Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

One issue which has arisen from the Alexandra impasse is how it has exposed an inadequate public relations strategy of the Prime Minister Stuart and his government.  It is one obvious difference in the approach of Stuart and the late Prime Minister. Prime Minister Stuart’s public profile can be described as taciturn, aloof, introverted and a few other character traits which are not normally associated with successful politicians. In fact his style is often compared to Sir Lloyd’s which history records did not serve him well politically.

There is a political reality which Prime Minister Stuart and his handlers incredulously continue to ignore. He leads a political party whose objective is always to accrue public support. As the leader he has the task to implement public policy, unpopular sometimes, and at the same time assuage public support, in the prevailing climate not an enviable task.  It behoves the Prime Minister – who some on BU have accused of lacking emotional intelligence – to bolster his inner circle with the requisite training to assist his government to manage its public relations strategy. It is clearly a deficiency of the DLP government since the late Prime Minister died and Hartley Henry was booted to the curb.

There is the saying that one should be careful not to throw out the baby with the bathwater. It is no secret the late David Thompson and his political strategist Hartley Henry at the time held admiration for Obama’s campaign, particularly his communications strategy. The Internet is populated with case studies of how Black Obama, the underdog, combined technology with a relevant message as one example. When Obama entered the Whitehouse he was guided by an official communications structure: weekly radio broadcasts, White House press briefings triggered by events affecting the government as well as routine, State of the Union, periodic press conferences with the several networks to name a few. A look at the UK government shows a commitment to adhering to an effective communications plan. Needless to say leading private sector companies regard an effective public relations as important to the success of the business.

It is obvious a key requirement of any democratically elected government concerned with good governance is an effective communications strategy. Prime Minister Stuart’s willingness to relegate a lucid public relations approach to the backburner will not recommend his government to an already impatient electorate. The fact that a general election beckons makes the current approach a mystifying one.  Of course an effective PR strategy does not obviate the need for relevant and effective policies.

This government rode into office on the back of an agenda of change and a pressing need to promote transparency in government. Now in the twilight of its tenure, the Stuart government cannot lay claim to differentiating itself in a significant way to the former Barbados Labour Party government on issue of transparency.

Is there time to turn it around? Time will be the judge.

1. Observing (and communicating) Avatar
    Observing (and communicating)

This captures what many have been saying here for months.
    A blogger made an excellent point that as a country we hear too much about critical things that affect us “by the way.”

E.g.
    Sinckler on a by the way phone call on Brass Tacks
    Stuart on a by the way address in Washington
    and on and on.

Add that to the conflicting, confused or incapable messengers (and message) plus the lack of a coherent theme other than “it is a society” and one can easily see where the DLP will be outgunned BIG TIME on the campaign in next elections.

“Is there time to turn it around?”

If by it you mean the public’ general confidence in being communicated to and with. Nope. Too late.

If by it you mean public sentiment…maybe, just maybe.

One of the greatest skills needed by a leader (or leading party) is communication. Communication means the message has been sent, received AND (generally) understood.

Just observing

2. @David. Agree completely. Well said.

3. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

What the electorate seem to fail to understand is very simple.

Those we elect work for us. They are there because we put them there because they promised to serve us.

They answer to us.

This is a democracy.

Isn’t it?

4. why communicate
    when i cud dictate
    i am massa- de king
    i control everything
    communicate?-for what reason
    wuh this aint de silly season—yet

5. old onion bags Avatar

Man what you all talking bout ? You did here the Boss man…telling the Diaspora, how he got RedJet and Almond and Ax teachers back home waiting on a bubbie to nurse ?…The Great Communicator…duz talk when he has an accommodating audience….when all ya get bout hay and frighten D man , what all ya expect ? He go hush…or hold another welcoming party ..far from the maddening crowd…unna who else..lol

6. One wonders at this practice of tell all when our politicians sojourn to New York and Washington especially. Do not forget it is an aged old custom practiced by politicians from both sides over the years. Tony Best has been the beneficiary over the years. Could it be our politicians do not respect the local talent from traditional media? Could it be a case familiarity breeding contempt? The fact is the same way our politicians feel obligated to disseminate info to Bajans overseas to woo forex the same should be true to woo the vote on the home front.

7. No need to talk when you are getting things done. Prime Minister Stuart has done it again, teachers back to school. Why can’t you guys admit his style is working!!!!!!!!!

