Submitted by islandgal246
Image courtesy: ©2009 Jupiterimages

A 2003 study by Scott Coltrane, a sociology professor at the University of California, Riverside, linked fathers’ housework to more feelings of warmth and affection in their wives. And a survey of 288 husbands, reported in Neil Chethik’s 2006 book “VoiceMale,” linked a wife’s satisfaction with the division of household duties with her husband’s satisfaction with their sex life.

One husband, Mr. Chethik says in an interview, reported that his wife enjoyed flowers or a candlelit dinner out; but “if he wants to be sure of a romantic evening, he goes for the vacuum cleaner.”

Other research supports the “work hard, play hard” thesis. Janet Hyde, a professor of psychology and women’s studies at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, has found that it doesn’t lead to less intimacy in marriage when wives hold paid jobs.

“Some people are high-energy people, and others are not very high-energy,” she says. Those who like juggling a lot of roles are often energized by the process, she says. “Work hard, play hard” may not work for everybody, but there is certainly a group for whom it does work.”

That usually requires conscious effort. Mary Miller, a marketing executive, says that while she and her husband talk at home in the evening about making time for each other, “we are often too tired once we finish cleaning up the place,” she says. Recently, they have begun planning to reserve down time for themselves, “almost like adding it to the chores,” she says.

Could the study spark a national housework craze? Like a number of spouses I interviewed, Lawrence Lamb is skeptical. At home, the Birmingham, Ala., medical-school professor unloads the dishwasher and puts away laundry while his wife, a teacher, does laundry and cooks. “But that has nothing to do with the sex life,” he says. For him and his wife, career achievement and the energy and attitudes they bring to their relationship provide more of a spark, he says. The bottom line, he adds: “It’s chemistry.”

But another married man, a communications manager attending a panel discussion at which the research was mentioned, quickly announced that he was leaving. “Gotta go,” he said. “I need to run home and put in a load of laundry.

Email sue.shellenbarger@wsj.comsee link

Well I guess many of us who have hired help are lacking in that department. I hate housework so anyone saying that it would improve the sexual appetite really needs a reality check. After many years of matrimony when the animal lust has waned a bit women need more. So men here are some ideas that would add a sparkle to your wife’s eyes.

1……house work is a passion killer for many women. Yes some do enjoy it (house work I mean so get your mind out of the gutter)and I agree it is wonderful to come home to a clean house most of the time.

2……sex does not start in the bedroom for many women nor does it start with a mop and broom unless you are playing the naughty maid scenario.

3……many men have to be taught that if they want great sex from their spouses, that their spouses mental well being as well as their physical being are well looked after.

4……a call to say hello during the day…..a whisper telling her how great and sexy she looks even though she weighs 300 lbs.

5……a spontaneous gift like her favorite flowers, jewelry or perfume and not something for the house or kitchen even though she will welcome them both, especially if it is a gadget she was hoping to get for some time.

6……a surprise dinner at her favorite restaurant or at home with a meal prepared by the spouse who will take this route to make certain that he will score big. And MEN please don’t make it obvious what the expected end results might be, because you will loose big time!

7……..a morning goodbye kiss that will make her head spin and telling her how wonderful she is, will last all day long, as well as give her the incentive to look forward to the evening when you get home.

8……..In order to light a good fire you must first take your time to ignite it using the right fuel and material.

9……..The reality is that many men feel that they are born with all the knowledge on how to please a woman. Many women are afraid to tell them in case their men become offended so what do we get. A man thinking he is King Kong in bed and a wife who will always have a headache.

10……remember women are not made up the same way as men. Women are not the energizer bunny nor are we every ready Freddy. For most women sex happens and it is not planned nor scheduled.

P.S. I am writing this with a very straight face

1. talking about great sex whether the couple work or not having a warm shower together Ummy! and the sex drive kicks into full gear!

2. the number one killer to having great sex is Stress which leaves a person feeling physically as well as emotionally drained mostly found in people who are agreesively driven to succeed and most of these relationships ends in divorce .

