Submitted by Terence Blackett

http://quietplace4prayer

โ€œAnd there appeared in Heaven a great wonder; a woman clothed with the sun, and the moon under her feet, and upon her head a crown of [12] stars: And she being with child cried, travailing in birth, and pained to be delivered. And there appeared another wonder in heaven; and behold a great red dragon, having [7] heads and [10] horns, and [7] crowns upon his heads. And his tail drew a third part of the stars of heaven, and did cast them to the earth: and the dragon stood before the woman which was ready to be delivered, for to devour her child as soon as it was born. And she brought forth a man child, who was to rule all nations with a rod of iron: and her child was caught up unto God, and to His throne. And the woman fled into the wilderness, where she had a place prepared of God, that they should feed her there a thousand two hundred and three score days.โ€ –ย  (Revelation 12:1-6KJV)

No book ever written holds such beautiful allegorical and symbolic language, meaning and truth as does THE BIBLE! Type meets antitype; prophets validate Apostles; line is given over to precept; seals are followed by trumpets; vials portend approaching destruction and what was in the Beginning emerges in the End.

The sole purpose of The Bible is to reveal the person of Jesus The Christ. He was in the Beginning and He is definitely going to be there at the End. We can disagree over the how, why, when, where and all the other age-old questions โ€“ one thing is SURE*, Jesus is either who He is or we can disregard Him at our own peril.

It is accepted consensus that any discourse on the birth of Jesus can run folks into a meaningless argumentative quest which is often drenched in the dew of historical debate, conjecture and polarization. What has been established is that He was born, lived for [33] and a half years, died, rose again and is carrying on His priestly work in Heaven on behalf of mankind.

However, the tragedy of the birth of Jesus according the prophecy cited at the beginning remains frothed with reminders that few take time to examine. Sadly, space does not allow us to exegete those symbols of the prophecy โ€“ but will see how a different slant on the idea of Christmas (the time celebrated as the birth of Jesus) is mired false ideology, misinformation and religious idolatry.

For one, they were few at the genesis of Jesusโ€™ birth who had been diligently looking for His arrival based on the prophecies of Moses and Isaiah or that actually knew that He had entered the world. The story tells us of lowly shepherds who had heard (from a chorus of angels) while watching their flocks by night. What is equally remarkable is that [3] pagan Persian star-gazers (magi from the East โ€“ wise men) who were students of the writing of the prophets (made known through Daniel the PM of Babylon) were able with almost pin-point accuracy to determine the time and place of this Great Kingโ€™s birth, the One who was to be the Deliverer of all mankind.

But the story (though beautiful in its symmetry) holds a sinister historical dialectic which is difficult to ignore as people get caught up in the mad scramble to buy trees, presents, food & beverage.

As was cited in the Scripture from Revelation 12 โ€“ the dragon wanted to devour this Child right at its inception. As John the revelator is looking back through the prophetic historical lens of time โ€“ though incarcerated on the Isle of Patmos [40] odds years in the future after the ascension of Christ to heaven is given this prophecy which holds powerful truths which even the religious world glosses over due in part to ignorance or sheer wilful blind-sidedness.

When Jesus was born in Bethlehem in the province of Judah, King Herodโ€™s seat of power was suddenly threatened as these wise men came in search of this new monarch, asking – โ€œWhere is He born King of the Jews?โ€ This infuriated Herod. History paints a malversational picture of this beast of a man – paranoid and plagued by possible insurrection from within his own household. Herodโ€™s rule reveals a catalogue of state-sponsored and personal terror attacks inflicted on countless members of his own immediate and extended family. Herod had his favourite wife, Mariamne, publicly murdered, as well as her mother, Alexandra. He murdered Hyrcanus, Mariamneโ€™s grandfather who was responsible for saving his life and he eventually had his own sons, (Alexander, Aristobulus, and Antipater) executed to clear the way for complete self-rule. This was the result of the monarchical oligopoly of state power in hands of the elite. The divine rights of kings!

The news of Jesusโ€™ birth resulted in a state decree for all babies up to 2 years to be murdered in a systematic campaign of extermination against Herodian rule. What is mind-boggling according to historical sources is that possibly 2,000 to 14,000 babies were viciously murdered and nothing was done about it. Clearly, nothing is new under the sun given that in our day, infanticide is given legitimacy through the rule of law which says that a womanโ€™s right to abortion is a fundamental human right and must be protected. So every year around the world, 46 million babies are slaughtered based on state decree and laws. Even baby Jesus was not exempt from the tyranny of political assassination policy.

Herod in a blind, narcissistic fury saw these powerful wise men bearing gifts fit only for a king. These men were bearing gifts which had spiritual symbolism to the life of the Redeemer King. It was not a birthday celebration as some would have us believe. Origen, an early Catholic writer, admitted that โ€œIn the Scriptures, no one is recorded to have kept a feast or held a great banquet on his birthday. It is only sinners (like Pharaoh and Herod) who make great rejoicings over the day in which they were born into this worldโ€ – hence the origins of Christmas are masked in folklore, myths, superstition, mysticism and pagan ideology.

Celebrating Christmas is so far removed from true Christianity that many refuse to admit or even choose to break with this pagan tradition. On the religious right are those who argue that we have taken Christ out of Xโ€™mas. The question is: โ€œWas He ever in it?โ€ On the left of the debate, are those who believe in the secularization of the holiday season and see it as a time for feasting, revelry and merriment with some hoping to outlaw any religious connotations. Whatever our position is โ€“ one thing is clear, to practice a tradition without having true knowledge of it is no different to sheep being willingly led to slaughter.

Some of us accept that the epistemological roots of Christmas is to be found in Roman Catholic theology and by 529 A.D., after Constantine had made Christianity the official state religion of the Roman Empire โ€“ his successor Emperor Justinian subsequently made Christmas a civic holiday. The celebration of Christmas reached its peak – some would argue its worst moments – in the medieval period when it became โ€œa time for conspicuous consumption and unequalled revelry.โ€

In the Roman Catholic Encyclopedia, 1911 edition, under the heading of โ€œChristmasโ€ says that: โ€œChristmas was not among the earliest festivals of the Churchโ€ฆthe first evidence of the feast is from Egypt… Pagan customs centering around the January calends gravitated to Christmas.โ€

The prophet Jeremiah warns in chapter 10 โ€“ that โ€œIdolatry Brings Destructionโ€. The prophet warns โ€“ “Do not act like the other nations, who try to read their future in the stars. Do not be afraid of their predictions, even though other nations are terrified by them. Their ways are futile and foolish. They cut down a tree, and a craftsman carves an idol. They decorate it with gold and silver and then fasten it securely with hammer and nails so it won’t fall over. Their gods are like helpless scarecrows in a cucumber field! They cannot speak, and they need to be carried because they cannot walk. Do not be afraid of such gods, for they can neither harm you nor do you any good.” LORD, there is no one like you! For you are great, and your name is full of power. Who would not fear you, O King of nations? That title belongs to you alone! Among all the wise people of the earth and in all the kingdoms of the world, there is no one like you. People who worship idols are stupid and foolish. The things they worship are made of wood! They bring beaten sheets of silver from Tarshish and gold from Uphaz, and they give these materials to skilful craftsmen who make their idols. Then they dress these gods in royal blue and purple robes made by expert tailors. But the LORD is the only true God. He is the living God and the everlasting King! The whole earth trembles at his anger. The nations cannot stand up to his wrath. Say this to those who worship other gods: “Your so-called gods, who did not make the heavens and earth, will vanish from the earth and from under the heavens.”* But God made the earth by his power, and he preserves it by his wisdom. With his own understanding he stretched out the heavens. When he speaks in the thunder, the heavens roar with rain. He causes the clouds to rise over the earth. He sends the lightning with the rain and releases the wind from his storehouses. The whole human race is foolish and has no knowledge! The craftsmen are disgraced by the idols they make, for their carefully shaped works are a fraud. These idols have no breath or power. Idols are worthless; they are ridiculous lies! On the day of reckoning they will all be destroyed.โ€ (1 – 15 NLT)

In conclusion, for those looking for a message in Christmas โ€“ โ€œthereโ€™s NONE!โ€ On the day of reckoning, none of these emblems will have any meaning. What is at stake is NOT* whether Jesus was born and is worthy of a birthday celebration (for He never celebrated anything but the Fatherโ€™s Love). What is crucial is how Jesus lived! The price He had to pay for being anti-RELIGIOUS, anti-POLITIQUE, anti-ESTABLISHMENT but above all, anti-EVIL. That price was paid in His ignominious betrayal, condemnation and eventual murder at the hands of His own kindred sanctioned by the laws and decrees of the state government. Thankfully, what transcends all those vivid, lurid, dastardly experiences was and is the power of His Resurrection. This can be the only focus โ€“ and itโ€™s high time for us to awake out of sleep!

1. The only religious tyranny going on bout hey is that which is perpetrated by you, Terence Blackett. Jesus Peace, man, get a life, one which hopefully exists off the Net.

2. Trust TL Blackett, he of the oversize ego to foist his divisionary ramblings on us at this time of year. I am generally happy to ignore him for most of the time and there are enough political and religious contretemps for 51 weeks but some of us want a little calm before it all begins again.

3. @TB

Here is what Adrian had to say about your submission on FB:

Adrian Hinds What is this nonsense of trying to fit ancient incidents into modern social interpretations?

