In some countries the right to bear arms is regarded as an inalienable right. In the United States as an example it is regarded as a Second Amendment Right. Barbados despite rising crime ‘relatively speaking’ is still regarded as a country where to tote around a gun on the hip or ankle is considered unusual . For example, during the last general election in Barbados there was no serious case of violence reported if we exclude Don Marshall’s tiff   The same cannot be said for Jamaica and a few others in the region!

Having established that Barbados is a relatively peaceful  place to reside. Some Barbadians for one reason or the other will apply to the Commissioner of Police for the right to carry a firearm. It is difficult to establish what is the criteria to be issued a firearm in Barbados, except to state that the process appears to be a fairly arbitrary one, with the final decision resting with the Commissioner of Police. Citizens do have the right to appeal the decision should they be declined to the Attorney General of Barbados.

Based on the little we know of the process to get a gun license in Barbados it appears to lack transparency. We know of farmers who suffer praedial larceny every night in Barbados who it is easy to believe would be eligible to bear a firearm. Yet we hear stories of them being declined.

The foregoing therefore begs the question why would someone like Dr. Alfred Sparman be able to procure a gun license given his background. A simple Google will list his encounter with US law regarding a domestic abuse matter. Doesn’t this qualify him as a felon? BU would be very interested to know the name of the psychologist who sighed off on Sparman’s psychiatric evaluation to support his gun license application. Is he a member of the lodge? Perhaps he is chummy with a well positioned politician?

The fact that Sparman given all of his woes is walking around Barbados with a 9mm is worrying to BU.

189 responses to “On What Criteria Was Sparman Issued A Gun License Commissioner?”

1. Random Thoughts Avatar

uoting Zack “Thirdly, why is it that whenever we speak in the context of Barbados, some quack brings in Jamaica or the USA as a comparison?”

Because Bajans are human.

Because Jamaicans are human.

Because Americans are human.

2. @Random Thoughts | April 25, 2011 at 11:07 PM |
    I remember growing up in the 60s and 70s when violent crimes and robberies were almost unheard of. When we could walk anywhere at night without fear of being robbed or attacked. When people would leave their houses wide open and go anywhere without fear of anyone entering and stealing anything. Don’t you recall those good ol’ days?

3. I not surprise that the only response would be a comment about facetousness. Guns are not designed to kill criminals only and bullets do not have a target on them even when discharged through the action of a marksman. comments about Jamaica and the rate of gun violence and deaths only create an illusion. In the 1990s the student choice among Barbadians for legal and medical studies was Trinidad and Tobago by the mid 2010 the choice had shifted to Jamaica, the reason gun violence including stick ups and kidnapping. The Trinidadians argued in the 1990s it couldnt happen there. In St. Kitts the situation has reached crisis level and approaching the same concern levels i the Virgin Islands and little Anguilla, not in terms of the actual numbers but in the extent to which it has began to affect the level of comfort, focus of the police and attendance at after dark activities. You see the deaths and injuries are but two measures, participation in activities and the isolation of some districts are good signals of the impeding danger. Any signs in Barbados?

4. David | April 25, 2011 at 11:12 PM | Jamaica comes into the discussion because it is a society where a prevalence of guns has caused that society to deteriorate in some parts very quickly.

Are you living in a cocoon?
    ===========
    When speaking in the context of Barbados it is stupid to draw comparisons with Jamaica, and it would appear to be an attempt to draw attention away from the problems that exist in Barbados. Everybody already knows the situation in Jamaica with gangdrug related violence.

The fact is that illegal weapons keep finding their way unto the streets of Barbados, and most gun related crimes here are robberies of individuals and businesses. So when I hear that somebody like Sparman has applied for and received a gun license, why don’t see it as a problem?

5. @zack

Do you think it was always the way it is in Jamaica?

There is a trending upwards of gun and drug related crime in Barbados.

When do you plan to arrest the problem?

Forgot you maybe waiting for the hard data.

6. Guns don’t kill people…..people kill people!!

I cant believe that David’s post has been turned and twisted into all this crap.
    The farmers have property, families and livelihood to protect.
    They are robbed and shot at. Yet they cant get gun licenses to protect.
    Along came Sparman with a criminal record in the US and has a Glock (not a .22, .25 or .32 ) for his ‘protection’ .
    Why cant the farmers get their shotguns and rounds but Sparman can get his Glock and rounds?
    What is wrong with this picture?

