The following was circulated to the Barbados Media by Peter Boos, Chairman of Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation

On the afternoon of Friday 18 November the Barbados Entrepreneurship Foundation is hosting its first Innovation Think Tank at the conclusion of the National Entrepreneurship Summit. A paper will be presented by Dr.Ronnie Yearwood entitled “Barbados-A New Governance Model” before a select group of about 60 people chosen from across all sectors of Barbados. The discussion will be moderated by Dr.Jeannine Comma and and we will have a panel of distinguished Barbadians. After the debate we plan to publish a summary.

In the lead up to this discussion Dr.Yearwood has written the attached very compelling and passionate article which I believe you will find very powerful. Although about 3,000 words, Dr.Yearwood is inviting you to publish it in its entirety.

Barbados badly needs this type of debate at this time and I hope you will see it fit for publication, coming as it does from a new generation of Barbadians at a time of national uncertainty.

We are also writing to other print and electronic media to ask them to do the same.

Link to Doctor Ronnie Yearwoodโ€™sAn Open Letter to Barbados on Forty Five Years of Independence: We Are the Change

1. We are approaching an unprecedented time in all of human history… The days just up ahead will surely test the “reins” of men… Clearly, no world leader alive today on planet earth has any “CONCRETE” answers to the “ILLS” which plague humanity…

Talking up the “ECONOMY”; re-establishing market confidence; creating JOBS* ad spreading the LIE* of democratic governance is all fairy-tale gobble-de-gook…

WHY ARE OUR LEADERS REFUSING TO TELL US THE “real” TRUTH?

They know what the ultimate outcome is going to be but choose deniability over moral panic for the obvious fallout would be more worst than what is going to hit us…

Short term measures at sustainability and “firewalling” the inevitable is merely a tactic being implemented by the “ELITE” few to insulate themselves from the tactical “nuclear” POLITICAL, ECONOMIC & RELIGIOUS strike that will fall at the doorsteps of every family on the earth…

For those of you with a “CRYSTAL” ball – please tell us what the “FUTURE” holds?

For those of “US” who accept and believe the “SURE” Word of PROPHESY – hope is definitely “NOT” in mere, mortal men who cannot even wake themselves up in the morning far less decide what to have for lunch…

We have allowed these men & men to BRAINWASH* us into believing they have “ANSWERS” and now the world economy is imploding into the toilet and as world leaders scurry around like rats – the plain, light of day has revealed that we are staring down into the abyss with many refusing to accept the reality of how potentially cataclysmic things really are…

As the planet continues to tilt on its axis (degree by degree), those who choose to stand on the periphery (finding solace in superficial issues) be careful that you do not slip and fall off the edge of the world…

Ronnie boy – great sentiments: sadly, but that’s all they really are!!!

2. “We must remember that we only became a peaceful and prosperous society in the first place through hard
    work and the sheer minded determination to transform this collection of poor villages into a great nation despite its small physical size.”

What a load of rubbish. Without LOME, close cultural ties to England and Canadian laws that facilitate offshore business in Barbados, plus an ability to borrow to pay debts this country would be dead in the water … fullstop!

3. “Imagine a Barbados where leadership took responsibility for its action…. How can we think
    anew if we are stuck in the same structures, that were originally not of our making..”

A well directed criticism of the West Minister Model. There are a segment of the population for which this system called Barbados works, and works very well. These are the service providers who will not participate in any activity that is quantifiable, in terms of production and/or quality. It is from this sect that the political animal is drawn. They change NOTHING.

Unfortunately it is from this sect that the article writer, and indeed the people who will make up the discussion group on Friday will be drawn. I goin’, I fun place a few calls and get invite … would be good for a few laughs!

4. @BAFbFP

Now that you have gotten that off your chest, what next now that the preferential treatment is over?

5. @BAFBFP

Unfortunately it is from this sect that the article writer, and indeed the people who will make up the discussion group on Friday will be drawn. I goinโ€™, I fun place a few calls and get invite โ€ฆ would be good for a few laughs!

