Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, World Heritage Ceremony at the Garrison Savannah

The acceptance ceremony to officially recognize Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison by UNESCO was staged today (16/6/2012). It is a recognition all Barbadians should be proud, those concerned with preserving our history and recognizing the added value to our tourism product.

It is therefore unfortunate the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) did not attend the ceremony, We have reached a period in our existence where how we practice politics in Barbados has become unacceptably divisive.ย  This evening’s occasion is one where the political directorate needed to show the nation we are Barbadians first and political adversaries second.If we continue along the current path, to wear red, blue or yellowย  will become very problematic a la Jamaica. BUT it has already started!

92 responses to “Barbados Labour Party No-Show At World Heritage Inscription Ceremony”

1. old onion bags Avatar

Man wha foolishness ya talking…Onions did dey with a big able BLP Bajan entourage….you all din hear Glyne blowing the conch shell ..interrupting FUNDY in the back ground….

2. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

David you are dead wrong on this one. like most other things, this World Heritage Site thing is one big joke to this government. so if the BLP was not there so what. this was a waste of taxpayers money, the event today.

3. @David (not BU)

You are aware that some from the BLP on this blog have claimed credit for starting the inscription process?

4. Dame Billie Miller worked assiduously to transform Bridgetown and the Garrison area to pave the way for this designation.

When the delegation went up to put the case to receive the designation, Stephen Lashley took all the praise and glory, so much so that even the technocrats who went to Paris were annoyed that he took all the praise….I, I, I, I, my, my, my, my! Not even a mention in passing of Dame Billie’s work, yet for everything else, they blame the BLP. Who can ever forget the St John Polyclinic man, who bombarded Brasstacks and Tell It Like It Is daily lambasting the BLP for wasting money refurbishing George Washington House? Now that place is a revenue earner, hosting wedding receptions, cocktail parties and Christmas parties for companies. It is a tourist attraction.

I agree with the Bees, leave the Dems to themselves, let them baste in all the glory, let them take all the praise. Let’s face it, the Dems play politics very dirty and very hard.

5. a dam shame is that the kind of leadership barbados is clamouring for. A g,,,d dam shame!but then again not surprising.

6. Trust you to come with that response. The DLP has no respect for the BLP and until the DLP learn manners and protocol, the Bees will keep to themselves. You all think that the same ghetto behaviour that you all carry on in George Street is acceptable behaviour!

7. old onion bags Avatar

We really scraping on this one ….chez… ac why you don’t tell Chef to free up some money in the system for the people who probably got one tin sardines to eat tonight…. sharing amongst 6…and can’t bother whether we World Heritage or World dredage..? More n more we becoming like the bourgeoisie around the time of Louis IIX..before the French Revolution.
    …. probably be redirected to the recipe for blackbird soup… anyhow

8. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

@David (not BU)

You are aware that some from the BLP on this blog have claimed credit for starting the inscription process?

David that is their problem. we got the status just about a year ago, what has the BTA done to promote us as a World Heritage Site?

please don’t point me to the BTA’s website. do you know it is persons outside of the BTA and government who had to inform tour operators in the USA and UK markets about Barbados as a World Heritage Site? those persons who did are the ones who stand to make money directly from it.

Richard Sealy, Adrian Elcock down the line don’t care about our World Heritage status because they don’t stand or have no found a way to make money directly from it as yet.

9. old onion bags Avatar

@Prodigal
    At long last we find a worthy opponent to debate Chris…here goes …

10. If Owen Arthur dont go to Parliament where he gets a large sum of public monies you think he and his hacks will to attend a World Heritage ceremony for which he will not be paid? Steupse!

11. Observing (and learning) Avatar
    Observing (and learning)

were all the cabinet there?
    was the opposition invited?
    Has credit ever been given to those who worked pre-2008?

We already know the bitter personal and acrimonious partisanship that has crept and cemented itself in our politics. the question is, who will be the mature statesman/stateswoman and address or counter it? I mean geese, even within parties there are political divides….

just observing

12. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

David I wouldda like to go to the ceremony, but at 4:30 I was working so that I can pay taxes and had no time to stand at the Garrison. Why was the ceremony at 4:30, instead of at 5:30 when more people would have finished work and could come? I expect some of the BLP were at work too.

