Submitted by GoWeb Caribbean

At the time the Late David Thompson, then Leader of Opposition, had embarked on his unforgettable “Crime and Violence” election campaign, he was he subject of much ridicule, particularly from the ranks of the then ruling Barbados Labour Party.

Today, in 2010, as we look at the collection of recently perpetrated crimes in this society, one cannot help but ask the question, “Was Thompson’s campaign a prophetic one?”

We have had the murder of a Canadian tourist, a story reaching international attention, and a potential blow to Barbados’ tourism drive. Add to that the fire bombing of “Chicken Galore” in Bank Hall. Robberies are no strange occurrence in the Barbadian landscape, but the perpetrators usually vacate the scene without altercation upon securing their loots. It therefore gripped the entire country to hear that these robbers proceeded to fire bomb the still occupied establishment subsequent to the completion of the robbery.

This was unprecedented in Barbados, until it was repeated again, in short order, this time with fatal repercussions. The  robbery and fire bombing of the “Campus Trends” store in Bridgetown, which claimed the lives of six, plunged the island into open mourning. This atrocity prompted choruses of “Somebody got to hang for this” across our beautiful landscape.

With the apprehension of two suspects, people probably thought that was the end of this crime spree unnatural to this nation, but then the recent news of a door-to-door salesman murdered at close range during the performance of his job has raised further public concern. If you aren’t safe while sitting in your own vehicle, or  standing in your place of employment, where can you be safe?

It is my pray that we are able as a nation to control this upsurge in crime which is currently being witnesses in our precious nation.

1. A man with a bright political future was with us and the Lord has removed him from us for reasons known only to him. Since his announced illness and subsequent death, this man has been elevated to a level slightly below that of a Saint. Alright, we will always remember him, but life didn’t stopfor the rest of usafter his passing but instead, we should just live our lives in a way that would make others remember us positively too. However, it seems the object is to keep the name of David Thompson up front until the by-elections. many bloggers are getting tired of the constant articles by the DLP diehards about every little thing that this man said. Crime and violence will always be with us, this is not Utopia, so whether David was with us or not, crime and violence would continue, this is the hard fact of life. Let us therefore allow his family and close friends to have a time of healing, please don’t use his immediate family as players on a draught board for your selfish gain, healing will take longer if you continue to focus on every little thing he did and involve them.

2. Given the political upheavals on the political landscape in recent months political parties will naturally jockey for political advantage. It will up to the electorate to decide. For example, the BLP will attack the DLP on the economy, the DLP will attack the BLP on the division in their ranks and try to ride the sympathy factor.

3. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

PROPHETIC MY FOOT!
    You mean he is now a false prophet too, like the other false prophet who declared that DT should be a National Hero?

Look, during that election (I think it was 1999) Thompson seriously politicised the crime issue and tried to make the then Government look bad. That wasn’t any prophecy!

But isn’t it peculiar that three years ago, the people of Barbados positively responded to what has now turned out to be an empty plea for CHANGE, and part of the CHANGE we ARE seeing is an unprecedented upsurge in crime, plus the introduction of some strange incidents …. like fire-bombing after an armed robbery, an alarming consistency in armed bank robberies ….. to the extent that the business community are expressing dismay and fear.

GOWEB CARIBBEAN whoever you are, did the former PM prophesize that when we voted for CHANGE, all of the above would be elements of that CHANGE?

4. mash up&buy back Avatar
    mash up&buy back

Scout for the second time said he was staying away from this blog,this time however there was not much begging and hand wringing and within short order he was back.

Well welcome back even though you had never really left,no problem with that.

However as soon as a post was put up congratulating david thompson, scout is back criticising the DLP and saying that they trying to make thompson a saint.

Now this is from a man who said he supports the DLP and was a real good friend of david thompson.

With supporters and friends like these………..

5. In 2008, the people of Barbados said they wanted “change.” The BLP was the government for 14 years whereas the DLP re-invented itself between 1999 and 2008.

