of them rely on Government to do their marketing and do nothing but wait for the tourist to land on their doorsteps.

In times of plenty, they creamed off the profits, didn’t put any aside for a rainy day and continue to pay pittance with a compliant union to keep the staff in subjection. They use the service charge for purposes for which it was not intended, and rob the frontline staff of their tips to do what the service charge was intended to do.

They do not deserve our tears. I have no idea if Jepter’s numbers are correct but his sentiments are correct. Don’t mind Mr. Loveridge’s continual griping, Government continue to deprive itself of revenue that should have been generated from the hotel industry, and instead continue to pump resources into an ungrateful industry.

17. @Caswell

Missing in your analysis is the high operations cost associated with the industry. It is why most of the hotels in Barbados cannot afford to pay the high bank rates to acquire loans to upgrade their plant. The problem at hand requires that both sides calm their testosterone level and work this out.

This government dismembered the BTA Board soon after assuming office and has not addressed the reconstituted Board to date. There was also the promise of a Master Plan, nothing!

18. Visiting Alabama Avatar
    Visiting Alabama

The hotel sector plays an important role in earning forex but the hotel sector was not elected by us 300,000 Bajans to govern our country Barbados. The role of the hotel sector is different to the role of the government and the hoteliers must learn to work with government and stop the greed, the moaning and criticising.

Can any one bring an example of the hotel sector applauding a governemnt effort to assist hoteliers? Over the years billions in incentives, marketing support, concessions have been pumped into hotels from black taxpayers money. They are no poor hoteliers they all live very large most are extremely wealthy even as hotel workers barely make ends meet. Big players in the tourism sector act as if its their divine right to talk down to government and the people.

Jepter Ince is bang on target government provides an over generous enabling environment for hoteliers yet they complain. They’re worse than Ian Burns and Bizzy Williams the Redjet freeloaders. Loveridge and Dass are dead wrong. Where are these two from anyway did their foreparents shed their blood in the streets fighting white racists for freedom in apartheid colonial Barbados?

My great great grands rioted and died in that noble struggle yet today we have the tourism and business sectors thriving in a form of colonial household. The people giving orders with the moneybags are white/foreign, the workers and hewers of wood indigenous blacks.

19. @David

do u think any business bout here got a social reponsibility? I would say no, they are interested in returns on investments. The unions have given the private sector a lot of leeway in not asking for isunstantial ncreses to match inflation, despite a lot of them making huge profits for their shareholders. In this regad, they have some small socail reponsibility to reciprocrate, so i found nothing wrong with mr. ince statement.

Businesses about here want too much handouts, when they get soft loans would they reduce their prices to become competitive. I say no. Businesses feel tyey are doing the country a favour by employing people, they employ people to increase their capital over their initial capital to creates further wealth. Charities have a socail responsibilty to the community.

20. @To the point

Why would many of the hotels keep their staff when they can easily under-employ or send home?

21. i read some comment on why the DLP did not levy the waste fee on the business and i dare to say that the govt would have had a hard time collecting the fee plus when all is said and done most of the busineess would have passed it on to the consumer in one form or another at a higher rate and on top of that the govt would still not have collected sufficient from them the a;;ss holes are playing a deadly game of russian roulette with the public and at one point or another it is going to boil over people dont like to be taken advantage of.usually in times like these are when peoples patience runs out. this is another example of them not being trusted. i know that the country and govt needs their help but it seems that much is given and not much received,

22. wait david you think these people are keeping their staff out of generosity they received financial support from the govt. these business are the kings and queens of welfare why pass up on a freebie letting the employee go means losing money. look at it this way less tourist means less cost for them so even though they might be losing the backup the govt provides help them to break even.these people cry only to those like yoursel who would listen the public knows their tricks all too well!it is about time someone put them in their place.

23. @ac

The big point here is that the government MUST manage this situation. Now is NOT the time to be picking fights with your key stakeholder in the economy.

24. @David

do u think they will keep tehir staff if they are not breaking even. I say know. By the way they have a facility when they are not doing well in the summer months they laff off their staff and they get unemployment benefits.

they are to blaste avaricous they just want and want and want and want and some of them dont even want to pay their water bills becasue it is a government department. How many of them do their own marketing? i am tired with this warp thinking that they can go some place else and invest their capital.

Why didnt they do that in the first place.

@Adrian

The hotel industry in particular want too much handouts. Thats why perhaps they are uncompetitive in the first place.

25. @Caswell

you just said that. Lord have mercy Caswell supporting stuart on some thing, As I said before that foreigner woman Dass or Ass or whatever she named want a piece of bajan tongues, and as for colin Jumpstart he want a public shipping.

26. I think his name is Joseph a lecturer at UWI who writes a column in the Nation. Last week he laid into the hotel industry for their avarice and ingratitude. He posits its not just Barbados but across the Caribbean wherever tourism is the lead industry pompous hoteliers call the shots and play the ass.

