In some countries the right to bear arms is regarded as an inalienable right. In the United States as an example it is regarded as a Second Amendment Right. Barbados despite rising crime ‘relatively speaking’ is still regarded as a country where to tote around a gun on the hip or ankle is considered unusual . For example, during the last general election in Barbados there was no serious case of violence reported if we exclude Don Marshall’s tiff   The same cannot be said for Jamaica and a few others in the region!

Having established that Barbados is a relatively peaceful  place to reside. Some Barbadians for one reason or the other will apply to the Commissioner of Police for the right to carry a firearm. It is difficult to establish what is the criteria to be issued a firearm in Barbados, except to state that the process appears to be a fairly arbitrary one, with the final decision resting with the Commissioner of Police. Citizens do have the right to appeal the decision should they be declined to the Attorney General of Barbados.

Based on the little we know of the process to get a gun license in Barbados it appears to lack transparency. We know of farmers who suffer praedial larceny every night in Barbados who it is easy to believe would be eligible to bear a firearm. Yet we hear stories of them being declined.

The foregoing therefore begs the question why would someone like Dr. Alfred Sparman be able to procure a gun license given his background. A simple Google will list his encounter with US law regarding a domestic abuse matter. Doesn’t this qualify him as a felon? BU would be very interested to know the name of the psychologist who sighed off on Sparman’s psychiatric evaluation to support his gun license application. Is he a member of the lodge? Perhaps he is chummy with a well positioned politician?

The fact that Sparman given all of his woes is walking around Barbados with a 9mm is worrying to BU.

189 responses to “On What Criteria Was Sparman Issued A Gun License Commissioner?”

1. Christopher Halsall.
    I aint done wid dis yet.

David you already know that people “pull strings” in Barbados.

My problem with “targeting” Sparman is that Barbados already accepted that he was now a responsible person and gave him a license to practice medicine.

It appears he has been a model citizen since moving to Barbados.

Did it occur to anyone that he may have been given a gun license because he may have been threatened or for other reasons not made public?

2. So…a man given the authority and practice to operate on people’s hearts, is not qualified to obtain a license for a gun???

RFLMAO.

Yuh no ball this one…sorry. That is gone wide past third slip and to the boundary.

3. It has been painful to read the level of contributions being offered relating to this topic. The focus on Sparman does what? embarass the Commissioner? embarass the Government? embarass Sparman, embarass other gun holders, embarass non gun holders or elevate all of the above? What does the focus on Sparman lead to? Will the permit be withdrawn, will other applicants get permitrs?

Is there not a bigger picture that our attention can bring focus on? Are we so empty of creative thought that attacks on the person is the only feed that gets our adrenaline going? Cant bloggers grapple with the social fibre of Barbados outside an individual to flag the debate. Does Dr. Brtahwaite have a gun and how about Dr. King or Dr. Alleyne and which of them beat their wives and children and if they do what can we do about it or better how can we change that pattern?

David this is an excellent issue that we as a people must address if for no other reason than that the volume of requests being made to the Commissioner reflect a people in panic.

The grsnting of a license to Sparman should be used as a spark to look at the wider issue but the debate on whether he qualifies for a permit or not has ben exhausted to such an extent that the contributors on that line are repeating themselves and tsking pot shots at one another. Let us widen the debate to the causal factors of wanting a gun in the 1st place

4. I would like wunna-all includin Derek Alleyne (who i admire secretly) ta leff Mr. Sparman for ma pleeze befo i obtain a unlicenced firearm n shoot sum a wunna-all. Leff sexy Sparman fa ma. Kisses go by favours.
    How wunna-all kno dat he permit ta obtain a firearm jump de line? wunna-all was day? stupseeeeeeee. even so de same could apply fa dem Guv’ment houses, jobs etc.

5. @David | April 26, 2011 at 3:26 PM | @Zack
    Refer to Media Law Handbook, BU always protect our sources.
    =============
    At this point there isn’t much you can prove, so you have no answers to get.

6. Randon Toughts Avatar

What if the (current gun license) law is an ass?

7. Random
    Den it would join de otha laws dat is a ass too, dah is all. LOLLLL. I gine n sleep, my crocous-bag should be dry by now.

8. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Dave, would you like to be an Englishman?!!

9. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

@david

I have excellent comprehension skills, I still question your motive for invoking the name Sparman, do you know of other people that receive guns and why do you have to use the gentleman name to iintroduce a controversial topic of this nature.