Who would you have invited?

6. “There is no one easy answer”

Yes there are. What makes them difficult is that the people who are to make the changes are of the same elk as those who are criticizing.

Easy answer no. 1.
    Make political parties registered institutions that can be sued for breaches in contracts (promises) to people

Easy answer no. 2.
    Reserve good paying jobs in the civil service for productive people … Engineers, Aqua/Agriculturists, Designers of all types, Manufacturing Technologists, Artists/Artistes, Modellers/Prototype specialists and so on. (Shelve the Macro economist, Lawyers, Historians and other Social Scientists that have been clogging the process for too long)

Easy Answer no. 3.
    Fill the overseas post with people skilled and with a track record in successful SELLING. A business is only as successful as its sales staff allows it to be.

In short the educational model and the reward and promotion engines of Barbados should be redirected to facilitate those with the ability to design a Product, to build a product and to sell the product …

The problem that we are faced with is that we are operating in an environment that promotes and rewards Consultants and Administrators … who are only good at telling others what to do!

In a nutshell of course

7. By the way, this talk about Barbadians not trusting each other and their neighbors goes with the territory. This is a Capitalist state, and many if not all of those who speak about change fully enjoy the capitalist nature of things. We in this system are here to be exploited. Why should we trust anyone?

8. David

Terrance Blackette writing foolishness. Why you don’ chastise he ..?

9. David

I would have invited me!

10. after such an exhaustive critical analysis of the barbadian way of doing things, i was disappointed that mr yearwood apart from advocating change left the challenge hanging in the air and was not bold enough to suggest what was in need of change. balance is on record saying that the political party institution is no longer relevant to system of good governance in barbados and parliamentarians should be elected to parliament to represent the interests of their constituencies and not on the basis of political affiliation.parliamentarians should live in their constituencies as well.

11. I think this is a great idea. We may differ in the technical ideas and the fine details, but the sentiment and the potential movement behind it is something that is so special and unique especially in these times, and should be nurtured. It is easy to criticize and point out flaws and feel superior but that gets us no-where. Have you led the way in any respects other than point the finger at someone who is trying? I appreciate the sentiment and look forward to seeing this develop.

12. Wait Justine who you talking too, Balance or me?

13. @ BAFBFP
    Political parties make promises that are dependent on gaining power and as such can only implement and/or breach a promise if elected.
    If one wishes to sue a political party for breach of contract such an act by that party could only have occurred during their tenure as the government.
    Therefore should one not be able to sue the Office of Attorney General for any perceived breach by the government (past or present) as it is a continuum?

Can a political party be liable for not delivering in government what was promised as an opposition political party?
    Who would be eligible to bring a law suit against a political party, only an individual that voted for that party?

14. Fractured BLP Party Avatar
    Fractured BLP Party

Enuff,

There you go at it again. Owen Arthur in 1999 during the General Election campaign promised to take Barbados to a Republican form of government.

He won the election with more than 2/3 majority….No Republican government.

Enuff…..tell us who you would bring a lawsuit against ?

15. Who or what is Boos of which we speak ? Avatar
    Who or what is Boos of which we speak ?

Is this the same person Peter Boos that Minister Sinckler disclosed paid a Consultant from his old company $ 30,000 .00 per month in a consultancy at Legacy Barbados and paid out over $ 400,000,00 of taxpayers monies to a foreigner and a local with no Board permissions or consulting or provision of paperwork as to how he arrived at these arrangements ?

Is this the same Boos who while serving as Chairman at Invest Barbados hired ladies to travel the world with salaries of in one case of $ 47,000.00 per month and others of $ 30,000.00 who then had travel charged to Invest Barbados and never wrote one report as to her various travels around the world ?

Explain to me what advice or guidance is the public to take from someone who has been so reckless and irresponsible with taxpayers monies ?

Surely this one cannot be the beacon of light that should be followed not on past data and performance, we can and we will do better.