8. Just heard part of the address of Mary RED woMAN, she continues to dictate to the administration what MUST happen, and that alone is enough to agitate the opposition. She was pointed out that the principal will be sent on FULL pay within a few days after the warrant is issued. Even if this was said to her, she should not be the one making those claims, therefore I’m almost sure, Mr Broomes attorneys will challenge that. What are the grounds on which Mr Broomes is being punished? Is the Commission of Inquirey to act as just a rubber stamp for the Prime Minister? I will be very disappointed in Justice Waterman if he allows Stuart to put him in that position.Marty RED woMAN is just trying to save face but in the mean time complicating the matter. She should not by protocol; be making that statement before Mr Broomes is informed..

9. old onion bags Avatar

@DMC (run ?)
    Wait you really made a comment like that to tiggle me right ?
    A eight week Commission of Inquiry ? That is a workable proposal right ?
    (I think you should have a serious look at what work is involved in these CI’s.) Just checking if you understand what was said…..So if Miss AX (teacher) plans taking her son Jamal .(tickets booked since last year) to Disneyland this summer ? Her submission will have to wait til she comes back right ? ( do you believe she will change her plans ? ) Just checking to see if we understand whats what. Of if Mr.G on the Board of Management takes unexpectedly ill or one of the lawyers decides not ask for an adjournment to handle a better paying customer? Workable right ?…Then should the Commissioner have a decision…it goes from there to be reviewed by the education Minister first (protocol) then to whoever else..looking like 8 weeks a feasible time still right ? …. “Fool me once, shame on you; fool me twice, shame on me.”

10. WOMEN WILL DESTROY THIS COUNTRY AND THE WORLD IF WE ALLOW THEM.

MARY REDMAN is a typical female; IGNORANT OF THINGS; ADAMANT with everything and inflexible while hating men.

Dont control these women then and see what going happen
    Sampson was the strongest man in the world but
    a woman made him the weakest.

Women are frigging up the society
    Never invented anything
    Believe in gossip
    Always running competition
    Know nothing about how things work
    Abandon their mothers and fathers when they get old–abandon them at the QEH or dump them in a home
    Abandon Husband if he meets any hardship
    and always look to get the house and property

Women Drivers are the worse–dont give way
    ALways VEXX

Women:
    Always want to quarrel
    Provide Bad Service in stores and other business places.
    Discriminate against people-(men) if they perceive that they are poor and cant give them anything
    Always feel that somebody owes them something and should help them , provide for them

Selfish
    Materialistic

Mary Redman is a woman and she is supported by women at AX–Women like the deputy principal who hate the world -all people—but especially men

–And some of these people warm the seats of many churches

11. The comment quoted in the media attributed to PM Stuart in Washington about Redjet, Almond and others all wanting to nurse government which will result in sore nipples is another example of being sensitive to the need to communicate effectively. In hindsight this is a comment maybe he would like to retract.

12. Observing (and still disbelieving) Avatar
    Observing (and still disbelieving)

uh tell wunna Mary Redman ain’t got much sense. This statement sound like a woman who hell bent on dictating what supposed to happen and how soon while unknowingly dragging down a flailing PM who trying hard to “watch his words” as well. Natural justice? Objectivity? Due process? Discretion? Public relations management? Where oh where have these gone.

Again the Union like the PM has failed in its most critical endeavour. Communication to achieve results and regain public perception on their side.

sigh. She clearly has alot in common with Freundel.

What are the conditions for an officer to be sent on leave pending investigation? From what I glean it would need proof of a “major” offense. If the Commission is not investigating Broome directly as was painfully pointed out, can he be effectively sent on leave?? Another ultimatum that can’t be met. Stupse.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Freundel is behaving like a lame duck prime minister. It appears that he has already accepted defeat even before the election is called. Maybe this is his way of making the heads of the Eager 11 roll. You must remember that he did not say when the heads would have rolled.

14. What is CTUSAB saying about this behavior of Mary RED woMAN, Sir Roy jumped on the band wagon and supported her now he too seem to have gone silent. Is there anything Mr Broome has done so wrong that most of the other principals have done? I’m sure Mary RED woMAN can come up with trumped up charges against any other principal and demand their separation. Some body HAS to stop this woman, her behaviour has the potential of destabilsing this country. This has nothing to do with BLP or DLP. We must not allow a St.Lucia come here and pull down Barbados.So much for CSME and few movement

15. Broomes probably sorry he is not on leave.
    He could be in Dominica watching cricket.

Mark Redman is a stud. A shrewed aggressive leader who is doing exactly what is required of a union leader.