Do you know of anybody else in Barbados that you believe that should not have a gun and how long has he been in possession of the license, I can assure you that has not just received a gun license, so that is stale news.
    I do not like guns and have seen a real one twice as a young customs officer I discovered one in a box of soap poweder while working at the airport and a friend of mine showed me his licensed
    one.

David I still hold to my ealier views he has qualified to hold a gun and therefore if you have concerns about the method used to allocate the licenses then say so but dont ask why should he be in possession of one as against certian people. Did he get it through the backdoor? just like you trust your doctor’s jusdgment, trust who ever made the decsion judgement, else if the decsion is questionable say so, but leave the gentleman out of the equation.

I concur with Derryck that we should look at the bigger picture why are people clamouring to own a gun. I dont like them and would never want one unless it is a toy gun.
    Back to you David.

10. BU has made our point and those in Roebuck Street who patrol the blog now know others are aware of the patrimony which exist related to how gun permits are issued.

Manasseh you probably missed it but here is a repeat, we protect our sources.

11. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

I have not missed a thing, sometimes sources HAVE ULTERIOR MOTIVES AND SOMETIMES HALF OF THE TRUTH IS TOLD TO SENSATIONALISE AN ISSUE. FURTHER, I beleive that if you do not protect your sources then information woulld not flow to you.

I AM SAYING TO YOU IF I HAD A DECISION TO MAKE AS TO WHO SHOULD GET A LICENSE AND I MAKE THAT DECSION BASED ON THE EXPEDIENCY OF THE REQUEST, WHO IS IN A POSITION TO QUESTION MY DECSIONS AS LONG AS THE CITERIA HAVE BEEN SATISFIED. EVEYDAY IN LIFE WE MAKE JUDEGMENT CA LL. BESIDES SPARMAN, I KNOW A FEW DOCTORS IN POSSESION OF GUNS. THE MAN DID NOT JUST GET A LICENCE.

UNTIL YOU CAN CONVINCE ME THAT HE WAS FAVOURED OVER OTHERS I HOLD FAST TO MY DECSIONS. JUST DONT TELL ME TRUST YOU THAT YOU HAVE TO PROTECT YOUR SOURCE. AGAIN, AND AGAIN THE ARTICLE COULD HAVE BEEN WRITTEN WITHOUT REFERENCE TO THE DOCTOR. IT WAS UNCALLED FOR AS SIMPLE AS THAT.

12. @Derek Alleyne,

Your point is excellent and is, as you say, the real issue.

If I may start, while I agree that gun control is required, I submit that restriction of guns to military and police cannot work at this time, for the following reasons.

– the police force is understaffed, underresourced and to expect them to do everything is not possible.
    – those who are ‘prime targets’ have a right to protect themselves, as any other, the fact that they are prime targets make them more likely to get robbed etc. yes, this does include the very wealthy, ministers, judges, magistrates, immigration and customs officers, bankers etc.

Where does a robber go? To rob a wealthy man. Where does a person with a vendetta go? After a minister or a judge /magistrate or customs officer. It is just logical.

To suggest that those who are prime targets should not be allowed the means to rpotect themselves is foolhardy at best.

– Secondly, this is exacerbated by the fact that many complain that police response time is not the best, indeed, in some cases police come much later. This is largely a resource and staffing problem, but it does exist.

– Thirdly, the criminals have guns, mostly improted illegally. As I said before, what good is a collins against an AK47? Do you really expect to rid the criminals of their guns? I rather doubt it. The roads are not even safe thanks tot he reckloess driving, how do you expect to disarm criminals, really?

So, in answer to your ideas, you are right that gun control is important, but there is a need to ensure a ‘safe’ society, if that includes distributing guns to particularly exposed persons, then that is what is required, simple.

To expect a utopia where all adhere to the ‘law’ is naive and cannot work in real life.

So, Mr.Alleyne, I understand your approach, I sympathise with your concerns, but I do not agree that a broad brush approach will work.

Even before such an approach, one must address issues such as discipline in the schools, respect for otherts etc…which are a deeper issue that will in turn impact on general behaviours, to provide an environment and culture for then implementing suggestions such as yours.

To adopt your ideas a behavioural and cultural hsift needs to take place, not just for ‘those who abide by the law and respect for the law’ such as yourself, but for the majority.

And no, I do not think that the majority respects the law.

13. @King

Did not read pass the capitals.

@Crusoe

You are correct we are not in a Utopia. We live in a world where pragmatism rules.

14. The issue of the gun permit is one thing, but what about a discussion of if, how, when or how he got registered to practice medicine, and at a “specialist” level, in Barbados, having been allegedly struck off the register in USA? An unqualified doctor might kill more persons than an improperly gun licensed person!

15. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

Your logic is spurious, you have made a deuctive decision, your reasoning was flawd from the beginning and hence your conclusion must be flawed. I did not expect you to read past the CAPITAL because if you have to look logically at what you said, you would then discover the illogic to your aguments.

That is one of the things I have been taught in the use of English 30 years ago. Another thing is to use emotianally charged words to evoke responses, but I think you have failed in this battle based on most of the responses you have received.

I would like you to have some one research, race, class and social status: The dispensation of Jistice in Barbados.

Have a wonderful day, and i look forward to having to respond to you.

I gone

16. @Mannesah

You correct that BU does toss the rule book out the window sometimes. History shows that to create a new order this is required at times. Hint to you and the NUPW business:-).

17. How do the masses achieve the necessary reforms when mandates given are often misplaced, forgotten or completely ignored until it is time for renewal of said mandates?

Do we really desire change?

18. @anthony: “http://www.america.gov/media/pdf/books/media-law-handbook.pdf

Thank you for that. A worthwhile (even if lengthy) read.

19. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

If you want to say that earlier when I joined the blogging family that I was not using my real name, yes that is a fact, like some others, including the team that had a vested interest in maintaining the status quo.

By the way if i wanted to continue to blog under different names, i can, all i have to do is use my different computers and stick to the same blogging name, but i dont care to anymore.

So David, you will not deter me from giving my point of view, so dont even attempt to balkmail me as i have wathered many storms.

Nothing you have written have convince me that you motives were not ulterion in using Dr. Sparman name in the headline, but the more he is persecuted, it wooud appear that the more his business grows.

So go and come again.

The fact remains that you have missed this one but dont want to admit, but want to continue that you are right. Sometimes we are not always right. And as the blog master you have a fiduciary relationship to ensure that your motive for creating a lead blog is not injurious to anyone.

20. Maansseh U King Avatar
    Maansseh U King

Bonny Peppa

I like your humorous blogs. Where u get dah wit from. Yah could teach mah some?
    I gone

21. @Maansseh

You misunderstood BU’s comment, you should do a reread.

On your recent comment BU does no wish to convince you only to let Commissioner Dottin know someone is watching him.

22. David the link on the Pierhead project blog is not working. Were you encouraged to stop discussion of the project or is it a wordpress intervention

23. Past the link Hants. No problem as far as BU is aware.

24. Maanseeh
    LOL, I could teach you a lot mo tings too. (wink,wink)
    Doan mind David, you kno n I kno dat he red past de Capitals. He only callin a bluff but doan back dung. ya got ‘e good. ga fa he jagular man. ya got my bak.

you kno dat I is a instigata. LOL

25. That is the Trade Unionist blogging?

26. Read pages 18 and 19 of Barbados Today.
    How could this happen in First world Barbados?

27. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hants, i in got access to BT. wha happen!!

28. We must ask ourselves the question:
    Is the Clay Pigeon Club a Sports Club, or a Private- Army- in-waiting?………..waiting and practicing in case 1937 is revisted.

29. Random Thoughts Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb
    Barbados Today

30. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Hi Random, thanks for that. They’re even more ‘with-it’ than I thought! lol! Will have a look now!

31. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

I have completed my investigation and it has revealed that the Doctor has been in possession of a license to own firearm since 2005, I have been furhter informed that he has been promoted to marksman at the shooitng range or whatever it is called.

32. @Mannasseh

Interesting feedback!

Perhaps you can tell the BU family how Sparman about the circumstances leading up to getting a gun license in 2005 when his immigration appeal matter expired in 2004? For those who don’t recall immigration spoke to Sparman traveloing to Barbados using 4 different passports.

Interesting indeed if your ‘source’ is correct King!

33. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

It is 12 years the man has been here and you remind me of a little kid that will throw a cok stone at you and run away.

your article started out with one issue and has degenerated to something else. You continue to show your illogic. All the others that throw some lashes on you on this subject has moved on, and dont expect to me communicate with your further on this matter.

I shall see you on May 05. So you have a wonderful May Day yah here.

34. @King

BU responded to your last comment.

Also be informed BU will go wherever the argument takes us.

So long King!

35. Breaking news. Gadaffi’s son killed.

36. @Hants

Unconfirmed!

37. david why would you comment on sparman’s round ass. you should keep your sexual preference to yourself. This guy is becoming a superstar because of people like you. you probable doesn”t even have a job…moreso a gun

38. You’ve explained the information very clearly in this blog. If you want to know more about Louisiana Gun Permit so you can visit us.