27. @Miller the Nuke

You have heard from me. and what do u have to say now u have heard from me. I expect you, the scout, prodical, island gal an enuff to agree with adrian.

28. I have said before these hotel owners only operate well when there is something like TIRF which placed $ 25 mil in their hands without a cent having to be paid back to taxpayers.

Why is it when this govt made $10mil available for hotel upgrades not one cent was borrowed or accessed?

Maybe because they knew that they would have to pay it back also why is it that somewhere like the Crane Beach Hotel is never in the news or with cap in hand to the govt?

All the while these same hotel owners are able to maintain lavish lifestyles and maintain homes in London, Austria, Portugal and New York and Toronto?

Where you think that the money that was used to buy these lavish properties came from in the first place it came from the proceeds of the labour of hardworking Bajans in these same hotels that now is cap in hand looking for more goodwill and more hand outs.

Give me a break guys other areas of the Barbados economy deserves assistance as well, this group spends not a cent to market their properties and then the govt pays airlines to bring people and put those people in the same hotels that do no marketing of their properties, sounds like an excellent business to be involved in a win win however you look at it.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ To the point | July 1, 2012 at 9:41 PM |
    “@Miller the Nuke”

I might have a big weapon but it is not a Nuke and it would be pointing at your rear (LOL!!). I leave the nuking to the electorate who will drop an electoral nuclear bomb on the DLP that would put a supernova to shame.

Since you feel the hoteliers in Barbados are such a greedy, exploitative and wicked bunch who have not an iota of national commitment or concern for the long-term survival of Barbados why not advise the DLP administration to nationalise the industry so that the likes of you can mange it as part of the fatted calf and replace the greedy white bastards and their black lackeys and house slaves.

30. WHATS all the fuss about people ???
    They could talk chalk we do not want Jepster Ince, Freundel Stuart and dem so in Government again
    Enjoy it now because come Election day it will be

BEES=29 Seats
    DLP = 0 Seat
    INDEPENDENT= 1

WUNNAH think this cant happen ?
    WUNNAH think it is joke ?
    Wait and wunnah going see
    Things happen !
    Look the West Indies win two games back to back
    Anything is possible !

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

To the Point

Are you crazy? I am a Barbadian first and foremost and with that comes the right to criticise the PM. However, I will never concede that people who come to this country can disrespect our PM no matter who the PM happens to be. I don’t care what they bring, they should never be allowed to feel comfortable enough to talk down to the PM. If some are too partisan to have any national pride that is their business, but I take offence when you can lump me in with them.

I will criticise the PM or anyone else when I think that such is merited; also I will praise whoever is worthy of such praise without regard to party lines.

32. @Cassy

i was with you on that, dont be so touchy i would like to cuss them who come here disrespecting our leaders regardless to b or d.

33. @Miller the frustrated

and when ever we leave govt for you and the blp to manage it like gems

34. ac

Man you is so much trouble these days … I remember when you did a sweet young chile … Man now you kickin’ gun powder all ’bout de place … ha ha ha. Girl you is trouble …. HA HA HA

Caswell

I see you pun TV tonight. Man I know you trying but I find it hard to tek you seriously and I just don’ know why …!

Just Asking

I thought you promise to lef de place … Wah happen, you change yah mind?

35. @anon

there is a guy names tennyson joseph who writes in the nation

36. The way some of these people refer to PM Stuart they would have thought twice if it were Arthur and that is for sure.

37. David maybe because PM Stuart is to decent a person and does not call people at 5.00 am in the morning and cuss them in the worst way, and Lord I pray that he never goes that route. There is absolutely no need for it and people deserve better from their leader.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@To the point | July 1, 2012 at 10:47 PM |

“. and when ever we leave govt for you and the blp to manage it like gems ”

I might be frustrated but not shallow.
    You don’t even realise when you are being laughed at. Have you not heard about sarcasm?
    You are just a lot of hot air. If the tourism sector is so badly managed why not do something about it? I challenge you to offer alternative solutions to deal with the ailing tourism industry.
    BTW, we are still waiting on the execution of the plan to divest the Gems toxic assets so eloquently enunciated with much braggadocio by Estwick. Time is certainly longer than twine!
    Before your intellectual point becomes more dull and in need of sharpening please answer this question:
    Is the DLP administration still paying the bills of the properties in the GEMS portfolio?

If the DLP administration is so competent then we would not expect the hotel properties under its ownership and management to suffer the same fate as those owned and managed by those people you so stridently denounce.

39. WHAT are you talking bout BAFBFP ?
    Nobody paid me any mind but
    I am/was seriously thinking about not ‘asking” on this blog again because all I come and do is ask questions and every now and again some jackass always interfering with me and telling me shite .

I dont attack any commenter on this blog and I dont know why some people cannot see pass the ” person’ and deal with issues-stupid persons dem !. I hate the shit because there is nobody on this blog that can curse worse than me–I guarantee that !
    SO I dont know why some people does interfere with me for just asking a question or questions .