The DLP brought fresh candidates who were “squeaky clean” and to whom, arguments like the 8% cut, massive layoff and so on, could not have been sensibly attached.

When the electorate spoke about change, they were also aware that the economy needed restructuring. But after telling the BLP to change, it now comes back with the same tired and discredited leadership and the same indiciplined people dominating, as was they case when the electorate called for change. This is share arrogance!!!

Under its present leadership, the BLP cannot serious say that they have listened to the electorate because it has not changed its image or anything about it. “Owen Arthur feels he must be ruler of Barbados for life and that no one will rob him of dying in Office.”

All the present BLP leadership is, is a reminded of arrogance, corruption (real or imagined) disrespect for women, and most of all – the fact that after 14 years, the man who was PM and Minister of Finance, is now telling Sinckler, who was elected 2 1/2 years ago and who became Minister of Finance less than 2 months ago, that he (Sinckler) should restructure the economy.

The Barbados economy needs restructuring and for thousands of Barbadians, Owen Arthur therefore has no credibility on the issue, since he was PM and MOF for 14 years.

The simple point is that if the Barbados economy had been restructured in 1999 or 2003, Barbados would not now be in this crisis.

This is Owen Arthur’s legacy – his failure even after 14 years as PM and MOF – to restructure the Barbados economy.

In fact, it can be said that in the same way Owen Arthur caused the collapse of the Jamaican economy, he is now responsible for the collapse of the Barbados economy, having not restructure it and also, having allowed CLICO to say that because CL Financial was strong, CLICO could have broken Barbados law (the Insurance Act) by racking up a $93 million Statutory Fund Deficit.

So that I have given evidence why Owen Arthur is totally responsible for the collapse of the Barbados economy in the same way he was responsible for that of Jamaica.

6. mash up & buy back

So as friend you can’t criticize the article. You obviously don’t get what scout trying to say.

“Let us therefore allow his family and close friends to have a time of healing, please don’t use his immediate family as players on a draught board for your selfish gain, healing will take longer if you continue to focus on every little thing he did and involve them.”

Bajan Panday

Actually by saying so Mr. lerroy paris should be charge with passing false information for the statement. under ch 38 of the insurance act. Further from that it was dlp who guaranteed the clico debt which we now have to pay.

7. mash up
    mawnin my cup a cappuccino, i agree wid ya 200%. ya so smarttttttttt. i notice um too. stupseeeeeeeeee
    tek um lite hunny. mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

8. The spectre of David Thompson will loom large for some time to come. If our source is correct and Mara Thompson runs in St. John this will be more so.

9. Mara keeping the seat warm for Oya? Hmmm.

10. @ David
    It amazes me that no one is appalled that a MP could ‘will’ his parliamentary seat to his wife then daughters.

More prophesy:
    “My government has a strong and deep interest in the
    development of the Cooperatives sector. I am therefore
    restoring the allowance for investment in Credit Unions to
    $3,000.00 as a separate allowance.”

Yet Sinckler mashing up the the late PM’s prophecy and legacy.

11. mash up & buy back
    When persons like you are just marketing your selfish belief, you are doing more damage to the Thompson family than good. It was reported that Mrs Thompson was visibly move, when she was asked to participate in one of the activities to mark her husband’s death. Some of you are just shouting hard but really don’t have any sympathy for the family. That’s why I had to come back on and BEG you to GIVE THE FAMILY SOME BREATHING SPACE.
    David Thompson is dead, regrettably, so it’s time for healing; live goes on.

12. Scout I don’t think that you are sincere AT ALL in none of the things you say. NONE!

We are not milking anything for what it is worth, we just realised that what DT said is indeed a reality!

Owen did as he liked without respect, discression, and the list goes on ……..

I never once have heard you redicule him for his BULLSHIT for the 14 years. I personally think that you are and OSA lover and just had a problem with him allowing so much Guyanese in Barbados. Other than that you couldn’t care less ……….