Then if someone also uses modern interpretations to dismiss the new testament as the fertile imagination of thomas aquinas he would be none to please.

@Sargeant

Nice selection!

4. To ALL:

I take this opportunity to wish you ” a Christmas full of laughter, love and light

With delicious holiday foods to excite your appetite

I’m hoping you receive delightful gifts to make you smile

With family and friends to love you all the while.”

Hope your holiday is filled with joyful surprises and that the New Year brings good health and renewed prosperity.

Happy Holidays & A HEALTHY, Happy & Prosperous 2011

5. @ Mongoose

Y’all have thrown me out the church, out the chapel; out from every unworthy institution possible – and now you want to extricate me from cyberspace as well…

Looks like the only place that will be left for me is to keep company with Julian Assange…

LOL!!!

6. @ AH

With all your intellectual understanding my dear boy – if you could precariously hang T. Aquinas’ philosophy to be the “SOURCE” of the Inspired Gospel of the NT – you’re worthy of a NOBEL*!!!

In regards to your comment on the – “nonsense of trying to fit ancient incidents into modern social interpretations…”

May I dwell a bit on your understanding of ancient social anthropology and the modernist sociological concept symbolic capital and symbolic violence as espoused by Bourdieu…

If there no historical currency, thread or parenthetical constructs within the dialectic mentioned – then what is the purpose of any us learning anything VIABLE* from the past?

Hence the ‘ole cliche – “if we fail to learn the lessons of the past, we are doomed to create even more sinister evil in future…”

7. @TB
    You aint want Christ, you want a woman, but is Assange is the yard stick by which you wish to be measured, you may view Christ in a better when all is said and done.

you hear anything about Rommel threathening to run as an independent against Dale Marshall in St. Joseph. Also it seems like either Henderson Bovell or Slyvan Greenidge gone an put themselves in trouble by tampering with electronic/computer crown property out of the former LOTO office. You aint hear anything?

BTW: Mara gine really tek tuh politics by way of the St.John by-election? The DLP gine really play suh loose wid a safe seat?

8. I am prepared to bet my entire Bank account that Georgie Porgie does NOT respond to this thread …!

9. BAFBFP
    Dont bet, man.
    I wont respond to the rampant ravings but I will probably post some Scriptural thruths that rebutt the general nonsense perveyed here. I read it earlier this morning and went off to partake and take part in some serious Bible studies. followed by a lunch that has taken the wind out of my sails.

10. @GP

For simplicity it would be good to comment paragraph by paragraph if you can for those who like to follow these religious arguments.

11. @Adrian

There is some tension the BLP camp, how it all plays out we will have to wait and see.

12. @Dr.Georgie Porgie,

You are a better man than me. Your ability to stomach the rantings of “educated fill in the blank” and “rebutt the general nonsense” is noble.

Merry Christmas and a Happy and prosperous New Year to all BU bloggers.

I was brought up in the Anglican church in Barbados. I read their Bible and sang their Hymns.
    That is good enough for me.

No dragons and dungeons and wonder woman fuh me. Dem is computer games an movie character.

13. @TB
    Don’t mind these unwashed masses… you are on target, boss. So far, so good. But if I may ask – what is your motive for this particular submission?

14. Hi David;

So all’s well with the DLP camp?
    Could one explanation of the seeming intransigence in announcing a date and a candidate be that whatever the choice there will be several people very upset and it would be better to manage that mini-conflict by ensuring a short frame for action?

15. @checkit-out

The comment was a response to Adrian, context man! ๐Ÿ™‚

Your other point, no doubt about it, several people will be upset regardless of who is selected. Such is the nature of the beast.

16. @ AH

Man ya’ judging me man!!!

Listen big bruv*, I am entitled to posit a slant on how I view the world and to how I interpret the things I see therein…

HOWEVER, LET ME MAKE IT ABUNDANTLY CLEAR… IF IT IS LEFT TO THE “thought police” NONE OF US WOULD BE ENTITLED TO AN OPINION FAR LESS A POINT OF VIEW!!!

I have NEVER* followed protocol or consensus… I am already too old at stage to be thinking within the proverbial “sandbox” – I leave that for YOU* youngsters…

I do not go out of my way to court “CONTROVERSY” – it seems to be a natural predilection as well as an inherent predisposition….

Some folks just can’t seem to out-run their DNA, case in point!!!

As for the lovely LADY* in my life SIR* – she has been there now for the last 31 years…(much longer than some of my most vociferous critics)…

LOL!!!

17. @BGI
    “what is your motive for this particular submission?” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEimLZUz_YI

18. Christian PAGANISM regarding X’MAS…

19. ” One thing is for SURE jesus is either who he is or we can disregard him at our own peril”. Wow! well let me see, that inlcude yours truly , the confucists and the Hindus– roughy one-half the world population. Well I am comforted by the thought that I will be having a lot of company in hell.

The Bible might be the greatest allegoric book ever written.However, it can also be said of the epic of Homer, Gilgamesh and the Mahabharata.

20. David | December 19, 2010 at 3:44 PM | @GP
    @ BU David
    re
    For simplicity it would be good to comment paragraph by paragraph if you can for those who like to follow these religious arguments.
    As Jay Lemo says EXACTLY EXACTLY EXACTLY

21. WHY THE MAGI CAME
    WHY THE MAGI CAME FROM THE EAST

Have you ever heard of Balaam the son of Beor? Have you ever studied his story? Probably not, He is one of those little-known characters tucked away in the Old Testament, and yet he is an extremely interesting one. The story of his life is found in the book of Numbers.

Numbers chapters 22 to 25 describes the story of Balaam, the peculiar prophet- a man who is difficult to ponder. He is one of the band of strange, enigmatic and mysterious individuals that comes across the page of Scripture who are difficult to evaluate such as Cain, or Esau, or Samson, or Saul, or Absalom, or Judas or Demas.

Balaam was a religious racketeer and a fake, and phony prophet sooth sayer etc whom the Bible attaches some importance to, because Micah in Micah 6:5 warned Israel that they ought to remember him when he wrote, โ€œOh my people, remember now what Balak king of Moab consulted, and what Balaam the son of Beor answered him from Shittim unto Gilgal; that ye may know the righteousness of the Lordโ€

Balaam was a Midianite who is also mentioned three times in the New Testament and each time it is in connection with apostasy. In 2 Peter we are told about the way of Balaam. In Jude we are told about the error of Balaam. In Revelation we are told about the doctrine of Balaam.

IT IS NOTEWORTHY THAT THERE ARE MANY AROUND LIKE BALAAM TODAY.THEY ARE BASICALLY THE DEVILโ€™S BUDDIES BUT THEY USE THE GUISE OF CHRISTIANITY FOR THEIR ENTRAPPMENT!

If you will take the time to read the story of Balaam in Numbers 22-25 about how Balak paid him handsomely to curse the people of Israel as they encamped in Moab in preparation to cross the Jordan to enter Canaan after their 40 years of wandering, you will actually come to Balaam”s prediction in 24:17โ€“19

“I shall see him, but not now: I shall behold him, but not nigh: there shall come a Star out of Jacob, and a Sceptre shall rise out of Israel, and shall smite the corners of Moab, and destroy all the children of Sheth. And Edom shall be a possession, Seir also shall be a possession for his enemies; and Israel shall do valiantly.
    Out of Jacob shall come he that shall have dominion, and shall destroy him that remaineth of the city [Num. 24:17โ€“19].
    There Balaam says, “I see the Lord, but not here–off in the future. I see him as a star that comes forth from Jacob, and a scepter that rises from Israel.”

To whom is he referring? To Jesus the Messiah. Isn’t that amazing? This, is the promise which eventually brought the magi to look for Jesus after his birth. Do you remember what they said when they arrived in Jerusalem and sought out Herod? “Where is he who is born King of the Jews? [‘A scepter shall rise from Israel.’] For we have seen his star in the east . . .” That is what brought the magi.

Evidently this discourse found its way into the literature of the East, and the magi accepted it as a promise of the coming Redeemer, and they went to search him out. So, how much did Balaam know? He saw the Lord Jesus Christ. He saw things that none of his contemporaries saw. He had an amazing amount of truth available to him.

This remarkable prophecy in Numbers 24:17โ€“19 explains inter alia where the wise men learned to look for a star, how they associated a star with a king born in Israel, and why they made the long and arduous journey to worship him. About 1500 years after this prophecy was given, a whole company of wise men came from the east enquiring โ€œWhere is he that is born King of the Jews for we have seen his star in the east, and are come to worship himโ€ (Matt. 2:2).

These wise men obviously knew this prophecy of Balaam, and so when they saw the remarkable star, they remembered that Balaam had said, โ€œโ€ฆ There shall come a Star out of Jacob, and a Sceptre shall rise out of Israel โ€ฆโ€ (Num. 25:17).

These wise men probably also knew the prophecy of Daniel (who had also prophesied in the east) the prophecy of Daniel which gave the approximate time that the Messiah would come (and Daniel likewise had prophesied in the east) obviously knew this prophecy When we consider all this the visit of the wise men to Jerusalem is very understandable .

What is very ironic, is that Israel, who had the Old Testament with all the prophecies of Christโ€™s coming, was not looking for Himโ€”with the exception of a very small minority, such as Anna and Simeon. When the company of wise men arrived in Jerusalem, the entire city, including Herod the king, was surprised.