7. David | April 25, 2011 at 11:55 PM | @zack
    Do you think it was always the way it is in Jamaica?
    There is a trending upwards of gun and drug related crime in Barbados.
    When do you plan to arrest the problem?
    Forgot you maybe waiting for the hard data.
    =========
    Is the problem for me to arrest? I’m neither a politician or law enforcement agent. Aren’t you in favour of giving gun licenses to the hundreds of Bajans who applied before Sparman anymore? Or just the farmers?

8. Patrimony Techie, we all know it.

9. @Zack

You just don’t get do you?

The purpose of the Blog is to highlight a situation where Dottin has been issuing permits to a favoured few.

10. @Technician | April 26, 2011 at 12:00 AM | Guns don’t kill people…..people kill people!!
    I cant believe that David’s post has been turned and twisted into all this crap.
    The farmers have property, families and livelihood to protect.
    They are robbed and shot at. Yet they cant get gun licenses to protect.
    ===============
    Last I heard the farmers were stealing from each other, so they might end up shooting each other like the drug men do. I haven’t heard of farmers being shot at…where did you hear it? Anyway, I’m all in favour of the farmers getting licenses too…once they meet the criteria.

With regards to Sparman, are you saying that he has nothing to protect? Not even his own life? Afterall, it is obvious that he is not liked or welcomed by many.

11. Technician wrote “Why cant the farmers get their shotguns and rounds?”

Probably because their properties are “too small” or they are not well connected.

I bet Plantation owners don’t have a problem getting a gun license.

I still believe 2 well trained,well fed dogs are better than a gun.
    The criminal usually has his gun in his hand so you may not have time to pull yours.

12. @David | April 26, 2011 at 12:13 AM | @Zack
    You just don’t get do you?
    The purpose of the Blog is to highlight a situation where Dottin has been issuing permits to a favoured.
    ================
    That’s what you would like me and others to believe, but I see it as a blatent attack on Sparman character. As I said to you before, you voiced an opinion without knowing the criteria on which licenses are granted or refused. You passed a judgment on Sparman’s psychiatric evaluation as if you are in a position to evaluate such yourself. Then you went on to say that “Sparman given all of his woes is walking around Barbados with a 9mm is worrying to BU”.

13. BU does not have to attack Sparman’s character, a Google will suffice. You may have the last word,

14. Agree with you Hants, a gun a dangerous weapon which brings a lot of responsibility. Just handling it is a big deal.

15. David maybe Sparman got the license because he could save yuh afta he shoot yuh.
    Who better to shoot somebody than a docta?

16. Hants

You are a funny guy 🙂

17. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Dave, now if u wus a posh Englishman like me, you’d say “BY WHICH criteria etc…..”. I’ll teach u to b an Englishman yet, D! Yuh jealous nuh?!! LOL!!

18. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

RT, I agree with you about the wife-beaters! I’ve been acquainted with one or two of them in my time and they’re merely another name for *hit. What I find difficult to comprehend is why the girlfriends/wives, keep returning to them, given the circumstances. Seem to have some kind of primordial death-wish. You’re welcome to shine any light on this phenomenon, if you’d like to!

It’s unnatural NOT to spank a child. How else do you hope for it to learn right from wrong, also, tell me which animal doesn’t chastise it’s young if disobedient. I don’t say murder them with licks, but a proportionate amount of physical chastisement is sometimes, necessary!

Bonny, laws of whichever country, can be in need of revision and updating! Just a note to u, sweetie!!x

19. @David | April 26, 2011 at 12:55 AM | BU does not have to attack Sparman’s character, a Google will suffice. You may have the last word.
    ============
    So if your intention was to highlight that the COP is issuing gun licenses by favouritism, do you think you have done an effective job in that regard? Or have you done a much better job of defaming and blacklisting Sparman’s name even further? I’m of the opinion that even if everybody who have applied for licenses had succeeded in getting one, you would have the same reaction towards Sparman getting his. So I think you might as well admit that this blog was intended to be about Sparman moreso than anything else.

20. @ Zack…

Last I heard the farmers were stealing from each other, so they might end up shooting each other like the drug men do. I haven’t heard of farmers being shot at…where did you hear it?

You can check the police reports.
    I haven’t heard of the farmers stealing from each other either but I’ll take your word .

21. This is nothing but a poor attempt to denigrate Sparman. Farmers, people with criminal records, Bajans..by the way, the headline is in poor English too.
    What has this got to do with the high cost of living, integrity, freedom of information, a Prime Minister who had to be reminded to talk to his people, an irrevocably splintered government in waiting…?