3. AC you seem to be a sexpert LOLLL but stress is not the only reason for leaving a person physically and emotionally drained. BAD and selfish sex is a killer for many relationships. As many women if they have ever experienced the big O. Many will lie about it and later on you find that they will admit to it. Many men haven’t a clue and are of the opinion that once they have finished that you are finished. Many women feel that they MUST oblige their mates even when they are not in the mood. Many men do not associate love with sex while many women associate love with sex. Physical attraction and chemistry are the main ingredients for good sex. Many women engage in sex for the sake of having someone to pay the bills and many men feel once they pay the bills they have carte blanche.

4. Correction ….Ask many women

5. I will tell you ladies this but I suspect that you already know it.

Housework or no housework. If a woman likes sex, when she is in the mood, she will let her man knows she is in the mood. If he can handle the wuk, then all is well with the world.

On the other hand, if he look like Adonis and have the house looking like a penthouse suite at Sandy Lane ,if she is not to fussy about it, then he could look ’til he eyeball drop out he head, he can’t get, he can’t get, he can’t get.

Ah lie 😉

6. Islandgal wuh you get these high faluting ideas that we must do more housework to enjoy greater pleasures between the sheets? We don’t want nuh studies from England to help us find the “lilet tongue” (hope I got that right). Wuh big “O” yuh talking bout? Is that Oprah or Owen ( he has to be the little Owe). The only Big “O” that I know about is Montreal Olympic Stadium that Montrealers dubbed the Big Owe” after they were left with a big construction debt but I digress.

I know women of a certain age are complaining that they thought a certain aspect of their life was in the past until some man invented Viagra now its “kitty bar de door” or is it the other way around?.

Here is my proposal let women do all the housework clad in only in a frilly apron and see how spectacular it gets.:-)

7. @ Sargeant, you clearly didn’t read the article properly. Firstly, may I point out to you that the study was not from England so what England you talking bout?????? And yes I am English born to Barbadian parents and quite frankly I am getting fed up with people like you with your narrow minded one track mind about England it’s actually sickening. I for one am not interested in what went on in the past, albeit wrong but damn this is 2012 and in all honesty England is by far a stronger country than Barbados and more advance and if I am correct Barbados in the past if not even now has relied upon England so please get your facts straight.

Furthermore, why would you not want any studies from England on this subject, what you feel people out here don’t know nothing? You feel that we English are prudes? Well I know this girl here ain’t. I would not go as far as to say if I saw my Husband doing housework it would make me wanna get hot and sweaty damn just looking at my Husband gets my juices flowing. The way I see it, lovemaking should be natural, all this tired, stress crap don’t have nothing to do with it straight. Some people have a high libidos some don’t. I have never once refused my Hubby and neither he me, we have a great sexual chemistry. Yes agreed some men can be selfish in bed and simply deal with themselves but I ask, is that even a real man??? No I don’t think so……and why put up with that crap?????? I know I would not he gots to go.

8. it all depends on a couples ability to maintain a healthy and long sex life spicing up ones sex life can be easy and inexpensive ,Breakfast in bed not at all expensive which both couples can do easily. GOOD START TO ANY DAY!
    also Massages boy do woman love massages there is a feeling of calm and relaxation and when the spirit is calm the physical responds easily sexually captivating guys it always work !

9. there are a lot of chances that men missed in luring a woman to the bedroom and which are so simple and are missed because men do not understand how the female psyche works most men have this idea that woman have a timetable work out as to when to have sex but most of the time it is a spontaneous response activated by the way a man respond to a situation for e,g a couple might be planning to go out for dinner while in the process of dressing she might require the man pull her zipper up or close her bra . the man does respond accordingly but miss out on a golden sexual opportunity and is blinded sighted by the romance of dinner .right before his very eyes the opportunity of spontaneous sex is there which the woman would have easily go along with SEX before DINNER! How romantic.!what an evening !