DT’s friend my foot. Mara keep it warm for Osa do!

Owen brother down in St. Lucy trying, Delisle Bradshaw daughter running in a previous constituency he was representative for, and nobody ain’t say nothing so don’t mind them!

13. you know, the powers that be are so intent on keeping DT’s ‘legacy’ alive that they have not taken a moment to allow the widow to grieve, the space to not have to interact with the public. Mara said in the announcement of his death that she endured politics, perhaps it is time that people just leave her and let her be in peace.

14. JC; You wrote above “Mara keep it warm for Osa do! Owen brother down in St. Lucy trying, Delisle Bradshaw daughter running in a previous constituency he was representative for, and nobody ain’t say nothing so don’t mind them!”

The examples you give are totally illogical and misleading. DT is alleged to have made a deathbed wish that Mara should take over the St John constituency on his death and then hold it for one of his daughters. That is dynasty building.

Consider these facts;

The St John seat is an extremely safe one. Whoever the DLP puts there will win hand down. So if Mara is chosen as the candidate that will, in effect, fulfill DT’s alleged reported deathbed wish.

The Choice of Mara as the DLP candidate for the St John bye election will mean that we would have witnessed the setting and starting up of the Thompson Dynasty, orchestrated by Thompson and put in place by the Current Prime Minister who really should know better.

Mara will not have to fight for the seat it would have been given her on a platter by her Husband on his deathbed.

The Arthur and Bradshaw example s you quote are totally dissimilar to the DT example. The seats are’nt safe ones. They are not held by a particular politician who is passing them on to his direct progeny. Bradshaw is not currently holding the seat his daughter is reputedly running for. She will have to fight hard to win it. Similarly Owen Arthur’s brother will have to again fight for a seat that is not owned by Owen.

Neither Owen Arthur nor DeLisle Bradshaw owns those seats in the same way that Thompson owned the St John seat, therefore they can’t bequeath them to anyone.

I think that if David’s rumour turns out to be true it would tell us a bit more about the strength of the current PM and set in train the brand of politics seen in Guyana and Trinidad in the past. But nowhere in the Caribbean would such dynastic politics have been so transparently effected as this DT situation.

15. JC
    rite on girl.

Check it out
    I also hear dat he tell Mara to hold de seat fa all 3 a de girls n den when de gran-girls cum long, hold it fa dem too. you in hear dah too? stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee
    ‘mountain outta a mole hill’.

just observing
    stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

16. 1. Yea right, David Thompson was very prophetic. Crime and violence and now worse under the DLP administration.

2. Should his wife run for a seat and win in St. John would make a mockery of the democratic process in Barbados.
    It’s high time we look at the question of persons not born in Barbados running for political office. Or if they’re citizens, they should only hold a Barbadian passport.

Enough said.

17. DT is alleged to have made a deathbed wish that Mara should take over the St John constituency on his death and then hold it for one of his daughters. That is dynasty building.

You hear what you say ALLEGED.

How you mean they are illogical sooooooo if the two persons mentioned on the BLP side had to win what would you say?

Mia Mottley’s father and company wasn’t heavy into politics and she followed as well as Freddie Miller.

Illogical my ass! I realise that when you all can’t get your way you decide to come with terms such as illogical, nonsensical and a whole heap of crap!

I am entitled to an OPINION! Like all of you soooooooo

STUPSE!

The Indians, Church people, White people and other religions create dynasties and nobody says one assss. But because it is ALLEGED that DT had aked his wife Mara to hold on to his dream it is a problem!!!!!

Stupse!

18. I now have read all of your comment and find it so funny ……

You think that because DT ran after the Skippa that it was easy keeping his seat? LOL

Imagine, someone being in opposition for x amount of years …….. YET ………. DOING THE BEST THAT THEY COULD in the circumstances to maintain their seat. You are telling me that was an easy task? Simplistic thinking………..

Sooooooo if I am following your logic ……. Cynthia Forde or OSA or Rawle Eastmond should not have to work as hard to maintain their seats!

