Petition launched to stop the set up of a monument to John Newton who visited St. Kitts to sell slaves and later turned Christian abolitionist  – Reproduced from email received from Gilbert Lรฉonard

A small Baptist church in St. Kitts has been convinced to set up a monument to John Newton who came here to sell slaves and later turned Christian abolitionist.  This is happening at the Lighthouse Baptist Church in Sandy Point.  An English couple convinced them to do this after the Anglican and Methodist churches in Sandy Point turned them down.  About 3 years ago I tried to convince them that this was not a right thing to do in an independent black Caribbean country.  Much of the information is being supplied by this couple whose name I cannot remember and they are using the film Amazing Grace as a way of convincing people with no concept of their own history.  I thought the whole thing had died down but I heard that the English people are coming here next week to put things in place.  I am convinced that Newton abandoned the slave trade because his ventures in it had failed.  He took up the priesthood as a means to a regular income.  His association with the abolitionists may or may not have been heartfelt but his association with the Caribbean and with Sandy point in particular was as a slaver.

Open letter to PM of St Kitts about Slaver monument in St Kitts.

Dear Sir,

As Afro-descendants victims of the ideology of slavery and of the denial of the permanent fight of our ancestors against their enslavement.

We call upon you to stop this new grossly disguised attack against our integrity: our ancestors did fight and obtain freedom, not the slavers. If one or two slavers changed their minds about slavery, it was not because of the inhumane aspects of slavery; it was either because our ancestors continuing fight against these inhumane practices jeopardized the economical benefits of slavery or because those slavers eventually happened to fear the punishment of God for their ill- doings.

So please, do not allow this Baptist Church to deceive our people, whether it is voluntary or not.  Take a swift action and add your name to the list of more and more numerous countries that demand Reparations for this Crime Against Humanity which is constantly denied by the perpetrators while their ideology remains intact and active.

57 responses to “Slaver Monument of John Newton To Be Setup In St. Kitts : Open Letter To Prime Minister Of St Kitts”

1. This is a storm in a TEACUP!!!

John Newton is not alive to defend his actions or his CHRISTIAN* integrity so it is ludicrous to think that a vilification of a “FORMER” slave trader does justice to the debate over whether a monument should be erected on a Black Caribbean island or not…

The real issue to me is the flagrant symbolism given to men (as much notoriety as they may have had) in setting up EDIFICES, STATUES, MONUMENTS and the like to them – a clear breach of the FIRST (2) Commandments…

Today churches are mimicking the world by erecting pagan shrines and altars as was in the days of BAAL worship and we find so-called legitimate excuses to justify our idiocy…

Time for the debate to center around the facts and not some malicious exercise in discrediting a man who clearly had a transformative experience when he met Christ as so many of us have had as we travelled our own “road to Damascus”…

2. @TB

Yes Newton had a ‘had a transformative experience’ but isn’t it the right of a predominant Black nation in 2011 to feel resentment to erecting a monument to ex-slaver john Newton?

If it was there like Nelson in Bridgetown perhaps it would be a storm in teacup.

There is always a consequence for actions taken, if you are incarcerated and pay for the crime it does not mean that you will achieve in life in the same way to if you had a clean record.

It is a reality of human existence.

3. Didn’t we just spend millions, glorifying our connection with Washington.

Nice post, but no point, except division.

Wheel again David, edit the blog or admit your true gut feelings about our past, and state your agenda.

That would be far more interesting to debate.

4. @Straight talk

This is a petition unfolding in St. Kitts which BU has highlighted.

People are free to agree or disagree.

5. @ DAVID

Late yesterday evening I wrote on my FACEBOOK* wall the following quote: “UNFORGIVENESS IS LIKE DRINKING POISON BUT EXPECTING THE OTHER PERSON TO DIE AS A RESULT”…

We know that is asinine to the umpteenth degree…

So dear boy, for me, the reality of human existence needs a dose of “IDEALISM” which for all intent and purposes is really a “REALITY CHECK”…

My argument is not with JOHN NEWTON* but with the knuckle-heads who call themselves CHRISTIANS* who at the drop of a hat think it is not egregious to the HOLY SPIRIT* & SCRIPTURE* to be erecting man-made pillars of wood, stone, ivory, metal or whatever they put their hands on…

Surely, they know the COMMANDMENTS!!!

