Submitted by Mia Supporter

Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (foreground), Dale Marshall MP

There is a biological, as well as a scientific explanation why ‘senior citizen, 63-years-old Owen Arthur’ is always picking at Mia Mottley and Christopher Sinckler and why he (Arthur) feels DLP Parliamentarians are “poor-rakey:” ‘youth!’ They are “YOUNG,” for the most part.

“Ephebiphobia” is the fear of young people. That is also your explanation why 63-years-old Owen Arthur’ feels that spending money on football is a waste. Football, for the most part, is played by young people and symbolises youth, vitality and energy.

“Leader of the Geriatric Brigade,” Owen Arthur, at 63-years-old, is a senior citizen, who does not understand; forgets easily and does not connect with the youth.  That is the dilemma for him.  As a matter of fact, it was only quite recently that the country knew that Arthur even had children. And for that, David Thompson and his “Family First Programme” must be credited.

Today’s society (like the youth) is fast-paced; loves football, car racing and is into technology. It would be surprising if Owen Arthur can even send a text message!  Essentially, Owen Arthur has to slow things down to his significantly reduced paste, as a result of a combination of old age and ill-health. The majority of the society finds ‘Owen Arthur’s SNAIL-PACE,’ seriously frustrating and frankly, a big-turn off, especially in circumstances where the country can do much better and has a lot more energy. His allegation that being an Economist gives him an edge is over-rated as it only serves as a reminder that he is yesterday’s man.

Despite him being an Economist, Clico happened, so too the millions of indebtedness for the building at Warrens.  Let’s face it! Given the amount of money floating around then (even with a man being paid $90 million a year) a lot of what he claims credit for – would have happened despite whoever was Prime Minister at the time, especially since the foundation was laid many years earlier by Tom Adams.

I guess you could say that Owen Arthur is a cranky old man, who is a serious diabetic and a known alcoholic; who forget things and has an extreme dislike of youth; young people and football, Chris Sinckler and especially Mia Mottley.  Now we know why: “”Ephebiphobia!!!”

1. Is this submission the best you got.. Please …. you need to go back to the drawing board “mia supporter”… Totally offbase observation, inaccurate and weak minded. And I am a young bajan…

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@owen supporter. Is that what you would call a rebuttal?
    Come on, man or woman! identify where mia supporter is offbase, inaccurate and weak minded. Or weren’t you taught that at Secondary school or University. Counter what mia supporter is arguing. Don’t attack the person.

3. Is it we are simple to believe that if Owen and Mia don’t get their act together and resolve this rift they will lose another election by default?

4. is this the kind of person Barbados wants to lead their country. ?Geriatric.The article is somewhat funny but true. one thing the submitter omitted he is a male chauvinist and likes to dominate women only finds favour with women when it is of convience and rewards them only when it suits his favour .

5. The irony of this piece is that while accusing the man of being fearful of the youth, the author is blatantly discriminating against and fearful of ‘senior citizens’. I think such behaviour is called ageism and the condition gerontophobia.

6. The article is basically a non-sense, accusation based on supposition.

Uncle Owen or as some call him, the Teddy Bear is coming back and alot of people (myself not included) can’t wait to retuen him to Bay Street and Ilaro Court.

7. This is the biggest load of sewage that the “No 1 Man in the No.2 Business” would ever have been asked to pick up for dumping! How could anyone even remotely suggest that Mr. Arthur does not like young people? What kind of assinine DLP propaganda is this?

Every measure, every policy decision Mr.Arthur has made over the years to rescue this country from the mismanagement of the DEMS, and to bring it to its current level of development, has been predicated, (as he was often hear to say), on the type of country he wanted to build, in order that the future of the youth of this country, including HIS OWN CHILDREN, would be secured.

Where is the current place in Barbados most suitable for football, that would accomodate the largest possible crowds in Barbados? Who, in the face of severe criticism brought that facility to World Class quality, such that the same critical DEMS, now boastfully and shamelessly use it for all types of events, including Cabinet swearing-in ceremonies?