Oh well at least I respect your opinion.

LOL!

19. @GoWeb et al…

Please remember that the late great DT promised Bajans he would deliver within 100 days of his successful election certain abilities for the People?

Integrity Legislation.

Freedom of Information Legislation.

It can be argued that the DLP won because of these promises.

And yet, for some reason, we are still awaiting delivery of the promises…

Hmmmm….

20. @Checkit-out

Not sure what is your definition of dynasty, our view is it is a situation associated with a monarchy.

Whatever the case in our democracy the people will have the final say.

21. @BU.David: “Whatever the case in our democracy the people will have the final say.

Agreed without question BU.David. The People will of course have the final say.

But might you agree, BU.David, that perhaps the People should be empowered with knowledge in their decisions?

22. ✪ Peter Tosh ✪ Here Comes The Judge ✪ Once Bitten ✪ Dog Teeth ✪ You Can’t Fool Me Again
    uıɐƃɐ ǝɯ looɟ ʇ,uɐɔ noʎ ✪ ɥʇǝǝʇ ƃop ✪ uǝʇʇıq ǝɔuo ✪ ǝƃpnɾ ǝɥʇ sǝɯoɔ ǝɹǝɥ ✪ ɥsoʇ ɹǝʇǝd ✪

23. Halsall
    de election in had nutton ta do wid de fack dat de electorate did fed up as shoite wid de rulin party? dem vote only based on promises? you does mek me rale sick hare? all politicians does mek promises n brek mos a dem. ya idjit.stupseeeeeeee

24. @Bonny Peppa: “de election in had nutton ta do wid de fack dat de electorate did fed up as shoite wid de rulin party? dem vote only based on promises? you does mek me rale sick hare? all politicians does mek promises n brek mos a dem. ya idjit.stupseeeeeeee

Just wondering BP…

Is there any reason you can’t speak English clearly?

Or do you refuse to speak English clearly because it benefits you?

25. Seem to me as though the silly season has begun!I have heard some shit before but none like what I am hearing these days.YOU MEAN TO TELL ME THAT DEAD MEN CAN HAVE CLOUT BY PROXY?Sorry! perhaps I got it wrong.The people of Barbados will appoint whomever they want to run their country.Mara Thompson must not be assummed incapable of being a candidate but let us see what the people decide.One thing is for sure and that is Mia Mottley will be one of the elders who will continue to hold the vote in its majority.I do not believe that politics is handed down-Politics must be in ya blood and ya must be able to deliver.
    There was a time when I saw Rawle Eastmond as a natural polititian.To sit in one of his law classes and see him teach is done effortlessly He’ a natural.He will loose his seat only if the people say so and vote so.Cynthia Ford is supreme If George Pilgrim ever think of running against her it will be another slaughter.Politics is like that.Slaughter or be slaughtered.Polititians should focus on the youth and how they can be groomed to hold office.
    On the spate of crime and its impact on the country’s economy;It is time that the various high commissions and oversees tourism boards come up with fresh game plans.There will always be crime but Barbados is still one of the safest destinations yet! Pull out all the stops!! By the way, lots of tourists seem to have this idea that Jamaica is the ‘Jam’ of the caribbeanThe question is always are you from Jamaica?

26. @Chris, Bonnie P is clearly saying

Never make a politician (aaa-aaah) grant you a favour;
    (doo-doo-doo-doo)
    They will always want (aaa-aaah) to control you forever, eh!
    (forever, forever)

27. halsall
    I have a bajan friend who took up residence in St.Lucia. She learnt patois.
    I have another friend who took up residence in Montreal. She is fluent in Francois.
    You are living in B/dos, get ya ass familia wid de bajan dialect ya p-hole.
    Stop wondering now CH n learn de dialect n stop humbuggin ma ass bout speakin propa. I in cum ta pleeze you. klownnn.

28. JC:
    “DT’s friend my foot. Mara keep it warm for Osa do!”
    Wheel again amd read my post.
    You seem to be obsessed by O$A, I wonder why.

