Austin

The people of Barbados spoke loud and clear in the last election for change they could touch and feel. Their vote came after hearing all the “right stuff” as detailed in the DLP manifesto. However what was lost in the excitement of the historic moment was an analysis of whether the promises in the DLP manifesto could actually be fulfilled.  At this point the answer appears to be an honest and disappointing “NO”, but don’t take my word for it go review the DLP manifesto and see what was accomplished to date “not much at all”.  The blaming of the global recession for all our challenges in Barbados as a reason to “not act” in defense of Bajan families on a wide range of issues, gets weaker by the minute.

As a political observer the logical question that comes to mind is whether “today” the people’s choice of a DLP administration to bring about desired chance was a good choice, again the answer is been proven as “NO”.

Related Link

Whether you like it or not the BLP has put Barbados back on track historically at key moments, we are at one of those “moments now” and we simply need the BLP running this country again.

I’m not a political strategist but if the BLP can tame MM, produce quality candidates, take on a visible people first oriented campaign, demonstrate compassion for the average Bajan family, and insert new blood in it’s ranks, the BLP will WIN the next election.  However what remains to be seem is if BLP leadership can accomplish the above.

1. The blp is the way to go and i back owen 100%

2. taught we went thru this already. The Bee got vote B the Dee go vote D. the swing is who wins the elections and right now they not too likeing the Dees. The Dees have time to change that. exactly 1 year and 4 months it up to them to show they did a good job Or continue to do what they doing now which is blame the last administration for everything. which doesn’t sit well with the population currently as they are tired of hearing excuses.

3. @anthony

An important variable is which party is able to energize its supports.

4. At this time, I’ll play “blind-man-cricket” just close my eyes and place the X to where-ever the point lands.

5. Currently to population the Bees. Even as broke party they can simply say do you want another 5 years of this. The Dees will have to fight hard to show what they done is right in terms of their support and of Barbados.

6. The other question which we are forced to ask is whether anything has changed in Barbados under the DLP as far as governance and transparency issues are concerned.

Many of us judge government’s performance nowadays based on economic factors forgetting that we should be evaluating other inputs which go into making a prosperous country.

7. David can I vote on your poll or no overseas Bajans allowed?

8. @Hants

Good one 🙂

9. +100% zoning for schools
    + Cuban doctors as full time (no other practice) QEH consultants
    + maintain current tax measures (for next)
    + increase pay for teachers, nurses, policemen/women & firemen/women
    + make teachers teach in school and not at afterschool lessons
    = my vote

10. I believe that the nex budget or financial statement which ever you like holds the key, unemployment, cost of living, fuel, electricity bills etc. the fact the gov’t workers have not gotten a raise in 3 yrs and all the before mentioned things will harm the DLP if the budget is not good enough to satisfy the people. The Mia, Owen, Mascol scenario can also cause great harm to the BLP. Most importantly I think that most bajans want a party that will give results aftering winning the next elections and not just making major promises that cannot be kept.

11. Forgive the typos I did not proof read.

12. The Key word in the question is “tomorrow”. If miraculously an election could be held tomorrow I would abstain as none of the parties seem suitable or able to take Barbados forward at the present time. In 1 years time the situation might change dramatically. Freundel might be gone as leader replaced by a strong proactive charismatic leader, the CLICO problem might have been sorted out but in a way which would have annoyed most voters because any solution will have to be borne financially by the taxpayers/voters, the economy and crime might not have improved appreciably, RedJet might have gone or be still there, Lots of corruption might be exposed in the current administration, and Owen and Mia might have patched up their problems in a believable way. If so it would not be be a difficult call to vote BLP.

13. @Austin
    “we simply need the BLP running this country again”
    –Please present a more substantive argument.

“An important variable is which party is able to energize its supports.”
    –Round One goes to the BLP.

14. If all candidates were equal, I would find it hard to vote for the present Government in the next general election. However, I am from St. Thomas and I would chew of my hand before I vote for the incumbent again. I will vote, and if there are only two choices the DLP would get my vote.

Unfortunately, I am hearing similar sentiments from all over the place in relation to candidates from both parties. Apparently, the candidates seeking to represent us are the weakest I have seen in my lifetime, so any number can play.

15. Are you aware that the poll is designed for persons to vote no for the DLP. Next time give a fair overview and you will see that the results are different. As one who stands in the middle of the road it is clear to me that the BLP will have a very difficult task regaining the government in less than 10 years. Have you realised how many houses the gov’t has to assign in an election year? Then there is the election budget. I predict the DLP will win the election 20 -10

16. Ok please note. Urban voters usually support the party in power for a second term. Rural voters are loyal in their support. If the BLP is to win the next election it has to appeal to the urban voters. What they have going for them is the “feel good factor” but can that be translated into votes? I would say no, not at this time. This is former prime minister Arthur’s last chance to make an impact and rule Barbados again. His lots rests with the next budget, how he responds (even thought debaters notice he can only win a debate if he speaks last). Another factor is the Mascoll factor. Any political commentator would tell you that he is ‘dead in the water’. What bother me is why Owen would worry with him. He should be brought in through the Senate.