My understanding is that Mr. Arthur DID NOT express dislike of, has NEVER ONCE, uttered any view against football. What he objected to was the planned, crass, opportunistic, politicalisation of the game, by using taxpayers money through the Constituency Councils, to sponsor an island-wide tournament in the name of David Thompson. Does Anybody remember when the constituency councils idea were first mooted, that Arthur and numerous others forecasted what would eventually happen?

It was felt that these CC’s would be used like DLP pork barrells for the dispensing of political largesse throughout the communities of Barbados, under the guise of “community empowerment” and “participatory democracy!” Except for maybe a few token independent selectees, almost the entire 450 persons or so on the councils were handpicked (cherry-picked?, to use the latest in-vogue term) by the Minister according to party affiliation, so that the largesse could be dispensed according to DLP dictates.

8. @millertheanunnaki | September 28, 2011 at 8:48 PM
    You have chided, “Don’t attack the person.”

But what is the following, if it is not a nasty attack on Mr.Arthur’s person? —

“I guess you could say that Owen Arthur is a cranky old man, who is a serious diabetic and a known alcoholic; who forget things and has an extreme dislike of youth; young people and football, Chris Sinckler and especially Mia Mottley. ”

Is everyybody in Barbados over 60 years old, now to be discarded as useless, shelf life expired, as the DEPARTED ONE(God rest his soul) was fond of saying? What is to be done with Prime Minister Stuart? How old is he? The boasting about some “Families First Programme” is amazing, because when I think of that programme, the only thing that distinguishes it in my mind is the ocassion when the programme’s originator, apparently in a drunken stupor generated by excessive consumption of Absolut Vodka, fell off the back of a truck and broke one of his ankle! Why is it that DLP supporters on this blog feel it sensible or even kind to repeatedly refer to Mr.Arthur as old and sick?

9. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

Why is it that DLP supporters on this blog feel it sensible or even kind to repeatedly refer to Mr.Arthur as old and sick?

Because he is old sick, corrupt and a womaniser !

10. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

Asked and answered Kerry Symmonds. NEXT ?

11. I AM SORRY TO HAVE TO INVOKE THE NAME OF MR BARROW INTO THESE INFLAMMATORY COMMENTS ON THE BLOG ABOUT CHARACTER BUT ALL I ASK OF THOSE QESTIONING MR ARTHUR’S AGE OR MORALS.wAS NOT THE LATE GREAT ERROL BARROW, A WOMANISER? WAS HE NOT OPENLY LINKED WITH A LADY BY THE NAME OF jEANINE CIPPOLATO AMONG OTHERS? DIDN’T MR BARROW HAVE A CHILD OUTSIDE OF WEDLOCK? HOW OLD WAS MR BARROW WHEN HE WAS RETURNED TO POWER IN 1986? AC CAN YOU SUPPORT FACTUALLY YOUR DEFINITIVE COMMENTS?

12. IF I WERE MIA I WOULD CAUTION MY SUPPORTERS TO REFRAIN FROM WRITING SUCH INFLAMMATORY COMMENTS ON THE BLOG GIVEN THE POLITICAL DILEMNA SHE FINDS HERSELF IN AT THE MOMENT BECAUSE OF AN ARCHAIC PARTY GOVERNANCE STRUCTURE AND GIVEN THE DELICATE BALANCE SHE NEEDS TO TREAD IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN PUBLIC SUPPORT.

13. Truthman and why didn;t Owen objected to the planned crass opportunistic removal of Mia as leader of the BLP by members including himself within his party..

14. Balance you need to show respect for the deceased afterall they can’t defend themselves. you should be ashamed of yourself invoke Mr Barrow name in your artful dogger attempt to defend OSA.just like your leader would say or doing anthing to win.verry tacky.

15. What we have here is Mia supporters trying to promote the idea that Mottley by her comparative youth, it has been demonstrated in her political tactics when matched up with Arthur.

