A man carries a child while wading across a flooded street during the passing of Hurricane Tomas in Leogane, Haiti, 05 Nov 2010 – APPhoto

There is a lot we could write about who is to be blamed for the late notification of Storm TOMAS which wreaked havoc on Barbados last weekend. Funny enough the other islands to the North have had more time to prepare but it did not seem to have prevented lives and property from being loss. What was easily ascertained from listening to and observing Barbadians before, during and after Storm TOMAS was the high level of lethargy, complacency, even ignorance demonstrated. The ready excuse must be that Barbados has not experienced any significant weather system since Janet 1955. The folly of such a position would have been exposed two weeks earlier when heavy rains precipitated significant flooding in Barbados. Perhaps, just perhaps TOMAS would have served as a wake-up call for Barbadians who have become fat and lazy caused by a mindset ‘dah cyan happen hey’.

The fact that perennial sufferer Haiti was spared the brunt of Hurricane TOMAS is little consolation. “Haitian officials say before Tomas weakened into a tropical storm, hurricane rains triggered flooding and mudslides that killed at least six people.” Barbadians may also want to understand the plight of St. Lucians who as far as we are aware have had no running water for the past week because of significant damage to a Dam. People also perished and hundreds of houses have been damaged or destroyed. St. Vincent has also been badly affected. Some Barbadian organizations have mobilized to provide relief to our neighbours.

Back to Haiti which is known to be the poorest country in the world if measured in economic terms. In January 2010 Haiti was hit by a devastating earthquake which has seen over a million people living in Tent Cities and many others displaced. As a consequence of the inevitable unsanitary conditions over two hundred and fifty Haitians died of Cholera last month. This is a people who know suffering.

What has been difficult to accept by BU about the Haitian Saga post-earthquake has been the failure of the international relief bodies to effectively and efficiently distribute the aid which was freely given by the world all those months ago. The suffering is too much.

The CARICOM initiative which saw former Prime Minister of Jamaica the Most Hon PJ Patterson appointed to draft a report on the way forward seems to have suffered from the accustomed CARICOM malady. In a recent address Patterson outlined the reconstruction effort  but what about the suffering NOW?

Contrast what Patterson is saying to what NGO people are saying on the ground.

Reproduced from ROK’s FB Page

Hurricane coming; earthquake not yet healed

Members of CAFRA in Haiti were desperately trying to assist people living in Camps, to find alternative places to stay, as the country was preparing for Hurricane Tomas. ‘It is an impossible task!’ was the message we received late yesterday, as members explained the frustration they felt. Over one million people are still living in squalid conditions amidst rubble and debris and most of those people have no place to go. So even as our members are desperately spreading flyers with warnings of the impending disaster, it is heart breaking to see how incapable many are, in finding alternative safe places.”

Interim Chairperson of CAFRA, Ms. Flavia Cherry expressed her frustration yesterday while speaking to National Radio in Jamaica. “From the very beginning, we have been pleading for the agencies and international NGOs operating in Haiti to focus more on critical housing and sanitation needs, including the provision of potable water. They knew that it was only a matter of time before water borne diseases such as cholera began to spread, but there appears to be no genuine will to deal with those critical issues. Instead, the country is overrun by foreigners who earn huge salaries and sit behind computers all day. They take up all the decent housing and pay exorbitant sums for three and five years of rent up front. So now the average Haitian can hardly find a decent place to live. They consume all the food but they do not seem to be moved by the plight of those who exist among them. We are grateful for those organizations that are truly making a difference, but there is no excuse for the situation that now exists.”

Ms. Cherry also lamented the fact that most of the churches and schools which previously served as hurricane shelters in Haiti were destroyed during the January 12th earthquake and this makes it even more impossible for any kind of effective evacuation to take place, as Hurricane Tomas menaces closer to the already ravaged country. “We pray that Hurricane Tomas spares Haiti,” said Ms. Cherry, “because this will be another serious human catastrophe, judging from what we suffered here in St. Lucia.”

