Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Prime Minister Bruce Golding (l), Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar (r)

BU resisted giving our two cents on the current tug war between Barbados and Trinidad but defend we must the yella blue. All the other Caribbean islands defend their ‘colours’ and honour, Bajans however are expected to be a rare breed of people who should adsorb the disrespect of our Caricom neighbours with ‘grace and aplomb’.

First it was Guyana heaping their crap on us in the great immigration debate, Jamaica recently joined the fray with the still unsettled Myrie incident and now Trinidad and Tobago – the ridiculous outstanding fishing agreement not withstanding – decides to demonstrate  disrespect for Barbados by screwing us on REDjet’s certification. The issue of airworthiness was never a problem until REDjet exhausted the approval process. Now we are being asked to believe uncertified pictures which have miraculous;y appeared on the Internet showing a rusting landing gear of an alleged REDjet plane. Allyuh must think Bajans foolish fuh trute.

To add to the mamaguying being pulled by Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, she trumpeted at the recent St. Kitts Caricom Summit that she is backing a Fast Ferry Service as a solution to making regional travel more affordable. How convenient that such a service would not have to compete with CAL. How convenient the proposed passenger fare is $15.00. It should also be noted that a similar service on the San Fernando/Port of Spain sea route has been a financial failure to date.

Unlike the immigration issue with Guyana and the Myrie incident with Jamaica, the REDjet matter seems to be commanding popular support across the region. The people are supportive because the cost of regional air travel has spiralled out of control. The low budget strategy by REDjet seriously threatens the monopoly which BWIA/CAL has enjoyed for decades, more so now post-Air Jamaica acquisition. What some forget is that Barbados’ support for REDjet threatens the entity LIAT as well which has heavy financial implications for Barbados’ given our significant shareholding.

Even if the REDjet issue is settled tomorrow, the T&T government has exposed it’s hand. In what is a blatant protectionist move from a country whose inflow of capital and people threaten to sink Barbados, Barbadians should rightly feel betrayed. It has taken the REDjet matter to provoke the otherwise taciturn Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart to speak and Barbadians have been edified by it!

Yet again the two regional bullies of the Caribbean have tagged teamed to place the budding spirit of regional cooperation in a full nelson. History sadly records it happened once before in 1962.  We live in times where mankind again and again ignores history much to his peril.

Barbadians at home and afar will wait yet again on our government to defend our honour. So too we wait on the expected opposition response from the Barbados Labour Party .

1. Here is T&T opposition leader on the matter, wonder what our opposition will say.

Rowley blames Govt for REDjet’s no-show
    Published: Tue, 2011-07-05 21:04Richard Lord  Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley says REDjet is unable to fly into T&T because of irresponsible action by officials of the T&T Government. Rowley said the issue of REDjet being allowed to land in T&T had become a Caricom issue. The airline was granted permission to land in Barbados but not in T&T. The issue was raised at the Caricom Heads of Government Meeting in St Kitts over the weekend. Speaking at a news conference at his Charles Street, Port-of-Spain, yesterday, Rowley said Barbados now had a problem with T&T “and there is some element of hostility in there.” He said the T&T Government had not spoken clearly on this matter. “It’s been all confusion on a matter that if properly handled should have been simple and straight forward,” Rowley said.
    He said the problem was the result of ministerial statements that were made out of turn. “We now have a spat between T&T and Barbados, where in T&T there are issues of safety and in Barbados they are saying we have certified it and you are not accepting our level of expertise,” Rowley added. He said that problem could have been avoided if the PP Government was not trying to score political points 24 hours a day. “It was ministerial talking out of turn on this application that set this off on the wrong foot in the beginning. It has now become a Caricom problem,” Rowley insisted. Earlier Rowley said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar also spoke out of turn when she announced a proposal to establish a regional sea transport service for Caricom nationals.
    He said that should not have been announced before deliberations on the proposals were completedHe said Persad-Bissessar was simply making public relations statements in St Kitts. “It was a little premature,” he said. Rowley also criticised the Prime Minister for not attending a Caricom meeting on the Single Market and Economy recently, opting to stay at home and party. He added: “It is not something you could just come off a plane and hand Caricom. You are not serious about Caricom. These are the kinds of things that belittle Caricom. “Every time there is a Heads of Govt meeting you get things said and done which call into question the seriousness of our attempt to make the region one economic unit.”

2. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

Barbados in the eyes of all these other countries seem to be second class to them. But truth be told Barbados gets the shitty end of the stick due to the progress that has been made in areas that these other countries haven’t made; They make fun at the way we speak. And even try to imitate us. But it’s so funny that Barbadians can imitate all the others so well that at times it’s impossible to tell who is who; Trinidad was never very happy with Barbados. And has been trying for years to get a big footing in Barbados; In my heart I feel that Barbados stands alone even though we try to UNITE with all the others to form CARICOM.. It’s rime for Barbadians to stand up and be heard loud and clear by all that we are sick and tired of the shit that all you others are trying to place before us; We will NEVER again be enslaved due to ignorance of others;
    ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. I AM PROUD TO BE A BAJAN, even though I live abroad. MY HEART WILL ALWAYS BE IN BARBADOS THE PLACE OF MY BIRTH; SO let your voices be heard from every corner from at home to abroad that WE HAD ENOUGH;

3. I like the Prime Minister’s comments on this issue.
    I hope his balls keep getting bigger.
    We need to start letting others in this region know we will not continue to be their whipping boy

4. We can first start by boycotting CAL and stop buying products in the supermarket. We need to encourage the other islands to do so as well.

Kamla and Bruce think they have a marriage made in heaven. It will end in a nasty divorce and I hope that they don’t go to the CCJ to settle it.

CAL should be not be recognized as the Caribbean Airline.

Kamla think she scoring points when she announced the fast ferry service, but think again Madam. You want a direct route to Barbados to export your criminals but you wrong.

I was happy a woman was made PM in T&T BUT after she opened her mouth she made Manning look like a Statesman extraordinaire.

She is definitely an embarrassment to the Republic! Bruce you have no shame at all, after the Dudus affair, you have made the world fully aware of your sinister connections.

5. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

I dont want all this long talk Mr. Prime Minister. I thinks is darn disrespect that Trinidad could look at us and question our ability to certify Redjet. Who the hell Pamela thinks she is? Clearly she doesn’t have an iota about politics, Every time she opens her mouth, i expect her to misspeak and she continues to do so. Hope that I am not seeing an indio-trindadian bias towards Barbados.

I note with great interest that she has a specail interest in developing relationship with India. She was as quick to jet off to that country to try to deepen trade realtions there. Hope that she does not turn out like Sarah Palin, the only difference she has been electd to office and Sarah has not.

Perhaps, because of Trinidad’s dominance over barbados’s economic lamdscape, people like her and Jack Warner think they they can take this insular approach to Barbados. The time is now for action. The same way Redjet is made to feel, Cal must be made to feel on its outward bond to Trinidad. Pull a flight every day and cite satety concerns as the reason. It is time to be nasty.

Mr. Prime Minister, I have supported your silence of matters of the cj issue, the jamaican woman who claimed to have been finger raped, among other things, but I wont support you if you dot get a speedy resolution on this matter. Barabdains will support you on this matter. So Do what a masn has to do. Let Trinidad feel our weight and start and roundup some those illegal jamaicans and send them home,

6. The credit union movement and all Bajans investors (that mean all Bajans) should look closely at how the food and services sector is distributed and who control the majority. On the basis of national security and national interest the credit union movement and bajan investors should do their best to change that majority. I firmly believe that the credit union movement should be equipping and empowering the masses and therefore no right thinking, right operating credit union movement or bajan investors for that matter, should allow the food distribution sector to be monopolize by foreign entities.
    The reason why other Caribbean nations, especially Trinidad, can hold Barbados to ransom and treat Bajans like a door mat is because they know they control the inflow of food to this island.
    “Retaliate against us and we suffer you!! No Food!” thats their belief.
    Look closely at Barbados food distribution sector and you will see that we have a national security problem.
    Very little room to maneuver
    History have shown us that if a country want to take control of another without a major fight, it take control of the ports, food, and water thereby shutting the country in until it surrender. .

