Submitted by David Alleyne

Sanka Price, Nation Newspaper Editor

I have read the rubbish published in the Daily Nation by a journalist who boasts the same name, appropriately, as a certain brand of decaffeinated coffee. Appropriately, because it promotes the idea that one is drinking real coffee, but denies the buzz or bite or essence. So, let us take Mr Fake Coffee’s dissertation to pieces.

The thrust of Mr Fake Coffee’s rambling is that the blogs (or social media) are not held to the same high standards of journalistic integrity as he, he claims, is. So, “journalistic integrity” is Mr Fake Coffee’s new buzz word for sloth and failure to report anything and for hiding behind his other favourite buzz phrase, “sub judice”, even when the matter is NOT sub judice, but “fair comment”?

THERE ARE TWO things that I have learnt from my job as a journalist – one is that the truth is not as simple and straightforward as it is sometimes presented to be, and secondly, that you don’t know who is connected to whom, so you’re never quite sure that what you’re being told is the truth.

He fails to add that, in Barbados at any rate, any sort of investigative journalism is the province of the blogs and must never be permitted to tarnish the face of the “fourth estate”.

Because of this, something that sounds plausible – especially if it involves a conspiracy theory and certain high-profile individuals – could turn out to be a total untruth.

True to form and to local “journalistic” practice, Mr Fake Coffee has taken 82 words to say absolutely nothing.

That’s why as journalists we like to get hold of documents to back up whatever information we hear. That evidence not only helps us to separate fact from fiction but ensures that we can prove what we have stated if we’re called on do so in a court of law.

So, let me get this right. BU posts masses of documents about a trumped up case in Canada that cost Barbados and certain high-profile Bajans millions of dollars to defend and which called the integrity of the sovereignty of Barbados into question, seeking to make it a vassal of some Ontario court and Mr Fake Coffee publishes NOTHING in his Valhalla of journalism.

Mr Fake Coffee continues:

But even with those documents we still seek comment from the party(ies) involved to ensure that what we publish is fair comment and balanced.

The use of the word “party(ies)” is interesting. Presumably Mr Fake Coffee has heard of a case where there is only one side and therefore he is suggesting this. Or maybe it is far more ominous and that Mr Fake Coffee only ever listens to the side on which his agenda and that of his employers lies. Journalistic impartiality at its best.

There then follows the usual nonsense about the irresponsibility of the blogs, in order to distract attention from the almost treasonous irresponsibility of Mr Fake Coffee and his colleagues for reporting NOTHING.

Mr Fake Coffee then comes to the real crux of his matter. Although he doesn’t say so, he and his “outlet” that publishes his rubbish are totally pissed off because the blogs, specifically BU, raised the Ishmael/Sparman issue and allowed the public, untrammelled by party-political-journalistic propaganda, to discuss the issue, inform themselves and receive expert opinions from people like Doc GP who are intimate with and have worked within the system. The blogs published Dr Ishmael’s letter and with it allowed Bajans of all walks of life to verify its claims via official sites, the source and provenance of which is undisputed. No wonder Mr Fake Coffee is so pissed off. It goes against the very tenant of Bajan journalism, which is, “Thou shalt keep the public in ignorance.”

Mr Fake Coffee then provides his own expert legal opinion on the tort of defamation. He states:

Some of you may argue that Barbados’ defamation laws are archaic……

Well, our former CJ, David Simmons, in about 1994 when he was Attorney General, changed the libel laws of this country; but then again maybe Mr Fake Coffee is saying that Simmons himself was archaic, resulting in archaic new laws.

He labours on, without benefit of caffeine, thus:

……and the media should have licence to expose more things even though they may not have all the documental evidence to support claims. But as I indicated earlier, the truth in an issue is not always as straightforward as presented.

What the hell is “documental”? Is this a caffeine-free coffee-ism for “documentary” or “documented”? Only the caffeine-free can answer that one. But, don’t. None of us care.