Ms. Cherry made those comments while recovering from an accident which occurred on the day Hurricane Tomas hit St. Lucia on Saturday October 30th 2010. The vehicle was on its way to deliver emergency lights to women living alone in the north of the island, when the driver lost control of the vehicle and climbed onto the medium on the Vide Bouteille Highway. Ms. Cherry who was sitting at the back of the vehicle at the time, escaped with only minor injuries.

Hurricane Tomas left a trail of death and destruction in St. Lucia with twelve confirmed dead and several others missing from houses and cars which went down with landslides which occurred all over the island. One of the visitors to the island died when his vehicle was washed away and a 31-year old woman drowned while she was in her vehicle. .A mother and her two daughters were found in the mud and debris, while a well-known business man and his family are reported to have perished as an avalanche from a mudslide took their home down to a nearby river. The agricultural industry in the country is the worst hit with the banana industry totally wiped out and the flattening of fruit trees.

Communities all over the island are severely damaged and the village of Soufriere has been declared a disaster zone, with many areas unable to be reached as the road networks have been severely damaged and bridges impassible in some areas. In some of the worst affected communities of the south, people are wondering the streets, desperate for food and water, while some are reported as slaughtering drowned cows, despite warnings from the National Emergency Office. Hundreds of houses in this small country have been destroyed and some of the displaced people have taken refuge in shelters and in the homes of family members whose homes remain standing.

Communication remains a major challenge, especially in the areas worst affected, although today November 1st, some phone lines have been functional, including internet access in limited areas. Minister of Communications and Works, Guy Joseph, says it will be weeks until some roads in the south and west of the island will be passable. This situation leaves thousands of residents stranded and pregnant women in need of medical attention.

The Government of St. Lucia has not given an official estimate of the damage, as some areas remain impassable, but initial estimates indicate that the extent of the damage will be well over a hundred million dollars. Several schools have been severely damaged with lost roofs and major structural damage and the entire roof of the hospital in the community of Dennery took flight in the midst of the hurricane. Patients at the hospital are reported to have been carried to places of safety.

Pregnant women in impassible areas such as Trois Pitons are also reported to be carried on the backs of individuals through internal forest areas, to get to the closest medical facilities available. Unfortunately looting is also reported to be happening in some parts of the island.

Prime Minister Stephenson King has advised that St. Lucia is currently in need of regional and international help as the island struggles to deal with the havoc imposed by the strong winds and rain from Hurricane Tomas. The hurricane came like a thief in the night as islanders were expecting a simple tropical depression which rapidly developed into a hurricane, leaving many unprepared, including stranded tourists.
All the rural communities in St. Lucia are now only accessible by sea and some NGOs, including CAFRA have arranged to travel by boat on November 2nd to visit the affected areas.

The islands of St. Vincent and Barbados have also been very seriously affected by Hurricane Tomas.

Members of CAFRA are asked to note that the CAFRA office will be partially back in operation on Tuesday November 2nd and we can be reached at the following numbers:
1-758-452-3146
458-2693 and
453-1608

Persons wishing to contact Ms. Cherry directly are asked to contact CAFRA (cafra@candw.lc), as her personal email address has been inoperable for sometime now.

Floretta Louis
CAFRA St. Lucia

1. It was distressing to hear bajan gripping about little things like multichoice antenna blown off and she what it fixed soon, plaing blown down and the fowls are running around; one woman called to say that she lost 40 or 50 pairs of shoes to the water that got into her house. All this while people in St Vincent and St. Lucia are losing their lives. It took two whole days before I heard someone called and gave thanks to God for sparing Barbados from fatalities, we are very ungrateful, selfish, self-centered and arrogant people. I used to go to one of the caribbean islands during the Easter weekend and i stopped because of the stupid, arrogant way bajans would behave in other people’s country, behave as though those people are lesser than them. I keep hearing the talk that God is a bajan but one day coming soon if we continue the way we’re going we will feel the wrath of the Almighty.

2. @Scout,
    Predicting hurricanes is not an exact science.

Barbados could be hit by a hurricane anytime during any hurricane season.