The majority of you complain about the silence of the PM yet you would seek to silence Redman.

Bottom line is the teachers are teaching and the children are learning and I watching good Windies test cricket and good west Indians playing in IPL.

Life as it should be.

16. @ Scout.
    you must not allow an interpretation of anything said by Miss Redman to lead you into drawing faulty conclusions . She has merely expressed what her Union WOULD LIKE TO SEE HAPPEN . A decision made to send Mr Broomes on leave must come from the Public Service Commission. That decision cannot be made by Commissioner Mr Justice Waterman . In addition , the Prime minister cannot instruct the Commissioner in this matter; he will get his remit from the Warrant issued to him by the Governor General and will be answerable to the GG to whom he will hand his Report when his work has been completed . You may be better guided by taking a read of the Commission Of Inquiry Act ; do not let the dear lady get under your skin . Peace my friend.

17. About a communications strategy, it should not be influenced by the personality of Prime Minister Stuart but moreso the tenets of the discipline of marketing.

18. David did you notice how “normal” it sounds when the name Mary is changed to Mark.

19. 30 teachers at AX do not want to work with the Principal yet they have gone back to work.

That is commendable.

The children will benefit from their actions. isn’t that what really matters?

20. mary redman is not at all agressive she has bend over backwards to accomdate all . a lot of fluff flexing her muscles and showing nothing for it shows up her weaknesses.

21. old onion bags Avatar

I would take a different spin as to the opening up while in Washington….I take particular note of the much glee and adoration when personifying the needs and desperation of certain companies ( ReDjet , Almond)….to the comparison of suckling of a certain part of the female anatomy…..This incidentally drew a instant uproar from those present of the Diaspora, confirming the zest and gusto that must have gone into the performance. Maybe IslandGal was right of the need ‘for needs to be met’ first before any transformation could be possible.I do also recall at the Calypso finals night ..a similar opening up… an acrostic personality…. when Popsicle won with “I would pick a fair ” How does one go about conjuring such strategies, is anyone’s guess.A Hartley no..this may necessitate a more deliberate and delicate touch….

22. I must say the disapora get to hear what the PM is doing before us who live here. We were not told that the government was planning to save Redjet or Almond before he left here.

Where is this money coming from to bail out these two companies? Are they going to plunder the NIS again? The old people had a saying that everyday if you send the bucket down draining the well, some day the bucket will come up empty. With less people employed, I would hazzard a guess that contributions are down as well since so much unemployment is being paid out with the extended time, how much more can they safely take out of NIS without causing it to collapse?

David, you had asked Phony Marshall for financials before he was unceremoniously removed, can you ask the good doctor who is now chairman if he can let the public see where the NIS is financially?

23. the post says it is not what you do but how you do it. The PM public relation skills are not politically savvy and does not give credit to his approach in the way he is handling the tough issues and makes it easier for the opposition to bloster the impression that he is not doing or saying any thing .

24. @Appollo

New Chairman Justin Robinson indicated there was to be a statement made, presumably last month, to address the issue of the late financials.

25. old onions,

During the St John by-election, the PM said that Owen Arthur was a lonely man. During an interview with Rosemary Alleyne after the loud calmour from the people, he said that was lonely in Illaro Court. Seems as if things have changed since he seems now to know a lot about sore nipples. Ha ha ha!!!

26. @porter

wuh happen yuh womman ain;t giving yuh none !

27. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Are we talking about the same hombre’?

28. old onion bags Avatar

@ Appollo
    The saying aptly applies……Empty vessels makes most noise….sagging breast too

29. The Honourable Prime Minister has decided.Mary Redman and all whiners must now shut up and have respect for the institutions of this country.Those 30 teachers have got to be trembling in their boots.All will now come out.I hope the lawyers questioning them will do so with the proverbial fine tooth comb.If I had my way all 30 would be fired as well as Mary Redman for disrupting the smooth governance of the Alexandra School.Next item for resolution Clico.The Prime Minister is in control of the ship of state in case you have not noticed.

30. old onion bags Avatar

@ Richard
    Man you talking balls……yeah CLICO right…..I guess like Pilate wanna wash wanna hands of all the thiefy …and innocent blood….first before dealing wid D AX teachers right ? Wanna bunch stinking BIGOTS…..Thiefing in the books is a BIGGER SIN !