22. @Technician

See link below re: theft among farmers
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/theft-among-farmers-of-concern/

Now where would I find the police reports? Would I be privileged to that info, or should I just take your word?

23. I am not sure if you would be privy to the reports as I have (for reasons I would not go into) but you can try.
    Don’t take my word for anything Zack.

24. Do you know any small farmers who had their crops stolen, personally?
    There would be a good place to start.

25. wow such baseness on what is an important issue wow. I gone

26. No bossman is not definitely Richard Green and if he feels tghreatened I will stop blogging on this issue but will not change my name. I dont know why I should there are many nick names and blog names and because he is uncomfortable I should change my name maybe he should change his. It is not an issue for me but can avoid the NUPW if it upsets him on this matter.

27. You are “backing back”, Technician!

28. @Technician
    I know big and small farmers who have had their crops stolen repeatedly, but never heard of them being shot at. Usually the stealing takes place during the night, or when the thieves know that the owners are not around.

29. Another point we may wish to consider is, was it really the COP who issued the gun license. Remember there is a deputy who granted permission to allow Vyz Cartel and Movado to perform here even after the COP said not in Barbados. This deputy does things behind the COP’s back and does not speak to the COP really.

I mentioned earlier that Sparman is a friend of the MOH and Old School asked me why I had to bring politics into this. I want to know if he lives in La La Land, politics play a role in everything in Barbados. I do believe that politics played a role in him getting this license. How else would you explain that a man with his record could get a gun license? Would it be possible to check the date of issue and see whether the COP was in office?

By the way, it was either Haynesly Benn or David Estwick who threw that inuendo out there that farmers were stealing from each other without giving any facts and people are believing it as truth!

By the way, what ever happened to the gun incident that took place in the House. See what happens when guns are placed in the wrong hands??

30. @Prodigal Son who wrote:
    By the way, what ever happened to the gun incident that took place in the House. See what happens when guns are placed in the wrong hands??
    =============
    How do you(or anyone) determine whose hands are right or wrong to place a gun in? Either you don’t issue any gun licenses to anybody at all, or you follow an established criteria that applies to everybody who applies.
    If Sparman (or anybody else) was issued a gun license through the backdoor, then somebody should be held accountable and punished.

31. Zack,
    Right now one could safely say that Estwick’s and Sparman’s hands are the wrong hands in which guns should be placed. Estwick has anger management problems and Sparman is known for domestic violence.

Hardly good candidates for guns and for once I agree with Derek Alleyne!

32. @all
    Read the below and then tell me if y’all still think that Sparman’s criminal record disqualifies him from holding a licensed firearm in Barbados.

Barbados. 1998. ‘Disqualification for Holding Firearm.’ Firearms Act 1998, Chapter 179; Section 4. Bridgetown: Government of Barbados. 1 November.

4. (1) A person who
    (a) has been convicted in Barbados or elsewhere of
    (i) an offence involving
    (A) the possession, use, sale or other disposal of a firearm; or
    (B) the possession or use of an imitation firearm; or
    (ii) an offence of burglary, or an offence involving violence against the person, where in either case the period of 5 years has not expired since the date of commission of the offence;
    (b) unless he is a registered member of a licensed shooting club, has not attained the age of 25 years;
    (c) has been certified, in accordance with the Mental Health Act, as being of unsound mind; or
    (d) is reasonably believed to be suffering from mental deficiency or habitual intoxication caused by drink or drugs that renders him unfit to be in possession of or to use a firearm
    shall not qualify to hold a licence under this Act.

(2) A licence granted under this Act
    (a) shall be valid for one year or such shorter period as is specified in the licence;

33. Here’s another extract from the Firearms Act 1998 (Barbados):

Where a past history, or apprehended likelihood of family violence exists, the law in Barbados does not stipulate that a gun licence should be denied or revoked.

Now those who have a problem with the Act should seek to get it changed rather than dragging Dr. Sparman’s name through the dirt just to be spiteful.

34. @all
    See why it is important to know the details and facts before you join a bandwagon to wash your mouth on people. If you want to know where I got the information pertaining to the firearms act 1998, I got it at the below link under “Gun Owner Licensing”. Just click on the tiny number links you will see.

http://www.gunpolicy.org/firearms/region/barbados

35. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Zack | April 26, 2011 at 12:31 PM |
    “Here’s another extract from the Firearms Act 1998 (Barbados)…Where a past history, or apprehended likelihood of family violence exists, the law in Barbados does not stipulate that a gun licence should be denied or revoked.”