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13. i was at work too and i get off at 6,30 why was it not at 6.30 instead 4.30. the bajan mentality all about me. the blp was working too steupsee

14. Great ceremony this evening – Proud to be Bajan. Tell the opposition to grow up!
    The initial meetings about national heroes day in Barbados were chaired by then Minister of Culture Hon. David Thompson in the late 80’s and early 90’s but the BLP took it and set it up on Grantley Adams birthday for obvious reasons.
    This UNESCO World Heritage designation is another arsenal in our tourism marketing strategy. Congratulations to the competent and caring DLP government and the people of Barbados.

15. What is even more astounding and sad is that the girl Bradshaw who sells herself as a champion of the Cultural Industries did not see it worthy or worthwhile to attend a national function that puts Barbados in PRIME FOCUS in the World of Cultural Focus, she maybe stuggling with her boyfriend either Stacie or Tony to decide which dress he wanted to wear to the event today.

But I totally agree with David today should have been bigger than any party and Barbdos was on show to trhe world but not a person saw it fit to represent the jokers of the BLP.

16. Patriotism have no political leanings ! country first and party second BLP a visionless party. can;t see the forrest for the trees.

17. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

waste, waste and more waste. so somebody think it was a good idea to fly in Rupee to perform for 5 mins. and fly him back out?

i feel really good as a bajan to hear his sound but really? that is just stupid.

18. David Not BU nothing nearly as wasteful as the Unfinished Newton Building or the waste on your prison or the $ 47 mil paid to an invisble operator in Danos 3 S or the $ 6 mil Tony Hoyos, Brewer, Arthur and Malik with teeth Mascoll carried away from HARDWOOD HOUSING, or the $ 400 mil on the Oval or the US $ 50 million on Barney’s fantasy cruise to nowhere on a payment by the BLP to Carnival Cruise lines, this was money spent for the national good and everyone saw how and what it was spent on, you are a shallow and empty vessel really you are.

19. how can a party who has a leader who wants to LEAD this country again has no RESPECT for the country at a time when unity would have been more appreciated and welcomed .this is a once in a lifetime ceremony and for the opposition not to show up as a show of support for the country is a disgrace and reeks of political anomosity something that was undeserving and unwarranted to the nation at such an historic occasion

20. David (not BU) Avatar

HARDWOOD HOUSING? wanna coming back with that shite? boy wanna real holding on to shite.

21. look ration! in them numbers i already counted about 500MILLION IN WASTE plus plus the ones we don’t know about and then there was about another 200mill given to some conartist in nigeria who was to build solar company and the money went into thin air .these guy have gorilla teeth even if it is nailed down OSA and his merry band would figure a way to rip it up.

22. My God, you Dems, ac and the newbies on this blog are going to get heart attacks from the shock of losing the election. I pity wunnah!

Wunnah desperate, desperate, desperate.

23. ac,
    You are an authority on morals, can you tell the BU family how a member of this DLP cabinet is able to be constructing a block of condominiums in this day and age!

24. Observing (and watching) Avatar
    Observing (and watching)

Well well well, looka life

After almost complete radio silence for 48 hours, the only thing that the DLP “stalwarts” can jump on and shout again about is this post. well well well…

Try and learn how to deal with and respond to ALL issues. Even the ones that make you look bad and crucify your arguments for re-election.

Otherwise your protestations and mouthings at the “sugarcake” issues will have no relevance. At the very least you’ll get points for standing up and fighting no matter what.

