Submitted by Looking Glass

Fallacious diagnoses, especially those made by the morally suspect, beget fallacious remedies. Some politicians laden with infirmities see them as natural, even noble qualities. Like a beast of burden laden with deficits of the past they shift the burden to the other side. And so Lord Arthur, cackling with malignant pomposity, tells the Conference the present government mismanaged the public finance “on a scale without precedence… …one that will take an extraordinary effort to fix.” Among other things his government paid the bills, rescued the country from economic distress, and generated a surplus which the present regime turned into a deficit (Advocate 11/14/2010). Can a person or group of persons mismanage or control what wasn’t there? Comic books stupid without pretence make more sense.

In assessing economic performance we need to grasp historical facts. Without them the facts become distorted and biased. The national budget is forced into fiscal deception leaving us with a false picture. According to Barbados is Bankrupt (4/22/ 06) the national debt had risen from $2 to $4 billion. Elsewhere it was said that the debt had been “narrowed debt to 6% of GDP in 2006-2007”. If that were the case sustainability would not have been a problem. The IMF (2006) Report would not have projected debt at 75% of GDP by 2011, the 2008 Report would not have noted the “75% likelihood the debt ratio will exceed current levels,” and the 2009 recommendations would have been quite different. Substantial ongoing GDP decline and borrowing mega billions by the current regime would be required in order to increase the debt ratio from 6% to 75% in just three years.

Fiscal deficit does not address the total national debt (TND) which happens to include the sum total of “all-budget” loan guarantees and contingencies. In 2009 the regime’s share of the $64 bn TND amounted to no more than $3bn (Indebtedness: No End In Sight). Given our static economy it is unlikely the current debt (which will increase) can/will be retired in say twenty years. As was noted in Walking On Thin Air we will be looking at a large black mass sitting on the edge of serfdom.

That the country was a “royal mess” long before the global meltdown was a guarded secret. The IMF 2009 Report focused on the “impact of the global recession” options and priorities to “weather the crisis,” not the cause of our precarious state. The practice of borrowing to shore up reserves, treating the borrowed funds as revenue, spending it on largely non-income generating projects and borrowing again is evidence of both non-sustainability and incompetence (Economist and the Bank Report). Previous Central Bank reports made little or no mention of the debt or deficits and almost nothing about employment and revenue. According to an official the debt was not a problem…..The “island’s financial system and overall economy “were not in crisis.” (8/14/09) Little wonder the 2008 Report noted the “weakness in statistical information (and that) coverage and transparency of data on public service entities capital accounts transactions needed to be improved.”

Under Lord Arthur we witnessed an explosion of debt, fiscal deficits, corruption as never before and loss/privatization of our most valuable assets (Port, Airport and the National Bank). To date we are the only government in the world to dispose of its national bank. In keeping with ‘tradition’ the IMF 2006 Report endorsed the government “intention to further privatize tourism (Gems gone)…and identification of potential assets that could be divested in the near term (as well as )improvement in the buying and selling of real estate.” A more ambitious plan for adjustment and structural reform was recommended.

After 14 years they are no industrial accomplishments to serve as a basis for take off, no non-cyclical job generating industry, no purposeful additions to fuel the economy beyond the vagaries of tourism, without diversity innovation and production modes, without comparative advantage and no real surplus. The country was left more dependant and susceptible to external shock and definitely not self-sustaining.

The claim that he left a surplus is at best a bad joke. Something is radically wrong with a government in surplus who couldn’t pay pensions on time, keep the hospital stocked with penicillin, or repair the West Wing of Parliament which was paid for by an English company, and borrowed a billion plus to build the new non-income/job generating Law Courts. In real terms what he left was a devastating surplus of debt, huge fiscal and social deficits. The IMF 2006 Report noted the “lack of scope for development and vulnerability to external shocks,” and the need to “address macro-economic imbalances including a high level of public debt, large fiscal and external accounts deficits and declining international reserves” in order to achieve sustainability.