Regarding ISSUES* of “race” – my position (in the “EYES” of many) remains intrinsically BLURRED*… So we will let sleeping dogs lie…

6. @TB

Understand your position although there is a fine line to what you wrote and respecting the sensibilities of a Black nation.

7. @ DAVID (again)

lord (small “L”) Admiral Horatio Nelson in the center of B’TOWN is as much about COLONIAL* conquest as is the ERECTION* of a monument in St. Kitts to JOHN NEWTON* – the religio-political and philosophical connotations behind it all is obviously steeped in a protracted historical DEBATE* for which none of us really have the time, propensity or inclination to peruse given the rancour which exist…

8. David:
    Waiting with bated breath for the response to your soon to be published petition to demolish GW House, for it being a monument to a slaver.

9. @ST

It is what it is which is different to creating the erection today.

10. John Newton’s transformation whether real or imagined just like some other imagined entity called Saul on the road to Damascus is irrelevant to ALL Black People who are interested in seeing their UPLIFTMENT, ALL Black people who want to rid the boot of this parasitic system from their necks, All Black People who are not ‘HAPPY’ with the sham of a marriage or friendship with their enslavers. WTF he went thru was his business, not ours.

The Kittitians can definitely find REAL [not imagined] images of GREAT BLACK MEN & WOMEN for their edification. And I’m not speaking of someone who just played some sport well. I’m talking of well rounded men and women. Pls don’t follow the folly of the Bajans and erect a one-eyed, one-hand murderous bastard who shed blood for the Empire and who saved us from being french-speakers today [a real threat to our existence].

All around us whitey’s capitalist system of theft, guile, murder, lies and every other vice is crumbling now; mainly because the planet is ascending and won’t carry any dead weight with it, because it has run its course of destruction and because the majority of the world has decided that they will rid themselves of this blood sucking system where the parasites get to take and keep the biggest part of the pie. Today Libya and the rest of Africa are very good reasons why we should rid ourselves of the likes of John Newton & his ilk. Once Albert Einstein was held up to the world as the ‘brightest/smartest’ and yet again his theory has been proven FALSE. So all their systems are crumbling. There’s nothing to hold onto and we will have to revert to the sound scientific knowledge of our BLACK ancestors.

Christianity as we know it is also falling to pieces because they gave you a beLIEf system and nothing else. It cannot be tested it is all based on HOPE & FAITH. A system that is rooted in the spilling and shedding of blood.

St. Kitts can find BLACK heroes whose systems were not founded in faith & hope but on sound spiritual knowledge, knowledge that has today withstood the test of time.

This cracker has run his course, he won’t go down without a fight. But he will self-implode because HE IS FINISHED!

11. David:
    “It is what it is.”
    Exactly my point.
    Outside of Bim, nobody had heard of Bush Hill….. OK some pervs maybe.
    So a black GOB decides to market a decrepit building to the the tune of millions of our dollars, to commemorate the visit of a sickly slaver.

Don’t you understand the dual standard applying here?

Here, in Bim, and now 2011, we are sucking up to the very same history.

Not saying it is wrong, we need tourist attractions, but we don’t need your double standards expressed as our accepted norms.

12. @ST

Your point is taken.

Guess it always boils down to picking your poison.

Applying a grant to refurbish GW House (exisitng) to add to the tourism product Vs erecting a statue of John Newton (to be built) may be the line in the sand for some.

13. What is the purpose after all the damaged he inflicted on the minds of black people up until today. Why should he be rewarded as a person of principal when in fact he committed an abomination against the black man by selling slaves. In as much as he became a born again “christian” does not give him carte blanche in redemption.No one wants to be reminded of his character by looking at his monument .he might not be here to defend hisself his history tells a story that is not beautiful with his dealings in the slave trade.

