Kammie Holder – Social Commentator

The aforementioned must be the bedrock of any modern democracy if we are to keep politicians and government officials are above corruption. Corruption is now recognized as one of the world’s greatest challenges. It is a major hindrance to sustainable development and is corrosive on the very fabric of society. Its disproportionate impact on poor communities is considerable, curbing economic growth, distorting competition, and representing serious legal risks. Technically, corruption covers an entire host of abuses, of which graft is one. Graft and corruption are charges that are typically levelled at highly-placed government officials, who are able to use public funds to improve their own fortunes due to increased access, influence, knowledge or power that comes with an elevated position. An official engaging in bribery, nepotism, embezzlement, extortion or graft is guilty of abuse of public trust at minimum, and may often be charged with a crime.

Graft
Graft is defined as a use of public stature to gain illegal benefit. For instance, a senator who sits on the armed services committee in the U.S. senate cannot use his knowledge of military contracts to buy stock in a defense contractor’s company. His position gives him unfair advantage over other investors. It is similar to the notion of insider trading in business.

History
The Pennsylvania capitol building in Harrisburg is a famous example of graft in action. The massive public structure was completed in 1906 at a cost of $12.5 million. This was a hefty increase over the $5 to 10 million estimate. The architect and chief contractor of the building were convicted of overcharging the state for several items, including an $850 bill for a flagpole that actually cost $150.

A more recent example is the trial of former Illinois governor Rod Blagojevich, who has been accused of soliciting cash from suitors in exchange for appointment to an empty senate seat that he controlled.

It can be difficult to tell the difference between graft and other types of corruption. In some cases, the differences are slight. For instance, the main difference between bribery and graft is the element of public finance.

A police officer who looks the other way because criminals pay him off or takes protection money is taking a bribe. A politician who approves a contract budget that includes $300 windows and $600 television seats is engaging in graft.

A recent case in China shows the difference between embezzlement and graft. Real estate developers in that country were charged with both. Graft because one defendant also served on a local government development board that had influence on the bid process, and embezzlement because another diverted company funds to purchase personal investments. Does this happen in Barbados?

What is the hindrance to either the DLP or BLP enacting the above laws. Here are the  Corruption index links:

1. Well some where 100 day promises. it been more than 1000 days now. Some may never get done at this rate.

2. I am not sure if it’s happening in Barbados but i am sure that Barbadians have every right to feel proud if we look at the latest transparency intonation’s statistics on corruption in the world. You guys came 17th in the world, much; much better than the so-called developed white and first class countries like the US, UK and France. The UK is 20th and you are 17th can you believe it?
    http://www.transparency.org/policy_research/surveys_indices/cpi/2010/results

3. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

I was thinking the same thing judging from the many situations in Barbados where it seems that the law only applies to the little man, but many so called whites are able to do as they please. Case and point The Almond Beach Resort situation with the sewerage waste. I am sure that again I’ll be called a racist and a trouble maker. Which at this point in time makes me no difference. Like my mother used to say, “What’s good for the goose is good for the gander;” Barbadians in power has been turning their heads for some, and others weren’t that lucky; Greed can create many problems for not just a few, but for a whole nation; Time to press issues and bring things to light, so we can move forward;

4. Ibo

No I can’t… The fact that we rank so highly speak more towards to paucity of rigour of the Transparency.org’s method than to any lack of corruption in our state.

5. It’s true that both OSA and MIA made a full declaration of assets to highlight the broken DLP promise on new anti- corruption laws.

I salute them for their forthright and full revelations.

Perhaps in their newly found transparency they could tell us who, during their watch, awarded the ill conceived Crab Hill Police Station contract.

Not everyone can be number one in the number two business, and no-one wants to be number two in the number one business.

You have to work long and hard to excel at taking the piss out of Bajans.

I think we should be told.

6. @Charles S.Cadogan,
    Everybody in Barbados has a friend. It is not only rich people who “does get a break sometimes”.

Barbados needs a west coast sewerage treatment plant.

Almond Beach need to hire competent professional to manage their sewerage problems.
    Seems their grease traps are poorly maintained.

7. Promises promises is all we get from politicians election after election, yet we the voting public sit back and accept the crap fed to us by these people. Collectively, we are the managers of these elected politicians, we hire and fire not just every five years or so but we can call them to account any given day. We don’t seem to understand how important we are, until we realise this politicians will continue to say things to sweeten us up with, then burn us in the bam bam.

8. I think the Dlp could at least set up the government so that it would be hard for the Blp to take up what they ent put down.

Before wanna get vote out.

9. @Ready done
    “I think the Dlp could at least set up the government so that it would be hard for the Blp to take up what they ent put down.”

You mean put it in Ready Mix cement? LOLLLLL

10. Kammie this takes place daily in Barbados. Like Hants said there is someone who knows some one or is cousin to someone. This is very difficult for a small island like Barbados. Anyone who deny this doesn’t happen living are in the clouds or pon cocaine. The amount of red tape that certain departments put you through in order to get something done also encourages persons to look for an easier way. Many people want to go by the rules but the hoops they have to jump through make it very difficult.

11. Islandgal that can’t dry fast enough!
    Babes you ent vex wid me no more? Lol Good.

Seriously

I think the constituency offices get set up to cut out the red tape in Barbados Government system, I ent too sure though. (Can someone explain their purpose)

The way I see it is that if you want something from Government the constituency office would provide an intermediary with faces you know and respect that will guide you as to your best choice.

I can’t talk for all Government only the Ministry of Agriculture and Small Business (Don’t forget the small business part, David know what he was doing) The services division to be exact, amidst all the people that acting like ya begging for a rebate there is Miss Proute, I love that woman she is so nice….

The GOB needs to empower good workers like miss proute and demote the others that abusing power.

12. Boy are the politicians quick to change the law or laws to accomodate what they perceive is the right thing to do . However in writing a law which the people can know the truth about the on goings in the political arena is going neva happen

13. @ac

There, you have noticed it!

14. Why cannot the politicians move with the same alacrity to have a Freedom of Information Act, Ministerial Code of Conduct and Integrity Legislation. When will the mockery stop! When will the bucket bottom drop it?

15. It seems government is trying their best to weaken the constitution of Barbados. First the BLP tinker with the laws to get David Simmons as C.J, now the DLP see it as their turn to go even further and modify the constitution altogether just for ONE MAN, I hope this man don’t disappoint the party.what happens if this new C.J make rulings that are reversed when challenged at the C C J, would we then pull out of that too? I think we are threading on dangerous grounds, if this guy is a messenger sent from God to clean up Barbados, I welcome him, but I’m sure the way of appointing him could have been done with a little more respect for our constitution and laws. Once a precedent has been set, laws can be changed willy-nilly to benefit the “big- boys’. There are sooo many laws that need to be changed in this country and successive governments have glossed over them, but they can change the ones that benefits their friends. After 44 yrs of Independence, we seem to be heading in the direction of some of our African brother countries.