I have seen “all things that are done under the sun and behold all is vanity.” (Ecclesiastes) Fictitious accounting, write-off of loans to cronies and ‘Klico’ apart, values were leveraged and morality subordinated to personal wealth and vanity in the form of Swiss and other bank accounts, foreign properties, and major share-holdings under surrogate names in the local ‘Oil Company’…….Extreme vanity took the form of a chartered jet and champagne dinner for the top six to New York at a cost of I believe $30,000.00. The company had to threaten legal action to get paid.

Given the above it is heresy to even imply that the economy under Lord Arthur was not in crisis before the global meltdown, that he rescued the perishing, left a surplus and that the present regime pushed the country into deficits. True the economy was and is in prolong rock bottom regression, but the present regime in spite of its shortcomings cannot be held liable; and as stated elsewhere “cannot water the garden with an empty bucket.”

One cannot solve today’s problems with the solutions of yesteryear. A return to power of the man who, even today, advocates sale of the remaining BNB shares and who accommodated ‘Klico’ spells doom for the country. All was lost a few months ago when the man attempted to meet with visiting Royalty and was unceremoniously “escorted” away from the gate.

Things would have been quite different today had the late PM told the people exactly what he inherited and requested the UK to undertake a forensic study (Candles Under The BED). Certain foreign and other bank accounts would be in dire jeopardy, Lord Arthur would have gone into hiding and his party laid to rest. Restructuring and macro-economic imbalances would have been addressed and help underway.

We have neither guns nor butter with which to weather the storm. The greatest good the present PM could do for the people and the Party would be to have the UK, not a ‘local’ entity do the forensic study. Be assured they will be happy to oblige. It is not too late and about the only way left to save the black mass from servitude. But would he do it; or are they some things to be kept hidden?

1. Phew…I’m, lost!

Is this the second resurrection of the PDC?

2. St George's Dragon Avatar

I was always told that you should write simply, so people can understand what was being said.
    That means plain English (or Bajan).
    When did anyone in the street say “yesteryear” to you.
    Doing anything else makes the message more difficult to understand.

3. Politics
    Phew-you’re embarrassed not lost. I would be too. Phewww.

Yardbroom
    Eloquent, as usual. Doan min’ de piss-pots. They’re many on board.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhh, Happy Independence my dawlinks.

4. Thompson did say that he would initiate forensic audits of some operations but fiddled and dawdled while “Rome” burned and the opportunity was lost. I believe the present PM has a great chance to strike while the “iron is hot” and get the ball rolling on these audits.

If Stuart really wanted to “catspraddle” anyone he would time any announcement of the audits with a reading of the Integrity legislation..

5. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

The usual wild allegations and vague nebulous statements of wrongdoing.

“True the economy was and is in prolong rock bottom regression, but the present regime in spite of its shortcomings cannot be held liable; ”

As is typical of the DLP they have no responsibility for anything. “It’s all the BLP’s fault!!!” they cry, almost three years into their term.

They have been running the country for three years, and they still seek to justify their non performance by blaming the BLP.

The BLP never threw up it’s hands and abdicated responsibility for running the Barbados economy.

They never borrowed money for current expenditure.
    They never blamed anyone else for their problems, they never abandoned their manifesto, they got on with the job of running the country.

This current lot of jokers is still trying to run a government on smears and innuendo. That might wash when you are in opposition, but when you are in government you are judged on what you DO, not what you say.

6. What a load of crock. How does this change the fact that it is people like you who advised this gov’t badly on the budget? How does this change the fact that assessments of the economy by rating agencies were positive under Arthur, negative under Thompson, and not just baout the ciris but about how gov’t is handling the crisis. Who else in the region was downgraded? the DEMS problem is not Arthur it is bad governance and ignorance as to how to manage the economic affairs of B’dos. Use your energy to solve that, it would be more helpful to the country at this time

7. man stop calling the man name arthur arthur arthur. i am tired of it. tired !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    so much talk talk talk and no action from those who talk.look for creative ways to advance the country. the only thing coming from your lips is arthur arthur arthur

8. Bajan Truth

You didn’t rebut anything the man posted, all you said was that it was “a load of crock” and tried to get in your talking points about the ratings decline. Why should I believe you and not him?

