In some countries the right to bear arms is regarded as an inalienable right. In the United States as an example it is regarded as a Second Amendment Right. Barbados despite rising crime ‘relatively speaking’ is still regarded as a country where to tote around a gun on the hip or ankle is considered unusual . For example, during the last general election in Barbados there was no serious case of violence reported if we exclude Don Marshall’s tiff   The same cannot be said for Jamaica and a few others in the region!

Having established that Barbados is a relatively peaceful  place to reside. Some Barbadians for one reason or the other will apply to the Commissioner of Police for the right to carry a firearm. It is difficult to establish what is the criteria to be issued a firearm in Barbados, except to state that the process appears to be a fairly arbitrary one, with the final decision resting with the Commissioner of Police. Citizens do have the right to appeal the decision should they be declined to the Attorney General of Barbados.

Based on the little we know of the process to get a gun license in Barbados it appears to lack transparency. We know of farmers who suffer praedial larceny every night in Barbados who it is easy to believe would be eligible to bear a firearm. Yet we hear stories of them being declined.

The foregoing therefore begs the question why would someone like Dr. Alfred Sparman be able to procure a gun license given his background. A simple Google will list his encounter with US law regarding a domestic abuse matter. Doesn’t this qualify him as a felon? BU would be very interested to know the name of the psychologist who sighed off on Sparman’s psychiatric evaluation to support his gun license application. Is he a member of the lodge? Perhaps he is chummy with a well positioned politician?

The fact that Sparman given all of his woes is walking around Barbados with a 9mm is worrying to BU.

189 responses to “On What Criteria Was Sparman Issued A Gun License Commissioner?”

1. stupseeeeeeeeee, de bad boys in got guns too? who issu dem wid a licence?
    Looka Mr.Sparman, hold on ta ya ‘licensed’ firearm n blow summa dem ta fcuking smidda-reens if any a dem cum roun ya famblee, bizniss or edda-else. doan mind de lotta long tawk bout hay. N anudda ting, ‘shoot ta kill/paralize’. tawk, tawk, tawk, yadda, yadda, yaddaaaaaaaaaaaa.

2. David
    Happy Easter to you n yourz. Ya went chu’ch?

Anyway, we all know dat kisses go by favours so I in kno why you ackin sa saprize. Both parties do um all ze timez.

I whun mind kissin fa a few favours now. Startin wid Donville Inniss. He sa sexyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy. N once I get de kisses he in even ‘bound ta worry wid de ‘favours’.

3. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar
    40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion)

@ David. I agree with you 100%. Why should a non-national with felony record from the USA be walking around in Bim with a license firearm. Is this some joke? Some years ago my cousin was denied a green card because he had a past conviction for a few ounces of marijuana.This sound like the classic standard operation procedure that has characterised most patrimonial thirld world countries.

If embellishing his record was’nt enough, now the government of Barbados has topped it off by granting this guy the privilege of gun ownership.Go figure.

4. @David
    If you are unable or unwilling to provide certain details in terms of dates of the applications, and how applicants are assessed, then I won’t be jumping on your bandwagon. That would be like buying a pig in a bag.

5. Can’t remember how many times I made reference to Thoughts Random And Wrong. This time I say that Random Thoughts is RIGHT on the money in his post about the influential strength of the fraternal brotherhood. Quite interesting is BU ‘s phrase taken from this piece which is “Based on the little we know about the process to get a gun license in Barbados.” Why then take such an emphatic position? Devil’s Advocate or just anti Sparman rhetoric?

6. @Hamiton Hill

Don’t go literal, it was just a turn of ‘speech’.

7. 40acres
    was his felony gun-related? i don’t know. or was it for putting some licks on a chick? i don’t know. is it right to condemn a man for the rest of his life for a crime committed many moons ago even after he has paid his dues? I don’t know what his felon was. do you?

Zack
    now pray tell me, how else would you get de pig home if he is not in a bag? stupseeeeeeeeee. jus askin.

8. @ Carson C. Cadogan | April 25, 2011 at 10:54 AM |

Carson, are you implying that the owner of this blog is all for whites getting firearms but when it comes to black people is against it? Cum on Carson! you would be one of the last I expected to pen such a comment.

What it looks like to me that people in authority and it is not only in Barbados who like to flaunt their power especially on people who has no one to turn to – not in the clique of the upputty-up.