Jesus is coming again, and many will be quite surprised at his coming, because they are not actively heeding the invitations or commands to be prepared for his advent. Many will be caught quite unprepared to meet him just like the foolish virgins described in Matthew 25.

NOTE THAT THE BIBLE DOES NOT TEACH THAT THREE KINGS CAME TO VISIT JESUS. iT ONLY SAYS THAT THREE GIFTS WERE BROUGHT. IT SEEMS THAT THE WISE MEN FROM THE EAST WERE PART OF A LARGE ENTOURAGE. They no doubt travelled from thier home land to the east pf the Euphrates up to the travel hub at Haran, and then took the major trade route of that day that linked the continents of Asia and Africa. That route traversed Israel and went on into Egypt.

I HOPE THAT THIS CLARIFIES OR HELP YOU UNDERSTAND THE BACKGROUND TO THE VISIT OF THE MAGI FOM A SIMPLE UNDERSTANDING OF SCRIOPTURE

22. Watchman On The Wall Avatar
    Watchman On The Wall

Moose, Sargeant, and Adrian Hinds, here is a loving warning. Be careful how you join a bandwagon that would describe ‘the Words and Works of God as “nonsensical ancient incidents fitted into modern social interpretations.”

We should all stay clear of those invasions of paganism as we celebrate the coming of our Saviour Jesus Christ. It seems though, that you three have a clear misunderstanding of the mysteries of God, and therefore you simply deny the existence of God.

God’s inspired Word says, “…the natural man does not receive the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him; nor can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.” 1 Corinthians 2:14-15

And even in the face of natural occurrences, some men still remain as fools, refusing to believe there is a God, rejecting His Word.

E.G. The Nile River turned to blood. Plagues of frogs, gnats, flies, and locust hit the land. People were afflicted with boils, livestock died, and hail made life miserable in Egypt. Yet Pharaoh did not yield to Mosesโ€™ demands, and kept the Israelites in bondage.

What would possess a man to deny the sovereignty of God in the face of such overwhelming indications of His power? The very same affliction that millions suffer from today โ€“ IT IS A HARDENED HEART. This condition causes men and women to DENY THE OBVIOUS EXISTENCE OF GOD and delight in themselves, NO MATTER WHAT PROOFS ARE PRESENTED TO THEM.

More from God’s Word:

‘Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,
    Nor have entered into the heart of man
    The things which God has prepared for those who love Him.’

“But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God…. For ‘who has known the mind of the Lord that he may instruct Him?’ But we have the mind of Christ.” Corinthians 2:9-10, 16

And why can we be so confident? Because God tells us in Galatians 2:20 and elsewhere that He lives in us!

In contrast, the Bible identifies those who deny God as fools:
    “The fool has said in his heart, ‘There is no God.’ Psalm 53:1

“The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but he who heeds counsel is wise.” Proverbs 12:15

“Where is the wise? Where is the scribe? Where is the disputer of this age? Has not God made foolish the wisdom of this world?

“For since, in the wisdom of God, the world through wisdom did not know God, it pleased God through the foolishness of the message preached to save those who believe. For Jews request a sign, and Greeks seek after wisdom; but we preach Christ crucified, to the Jews a stumbling block and to the Greeks foolishness, but to those who are called, both Jews. Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.” 1 Corinthians 1:20-25

“He who walks with wise men will be wise, but the companion of fools will be destroyed.” Proverbs 13:20

23. TwiddledeDUMB wrote
    In conclusion, for those looking for a message in Christmas โ€“ โ€œthereโ€™s NONE!โ€ On the day of reckoning, none of these emblems will have any meaning. What is at stake is NOT* whether Jesus was born and is worthy of a birthday celebration (for He never celebrated anything but the Fatherโ€™s Love). What is crucial is how Jesus lived! The price He had to pay for being anti-RELIGIOUS, anti-POLITIQUE, anti-ESTABLISHMENT but above all, anti-EVIL. That price was paid in His ignominious betrayal, condemnation and eventual murder at the hands of His own kindred sanctioned by the laws and decrees of the state government. Thankfully, what transcends all those vivid, lurid, dastardly experiences was and is the power of His Resurrection. This can be the only focus โ€“ and itโ€™s high time for us to awake out of sleep!
    ——————————————————–
    FRIENDS
    When one starts badly, they finish badly. When you start with nonsense, you end with nonsense. I have never read a book, or piece of prose by any one of consequence that ended with a sensible conclusion that started sTUPIDLY . Here we see this demonstrated again BY T Dumb!

Re for those looking for a message in Christmas โ€“ โ€œthereโ€™s NONE!โ€
    Really?

Call the remembrance that Jesus came to this world to die and save people from their sins what ever you like, but that he came can not be refuted. It can not be refuted that he died and rose again and ascended into the heavens where he sits at the Fatherโ€™s right hand interceding for believers as clearly taught in 1 John 2:2 and as pictured prophetically in Zechariah 3: 3. From thence some day soon he will come to judge those who are alive in Chist and those who are dead in their trespasses and sins as taught by the Scriptures. Donโ€™t take my word on this, at all. Read it in the Scriptures for yourself.

Zoe, I wonder if you could pull out some of the verses that clearly teach that Jesus came to this world to die and save people from their sins.

Whether we call the time he came Christmas or not or whatever we call it, it is meet and right that we chose even an annual remembrance TO THINK UPON THE SAVIORS BIRTH WHO BROUGHT SALVATION TO US ALL!

In due course I will trace the โ€œChristmas storyโ€ from Genesis through the Old Testament to the New Testament. Therein we will clearly see the message of the Gospel being presented . The tenets of the Gospel is given in I Corinthians Chapter 15:1-4 thus
    1. Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; 2. By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain.
    3. For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; 4. And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:

here T Dumb again……………What is crucial is how Jesus lived!
    Huh!
    We are being told not to reflect on the Savior birth but to muse upon his life! Could he have become flesh and dwell among us in the flesh if he had not be born?
    Hebrews 2: 9-18 teaches
    . But we see Jesus, who was made a little lower than the angels for the suffering of death, crowned with glory and honour; that he by the grace of God should taste death for every man.
    10. For it became him, for whom are all things, and by whom are all things, in bringing many sons unto glory, to make the captain of their salvation perfect through sufferings.
    11. For both he that sanctifieth and they who are sanctified are all of one: for which cause he is not ashamed to call them brethren, 12. Saying, I will declare thy name unto my brethren, in the midst of the church will I sing praise unto thee.
    13. And again, I will put my trust in him. And again, Behold I and the children which God hath given me.
    14. Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same; that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil; 15. And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.
    16. For verily he took not on him the nature of angels; but he took on him the seed of Abraham.
    17. Wherefore in all things it behoved him to be made like unto his brethren, that he might be a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God, to make reconciliation for the sins of the people.
    18. For in that he himself hath suffered being tempted, he is able to succour them that are tempted.
    Jesusโ€™s life declares only that he did no sin nor was any guile found I him. BUT IT IS IN HIS DEATH THAT SALVATION IS WROUGHT
    It was by the shedding of his blood that SALVATION WAS BOUGHT. Note vers4 14 above through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil; 15. And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.
    For without the shedding of blood there is no remission of Sin. Jesus died as the sinless spotless lamb of God for us as pictured in the Levitical offerings.

Re The price He had to pay for being anti-RELIGIOUS, anti-POLITIQUE, anti-ESTABLISHMENT but above all, anti-EVIL. That price was paid in His ignominious betrayal, condemnation and eventual murder at the hands of His own kindred sanctioned by the laws and decrees of the state government.

Jesus was steeped in the Jewish religion and practiced it fully, as any reader of the Gospels can see. Jesus had no problems with the politics of his day โ€“ he paid the taxes, he went to the temple for the feasts as required by his religion and the Jewish law, he did not fight the status quo as set up by Rome. JESUS CAME TO DIE. JESUS WAS FOCUSSED ON WHAT HE CAME TO DO
    JESUS WAS FOCUSSED IN DOING THE FATHER’s WILL

HIS BETRAYAL CONDEMNATION AND MURDER at the hands of His own kindred WAS ALL PREDICTED HUNDREDS OF YEARS BEFORE IT OCCURRED!

Jesus death was not sanctioned by the laws and decrees of the state government. HIS SEVERAL FALSE TRIALS WERE CONTRARY TO THE LAWS OF ISRAEL IN EVERY RESPECT. They were held at night. Members of the Sanhedrin were missing. He was shuffled before three sets of judges. The witnesses could not agree on the charges brought against him. The Roman governor convicted him AFTER REPETEDLY DECLARING HIM NOT GUILTY!

Re Thankfully, what transcends all those vivid, lurid, dastardly experiences was and is the power of His Resurrection. This can be the only focus

We thought it was his life. Didnโ€™t TwiddledeDUMB say earlier in his contradictory conclusion that โ€œWhat is crucial is how Jesus lived!

What a hilarious rant by a raving rambling intellectual runt!
    This man has raised the bar on BU for contradiction and consistent crap. He doesnt know left from right or right from wrong and he CLEARLY DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO RIGHTLY DIVIDE THE WORD OF TRUTH.

24. Watchman On The Wall Avatar
    Watchman On The Wall

@Georgie Porgie
    Remarkable exegetion of the Word. Thanks you teacher.

@Zion
    “Well I am comforted by the thought that I will be having a lot of company in hell.”

No comfort my dear friend. Let me tell you what hell is like! You will NOT be smiling all lovey-covey and cozy with the others there!