7. Hi This is getting more interesting by the moments. I always enjoy a family brawl. It brings the family closer together. It is a pity those at the top are afraid to face the truth. In Guyana our indian leaders did not fail to run to India too. I wonder if it is an ethnic thing or could it be cecause India is getting more rich each day and there may be aid to be secured. I would like to think that it is because India is rich and naturally since they are of Indian descent then they would naturally get help faster. But keep the battle going and do not allow any Guyanese whether negro or Indian to settle there send am back to Burnham and Cheddi country we have lots of space here for them.

8. As it stands right now Barbados have more to loose than Trinidad .

9. The recent debate in parliament about amendment to the civil aviation legislation showed the oppositions position David. they are all for redjet though they would like the govt to give it more support. More support has been given now. wonder how long this will last now. 🙁

10. To add insult to injury, Trinidadian manufacturers, especially of garments, are busy re-labelling extra-regional goods and shipping them to Barbados CERTIFIED BY THE T&T GOVERNMENT as being made in Trinidad. This practice is now reaching a peak after going on for a long period of time. If they can questions Barbados’ ability to certify aircraft, the Barbados can certainly question The Trinidad government’s willingness to certify re-labelled goods. It’s getting serious and jobs in Barbados are on the line.

11. Barbados is caught between a “rock” and a hard place. Where do we go from here! We have been let down over the years by our own government .Looking at the outside to help solve our problems . We have very little to show in the manufacturing. I agree with island girl on boycotting. However what products or industry do we have to selfsustain us?i

12. Product can be source for elsewhere. what government would need to do is reduce the duties on those product from latin america that make them more expensive to the consumer than T&T products.

13. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Anthony

I dont think that can be done, but ah tell yah, i would make it difficult for the goods to be cleared, and perhaps the bwu can succintly tell its members what to do in relation to Trinidad’s products. Barbadains can start a campign aginst their products.

14. Duties can be change with a penstroke or just the words from minister. Do they wish to go so far is the question.

15. What some are suggesting is a last option which should be used when all has failed.

If you follow the T&T media you can easily discern that this is another unpopular decision by Kamla.

The Barbados government through its high commission and advocates can sell its position and bring public pressure to bear to work for us.

16. Unless the words corruption get linked to handling of redjet. kamla won’t be changing her mind any time soon. they suppose to be a dedicated meeting for caricom Secretary General and the barbados & T&T redjet issue in couple weeks. I don’t think anything will be done about it till then, The Jamaica seem to be forever requesting info. think they need to be a part of that meeting too to maximize productivity.

17. ac, of course we cannot supply locally all the products that we need, but many of the products being imported from Trinidad are also manufactured locally, and in many cases are of superior quality. We suffer from what is put in front of us at the stores. Where we can, we should buy local and insist that it is made available by the retailers. It’s time to take our country back!

@anthony, as if we aren’t in enough trouble economically, you now want to undermine our manufacturing sector. I agree that duties do protect regional manufactuers as well as our own, but we could be guilty of “throwing out the baby with the bathwater”.

18. I want to know what fly was doing before dog ear get stink?

19. Sorry. I don’t mean a whole sale free for all into the markets.I meant for product we don’t produce local and can’t be source else where in caribbean.

20. There is nothing wrong with Redjet that some US dollars stuffed in a brown paper bag wouldn’t have resolved

21. jack can argue it didn’t work out so well last time he tried it

22. St. Phillip ah come from Avatar
    St. Phillip ah come from

WHAT BECAME OF THE PLANS TO DRILL FOR OIL AND GAS OFF BARBADOS THIS SHOULD RETURN TO THE FRONT BURNER ANY FOSSIL FUELS WE FIND OUT THERE WOULD LOOSEN TNT GRIP . INDICATIONS ARE THERE IS OIL AND GAS OUT THERE LIKE WE FOUND AT WOODBOURNE. GO AHEAD PM WE ARE BEHIND YOU YOU HAVE BEEN PATIENT ITS TIME TO PLAY KAMLA GAME.

23. There were comments on the Trinidad Express website forums about safety, and the “fact” that BW/CAL can proudly say they are a safe airline – and that aviation safety in the Caribbean must be maintained….hmm, how quickly they forget:

9 March 1992 – a BWIA L-1011-500 departing Frankfurt bound for St Lucia ‘lost’ the #1 engine thrust reverser cowl at 10,000 feet. The damn thing weighs a ton and is more than 6 feet around, and it tore off in flight, hitting the horizontal stabilizer and causing significant damage. The aircraft had to divert to London. It was determined to be a mechanical failure, BUT the reverser had experienced repeated faults before (these would have been logged at BW Engineering – why wasn’t this important issue solved?)
    3 Oct 1993 – a BWIA MD-83 suffered an exploding hot water heater in the forward galley on departing Miami, significantly damaging not only the entire galley, but the cockpit wall as well. This is directly behind the copilot. If the blast had been more severe, one can imagine the flight crew being injured. Safety, eh?