25. Just being objective Avatar
    Just being objective

The BLP could not attend when they would be busy spending time to deal with the confusion that currently surrounds that party . Hear Arthur today , according to the Nation newspaper : ” REDjet might still have been flying if the Barbados Government had honoured financial commitments to the collapsed airline ” . it is well known that he does not attend Parliament to find out what is going on in the “poor-rakey ” place , but it seems he does not try to find out what is happening within his own party either . All will remember when Prime Minister Stuart hinted in Washington that the Government might be willing to provide a rescue package for REDjet his spokesman on tourism NOEL LYNCH was emphatic ..NOT ONE RED CENT OF THE BARBADIAN TAX PAYERS MONEY SHOULD BE PLACED TOWARDS REDjet . Indeed , this stand by Lynch could be considered consistent with the stand the BLP took when former PM Thompson tried to salvage the few thousand jobs at CLICO by making a LOAN to CLICO. It is noteworthy that that loan HAS BEEN PAID BACK without fanfare . Lynch should therefore now ask Arthur for an explanation of his rather perverse stand on REDjet .
    According to Arthur ” AN INVESTMENT HAS BEEN LEFT STRANDED”
    Arthur can’t be serious ! Is this the same man who , as Minister of Finance from 1994 to 2008 presided over the destruction of CLICO , talking about investments left stranded ? Hear him again ” REDjet has been left high and dry and there has to be a response from Government . This issue goes beyond REDjet . It goes to the very core of governance .” Coming from Arthur in light of his attitude to CLICO this is nothing but EMPTY RHETORIC and he should get Noel Lynch’s opinion on it . After all , Lynch is the expert on that side and he has already spoken. But Arthur must be reminded that GOOD GOVERNANCE IS ABOUT CONSISTENCY IN ADMINISTRATIVE CONDUCT . Oh that he had spoken with such eloquence when attempts were being made to rescue CLICO .
    Arthur has asked that the ministers come out and clear the air on REDjet ; he must also insist that NOEL LYNCH come out and REEXPLAIN his position..THE BLP’S position on REDjet .

26. Just being objective, these jokers do not have a moral or solid base from which to move left or right they hopping skipping and jumping here there and everywhere with focus, lets try saying this and see if it resonates with the voters, that did not work lets try something else, that did not work either lets hop on the next bandwagon, a pathetic and sad bunch, led by an insipid thief in Arthur, who can no longer endure the rigors of the full day of sitting in the parliament of Barbados but wants to advise people from the village rum shop ?

27. Any business that can not sustain itself past the first year does not need to be saved by government, reason being that most business does not make a profit in its early years, and should aim to at least brek even. If it cant get past the first year, in all likelihood there is no hope for it.

The investors should have enough capital to invest in the business to take it through the lean period, i am appalled that OSA is calling on govt to explain why it did not rescue the airline. He should be asking why the investors did not continue to pump money into Red Jet. Surely, this is an attempt to score cheap politcal points. Didnt the cadre poll stated that the majority of barabdains objecte to pumping money into Red Jet. The people of Barbados must be jack asses to supprt govt to invest in what turns out to be a poorly conceived business strategy. Red Jet was aware of the market conditions when it lauched its strategy, which turned out to be poorly conceptualised.

I am tired of these businesses looking for us to prop up their businesses and when they are flourishing no benefits redound to the said govt. If they are given a stimulus, they expect this said stimulus to be a grant and not a loan.

I have read nothing in Sunday’s paper where the govt stated definitley that it was going to rescue Red Jet. Perhaps, the ownere of Red jet believe by making such public statmentes it can impact on the govt’s creditability. I say to the govt not one red cent. it is a private company, let the irishman and bizzy put their money where their mouth is,. Take the opportunity to either come with a new strategy or let it die. I gone.

28. @observing

This is the point of the post. It does not matter all the excuses being offered, the opposition should have been in attendance. We are becoming too polarized with politics at the center of it. History has recorded the event and it does not matter the silly reasons offered the BLP was not in attendance.

29. Observing (and watching) Avatar
    Observing (and watching)

“We are becoming too polarized with politics at the center of it.”

Truer words couldn’t have been said. Hence we now look for the emergence of a nationalist politician rather than a party one. Ironically that eliminates a number of “top” contenders.

30. Hey, wait one minute. Who started beautifying Bridgetown and its environs? Who started Trevor’s Way, The boardwalk by the Careenage, The south coast boardwalk and was working on the Marina. Come on people, after the artist conceptualised and completed the painting, up comes someone and sign his name on the piece of art. Sounds familiar.

31. “Patriotism have no political leanings ! country first and party second BLP a visionless party. can;t see the forrest for the trees”

tell that to your DLP party; review the comments particularly those of the then leadership after the decision by the International Tribunal in Barbados’s case against Trinidad and you will be astonished at the conclusion that can be drawn as to DLP support in the issue.