16. All the past and present leaders of this country have something in common……the majority were an IMMORAL BUNCH trying to tell the electorate that they are saints. And the FOOLISH people believe them too. Lets us look at them.

1. Freundel…….NEVER MARRIED with CHILD/REN that also shows a man’s fear of commitment or he is still looking for MRS. RIGHT? Is he now Celibate? I knoe dat Bonny will fix it.

2. Owen Seymour Arthur……Divorced with several outside children while still married, married his secretary , a known alcoholic and wife abuser. An old scallywag!

3. David Thompson……A man of many personalities. Had a few outside women and Snickler claimed they were his women in order not to get Mara vex. He and Leroy Parris AKA Green verbs were close buddies, so close in fact they bought a beach house together. He was CLICO’s lawyer and went to the grave holding CLICO’s secrets with him. If only dead men can talk.

4. Erskine Sandiford…..Sir Loyd now, brought down the DLP government because he would not step aside after a vote of no confidence. Don’t know if he cheated on Angelina but then again a man in power attracts all kinds of women. Perhaps a chinee eye gal in China will find him curious.

5. Bree St. John…….Took over when Tomcat Adams died. I am sure he had lots of skeletons in the closet……BUT dem ent talking or I ent knoe bout dem. Fill me in please.

6. Tomcat Adams…..Married and a known woman beater, an adulterer and womanizer who had many women across Barbados. Many were given posts abroad for their services rendered and for taking the licks.

7. Errol Walton Barrow……A womanizer adulterer and liked variety. Had women from all walks of life, from a little black rum shop owner to an European socialite. Is it true he died in the saddle? A known lover was Norma Jackman who used to run a rum shop/ canteen at the old Seawell airport, loved the ground that man walked on.

I miss out anyone?

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Truthman Burton. Because someone shouts at you from the gutter it does not follow that you should jump in and have a cuss out with them. A sign of intelligence is the ability to recognize crap and avoid walking into it.

What “owen supporter” has to do is to bring an argument that justifies OSA’s return to power. The economic conditions that prevailed when OSA was at his pinnacle are quite different from those prevailing. OSA has to come to us and let us know his vision for the Barbados economy. Selling land to the highest bidders will not cut it because they are no longer readily available. Look at the Four Seasons project. OSA cannot rely on the past to conjure up economic prosperity. We need to hear what new paradigm he proposes for Barbados. We have heard MAM; now it over to OSA to speak to the following:

Financing the restart of the Four Seasons project which started under his watch.

We want to hear you on the Pickering project, the Merricks project, the Sam Lord’s project, etc.

The resolution of the CLICO debacle . Settlement to policyholders must involve Government’s financing. What financing options can OSA recommend? Issuance of bonds, special levy, VAT on financial transactions for a limited period? We want to hear. This is a CSME problem.

What can OSA say on:
    The public transport system; Are you going to privatize the Transport Board using MAM’s model?

Reduction of the current account deficit (paying off the country’s credit card overdue bill).
    Protection of the international business sector from aggressive competition- many more businesses will soon be pulling up sticks and migrating to other jurisdictions.

What about agriculture, especially the sugar cane industry or are we to continue to see our desolate country side overgrown with bush snails and rats ready to be cut up for house spots. Why do we have to import sugar from Guyana and molasses to make our so-called 100% Bajan rum from Brazil.

The DLP would have filled the breach as far as housing is concerned so you don’t have to worry with this issue, even if the houses being built are little ovens ready to make more people sick.

I don’t see OSA as “old” (many political leaders in both Eastern and Western societies come to power in their sixties). His NCB’s can be managed, if so desired. His private life is just that, “private”. Nothing to do with the running of the country. What I see in OSA is a person that is “burnt out and tired intellectually. I don’t think he will be able to motivate people and get them to perform at their best. OSA’s modus operandi is one of instilling fear, hurling insults and carrying out vendettas. We don’t want a leader like that in modern Barbados where people claimed to be “educated”, highly qualified, and like going to church or wherever.