God gave us brains and we need to use them.

3. @ David. Great article. I am will be getting in touch with Miss Cherry.

4. I disagree with persons telling Barbadians who are also suffering to consider people in other islands who are suffering. There are many NGOs in Haiti to do ground work. Their efforts need to be better coordinated to help the people there.

We need to stop labelling calls for improved service as complaints. If Barbadians feel that the utility companies need to improve their service in a hurricane-prone region, I feel the merit of such opinions should be examined rather than dismissed as complaints. Barbadians have been recently asked to pay more money by two utility companies here. There is a saying: to whom much is given, much is expected. Utility services serve different purposes for different people. A diabetic might need to keep his insulin at a certain temperature, another small business person operating from home might need these services to earn income. Utility companies are not absolved from being prepared for hurricanes or disasters in this tropical region.

5. @M

You should not take this particular blog out of context. People in Barbados who are suffering are being taken care of. Most people a few days after TOMAS have power and water. No lifes were loss.

6. I don’t think I took anything out of context. The headline and part of the article speaks to Bajans quibbling about Tomas. They spoke about the loss of service that meant something to them and how it has impacted on their lives. There are many districts that are still without power. Again there are many NGOs working in Haiti. We know which country was the first to go into Haiti. Perhaps their success in alleviating the Haitians’ plight needs to be measured or the agency that is responsible for coordinating the aid. Hasn’t T&T promised help for the other Islands?

7. @M

It seems you are happy with a position that people should complain for complaining sake. In Barbados the BL&P has promised full power to all by next week. The BWA was already under pressure before the storm. These utilities have so many men which have to respond to hundreds of calls. On the flip side in St. Lucia the whole country is without water because of the damage to the dam. The power companies in St. Lucia and St. Vincent have to deal with mountainous terrain etc. In those countries lifes were loss not so in Barbados. However you cut it Barbados is in a better position then the other two.

8. WEll said David.

9. No matter how bad we might have thought things were or seem to have been, the Haitians are definitely in a much worse position than many other islands including us.

Let’s give God the praise, the honor and the glory. When we think about complaining or before we complain let’s stop to think about the Haitians in their country.

10. M
    you miss de boat by miles sista. ya way off target. be careful ya doan drong. ya out ta sea by milezzzzzzzzzzzz.

11. @David,

Consider that Flavia Cherry is a St. Lucian and she left St. Lucia to seek relief for Haiti knowing that the hurricane was upon them. She left from bad to worst because her worst would be like heaven to Haiti. When she is in Haiti she sleeps on the ground like the rest.

He who feels it knows it.

12. @ROK

M’s perspective unfortunately mirrors many Barbadians and others.

There seem to be a real disconnect to what is happening in Haiti.

It is almost like people are numb to the issues affecting Haiti.

Sad, truly.

13. @M,
    In case you did not know, the Caribbean NGOs got to Haiti first. Some were already in Haiti when the earthquake struck (including Bajans). What the USA did was to prevent any further relief from reaching Haiti and sufficiently stalled the process so that it went from bad to worse, to almost irretrievable.

14. I saw the story in Nationnews about a family in Wildey. Their three houses were flattened.Nineteen family members, including sisters, brothers, cousins, aunts, children and grandchildren, are homeless.

An other Bajans complaining that they don’t have any Electricity.

15. “There seem to be a real disconnect to what is happening in Haiti. ”

If there is a disconnect it could be because two things are happening. In tough economic times people are trying to cope and having had a storm hit them, people are more concerned about their own recovery than they are about philanthropy. Perhaps if the storm had not wrecked havoc here, people might call for more efforts to assist the affected countries. Afterall they have done it in the past. Not that people don’t care, they might be more wrapped up in their own recovery at the moment.

16. We’re losing it in this country and it bothers me. It seems too many bajan or should I say persons who live in Barbados are just concern with themselves, to hell with anybody else. this was just a warning, when the real thing comes, we too will want help from any and every country. Disaster is the biggest equaliser, when rich and poor are homeless, they all sleep anywhere and eat anything from anybody.