10. islandgal246 Avatar

AC et al you know that very few men in here will respond to this post. LOLL. If it were only men that they could brag to there will be nuff posts. Dem cahn deal wid assertive wimmen! LOLL
    Sarge…..ask yuh wife bout de BIG “O” how many times de boat get miss. RFLMAO

11. Island gal any how i will continue to put up ALERTS and eyeopeners to men that having a great sex live is not all about who is in charge of the bedroom. but guess what they peeking tosee what we talking about LOL!

12. @ac

Some of us like to read and learn sometimes…lol.

Improving sex life is always a work in progress and you and islandgal are correct that many men seem insensitive to the needs of a woman and how to satisfactorily respond.

This is important if we appreciate that many women don’t achieve an orgasm from penetration alone.

There is the view also that many relationships are not built on mutual respect and therefore when the animal lust has dissipated derived from physical attraction then there is nothing to fuel the desire.

13. @ David neither do men! Sometimes a simple pat on the back side along with a romantic word of”i love you” is a way forward to fueling the sexual appetite . the sexual appetite never dies it is the way it is treated . in many instances when couples cheat it is in response to a sexual appetite that was left to go hungry by one partner or the other rejuvenating is the key and it is in the way we treat each other sometimes in reality “small can be big”

14. i love this thread it is fun it is easy and relaxing. i hope more men would join in . nothing to be embarrassed about. tell us women where our performance falls short in the bedroom without expletives or vulgarity because that too is a turn off sexually!

15. Not to be controversial but it is no secret many of our women go back to church as they reach middle age. Many men have complained that when these women become bewitch behind the church their sex life falter. Truth of fiction?

16. islandgal246 Avatar

David many women go back to church because they were not getting satisfaction from their men and they hope that they would get it from God. LOLL Ask many of them who is their God representative ? (Shhhh de Pastor)

17. @ david
    there is more fiction than truth ! i was just thinking that Zoe or bush tea and others of a religious persuasion input would be interesting then i read your comment. but remember that sex is not only about physical the mental input is more persuasive as couples grow older in relationships and sometimes one couple might choose another path to fulfill an area of their life that might be lacking in a need the one who chooses to go to church is only fulling a spiritual need one that should help relieve stress and repair harm or damage to the relationship however the way i see this division among the couples is one not having total control and maybe a feeling of rejection which should not be because it leads to further souring of the relationship.the problem is not the church but one of feeling REJECTED! and men as well as Women love continual attention

18. islandgal246 Avatar

AC …come on you well know that Church and good sex are taboo for many women, the Pastor says that is a sin. LOLLL

19. @islandgal

Now that was not nice. Women need to understand what makes a man tick as well. A man in a West Indian culture is bred to look at every botsy. Understanding thin inbred urge to bolster his machismo is often trivialized by women. How can you women help men who often are not anchored in any philosophy to ignore the 25 year old who is a looker and pay attention to the wife who is 55 with wrinkles.

20. @ david that goes into another area which most couples have to deal REJECTION! the final frontier for DIVORCE!

21. islandgal246 Avatar

David what happen to the number 55 ? Wrinkles? David you don’t know how many 55 year olds look like 30 year olds. What do you think women are turned off when they get 55? Their men have large POT bellies, many times they can’t operate because of their bellies getting in the way. We don’t want to ride camels at 55 LOLL. I am 55 and not a wrinkle pon muh face and when I am dressed to go out Lawd ah gots to tell dem young menz dat I is a happily married woman. When I travel wid muh husband I get so many compliments from de menz dat my husband does ask dem if he is chopped liver. LOLL

22. @ DAvid
    woman are aware of the sexual prowess of the male libido and there are many ways in whichnit can be tamed. For one a woman who is not grounded in accepting some of the laws of nature would kick holy hell and in the process showed her vulnerability to the male who in turns uses it against her , however on the other hand when a female is self confident and assured in the relationship that male like a goat would only stray so far but would return with his tail between his legs all the while thinking that that the female don’t have a clue.most woman knows how to calm the torrid beast that lives within the male hormone and it is how the female use it that keeps him coming for more.