Unless OSA can provide us with a light to follow and has exorcise his ‘Jones-like’ demons, we should not follow him.

18. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

Is the remnants of the beast that in his power house days would call people at 2.00 and 3.00 am in the morning and blister them in cuss ?

Look how the mighty have fallen to a disgaced new low and look how he has become an aged tired old tryant over night.

19. I don’t know if the argument is made -Owen fears the youth- by using Sincler and Mia as examples. Owen may very outlive these two, if they and many other Barbadians don’t control their weight, modify their activity level and moderate their consumption of process foods and sugar.

20. I have no fear of young people or women. It is they that must fear me. They must fear Tacitus, I rule the BLP and I shall soon rule Barbados again. All power to me, Tacitus, the best and most dishonest prime minister Barbados has ever seen. To hell with morality, and anybody who does not agree with me. I will cuss all of them.

21. @ David
    Really?
    Project Oasis; rapid expansion of UWI including a training facility for cricket; redevelopment of Kensington Oval; hockey astroturf; land at Wildey for football; numerous new pavilions, playing fields and hard courts throughout communities across Barbados provided by UDC & RDC; a graduate in every household; Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme; Division of Youth; and the Spirit of the Nation/NIFCA Gala just to name some. If Owen had a fear of the youth one must wonder how all these programmes got pass him.

Anyone who supports Mia and writes such rubbish seems ignorant of the fact that any failings of the last government is also an indictment on Mia who was a Cabinet minister for all 14 years and also became Deputy Prime Minister. It’s also an insult to Mia’s father and mother. This appears to be mere DLP propaganda….the Dems must be smiling.

By the way have you apologised to Mia for your castigation of her when she called for the appointment of a Judicial Manager for CLICO over two years ago?

22. @millertheanunnaki | September 29, 2011 at 9:24 AM |
    “@Truthman Burton. Because someone shouts at you from the gutter it does not follow that you should jump in and have a cuss out with them. A sign of intelligence is the ability to recognize crap and avoid walking into it.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    “millertheanunnakiI”, I will accept your advice and not have a cuss out with you; not my style. But rest assured that I DID recognise YOUR CRAP,as well as the crap of AC, MIA SUPPORTER, and “JUST ASKING FOR WHAT” I stepped over ALL of it, my sneakers are still clean!

I did not jump in ….. What I was doing was defending the good name of one of our excellent leaders (who is now precipitating great political fear among the ranks of the DLP) from the excess of vituperative froth that the DEMS, IN TOTO, are using as a misguided strategy, in focusing the attack on the head, believing that the rest will also be destroyed!

It won’t work, “Miller-the-anus” or whatever your name is! All of those questions you are asking, you have said nothing about the present government’s inability to deal with those same issues you have outlined. Those matters are primarily the GOVERNMENT’S RESPONSIBILITIES, and Arthur and his Team will ably respond at the correct time, just like they have done in the past!

The DLP loudly touted that they were “READY TO SERVE’ through messages on illigal billboards scattered all over this country, and now they are pleading for Arthur’s help, although early on in the game, they repeatedly stated that they wanted to hear NOTHING from the opposition!

Let all of your other Ministers do like Mr.David Estwick seems to be beginning to do. Clean up your backyards . get the rid of all the corruption ….. let us have the promised transparency in the affairs of government. Don’t tell us foolishness about safeguarding “PALS” and quacky medical reports “LEPROSY”

23. Before the word”LEPROSY’, insert the word “about”

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Truthman Burton.: There you go again! With your ad hominems! But for a parting shot (repartee)! The appellation you have assigned to me is the same you saw in the mirror. That is your mirror image. Enough of your rudeness!
    But I will show you my mirror image and let you know that I agree with you entirely regarding the performance of the DLP and their unbroken promises (FOI and Transparency legislation). They are overseeing the undoing of the Barbados socio-economic fabric with their corrupt activities and protection of thieves (e.g Greenverbs). It is true that PM Stuart is rather silent on serious economic matters and appears incompetent. But we are expecting the Leader of the Opposition to show some political spunk and carry the fight to the Government. Are we going to see in the very near future a re-invigorated OSA chairing Public Accounts Committee meetings and seeking to impress the growing number of disenchanted voters who have been terribly let down by the DLP. He has won the battle with MIA (she is now missing in action for the time being). It’s time for OSA to take charge and carry the fight to the DLP. Don’t rely on Clyde because people will not listen to him.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Owen seems to have great disdain for women also, this will be among other things, his undoing at the next general election.