It’s a place of hopelessness and suffering – as a woman is about to give birth to a child, many go through painful labor that can last from a few minutes to a few days. But through this painful anguishing time, there is hope that when the child is born this terrible labor pain will subside. Just imagine if you can if that pain was multiplied many times over and you would never have hope of it ever going away forever? You would do anything to die to get rid of the pain, but it would always remain and continue forever and ever and ever. THIS IS HELL!

25. GP, Can you not put forward your point of view without insulting others who are differently persuaded, you sophomoric twoft!

26. @ David
    Would you please question your fans to find out how many hate the green background as much as I do? Sometimes it is just too much trouble to read even interesting items

27. @rhrbarb

Have you checked the resolution setting on you computer?

28. Watchman On The Wall Avatar
    Watchman On The Wall

“lovey-dovey” not “lovey-covey”

29. jack spratt
    I will say what I have to say as I choose too just as everyone else on BU does. OK ? Whether you like it or not.
    You have never been………nor can you ever be one of my examiners or teachers in BIBLE or BIOCHEM at any level!

There is being differently persuaded and the truth. There is being differently persuaded and rampant rubbish relayed by a raving ranting runt who is reducing the realities of the Word of truth to rubble!

30. @Watchman on the wall. Let me be me. “heaven” weren’t meant for all of us because if that were so then god would have made us all perfect. That according to your goodly book that we were all borned in sin and shape in iniquity and many are called but a few are choosen is enough proof for me that the vacany in heaven is a limited one.

31. TwiddledeDUMB wrote
    Christmas is so far removed from true Christianity that many refuse to admit or even choose to break with this pagan tradition. On the religious right are those who argue that we have taken Christ out of Xโ€™mas. The question is: โ€œWas He ever in it?โ€ On the left of the debate, are those who believe in the secularization of the holiday season and see it as a time for feasting, revelry and merriment with some hoping to outlaw any religious connotations. Whatever our position is โ€“ one thing is clear, to practice a tradition without having true knowledge of it is no different to sheep being willingly led to slaughter.

Which is more pagan to celebrate Christmas or to write a bundle of junk and untruths? Of course Christ as been taken out of Christmas, or whatever is referred to as Christmas, and yes he was ever in it. Because it can not be denied that THE WORD BECAME FLESH AND DWELT AMONG US. IT IS MIND BOGGLING THAT GOD IN FLESH WOULD WANT TO COME AND DWELL AMONG US. Call it Christmas. Call it what you like. But there is nothing wrong for those folk who sincerely take the time to remember or celebrate that the Christ child came in the flesh to dwell with us. Read about it in John 1:1-4 or Galatians 4:4
    1. In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
    2. The same was in the beginning with God.
    3. All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made.
    4. In him was life; and the life was the light of men
    There are several church groups who do not celebrate Christmas at all, or even Easter, but they celebrate and teach the doctrine of Christ throughout the year they stress
    THE VIRGIN BIRTH OF CHRIST
    THE VICTORIOUS LIFE OF CHRIST
    THE VICARIOUS SUFFERING OF CHRIST
    THE VICTORIOUS RESURRECTION OF CHRIST
    THE VINDICATIVE ACENSION OF CHRIST
    THE VITAL SESSION OF CHRIST
    THE VISIBLE RETURN OF CHRIST
    RE Some of us accept that the epistemological roots of Christmas is to be found in Roman Catholic theology and by 529 A.D., after Constantine had made Christianity the official state religion of the Roman Empire โ€“ his successor Emperor Justinian subsequently made Christmas a civic holiday. The celebration of Christmas reached its peak โ€“ some would argue its worst moments โ€“ in the medieval period when it became โ€œa time for conspicuous consumption and unequalled revelry.โ€ In the Roman Catholic Encyclopedia, 1911 edition, under the heading of โ€œChristmasโ€ says that: โ€œChristmas was not among the earliest festivals of the Churchโ€ฆthe first evidence of the feast is from Egyptโ€ฆ Pagan customs centering around the January calends gravitated to Christmas.โ€
    All of this twiddle might be true, but who cares? This is not the issue THE REAL ISSUE IS DO YOU KNOW THE CHRIST OF CHRISTMAS? DO YOU KNOW THAT THE BABE IN THE MANGER WENT TO THE CROSS TO PAY THE WAGES OF SIN? THAT IS THE REAL ISSUE
    Do you know the Christ of Christmas? Precious Babe of lowly birth. Gift of love from God the Father; Saviour given to all the earth. Do you know the Christ of Christmas? Does He live within your heart? Can you say to Him ‘My Saviour’? Worship Him as CHRIST THE LORD?

Do you know the Christ of Christmas? Heโ€™s the Christ of Calvary Heavenly guest, despised, rejected; Crucified for you, for me. Have you room for Him 0 listen! Do not bid Him to depart! Take Him now to be your Saviour, Christ of Christmas in your heart.

When you know the Christ of Christmas, Joy of joy to you belong; Peace that passeth understanding; wondrous, new redemption song, Life eternal your possession, precious promise now of God! When you know Him as your Saviour Christ of Christmas in your heart

And again your choice of scripture from Jeremiah is out of context and irrelevant to the issue as to whether folk can celebrate Christmas or not. If you want to use Scripture to debunk the RC Theology and related traditions you should go to Colossians 2: 8- 10 & 16-17

8. Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.
    9. For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.
    10. And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power:
    16. Let no man therefore judge you in meat, or in drink, or in respect of an holyday, or of the new moon, or of the sabbath days: 17. Which are a shadow of things to come; but the body is of Christ.
    But TwiddledeDUMB, thou raiser of the bar you cant go to Collosians 2:16 BECAUSE IT CLEARLY CONTRADICTS WHAT YOUR RELIGION TEACHES FALSLY ABOUT SABBATHS AND HOLY DAYS.

To practice a tradition or religion based upon sabbaths without having true knowledge of what the Bible says is no different to sheep being willingly led to slaughter.

Nowhere does the Scripture says not to celebrate the birth of Christ BUT IT CLEARLY STATES IN COLLOSIANS 2 :16 Let no man therefore judge you in meat, or in drink, or in respect of an holyday, or of the new moon, or of the sabbath days. Ah lie?

32. TwiddledeDUMB wrote
    โ€œClearly, nothing is new under the sun given that in our day, infanticide is given legitimacy through the rule of law which says that a womanโ€™s right to abortion is a fundamental human right and must be protected. So every year around the world, 46 million babies are slaughtered based on state decree and laws. Even baby Jesus was not exempt from the tyranny of political assassination policy.โ€
    I wonder what is the relationship with contemporary abortions and Herodโ€™s infamous slaughter of the innocents- except that they are both wrong! I wonder what is the relationship of Herodโ€™s infamous slaughter of the innocents and contemporary the fact that in our day, infanticide is given legitimacy through the rule of law which says that a womanโ€™s right to abortion is a fundamental human right and must be protected. What does this have to do with the celebration of the birth of Christmas?
    Herod feared for his kingdom. He believed that his kingdom was something to be grasped. The King that he feared WILL COME, and he is one of whom it is said in Philippians 2 :5-11
    5. Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: 6. Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: 7. But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: 8. And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.
    9. Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name: 10. That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth; 11. And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
    The king who was willing to give up his glory is now destined for greater glory. He is glorified by many today, and the glory that is in store for him is described in Revelations 5.
    No one who rightly divides the Word of Truth teaches that the visit of the Magi or the shepherds was a birthday celebration- it was a celebration of the coming of God to dwell among men in human flesh. The Creator had come to dwell among his creation.
    The origins of โ€œChristmasโ€ might well be masked in folklore, myths, superstition, mysticism and pagan ideology, but โ€œChristmasโ€ is never mentioned in Scripture. Will you deprive those who would celebrate that Jesus came?
    They can do it any day or everyday. According to Collossians 2:16 it is no more unbiblical to celebrate Christmas than to observe sabbaths weekly in this dispensation of grace! Sabbath keeping belongs under the dispensation of Law. Are we not under grace?
    Tomorrow TwiddledeDUMB will come with a plethora of videos. Instead he should go study GALATIANS and appreciate the liberty that the believer has.

In the interim I will sing
    Free from the law, O happy condition,
    Jesus has bled and there is remission,
    Cursed by the law and bruised by the fall,
    Grace hath redeemed us once for all.
    Refrain
    Once for all, O sinner, receive it,
    Once for all, O brother, believe it;
    Cling to the cross, the burden will fall,
    Christ hath redeemed us once for all.
    Refrain
    Now we are free, thereโ€™s no condemnation,
    Jesus provides a perfect salvation.
    โ€œCome unto Me,โ€ O hear His sweet call,
    Come, and He saves us once for all.
    Refrain
    โ€œChildren of God,โ€ O glorious calling,
    Surely His grace will keep us from falling;
    Passing from death to life at His call;
    Blessรจd salvation once for all.

33. GP

In your post at 6:27, you wrote that “Balaam was a religious racketeer and a fake, and phony prophet sooth sayer etc whom the Bible attaches some importance to”. You further characterise those today who are like Balaam as the “devil’s buddies”. So far so good. But then you make reference to Balaam’s prophesy in Numbers 25. This prophesy according to you motivated and guided the Kings of the East in their mission to find a King born in Israel.

Can you see my confusion? Was Balaam the “phony” prophet, the devil’s buddy, the same Balaam who correctly prophesies the birth of Jesus?