29. @Bonny Peppa: “get ya ass familia wid de bajan dialect ya p-hole

Nos agnosco vos. Commodo agnosco nos.

30. Mara, Don’t let no BLPites change your mind or frighten you from running for the seat, we the people of St John called for you, you know you have will have the full backing of all true DEMS and i predict you will get more votes than what David got last election,you are going to beat them bad, bad, bad. Come and keep the seat until Oya ready for it in 2017. Come Mara Come!!

31. LOL. It’s really interesting the discussion generated by this article. I thought the title would be interesting, apparently I was correct.

Anyway, all the article is saying is that it’s ironic that the crime and violence is not something we in Barbados complain about……..until now. And that the only time I remember someone making a fuss about it (for whatever motive), no one thought it was an issue. That’s all.

The title is just journalistic marketing (headlines get attention, not stories) but fear not, I’m not a David Thompson “worshiper”. I respected him as politician but I don’t advocate, for example, that it was his spiritual power that caused the storm to hit us. That is folly, and I was appalled to hear it bellowed from the mouth of an M.P.

32. halsall
    now ya tawkin in ‘tongs’. dah is Latin fa ‘I love you Bonny’ or wah? stupseeeeeeeee.

33. Barbados uh come from and check-it,

I could not have agreed more with your comments. I cannot understand how a dying man could allegedly ask his wife to hold a seat for his daughter.

Can you imagine the uproar by the Dems if a Bee were to do or say this? Don Blackman when he was a Dem tried to say so about Tom Adams’ sons, no wonder they have stayed away from Barbados for so long!

Why do the Dems think that they can do anything and get away with it? Just as no one who was not born in the US can hold elective office, it is time someone looks to enact that law here. Like James Paul, too. Mrs Thompson never seemed to be that interested in politics, she seem just to be contented to support her husband not to enter elective politics.

Let St John continue to vote DLP, they have been doing so for eons, no disrespect but what have the Dems done for them? Did Mr Thompson finish the polyclinic? Remember the now famous St John Development Plan??

I heard Sir Richard Haynes say on a political platform in Carrington Village one night that there was never no such thing as a St John Development Plan. He said that on first night of the campaign, David Thompson got up and started talking about how Cabinet decided on this plan. Sir Richard said he looked at Sandi and asked him what David Thompson talking about. He said they went back to George Street and they cussed DT saying look how you starting out your career by lying. Then they had to hustle and hatch up a plan all night just to save face. He said there was never no such thing as a St John Development Plan. He said David Thompson did not have to lie as he was clearly going to win the seat. So maybe that is why nothing was ever done in St John.

That is his legacy.

As for being prophetic on crime and violence, that was only a campaign slogan hatched up by the American Jennifer Laslo…ask Hartley Henry.

Checkit-out, you know the Dems like to throw in red herrings when they have no points, I agree with you…….. how could Owen’s brother running in St Lucy or Bradshaw’s daughter running in a seat once held ions ago by her father be the same as a dying man allegedly telling his wife to hold a seat for his daughter.

Dems’ logic, eh?

34. I have absolutely nothing against Mara running in St John as she is clearly qualified to do. I would be surprised if she were not a Naturalized Barbadian Citizen and so has every right on her own accord to be a candidate for the seat. I have nothing against a qualified naturalized Barbadian running for any seat in Barbados no matter which country she originally came from.

What I have a problem with is the idea that David Thompson might have willed the seat to Mara and then Oya and then who knows by virtue of a deathbed wish.

The red herring of the people of St John being the ultimate deciders is just that. Everyone knows that if the DLP put up a red herring to run in St John in ordinary times it would win. What do you think is going to happen now when the BLP has shot itself in the foot and the DLP propaganda machine has almost beatified David Thompson and interred his bones in St John. At least Barrow had his ashes spread over the Caribbean. I think He impressed on his followers that he did’nt want to be deified but DT was evidently a man of a different mettle.