Do you or anyone knows if there is a specific, I mean limited number of licenses per year to be issued. And if so could it be that the COP is not too fast in issuing to those whose names are unknown? Who knows maybe the COP holds on to be ready and able to issue to those where a kick-back is apparent and definite. Remember $$ talks and bull-shit walks.

9. When the Reggae artist Sizzla was banned from entering Barbados to perform, was it because he had a criminal record in Barbados…..NO!!! It was because he was alleged to have weapons on his property in Jamaica. The COP jumped on this and stated that Sizzla will not get a work permit because of the allegations (which he was cleared of). How is it then, that anyone here on BU can say that Sparmans conviction in the US doesn’t or shouldn’t matter?
    The old boy’s club, still run things …..and the wanna be, feel important Joneses will never change.

10. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar

@Bonny Peppa. As far as I know the guy was charged with a sexual offence against his ex-wife and he is a registered sex offender in the state of Florida. Based on his record , Dr Sparman wouldnot have qualified to own a gun permit in the USA. Why then must we lowered our standard to accomodate this guy? We should have a zero-tolerance for people with those past behaviour.

Gun ownership in this country is not about protection from crime and violence- considering that Barbados crime rate is nothing to write home about- rather, it has become an extension of the symbol staus accessory in this country which is the privilege domain for the high and mighty.

11. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting jack spratt ” In addition, he has not been convicted of any offence locally. What disqualifies him? ”

So jack spratt supose I’ve been convicted of say manslaughter while I lived overseas (let’s say I shot that good for nothing bastard my husband when I came home suddenly and caught him with the outside woman) let’s say I served 10 years for that little thing and have now been released, and now I’ve moved to Barbados to live, because I’ve always loved this little easy going tropical paradise and let’s say I decide to let bygones be bygones and give the marriage thing a second try, and I’m now Mistress Jack Spratt if you please.

Would you Mr. Jack Spratt feel comfortable with the Commissioner of Police grantingme a gun license because to quote you exactly I have “not been convicted of any offence locally”

On the other hand jack spratt don’t answer my question. I hate to see old men cat spraddle themselves.

12. What if you were not convicted of manslaughter as you so conveniently put it, but you had been convicted because your wife alleged you had beaten her. Now you have wealth and a successful business…would you want any protection?

On second thoughts, don’t worry. I do not need another stupid random MISthought.

13. Lookuh Hey! Alla dis long talk. It real simple, nuh? Dr. Sparman, by his actions and deeds, both in the U.S. and in Bim, has shown an inability to control his temper and a lack of good judgment. These two things alone are enough to question why he should be allowed to carry a gun!

14. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Zack ” Sparman has a criminal conviction in the USA years ago (a sexual offense), and that he is a non-national.”

So Zack my question to you is can Sparman receive permission from American authorities to carry a gun in the U.S? (and lest we forget the U.S. is the land where the right to bear arms is a constitutionally protected right but you understand don’t you that in the U.S. the right to bear arms as is the right to vote is withdrawn from convicted felons.)

And if Sparman can’t carry a gun in the U.S. maybe you Zack can tell us why not .

Oh Lord!!!! The rest o’ de world laughing at we (again)

15. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Jack Spratt did you realy write “had been convicted because your wife alleged you had beaten her”

Surely you besmirch the U.S. justice system.

Surely you understand that a lotta, lotta spouses can make allegations, but that one is CONVICTED by a jury of one’s peers.

So we ain’t talking spousal allegation here, but about a CONVICTION.

An ya ain’t answer my question. Should the COP grant a gun license to the newly minted Mistress Jack Spratt because I had not been to quote you EXACTLY “not been convicted of any offence locally”

16. @40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) | April 25, 2011 at 6:05 PM | @Bonny Peppa. As far as I know the guy was charged with a sexual offence against his ex-wife and he is a registered sex offender in the state of Florida. Based on his record , Dr Sparman wouldnot have qualified to own a gun permit in the USA. Why then must we lowered our standard to accomodate this guy? We should have a zero-tolerance for people with those past behaviour.
    ==============
    How do you mean “lower our standards”. What is or was our standard as it relates to issuing gun licenses? Barbados and the USA do not have to operate by the same rules, policies, or standards. Before we go shooting our mouths off about whether it was right or wrong for Sparman to get a gun license, we first need to know what is the criteria for obtaining a gun license in Barbados.

Those of you who think that regardless of how old a criminal conviction may be, or which country it took place in, or what type of crime was committed, the person should still be treated as a criminal and not afforded the same privileges as others, are not doing anything to help the society. It’s that type of thinking and treatment that helps to keep the prison doors revolving.

17. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

His estranged wife alledged that he forced his penis into her mouth. And he was duly convicted.

Would you feel more comfortable Jack if the wife was your daughter?

18. @Random Thoughts | April 25, 2011 at 6:51 PM | Quoting Zack ” Sparman has a criminal conviction in the USA years ago (a sexual offense), and that he is a non-national.”
    So Zack my question to you is can Sparman receive permission from American authorities to carry a gun in the U.S? (and lest we forget the U.S. is the land where the right to bear arms is a constitutionally protected right but you understand don’t you that in the U.S. the right to bear arms as is the right to vote is withdrawn from convicted felons.)
    And if Sparman can’t carry a gun in the U.S. maybe you Zack can tell us why not.
    ================
    Why should I care if he can get a gun license in the USA or not. Sparman is in Barbados now, not the USA anymore. If he meets the established criteria in Barbados then is entitled to one. Who don’t like it should seek the get the criteria changed. If he did not meet the criteria but was still issued a license then y’all should be calling for the removal of the COP.

19. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Bonny Peppa Is this you? “is it right to condemn a man for the rest of his life for a crime committed many moons ago even after he has paid his dues?”

Actually Bonny I know the husband of a friend who was convicted of manslaughter in 1980. He was drunk when he got into a bassa-bassa with his wife. She was KILLED. There had been a long history of what we euphemisticaly call “domestic violence” (ie. he beat the sh*t out of her whenever he was drunk, which was often) and multiple reports had been made to the police, and no the police had not “lost the files” because of who he was. And for the malicious crew, both husband, dead first wife, and living second wife are all white. He served 8 years in jail for the manslaughter, and is on probation for the rest of his life. He has married again. He has not re-offended. He would loooooveeeeee!!!!!!!!!!! to come to Barbados even if only for a holiday, but Canada a serious country will not grant him a passport.

In almost EVERY instance where a woman is killed by her husband or lover “domestic violence” preceded the killing, sometime by days by weeks, by months, or by years.

The truth is that men who beat and kill their wives are most often stupid, domineering, bullying, control freaks. Why is it that we feel that we must pretend that they are nice guys?

We know this, why do we feel that we must tell lies to protect a foolish police decision (if indeed the police have made such a decision)

I love Barbados, but we are a joke country.

20. I joined the blogging crowd when I was invited to read about the NUPW mess and could never find enough time to add my voice to this medium but this matter of guns has forced me to make time and to add my voice in any chorus to restrict the number of guns being paraded across Barbados.
    Most people who can claim to know me will tell you that I am totally opposed to anyoine except the police and the military having a license to carry a gun in public. I believe thast those who want to shoot should be forced to leave their guns on te complex at the shooting arena to be used only when on the range.

I am aware that my position is extreme but the extent to which this gun craze has taken over Barbados warrants some discussion and I am confident that the prliament would avoid any debate on the issue. It is the nature of politics in Barbados and in the Caribbean as a whole. These issues carry with them loads of emotionalism and personal references and like hanging will be dressed down in for and against with both sides equally confident that the right is on their side.

I do not know why Sparman has been targeted but I remember as a young man visiting an exclusive park in the Collymore Roack area and encountering a teenage non-black male covered in automobile grease with only his eyes visible. This brought laughter from the car and thew response from that young man and his fasmily was to produce a rifle and asked us to leave the area. From then the danger of a gun in the hands of an idiot was a major fear but more recently I have come to recognize that in the hands of a coward can be more theatening and dangerous.

The issue is not whether Sparman or Blacman or Whitman should get a license to own, possess, or brandish a gun period. Why does any individual need a gun? The oft reported reason is for protection and the second offered is that it acts as a tool to keep off would be villans. The third most popular reason given is that it provides confidence and a sense of security.

To all these positions I can pnly suggest that if our socity has become so frightening and a gyun provides the three safety conditions then all citizens should be free to get a license and then the fastest of hands, smartest and quickest of feet would survive. In short we should go back to the wild west for any other situation calls for tests for fitness to carry and whatever the measure those most vulnerable will be the least able to access.

The ownership of business used to be a major consideration and if that criterium was not altered then on that basis there would be at least 50,000 guns legitimately owned for business purposes for even the coconut vendor can qualify as having a busines, so too would be the 600 small contractors registered at the UDC and the thousands of registrants at the Belmont registration office.

Then the qualification of property was another qualification but again what value of property was reasonable and should it be only real property or jewelry?

