Submitted by  DLP Supporter

Governor of the Central Bank Dr. Delisle Worrell says "Barbados credit rating is not in any further danger of another down grade.”

“Barbados credit rating is not in any further danger of another down grade.” This view as expressed by the Governor of the Central Bank recently as he reviewed the economy of Barbados for the first 9 months of the year. The measures as outlined in the Government’s Fiscal Medium Term Fiscal Strategy have acted as a compass to help navigate the economic landmines.

The Governor’s acknowledgment that the fiscal deficit has fallen from 9.6 percent of GDP last year to 5.3 percent clearly underscores the point that the policy makers are digging in. This reduction is a direct reflection of Government’s stated intention to reduce spending. Our economic driver, tourism is also beginning to feel the pinch. There has been a public acknowledgement despite increase tourist we have experience a decline in spending and stay. Colin Jordan, President of the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association indicated “People who come to the island come from countries that really feel the recession, such as UK, USA. Arrivals have increased for the UK but they are coming from a country with challenges; they want to get away but they are spending as little as possible”

Despite, the sluggish economic activity around the globe, this government remains committed to the parity of the dollar and a policy agenda enable growth of the economy.

These achievements do not qualify as a measure of fiscal consolidation and prudence on the part of the critics of the Government. When the fiscal deficit was over 9 percent, that was the flavour of the month, the pundits are now setting fire under an IMF report. This Government has always had a mind of its own and foremost is the protection of the poor, the vulnerable and the strengthening of the social safety net. The public servants of this country must take the credit in administering the policy agenda as rolled out by the Democratic Labour Party. The notion of Team Barbados has allowed for us to put country ahead of narrow partisan political gain.

It is with even greater interest that at any Price, commentators, in some instances have been able to use print and electronic media, to give the public the opinion that something dark is amidst. Of course, the public has been judging such persons by withdrawing support where it matters.

We have all seen the published statement from the head of the Barbados Private Sector Agency, John Williams and we thank him for buying in to the concept of Team Barbados where he speaks about working together to return the country to efficiency and offering greater service. He goes on to say “Together we can chart a path for growth and economy…”

But this mantra may have been lost on some in the media and commentators who have at any Price sought to confuse the public about the economic indicators but we on this side know different and have already been briefed.

There can be no doubt that this country is holding together through spirited cooperation of the social partners. The Unions and Business have followed suit and exercise great restraint in their layoffs and kept doors open. The intervention by the state to keep capital projects going has acted as a small island stimulus package. The efforts by the Private Sector must be lauded as they too have tremendous sacrifices in this period.

The media some how seems to have identified a different Theme Barbados ..the public was recently exposed to comments by an editorial attributed to Sanka Price “…What we do know is that it is now incumbent on him [PM Stuart ] and his administration to take the hard decisions needed to save this country’s fortunes from sinking further, and threatening the quality lifestyle to which we have become accustomed.”

One could only assume what the good journalist is speaking to layoffs and devaluation as alluded to in the body of the article. These comments were not qualified and therefore left to interpretation. Is he saying to protect the rich and famous? Is the author of the article asking the state to begin laying off public sector workers. Is the commentator asking the state to charge for education or cut the spending to health care?. Is he suggesting a wage freeze in both private and public sector? Of course the question has to be asked at what Price?

After all, the Government has remained faithful to the process of job creation and maintenance of public sector employment levels.

1. Well WEll WEll, what political nonsense we’re seeing, Thousands of dollars being spent on a dead man David Thompson, while persons are still waiting to get assistance with house repairs after Tomas. The silly season is really on but the voting public are not stupid. The DLP MUST come with a better programme, the wool that was pulled over the voting public’s eyes have been cleared up. Like the young people would say “wheel and come again.”

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

You will live to eat those words in the next 9 to 12 months. Stop living in cloud cuckoo land! It’s a safe bet to make that general elections will be called before May 2012. The serious economic and financial adjustments that must be made will only be made during a possible second term of DLP power. Anything moves before that will result in electoral slaughter giving you the distinct title of the first one-term administration in Barbadian politics.