Owen”seethru”Arthur wrongly believes that he has a divine right to rule Barbados even though he soundly beaten and rejected by the people of Barbados at the last general election and in the bye election in St. John he was beaten even worse.

Seethru is in a fight to prove to himself that he is still relevant. We all know that he is not.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246

You really have too much time on your hands.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anyone who wants to see the return of Owen”seethru”Arthur is suffering from STOCKHOLM SYNDROME.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Owen”seethru”Arthur is on his hat trick of defeats by the Democratic Labour Party, don’t worry we will make sure he gets his hat trick.

29. Just a little advice. Do you reallly think that cursing Owen would cause anyone who can think to vote against the BLP? You have engage in nonsensical whimpping. I dont think you have much in your arsenal. Get the facts . I am not interested in gossip and foolishness. Tell us what the DLP has done to move the country foward. I dont think this vitriol will get the DLP anywhere. Why are you so afraid of Owen? Are you afraid of competence and a record of high achievement ? Your job is to tell the incompetents in the DLP to rise to the occasion. They can do better and they must because nothing you say will make a difference.

30. my political beef is with the way OSA backstabbed MIA and I neva gonna forget that. I will continue to highlight the hypocrisy of it all. and willing to forget all his political achievements justifiably so. i couldn’t give two hoots about his credits. OSA is a person who cannot be trusted in our out of office, He is at present the major cause for the unravelling of the BLP .osA is crass and opportunistic and as well as a polarizing character. The BLP supporters should stop living in the past and let the younger generation take a turn of the wheel but as the submitter query.”maybe OSA is afraid of the Youth.

31. @ac

Get your facts straight, Owen can only be Opposition Leader because he is able to command the majority support of his parliamentary colleagues.

32. that i do understand.However in the process he did use dirty tactics and armtwisting to do so. Who would want to feel the heavy arm of a person who wield such political power. OSA is not a sweet bread not one to undermine.. Facts o.k. OSA name is synonymous with hypocrisy.
    not one easily to forgive or forget when it comes to what he thinks is best for him. Isn’t he the one that gave MIa his so called blessing as leader of the BLP. with the same parliamentary colleagues in tow. He is the final say .the members like sheep would agree..

33. Actually the word on the ground is that Arthur was approached by the Gag of 5.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@tony:

People who carry no political axe to grind are not afraid of OSA. Bajans with a modicum of common sense can see through this whole charade titled the “Return of OSA, Knight in shining armour to save Barbados from total economic collapse”. As a matter of fact we hold the goodly gentleman in the highest of esteem for his outstanding economic management acumen. During his tenure Barbados experienced unrivalled economic activity but with its concomitant downsides. OSA followed the Tom Adams model of development to a T (no pun intended) and reaped praiseworthiness in return.

But smart Bajans also know when to call a spade a spade. We can see when a man (or woman) has reached the end of the line and needs to be retired or reassigned. Not because of age but because that person has been too long in the job and has nothing refreshing to offer to our country’s development. OSA is exhausted, bereft of new ideas and set in his ways (nothing to do with age). If you speak privately to OSA he would genuinely admit that 14 years is too long for one man. That is why he wants Clyde to be his sidekick and successor. We want to see OSA enjoy the fruits of his labour, maintain our respect and to act as the elder statesman. We admire OSA greatly and strongly believe he should “sail away into the sunset” as far as the day-to-day management of the country’s affairs is concerned. We have a knighthood in store for him; or even the GG position, despite his Republican bait line- if Father Time will be so kind. But please, OSA, continue to ‘self-actualise’. Take up a professorial position at the LSE where many from varying backgrounds can benefit from your wealth of experience and intellectual ability.