34. @ Ping Pong

I would humbly suggest that you do not really believe that you could be hoping to “trip” GP up with his exegesis. He is way, way ahead of you on this topic. ๐Ÿ™‚

35. TwiddledeDUMB is both the worse chooser of titles for articles and the most adept at bringing forth ABSOLUTE LIES in those titles.

If you will read Genesis 3:14-15, you will clearly see in the first promise of a Savior (which is what the Christmas story is about) that The Message of Christmas Past Was NOT Hatched In Infanticide, State-Sponsored Murder & Religious Tyranny

14. And the LORD God said unto the serpent, Because thou hast done this, thou art cursed above all cattle, and above every beast of the field; upon thy belly shalt thou go, and dust shalt thou eat all the days of thy life:
    15. And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel.
    Verse 15 โ€“ the prote evangelium- points out and predicts that God would pit enmity between the seed or offspring of the devil and the seed or offspring of the woman, i.e Christ.

Whereas the devil would bruise the heel of the womanโ€™s seed, the seed of the woman would bruise the devilโ€™s head.

At the cross, the devil thought he would be victorious by having Christ killed, but instead the devil received a mortal blow to his head because as Hebrews 2:14 points out
    14. Forasmuch then as the children are partakers of flesh and blood, he also himself likewise took part of the same; that through death he might destroy him that had the power of death, that is, the devil; 15. And deliver them who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage.
    Hebrews 2:14 points out that through death Christ, destroyed him that had the power of death, that is, the devil, and thereby delivered mankind from the sting of death.

Paul could this say in 1 Corinthians 15 55. O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory? 56. The sting of death is sin; and the strength of sin is the law.
    57. But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

In Romans 16:20 Paul asserts in verse 20. And the God of peace shall bruise Satan under your feet shortly.

In other words the full benefits of what Christ wrought on the cross would come to full fruition with the soon return of Christ to take up his throne. This arguement is also presented in Romans 8.

Now tell me which part of this initial section of the gospel or โ€œChristmasโ€ story Was NOT Hatched In Infanticide, State-Sponsored Murder & Religious Tyranny?

TwiddledeDUMB is both a liar and a deliberate deceiver like his father the devil as taught in John 8:44 and in I John 3

36. de Hood

Everyone is ahead of me on this topic. The guy posted something that confuses me. There seems to be a missing paragraph or two that would connect the two claimed aspects of this Balaam character: the phony prophet who gets it right.

37. Watchman On The Wall Avatar
    Watchman On The Wall

Zion1971 | December 19, 2010 at 8:24 PM |

@Watchman on the wall.

“Let me be me. โ€œheavenโ€ werenโ€™t meant for all of us because if that were so then god would have made us all perfect. That according to your goodly book that we were all borned in sin and shape in iniquity and many are called but a few are choosen is enough proof for me that the vacany in heaven is a limited one.”

Zion my friend, I love you too much to let you be! That’s the whole point of this discussion. The fact that you appear to have given up, and are most accepting of the fact that you have to reside for eternity in hell, NEED NOT BE!

Have you actually read the above description of hell? Is that what you really desire? If not, that’s exactly why God sent His Son Jesus Christ to Earth, to redeem sinners like you and me.

God did not bring about imperfection in man. God created man and woman in perfect state ………. first man, and then woman, the latter to fill an unmet need in Adam’s otherwise perfect world. Their choice to follow satan instead of God brought about devastating consequences that continue to plague us even today.

Because of God’s love, Jesus came to redeem us out of this sinful and stench-filled world, and by that we are not speaking of “the earth”, as many heretic church leaders mislead others today. The WORLD that God loves represents EVERY SINGLE soul including yours and mine. Hell is the place God has designated for satan and those who follow him. We were all born in iniquity because we inherited Adam’s sinful nature.

But Jesus came to die for us, to demonstrate to us victory over sin, so that we could be redeemed of the sin passed on by Adam, and so that we could live with Him in eternity. It doesn’t cost you anything Zion; Jesus has already paid the terrible and costly price.

In your heart, accept Him tonight as Lord and Saviour, repent of your past sins, ask His forgiveness and obey His Word. He will come into your heart and change you. You will no longer look forward to being “comfortable” with the company you WERE expecting to co-mingle with in hell. That place was not meant for you.

38. Ping Pong
    Your confusion is a function of your ignorance of the Word of God.

ALL Scriptures passages that deal with Balaam reveal him to be a โ€œphonyโ€ prophet, and the devilโ€™s buddy. Thats the first consistent thing to note about Ballaam.

Note also that Balaam really set out to curse God’s people BUT AT EACH TIME GOD PUT IN BALLAM”S MOUTH THE WORDS HE WANTED HIM TO SAY. If you read the account in Numbers you will see that Balaam ended blessing them every time, because he had no permission to curse Israel.

You need to read and understand Hebrews 1:1 which relates that God used diversed means and personnel in the OT to deliver his message. Dont be confused ,God even uses some of the false prophets today to get his message out.

Men like Ballaam are like good leg spinners. They will tell a lot of truth before they introduce false teaching i.e the googly! No false teacher can thrive without teaching a fair amount of truth. I am told that to be a very sucessful leg spinner you must have a googly.

No liar can suceed by telling all lies.

Watch Tdumb bowl. He comes with irrelevant information which is generally innocuous but sounds good and credible to the uneducated. He tries to baffle you with his BS and brilliance which he really does not have.

He might even come with some historical facts or logic then he tries to relate it to Bible doctrine. But a good batsman that can rightly divide the Word of truth can read him from the hand. Zoe makes a mess of him all the time.

His googly is ineffective against men who have studied the Word. He is an up and down SDA who want to spout his reliogious dogma. He does not ever sucessfully back up his position with relevant scripture rightly divided.

Meat and drink in Bible debates really.
    He does not know the difference between dogma and Bible doctrine.

39. God moves in mysterious ways
    The song below has great lyrics. It was written by a man called Van Sickle, a nonยฌbeliever, to prove that one doesnโ€™t have to be a Christian to write a Christian song. However, God, with His great patience, turned the tables on him. Years later, Van Sickle was sitting in a service where a choir sang his hymn. He came under conviction and gave his heart to Christ!

All hail to Thee, Immanuel, we cast our crowns before Thee;
    Let every heart obey Thy will, and every voice adore Thee.
    In praise to Thee, our Savior King, the vibrant chords of Heaven ring, And echo back the mighty strain: All hail! All hail! All hail Immanuel!
    Refrain
    Hail to the King we love so well! Immanuel! Immanuel!
    Glory and honor and majesty, wisdom and power be unto Thee, Now and evermore!
    King of kings and Lord of lords, all hail, Immanuel!

All hail to Thee, Immanuel, the ransomed hosts surround Thee;
    And earthly monarchs clamor forth their sovereign King to crown Thee.
    While those redeemed in ages gone, assembled round the great white throne,
    Break forth into immortal song: All hail! All hail! All hail Immanuel!
    Refrain
    All hail to Thee, Immanuel, our risen King and Savior!
    Thy foes are vanquished, and Thou art omnipotent forever.
    Death, sin and hell no longer reign, and Satanโ€™s powโ€™r is burst in twain;
    Eternal glory to Thy name: All hail! All hail! All hail Immanuel!
    Refrain
    Charles Gabriel set it to a beautiful tune
    http://www.hymntime.com/tch/htm/a/l/l/allhail2.htm

40. Peace. Love. Living in harmony. Treating your fellow human beings with respect.

Just a FEW of the fundamental principles of Christianity as I understand it.

41. @ Watchman on the wall. The Zionman appreciate your kind words and the message.There is no turning back for me right now, I have already book my passage on the ziontrain going to zionland. ask me where? I don’t know.

42. GP

thanks for your expansion/explanation which was “missing” from the earlier post!

re “ignorance of the Word of God” – I plead guilty but those who claim to teach have a duty to be accurate, clear and logical in their presentation.

43. I think I was very accurate clear and logical enough. I asked the readers thus …….If you will take the time to read the story of Balaam in Numbers 22-25 about how Balak paid him handsomely to curse the people of Israel as they encamped in Moab in preparation to cross the Jordan to enter Canaan after their 40 years of wandering, you will actually come to Balaamโ€s prediction in 24:17โ€“19

I told you where you could learn all you needed to know about Balam in the Bible.
    You see I pointed out in rather clear English that one would come to Balaamโ€s prediction in 24:17โ€“19 while reading his story. One would thus coherently and clearly come to the realisation about who and what Ballam was by reaDING HIS BIOGRAPHY FOR ONE’S SELF. My experience in learning and teaching is that you dont or can not always tell the student/learner everything. One must also sometimes leave room for self discovery.

44. Mr Blackett

“May I dwell a bit on your understanding of ancient social anthropology and the modernist sociological concept symbolic capital and symbolic violence as espoused by Bourdieuโ€ฆ

If there no historical currency, thread or parenthetical constructs within the dialectic mentioned โ€“ then what is the purpose of any us learning anything VIABLE* from the past?”

You’re not related to Don Blackman by any chance?