24. I also seem to recall a few other ‘events’ – a hotdogging BW pilot slamming a 707 down on the runway here in Barbados, causing the nose gear to collapse (I visited the airport to see)……another hotdog doing a ‘wheelie’ with a L-1011 at ANU, where the reverse thrust from the tail engine (#2 engine) caused a disturbed airflow over the horizontal stabilizer, such that they had trouble getting the nose down in time to stop the large aircraft on the runway….and what about when they scraped the tail of the brand new A321 on landing at Piarco? I flew into Trinidad with the repair crew from Airbus a few days later, and saw the photos of the damage.

Spotless safety record indeed!

25. Do anyone in here understand that Trinidad own the major food importers and supermarket chains here in Barbados?
    Boycotting Trinidad products will have a severe impact on employment and a domino effect on the food industry and hotel industry and the list goes on…..
    That why I said that there is a national security problem. It was totally ludicrous to allow foreign entities to have major control of our imports and food distribution sector
    Barbados has much to loose from boycotting Trinidad products and they know that, hence the reason for their behavior.

26. @Weary Bajan

your comment speaks reality !Some us would like to believe that we are top dog because of our intellect. However old people words ring true “Mother got ! Father got ! but blessed is de child that got he own” So !
    my question still remains “Where do we go from here” are we in any position to call the shots? Are we going to continue to let these countries sabotage our plans? what next ?

27. Dey like how Trini Woman Look Look Look Look Look
    Dey like how Trini Woman Cook Cook Cook Cook Cookl
    Dey like how Trini Woman Talk Talk Talk Talk Talk
    Dey like how Trini Woman Wuk Wuk Wuk Wuk
    Wuk Wuk Wuk WUk Wuk Wuk WUk WUk Wuk WUk WUk WUk
    ‘Cause dey make good company ….!

28. … no?

29. This is all becoming so depressing, regressive and scary. All this constant in-fighting, nastiness and tribalism.
    I swear I am going to soon move out of this entire region and away from black people altogther – go and live in freakin’ Bulgaria or something.

30. @Nia
    Let not your heart be troubled…there wil be wars and rumors of wars, but the end is not yet

31. Good grief, how canI forget…the blow out just last week or so of the “new” 737-800 on decent into BGI…what a ting! Any wonder that the ‘investigation’ will be very very quiet, ’cause the “regional safety” record must remain spotless!!

32. @Nia

Understand your fustration, very much so.

33. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Its interesting how some sections of the media and columnists have very strong positions on Freedom of movement, but the same are quiet or are taking much more nuanced positions on the Red Jet issues. One would think that the cost of moving around the region was one of the major impediments to regional integration, and true regionalists would embrace efforts to overcome this impediment.

To me its the same old same old with integration matters. Countries and interest groups support it when it works to their advantage and block when their interests are threatened.

34. Hey, I understand that there will be a special meeting of the regional aviation regulators here in Barbados to look at REDJet safety, management, and other issues. Do you think we should charter a REDJet plane to go specifically to pick them up and bring them to the meeting?

35. B U’s mention of the year 1962 got my attention on this topic, for Iwas called narrow minded and an Owen basher during a discussion right here in New York once I dared question Barbados’s role in the C S M E. My fear was that we would be expected to shoulder the “mother-load” of responsibility till we we were no longer needed, since experience tells me that for whatever reason the love sent our way from our Caricom partners has always been steeped in disingenuity. The stance of both Jamaica and Trinidad during the quest for W.I Federation maybe forgotten by some ,but still glow vividly in the memory of this mortal being. Tug-a war between Caricom partners has always been as prevalent as marital squabbles,though they differ in consequence ,and may have longer lasting effects on those involved ,this spat simply speaks to the fact that Red Jet represents a threat to an operation that has failed this region since time eternal. Call it Bee Wee . Call it Cal, or simply call it Air Jamaica ,the rightful name is failure. To whom should blame be ascribed? As a boy just twelve years old I stood in Queens Park and listened to my fellow bajans argue that one Bernard Julien was a better alrounder than Garry Sobers(now Sir Garry). Such was the mentality back then . Today forty one years later I say to you “Be not like dumb driven cattle, be a hero in the strife.” Lets all in one voice, Bee as well as Dee tell them that they could kiss BABADOS ASS. Wif or wifout dem WE WILL LIVE.