He then makes a stab at an exercise that he is really not at all practiced in. That of journalistic impartiality. Forget the window dressing and let us go directly to this sorry attempt:

The doctor is now seeking an apology from the board for how they handled this matter and is going to court to get it.

followed by

If what Ishmael wrote defamed Sparman and Inniss as the last two claim, then these gentlemen have a right to defend their good name.

No shit, Sherlock! And what about the deeper issues? Alleged fraud, threats to the health of the people of Barbados, a cabinet minister who is alleged to have interfered to remove a patient covered by insurance from a public hospital and into private care from a recognised professional into the hands of one whom it is alleged has falsified his qualifications, all in defiance of the express wishes of the patient’s wife?

And after saying, “these gentlemen have a right to defend their good name,” referring to Sparman and Inniss, he clearly thinks that they are indivisible with only ONE name to defend. Interesting. VERY!!

The best part of Mr Fake Coffee’s entire essay is:

We may never learn the real facts on why this matter was handled in the way it was.

He is guilty of omission here and I propose that he tell the Bajan public the truth by putting in the words he clearly edited out, so that the sentence reads:

We may never learn the real facts on why this matter was handled in the way it was, if you rely on the Nation or on my reportage, but you will be able to learn the real facts if you read them on the blogs.

39 responses to “Sanka, The Decaffeinated Variety”

1. Hats off, Mr Alleyne. As Bonny would say, “Murdaahhh!”

GP, old buddy, up to you to deliver the coup de grace to poor Sanka – use a scalpel and make it as painful as possible.

2. Perhaps Mr. Sanka can respond to the concern expressed by Barbados Association of Journalists Emannel Joseph when he opined that advertisers in local media continue to grip them by the curlies.

3. Wow, that is a five over spell of fiery deliveries from Malcom Marshall!!!

Subject of article musse call for helmet after first two balls. Only problem is, while it is a five over spell, not sure the batsman would have even lasted four balls.

Stumps splayed and the middle stump gone past the keeper.

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Sanka Price “The public needs to understand that those anonymous individuals who operate Internet websites …do not subscribe to these rigorous, internationally accepted standards…As it is not known who is operating these sites, and therefore near impossible to prosecute anyone for breaking this country’s defamation laws”

Tell the truth now David the blogger. If you had to put your real, real name, and your real, real address, and your real, real phone numbers and your real, real email addresses on Barbados Underground’s masthead, would there be a Barbados Underground?

Tek ya time David the blogger and study ya head good before ya answer.

And your contributors can each answer the same questions for themselves.

5. @ Random Thoughts __We may see the position of the main stream media as untenable all we want . At the end of the day the following question becomes pertinent . What has been done , or what steps have been taken by those in that same institution to rectitfy, or seek redress for whatever has short-circuited its ability to function in its role of news dissemination ? For as long as I can remember the sole television station has adopted the resemblance and mannerisms of the Government Of The Day . Dare to defy and ply your journalistic trade elsewhere . Lest we forget we can control our own destiny . Let us not forget when a magistrate dared to sight for” contempt of court” a lawyer one evening and got the shock of his life the next morning , when his courtroom was flooded with lawyers of every persuasion . Reversal was the name of the game . You see Random Thoughts , Upon the bonds of brotherhood , the ties of fellowship , THE STRENGTH OF UNITY IS BORNED . Loyalty to party as opposed to love for profession continues to dissuade your guys from seeking to control their own destiny . Since you said that contributors such as myself always use pseudonyms ,let me on the behalf of my favourite group sign out this way ——–Blowhards And Jokers . ________________________________

6. I hesitate to make a comment here, the last time I added my thoughts on a media/journalist related post, I was told to “shut up and get on with the job”. Supposedly, by pointing out weaknesses in a submission, I could only be a journalist!!! Murdah!! So rather than leave a comment and run the risk of that confusion today, I will do this: Messrs. David(s), kindly send me your mailing address(es) so I can send you both copies of a little book I find particularly useful – it is called “A Miniature Guide to Critical Thinking”. I think it might be enjoyable reading for you if you dare lift your head from the writings of Mr. Fake Coffee. But only if you dare!