17. Hants
    Predicting a hurricane is not an exact science, I agree but still I think the Met Office and the DEM took the whole matter lightly. For my investigations, I was told that T&T closed down from 12 noon and were preparing for a storm, while barbados was just talking about an area of disturbed weather. Even after a storm warning was given, the DEM were reluctant in opening the shelters. By the way, was it not announce by the met office earlier in the year that they equipment was now up to date and they can now give vital information much earlier? They even extended the time that they would give the island both the watch and warning; this time we got it when the storm was on our doorsteps.

18. It seeems that with all the money collected there is very little being done to help that country rebuild. I am one who felt a more viable response from all countries would have been to take in those haitians who were hardest hit by the earthquake freeing up the government and giving them enough time to rebuild the infrastucture schools hospitals etc.As of now all that is happening is more death and destruction and empty promises from those countries who had promised to gi ve. This is genocide at its worse and all governments should beashamed of themselves to sit idlly by and let this happen.These people need Homes and they are countrieswho refused to let them in. .

19. Well, we Bajans should get a REAL one next year! See how we feel after that!

I, for one, am grateful that Bim didn’t get hit that hard. I was born to Grenadian parents and most of my family were in Grenada when Ivan hit them. It took them a long time to recover, and they never were the same again.

It’s the same thing in St. Lucia, & St. Vincent, & Haiti. We Bajans have to recognize that EVERYONE is in a recession. For a disaster like that to hit is a double whammy! WHY SHOULD WE COMPLAIN WHEN WE ESCAPED WITH OUR LIVES? Can any other island say the same?

Man, we get teach a lesson and we ain’t even learnt it yet! I know i have, though! And I hope that everyone should learn the same net year, if not sooner!

20. Please view a Slide Show of how TOMAS impacted St. Lucia compliments of Doc GP.

21. David
    I can’t view de Slide Show. wah happen? it askin fa permission from owner. stupseeeeeeeeeeee.

M
    you miss de boat againnnnnnnnnnnnn. stupseeeeeeeeee.

ROK
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhh, still luv ya wid a passion. Patience is a virtue that man/woman seldom possess. I am quite lonely widout you.

Hear ye, hear ye.

i too feel dat everyone should leave Haiti and be absorbed all over de place man. Haiti is a cursed land it woul appear. Disaster afta disaster, Lawd have mercy man. How much more can these people take?

22. The problems of Haiti are so huge, that there is a feeling of despair, in contemplating what needs to be done; as Haitians continue to languish. Haiti’s problems started a long time ago, the recent earth quake and hurricane have only exacerbated the country’s woes.

Haiti’s difficulties will only be solved when an internal leader – Haitian born – can be found to galvanize the people. He/she will need courage, an astute political brain, but most of all honesty and integrity, to turn their country’s bad fortune.

International aid and support are necessary in the short term but to bring Haiti back from the brink of disaster one of its sons/daughters will have to be found. . . until that time comes it will always be tottering on the edge of an abyss.

23. Cholera deaths over 600 in Haiti. Why can’t we help these people?

24. Cholera deaths over 600 in Haiti. Why can’t we help these people?
    When one compares the response to similar disasters in other parts of the world, the conspiracy theorist among us is apt to say, “I told you so”.