36. indeed bgi. they can look at the plane and check the records as they arrive. if they think of anything else they get them mid air

37. My “tree cents” is that Freundel Stuart is – by far – the most statesman-like politician I have had the pleasure of seeing in the Caribbean since Dipper. The rest are mere yard fowls of the most useless kind. The man keeps his own counsel, carefully considers his position – and when he opens his mouth what comes out is clear, understandable and makes perfect sense, even to the most uneducated of his citizens.

Unlike Jack Warner, he does not babble nonsense just to make noise or gratuitously make himself look stupid, unlike Kamla he does not display the inability to make decisions, unlike Bruce he is not in anyone’s pocket to do as he is told.

I say we should be providing him with words of encouragement and reasonable (NOT wild) suggestions as to how to proceed, and supporting him in whatever decisions he makes, secure in the knowledge that he is not being told what to do nor is he personally pocketing millions for doing so.

In the matter of Caribbean Airlines, after the recent depressurisation Stuart now has enough material to set in place the same “safety concerns” on Caribbean Airlines (and the TT civil aviation authority), to retract their operating permissions into Barbados, and to suggest to other Caribbean Prime Ministers that they do the same.

Let Caribbean Airlines be banned from all airports in the region (except their lackey Jamaica, of course) for a few months and see how loud they can bawl for murder – and see how fast REDjet gets its permissions in to T&T and Jamaica.

As for Trinidad, they are but a single country among hundreds of countries, they are not gods or the only source for goods coming into Barbados. All of the goods we get from Trinidad are also made – usually of better quality and more cheaply – elsewhere. We seriously don’t need them – although we have come to depend or them. Gather a movement and get Bajan merchants to burn and destroy their Trini products on a huge bonfire one night to announce the start of the abolition from Trinidad slavery and overseas masters.

How we go about divorcing ourselves from the Trinidad bullies is our business… for instance, yes, large supermarkets are owned by them, but if we support the locally owned ones then the local ones will prosper and need moire staff, while the Trinidad owned ones will falter and disappear. Jobs come and go, and jobs such as that cannot be exported, they must remain local.

And so on…

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Barbadians were bred to be docile, and the rest of the Caribbean knows that and have been exploiting that flaw in the barbadian psyche. The average Barbadian would rather roll over and play dead than defend his honour. Instead of “Pride and Industry”, our motto should be, “A coward dog keeps whole bones”. We seem to stand up for nothing, that is why it was so refreshing to hear our Prime Minister standing up to these bullies.

I remember Rex Nettleford saying, when the slave ships cross the Atlantic their first port of call was Barbados and the planters here took off the best, meaning the most docile slaves. It is therefore no surprise that the Government is currently building a monument to good slaves at Rock Hall, St. Thomas.
    The monument at the stomach churning, so called, “Freedom Village” is being erected to commemorate the good slaves from Mount Wilton who refused to take part in what we now call the “Bussa Rebellion”. For being such good slaves they were rewarded by their master with a legacy which they used to purchase land near to the site of the monument. I thought when the Arthur Administration was voted out of office this madness would stop, but unfortunately, the backers have friends on both sides of the political fence.

39. How difficult is it to understand that Bajans will always be “small islanders” to Trinis,Jamaicans and Guyanese.

It is obvious that you can’t negotiate with Trinidad. Still no fishing agreement.
    Now no RedJet in Trinidad

40. Barbadians hate chaos and confusion, we believe in applying a value measure to situations when confronted, then decide based on what is fair.

Some may call it docility, others may call it taking an educated approach.

41. To our disadvantage sometimes Barbadians love order, to analyze, rationalized apply a value measure etc.

We don’t like chaos or confusion, it is who we are.