7. Let me just add that not all members of Barbados Association of Journalists are guilty . Just de big wigs who were around for a long time .

8. @Godfrey

On behalf of the other David thanks for being so kind. You maybe aware that with advances in technology the name of the title is all that is required, no need to bother Mr. Postman!

9. @HAMILTON HILL | January 13, 2011 at 12:33 AM | “Let me just add that not all members of Barbados Association of Journalists are guilty . Just de big wigs who were around for a long time .”

For some reason, I have no problem with this comment and am sure it is true. It seems to me that young men and women choose a career in journalism in Barbados, because they want to make a difference and to keep the public informed, as they do in the FREE press of other countries, most notably the UK. However, they soon learn that, if they wish to practice their profession, they must adopt the agendas, prejudices and attitudes of those who are in charge. Thus has TRUE journalism been lost to us in Barbados.

In its place, we have “journalists” whose opinions can be purchased, either by dint of a pay cheque or other inducement. Because you see, no matter where they go, their opinions, research and facts will be edited or supressed in the name of “sub judice”, a phrase that I am becoming increasingly aware that they have not the slightest clue what it means. But just to cover up, Sanka has thrown in the phrase “fair comment” which, in my view, he has not the slightest conception of.

Given the circumstances where every single organ of the “fourth estate” is supressed in Barbados (as in China), how can anyone sustain the suggestion that David (BU) and the family ought to reveal their names.

BU is fighting a valiant battle to bring before the people issues that a shackled press either will not, or dare not. BU is fighting for journalistic freedom in order to inform the people. And such fights always have to be conducted under anonymity.

In the last year and a half, the London Telegraph revealed a scandal involving MPs expenses. They revealed it with every block imaginable placed to prevent their discovery. They named names and facts. This led to prosecutions in which one former MP who pled guilty had his sentence reduced to 18 months. Last week (and I am following this story thanks to BU) a SITTING MP was found guilty in Court and now awaits sentence – and there are a few more, one of them a member of the House of Lords.

This is what a free press is supposed to do.

Now, a question. CAN YOU SEE A STORY LIKE THAT SEEING THE LIGHT OF DAY IN BARBADOS?

Until circumstances are such that you can, WE HAVE NO FREE PRESS. It is muzzled and toothless.

And Sanka (and his employers) needs a good dose of caffein, a few lessons in basic English grammar and a boot up his sorry ass.

10. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Hammie Hiill “Loyalty to party as opposed to love for profession continues to dissuade your guys from seeking to control their own destiny .”

I am neither a member of the media nor of a poitical party.

I can’t imagine why you think otherwise.

11. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear Amused:

Since you are an attorney it may be useful if you would offer your services to the journalistic commnuty of Barbados to see if attorneys and journalists working together can get the laws changed in such as way as to give the press (and people of Barbados) a greater freedoom of expression. And since this is for the greater public good I expect thatyou and other members of the Barbados Bar Association might do this pro bono.

This is a serious suggestion.

12. Great article, the mainstream media is complicit in the decay in governance in Barbados. Understandably, commercial interest takes precedent over honest reporting. Selective reporting of news that does not offended the boys in the club just to maintain social invite is the order of the day. I prefer to write my poorly written thought provoking shite as some would say on Facebook and the blogs. Character assassination is not my aim only truth over deceit!

13. @Random Thoughts | January 13, 2011 at 7:11 AM |. YOU assume that I am counsel and I make no comment – anonymity – and I maintain that I am simply a person who has experience and who reads everything. However, in the event that you were correct, I would have no problem with what you suggest. There are some members of the Inner Bar who would welcome your suggestion. HOWEVER!!!!!

The press has to invite such members of the legal fraternity to involve themselves, and I personally believe that it will be a cold day in hell before that happens. For a number of reasons.

I have not seen the terms of insurance policies against legal actions to which the press is subjected. However, like all insurance policies, I think you will find that there are a number of get-out clauses to the benefit of those insurance companies that the press is nervous about transgressing. BUT, this ought not to be allowed by the press to prevent them carrying out their function. It is NO EXCUSE!