14. Fair enough David:
    I lay down my cudgel, on the understanding that your sandline is far different than mine, which in a word is exposing hypocrisy and bigotry, wherever it rears its ugly head.

15. were not black people brought to st kitts by persons like john newton? the circumstances under which our ancestors were brought to these islands were indeed cruel and inhuman but we are here nontheless and since then we have come to be proud of our caribbean heritage which is enshrined in song insome of our national anthems. if the people of st kitts feel like erecting a monument to john whoeverheis newton, who are we to say otherwise? do we know the criteria?

16. Legislation Now Avatar

Young women from some countries in the Caribbean, are being brought to Barbados by those who might be black and prominent persons in society. When will we admit that we are worst than the white slave masters of yesteryear because in these times it is easier to speak out on these issues and yet we say nothing. I guess after-all the strip clubs aren’t close to our picket fences, nor is it our daughters who are being placed under “sex slavery,” so why bother.

17. It should be fairly easy to investigate who are bringing these prostitutes into Barbados to work in the strip clubs.

18. Kuba
    Such insanity as to erect a monument to this participant in the African MAAFa is incomprehensible.n Clearly those who proposed this furter affliction are either begging to meet their ‘maker’ sooner than they once expected, or they are testing the septh of the mentacidal effect on the Africans in SKN> Thern again it could be a spoof!! Shem Hotep

19. Storm in a teacup

20. Wasn’t it either Bishop Coleridge or Bishop Parry who said that the black slaves had no souls and therefore should not be part of the Anglican Church?
    Haven’t we got a monument in the north, in the form of a “prefered” school, dedicated to both of these gentlemen.

21. @Colonel Buggy: “Wasnโ€™t it either Bishop Coleridge or Bishop Parry who said that the black slaves had no souls and therefore should not be part of the Anglican Church?

One might have thought that if this was so important to you, you would know the answer.

Unless, of course, this isn’t that important to you….

22. @Colonel Buggy…

My apologies… I find myself used to being lied to. Sucks to be me.

Please show that you can stand without being lied to by those beside yourself.

Brother Colonel Buggy… What can say you honestly?

23. @Colonel Buggy…

Sorry…

Some might not appreciate my humour.

On the other hand, some might appreciate it deeply….

24. You can let Mrs O’Flahearty do her dirty work herself. There is no monument. The story is told of the connection John Newton had with the island. Its no shrine or monument to idolize him. Its telling the Unique story of St. Kitts Role in the abolition. If his heart wasnt changed or he was not converted to christianity he would not have played an important role in the abolition. Why not mention he was one of the greatest abolitionist? And if your in Barbados STAY TO HELL OUT OF ST KITTS BUSINESS!!! You can let Mrs O’Faheaty do her Dirty work herself

25. @Kititian

Good Night to you too.

On BU we comment on just about anything under the Sun, ok?

26. @ Kittian
    Spoken like a true Kitty Kat ! Meow! But who de hell is you to tell anybody what to comment on .What business? DE man sold slavesand we black people were part of his property . you got a problem wid dat nincomepoop!Btw none uhwe gonna apologise for any thing we say about that turn about loking out fuh heown self interest in de slave days John Newton. if yuh got a problem wid O’flahearty got pick a fight wid she and leave we people to have a right of free speech. Who de hell you think you are.coming on dis blog tellings us what to say. You need to stay to HELL OUT OF What we bajans says as dis is our RIGHTS.You jack ASS!

27. kittitian is right.who the hell are we to comment on the merits/demerits of kittitians erecting a monument to john whoeverheis newton especially when we are in the process of putting up a monument to a man who to all intents and purposes sold out the clico policy holders and such vile language from you ac.

28. VOB’s self promotion of keep you the listening public informed is nothing more than American history story telling .. “I have a dream today …”, “I did not have sex with that woman …”, ” Two planes have just struck the twin towers …”, “I am in a New York State of mind …” WHAT THE F#CK IS WRONG WITH THESE PEOPLE …?