If you paint a termite infested house it will look good for a little while but sooner or later the rot will be exposed and it will crumble around you. He wrote about an IMF Report of 2006 which detailed a high level of public debt, “large fiscal and external account deficits” and; “declining external account reserves” .Fictitious accounting etc. BTW didn’t the Auditor General also report that some accounts had debits recorded as credits? That is called creative accounting.

Anyway I know what your patented answer will be, turn everything over to the “Natural Governing Party” aka the BLP after all didn’t your new and former leader utter words to the effect that he would never want the DLP to take the reins of power again?

9. We have been hearing about Arthur’s mismanagement even before the election. After three Budgets, I think it is about time Looking Glass tell us what impact the policies of the CURRENT government has had on our economy.

10. @Bajan Truth

You obviously don’t agree with Looking Glass but to post your comment which gives the impression Barbados in this region is the only country with rating agency downgrades is false. In fact many of the OECS countries have entered IMF programs including Jamaica.

11. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

“It’s that nasty BLP that screwed things up!”

“oh you aren’t buying that???? ummmm…… oh! I know! I know!!!”

“It’s the recession’s fault!!!”

Next we will hear it is the civil servants, then we will hear about how it is the voters being “unsophisticated”

We have a DLP supporter who wants to tell us what the BLP’s alleged private jet rental cost, but still won’t tell us what the quid pro quo for the CLICO jet transport was.

You may talk about debt under the BLP but you can drive around the country and see the capital projects that we took debt on for. Tell us about the debt to pay for current expenditure Mr. Looking Glass.

While we are on the subject of debt, it was widely accepted the the structure of Barbados’ debt portfolio under the BLP was predominantly in local currency and had foreign exchange risk. The DLP’s forays into the loan markets have been overseas and have significantly raised portfolio’s the exposure to exchange risk.

“Previous Central Bank reports made little or no mention of the debt or deficits and almost nothing about employment and revenue.”

Actually this is a lie, the format of the CBB report is unchanged from what it is now. The single digit unemployment figure was widely trumpeted by the BLP. Reports on deficits were a standard part of the Central Bank Report. The DLP is once again lying through it’s teeth.

The policy of corporatisation of the Port and Airport did not change the ownership of those facilities, and looking glass knows this. It is a fact that under the BLP financial statements were laid in the house of parliament for these entities. This is another case of how the DLP makes things up as they go along. They are trying to run the government by smear and innuendo.

I could continue on in this vein Sargeant, but I agree with Bajan Truth, it is a far better use of time to call this wordy, bloated propaganda piece what it is.

12. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

I correct myself…..

While we are on the subject of debt, it was widely accepted the the structure of Barbados’ debt portfolio under the BLP was predominantly in local currency and had LIMITED foreign exchange risk. The DLP’s forays into the loan markets have been overseas and have significantly raised portfolio’s the exposure to exchange risk.

Ahh still in Independence Bank holiday mode

13. @ My Name Is Not Sylvan

i must admit that I am baffled at what is being advanced as logic by the ruling geriatric & ARROGANT brigade of the BLP.

Last week members of this tired, stale geriatric brigade outfit tried to convince Barbadians that Irene Sandiford-Garner could not beat George Payne even in a swing.

Those silly members of the geriatric brigade were not even aware of what they were saying.

In 2003 Owen Arthur was the Prime Minister of Barbados. His brother was running in the constituency next door (St. Lucy) and even though being PM who purports that there is a clamour for him and even with a swing towards the BLP – the mighty Owen Arthur could not get his brother to win in St. Lucy.

And yet, these jokers are saying that Irene could not win with a swing, when with an even bigger swing and despite all the rumour of there being a clamour for him, Owen Arthur as PM could not land his brother in the constituency next to his?