“He who can, does. He who can’t (or no longer can), teaches. (GBS amended).

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Rumors in ST. Michael Central are that Arthur is dumping Arthur in favor of Rudy Grant.

Don’t care what he does we have his hat trick of defeats waiting for him.

Barbados sick and tired of “Seethru”.

36. @Truthman Burton | September 29, 2011 at 2:49 AM |
    ” How could anyone even remotely suggest that Mr. Arthur does not like young people? What kind of assinine DLP propaganda is this?” i agree with u ,wrong word used…He FEARS them.

37. ac all iask you to do is to provide facts to support your statement that mr arthur is a male chauvinist who likes to dominate weomenand only finds favour with women out of convenience and rewards them when it suits him. such crass nonsense. would you want him to reward when it suits you?

38. Hey balance . The facts are his actions tell the whole story.and it starts with his demeaning or overt attitude regarding her sexual preference. Needless to say that a male chauvinist thinks that he is way superior in his way of thinking that a woman. For e,g the GANG OF FIVE i wonder why they are all men. something for you to think about balance. btw what about OSA critical stance of Mia sexual preference it was out there for all the world to hear about while he constantly bemoaned the fact. using it as a basis to denounce her lifestyle. and seem justifiable in doing so..Hislow blow attempt was to say the least disparaging. patronozing and degengrading not to mention chauvinistic .

wasdisparaging ,patronizing and otherwise degenerative ala Mia mottley. Thi

39. balance
    Let’s be fair here, if Owen Arthur has a problem with Mia’s lifestyle why it is that he does not have a problem with the much discussed lifestyle of Jerome Walcott.

He treated Mia unfairly by calling a press conference and saying to the world that she has some behavioral problems that she needs to get rid of.

He never said that about Jerome who has more jokes on the ground than Mia about his lifestyle

40. WHY dont the Elders who do not want Mia TO BECOME PRIME MINISTER STOP HIDING AND LEAK SOME INFORMATION TO SOMEBODY SOMEWHERE ???

41. Long, long before Mia or Jerome were born, Barbados had gay politicians, gay Parliamentarians, gay Cabinet members (one lived happily with my uncle for near on 40 years) maybe a gay governor or two, and many, many, many ordinary gay Barbadians.

Also there have always been politicians, members of Parliament, cabinet members, and maybe a governor or two, and many, many, many ordinary Barbadians who regularly wash their wives tails in lashes.

So I don’t really understand this modern 21st century hypocracy.

I for one do not expect my politicans to behave better than I do.

42. Balance what would you think of a Gang of Five women dominating the political landscapeof the BLP and throwing all the male men under the bus who attempts to oppose them.see what i mean such is the case with the BLP led by their leader OSA and their antiquated rules which Mia was outspoken on changing.

43. ” Owen Arthur, at 63-years-old, is a senior citizen, who does not understand; forgets easily”

Dear Mia Suppporter:

There is no scientific evidence (none) of significant cognitive decline purely on the basis of age.

It is also unwise to cuss us “old people”

If Mia ever becomes the PM of Barbados she will need the support of all Barbadians. Even the old ones like me.

And I hate to tell you this you ardent Mia supporter, but tens of thousands of us old Barbadians will happily sing Mia to her grave, just as we happily sung David Thompson to his.

I am old enough to be Mia’s parent and am in significantly better health than she is or than David was (or than Owen Arthur is)

Age is just a number girl, for those tens of thousands of us who have always, always taken excellent care of ourselves.

44. Quoting Just asking for what ? | September 29, 2011 at 3:41 AM |
    “Why is it that DLP supporters on this blog feel it sensible or even kind to repeatedly refer to Mr.Arthur as old and sick?…Because he is old sick, corrupt and a womaniser !”