The present Commission has been tougher and the efforts by the AG to bring gereater control I applaud but the challenge really is for the wider Barbadian society to conme to grips with the challnges of the gun environment and what factors have led to the situation and to work not at adjusting the criteria but the factors that make citizens feel they need to present an image that you must be prepared to die if you invade my space.

Barbados has become a very intolerant csociety and the granting of gun permits will not stop it there is a need for the reduction of guns and a reduction in the sources of conflict. I have to go but will return. STOP THOS GUN FOOLISHNESS

21. Radom thoughts. you can google barbados firearms/license .gov and there is enough information on the gun laws of barbados.
    It states that where a past history or apprehended likelihood of family violence exist .the law does not stipulate that a gun should be denied or revoked.

22. @Random Thoughts | April 25, 2011 at 7:37 PM |
    I hope that you or no male in your family ever hits a woman (whether it goes to court or not), because according to your thinking, that would make him beyond redemption. It would make him a potential killer and a scoundrel for life.

Now I’m defending the act of violence against women, but why is that the focus? I mean a man don’t need a gun to kill a woman. What about male on male violence, or female on female violence? Would you look at Sparman any differently if he had been convicted for lashing a man with a chair for saying something bad about his mother?

23. That should read:

Now I’m NOT defending the act of violence against women

24. Dereck
    You must be a bold man to enter this debate.
    I read you loud and clear.
    I therefore do not have to ask you about carrying guns in parliament.
    Sparman’s Clinic has a security service 24 hrs and if he needs to move money he should call G4S.
    It was a white farmer who shot a boy back in time and most bajans in those times believed that white farmers had guns so in Barbados hypocrisy flourishes still, with who you know. It happens in income tax, customs and the police every day.

25. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Zack:

I abhor all violence male/female; male/male; female/female etc. The last time I hit anyone I was 7 years old. I got the odd spank as a child (my parents were gentle and very experienced parents) and I was a sweet child so no I was not hit much at all as a child and I’ve never been hit in my adult life, nor hit anyone else either. Don’t have a gun and don’t want one.

If my sons/brothers/ nephews hit their wife or girlfriend I’d be deeply disappointed and if I heard about it they would hear from me.

As an elder it would be my duty to put them right.

And this nonsense about hitting someone because they said something bad about your mother is nonsense.

Suppose that someone said “ya mother is a whore” Why should I hit that person? Either my mother is a whore and I should not hit a fella for telling the truth, or the fella is a lying scondrel, my mother is an honourable woman, and I’ll leave the lying scoundrel to God.

I’ve told my children many, many times NOT to defend my “honour” I can defend myself very, very well.

26. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

The pen is more powerful than the sword (or the gun)

27. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Derek Alleyne “In short we should go back to the wild west for any other situation calls for tests for fitness to carry and whatever the measure those most vulnerable will be the least able to access.”

At last somebody with sense.

Please note that the most vulnerable group in Barbados is black women over the age of 85 and who live alone. Tell me when last was one of them shot? When last did any of them shoot anybody? When last has the COP granted a gun license to an elderly black woman who lives alone?

The only good thing I can say is that from time to time the gun lovers shoot each other (or their children) other and then I can say Hallelujah! one less gun lover (or his children)in this here world.

28. MOre and more Barbadians are confusing me and on this gun issue I am even more confused. Now I agree that gun or any other kind of violence must be viewed in context of the social, economic and political forces that affect ownership, wealth and the role of the power structures that operate within the society. However without nignoring that reality I invite all contributors to explain who exactly benefits from the presence of guns in Barbados and in that context what ever it is why is it necessary to have them here.

29. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

The thing is with we Bajans once we get a lil’ whiff of the smell of money we become convinced that shi*t smells like a rose, and any foreigner can rub shit in our faces and we will say “yum!!!, yum!!! chocolate”

30. @derek Alleyne | April 25, 2011 at 7:55 PM |
    The issue is not whether Sparman or Blacman or Whitman should get a license to own, possess, or brandish a gun period. Why does any individual need a gun? The oft reported reason is for protection and the second offered is that it acts as a tool to keep off would be villans. The third most popular reason given is that it provides confidence and a sense of security.

To all these positions I can pnly suggest that if our socity has become so frightening and a gyun provides the three safety conditions then all citizens should be free to get a license and then the fastest of hands, smartest and quickest of feet would survive. In short we should go back to the wild west for any other situation calls for tests for fitness to carry and whatever the measure those most vulnerable will be the least able to access.
    =================
    You don’t seem to be in touch with reality at all. You do realize that there are violent criminals out there that law abiding citizens need to protect themselves from right? You do understand that those criminal are able to acquire illegal firearms right. You do realized that the criminals even use cutlasses in robbery attacks right? Do you expect to leave families without adequate protection to be devoured by the wolves?