25. Good question David. This comment posted on Ezili Danto’s blog is telling a serious story:

The 2008 statistics for Who show 5,143 deaths for 190,130 confirmed cases of cholera, that rounds off to 1 death per 37 cases. Haiti’s 8,138 cholera patients and 544 deaths work out to a death every 15 cases. The world must ask the question why is the Haitian strain more than twice as virulent as Who’s statistics show it should be. On the home front perhaps I have good news for you Ezili: my aunt and her husband were just up on a visit from South Carolina where they are both very active in the local tea bag movement. I was shocked to learn that they were all to aware that none of the Haitian relief ever actually reached Haiti. They of course are blaming it on Obama which I do not totally agree with but somebody needs to made culpable in this tragedy. Why not start with the president and his wife? As far as that hurricane is concerned, I am a born fisherman. The hurricane season ended weeks ago, just like there is no seismic history for Haiti. That hurricane was meant to hit Haiti and it did not. Heads are rolling at the HAARP facility east of Anchorage. If you watch the National Geographic stations on TV you might notice that they are engaged in a remorseless propaganda campaign and you may want to reconsider what you told Gibbons on the Voice of America. There will be an awakening Ezili. Their efforts to prevent it are reminiscent of a cat trying to claw its way up a slippery boat ramp with a cinder block tied to it dragging it inexorably backwards to its watery end. They wanted to cross the Rubicon now they shall find out what is on the other side.
    Jack Heart

26. @Fox Meddler
    Man you hit the nail on the head. This more looks like conspiracy than theory. While the commenter above spoke of a more virulent strain, I would say that conditions may more be the problem than the strain; the ability of people to access medical attention.

We hearing about pregnant women having to be taken on the backs of men to get to the hospital miles away. In order to ease this accessibility situation, a team of Cuban doctors set up cholera unit in the stricken areas.

27. With all of the aid that was pledged to Haiti, why is it so difficult to provide Haitians with clean water?

28. Not hard to understand Avatar
    Not hard to understand

Mr. ROK is right!

(Cross-referenced from this thread: http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/the-frozen-ark-as-it-was-in-the-days-of-noah-future-cloning-tampering-with-nature-and-mans-efforts-to-resurrect-life-from-the-primordial-shadows-of-antiquity/#comment-195435)

The cause of Haiti’s suffering is the FEARthquake machine and the poliTRICKs of israHELL and the Illuminati.

29. David

Cholera deaths over 600 in Haiti. Why can’t we help these people?
    The hurricane was an act of nature while the Cholera epidemic is man made.
    Haiti, despite its many problems has not had Cholera out break in many years. According to the CDC the strain matches one that is found in South Asia and suspicion has been focused on some Nepalese peacekeepers stationed there. Apparently the compound of these peacekeepers was located near a river and according to an AP newsman who visited the site before it was “cleaned up” the toilet facilities were atrocious and in addition to stinking to high heaven the effluent found its way to a local river. Haitians were using the same river further downstream to wash their clothes, bathe and for drinking water.
    The UN of course is trying to contain (cover up) the matter as the peacekeepers are unpopular with some elements of the community and if it is generally known that peacekeepers are responsible it would intensify efforts to get them out
    http://news.yahoo.com/s/time/20101108/wl_time/08599202998200

30. @Sargeant

As if the Haitians need more grief which should have been avoided!

31. News off the wire is starting to warn of a growing resentment by the Haitian people. The rise in Cholera deaths have Haitians beginning to question the authorities. Could this be the beginning of a people revolt? One has to admit these people have taken this crap without murmur to date.

32. Last week BU suggested the Haitians were beginning to lose patience and the conditions were ripe for public demonstration. The rumour about UN soldiers being the cause of the Cholera outbreak because they dumped their human waste upstream is beginning to take root.

http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=156897957686767&id=124361237591258

33. David

I am afraid that the citizens of Haiti are like human lab rats that are now being infected with a strain of Cholera not known in this hemisphere.

Haiti was poorly served with toilets facilities as we know them and since the earthquake things have become worse. Many people defecate in open areas and diarrhea is one of the symptoms of the illness. It doesn’t take much for this untreated discharge to make its way to the waterways and Presto! It is like a vicious circle.

Irony of ironies did you know that yesterday was “World Toilet Day”? While listening to the radio I heard two “experts” talking about the disparity in the number of public toilet spaces available for men and women in the UK and US. At some point I wanted to shout what about Haiti?

To keep my sanity I switched to a Sports station at least I know what I’ll be in for.

34. @Sargeant

The United Nations should be made on humanitarian grounds to pay a heavy price tag for what they have visited upon the people of Haiti.

35. Baby Doc returns to Haiti, does that mean Jean- Bertrand Aristede can return?