Next, any article submitted that is in any way divisive or questionable as to defamation, would, I think, be submitted to counsel for an opinion. Counsel will charge for this opinion and the price will not be small. This adds an additional expense for the publisher. But, I maintain that this is an operating expense that it is the duty of publishers to sustain….it goes with the territory.

Then, you get the lawyers themselves. While I impute no wrong-doing to these in any way, I suggest to you that these lawyers (present and past) have numbered among their ranks people like Henry Forde, David Simmons and Ezra Alleyene, none of whom are un-conflicted in the political sense. I re-state, out of an abundance of caution, that this is an observation, not in any way an accusation.

It isn’t necessarily easy for journalists of the “fourth estate”. So, to that limited extent only, I agree with Sanka. However, where Sanka completely loses me is when he tries to (a) not make any effort at all; (b) writes a petulant, spoiled-brat article, because one of his readers takes him to task for doing nothing at all; and (c) dumps on the social media that IS doing something.

Any RESPONSIBLE journalist in other countries, would either write giving a barely-discernable nod of appreciation to the social media, OR, in Sanka’s case, NOT WRITE AT ALL!

What burns me most of all is the fact that Sanka has clearly written his article in order to curry political favour; that it takes so bloody long him to say nothing; and that the son of a bitch was paid for that rubbish. It is almost as if the idiot is saying, “Behold me, the great journalist whose command of English grammar is substandard. Bow low as I visit upon you the pearls of my great wisdom and intellect.” And here are the rest of us humble and less-ego-driven Bajans asking ourselves, “What wisdom? What intellect?”

But there was a time when a lot of people would have read it just the same and, sadly, some would have believed it, because it was only the source of news.

But today, we have responsible blogs like BU and the Nation and Sanka are doing their best to fight an impossible battle, which is to pursuade Bajans that, because of the blogs, they are relevant and are not yesterday’s news.

By the way, there is nothing wrong with the defamation laws and the international accords to which Barbados is a signatory. The problem lies in the application of those laws, due to many factors, most notably expensive nuissance actions by those who would supress the truth and by substandard or venal lawyers who either do not really understand defamation, or don’t care, or who have an agenda.

14. Self-righteousness as usual blaaaah!!

15. Good article David, it goes straight to the jugular of the “sanka” coffee, and we know for sure now that they read BU.

@ Sanka
    There are many things that are concealed in this nation because of who one knows, and hence these things never see the light of day. On BU one never has to write a letter and send to a newspaper and then some idiot that don’t know the English language edit it, or chop it up because it saying some things about an individual that they know or against party that they favour.

We can make our feelings known on any issue on this Blog, and if our information is incorrect, some member of the BU family will inform us, or David himself will state that the information is wrong. The good thing is anybody is allowed to participate. Yes there will always be persons who seek to defame others, you don’t need a medium for that, that is done every day outside of the media.

The issues that are important to us as a people are discussed on these sites where our voices are heard and not stemmed by the powers that be and by legal instruments.

1)For all your journalist prowess, you and not one of your colleagues have touch the case of Bjerkham having shot his son and now walking bout hey a free man.

2)Up to now, you and your colleagues have not uncovered the distasteful ugliness and commercial extortion concerning Clico, and you say you are a journalist, you mean you does write nursery rhymes stories.

People in this nation want the white collar corruption, political corruption, price gouging, the bribes between politicians and businessmen uncovered. What about all these men that come to this island and invest and then leave having committed some kind of crime. All of these are issues that you ‘journalists’ overlook either because you don’t have the guts to look into them or you benefit otherwise.

A few years ago we had a investigative journalist who was beginning to show some testicular fortitude, and low and behold somebody castrate he, and we ain’t see the likes of he since, and now he on radio as part of the status quo… anybody know who I mean…. he is now part of management if yu please, having given up his ………gonads. Bonny peppa cud say it spicier than me. Bon………….ny !

We were proud of him since he was a successful Ellerslie School boy, but alas the desire to be part of the “club” and be ‘recognized’ could not be resisted.