16. @Who or what is Boos of which we speak ?

Yes it is the same Boos who called the Sinckler accusation poppycock and up to now Sinckler has not responded.

The time for this corn beef politics has come to an end.

17. To David:
    Would someone summarize what this scholar has said. i find it difficult going on these links. From some of the comments here, it seems as if we are again bigging up the usual crowd who do not know their hand from their feet.

18. ideas such as the ones proposed would not happen when governments do not trust their own people.

19. @Lemuel

Are you criticizing fo criticizing sake?

As Chris would say the language is written in clear text.

Feel free to challenge points the goodly gentleman has made.

20. To David:
    I tried the link but was not successful; this is why I asked for a summary.

21. @lemuel

Just tested both links, the bio of Yearwood and the link to his document and they both work fine.

22. To david:
    Ok.

23. Who or what is Boos of which we speak ? Avatar

Therefore am I to assume you condone and support the actions of these mega salaries and the actions of making decisions and then advising a board that you chair, of YOUR decision ?
    Somehow I think that ought not to be but maybe some may think otherwise but when you are dealing with taxpayers monies more care and reporting ought to be the watch word but not in this case as it seems, this is simply a case of Boos being Mia’s poppycock if that were possible.

24. @Who or what is Boos of which we speak ?

BU stated a fact. Boos called Sinckler’s accusation poppycock and the Minister has not refuted it.

25. Who or what is Boos of which we speak ? Avatar

I see.

26. To David:
    I just read the piece; it reads like a first attempt to be a novelist. It also reads like a rallying cry for the base of a political party. It depends to much on some of the old rhetoric of Barrow. But what is puzzling is that the poor boy who has now transformed into a big doctor of letters seems to have lost the common touch. Yes, he speaks all over his face and give the impression, but the common touch has gone. Maybe too much education does that to all of us. For he posits the view that only the elite can tear apart and reform this country, but what about the common man shouldn’t he be given a voice. Sadly, I was not impressed, but I am only one of the common people. Always remember, most politicians love to wear their humble beginnings like a robe when it gets them elected.

27. @lemueal

Agree that Dr. Yearwoods piece is flavoured with a heavy dose of sentimentalism and lacks the required pragmatism given the issues at play.

However the jest of the message should not be subsumed by it it which is ‘yes we can!

28. To David:
    I am very suspicious of big up bajans; too often they flatter to deceive. I would agree that Dr. Yearwood’s piece has the elements for a good short story, but my concern is that it is the basis for a discussion on innovation. I do not have a principle stance against Yes we can, but in the bajan context it is always about how the elites can shape and arrange for their ultimate benefit.

29. @lemuel

Will that not always be the case? Who owns the capital?

30. To David:
    That is the problem for when the elite try their hands at social engineering, it is always a disaster. Greed can never produce good or equity. So the same poor public servants that Dr. Yearwood belly aches about have to pick up the social fall out from their disaster and work quickly to ensure that social safety nets are in place. But you know what is laughable, the public sector is always presented a lazy and dumb, but the fact is that most of the private sector consists of very dumb people who have the massa genuflection down to the “T”.

31. I’m talking to everyone here. I think we all have great ideas but are getting caught up in trying to have our voices heard, whether that be ideas on having our political parties legally responsible, or any other ideas mentioned above. I disagree with the user who posted that there are easy answers, and listed out in three or four steps. That is missing the point. No one man is has all the ideas and all the experiences; we can only contribute our own knowledge and opinion that has been shaped by our experiences and the past. To say that there is an easy solution is, frankly, to be ignorant. There are an infinite number of improvements and contributions that people can make that they have seen in their lives. I believe that is the nature of what Ronnie is saying. He is not saying, “This is the way forward, follow me”. He is not trying to take credit singlehandedly. It’s much greater than anything on the personal level. That is why he has not suggested in great detail what he thinks should be done to ‘fix’ the problem. It is not that easy and the everyone must work collectively instead of hiding behind the veil of capitalism to justify complete lack of mistrust and lack of unity.