Just reminding you that it is biologically impossible to be old sick AND A WOMANIZER.

Nobody, nobody can be all 3 of these.

45. Quoting ac | September 29, 2011 at 5:54 AM |
    “Balance you need to show respect for the deceased afterall they can’t defend themselves. you should be ashamed of yourself invoke Mr Barrow”

The truth is the truth. If Mr. Barrow was a womanizer, then he was (although I don’t know if that was the case)

When an American academic discovered that Thomas Jefferson likely had 7 children by his late wife’s coloured half sister, was that disrespectful too?

Why do so many Bajans feel disrespected when the truth is told?

46. Quoting “islandgal246 | September 29, 2011 at 8:58 AM |
    ” Don’t know if he cheated on Angelina”…Rosie?

47. Quoting “islandgal246 | September 29, 2011 at 8:58 AM |I miss out anyone?

Sir Grantley Adams

Sir Hugh Gordon Cummings

All al the British Colonial Secretaries, Governors, and Bishops from 1627 onwards.

We once had a Bishop who did not marry until he was 60+ Are we supposed to believe that he was celibate for 60+ years?

48. Ask any political party in Opposition (most places around the world) why it wants to become the Government and invariably, it will tell you that it has a “Team of Candidates” who are experienced; better suited and prepared to lead or that it has superior policies.

Sometimes the reason given is that the party forming the Government – has created a crisis or is engaging or has engaged in corrupt practices from which it cannot recover. This is what makes the Barbados situation unique!

Ask the BLP why it is so adamant that it should be the Government, and brain-washed into thinking it is about them – BLP members reply: “Owen Arthur is an Economist!” Yes! But why, with the DLP being a “stable Government,” should Barbadians vote DEMS-out and make an “unstable BLP,” the Government: Owen Arthur was Prime Minister 14 years ago! Is that really it? No! Not Arthur’s “real reason!”

But those answers caused me to think harder! During his budget presentation, Minister Sinckler also asked: ‘what it is about being Prime Minister that Owen Arthur so badly wants to get back in Bay Street? And then it dawned on me: “Family First!”

Because the late Prime Minister Thompson had an image of a “family man” Arthur was pressured. And with Arthur about to lose power after Thompson proved that he (Arthur) had put thousands intended for the BLP as campaign contributions, into his personal bank account – all of a sudden, Barbadians heard about Owen Arthur having children. When you add the fact that he has now accepted responsibility for children to the bitter divorced he went through; his ongoing medical bills, plus maintaining his life-style – you begin to see a picture emerging and the “real reason” why he so covets the office of Prime Minister.

It has nothing to do with Barbados, the economy or ‘anybody’ but Owen Arthur. He badly needs one more opportunity to set himself right. And this is where George Payne and Dale Marshall come in.

If Barbadians were ever to depart from ‘good old fashion Bajan common-sense’ and make the Barbados Labour Party the Government, Owen Arthur will be Prime Minister and Minister of Finance; Dale Marshall Attorney General and George Payne Minister of Housing and Lands and within three Minutes of having been sworn-in, the decision to pay Al Barrack would be executed as the first order of business of a new BLP Government, making the three “multi-millionaires and set for life.

This is what it is all about: making good on “The Prior Park Accord” and the “DEAL!” There are only so many $100,000 in bribes, that potential candidates and Parliamentarians with safe-seats, can be offered to make way for Mr. Hardwood and those who will give Owen Arthur a majority in terms of numbers – in case of a BLP win. But at some point the money had to run-out and now has to be replenished. Arthur therefore has to be Prime Minister at all cost and despite what other deal now has to be made or act committed.

49. The BLP is so desperate to defend the misdeeds of OSA that the looking under every tombstone digging up the bones of the deceased Pm.to make a point how sad what happen to Rest In Peace! i guess the BLP operatives now has reached a new low instead of slinging mud the operatives are throwing bones. make no bones about that. in the same way they are after Mia’s.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Like far too many Bajan old people “Seethru” has a fear of young Bajans.