You say and I quote “that truth in an issue is not always as straightforward as presented”. What utter and complete philosophical rubbish. TRUTH IS TRUTH, IT DOES NOT NEED TO BE INTERPRETED, IT STANDS ALONE.
    IT EITHER IS TRUTH OR IT IS NOT.

That is why there is a need for such a site as this because it is the truth that the public is seeks not information that is ‘doctored’ by nursery rhyme writers.

For all that we may say about America, at least we see journalists who are prepared to go after a story irrespective of who the individual is whether congressman, senator or president.

So to you, it is not the accreditation that makes you a journalist it the grit to go after a story.

Wheel and come again.

16. @Fran… Very well said!

I would argue the serious Blogs like BU are very much like the Scientific Method — are possibilities are explored, and those that are wrong are disproved.

We are an intelligent people. We can make our own decisions. We don’t need “gatekeepers” deciding what we should know, think about or discuss.

17. s/are possibilities/all possibilities/

18. A bit off-topic, but this is probably the best place to post my note.

A few minutes ago, VOB Moderator, Tony Marshall ignominiously succeeded in bulldozing and rough-housing a lady-caller to such an extent, that she finally succumbed to his view, that she failed to access Down to Brass Tacks, in order to offer support to Ms. Marilyn-Rice Bowen over her allegedly recent bad treatment.

With his biased DLP political blinkers on, Marshall failed to recognise her cardinal point, that the numerous, so-called, vocal female commentators in this country, were massively SILENT on the ocasion of Rice-Bowen’s unsavoury denouement …… but on the other hand, appeared to have orchestrated and spurred on their minions to literally stampede VOB”s airwaves to worship and kneel at the feet of the new “Queen” over her “upgrade.”

The expansion of the caller’s cardinal point, suggests that the home-grown and very capable Rice-Bowen, would have been a far more suitable DLP candidate in St.John, as indeed would have been the accomplished Senator Maxine McClean.

But cheap political expediency, and a determination to bamboozle the people by playing on the emotions of sympathy, so as to keep the DEAD King and his DYNASTY before THE NATIONAL CONSCIENCE, won out in the end.

Great going and thanks Mr. “un-biased” Mr. “impartial”, Mr. “fair” moderator for not allowing the lady to establish her point.

As Dr. Estwick recently stated, “TIME LONGER THAN ROPE”

19. Oh dear … that man Tony Marshall again!
    There you go bull-dozing and rough-housing people over their views. A caller just suggested that Mr.Sandiford lost the Government because of a revolt in Sandiford’s Cabinet.

Marshall insisted that the caller was wrong, and cowed the gentleman into submission.

In that no-confidence vote against Mr. Sandiford, the motion would NOT have succeeded if there was not support from MEMBERS OF MR. SANDIFORD’S CABINET!

20. Hey Truthman Burton , does he not remind you of Loud Mout Lammy ? Only thing is Tony is not nearly as obnoxious and Gutterperk was not nearly as balanced.

21. Let us take the letter written by Dr Ishmael to the DMS as an example. As far as we know this matter is not sub judice, why not publish the letter and redact the contentious parts?

22. @David. Because decaffeinated coffee does not assist the brain cells nor does it give you the energy to switch on your damned computer and simply Google the charges made by Dr Ishmael and see if you find anything on US State and Federal websites – or, Heaven forbid, does a lack of caffein provide the vast amount of energy to pick up a telephone, make a few overseas calls (because possibly it might cut into your profits) and check out people’s credentials. That is called “investigative journalism” at its most BASIC and it is an alien concept to Barbados’ Fourth Estate.

Instead, it is far easier to get out of bed of an afternoon, scratch your belongings and fat backside, go to the paper, take a call from someone who is clearly not satisified with your performance, throw a hizzy fit and pen an article that a 10 year old would be shamed of, whereby you seek to blame your shortcomings in terms of journalism in the wide world outside, on “sub judice” and to indict the blogs simply for doing your job for yo. And then to add insult to injury, you get paid for this and expect the general public to buy the paper in order to read your infantile drivel and hold you up to be credible and a king-maker in waiting.