45. THE MYTHOLOGIES SURROUNDING THE ANCIENT MAGI* ARE A “dime a dozen” – HERE’S ONE SUCH VIEW FROM THE…

International Standard Bible Encyclopedia

THE MAGI

ma’-ji, (Magoi (Matthew 2:1, 7, 16, “Wise-men,” the Revised Version (British and American) and the King James Version, “Magi” the Revised Version margin)):

1. Originally a Median Tribe:

Were originally a Median tribe (Herodotus i.101); and in Darius’ Inscriptions Magush means only a member of that tribe. It was one of them, Bardiya, who pretended to be Smerdis and raised the rebellion against Cambyses. Rabh Magh in Jeremiah 39:3 does not mean “Chief Magus,” but is in Assyrian Rab mugi (apparently “commander”; compare tab mugi sa narkabti, “commander of chariots”), having no connection with “Magus” (unless perhaps Magians were employed as charioteers, Media being famous for its Nisean steeds). The investment of the Magi with priestly functions, possibly under Cyrus (Xen. Cyrop. viii), but probably much later, was perhaps due to the fact that Zoroaster (Zarathustra) belonged, it is said, to that tribe. They guarded the sacred fire, recited hymns at dawn and offered sacrifices of haoma-juice, etc. Herodotus i.132) says they also buried the dead (perhaps temporary burial is meant as in Vendidad, Farg. viii). They were granted extensive estates in Media for their maintenance, and the athravans and other priests mentioned in the Avesta may have been of their number, though only once does the word “Magus” occur in the book (in the compound Moghu-thbish, “Magus-hater,” Yasna, lxv.7, Geldner’s edition). The Magi even in Herodotus’ time had gained a reputation for “magic” articles (compare Acts 13:6, 8). They also studied astrology and astronomy (rationes mundani motus et siderum (Amm. Marc., xxiii.6, 32)), partly learned from Babylon.

2. The Magi at Bethlehem:

These latter studies explain why a star was used to lead them to Christ at Bethlehem, when our Lord was less than two years old (Matthew 2:16). No reliable tradition deals with the country whence these particular magi came. Justin Martyr, Tertullian and Epiphanius fancied that they came from Arabia, founding their opinion on the fact that “gold, frankincense and myrrh” abounded in Yemen. But the text says they came not from the South but from the East. Origen held that they came from Chaldea, which is possible. But Clement of Alexandria, Diodorus of Tarsus, Chrysostom, Cyril of Alexandria, Juvencus, Prudentius and others are probably right in bringing them from Persia. Sargon’s settlement of Israelites in Media (circa 730-728 B.C. (2 Kings 17:6)) accounts for the large Hebrew element of thought which Darmesteter recognizes in the Avesta (SBE, IV, Intro, chapter vi). Median astronomers would thus know Balaam’s prophecy of the star out of Jacob (Numbers 24:17). That the Jews expected a star as a sign of the birth of the Messiah is clear from the tractate Zohar of the Gemara and also from the title “Son of the Star” (Bar Kokhebha) given to a pseudo-Messiah

(130-35 A.D.). Tacitus (Hist. v.13) and Suetonius (Vesp. iv) tell us how widespread in the East at the time of Christ’s coming was the expectation that “at that time men starting from Judea would make themselves masters of things” (compare Virgil, Ecl. iv). All this would naturally prepare the Magi to follow the star when it appeared.

See also ASTROLOGY; ASTRONOMY; DIVINATION; MAGIC; WISE MEN; ZOROASTRIANISM.

LITERATURE.

Herodotus; Xenophon; Amm. Marcellinus; Strabo; Spiegel, Altpersische Keilinschriften; Geldner, Avesta; Muss-Arnolt, Assyrian Dict.; BDB; RE.

W. St. Clair Tisdall

STAR OF THE MAGI

” 1. The Magi

2. Herod’s Enquiry

3. Two Facts concerning the Star

4. The Wisdom of the Magi Not Astrological

5. The Prophecy of Balaam

6. The Star Not a Conjunction of Planets

7. The Star Not Nova Cassiopeiae

8. The Legend of the Well

9. Lesson of the Narrative

1. The Magi:

The birth of our Lord was announced in a supernatural manner not only to Jews by the angelic message to the shepherds, but also to Gentiles, for “Wise-men from the east came to Jerusalem, saying, Where is he that is born King of the Jews? for we saw his star in the east, and are come to worship him” (Matthew 2:1, 2). The word which has been rendered “wise men” in the King James Version and the English Revised Version (the American Standard Revised Version “Wise-men”) is “Magi.” These, according to Herodotus, were originally a tribe of the Medes (Herodotus i.101) and from their supposed skill in divination the term was applied to the learned and priestly caste among the followers of Zoroaster; they were thus in principle worshippers of one only God, and rejecters of polytheism and idolatry. The simple creed and high morality, which Zoroastrianism in its purest form professed, were well adapted to prepare its faithful disciples to receive a further revelation, and we may reasonably believe that the wise men who had been thus guided to worship the new-born king of the Jews had been faithful to the light afforded to them, for “in every nation he that feareth him (God), and worketh righteousness, is acceptable to him” (Acts 10:35).

See MAGI.

2. Herod’s Enquiry:

The gospel tells us that the arrival of the Magi at Jerusalem threw Herod the king and all the city into great excitement, and Herod at once called a council of all the chief priests and scribes of the people that he might learn from them where the Messiah should be born. In reply they quoted to him the prophecy of Micah which had indicated Bethlehem as the destined site. “Then Herod privily called the Wise-men, and learned of them exactly what time the star appeared. And he sent them to Bethlehem, and said, Go and search out exactly concerning the young child; and when ye have found him, bring me word, that I also may come and worship him. And they, having heard the king, went their way; and lo, the star, which they saw in the east, went before them, till it came and stood over where the young child was. And when they saw the star, they rejoiced with exceeding great joy” (Matthew 2:7-10). So much, and no more, are we told of the star of the Magi, and the story is as significant in its omissions as in that which it tells us.

3. Two Facts concerning the Star:

What sort of a star it Was that led the wise men; how they learned from it that the King of the Jews was born; how it went before them; how it stood over where the young Child was, we do not know. We are indeed told but two facts concerning it: first, that its appearance in some way or other did inform the wise men, not of the birth of a king of the Jews, but of the King of the Jews for whose coming, not Israel only, but more or less consciously the whole civilized world was waiting; next, that, when they had come to Judea in consequence of this information, the star pointed out to them the actual spot where the new-born King was to be found. It went before them till it came and stood over where the young Child was. It may also be inferred from Matthew 2:10 that in some way or other the wise men had for a time lost sight of the star, so that the two facts mentioned refer to two separate appearances. The first appearance induced the Magi to leave the East and set out for Judea; the second pointed out to them the place at Bethlehem where the object of their search was to be found. Nothing is told us respecting the star except its work as a guide.

There can be no doubt that the Magi took their journey in obedience to direct revelation from God, and since we are told that God warned them in a dream not to return to Herod, so that they departed to their own country another way, it is but reasonable to suppose that their outward journey had been directed in a similar manner.

4. The Wisdom of the Magi Not Astrological:

It has been conjectured that as the Magians were credited with a great skill in astrology they may have been able to forecast the birth of our Lord by the rules of their article But this conjecture must be peremptorily rejected. It ascribes to the pseudo-science of astrology a reality to which it has no claim, for it is inconceivable that the planetary configurations can really foretell the birth of princes. Even if it were admitted that such could be the case, no such event could be taken as indicating the One Birth for which the world was waiting, unless some direct and explicit revelation from God had been received to that effect. For that Birth was necessarily unique, and science can deal only with repeated events. No astronomical research is now, or was at any time, competent in itself to supply the indication needed; it was not in virtue of any natural learning that the wise men understood the meaning of the star. And if a mere astronomical research was helpless to supply any such power of prediction, still more emphatically must the claim of “occult knowledge” be disallowed. So far as occult knowledge has had any basis in fact at all, it has been simply a euphemistic way of describing the frauds, impostures and crimes by which debased heathen priesthoods and “medicine men” have imposed upon the gross superstition of their followers. The very suggestion that, by means like these, God’s purpose would be made known shows that those who suggest it have not entirely shaken off the influence of heathenism.

5. The Prophecy of Balaam:

The suggestion has often been made that the prophecy of Balaam, “There shall come forth a star out of Jacob, and a scepter shall rise out of Israel” (Numbers 24:17), may have been preserved in the East and have furnished the clue upon which the Magi acted. It is a pleasing thought that these devout Gentiles had thus preserved and meditated upon the prophecy given through one who may well have been of an allied order to themselves; but that prophecy can surely not have been sufficient in itself, and some much more direct intimation must have been vouch-safed to them; though the prophecy may have aided their faith and have dictated the form in which they announced their mission to King Herod and the Jews.

6. The Star Not a Conjunction of Planets:

We are not told how the Magi learned the meaning of the star, neither are we told what kind of a star it was. Some three centuries ago the ingenious and devout Kepler supposed that he could identify the star with a conjunction of the planets Jupiter and Saturn in the constellation Pisces, the two planets being so close as to seem a single star. This conjunction took place in the month of May, 7 B.C., not very long before the birth of our Lord is supposed to have taken place. But the late Professor Pritchard has shown (Nature and Revelation, 243-55), first, that a similar and closer conjunction occurred 59 years earlier, and should therefore have brought a Magian deputation to Judea then. Next, that the two planets never approached each other nearer than twice the diameter of the moon, so that they would have appeared, not as one star, but as two, and thirdly, if the planets had seemed to stand over Bethlehem as the wise men left Jerusalem, they would assuredly not have appeared to do so when they arrived at the little city. Ingenious as the suggestion was, it may be dismissed as unworthy of serious consideration.