3. That’s a lot if bs.

4. Time to explore Avatar

BU please start a thread on news tonight on cbctv in which an oilman calls on GOB to go after oil and gas reserves off shore the oilman speaks as if he is sure there is commercial hydrocarbons in Barbados waters we want to know more.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Time to explore:
    Off shore drilling is extremely costly. Plus the hydrocarbons off Bim are heavy and high in sulphur. Not very suited for the high margin finished products (e.g. gasoline). Now if they were like the Libyan light sweet crude the oil barons would be around here like bees to nectar and we will have no problems selling the 4 Seasons villas. The West has finally secured the coveted prize by controlling the “light sweet easy to drill” oil and gas reserves of North Africa. Iran can now go fly a kite with more trade sanctions to follow soon.

6. I thought the dead king said that there was no oil off Barbados! As soon as he became PM, he said that the BLP was fooling the people and wasting money on exploration. Well, well, well!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son:
    That’s a good one for the blp PR operatives to throw at their damned lying party opponents. But who is the person responsible for energy matters; not DB? Unless the wordy gentleman, having contemplated emptying the barrel of the dregs, has received a new burst of energy and has taken on the role of chief spokesman on all things energy, including alternative energy. I suspect there is more in the well than just oil. There is a saying that “oil and water does not mix”. Maybe the boss man is about to pump off the bilge water from the well into the marina

8. Plus the hydrocarbons off Bim are heavy and high in sulphur. Not very suited for the high margin finished products (e.g. gasoline).

you know this how millertheanunnaki | October 20, 2011 at 9:56 PM |?

9. If you are a keen listener to what is going on in the economy it is clear that the writer is correct

On Sunday call in program BLP moderator Pat Hoyos asked “Mr give me a constituency that suit my profile” Mascoll what would be his solution to getting Barbados out of this mess.
    He said that that here are certain services that people take as a god given right. He was prompted to explain and he said that for example health care, the government should take care of the most vulnerable and the rest can basically pay for their services.
    Now is that the BLP policy?

He said he was not representing the BLP but representing Barbadians therefore Barbadians Mr Mascoll is pushing the policy that health care be no longer free at the QEH but people like Scout should pay for their health care.
    He was about to say the same thing about education but Pat Hoyos was hushing him for saying someone was talking nonsense as he always does.
    It will be no better under a BLP government because they will have to take the hard decisions that OWEN ARTHUR never did in his life.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Time to explore:
    Because I have more than a passing knowledge of the industry.

11. When is the next poll due? Isn’t the Nation newspaper doing any polls?

12. Elections will be January 20, 2013.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone:
    But you have to respect the man for being honest! Calling a spade a spade and holding the bull by the horns must be the new mantras for the political directorate. Not COL!COL!CPOL! Education and Health will be the primary targets for the IMF structural adjustment programme due to be implemented in 2012.
    We have already received hints from the Guv of the CBB &Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs. The IMF most recent report also makes clear reference to the need to cut back on social services with only a safety net for the most vulnerable to remain in place. In other words the days of universal free Education up to tertiary level & Health care are coming to an end.

If the local decision makers don’t want to bite the bullet and implement the inevitable adjustments then the IMF will come in with their task force and do the “dirty” work. You want to borrow more money and you already owe overseas people big money; then, do some big chopping at home!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Str8 Up:
    Are you saying that history really repeats itself and we learn nothing from its circulatory motion? If so, you might just have a philosophical point there!
    Here we go again, another sand(ie)castle in the making! This time we will have a more sophisticated and snooty presentation of the play “Leave it or Lump it”!
    FYI, there is an old bajan proverb that goes like this: “ya can hide and buy land, but ya can’t hide and wuk um”! Or for another one, as the BAG would, “nite does run til day ketch it”! Pick sense from DEM two old-time sayings!!