Lack of caffein is a terrible thing.

23. @ Fran

Well done. I could not have said it better.

I wonder where this Dr. Sparman got this so-called good name that Sanka “de-caffeinated” is talking about? Is the same Sparman not a liar, fraud and convicted felon? What good name what? Methinks this Sanka should cut the bovine excrement or I will nickname him ‘black angus’. Forget that, the black angus cattle give good beef. I will refer to him as a zebu.

24. The basis of defamation is that everyone is presumed to have a good reputation until the contrary is proven. There is no question here of fair comment so the ball is in Ishmael’s court.

25. What about the confrontation which we have been covering on BU between the Guyana Bauxite Workers Union and the Russian bauxite company? It is not problem getting news from T&T but we know why, it is where the parent company is based. When the immigration matter was raging it was no problem to regurgitate the anti.Barbados crap being spouted by the Guyana media.

The biggest question mark is why does the local media including the Nation continue to keep Bajans in the dark about the Nelson Group matter? All the documents which the decaffeinated one would have us believe is a perquisite to any good story, by a serious media house, are there for the looking. Let the record show it continues to be one of the most searched for BU blogs.

26. @HAMILTON HILL | January 13, 2011 at 4:28 PM | Hey Truthman Burton , does he not remind you of Loud Mout Lammy ? Only thing is Tony is not nearly as obnoxious and Gutterperk was not nearly as balanced.
    Hamilton, it’s a pity you could not speak well of your friend and political colleague Tony Marshall, without paying him such a smart-mouthed, back-handed compliment!

The big difference between Marshall and Lammy is that there was nothing clandestine and deceptive about Lammy. We knew who he was, and you got what you saw!

Not so with Phony Marshall. The job description of this sureptitious George Street jackstraw is to block, redirect, offset and confuse callers who express ANY view that might appear to support the Opposition BLP, or that diverges from a DLP point of view. His reward so far is the chairmanship of NIS. I wonder what other nice cuts of the FATTED CALF are coming his way for the “wonderful” job he is doing!

27. @jack spratt | January 13, 2011 at 6:37 PM | .

“Defamation, also called calumny, vilification, slander and libel, is the communication of a statement that makes a claim, expressly stated or implied to be factual, that may give an individual, business, product, group, government, or nation a negative image. It is usually a requirement that this claim be false and that the publication is communicated to someone other than the person defamed. Related to defamation is public disclosure of private facts, which arises where one person reveals information that is not of public concern, and the release of which would offend a reasonable person.” With thanks to Wikipedia.

So, Jack Spratt, what you are saying is that the matter is not of public concern. I would like to know exactly what tree you were just shaken out of.

28. @ Truthman Burton , ya got ma dey . we will give him a hotel . Guests will pay as they sometimes paid the other tony ( your tony) HOYOS .

29. @HH. I think you have the wrong Hoyos and are referring to Tony Hoyos brother, Patrick.

30. Truthman Burton Avatar

@ Hamilton Hill.
    Wait ……. Hamilton, if you are not Hartley Henry, could you possibly be Hammie La? cause yuh know, Tony Hoyos has an interest in your constituency, and you don’t like that!

I must confess I don’t know what you are talking about with regard to the hotel talk; maybe you could explain.

But today on VOB, I heard both DAVID ELLIS and STETSON BABB express GRAVE CONCERN and SHOCK at finding out that quite a number of VOB call-in programme moderators, ended up as DLP SUPPORTERS.

The thing is that David Ellis contended very strongly, that in assessing their prospective moderators, it was not VOB’s policy to enquire about their political persuasions. So omagine their great surprise when MATHEW FARLEY ended up as a very interested prospective candidate for the St.John constituency on behalf of the DLP.

Same surprise in relation to Parliamentary Secretary Husbands fresh off of VOB call-in programme, and all the others including MAXINE MCCLEAN!