29. @Balance
    You Coward! To agree or not agree is a person right to free speeech. You or no one can take that away from me. Blacks have been told too often to forget the past and put it behind us .Our History is what it is and being told to shut up will not erase it . Maybe it is easier said than done. BTW your flimsy response is mute and so is your lack of knowledge of John Newton.

30. Colonel Buggy | October 3, 2011 at 5:41 PM |

Wasnโ€™t it either Bishop Coleridge or Bishop Parry who said that the black slaves had no souls and therefore should not be part of the Anglican Church?
    Havenโ€™t we got a monument in the north, in the form of a โ€œpreferedโ€ school, dedicated to both of these gentlemen

A little histroy from “Historic Churches of Barbados” by Barbara Hill, Edited by Henry Fraser.

“The name William Hart Coleridge is known to most older Barbadians as the first Anglican Bishop of Barbados (1824).”

“Dr. William Hart Coleridge arrived in Barbados on 29th January 1825 as the first Bishop of Barbados and the Leeward Islands. His episcopate lasted eighteen years and between 1825 and 1842 he undertook an impressive programme of ecclesiatical and educational building which had a radical and lasting effect on the island. His remarkable achievements were summarised by Schomburgk; “The great and beneficial improvements which took place after his arrival are perhaps unparallelled in the history of the colonies”. His work was clearly a watershed for the Church in Barbados.”

The Coleridge Chapels of Ease

“The first phase of the Coleridge building programme consisted of six chapels built between 1828 and 1831, viz; Holy Trinity, St. Matthew, St. Mark, St. Luke, St. Paul and St. Bartholomew.”

“All of these were totally destroyed in the hurricane and rebuilt within two years”

The Coleridge Chapel Schools

St. David’s, St. Patrick, St. Swithun, St. Lawrence, St, Alban, St. Simon, St. Barnabas, St. Martin, St. Catherine, Little St. Joseph, St. Giles

Bishop Parry was Bishop Coleridge’s successor.
    It is kind of dumb to suggest that men whose lifes’ work can so easily be identified with the conversion of slaves to Christianity after emancipation, their acceptance into the Anglican Church and their education ………….. well …. I go no further!!

Just plain dumb!!!

31. …..’It is kind of dumb to suggest that men whose lifesโ€™ work can so easily be identified with the conversion of slaves to Christianity after emancipation, their acceptance into the Anglican Church and their education โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. well โ€ฆ. I go no further!!

Just plain dumb!!!

Have it ever occurred to you John, that these slaves came here (albeit against their will) with their own reliegion?

32. One thing about slavery that many overlook, or are not particularly concerned about is that it was an exercise in genetic engineering where only those with an obedient and submissive gene would be allowed to thrive … I go no further!!

33. An interesting offshoot to this discussion is why Barbados never named an abolitionist or Caucasian as a National Hero. Following John’s logic.

34. BAFBFP | October 4, 2011 at 7:25 AM |

One thing about slavery that many overlook, or are not particularly concerned about is that it was an exercise in genetic engineering where only those with an obedient and submissive gene would be allowed to thrive โ€ฆ I go no further!!

Because you can’t.

If you were to follow your logic none of us on BU could be descendants of slaves because we have been genetically engineered to be submissive, obediant and incapable of questioning the status quo.

Since we are capable of questioning the status quo it follows that your thesis is fatally flawed.

35. David

The whole exercise in selection of national heroes was a political game!!

If the B’s and D’s claim free secondary education as an achievement, then certainly the foundation, primary education, on which secondary education is built would have pride of place,

Clearly giants preceded our politicians.

36. Technician | October 4, 2011 at 7:17 AM |

โ€ฆ..โ€™It is kind of dumb to suggest that men whose lifesโ€™ work can so easily be identified with the conversion of slaves to Christianity after emancipation, their acceptance into the Anglican Church and their education โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. well โ€ฆ. I go no further!!

Just plain dumb!!!