When criminals begin to feel powerful and unstoppable, their level of crime escalates. Imagine you and your family being awakened in the middle of the night by the noise of an armed criminal(s) in your house, and you have nothing to defend with your family with.

31. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Tell me now does anybody pay for their surgery with cash?

Are there are people out there who have $10,000+ to pay for surgery and yet don’t have checks, debit cards or credit cards? or can’t buy a bank drafts?

If I believe this nonsense then I must believe also in Santa Claus and the Easter bunny.

32. The reason why Sparman might have gotten a gun license is the same reason why a lot of Bajans get gun licences.

Considerable assets and Property to protect.

If he was able to “jump the queue” it could be because he is a heart docta an de COP mite get a heart attack an Sparman mite be de onliest heart docta to save he.

David I see you have encountered some serious bouncers on this wicket. You have ducked very well.

I suggest to the likes of CCCadogan that you don’t have to wait for David to even the playing field. You can blog about whites, Indians,Chinese and the United Nations.

33. @Random Thoughts | April 25, 2011 at 8:55 PM | Dear Zack:
    I abhor all violence male/female; male/male; female/female etc. The last time I hit anyone I was 7 years old. I got the odd spank as a child (my parents were gentle and very experienced parents) and I was a sweet child so no I was not hit much at all as a child and I’ve never been hit in my adult life, nor hit anyone else either. Don’t have a gun and don’t want one.
    If my sons/brothers/ nephews hit their wife or girlfriend I’d be deeply disappointed and if I heard about it they would hear from me.
    As an elder it would be my duty to put them right.
    And this nonsense about hitting someone because they said something bad about your mother is nonsense.

Suppose that someone said “ya mother is a whore” Why should I hit that person? Either my mother is a whore and I should not hit a fella for telling the truth, or the fella is a lying scondrel, my mother is an honourable woman, and I’ll leave the lying scoundrel to God.
    I’ve told my children many, many times NOT to defend my “honour” I can defend myself very, very well.
    ============
    I did not asked you to provide me with your history and personal experiences because I don’t care to know. I just wanted to know if you would have the same problem with Sparman getting a gun license if his conviction was for hitting a man rather than the sexual offense against his ex-wife.

34. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Zack:

So when the gun owning fellas at lodge meetings or out running the very successful business who protects the “families” at home, at school, at the swimming pool, on the golf course, on the ZR van?

Or are these families who own multiple guns? Daddy has his gun at the lodge meeting. Mommy takes her gun to church. Little Johnny ALWAYS takes his gun to school, and big SUSIE HAS HER GUN RIGHT NOW AT THE CARIFTA GAMES (after all we know how gun loving them Jamaicans can be)

I got it right, right Zack?

35. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Zack “I just wanted to know if you would have the same problem with Sparman getting a gun license if his conviction was for hitting a man rather than the sexual offense against his ex-wife.”

Yes.

36. @Hants

Some Bajans need to wake up or the late Errol Barrow words will ring true sooner rather than later.

37. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Hants “de COP mite get a heart attack an Sparman mite be de onliest heart docta to save he”

De last time I saw the COP up close and personal he looked fit and lean. I don’t
    think he getting a heart attack any time soon.

And what if the COP was choking on his food at fast food restaurant and RT was the closest person there and sucessfully performed the Heimlich manouvre. Should RT get a gun license as a reward? Or what if I let my genius neice marry his son, should that earn me a gun license?

38. We should be equally as worried about the carrying of fire arms by some some Police Officers and Security Guards. How often do these individuals practice on the firing ranges, and have they been qualified for the particular weapons that they are carrying?
    A gun,is not the ultimate protection as many seem to think, having one can give the holder a false sense of security, and could become a very easy target for someone whose arsenal includes basic military tactics .

39. @Random Thoughts | April 25, 2011 at 9:41 PM |
    You often show your stupidity, and you’ve done it again. You can bring a million different scenarios if you want, but as long as the criminals have access to illegal weapons, I’m all in favour of law abiding citizens having the right to carry legal firearms. I can’t depend on the police to protect me and my family in critical situations of life and death.