31. Richard King

I agree with you on AX.

Many ignore the other factors but the Commission will reveal all and I repeat some teachers will be smeared in this process and maybe asked to leave teaching service with dispatch.

32. If you are educated you should use your own thought process to come to conclusions. I understand the political attacks on the Prime Minister from the BLP members and supporters. At any cost they want to get their hands on the public purse again so as to give out and receive government contracts that involve safe money that is always paid even if late.

Take Glyne Clarke for instance he said last night that Barbadians are suffering badly and wearing one another clothes. Did he go to reggae on the beach? Does he recognize that all the reggae shows are sold out?
    Wasn’t he the one they called wuk fa wuk? Did he not build a house on land that was earmarked for low income earners?
    Get real Glyne Clarke you are an immoral person and should not be in the House of Assembly like a lot of your colleagues B and D.
    The Prime Minister is showing Barbadians that he is not a hypocrite like Owen Arthur. He showed that the problems started in 2002 and for six years he allowed the problems to fester. The teachers did not strike then because they know he is a spiteful man and unlike Stuart he would have done them like the three managers at the hospital.

If Barbadians want to see a wicked man in action just vote back Owen Arthur as Prime Minister again. Mia Mottley understands that, but maybe playing a game because she was out fox by being allowed to reply to the Minister of Finance. I think there are still some divisions going on because he again called for unity at the anniversary service.

33. .” We must not allow a St.Lucia come here and pull down Barbados.So much for CSME and few movement”

Scout…..Barbados is very capable of pulling down itself without the help of St. Lucians. This narrow minded thinking must cease. Who the hell is charge of Barbados? St. Lucians? Lawd I have never heard sooo much ignorance. As usual blaming outsiders for all that ails us.

34. “Women are frigging up the society
    Never invented anything
    Believe in gossip
    Always running competition
    Know nothing about how things work
    Abandon their mothers and fathers when they get old–abandon them at the QEH or dump them in a home
    Abandon Husband if he meets any hardship
    and always look to get the house and property”

POTTY PORTER…..your mother got to be a man and your wife anudder man! Never invented anything?……. I will list only a few ….We invented Radiation, Nystatin the anti fungal drug, the dish washing machine, windshield wipers and many more that they done that wunna men stole. Listen to me you Potty mouth scumbag, if it wasn’t fuh women wunna menz wud be ded eva long time since. Believe in gossip?….wunna does do tings and expect us to say nutting bout it. And by the way dem ole peoples who get abandon at the QEH doan have nuh sons? Looka we doan need wunna tah gets a house ……wunna does move in de homes de wimmen done get and try to get her to sign it over to you. Looka go and ask de banks who own and does pay mortgages and cars loans? Stupse…. no wunder yuh cahn get nuh woman yuh like yuh get put out! Go long back to yuh dog house in de back yard do!

35. An Observer
    I fully understand your advice to me, however, all I was saying is, now that the matter is over to the Commission, Mary RED woMAN is trying to not just influence the Commissioner, but tell what he is expected to do. One wonders if this poor excuse for a woman, got a husband or a man. If she does, i suspect that man is a sorry looking puppy.

36. I suspek dat Fruendel does see a lot uh Barbadins every day, n get depress!! LOL!! 🙂

37. Look, gih d man a chance, do!! how long he bin day?!!!! lol!!

38. @ David
    Why you, and Peter Wickham like to make comments to accusations of DLP, that of the BLP did that in their time, when sometimes it is patently not so. List three things any BLP gov’t announced overseas, as an excuse not to speak directly to the Barbadian public on home soil?

39. @Bajan Truth

It is known that politicians from both sides through the years delighted in giving wide ranging interviews with Tony Best especially oftem time shelling out nuggets of info not yet disseminated in Barbados. In fact many should recall that local media practitioners were very much intimidated by the Arthur administration. Truth is truth! It is easy for some of us who are not snarled in the political web to discern these things.

40. @The Scout & Observing

Agree with you about Mary Redman blabbing about Broomes being sent on leave with pay etc. Definitely out of place to issue such communication. One can only surmise that she is leaving the door ajar to kick-up down the road. To the PM’s credit he slammed the door on those comments as reported in the Nation today that it is the call of the invisible CPO. The quick response by the PM is welcomed and should be the beging of a PR ethos which envelopes the administration as they go down the road to elections. The BLP has already mobilized. Mary Redman and the BSTU should also take the importance of good PR onboard suggested by some on BU a long time ago.