7. The Star Not Nova Cassiopeiae:

Another suggestion has received at times a very wide popularity. In the year 1572 a wonderful new star appeared in the constellation Cassiopeia. At its brightest it outshone Venus and was visible in the daylight, and though it gradually declined in splendor it was not lost to sight until after 16 months. There have been other instances of outbursts of short-lived bright stars, and in the annals of the years 1265 and 952 some brief notices have been found which may have referred to objects of this class, but more probably described comets. The guess was then hazarded that these three events might all refer to the same object; that the star in Cassiopeia might be a “variable” star, bursting into brilliancy about every 350 years or so; that it was the star that announced the birth of our Lord, and that it would reappear about the end of the 19th century to announce His second coming. This rumor was widely spread, and from time to time ignorant people have noticed the planet Venus which shines with extraordinary brilliancy when in particular parts of her orbit, and have imagined, especially when she has been thus seen as a morning star in the east, that she was none other than the star of Bethlehem at its predicted return. There is no reason to suppose that the star of 1572 had ever appeared before that date or will ever appear again; but in any case we are perfectly sure that it could not have been the star of Bethlehem, for Cassiopeia is a northern constellation, and the wise men in their journey from Jerusalem to Bethlehem had Cassiopeia and all her stars behind their back.

The statement that the star “went before” the Magi gives the impression that it was some supernatural light like the shekhinah, “glory,” resting upon the tabernacle, or the pillar of fire which led the children of Israel through the wilderness. But this view raises the questions as to the form in which it first appeared to the wise men, when they were still in the East, and how they came to call it a star, when they must have recognized how un-starlike it was. On the other hand, if what they saw when in the East was really a star, it seems most difficult to understand how it can have appeared to go before them and to stand over the place where the young Child lay.

8. The Legend of the Well:

Yet there is a legend still current in Palestine which may possibly explain how an actual star may have fulfilled this part, and there is a well at Bethlehem that is still shown to pilgrims as the means whereby the wise men “saw the star” the second time. It is said that when they had reached Bethlehem, apparently nearly at mid-day, one of them went to the well of the inn in order to draw water. Looking down into the well he saw the star reflected from the surface of the water and knew that it must be directly overhead. Its re-observation under such unusual circumstances would be a sufficient assurance to the Magi that they had reached the right place, and inquiry in the inn would soon inform them of the visit of the shepherds, and of the angelic message which had told them where to find the babe `born in the city of David, the Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.’

If we may accept this legend we may take the star as having been what astronomers know as a “new” or “temporary” star, like that of 1572. When the Magi first saw it, and in consequence set out upon their journey, it may have been an evening star and thus, being seen only in the west shortly after sunset, it would appear, evening after evening, to point them their way to Judea. As they journeyed thither it probably faded as temporary stars in general quickly do. At the same time it would have drawn nearer and nearer to the sun, until it was lost in its rays by the time they reached Jerusalem, when they would seem to have lost sight of it altogether. Having thus lost it, they would naturally not expect to see it again until it had drawn away from the sun on the other side, and been detected as a morning star in the east before sunrise; they would not expect to discover it in the daytime.

In the ordinary way, the planet Venus is, after the two “great lights,” the brightest object in the heavens, but temporary stars are on record that have even exceeded Venus in brightness. The difficulty of seeing the planet Venus in full sunshine does not lie in her want of brightness, but in picking up and holding steadily so minute a point of light in the broad expanse of the gleaming sky. This difficulty, which would be even greater in the case of a star, would be lessened by looking down the well, as the shaft would narrow the field of view down to a small area, and would direct the observer’s gaze straight to the star. There may also have been, at the very time of observation, a temporary revival of the brightness of the star as has been recorded in the case of one or two objects of the same class. The legend, whether well founded or not, seems to have some astronomical verisimilitude, and at any rate suggests a mode in which an actual star could have seemed to stand over the place where the young Child lay. It would also explain what seems to have been implied in the narrative, how it happened that the Magi alone, and not the Jews in general, perceived the star at its second appearance.

9. Lesson of the Narrative:

Yet it seems safer to conclude that the narrative has been purposely left-astronomically-too incomplete for any astronomical conclusion to be drawn from it. One verse more, and that a short one, could have answered all our inquiries, could have told us whether the star was a conjunction of the planets, a comet, or a temporary star; or whether it was a supernatural light like the pillar of fire in the wilderness. But that verse has not been given. The score of additional words which could have cleared up the matter have been withheld, and there can be no doubt as to the reason. The star, whatever its physical nature, was of no importance except as a guide to the birthplace of the infant Jesus. The reticence of the gospel narrative on all points, except those directly relating to our Lord Himself, enforces the truth that the Scriptures were not written to instruct us in astronomy, or in any of the physical sciences, but that we might have life eternal (John 17:3). E. W. Maunder

46. Taking away all the spinning googleys and yorkers – WHAT ARE THE FACTS –

THE GOOD ‘OLE ROMAN CHURCH in 350AD, under Pope Julius I declared that Christโ€™s birth would be celebrated on December 25…

Arguably, there is little doubt that the goodly pope was trying to make it as painless as possible for pagan Romans (who remained a majority at that time) to convert to Christianity given Constantine’s decree.

Like all leaders who work hard to maintain popularity, Julius felt that the new religion would go down a bit easier, knowing that their feasts would not be taken away from them… (as consensus tells not to interfere with the TRADITIONS* of the people)…

The ideology of Christmas (Christ-Mass) as we know it today, most historians agree, began in Germany, though Catholics and Lutherans still disagree about which church celebrated it first…(however the Catholics as the MOTHER* church believes she hold primacy in all matters of religions including holidays)…

From the annals of historical sources (outside of JEREMIAH condemnation) one of the earliest record of an evergreen (TREE)* being decorated in a Christian celebration was in 1521 in the Alsace region of Germany…

One radical, anti-establishment prominent German Lutheran minister of the day cried blasphemy: โ€œBetter that they should look to the TRUE TREE OF LIFE – CHRIST!!!โ€

There is no theologian or scholar (including Messianic Jewish writers) who can pinpoint what day Jesus Christ was actuallyborn on…

From the Biblical narrative, most historians believe and can agree that his birth probably occurred sometime in September which would be approximately [6] months after the Passover season…

One thing they can all agree on is that it is very unlikely that Jesus was born in December on the 25th day as the church over the centuries as sought to celebrate, since the Bible records shepherds tending their sheep in the fields on that night…

This is quite unlikely to have happened during a cold Judean winter…

So why do well-meaning, enlightened, supposedly well-read students of the WORD* celebrate Christโ€™s birthday (as Christmas) on December the 25th???

Is it out of IGNORANCE? Is it because they don’t care? Or is it because of DECEPTION?

The answer lies in the pagan origins of Christmas and the horse-manure we have been fed over centuries of indoctrination and white-washing…

Persian folklore reminds us that in ancient Babylon, the feast of the Son of Isis (Goddess of Nature) was celebrated on December 25th… These paganisms have traverse time and space finding acceptance in modern-day mythological folklore…

Back then feverish debauchery, revelry, raucous partying, gluttonous eating and drinking, and gift-giving were traditions of this kind of festive season…

Clearly nothing much has really changed – just a different day and age but the same S**T…

These are the undiluted, historical FACTS* though right-wing, conservative, evangelical christians choose to follow PAGAN* customs, pagan idolatry and the worship of the created thing more than the CREATOR…

In the process, they will deride and castigate anyone who seeks to abnegate their traditions…

47. Could Jes-sus (Christ) really walk on water (like a hippy surfer), or is it just another urban myth? (like Marianne Faithful and a Mars Bar at the Rolling Stones party)

48. Serious Christians and solid students of the Scriptures know that one of the purposes of the Bible is to present the gospel story, and that this story which can be traced throughout its pages in type and figure begins with the prote evangelium presented in Genesis 3:15.

In this verse there is the first promise of a savior simply put thusโ€ฆโ€ฆ. 15. And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel.

When we come to Galatians 4:4-5 we read about the fulfillment of this promise, and its purpose thus โ€ฆโ€ฆ. But when the fulness of the time was come, God sent forth his Son, made of a woman, made under the law, To redeem them that were under the law, that we might receive the adoption of sons.

In Galatians 4:4 Paul uses an agricultural term with which we all familiar. The fullness of time (pleroma en chronos) can also be translated when the time was ripe, at the most opportune time, at the appropriate time God sent forth his Son. The phrase made of a woman corroborates the concept of the seed of the woman in Genesis 3:15, and points out that Christ had no human father.

Note that he came under the law or according to the tenets of the law for the purpose of reddeming those who were under the curse of the law.

This is what oneโ€™s celebration of the birth of Christ was about. You can celebrate this event all year if you wish and when ever you chose as some Christian churches do. After all, the shepherds celebrated it, the angels celebrated and the Magi came to observe it. Just remember that it is by his DEATH THAT SALVATION IS WROUGHT.

You can call it Christmas or what ever you, but the promises of these two important verses concerning the birth of Christ have been fulfilled. I will later discuss the need for a redeemer and the qualifications of a redeemer and show that the scriptures declare is eligibility to redeem according to the law.