I believe what he is saying is that there are many great individuals like the posters above, who have great ideas to contribute and discuss in a public forum, to actually get the ball moving forward and actively nurture the movement forward. It is no longer about who’s name is on the paper for personal glory and fame. It isn’t about who is smarter and more educated. These things are petty. It is about being able to see a great opportunity and watering it to give it chance to grow into something remarkable. These are just my opinions, because I am of the belief that the solution will never be found in some technical political shakeup or implementation. It will not be found a slight shift in the institution. Our lives will never improve just because something on the news is now changed in procedure. Again, it is so easy to criticize others, but I think change will only occur if we all change ourselves in our mentality. Barbados has optimal number of people to have this unity work. But although the circumstances are helpful, we have this attitude of animosity and superiority and jealousy and other negative feelings towards the people who look just like us. You can change whatever you wish, but if that continues to exist in the hearts of men, all will be in vain. I think that is what Ronnie will be saying, and I wish him luck. Not just for his own sake, but for the sake of our country and our children.

“We must learn to live together as brothers or perish together as fools.” –
    – Martin Luther King Jr, 1964

32. Nothing will change in Barbados unless we enable more transparency in how we do business.

Key stakeholders in our governance system must demand and force the change.

Isn’t it ironic that campaign financing as an example flows from the private sector?

hmmmmm

33. @ emuel | November 13, 2011 at 10:41 PM |

Now that’s the spirit.

@ Justin | November 13, 2011 at 10:58 PM |

I disagree with you for disagreeing with the poster who posted four “easy” solutions and found him ignorant. Implement any one, only one of the four suggestions and observe the difference that this would make.

34. @ enuff | November 13, 2011 at 4:39 PM |

Having a political party registered as a legal entity, a charitable institution or NGO, would go a long way to answering your disturbing questions. How difficult is this to have done?

35. http://www.barbadosentrepreneurshipfoundation.org/events/2011-summit/

Jesus H Christ, look at the prices on this thing… Venus Williams is coming to Barbados, an’ her tickets cost a whole lot less … Christ, isn’t it all about entertainment ..?

36. To be honest, entrepreneurship does not really hold any fascination for me, even a dentist is an entrepreneur and he just as guilty at jucking out my eye with de prices he does set … no no, it is the “type” of entrepreneur that is important, the entrepreneur that actually PRODUCES something, anything, any damned thing that maketh the man …!

37. http://www.barbadosentrepreneurshipfoundation.org/blog/letter-to-brasstacks-on-11-11-11-on/

I donโ€™ know, one thing I will not do is criticize people for trying something. I gun let this one slide โ€ฆ

38. King James 2000 Bible (ยฉ2003)

For they have sown the wind, and they shall reap the whirlwind: the stalk has no bud: it shall yield no meal: if so be it does yield, the aliens shall swallow it up.

Hosea 8:7

“Sow the wind, reap the whirlwind”

We set out to divide after Independence and succeeded beyond our wildest expectations.

Whatever we produce is swallowed up by foreigners because those foreigners control our pile of sand, our land, our businesses …. even our minds!!

We made it happen ourselves.

We sowed the wind.

It used to be the plantocracy we railed about but if you check that is gone.

We are now proud independent people who have thrown off the yoke of colonialism!! …. words traceable to our part hacks.

We just never understood what it was that made us happy and fulfilled human beans!

We need start trying to understand where our strength really lay.

We speak of the irrelevance of the party system and in the same breath invoke “our National Heroes” who were created for us by the same party system ….. we really are wasting our time talking.

There is only one of them who did anything that unified us around him and his deeds … and that was Sir Gary.

The other 9 are used each year divide us.

Some of them are just figments of our imagination …. artist impressions ….. idols!!

39. @John

The party system has served us well but it is no reason why its effectiveness can’t be evaluated in a 2011 context, everything changes except change you know.