23. @ island gal

True dat! men would cheat on the 25 year old too! in todays society many woman are aware of the age factor and some looks much younger than the young counterparts it was one reason Ashton kutcher and Demi were attracted to each other not the only reason but one.

24. @islandgal and ac

That is the point, why do men feel the urge to cheat? Is there something women are NOT doing to tame the beat?

25. @ david

this problem is not only related to men and the same question can be applied to woman.
    but to answer your question they are a myriad of reasons but if you asked me the no1 is male prowess and the need to conquer which embodies itself in a word call EGO and a definite urge to feel powerful and in a strange way to gain an urgency of “self respect’ from other males via bragging rights.

26. @ island gal,

the taboo part it all depends on who is doing the jucking i.e the Pastor or the husbands for woman have divorced their husbands and married pastors and vice versa . So in reality woman might put on a facade to the men whiich the men take as a response to the wife going to church but holy moses the Pastor might be doing his JOB LOL!

27. @ac

We are back to the question posed then, help us men to tame the beast!

28. @ David

that is like asking me to find a cure for cancer. the beast can be controlled but it can’t be cured even bus tea would agree to that

29. “why do men feel the urge to cheat? Is there something women are NOT doing to tame the beat? ”

David men who cheat, cheat because they want to, many of these same men haven’t experienced intimacy in a relationship. Sex to them is wining the prize and placing it on a shelf until the next championship. Many men marry for the wrong reasons mainly for convenience of having someone to have his children, cook and wash for them, some to acquire more than one salary, many to have a trophy wife that all would admire.

Many men feel that the outside women are more adventurous in bed than their wives because some women have never enjoyed sex with their husbands. When men complain that their wives just lie in bed like a board under them they blame the woman. If a man is a real man he would know or want to know how to please his wife or woman. Many men and women mistake sex as penetration only. Many women are too shy to tell their husbands what they want from them in bed. Many men are too arrogant to take instructions from a woman.

I once heard a young Guyanese woman say that some Bajan men are nasty and that they do nasty things in bed. I asked her what nasty things? She told me a story about another Guyanese woman saying that she won’t ever go back with another Guyanese man because the Bajan man loves her to sit on his face, and that Guyanese men would never do that. The women went on to tell me that she and her husband never practiced anything so nasty. I suggested that she should try that and that she might enjoy it. She looked at me in shock and said emphatically that her husband would NEVER do that. I was trying to keep a straight face and when she got out of my car I drove off howling with laughter. Another Bajan man told his girl friend that he can’t go down there because it is too close to the anus. RFLMAO

30. The BU centre for clinical psychology and human sexuality in session.

I learning a lot. This subject is too complex for me to contribute meaningfully except for this.

Never cheat on a person who sleeps in the same bed as you.

31. Islang gal .most woman would not admit to engaging in cunniglus wether giving or taking but is a desire which most sexes enjoy readily

32. AC …you notice a deafening silence on this topic nuh LOLL De menz frighten dat dem spouses might read what dem gine say and call dem liars, so dem bolting dem mouths real tight..

33. Like dem got super glue pon dem lips too!

34. I make no claim to knowing the intricatecies of a good sex life, I have just muddled along nicely for the past many, many, many, years and so far there have been no complaints….not to me at least.

Complaining now would be futile anyhow as we will soon be riding off together – hopefully – into the sunset.

I cannot offer anything of substance to the debate but will read comments of the experts: BU’s AMAZON ARMY, I just might learn something.

35. Dem hanging out in the sports corner, it is safer to discuss sports. LOLL

Yardie…..you should ask your other half to give an honest assessment . And do feel nuh way if you get a response you didn’t expect! RFL

36. @islandgal

Hasn’t David (BU) added two cents?

37. @Ms G

I didn’t mean to offend your English sensibilities but you should look up the phrase “tongue planted in cheek” to get the gist of my post. Congratulations to you and your hubby for keeping the fires burning. I never under estimate the English after all they gave us DH Lawrence who wrote Lady Chatterley’s Lover, Mellors certainly used his pestle to great effect in that mortar..