17. I have never voted for the BLP but under the leadership of Mia I would vote for the BLP. I always supported the DLP but not this time with Stuart at the helm; under his leadership this country is heading nowhere. I have a serious issue with leadership in both parties therefore I will abstain.

18. Anyone that will publicly say that they will vote is a Jackass, someone who does not mind being exposed as prone to being duped …! I would be so proud if less than 20% of the population voted in the next election… Wow what a wake up call…

19. BAFBFP regardless of how little people vote they still be declared the winner we have no Election nullifications laws. They politician would rejoice even less bills/appliances they would have to pay for. the only option would be youth third party to truly shame them. The chance of them getting elected are low unless the two current continue doing nonsense.

20. @DMC

Austin has submitted his opinion and a poll is provided to capture the positions of commenters. You must know how you feel about the performances of the political parties Austin’s opinion not withstanding.

What is fair?

Another opinion?

21. @ Austin

Why even use the promises made in the Manifesto when you have the many policies/plans that were announced (including in the Budget) since 2008 that either failed or NEVER materialised.

Drainage Unit to END flooding – Failed
    QEH refurbishment by philanthrophy – Not done
    QEH refurbishment via BNB shares sale and SFV – Not done
    QEH rescue plan – Failed and claims of high cost over runs
    Fruits from Dominica – Not done
    GOL Airlines – Failed
    Constituency Councils – Failed, just monthly stipends for party supporters
    Cost-U-Less – Not done
    BAMC as importer and whoesaler of food – Not done
    Four Seasons – Not done
    CLICO sound and well managed – Failed, under Judicial Management and a previously non-existent $10m contract prepared, signed and witnessed by the late PM and his law firm assocites surfaces
    New legislation – Failed, ONE maybe TWO in nearly FOUR years. Anyone noticed Suckoo always promising a new bill?
    Restructured BTA – Not done
    Tourism Master Plan – Not done
    ABC Highway – Failed
    Hurricane Tomas Repairs – Failed

22. @ 0bserving

I think Enuff’s response answered your earlier query to me.

23. @ Austin @ Enuff

In this day and age people do not vote based on emotions, people vote based on party support and who makes them feel comfortable. Obviously you are both supporters of the BLP and i cant fault you for the observations that you have made but you must relate them to the economic climate in which we are in. DLP supporters will tell you that Barbados is surviving in a world where other countries are failing. Guys tell me how you are going to change the urban seats and then and only then can you win an election. Time to leave out the party and lets look at the big picture. Austin how many polls have you done before??????

24. i am sorry to say that i will have to go with the BLP. i looked forward to this govt really making changes and doing something for barbadians but i have seen only free bus fare, free summer schools. nothing else. what about cheaper food by way of removing VAT? the housing projects had their beginnings in the BLP era so don’t even go there. i have seen them take Coverly, ch ch, project that could have put 500 first time home owners with their own property and place it in the hands of that thief, crook, drug abuser, murderer Berjerham (JADA). the most expensive 3-bedroom property under the NHC at coverly was valued at $145,000, now berjerham has it and the cheapest 2-bedroom is $236,000. i know because i was informed that i would have been one of the first 50 to get one. but when it was placed in JADA’s hands, i had to forget about it.

they have given the public servants a wage freeze, just like when they were in power under sandiford, when he gave them an 8% salary reduction. i have no affinity towards any party but at least the BLP gave EVERYONE something, whether big or small. NO WAY will i be voting DLP. another thing i know that public servants carry the votes so the DLP might as well accept defeat

25. I going with the DLP picture if you will the scale of victimisation Arthur and cohorts George Payne etc will reek on the population if we are crazy enough to bring them back. BLP ought to reinstate Mia and retire backstabbing Arhtur.
    The DLP are in the same economic bind as the rest of mankind and to be fair they are making progress. Housing, schools, roads, health care, tourism, alternative energy are shining tangibles of a solid DLP performance against ovwerwhelming economic odds.

26. @ No Way

I challenge you to go get the DLP manifesto and tell us what significant progress has been made based on what was promised?

As we march towards the general election I guess we will start to see all kinds of “meaningless” projects and photo opportunities being protrayed as “progress” …

The bajan people are getting HIP to the DLP game.