You need to behave and write the Mary Redman’s name properly before you attract the ire of some on BU..lol.

@Clone

Commenters who are critical of the government or BLP for that matter it does not make them party affiliates.

41. History will prove that PM Stuart chartered a path that have put barbados on a course of SUSTANIBLITY unlike OSA whosepath had put Barbados on a Course of ECONOMIC VULERNABILITY the likes of what we are seeing NOW

42. AC good morning ….”History will prove that PM Stuart chartered a path that have put barbados on a course of SUSTANIBLITY unlike OSA whosepath had put Barbados on a Course of ECONOMIC VULERNABILITY the likes of what we are seeing NOW”

Like Sandie said that he will go down in history as the BEST PM Barbados ever had? AC you like you ent wake up yet. De coffee boiling over and yuh ent smelling it yet? I sent a life boat fuh yuh and had to tek yuh and throw yuh in wid yuh puppy dog because yuh is muh frien and yuh still tawking dis nonsense? Lawd yuh better go tah de doctor an tek some pills.

43. @ David ..
    Re the PM’s nipple metaphor . As you know , GENERALLY , statements must be analysed in the context within which they were made . One hearing a statement or reading it away from that environment is often given to attributing the wrong conotation to the statement . I heard the statement from an extract carried on the news and immediately interpreted it as a light-hearted response made in an envoronment of relaxation where levity was APPROPRIATE . I should therefore like to invite you to examine it in that light . In the meantime , I hope we have not begun to take life so seriously that we are now failing to appreciate good humour and able to treat it as such . Sitting here in Barbados , I envied those present in Washington who were able to respond with such a spontaneous outburst of laughter ; we seem to be losing our capacity to do the same . Peace as usual my brother.

44. The Commission is investigating AX not investigating the Principal.

If Mary redMAN as others refer to her, want the Prinicipal removed then the Teachers should be removed.

But you know what ?
    Mary Redman is a woman: Ignorant of how things work; Hard and Inflexible -Selfish and -Hate Men !!

45. The Prime Minister needs to go an suck a Nipple

46. @ David .
    There is nothing i have found more enjoyable on this blog than having a robust exchange with persons like MILLER , ONIONS , AMUSED , rr , Checkit-Out et al on matters that do encourage us to step back and have a good laugh at ourselves . Laughter is good for the soul . At times , ” LET ME PLAY THE FOOL ” alla Gratiano . We often take ourselves too seriously . Peace my brother .

47. old onion bags Avatar

@An Observer
    They cud laugh…..but how can we when there is so much suffering?.
    Wha bout the trickery of the poor teachers…laugh at that too nah ?
    Wha bout the pensioners who were given promises and need their money for operations and the like ..laugh at that too nah ?
    Wha bout Barrack…he cant laugh…
    Wha bout LIME…..worth a laugh ?
    When we get to the pump…it don’t be no laugh ?
    How can we laugh ? ..we wud be laughing at ourselves.
    What’s so BIG bout a bubbie anyway…why all the damage control ?

48. @ Onions
    Even from where I am presently sitting I can see your tongue planted firmly in your cheek ..LOL..Peace my brother …and please do not lose that capacity to LAUGH..We are too often SERIOUS…

49. Island girl i do not take pills which are proven to be short term solutions to long term problems as with OSA who was ineffecient in his quest to put band aids on curing our econoic woes by his heavy borrowing and selling out barbados prime real estate to the higgest bidders as with anything short term the final results always mean that one muststart/all over again .as for coffe i will pass another quick fix to what really is the underlying cause of fatigue.

50. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Porter

You wrote: “Mary Redman is a woman: Ignorant of how things work; Hard and Inflexible -Selfish and -Hate Men.”

I respect the rights of individuals to speak their minds and have opinions on matters. I know that it is your right to say what you want to say, but truthfully, there must be limitations imposed.
    It is now my humble opinion, that persons like you who sweepingly demean and disrespect women in the way that you have done, present the greatest threats to Barbadian society.
    Seems like you have been so badly hurt and unable to be healed, that you forgot to look inwards and see what any offending woman may have seen in you. You are a heartless creature not fit for the freedoms that society offers. Get lost! I have a mother, family and friends. You are a scoundrel.