These argument, as advanced by your geriatric brigade cannot help Barbados.

You are tired and stale: change yourself. IN ITS PRESENT FORM, THE BLP IS TIRED, STALE, NAGGING, ARROGANT AND QUESTIONABLE. CHANGE YOURSELF! YOU REPRESENT SOMETHING WHICH THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS DO NOT FIND ACCEPTABLE.

Even your membership rebelled about the electoral fraud within your outfit.

PUTTING $75,000 INTENDED AS CAMPAIGN FUNDS FOR THE BLP – INTO ONE’SPERSONAL BANK ACCOUNT OR RIGGING ELECTIONS TO GET POWER, IS NOTHING TO SMILE ABOUT.

BUT WHEN IT REACHES A STAGE WHERE HAITI HAS HIGHER STANDARDS ON ELECTIONS BEING FREE AND FAIR AND FREE OF FEAR, THAN THE BLP, YOU KNOW THE BLP IS IN TROUBLE AND BARBADOS IS STEARING A CRANKY DICTATOR AND A CRANKY DICTATORSHIP IN THE FACE..

14. @My Name Is Not Sylvan

We have discussed at length the issue of domestic debt in Barbados which was located to ‘Transfers and Subsidies’. The government’s commitment to keep the civil servants employed which we understand increased from 21 thousand to 30 thousand since 94 is responsible. Not saying there is not room to shave a few million here and there.

Clarify if BU is wrong.

15. Here is another question:

If the economy now need restructuring as stated by Owen Arthur, then why was the Public Service increased from 21 thousand to 30,000 between 1994 and 2007?

What new functions were they playing since there were no new sectors or structure?

16. My Name Is Not Sylvan Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan

Ahh Bas…

I was wondering when you would show up.

not being able to debate on the facts you now take the rather immature tack of name calling. Don’t you think it’s a bit juvenile for a debating style?

I will happily concede that St. Lucy was a safe DLP seat. Its history is clear. You really should treat Mr. Kellman better, for he is the only living person in your party to have survived that election. You really do treat him quite badly.

But then again, that’s what you DLP crowd do well.

When you have something other than name calling or old tired smears and innuendo to debate on we will talk.

Oh and by the way Irene still has to look to herself for her failures. 🙂

A deliberate policy to keep civil servants employed is indeed responsible. That is what Owen Arthur did in the recession of the early 2000’s. He said that was what he was doing, he suffered the ratings downgrade that came with doing that, he kept a tight rein on expenses otherwise.

He never shirked responsibility for those deficits and they were part of a clearly enunciated strategy. At every point when he spoke on the deficit it was framed by “this is the “counter cyclical” strategy we are pursuing”. (remember those words?) Investors and people in general had confidence the situation was under control .

Contrast that with an administration who’s first act is to skyrocket government expenditure, then they run high deficits, they then borrow heavily on foreign markets to finance those deficits. They do not implement measures that they propose for themselves (taxes that are not thought through, or just no implementation). They then blame the previous administration for everything (including the deficits that occurred after the previous administration left office). Then they wake up one morning to say “Oh S**te!” and institute draconian revenue raising measures while at the same time maintaining previous high expenditure levels (paying people to walk through constituencies and to put up road fatality signs on roads)

One scenario is a strategic policy initiative, the other is a recipe for chaos.

17. @ David
    You sure ‘transfers and subsidies’ were to keep ‘civil servants’ employed or to employ public officers?

18. FYI, in the nearly three years that the DLP has been in office the size of the public officers has risen by 14% to 34200.

St Lucy is like St John, those people will vote for anyone who comes under a DLP banner, so arguing that Owen Arthur was next door and his brother could not win St Lucy gives one the level of the thinking of DLP supporters, like Bajan Panday.