40. yes david the party system has indeed served us well but like all good things must come to an end because it no longer serves the purposes for which it was intended and has outlived its usefulness.

41. Pissed off with claptrap Avatar
    Pissed off with claptrap

“more worst than what is going to hit usโ€ฆ”

Good Heavens Mr Blackett, did you take English at school?

42. David | November 14, 2011 at 5:55 AM |

The party system has served us well but it is no reason why its effectiveness canโ€™t be evaluated in a 2011 context, everything changes except change you know.

Sounds like a politician to me.

Don’t start with the position that the party system has served us well because there will be no change.

Don’t assume any member is some kind of hero because the system says so …. or at least somebody in the system.

Start with an open mind which allows you to examine the failings objectively.

It may well be that the people in the system have been and are totally rotten which I think is more likely ….. maybe even the so called (by the system) heroes.

Do not praise up the system or anybody in it, past or present and in the same breath say there is a problem …. or vice versa.

Like the legal system ……. principles are sound but principals are not.

There is a problem, what, or who is it?

To eliminate the problem better to figure out what or who it is.

43. St George's Dragon Avatar

I am all for taking control of the situation and solving the ills of Barbados – economic and social – but I do not think Ronnie Yearwood’s article does any more say that. No answers, just a list of wishes. The only thing he missed was free apple pie for everyone – sorry, that should be conkies.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Here we go again! Just another load of waffle and hot air to be blown in the faces of the pseudo-intellectual groupies. What is being told to us has already been said over and over again; even with the latest salvo from the finance minister. This economy is in dire need of radical surgery. The emergency van must be called immediately, especially in light of the recent designation of our international business sector as a โ€œtax havenโ€ (an euphemism for tax evasion and dirty money dealings) by the French authorities who have a lot of say on these matters in the OECD & G7 clubs.
    BAFBFP & balance correctly diagnosed the disease and are recommending the courses of action needed to start the process of recovery and rehabilitation.
    But who really is listening? The groupies (even the high priced consultant Avinash will be there) will listen, smile and applaud for the Media photo opps! Then what? Same ole, same ole!
    The only way it seems that this economy would get the much needed โ€œclinicalโ€ attention and surgery is from a visit from the outside specialist attached to the intโ€™l medical fraternity(IMF) who has no local ties that bind and will step on any toes to get at the heart of the problem affecting the sick patient (Bajan economy).

45. @John

If the players in the system have become more rotten as you say don’t you think the governance structure has to be tweaked to accommodate?

46. If we want change we must insist on Integrity Legislation as away forward. If we don’t it will always be business as usual (lying and(tiefing as usual)

47. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/banker-govt-cant-help-all/

Somebody should remind this Banker “wey he great gran parents come from”.
    Uh wunda eff he pay fuh he education?

48. David

… accountability, transparency ….must happen.

Not negotiable.

… and if there is a problem there is a person that caused it.

….. but, specify the problem.

Relentlessly pursue the person to the ends of the earth to face the music.

This might be the biggest tweak that is needed.

A lawyer who steals from his clients has no right walking around free for 20 years in a different country because of his relationships.

Just encourages others to steal.

In the old time days shame kept people controlled. Today, people have no shame so take away their assets or liberty, something they value.

Just do it and stop talking for heavens sakes.

49. @islandgal246: “If we want change we must insist on Integrity Legislation as away forward. If we donโ€™t it will always be business as usual (lying and(tiefing as usual)

While I respect your opinion, I would argue that the promised “Freedom of Information Act” is more important than the promised “Integrity Legislation”.

The latter automatically falls out of the former.

Does it not?

50. @Mr. Peter Boos…

Not trying to take the “piss”, but was not 11.11.11 when Barbados was to have free Island (Nation) wide WiFi Internet access thanks to the BEF?

I repeatly advised your people why this was a really stupid idea.

It is now 11.11.14, and we don’t have free Island wide WiFi.

Imagine that….