15. millertheanunnaki

I know he is trying to be honest because he knows there is no magic wand and yet still criticize the minister of health for trying to cut out wastage by making non-nationals pay for hospital services.

Why would all of the other economist who are advising the government be wrong and Mr.Mascoll and Arthur right?

The DLP got hurt by making hard decisions in the past so therefore I want Owen Arthur to be the PM because he believes he has this great talent that is missing in the US and Europe. We will have another national service for a PM because the stress will kill him and he will go down in History as the forgotten Prime Minister.

The gloom and doom talk was going on for four years so another year will not be long.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone:
    I agree with you that the economic problems confronting Bim are too great for the burnt-out fellow to handle. Hence the skulduggery to get Clydie to be an elected member to handle the day-to-day stress of high finance and economics. But get real, the place is gloomy! If it was not so, the government would be able to pay its recurrent bills, refund income tax payers and honour its commitments to the various statutory agencies and the UWI.

17. @Str8 Up

Latest date elections can be set is jan 15 2013

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ anthony:
    Are you sure about the latest date for next GE to be called?

Given my limited knowledge on constitutional matters I was of the view that a government had an additional 90 days to play with BUT MUST CALL THE GE WITHIN THAT ADDITIONAL WINDOW OF TIME.

Advise me if I am wrong similar in regard to the repatriation of proceeds for aviation fuel sold to int’l airlines (tongue-in-cheek here!).

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“It’s a safe bet to make that general elections will be called before May 2012.”

You are still begging for elections before May 2012 so that your predictions will come true.

The DLP will call elections when it is good and ready.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC:
    It certainly would be in your party’s interest to call the general elections before the forex runs very low and the IMF come a calling to occupy Bay Street or maybe Warrens if the building is ready for occupancy.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You appear deathly afraid of the IMF, the IMF can be your friend. If their advice is heeded in time.

During the reign of owen”seethru”arthur, the IMF expressed grave concern about the lack of proper supervision of the Insurance industry in Barbados. The Govt’s response at the the time was tell the IMF that they can’t tell them how to run Barbados.

As a result we now have CLICO to deal with. This is only one eaxmple. If “seethru” had paid more attention to what the IMF was saying in good times then Barbados would be better off today. Important decisions would have been made that would have benefited Barbados today.

Instead “seethru” spent like a drunken sailor hence a lot of our problems today.

22. CCC
    Maybe if Owen had paid the IMF some attention, the DLP would not have been able to blow millions of Clico money, plus the two big guns would not have been able to pull so much money out of the company for themselves. Remember the late David Thompson was Clico’s attorney.at that time.

23. I predict the next general elections will have a record low in voting, many voters are fedup with the DLP and the BLP are becoming more and more divided. In the end Barbados will be the one to suffer

24. Maybe we need rebels here too, will NATO bomb for us?

We can always ask?

25. But, will we be labelled terrorists or rebels? Mehtinks if we spout western stuff, we’ll get the rebel title.

Agree?

26. Truthman Burton Avatar

@The Scout | October 21, 2011 at 6:10 PM |
    “CCC, Maybe if Owen had paid the IMF some attention, the DLP would not have been able to blow millions of Clico money, plus the two big guns would not have been able to pull so much money out of the company for themselves. Remember the late David Thompson was Clico’s attorney.at that time.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Yeah CCC, Your boy Wickham The Spy, told the Americans that the figure received by the DEMS was THIRTY FOUR MILLION DOLLARS!!. You believe it is possible that the poor deprived and devastated policy holders will get back any of that from the DLP? Did they spend all in that lavish election caqmpaign, or might the balance of it be found in Families First’s account and other obscure places?

As usual, CCC, you focused on the wrong things, and barking up the wrong tree!
    By the way CCC … Which liquor can one SEE THRU BETTER? White rum or Absolut Vodka?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Truthman Burton:
    I was about to get back to CCC but other threads of more intellectual import had to be attended to.
    Thank you Truthman, I could not have handled Mr. CCC any better. How can the boys of the one-term party ever have the gall to set about putting the blame for the CLICO fiasco entirely on the back steps of the boys in waiting? DT ,while in charge, and his successors made it abundantly clear that CLICO was a sound and well-managed business who principals will be protected to the hilt. So why blame OSA?