Continuing to blog everyday on Owen Arthur is so petty and empty. Dont you have anymore to say? Why was Dennis Lowe moved from Social Care only after a few months? Why is Michael Lashley referred to as Mr 5 and 10?

How old was Errol Barrow when he came back in 1986? Was he a geriatric then? He had geriatrics with him then, did you call them geriatrics then? Deal with the issues and forget the personal attacks. This is blood sport for you all, eh?

Can you really say that the DLP has in this group quality people? eg…. Taan Abed? Kenny Best? Dennis Lowe? Michael Carrington? Michael Lashley? John Boyce? Chris Sinckler? James Paul? Donville Inniss? Steve Blackett? John Hutson? Esther Byer-Suckoo?

Tell Bajans where the money has gone since you all came into office, has it all been shared out? Show Bajans what you all have done with the money! Drive around Barbados and anyone who is not blind can see what the BLP has done.

With the projected fiscal defit for 2009/10 to be $712.9 million as compared to $396.9 in 2008/9, tell Bajans what this money was spent on and stop blaming the BLP for your sheer incompetence.

The problem is that the DLP did not know what they were doing, wait and see, in fact I believe that they were surprised that they won the government and hence they did not know what to do.

During the first year, all they did was tour, tour and more tours after each reshuffle. Remember the 2008 Inter School’s sports, all the ministers were up there at the stadium. Between then and the second year, they began to travel and travel and more travel! Then Thompson got ill and nobody did anything, the country was on autopilot. You are the government, govern and stop looking for scapegoats.

Barack Obama came to office with great pomp and pageantry and was hailed as a messiah. All he did was to blame George Bush each and every time. “They drove the car in the ditch, he said, they cant get back the keys, if they want to get back, they have to sit in the back”. Look what happened to the great Obama in two short years. Job approval down under 40% and lost terribly in the mid-term elections.

DLP suppporters, this should be a lesson for you! Keep shouting that the BLP is a geriatric party meanwhile the economy is tanking!! The people of Barbados have always turned to the BLP after the DLP destroys the economy/

Even with the swing, the BLP still held on to ten seats, never mind the political prostitute left.

19. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

Prodigal Son, you are a dangerous man! You worse than Mike Tyson! You just not only bit the ears off Bajan Panday and company, you bit off limbs!

By the way, on the front page of the Nation today, I see the PM is wearing a wedding band on the finger it’s supposed to be on. I am not malicious or anything, but what is the marital status of our PM? Is this supposed to be some big secret?

20. @Enuff

Both governments pad the state payroll we agree.

@My Name Is Not Sylvan

The difference here which you maybe not be factoring has been the protracted nature of the global recession and the uncertainty which has affected planning.

21. The BLP insiders on this blog should dig up and post Arthur’s speech at the Oistins public meeting last election.

22. @ Barbados Uh Come From!

By the way, on the front page of the Nation today, I see the PM is wearing a wedding band on the finger it’s supposed to be on. I am not malicious or anything, but what is the marital status of our PM?

As I see it, here is Mr. Stuart’s status:

He is loyal, decent, honest and is a man of integrity. He was never power-hungry.

He is clean and to the best of my knowledge, has not put funds intended as campaign contributions into his personal bank account.

He is not having an affair with no one at the PM’s office, and is therefore a man Barbados can trust.

However, he is not the type of leader corrupt people feel should be leading Barbados.

23. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

Still no answer to my question. Is the PM’s marital status supposed to be a big secret and if so , why?

Was the Nation being provocative in selecting that photograph … do they also want to know, but are reluctant to ask?
    This should really not be a big thing advising Barbadians about his status. Why this attitude in developing mystique around the issue?

24. I get the impression that the PM is not married. He seems to love his sister dearly and is regularly accompanied by her. By the way what is the issue of his marital status?????

Is this question going some where?

25. The simple fact is that PM Stuart is clean and the BLP is now trying to pin smut on him.

My advice to Mr. Stuat is: keep your hands clean. Do not put campaign funds into your bank account and when you are at work, keep your ZIP up.

26. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

@Bajan Panday
    “The simple fact is that PM Stuart is clean and the BLP is now trying to pin smut on him.”

Pan, how can one possibly pin smut on our P.M. by making a simple query as to whether he is married or not? Isn’t marriage one of, if not the most noblest of God’s institutions?

What is it about this that is getting your underwear in a twist Mr. Pan?
    After all, our P.M. IS wearing what appears to be a wedding band, and I don’t recall ever seeing his wife in a newspaper photograph, or indeed any mention ever being made of her. That is just a simple observation ……. no malice or smut-making intended.

This is the last time I am raising this, and if the information is not forthcoming, I will just take it that Mr.Stuart is married, but does not want anybody to know officially.

27. barbados uh come from
    what de fcuk dat got ta do wid you if he marrid or not? ya malicious bitch. Owen did marrid? dah stop he from phoopin Mary, Jane n Sue or Tom, Dick n Harry? stupseeeeeeeeee. Looka, offa my PM fa ma do.
    I gun propose ta he. You want a ‘invite’? not fa shoite.

FRUNDEL STUART, I LOVE YOU BADDDDDDDDDDDD.
    (propose ta ma nah)

28. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

Well, Ms. Bonny Peppa, assuming that Hon. Freundel would even consider being in your presence, I would advise our P.M. to intensely, vigorously, even violently, refuse your proposal of marriage!

The main consideration would be of course your utter and complete unsuitability. And could you imagine the MASSIVE budget required to PURCHASE enough mouth wash, spray deordorants, and corrosive disinffectants, to get your mouth clean?

Now let’s get serious! I urge you DLP BLOGGERS to go quickly to Clyde Mascoll’s Nation Column today 3rd December, 2010. Read and study it attentively. It’s looking to me like we are headed for another 1972, 1993 DLP SCENARIO.
    Owen, get your extensive life saving resources ready. Barbados will soon need you at Bay Street again! These fellows we have now don’t know what they are doing!

29. As stated before given the length of time the government had to analyze the impact of the measures contained in the budget there are too many errors which have had to be corrected.
    Bear in mind this is a delayed budget.

There is a difference between tweaking and blatant errors.

30. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

Momentarily Off Topic …………

Is it true that Mathew Farley, Principal of Garrison Secondary has written the DLP top brass declaring an interest in running for that party in St.John bye-election?

Not denying Mathew his constitutional right, but if it is true, seems that VOB 929 continues to be an acclaimed incubator for call-in programme moderators who wish to go on to be : election candidates, Senators with ministerial responsibilities, board chairmen, or any type of position offered by the DLP administration!! mmmmmm!

Wonder if VOB would approve me as a “PRETEND UNBIASED” moderator while really being an undercover DLP operative? I wouldn’t mind going on to get a job at George Street as a cleaner in the conference room where their “lies and nasty ennuendo factory” is located.

31. @ Barbados Uh Come From

That is the same Matthew Farley that likened the day of the late PM’s death to that of Christ’. Few weeks later he was declaring an interest in the St. John seat. Mere coincidence or political prostitution?

32. barbados a come from
    LOLL. ya mek ma laff rale hard. ya mean dat ya hate de Peppa summuch dat ya want ta deny ma de oppatunity a being a ‘firs-lady’? dah cannnnn be rite a’tall. wah I evva do you, besides ‘buse’ ya stink? you is a rale bad-minded, jellus-minded dog. you want me ta propose ta you but dah whun in wukkin. I wantz Fruendel not anudda boy. you tink dat i wood cah dis bad behavyah ta Illaro? No,no,no. Bonny got protacawl. ya betta kno ya nasty place.

33. Enuff
    Looka, i had enuff a you now. shut ta f*#+ up now. wah rong wid Farley havin a genuin intris in runnin fa de seat?stupseeee, go n bathe do.

34. Is this news for real? I always thought that Farley was B-ish LOL!

35. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

Bonny Hot Peppa, you mean that you are not even going to check first if Hon. Freundel single, or at least married and irreconcilably separated, before making a move on the man?