Thanks Zack. Yes I have a problem with this section. I believe it needs to be revised. I think that most reasonable people will agree with me. I’ll raise the matter with my member of Parliament.

36. @Random Thoughts
    Well good luck in your quest to get it changed. It may mean that alot of politians and big-up people might have to give up their guns if you’re successful. One thing they may argue is that the use of guns in domestic violence cases is virtually unheard of in Barbados.

37. @Prodigal Son | April 26, 2011 at 12:08 PM | Zack,
    Right now one could safely say that Estwick’s and Sparman’s hands are the wrong hands in which guns should be placed. Estwick has anger management problems and Sparman is known for domestic violence.
    Hardly good candidates for guns and for once I agree with Derek Alleyne!
    ============
    That is only a matter of opinion…your opinion. Sparman’s conviction was since 1991, why do you still wish to hold it against him? Do you believe in condemning people for life once they make a mistake? Are you without mistakes in your life?

38. To the issue raised in the blog. On what basis was Sparman issued a gun license ahead of other Barbadians whose applications are in a drawer in Bridgetown gathering dust.

39. I see that Carson C. Cadogan let go he bouncer and take off. Carson stop peeping from behind the curtain!!

David this topic is intriguing. It seems that when it comes to the applications for gun licenses it is as plain as the nose on we face that the man only want to give out licenses first and foremost to people with big house, those that own businesses and the ones in high and mighty positions. There is a method to the COP madness.

He may end up like Cyrus the former traffic police but he may have an added touch just like Miss Mayme goat.

40. @David | April 26, 2011 at 2:00 PM | To the issue raised in the blog. On what basis was Sparman issued a gun license ahead of other Barbadians whose applications are in a drawer in Bridgetown gathering dust.
    ==========
    Oh please…stop the pretence. Your question has been answered as to how someone with Sparman’s background could procure a gun license. That was main bone of contention was you spoke of farmer being “declined” gun licenses.
    However, I will indulge you as you try to save a little face. Can you provide any hard proof to support your claim that Sparman applied after and got results before others? But let’s assume that you’re correct in this regard, would that be anything new and unusual to how things are done in Barbados? A mere storm in a teacup.

41. @David
    That should have read:

That was your main bone of contention when you spoke of farmers being “declined” gun licenses.

42. @Zack

Refer to Media Law Handbook, BU always protect our sources.

43. @BU.David: “Refer to Media Law Handbook

Might you provide a URL for easy reference?

44. @Zack
    “One thing they may argue is that the use of guns in domestic violence cases is virtually unheard of in Barbados.”
    As far as I know there is no proof as yet that Mr Bjerkhamm pulled the trigger to cause the domestic violence that killed his son.
    It strains common sense that an experienced gun dealer would ever clean a loaded gun, even less cause severe injury to himself whilst doing so, and also kill his son.
    Perhaps we should keep waiting for the eventual case to be tried for some facts to be ascertained, and then discuss the the rights and wrongs of his suitability for a licence.
    There may be more in the mortar than the pistol, but it may be a while before we can judge the verdict.

More in the mortar than the pestle methinks.

45. http://www.america.gov/media/pdf/books/media-law-handbook.pdf#popup

don’t know any strictly bajan ones but that is the us one.

46. Manasseh U King Avatar
    Manasseh U King

I agree with Zack why single out Dr. Sparman. If you had a concern about the non-issuance of licence there was no need to introduce Dr. Sparman into the discourse. However, we are all aware the intention might be to evoke emotional responses on the topic.

I felt your article could have been better served if you had determined whether class, race or social status was a determinant in obtaining a gun license. Then a gain, who am i to question your motive for naming Dr. Sparman ,as I would never know.

Based on what Zack has published he is entitled to a firearm as long as he satisfies the criteria for obtaining one. I would not question the judgement of the peson appoving such as long as the criteria were satisfied.

David, I think Zack has cornered you and you should agree.

47. @King

It seems you are having issues with comprehension skills?

Yes we have discussed the controversial Sparman but the issue remain why Sparman was issued a license ahead of others. In other words what urgent need did Sparman bring to the table. We are going with our source.

48. agree with manasseh. The law gives him a right to own and posess a hand gun or ammunition. The problem maybe if he got preferential treatment in obtaining his license ahead of others who have to wait for a substantial amount of time.

49. but then again does anyone knows from what length of time did Sparman apply for his license . I hope we are not Jumping the gun here!

50. @BU.David… There are times when one can “press the reset button”.

This appears to be one of those times.

Can we, then, now, discuss serious issues?

Here and Now?