32. old onion bags Avatar

How the DLP could be smelling so much HELL ..and they still find time the whole night to talk shite about attending a ceremony boogles ? What matters was how Stuart made it a point for Sealy to open the first plaque and his position of prominence on the stage.Having the other members of the Eager 11 sit in their place like back street boys.Of note was Stuart’s composure deep in reflection and strain during the whole facade…he was not comfortable nor pleased…Something is brewing and these DLP yard birds in camouflage ran to their favorite watering whole to cool and drink stupid-ends milk……
    When a DLP born loyal could tell me last night ..he like many others will not be voting..as with many other old boys, because such is their disposition this time and they KNOW the DLP will lose this elections is more a matter for concern than this cool off ass thread…..Stop encouraging lampoons…DLP in deep shit and distractions like this is just wasting good on the ground canvassing time…..I know the people reading BU were not fooled….WE WERE NOT…..Stuart is about to pull the plug on all you sorry ass birds and go home and draw his pension for LIFE …and you bare necked birds….will be sucking salt…think about that you losers of a ensonged time…….NOW WHO GOT THE LAST LAUGH….Eager or Stuarty…HA HA HA HA !

33. “I have read nothing in Sundayโ€™s paper where the govt stated definitley that it was going to rescue Red Jet. Perhaps, the ownere of Red jet believe by making such public statmentes it can impact on the govtโ€™s creditability”

Let me make my position clear. i have no beef for LIAT because i think that rater than clean up its management deficiencies, it takes advantage of a travelling public because ot its monopolyof the market. I therefore welcome any other airline which would offer Liat competition and offer the travelling public an alternative. That is why the entry of REDJET into the market was a sight for sore eyes. However, anyone remotely familiar with the travelling industry and the complexities of travelling to Caribbean destinations would have recognised that Redjet”s efforts to undercut LIAT by offering uncompetitive fares was unsustainable and their demise was theerfore imminent.
    I cannot support the use of taxpayers money to bail out a private sector business which did not employ sound business practices and from which i would not obtain shareholder benefit were the business successful.
    Where the Government’s creditability has been battered and can perhaps be called into question is the seemingly inability of the government to provide definitive and confident leadership on the isssue but have flip-flopped time and time again in their decison making by inundating the public with inconclusive statements on the issue.

34. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

The biggest untold and unexposed story in Barbados is how Owen Arthur, Kaymar Jordan, Sanka Price converse daily and orchestrate the BLP campaign through the Nation newspaper.
    Here is the story:
    Arthur is guaranteed either front page, back page or page 3 – all high profile pages anytime he speaks at a BLP branch meeting even if he says nothing new. The coverage from the Sunday BLP meeting will usually appear for THREE Days- Mon, Tues, Wed.

Political Spin on the economy
    Arthur then coordinates Mascoll’s weekly column to ensure certain political points are made repeatedly.
    Has anyone ever realised that Clyde Mascoll and Sanka Price seem to make the exact same points on the economy week after week. That is not coincidence, that is coordination.Hoyos is also part of this set up. He is the Sunday attack dog.
    Along obviously with going after the PM, the BLP’S next target is Finance Minister Sinckler. It is not a coincidence that Mascoll, Albert Brandford and Pat Hoyos target Sinckler each week in their “columns”. That is the mandate from Roebuck street.

The “fly on the Nation wall” has also stated Arthur and Nation newspaper editor Kaymar Jordan are in daily contact by cell phone and you will definitely not see any columnists at the Nation publicly criticising Arthur. The Nation columnists are actually like daily communications specialistS for the BLP.
    Arthur and the BLP now have the biggest newspaper in Barbados in their political pocket and the next aim to to regain control of statefunded CBC.
    Barbadians reading the Nation newspaper think that they are getting fair and balanced reporting are getting a carefully coordinated BLP public relations campaign.

35. old onion bags Avatar

corr : evensong time

36. old onion bags Avatar

DISTRACTIONS…even more…REDJET., NewsPaper WARS ! LOL…..DLP engrossed in a ritual of TALK ABOUT ANYTHING BUT THE INEVITABLE…..Stuart bullet that coming.,,and it COMING SOON !