42. As opposed to Trinidadians, who LOVE chaos and confusion. Easier to hide the corruption in, I guess.

43. How the hell Barbados a little rock in the Caribbean sea whose population could easily fit into a corner of Trinidad gonna play tit-for-tat with Trinidad. Coupled with the fact that Trinidad businessmen controls a large chunk of the economy. People are just getting emotional and talking nonsense about boycotting and de-certifying CAL. With all this talk of national pride, if we had use our free education and build a solid and diversified economy like Hong Kong or Singapore then we could tell our Caribbean cousins to kiss our ass.No, but we continue to think inside the box ,that tourism is the only game in town. To think that Barbados can influence or affect the two big powers in the region is wishful thinking. On the other hand if we were a financial giant on the scale of say Singapore, then our bark would have carry much weight.

44. @ David
    Soft power is what it is called in today’s world.

45. @weary baje: “Soft power is what it is called in today’s world.

A “mark” is what it was called in the “olden days”….

46. We cannot do squat to Trinidad without hurting ourselves. Who controls the money supply as well as food importation? He who feeds you controls you. It will get worse due to a lack of long term vision by the persons who could have made a difference. Everything was sold on the pretense we cannot eat money now we have no control of our destiny. When BNB shares where on the market the Credit Unions failed to buy the shares in the said bank where all their monies are held.We will continue to be whipped by our Caricom neighbors who envy our progress and would love to see Barbados fail. Is education a curse or blessing for Barbados. We are just workers in Barbados with a lodging in houses owned by financial institutions.

47. Well, it was our own politicians who – despite resistance from their constituents and citizens – “knew better” than the rest of us and have happily sold most of our few acres to foreigners – “for foreign currency”, they say.

Instead of treasuring who we are and what we have, we sell what is ours by birth and happily welcome people from around the world to buy or take our property – so we can be second class citizens in our own country and work for them.

To this day there are still advertisements from realtors in Barbados doing their level best to sell property to expatriates (not to locals) – so that Bajans at home and abroad are priced out of the market and will never be able to afford their own.piece of the rock.

But they say in love and politics you get what you deserve… in the Middle east there is revolution because of corruption and unfairness. Perhaps this may yet spread to this part of the world and we may get rid of all the corrupt yard fowls and thieving parasites who call themselves politicians. But I’m not holding my breath.

48. Old African proverb, “when you borrow another mans legs, you go where he takes you”

This non-sense has to stop, we have to have a Prime Minister who commands attention and respect and who can be taken seriously when diplomatic threats are made, is that PM Fruendel? I think not.

49. The Redjet saga is a prime example of why some businesses never get off the ground (pun intended). The T&T Gov’t owns CAL does anyone think it is in their best interest to license a competitor to operate in their own backyard? That is the cut throat nature of business and until we understand it we are doomed. Locally when any large fast food operator announces that they are expanding into Barbados the owners of Chefette screams at any politician who will listen to them that the proposed entrant should not be given a license to operate. That is part of the cutthroat nature of business

Barbados among other things is known as the “Land of the Flying Fish”, when a few Bajan fishermen entered T&T waters in pursuit of flying fish the T & T Gov’t promptly arrested them and no amount of hand wringing by the B’dos Gov’t or International Court ruling could persuade T & T to change its mind, if any Bajan fisherman enters T & T waters jail is the result.

Meanwhile if I go to a West Indies grocery store in Toronto or Montreal I can be sure that if I purchase a package of frozen Flying Fish the package will read “Product of Tobago”. This is what I mean by the cut throat nature of business T & T arrests Bajan Fishermen and then establishes a Tobago based industry which sells the product that fishermen are chasing.

But Bajans should not bellyache about Redjet; T & T loves us, they really love us why else would they buy one of Barbados major Financial operations? The one that carries the name of Barbados in its title? Why else would T & T buy the major Business conglomerate in Barbados? One that has “Barbados” in its name? Why else would they buy the major newspaper and one of the major radio stations in Barbados? They really love us.

In one of the recent blogs about one of the Credit Unions it was said that they are awash in funds, does anyone think that if that Credit Union or any Bajan entity for that matter decided to cast its net further ashore and purchase any T & T based operation similar to the ones in the preceding paragraph that the T &T Gov’t would approve?

They love us, really they do.