NO, NO, NO, I don’t want you, so don’t propose to me!
    And I don’t hate you either …. I just hate your behaviour.

DID YOU READ Clyde’s Mascoll’s column as I suggested to you? I think you need to be re-educated, and that is a good place to begin right now.

36. I cannot understand how anyone can say that this was a good budget, there are too many mistakes and the corrections which speaks of ignorance or incompetency bearing in mind this budget was to be presented by David Thompson, so said by the new PM at their Annual Conference in August 2010.

Only today Stetson Babb was lamenting the devastating effect the budget will have on the middle class. He urged the Minister of Finance to come on the programme to clear up some issues, you know he ducked out! But when they needed VOB to further their agenda, they were on in a flash.

The joker for a finance minister has now reversed the Dec 1 implementation date on the following:
    * the removal of tax free allowances until the new FY
    * increase in the hotel VAT on room service
    * the removal of tax free status on credit union savings
    What madness! This means that they still will be short on revenue this FY.

Hence is it true that they approach Emera Inc to sell the NIS shares in BL&P? I would like to know as the spokesperson said they were approached by Barbadians and I have a few shares and I did not approach anyone. I asked a friend and was told the same thing. Something’s not right, could it be that since they could not get what they wanted from BNB, they now have gone to Emera bearing in mind how they are using up NIS funds.

Barbados uh come from:
    Did you hear that the builders have run into problems with the Warrens buildings? I am waiting for them to blame the BLP for costs over runs!

Matthew Farley cant be serious though, if this is true. I have emailed VOB on many occasions on their choice of moderators and spoken to the producer. Anyway, so far they all have turned out to be less than stellar performers in the government. Try as I may I cant get them to get rid of Tony Marshall, I just cant stand his blatant bias and VOB knows this.

And just for information, the PM is not married but he has a lovely daughter to whom he is very devoted.

37. barbados a come from
    ef memry serves me rite, wasn’t Owen marrid to first wifey n probably reconcilable til secun wifey start tekkin he dick-tation? wah mek me any diffrunt?
    you doan want me? well, all gun say ta dat is, ‘ya doan kno wah ya missin’. doan tek back ya words now, sorry. you hate my behaviour? you expeck ta like evry possibl ting ’bout a person? is sumtingz bout you dat peeple doan like needa, so wah?
    I in get chanc ta read de papah yet. but who tell you i wood be intristed in anyting Mallet wid teet got ta sah? you brave anuff. stupseeeeeeeeeeee.

38. Not sure about this business about shareholders reaching out to Emera because according to this report the company is doing a similar thing in the Bahamas.

39. Barbados Uh Come From! Avatar
    Barbados Uh Come From!

David from BU …… Emera’s representative and spokesperson(a lady) said QUITE CLEARLY that Barbados shareholders approached her company to enquire about selling their shares!

The fact that Emera is also doing a buy-out in the Bahamas, doesn’t mean that they were not contacted by people here in Barbados. She was very emphatic in her explanation about how negotiations began.

Sometimes David, I think you are a rather naive person, and you always seem to sympathise with views in full support of the present government. Why are you like that? You should moderate this blog in an unbiased fashion. I would hate to think you are a PHONY MARSHALL too.

Use your clout to get the information from PHONY, the man at National Insurance’s “hellum”, about Emera’s high-price offer, so that you could then, a la Phony Marshall, “LET THE PUBLIC KNOW”

40. @Barbados Uh Come

All BU has done is to introduce some additional info. The fact. An Emera paid Corporate Communication Specialist stated shareholders approached them means nothing unless we know who. Suppose it was a BL&P employee? BU finds in interesting Emera has adopted a bullish position in Bahamas and Barbados.

BU maybe naïve by demonstrating appreciation for the fact companies are motivated to spin public messages. Yes we will have positions sympathetic to the DLP government, so what?