To CCC: At least OSA never had the IMF breathing down his neck instructing him on the day-to -day spending decisions of government. This is the reality that will soon be facing CS.

28. @ Scout
    Low voter turn out when the cost of living and unemployment higher than 2008 when many promises were made? 1986 – 1994 redux?

29. millertheanunnaki | October 20, 2011 at 10:36 PM |
    @ Time to explore:
    Because I have more than a passing knowledge of the industry.
    Gotcha you snorkel or spear fish!?! Long long stewpss.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Time to explore:
    It has been known for decades that there are pockets of hydrocarbons off Barbados, some of which might have commercial appeal.
    It was as a result of the oil crisis and the high increase in oil prices that the Tom Adams Administration took a more focused interest in attracting drilling companies to explore this potential resource. Tests were carried out by geologist and chemical engineers who specialise in hydrocarbon exploration. The results indicate the presence of heavy crude. Economic analyses suggested that the costs of exploration, transportation and refining of this crude and the many risks associated with offshore drilling (environmental and aesthetic, etc) did not match the probable economic returns, given the prevailing cost of oil on the world market that had dropped from it previous high in the early 70’s. It was recommended to the political directorate that offshore oil exploration as a strategy of wealth creation be shelved until the economics become more attractive and that alternative avenues be pursued such as further development of tourism and establishment of niches or enclaves for the expanding international business and financial services. This ‘services-oriented” model of economic development was seen by both EWB and his successor JMGA as the replacement to the sugar-based economy and as necessary agents to absorb the emerging blue collar workers who have been the beneficiaries of ‘free’ education post the Primary level.

Although the current ‘high’ oil market prices (mainly due more to speculative behaviour than to the basic forces of supply and demand at play) might appear as a possible spur to the revisiting of this myth of the existence of a “black” gold mine, other factors might force this idea back into its Pandora’s box. Any attempts at encouraging off shore drilling for hydrocarbons would invite criticisms from those who peddle the clarion call for the urgent need to move away from fossil fuels and look to alternative renewable sources for energy requirements. The risks to our environment and our major economic asset-tourism- are too great to entertain. The probable much larger reserves off Brazil, Cuba and Guyana might be more attractive to the international oil companies than little Bim with its continuing disputes of territorial boundary and economic zone limits with its main investor and assets owner.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tme to explore:
    “This ‘services-oriented” model of economic development was seen by both EWB and his successor JMGA as the replacement to the sugar-based economy and as necessary agents to absorb the emerging “blue collar workers” who have been the beneficiaries of ‘free’ education post the Primary level.”

Oops!! Sorry !! I meant to say “emerging white collar workers” and not blue collar workers.

32. Read in the press the reaction by Economists Sir Courtney, Charles Skeete and Michael Howard to the IMF’s recommendation of a wage freeze for public servants. This may be true but to be fair Minister David Estwick’s name should be added to the list. Very early in this government’s term he made his position public but he was hushed by late PM Thompson. There is a suspicion on BU’s part Estwick has been biting his bottom lip for some months now.

33. @millertheanunnaki

seem i need to brush up on my election law. from what i seen latest it could be is 6 weeks from first sitting of parliament + 5 years. so march 26th 2013 ?

34. Asking a foolish question. How will such an approach help government to reduce its public sector wage bill?

35. if the media was doing it’s homework it would be pointing out that the NUPW has acted more than responsibly in the interest of the country by not pressuring the government about the delay in the commencement of salary negotiations almost one and half years overdue. it seems to me that a wage freeze has been in place surreptiously since april 2010 and i would not be surprised if the nupw suffers a fallout in membership.our brand of economics is predicated by an unwritten economic maxim that increases in the cost of living are met by some increase in emoluments even when there is abreakdown in negotiations and this has not been the case.