27. @ No Way

You seem to be telling me that the government is doing us a favour by providing schools, houses, roads, health care. It is the job of the government to provide these goods and services, they are doing no one a favour. However, you must realise that with no new increase in taxes and a significant decrease in government revenues, the government must borrow funds to sustain these activities. Then you have to examine the post recession economic policies that must be implemented to deal with the debt and restructure the economy. Hence, by using this to measure the performance of the DLP, without taking other social and economic variables into consideration is rather naïve and simplistic.

Did not David Thompson, Richard Sealy, Ronald Jones, and Michael Lashley backstabbed Clyde Mascoll, and Thompson went on to become prime minister of Barbados? Similar situations have happened in both parties, only in the case of the DLP, supporters are making Thompson out to be a hero; while characterising Arthur (who did exactly the same thing as Thompson) as a villain. Mascoll handled himself; Mottley will do the same. This is politics and it is a dirty game; we only remember politics is dirty when it is convenient to do so.

You people need to stop focusing on personalities and focus on the issues that are confronting Barbados, and if we are poised to deal with them and take the country forward. There are still issues such as the cost of living, crime, and the youth. What has the government done to deal with the cost of living? What has become of the much vaunted youth forum, and what have they done for the youth of Barbados; have the youth seen any purpose or way forward for them coming from these meetings? You talk about tourism, yes, money is being spent on advertising the island, but what impact can crime have on the tourism industry, and what are we going to do instead of talking?

28. @ Sonia

You very cruel with JADA, you aint know them boys got polo ponies to feed, first class airfare tickets to buy and boats and women to maintain?

What is all the noise about, you like you only vex causing you aint get a spot up at the Coverley Army Base housing project.

Pull yah pocket if not, go an beg Mr. Bjerkham to borrow some money so you could buy one, he lending money at 12% I hear.

29. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

i hate what the BLP did to Mia but to i will vote BLP. it’s like choosing the better out of the bad

30. @ DMC

“In this day and age people do not vote based on emotions, people vote based on party support and who makes them feel comfortable.”
    —————————–
    I thought voting based on party support and comfort = Emotions.

Anyway, where are the poorest neighbourhoods in Barbados? Who do you think are most affected by the increasing cost of living? What has been the performance of the Urban Development Commission since 2008? How/why the DLP won in 2008?

There was an increase of 2, 894 votes (BLP and DLP only) across ST. MICHAEL in 2008 when compared to 2003, and the DLP got 1,232 more than the BLP. Given Mia’s large victory and Hammie’s switch, if we remove the results for those two seats the difference is 3,102 with an increase of 2,466 votes.

The lowest margin of victory was 25 and the highest 810 while the remaining were 579, 422, 409, 365, 340 and 316. When analysed at the constituency level, it is appears that the larger turn out in ST. MICHAEL benefitted the DLP.

So unless Sinckler pulls a rabbit out the hat, with the charismatic David Thompson dead, many of the vote catching promises unimplemented and unimplementable and both unemployment and cost of living higher, the Dems gotta hope those ‘new voters’ in 2008 return in 2013.

In 2013 it will be record and vision vs record and vision. Not record vs promises as in 2008. The Bees must energise their supporters and the country as a whole.

31. Is it true that with the return of Tony Marshall to VoB talk show his stand in is off to the CBC?

32. If any party were to pass an integrity legislation bill they would win the respect of the people. If the BLP decide to pass such a bill if and when they get back into office they would be governing for many more years than the DLP. The DLP is playing football with the integrity legislation bill and there is no hope for them passing it. To tell the truth the selection of candidates for both parties is soo poor rakey that I find it very difficult to decide. I know I won’t vote for the DLP but if I decide to vote I would have to vote for the stinking Owen and company.

BTW what has Mara Thompson been doing except for falling asleep in the house? That is one BIG waste of taxpayers money.

33. @islandgal

Tested FF browser and it is working fine.

34. DLP is de party fa me. DLP is de whun fa me. DLP,DLP,DLP, DLPPPPPP.

Wunna-all hare me?

Freundel, Donville, Estwick I luv de 3 a wunna rale bad. I would marrid wunna, one afta de nex or all de same time. As fa Donvilleeeee……………I jes luv dem sleepy, drooly, sexy eyez. He like Maggi cubes, ‘um, um good’.

O lawdddd, n doan tawk bout de CJ. He meks me whet all ova. When evva I sees he in de Nation, I does got bare dribble all ova de papah. I would marrid he tamorrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Sumbody,anybody, pass dah messag on fa me pleeze. Wunna wood get a ‘invite’ ta de big-day.

35. Islandgal
    Sum does cum ta de House sleepy n sum does turn up drunk as scunt n barely audible when de Cock start ta pick dem? which you prefer?

N when Hats de rep fa Sin Andru din cumin ta de House dah was a waste a taxpayers money too nor not? N eff he did turn up hardly mek a contribushun.