@Islandgal

I see your sojourn in Paris has taught you a thing or two but what will the neighbours think? Speaking of the City of Lights isn’t that where the latter day English go to learn the art of amour (sorry Ms G).

It looks like you have to carry the flag for Bajan men they seem to be uncomfortable talking about the subject.

38. @islandgal

I added nuff sense.
    Hants | May 6, 2012 at 10:47 AM |

39. AC it seems that these Bajan men can only get it up if it has a DLP or BLP sticker pon it.

40. Sir Benwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Benwood Dick

While I would not presume to be very knowledgeable on the subject of the minds of women, that most elusive subject for us men, I would go along wholeheartedly with the notion that women are ‘spurred’ into sexual acitivity by as much emotion as physical excitement.

To grind the mortar into the pestle, so to speak, women are by nature, as you know, emotive creatures, much to our angst sometimes, but this can be actioned to our benefit.

therefore, what ac and islandgal are saying is very to the point. The man’s most potent tool, aside from the physical one, in dealing with women is the emotional intelligence, of listening, understanding and acting to/ on women’s feelings.

Rathr than a case of slam, bam, thank you mam, which may work with some of the young tight hot pants girls out there, the mature and real ‘woman’ needs some tender loving care to entice her to open her bountiful joys for experience.

Would I be wrong to assert this, ladies?

41. Sarge…Mais Oui J’ai bien appris! Et toi? Ou etes vous alles l’apprendre? La Barbade? Au Canada?

42. Sir Benwood Congratulations, you have found the G spot on the first try.

I guess Bush Tea, Scout, Onions and Porter are all busy vacuuming and cleaning house in their frilly aprons now hoping to get lucky. LOLLL

Baffy where are you? Miller are you back? De menz need some more ammo.

43. islandgal246 | May 6, 2012 at 11:44 AM |

Dem hanging out in the sports corner, it is safer to discuss sports.

Ok IslandGal246. Since you claim to be a 55 year old hottie with no wrinkles in your face (Olay or le creme?),
    would you be interested in spending 48 hours with this 60 year old so you can determine if I know how to treat a woman?”

We can meet anywhere Air Canada flies to.

Talk is cheap and people does tell nuff lies on BU.

44. Hi islandgirl 246 May 6, 2012 @ 11:44AM
    That is what I have been doing for many “years” asking!!!

I feel sex between a couple is not a competion trying to outdo each other. It is a coming together in one of the most intimate physical contacts known to human beings; where pleasure is derived from the pleasure you give to your partner and in turn that pleaure is transferred to you.

But hey!! what do I know, Ah Gone!!!!

45. islandgal246 Avatar

Yardie …you like yuh pon de right track . I have never stated or implied that it is a competition at all it is just not a one way street.

46. islandgal246 Avatar

Hants …. ..go take a cold shower at once. Yuh like yuh got money but I must decline your invitement. My hubby knows how to treat a woman most of the time every now and then he lapses and I have to keep him in check.

47. islandgal246 Avatar

Where are the other women pon this blog? Random Thoughts where are you? Church finish so we want your input!

48. islandgal246 Avatar

AC are you outta de shower yet? I want to go and take mine so I need someone to hold down de fort.

49. All my working life I’ve worked in an environment where women were well represented and I’ve been in a supervisory position where all the employees were female but while I can’t say I’ve heard it all I’ve heard many things. I can equate those lunch time discussions to a lunch and learn program which has provided some beneficial results.

The question is not what women want but it is all about communication, what lies between the ears is more important that what lies between the thighs. Good communication leads to great sex but Bajans like so many other people are uncomfortable talking about the subject, how many people here learn about the “birds and the bees” from their parents? How many people here taught their children about this subject? We leave it to the streets or the schools and more recently the Internet to provide this bit of Education.

50. @IslandGal246.

told yuh. Talk is cheap. An I ent got nuh money.

But I have a great imagination. lol