40. Random
    yes, um is me. why?
    Every country has its own rules n policies. I know of two persons here who committed murder, did lengthy sentences and both now live in the U.S. Canada might be a lil more stringent but like I said every country has its own laws.

41. Every day people get into arguments, some are taken advantage of, bullied made to feel powerless and often inferior. Some of them if they had a gun would consider shooting the villan or perpetrator of the wrong. Others may not think twice and still others would walk away. I have never seen a gun protect any one, its pressence or the threat of it may deter an assailant but it cannot protect. Surely those seeking protection should find an ironmonger and have an armor constructed and a shield in the shape of the knights of the round table adorn their forearms.

As for the intruder, the gun can have value to revenge the invasion of the privacy and to end the life or maim frighten the intruder. It can also invite retaliation, hurt or kill a family member or other innocent victim. A gun in the house has more danger for those within the household than any outside of it and even when there is invasion the danger to the houehold is often equal to that of the invader.
    A gun has one purpose and that is to kill or maim, no other maybe as a starting tool at athletics and even then its use is not friendly.
    A gun makes the weak feel strong, the ignorant dangerous and the wise coscious of its danger so in all counts a gun is a nuisance instrument.

42. Random @ 9:52
    you being facetious so i gun jus laff.

43. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar

@Zack. You sound like an alarmist. Has Barbados crime level reach the level of Jamaica.? Why advocate for an armed populace when our homicide rate is less than 10 per year? Aren’t we not the caribbean most peace loving people? Then again if the system wasn’t so elitist I might have taken a different stance.

44. Good point 40 acres!

In fact Barbados should see how the Jamaican society has developed given the proliferation of guns and try to depart form the current path.

It will be self fulling if we continue to release so many guns into our small space.

Unfortunately it maybe too late to fit the genie back into the bottle.

45. @derek alleyne | April 25, 2011 at 10:05 PM |
    I’d rather take my chances as a gun owner than be left at the mercy of vagabonds. Criminals will kill you if you only happen to see their face in the midst of a crime. I wouldn’t ever want to be caught defenseless in my own home of all places.

Mr. Alleyne, you speak as a coward who would throw yourself at the mercy of the vagabonds and just hope for the best. I suppose you’re counting on the police to find and take away all the illegal guns, and lock up all the bad people. Well we’re never going to have that perfect situation in Barbados again, that’s the reality of it. I prefer to go down fighting than allow the vagabonds to have their own way and hope that the police will make everything alright.

46. One need to realize that violence is now part of our society, law abiding folks will have to have some form of protection as police can do nothing until something happens, or should I say do nothing once you’re the small man. We cannot allow criminals to do as they like and if you are the holder of a firearm license the use of it should be fully investigated. However we need to realize that who we think are responsible usually are not. I’m not in favor of the doc having a firearm license. For protection??? It’s a known fact that criminals’ rob the poor because of these facts, one chances are they will not be give a firearm license, two if they will have to think twice before taking extreme action as they do not want to end up before the courts. They refraim from hitting the rich because they know their will get away with anything, even if it reaches the news media it will die a natural death. The issues raised are all valid but the need to understand that the people who should change things are the one who have them the way there are.

47. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Zack “the police to find and take away all the illegal guns, and lock up all the bad people. Well we’re never going to have that perfect situation in Barbados again”

This isn’t a gun question more of a history question.

When in Barbados’ history did the perfect situation exist?

And was it perfect for everybody or only for a heavily armed rich people?

48. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) | April 25, 2011 at 10:12 PM | @Zack. You sound like an alarmist. Has Barbados crime level reach the level of Jamaica.? Why advocate for an armed populace when our homicide rate is less than 10 per year? Aren’t we not the caribbean most peace loving people? Then again if the system wasn’t so elitist I might have taken a different stance.
    ==========
    First I all I never said that everybody should run and get a gun, I said that I’m all for law abiding citizens having licensed weapons (those who choose to of course). Secondly, I have heard of too many violent crimes and robberies already for this year to sit back and think that the odds of me being a victim are too slim to worry about. Thirdly, why is it that whenever we speak in the context of Barbados, some quack brings in Jamaica or the USA as a comparison?

49. Random Thoughts Avatar

And now a sociology question.

Would Barbados be a beter place if everybody who wanted a gun (even those who have criminal convictons overseas) had one?

Or would Barbados be a better place if every man was a good father to his sons? (even his outside sons)

Goodnight all.

50. Jamaica comes into the discussion because it is a society where a prevalence of guns has caused that society to deteriorate in some parts very quickly.

Are you living in a cocoon?