Have it ever occurred to you John, that these slaves came here (albeit against their will) with their own reliegion?

But of course.

37. The white man is GOD for many so they are worshiping their GOD so let them be!

38. @Kittitian……..Didn’t Denzel Douglas get on his soap box pretending to be speaking for CARICOM and reiterated the blood-suckers bilge that Col. Ghadaffi must go? Why is it that he can speak for CARICOM and we can’t speak about St. Kitts? Who told him that the silent members of CARICOM wanted him to speak for us or furthermore endorsed his drivel? After they’re thru with St.Kitts who will be next?

@ Dr. Kuba Ossegai……Oh dear! You no longer an expert in the English tongue? I see you’re getting your syntax all messed up. Should I attribute such to a landmine injury?

39. Colonel Buggy

If you go to the Archives and ask to see the baptismal Register for the twenty year period prior to the arrival of Bishop Coleridge, you will find that thousands of slaves were being baptised and accepted into the Anglican Church.

Bishop Coleredge would have found on arrival thousands of baptised slaves and had to face the task of supplying religious instruction and education for tens of thousands to follow.

Of the approximately 100,000 population in Barbados in 1817, 80% were slaves, some of whom were already members of the Anglican Church.

The opening paragraph in the magazine article in the link is purposely, I suggest, vague.

It does not say who actually was engaged in the debate and who held the position.

To me that is a sure sign the article was written by someone with an agenda or someone who did not really know what was going on in Barbados.

The period leading up to and immediately following Emancipation had to be one extremely demanding period for our ancestors.

40. @ all of you was it not for the likes of John Newton and William Wilberforce who were WHITE we could still possibly be in slavery still today! It was the same WHITE men who fought for slavery to be abolished. Are we so DUMB! I make no apology for my statement I think Barbados have enough issues for you Bajans to discuss. Wha happening in SK is the people of St.Kitts to coment on. You dont even know the extent of the project and the reason for its being. No one is worshipping JOhn Newton! The Project simpy highlights the connection he had with St.KItts and the connection St.Kitts in turn had with the Abolition of slavery! But alot of us as blacks are so blinded and still suffer today from RACISM!

WHAT IS TO BE WILL BE! GET BOTHERED ABOUT WHATS HAPPENING IN BARBADOS!

41. Kititian

The actions of Black people affect all, it is the stark difference between of the JEWS operate and how BLACKS operate.

We are never united on the issue of race.

Slavery ended because it became uneconomic.

What say YOU Kititian?

42. Kitittian | October 8, 2011 at 8:23 AM | @ all of you was it not for the likes of John Newton and William Wilberforce who were WHITE we could still possibly be in slavery still today! It was the same WHITE men who fought for slavery to be abolished.

If a man takes away your fishing boat and gives you fish, should you be thankful that he has fed you? If a man takes away your house and gives you shelter in the garage, should you be thankful that he has sheltered you? If a manโ€ฆ

43. John | October 4, 2011 at 8:11 AM | If you were to follow your logic none of us on BU could be descendants of slaves because we have been genetically engineered to be submissive, obediant and incapable of questioning the status quo. Since we are capable of questioning the status quo it follows that your thesis is fatally flawed.

The cyber being, known here as John, may not be, but what of the human being in the background?

44. David | October 8, 2011 at 8:49 AM |

Last time I checked slavery was alive and well in some parts of this world as it has been from the year dot.

It is the change in man’s heart which begun the process of worldwide change leading first to the abolition of trans atlantic slave trade and then the emancipation of slaves in British colonial dependencies.

I believe the change is traceable to the Renaissance/Reformation period.

France followed in 1848, America in 1865, Spain, Portugal etc.

Some African Countries still have slaves. Mauritania is believed, according to wikipedia to be the country with the highest proportion of slaves in its population.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Slavery_in_Mauritania

In 2007, its parliament unanimously passed a law making making the practice of slavery punishable by up to 10 years in prison.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Kitittian:

“all of you was it not for the likes of John Newton and William Wilberforce who were WHITE we could still possibly be in slavery still today”.