What is important is not if you celebrate Christmas or not, or whether you celebrate it at all. The words of this song capsules what our attitude to the birth of Christ must be
    Do you worship the Babe in the manger,
    But reject the Christ of the Cross?
    Your redemption comes not by the manger,
    But the death of Christ on the Cross.
    If you worship the Babe in the manger,
    But ignore the blood of Godโ€™s Son,
    To you Christ is only a stranger,
    Til you trust the work He has done.
    The Babe in the manger was Godโ€™s only Son,
    Who came to the world to die.
    The Babe in the manger could never have done
    The work of His God on high.
    The Babe left the manger and went to the Cross
    To pay the wages of sin.
    Your way of forgiveness is not by the Babe,
    But the Christ who died for your sin.
    โ€“ W. S. and Mildred Dillon
    Donโ€™t let anyone deter you from this with their supreme stupidity, as they try to prove that they are learned. While professing themselves to be wise they evince that they are really fools. That is a quote from Scripture, by the way.

49. TwiddledeedDUMB writes
    โ€œThese are the undiluted, historical FACTS* though right-wing, conservative, evangelical christians choose to follow PAGAN* customs, pagan idolatry and the worship of the created thing more than the CREATORโ€ฆ
    In the process, they will deride and castigate anyone who seeks to abnegate their traditionsโ€ฆโ€

Instead of spouting a load of rubbish to show that he knows so much, why does TwiddledeedDUMB not teach what is the true meaning of Christโ€s coming?
    I no longer celebrate Christmas as I did as a child. Since I was age 17 and was leading my first church choir, I eliminated from my programs any so called Christmas song whose lyrics could not be supported by scripture. But instead of bashing others I am positive in teaching the truths that I know.

Since age 17 in my choir selections I have I have avoided songs that over sentimentalize the season such as songs that focus on the โ€œmost wonderful time of the year.โ€ Are we in love with the season or with Christ?
    I have avoided songs that are strictly secular in their association. Some churches choose to do several of these type songs at the beginning of their musicals at Christmas to either โ€œentertainโ€ or โ€œattract non-believers.โ€ I believe these type songs have no place in a worship service especially when it is intended to be evangelistic. Whatโ€™s evangelistic about singing secular songs? I think sometimes we can be so entertainment focused that we are in danger of entertaining them to hell. I believe that we should point people to Christ.
    I believe that we should choose songs that correctly describe the Christmas story according to Scripture. Many of our songs really do not portray the story very well. I look for songs that are clear in communicating the story
    I choose songs that tell the whole Gospel Story- Jesus birth, his ministry, his death on a cross and his resurrection. The problem with many Christmas songs is that they leave Jesus in the manger. Christians and non-Christians need to hear the whole Gospel at Christmas. We must look for songs that go beyond the manger. He came to be our Savior.

I am quite aware that people are so distracted by the trappings of the holiday season that they are not spiritually focused and not moving forward in their Christian walk.

I am quite aware that much of the Christmas music used in worship only led to sentimental reflections of Christmas seasons gone by with little real focus on Christ.

I am quite aware that much of what happens at Christmas often has little to do with the real reason for the celebration โ€“ Jesus, but instead of writing concentrated crap with a long winded convoluted title, I try to present the Scripture passages that deal with the subject of what is celebrated annually as Christmas.

But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law, to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons. And because you are sons, God has sent the Spirit of his Son into our hearts, crying, โ€œAbba, Father!โ€ So you are no longer a slave, but a son, and if a son, then an heir to God. Galatians 4:4-7 (ESV)

50. TEACHINGS ABOUT JESUS AND SALVATION BY REDEMPTION as seen in the book of Ruth and Galatians 4:4

THE BOOK OF RUTH DEMONSTRATES AND DESCRIBES HOW THE LAWS RELATING TO REDEMPTION AS GIVEN IN LEVITICUS WERE APPLIED

THIS BOOK MIRRORS THE TRUTHS OF EPHESIANS CHAPTER TWO

This is what Christmas is all about.

The truths about salvation in Ruth can be gleaned either historically or typically. The historical aspect can be gleaned from a chapter by chapter and verse by verse study of Ruth.

The typical aspect is given here. It is to be noted in both aspects that Ruth was saved by faith in God, as clearly seen in chapter 1: 16-17. Typically it can easily be seen that Ruth represents the church the body of believers, whose lost condition is traced in chapter 1 to her salvation and exaltation in chapter 4.

The truths about salvation in Ruth are brought out typically by Boaz representing Christ as the Kinsman-Redeemer. Archer points out that โ€œThe little book of Ruth is one of the most instructive in the Old Testament concerning the mediatorial work of the Lord Jesus.โ€

In Luke 24:25-27, Jesus taught us to look for Him in the Old Testament, where he can be found in both prophecy and in type. While prophecies are verbal predictions of Christ, types are anticipations of Him in person, event, and institution. In the book of Ruth, Boaz, in his role as kinsman-redeemer, is a type of Christ.

The book of Ruth speaks of Christ our Redeemer, and is a beautiful picture of the work of our Lord Jesus Christ as our kinsman Redeemer. It shows us both our need of a kinsman Redeemer and the way we may obtain the blessings of redemption. The whole book is a picture of our redemption by Christ, our kinsman Redeemer.

The key word, used repeatedly in these four chapters is “kinsman” (2:1, 20; 3:9, 12; 4:6, 14). The kinsman is the one who has the right to redeem.

The apostle Paul reminds us that in our fallen nature we have been sold to the slavery of sin (Romans 7:14). Therefore all mankind is in need of a redeemer. The principle of redemption is to be bought back from the bondage of sin and freedom from its control.

The necessity of a kinsman redeemer, as it relates to its New Testament fulfillment is discussed in Hebrews 2:16-17 which teaches very clearly โ€œFor assuredly He does not give help to angels, but He gives help to the descendant of Abraham. Therefore, He had to be made like His brethren in all things, that He might become a merciful and faithful high priest in things pertaining to God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people.โ€

These verses bear a direct relationship to the promise that God made to Abraham in Genesis 12:1-3. In order that the blessing to Abram could have the far-reaching effects and be extended to all the families of the earth in Abraham as God promised, Jesus had to take on human flesh. In order to bring salvation to Abraham and his descendents, Christ had to become one of Abrahamโ€™s descendents. He did not merely become a man. He became a Jew. He did this in fulfillment of the promise. He is the blessing through which all the families of the earth shall be blessed. It is very important to appreciate that it is only those who belong to Him who will be heirs with Abraham. (Galatians 3:29). Hebrews 2:18 explains that for Jesus to come to the aid of (or redeem) those who are tempted (and succumbed to sin) He had to suffer.

In the Old Testament, kinsman-redeemers were relatives who protected needy members of their extended families. They could redeem a relative sold into slavery (Leviticus 25:47-49), or preserve the family line of a deceased male relative by marrying his widow and providing an heir (Deuteronomy 25:5-6). They could also redeem land that a poor relative had sold outside the family (Leviticus 25: 25), or even avenge the blood of a murdered relative (Numbers 35:19-21).

The one who redeems evicts and dispossesses all those who have held his purchased property during the time of its bondage. He takes personal possession of that which has been bought back. Redemption presupposes a dreadful calamity. It presupposes the sin and fall of all the human race in our father, Adam, who sold us into bondage and sin (Romans. 5:12).

But Christ, our Kinsman- Redeemer, bought us and brought us into liberty, righteousness, and life (Romans 5:19). Redemption by a near kinsman also presupposed personal inability (Psalms. 49:6-9).

In order to redeem persons, land or lineage the potential Kinsman-Redeemer had to meet several qualifications or characteristics. It was only when a man possessed these qualities that he was permitted to perform this task of the Kinsman-Redeemer. In the Book of Ruth, Boaz, her kinsman-redeemer, typifies and beautifully portrays the Lord Jesus Christ, our Kinsman-Redeemer. The Lord Jesus fulfilled all of these characteristics of the Kinsman-Redeemer, presented in the scriptures as we will see from our examination below.

To fully appreciate and understand the concept of the Kinsman-Redeemer as exercised in Ruth chapters 3 and 4 we must understand what is written in the law of God concerning redemption and the kinsman-redeemer. It will be profitable, therefore, to carefully consider the scriptures which deal with this subject.

Leviticus 25:25-28 lays out Godโ€™s law concerning the redemption of property which had been sold. “If thy brother be waxen poor, and hath sold away some of his possession, and if any of his kin come to redeem it, then shall he redeem that which his brother sold. And if the man have none to redeem it, and himself be able to redeem it; Then let him count the years of the sale thereof, and restore the excess unto the man to whom he sold it; that he may return unto his possession. But if he be not able to restore it to him, then that which is sold shall remain in the hand of him that hath bought it until the year of jubilee: and in the jubilee it shall go out, and he shall return unto his possession.”

Leviticus 25:47-48 states the law of God relating to the redemption of people who had sold themselves into bondage. “And if a sojourner or stranger wax rich by thee, and thy brother that dwelleth by him wax poor, and sell himself unto the stranger or sojourner by thee, or to the stock of the stranger’s family: After that he is sold he may be redeemed again; one of his brethren may redeem him.” This prophetic law was given to be a picture of Christ and was fulfilled by him.

Although we have no such specific laws in our modern culture, similar ones with which we are familiar, relate to pawning items and mortgages. An item that has been pawned, may be redeemed at the lawfully prescribed value by either the original owner or his lawful representative. The word โ€œmortgageโ€ is derived from two words meaning โ€œdeathโ€ and โ€œpledge.โ€ A mortgage is โ€œa death pledge.โ€ That which is mortgaged becomes dead, or entirely lost by the original ownerโ€™s failure to pay.