These people deceive VOB BIG TIME! They were operating UNDERCOVER! HOW COME THEY HAVEN’T ROOTED OUT PHONY MARSHALL YET?

31. Two questions for Sanka:

Why is it your paper is reporting that the Ishmael/Inniss/Sparman matter is a court matter, yet CBC is reporting the matter continues to be under discussion between the parties?
    Why is it your paper and other in the media continue to refer to Victor Roach as Pastor Victor Roach? What Church does he pastor since being defrocked by the Adventist Church sometime ago?
    BU appreciates that you require documentation to support the truth before you go to print!

32. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear David of BU

Do you have any evidence that Victor Roach was defrocked?

33. Yes I ment Pat . Truthman it is my suggestion to you that if moderators were having such an influence or were able to alter public opinion , their persuasion would have been known a long time ago. Permit me to take you on a journey down memory lane . The government of the day was involved in negotiations with at that time, what were the two major trade unions in barbados. Despite all the concessions made by the government , only one group accepted . Come nomination day that election year we found out why. The chief negotiator for the disgruntled group , a man named O’BRIEN TROTMAN appeared as a candidate for one of the political parties . Truthman will you please take a guess as to which one he represented , and then tell me if crying over a moderator is not trying to make a mountain out of a mole hill. Still want to talk about having influence on public opinion ?

34. Let me reverse a bit and make a correction . I just received a call from a friend telling me that I was on the right track . Right name ,wrong buisness . Truthman it is a restaurant I want to give my tony , to match yours . Again guests will pay the same way some paid there.

35. WTF is Bonny Peppa

36. @David. Good questions. I cast my eye over the list of any legal proceedings that might have been filed in the Ishmael/Sparman/Inniss matter, and I cannot locate any, but this is not to say that they do not exist, merely that I cannot find them. I suspect that a lot of letters have been going to and fro containing threats and suggested negotiations and the like. It seems to me that the only person who has no problem going to court on this is Dr Ishmael. Any actions brought will involve a process known as “discovery” which will, in this instance, include all documentation and computer records of documentation, telephone records – the lot – from all the parties, including the Minister (and Ministry) of Health. If the documents confirm Dr Ishmael’s position, bare shite gone let go roun hey. I personally suspect that Dr Ishmael did not make his accusations without already having them grounded.

Bottom line. I think you will find that these threats from Sparman and Donville and Dolores and the rest of the sorry crew are mere sabre rattling so they can go and say, with feigned indignation, that they are going to sue Ishmael but that he apologised PRIVATELY and so they have no need to sue him on the basis that they all agreed it was not good for the country and the health service – OR SOME SUCH SHITE. The truth is that they dare not sue Ishmael – and they know it.

But the question still remains as to whether Ishmael will sue them or not. And the answer to that will rest, I suspect, on how much humble pie they are prepared to eat.

As for the “Pastor”, cannot help you there. He would not ever be allowed to cross my orbit. I am religeous, but have absolutely no time and zero tolerance for organised religeon and its organisers

37. @Truthman Burton since I no longer listen to nor call those programmes ( lack of continuity due to edit.) with reluctance I question this as you put it ,GRAVE CONCERN of David and Stetson about the persuasion of their moderators . Might there have been an observation made with a little more than passing interest ? I do not know . My question is where in Barbados , especially in the setting of a newsroom , that water-fountain discussion between breaks is so restricted that one knows so little about the other ? Did you ever get that vibe about what Mathew’s feelings were ? I did not . I will say though that in January of 2009, in speaking with Tony Marshall on the programme , I thought that he felt my pain . Problem was most of Barbados did . So perhaps their ignorance is real . I still contend that a moderator has little if any influence on public opinion .

38. Some may question the ignorance of the management of media houses in Barbados at the fact some have used the airwaves to garner political popularity and appointment. Commonsense is a wonderful thing.

BU predicts the next moderator appointed on Starcom talk shows will be Douglas Skeete. It will be Starcoms’ way of correcting the obvious imbalance.

39. “I still contend that a moderator has little if any influence on public opinion .”

Not only moderators, but journalists and pollsters too!!!!!