BUT WE ARE STILL IN SLAVERY! MENTAL SLAVERY!

You only have to look around at the high rates of criminal activity in the region, especially Black on Black murders. Why should a small, church going, country like St. Kitts have such a high murder rate? But Barbados is no different! The continuing manifestation of mental slavery is widespread among Black Bajans. The day-day-day interaction between subservient blacks and the supercilious smug whites makes excellent sociological research on the effects of the plantation system. The hypocritical love-hate relationship Bajans have with the Anglican Church- which was once one of the biggest slaver owners in the island- is testimony to their inability to overcome the mental slavery syndrome.

But as you said Bajans right now have too much on their plates (the CLICO mess, looking down the barrel of a gun in the form of financial meltdown and economic dislocation) to worry about John Newton.

But then again the Bajan hypocrisy syndrome manifests itself in the form of the statue of Lord Nelson- and other edifices built out of the blood, sweat and tears and bones of their black ancestors- which are now paraded as places of historical and architectural interests as a means to bilk the tourists.

46. David | October 8, 2011 at 8:49 AM |

This thesis was first advanced I believe by Dr. Eric Williams and at one time I thought it made perfect sense and I need look no further.

Then I started doing my own research.

I agree slavery became uneconomic in British Colonial dependencies and I agree its uneconomic nature was one of the factors considered in its abolition in British colonial dependencies, but the road to abolition had been followed for decades, centuries.

That is why in Barbados wills from the 1600’s there were persons who freed their slaves.

Likewise in other countries.

Whether or not slavery had become economic was not the determining factor.

For England, the time arrived when it became unconscionable and was done away with. It is not coincidence that Christianity can be found at the heart of the mind change.

At that point in time, Engand ruled the seas and had a world empire unlike any other in history. The idea and thinking thus spread worldwide by sea in a way it could never have done before.

Today, slavery is frowned upon by people whereas once it was the norm.

A few people in England started the change.

They in turn were influenced by a few people in Europe.

The world followed.

Read some world history and then go figure the source of the influence.

47. Alien | October 8, 2011 at 9:28 AM |

John | October 4, 2011 at 8:11 AM | If you were to follow your logic none of us on BU could be descendants of slaves because we have been genetically engineered to be submissive, obediant and incapable of questioning the status quo. Since we are capable of questioning the status quo it follows that your thesis is fatally flawed.

The cyber being, known here as John, may not be, but what of the human being in the background?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You see, I am a descendant of slaves.

I am not a cyber being, whatever that may be.

I am quite capable of questioning the status quo and looking for answers through my own efforts.

The older I get and the more I find out the less I believe the interpretations of West Indian history taught me at Harrison College in fourth and fifth form.

I have reached the stage where I have only held on to the facts and dates I learned back then and done away with the interpretations I had to learn from the books of the time.

I now add new facts and dates to my memory and come up with my own interpretations.

I have fun with the facts and dates available to me and enjoy questioning the historical interpretations I hear being put forward.

48. Interestingly enough, there is a town in Sierra Leona named after John Newton.

It is close to Freetown.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton,_Sierra_Leone

According to wikipedia he was once held as a servant to the slaves of an African Duchess and badly mistreated.

“Newton proved to be a continual problem for the crew of Pegasus. They left him in West Africa with Amos Clowe, a slave dealer. Clowe took Newton to the coast, and gave him to his wife Princess Peye, an African duchess. Newton was abused and mistreated along with her other slaves. It was this period that Newton later remembered as the time he was “once an infidel and libertine, a servant of slaves in West Africa.”

Early in 1748 he was rescued by a sea captain who had been asked by Newton’s father to search for him.[citation needed]”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Newton

Interesting guy this John Newton. Worth some more research.

He does not seem to be connected to the Newton family of Barbados but it is difficult to say for sure without doing more research.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Is this the same John Newton that “is alleged’ to have written the song “AMAZING GRACE” that Bajans sing so lustily and so often, mainly at funerals?