Ya cannnnn scold a girl fa sleeping man. Cuh dearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Have a hart.

36. DICK HARDING aka STONES Avatar
    DICK HARDING aka STONES

DLP is not the party to lead this country anywhere else but down a gully hill

The DLP is so bad that they will probably repeat the election result of 1999 —only two seats.

The DLP cannot in the next election depend and win on Lies and Deception. It simply wouldnt work.

37. Dicky Hard aka Stones
    you rememba de 3 blind mice? aaighttttttttttttttt den.

you down in a gully hill now? whatevva de fcuk a gully hill is. is eitha a hill or a fcukin gully. ya got ma confuze.
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeee

ya like ya new name? me tu. LOLLL

38. @ Bonny Peppa

That light that you are seeing at the end of the DLP tunnel is coming from a “TRAIN” …. feel free to stand there if ya like …

“ignorance is bliss”

39. austin

and de light dat you seeing at de end a de BLP tunnel is only a candle…… feel free ta stand there ta blow um out.

‘barking dogs seldom bite’.

40. Don’t you find it strange that persons would identify themselves as DLP supporters and then demand that Mia should be reinstated as Opposition Leader? Could it be that the DLP knows that with MIA at the helm of the BLP a victory for the DLP as almost assured?

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

If the stupid goats in the DLP had kept their promise on ITAL bajans would love them. If they had at least sought to make either food at least food far more affordable then it is right now by reducing food related taxes, bajans would be loving them all like now. But what the clowns went and do in the name of stablising the economy is raise taxes and let the Barbados Light and Power get away with ‘bare murder.’ Now coming the election they gine come again with another set of promises particularly from ‘Not saying nutten Fruendel’ thinking they could trick a more educated Barbados a second time. AINT GINE HAPPEN.

42. Sunshine ss -The only thing gine happen in 2013 is the BLP ass gine get lick again!

43. @All…

Let all please speak truthfully.

The D’s won by promising to provide Integrity Legislation.

But then they did not deliver what what they promised

And their guy died.

Might we learn from this?

44. The only poll that matters is on election day when the Prime Minister calls election. The last election George Belle had the BLP winning by a large margin and all the BLP people cried when the results started to come in.
    The DLP may have made promises on cost of living that they had no control over and that is the problem. The cost of food is high all over the world and getting scarce too.
    The BLP people who are using that as the reason why the government should lose the next election would find that they will not be able to anything with cost of living either, it is a worldwide problem.
    Someone said reduce taxes and how will we pay the 30 million dollars every January for the Prison that your party built and so much graft and corruption were involved in the building.
    Barbadians are exposed to international news and so will not be fooled with your juvenile arguments about the government lowering food prices.
    Here is an article from the daily mail in England to show that Barbados is not alone in terms of gas prices
    “Motorists are paying over the odds for fuel despite market prices of crude oil falling by more than 10%”
    Barbados has done well enough under the DLP and will get another five years with the loss of some seats like St. Michael East

45. If we use recent blogs as a barometer it seems the BLP despite the perceived rift between Mia and Owen is gaining some traction.

In the past BU has been a good barometer of public opinion,,,hmmm.

46. @Enuff
    We don’t often agree but your analysis at 1:50 pm is 100% correct. I’ve noticed the same thing as well. It gets even more worrisome for the ruling party when other constituencies (e.g. Christ Church) are taken into consideration or you go further back into election history and track trends. They still have time to correct their trajectory though.

@Austin
    Enuff’s response didn’t answer the question “Why do we NEED the BLP.” It kinda sorta answered why we shouldn’t vote for the DLP, but didn’t give me a reason to vote the other side.

@Clone
    No one took George Belle seriously. No motorist here gives a rats’ arse what English gas prices are like. Especially when Caribbean neighbours are paying less.

47. @Observing

Aren’t those paying less sourcing petroleum products under the Petrocaribe arrangement?

48. @David
    I’m ignorant on the matter. But, perception is the deliverer of popularity and if what you say is the case then somebody in gov’t should be pushing back on all the flak that’s coming their way. Hard.

49. The governments PR machinery is reminiscent of the Sandiford era, it is reminiscent of the Titantic trying to make a turn.

It will take time.

50. Observing
    That is you and the BLP problem you do not give a rat ass about bajans. It is about you getting your hands on the treasury again but it not going to be easy. You insulted their intelligence last time and Owen is doing it again. Go check which seats you will win constituency by constituency and tell me the ones you will win.
    I voted two time in this poll to see if can be rigged like Austin voting twenty five times. There is no traction.
    Yes there some Barbadians who are disappointed that they did not get what they wanted from the government but the majority of the people will not put Owen Arthur back as PM.