37. “It is therefore unfortunate the opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) did not attend the ceremony”
    you seem to have contacts on both sides of the fence which is the hallmark of a good investigative reporter.
    can you confirm whether the appropriate official invitations were sent to the office of the Leader of the Opposition?

38. World Heritage site? Lottas long talk. Seen Culloden Farm, the official residence of the first PM of Barbados (National Hero) and a beautiful designed property in its own right?

Looks like a DUMP!

Heritage my xxx.

39. “Looks like a DUMP” and one would think that the BLP would have used some of the billions they had to remodel and refurbish that residency after all they had plenty time to do so. but i guess that was never one of their priorities? 14years and still nothing of historical consequence to show all left for the DLP to do which according to BLP must be done in 4years.OSA a master of PERCEPTION.

40. @Crusoe

Where is the logic in your argument?

If Bridgetown and its historic garrison met the UNESCO criteria and is verily designated this is the point.

It is up to stakeholders/leaders in society to sensitive by their actions.

How can we expect Barbadians to be culturally and environmentally aware and yet be so poorakey when it comes to leading the way?

Some matters require a bipartisan approach full stop.

41. old onion bags Avatar

If Old houses in town are so important…(enough to be given a lil ensign plaque)…yet the buildings falling down around them for want of repair….why not give the owners some money to repair or better still you(Govt) repair them…..so that the owners could continue to live comfortably and be part of “the heritage.”…and not die in an old building with a plaque ?

42. @Onions

Before you comment sometimes you should think carefully.

43. old onion bags Avatar

“.Neither irony or sarcasm is an argument….”

44. @Onions

Let us phrase it for you. Prodigal Son et al confirmed that Dame Billie and the BLP started the inscription process. Let us agree therefore that both political parties are onside with the initiative. Let us begin the debate from this point. You see this is what is tearing up Barbados, the COLOURS.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Let me rephrase it for you ..this is how I see this thread…

old onion bags | June 14, 2012 at 5:08 AM |

46. @Onions

No surprises there, you are as predicable on the issues as the West Indies will lose…lol.

47. old onion bags Avatar

Spiritual stagnation is but one sign when a man becomes unpredictable. ….so be it…..guess Stuart would have preferred predictable….

48. @ David-
    Correct me if Im wrong but wasnt Redjet a big topic on this blog before and it suprised blog readers like myself the huge amount of incentives and concessions government gave Redjet to set up shop here. What else could the government do? Were Freundel to give Bizzy and Burns $8million to put in their pockets to help Redjet the BLP attack dogs would ask why that money wasnt spent to save jobs at Almond or give back the BLP agitators in CLICO the money they voluntarily risked looking to get rich quick.

Redjet started up under a ruse never disclosing its true financial position. Bizzy Williams who has way too much power in our island demanded government approve the routes LIAT flies for Redjet although MOF Sinkler and Sen Maxine Maclean said part of the agreement was that Redjet was to fly the outer bands of the region which were more cost effective for their aircraft. Suriname, Jamaica and Guyana comes to mind but Bizzy and Burns wanted St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Trinidad, Grenada the LIAT short hop money earners. They wanted governement to drop or scale down support for LIAT and put money into Redjet.

With more financial candour, less misplaced aggression and more professional management from Redjet backers the airline may still be flying. Redjet abruptly stopped flying without the courtesy of informing the Minister of Int Transport or its paid up passengers. Lest we forget Jamaica refused to allow Redjet to start up there and Trinidad did all in its power to stop Redjet from flying there. It was the Bdos governemnet that made those 2 countries back off. The entire aviation community predicted the Redjet model with its unsustainable low fares would fail and it did. You cant blame the government of Barbados for that, they tried.

49. @My 2 Cents

Like every thing else we politicise every thing under the sun in Barbados. Redjet is a private enterprise which failed.

50. @David

Before you comment sometimes you should think carefully.
    Why? Let Onions be Onions, has he shown any evidence of rational thought so far? I enjoy it when Onions saunters merrily along in all directions