Usually when I cuss them out, they back off. I aint frighten ! I just want people to answer my questions , debate some issues and forget the ad hominen bullshit or leave me to my own machinations.
    ANYHOW –WARNING—-Something EARTH SHATTERING IS ABOUT TO HAPPEN IN THIS COUNTRY WITHIN TWO WEEKS—SOMETHING POLITICAL.
    It is going to make Watergate look like Cheesecake-(soft and pappy in comparison)
    THE DLP will suffer serious collateral damage as a result.
    Keep your ears to the ground (key)
    Earth shattering–
    Ground –(Hint )
    You get it ??

JUST ASKING !

IN ANY CASE AFTER Elections, IT WILL BE
    BLP=29 Seats
    DLP-0 Seat
    INDEPENDENT=1 Seat

40. Is the DLP administration still paying the bills of the properties in the GEMS portfolio?

The answer is NO this burden was removed from taxpayers by the actions of this DLP Gov’t and this DLP Minister of Tourism and Prime Minister.

41. Mash up & buy back Avatar
    Mash up & buy back

When will all of this ‘constant beating up on this DLP Government’ end?It has become nauseating to read article after article,comment after comment by BLP bloggers and their operatives trying to paint this administration as the worse thing since Satan.

I mean to say man,cud-dear,haven’t they done anything right?

This place is really becoming depressing – nothing uplifting at all.On one hand you have 5 or 6 BLP politicians/bloggers taking up 75% 0f the blog with their comments and on the other hand 2 or 3 regular DLP die-hards trying to put up a defence.

There is nothing wrong in having a good,vigorous political debate but shoite man must we always have onions and prodigal son taking up most of the blog with their postings saying the same thing over and over?.A post with 350 posts and 225 belong to those 2.It is really hard therefore to skip past all of that.
    These days I just look for a new name and try to see if they are bringing anything fresh and give onions,prodigal and ac a rest,although ac is not as bad as those 2 with their frequency.

Steupes,just saying.

42. The essence of the contributor’s argument is that when a representative of government speaks it is important that he/she is FACTUAL. His argument is not about whether or not the tourism industry is beyond reproach.
    Small wonder the DLP policies are ineffective because they are not evidence-based. We like mediocrity and the dunce.

43. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Rational Son,

I am not really sure you can say NO. Two of the three remaining hotels have been leased. The taxpayer has absolulety no idea if the lease payments cover the ‘investment’ costs. And who is paying the bills for Blue Horizon?
    During the last four and a half years of a DLP administration when were the last audited accounts made public for Hotels and Resorts Ltd (GEMS)?

44. The claim was that ‘the private (tourism) sector was 98 per cent profit and 2 per cent social obligation’

This statement is totally illogical and either an admission of theft by the GOB or defamatory … or both.

It is illogical because if 98 percent is profit then the corporation tax paid to Government would be astronomical and would in the main, be applied to social services.

Unless the GOB is not applying these funds to social services (stealing the taxes) then it can’t be right to claim a lack of social obligation.

The GOB must then be guilty of theft.

On the other hand, if the intent is to say that the hoteliers are not paying their taxes or are evading the bulk, well then somebody getting defamed ….. unless it is true!!

Does Parliamentary privelege apply to the upper house?

What if members of the upper house defame members of the lower house?

My suspicion is that GOB revenues from corporation taxes are down which is consistent with the observable fact that there has been closure of many hotels.

45. @John

The comment by Ince is not meant to be interpreted the way you did, he intended to show that in the case of government the focus is on more on social obligation compared to the private sector.

46. @mash up

Your comment reinforces the point Peter Wickham makes all the time. The BLP base is more active and energetic while the DLP is happy to sulk and run off some where in the corner. It is why the BLP is doing the front running with the election fast approaching.

BTW BU had a look at the dashboard and Prodigal Son is not in the top 10 of commenters on BU. What you might fine is that on particular blogs commenters comment more. Advise to you is to make your comment, defend your comment and don’t worry about the others. Last general election period it was the reverse.

47. @Miller the narcacist

that should tell you something, your proposed sarcasm did not reach its target. By the way mr. Know all, wasnt one of the gems’ hoteel gotten rid off and you are so smart and in the loop and didnt know that

48. @David

agree with you with reference to john.

49. Mash up

yah dont read none the shoite i write. i does read yours so u better read mines according to the little chilren before i cuss yah like ah want to cuss Colin Jordan, that Dass woan and miller the hopeless.

50. @Miller

how the hotsause business going? You aint shallow u aint got no brain cells functioning so you could as well join me in the category of a dunce, come to the back of the class with me where the dunces are found. i welcome your comany.

I gone bosie got to go an open the little shop to a mek a dollar, ah got to fire a little R S Seale white so i can cuss yah later mr. know all.