It will be a massacre in St John. Whoever carries the flag for the DLP will possibly get a huge margin there and if Mara runs, with the additional hype and sympathy about her late husband and the work that she has personally done in St John, the margin could possibly the biggest ever recorded in a Barbados election.

That rumour about DT’s deathbed wish for his family to carry on did’nt come out of the BLP propaganda machine. They were too busy at the time fighting amongst themselves. It came out of the DLP.

The one good thing about the recent history of political dynasty building in the Caribbean is that they do not seem to survive one generation. But Thompson appears to have been planning ahead to the extent of planning for Mara to be used as a placeholder for his daughter Osa when she reaches the stage of political maturation. That BU David is dynasty building.

35. Enuff | December 3, 2010 at 9:54 AM |
    It amazes me that no one is appalled that a MP could ‘will’ his parliamentary seat to his wife then daughters.
    =====================================
    Where is the truth is this statement. I can’t find it? does it exist?

36. @checkit

Don’t agree with you if the ‘alleged’ death bed wish is true. It is a safe seat yes but if Mara expresses an interest and her nomination is ratified by the DLP Executive the system would have worked. Bear in mind she then would become a representative in the lower house, one among many. When one speaks of a dynasty it is more about ‘rulers’ which can only manifest itself in a monarch. In other words even if Mara were to be elected that single act would not confer enough power/authority to be considered a ruler. It seems you have defined dynasty by the fact generations of Thompson are elected in St.John. Where we disagree is in the ‘power’ the Thompsons would have if such were to occur.

37. This article and its author are DISMISSED !
    The Author is ordered to turn up at Glendairy Prisons ,today Saturday December 4, 2010 by 6 pm to begin a 10 year sentence of Hard , Hard , Hard Labour plus solitary confinement.
    Try running and hiding see what happens to your ass.

38. Go Web
    I agree with you, I can’t believe in this 21 century, bajans seems to be worshipping a person, a simple person just like you and me. The very person would have blushed but tell these supporters they are wrong in what they are doing.
    J.C
    Whether you like it or not DT was my friend, the point is HE IS DEAD and life goes on. THe same thing happened to my father and mother and to me they were more important than DT. I don’t or wouldn’t be a political tout like you and the others to be someone’s friend. You said I’m a supporter of OSA, well let me tell you something, if Sen Benn really works hard, with assistance from his party, he can beat OSA in St. Peter. I Say it as I see it and if you have a problem with that, then, that is out of my control, I pity you.

39. Why do we allow politics to divide us to the extent we descend so low in debate?

Please appreciate the politicians all get along in the dinner room. Some are family.

40. @ Adrian Hinds

“After Mara, me” – Barbados Today November 10, 2010, the same newspaper that carried the story about the late PM delivering an hour plus long speech from his death bed.

By the way, my statement was clearly in future tense meaning possibility.

41. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

The DLP is trying to make David Thompson a saint because they are so desperate for anything that will make Bajans associate the DLP with something other than hardship and economic mismanagement.

David Thompson was a decent man and a patriotic Bajan. No I did not agree with many of his policies for running Barbados and I could be more harshly critical but I won’t. He did what in his view he thought was best. Right now, he is in a better place.

The pack of jokers that we have, have for the last six months stood behind the excuse that their leader was sick, so somehow nothing could be done about pretty much anything. They no longer have that excuse.

They have tried to cannonise Mr. Thompson because if they can somehow wrap the DLP in his memory they think that it will shield their inaction for the last three years from criticism.

Even now they use a campaign slogan from a failed campaign to somehow say “Well the Bee’s rubbished this statement but it seems to be coming true”. Crime statistics show that the statement so far has not been prophetic. Yes there have been some horrific high profile crimes but crime rates in Barbados have been low.

However we can expect them to rise as Bajans struggle under the impositions of the new Chris Sinkler budget. Bajans have been made poorer by a government that has dramatically increased the tax burden, while not cutting spending.

So much for “cost of living, cost of living, cost of living”

42. My name is not Sylvan
    Most of what you said is true, except at the very end. The budget delivered, as far as I’m concerned, was headed in the right direction but I would have liked to see more done to the M.P’s from both sides of the house, with the Gov’t M.P’s leadeing the way. Stop flying 1st class and fly business class instead, take a 10% reduction in salary and offer the opposition to accept a 5% reduction too, as they too are responsible for our economic situation, phase out the high end vehicles that the Gov’t depts use. Methods like these would show the populace that the government is serious about restructuring this economy. Both parties are responsible for this dilemma, the BLP, especially in their last 5 years in office and the DLP by sharing the fatted calf. Remember the lavish Independence Shows at the Garrison over the last two years, big fete just to hand over a few keys in Six Roads, big fete to hold a retreat for the youth, among other wastage during a time of deep recession. The oblect of the budget was corrct, the method may be aq little offtrack. Bajans have been living above their means for too many years and at some time reality MUST step in. I congratulate Mr Sinckler and the DLP for taking the bull by its horns, maybe they will be hurt by it, but it had to be done, as I have stated earlier in another blog.

43. @The Scout

There is merit in your last comment. It is not the size of the cost savings more the message it would have sent to the nation that we are in this together.

44. @Prodigal Son

Just as no one who was not born in the US can hold elective office, it is time someone looks to enact that law here.
    The above is a downright lie, essentially the US law states that no foreign born citizen is ineligible to hold the Office of President. The original law was amended to exempt the children of born of US diplomats and servicemen on duty overseas from its provision. John Mc Cain was born in Panama while his father was serving in the US Navy and thus was able to run for President.

The Governors of California and Michigan were born in other countries; Arnold Schwarzenegger in Austria and Jennifer Granholm was born in Canada. There are countless other foreign born nationals serving in various US legislatures.

If you can’t get such basic information correct it tells me that the rest of your post(s) is just plain political posturing.

45. David was right. It’s the Guyanese. The Guyanese!

46. simply anonymous Avatar

ya all bajans are real stupid. a man on his death bed, about to cross from one world to the next – would have thoughts of politics on his mind? stupesssssssssssss. get real – only a jackass could come up with something so infantile as “David Thompson telling his wife to hold the St. John seat for their daughter”. and to make matters worse, you that are suppose to have a modicum of common sense jumping on the bang wagon and running with it. Get a life, you’re all pathetic

47. The above should be “no foreign born citizen is eligible” etc.

48. @ Bonny Peppa

You gun ha to explane to CH the difrence tween riting n speeking. On de blogs, we does be riting. On de fone, face to face or tru de winda we does be speeking. he, he, he!

@ Under-Disguise

Weh you now come from? We n got nuh more Glendairy in Bubaduss. Um bin bun down long time since. We prison now call Dodds! You musse bin in stasis.

49. If the DLP members allow the Thompson family to occupy the St. John seat for generations to come that is up to them. The reality of the situation is that whoever runs in St. John for the DLP will win…until the people of St. John wise-up and stop being puppets for any one political party.

I’m more looking forward to the next general elections when I believe the DLP will be removed from office. I’m still waiting on that integrity legislation that was one of the main reasons for the DLP getting elected to office. As it stands right now I would rather have a pilfering party in office that knows how to manage the economy, than one which claims to be innocent and caring but does have a clue how to get things done.

50. If the DLP members allow the Thompson family to occupy the St. John seat for generations to come that is up to them. The reality of the situation is that whoever runs in St. John for the DLP will win…until the people of St. John wise-up and stop being puppets for any one political party.

I’m more looking forward to the next general elections when I believe the DLP will be removed from office. I’m still waiting on that integrity legislation that was one of the main reasons for the DLP getting elected to office. As it stands right now I would rather have a pilfering party in office that knows how to manage the economy, than one which claims to be innocent and caring but doesn’t have a clue how to get things done.