Submitted by The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC)

It has been long remarked by many living souls in  Barbados that, if Barbados were to have been sufficiently struck at any time by a tropical storm/hurricane, how a lot of homes, buildings and other properties would have been seen to be partially or wholly destroyed, primarily because of – as they would have observed it – the excessive numbers of instances, whereby there have been less than appropriate building designing undergone, whereby there have been many unsafe building techniques and practices carried out on those dwellings/buildings, or whereby there have been allowed to develop the wholly unsatisfactory conditions of many homes in the country; and how all these essential utility service companies that are here in Barbados, esp. the BL&P, would have performed so poorly in the aftermath of any such weather systems, primarily because of – as they saw it too, the very checkered history of the general out-in-the-field performances of these companies over the years.

As well, many a mortal in Barbados would long have been sounding off that, if this country were to continue indefinitely on the prevailing backwardist, exploitative, worn out euro-centric westernist development path that it is on right now, how the country could well  or would well be on the way to becoming a second rate so-called Third World developing country in the foreseeable future, primarily as a result of the many inept unprogressive anti-poor social political material financial policies and programs that have been pursued in the public and private sectors of the country over the years – and esp. as it relates to such policies and programs that have led to chronic dependence on the tourism sector for the country’s further development – and which for the fickle industry that it is, sees too many of the country’s people, their services, resources and finances being allocated to it.

And shall we – in the PDC-  add, this,  that as far as these anti-masses middle classes policies and programs are concerned, these themselves that have been and continue to be based on the reinforcement of the existence of  evil systems such as WORK, TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, REPAYABLE  INSTITUTIONAL  PRODUCTIVE LOANS, ETC.

Well, on that day of the 29 October of 2010 (Friday)  – right up to this day (Thursday, 4 November), has been a time in which many Barbadians have been fortunate to realize that those very hypotheses of those very living souls have been proven to be true!!!

For, on that first day, many Barbadians got the early news from  the Barbados Meteorological Service, as well as from various internet and local radio sources, that the country was indeed going to be impacted by a tropical storm system – Tropical Storm Tomas – which was forecast to pass just south of the island, while packing maximum recorded winds of about 65 – 70 miles per hour. Many Barbadians were also told in clear terms –  in the weather bulletins that came –  and that they should gird themselves for a substantial deterioration in weather conditions affecting the island, and that this system was intensifying very rapidly.

Anyhow, by midday on Saturday, once the storm’s eye was reported by the local met office to have passed the island, and the all clear was later given by the Prime Minister, Mr. Freundel Stuart at 2.00 pm, the evidence was there that Tropical Storm Tomas, had caused substantial damage in the country – with the roofs of hundreds of homes and buildings having been lifted,  scores of homes having been totally  destroyed, hundreds of trees and utility poles having been felled, and substantial disruption to light, water and communication services throughout much of the country, etc – in short, the millions upon millions of dollars in damage that has been done to the infrastructure of the country.

But, what has been particularly horrendous scandalous has been the supposed post-disaster restoration efforts of the BL&P, to a great extent, and the Barbados Water Authority, to a lesser extent.

With so many households and businesses still without electricity today, the country’s sole suppler of national electricity services still wants – via its public statements – to give the impression to many Barbadians, that  it has been doing its best in the circumstances, to make make sure that all of its customers electricity services are restored. PURE  UNADULTERATED NONSENSE!! ABSOLUTE  NONSENSE!!

Here are a few reasons why many of the BL&P’s post-disaster efforts have been a catastrophe, and why it deserves to be trashed at this juncture.

1. It failed – during the storm and in its immediate aftermath – and when it was very clear that its telephone lines were being in those times inundated with calls from so  many customers about their total lack of services – to make great use of the social network media (Facebook, BU, Bajan Reporter, etc.),   to present informational and visual updates on the progress that it purported that it was making, to bring back those services to its many customers.
  2. Its main public relations officer, Mr. Stephen Worme, and some others from the company, would have done better, if they had at various times sat in on VOB’s and CBC’s storm coverage – as one way of personally interacting with a clearly concerned frantic frustrated customer base, and as a means of bringing  calm and reassurance to them.  Simple radio and TV  interviews with Mr. Worme were not enough!!!
  3. BL&P should have rented generators – small ones – for individual households esp. – and big ones – for communities – from businesses that sell or rent them,   as a means of showing that it cared about these customers and therefore that they wanted to provide hope for them in such circumstances.  Some of the costs of renting such could have been recouped from these customers via bill payments, if possible. It is high time that the BL&P should have had emergency generators as part of its programs in a way that the BWA has done with its water trucks.
  4. The BL&P should have gone and got help – if possible – from fellow electric companies in, say, Jamaica, Antigua and Barbuda, in getting a few of their crews to come and help provide relief/assistance to BL&P customers, and to help repair or replace damaged lines, cables,  and poles, as it has already provided to some CARICOM countries in such awful circumstances.

Where the BWA is concerned it is disgusting that in this day and age the BWA still relies on the BL&P for electricity to pump water at its pumping stations. The BWA should have by now had enough of its own generated electricity to help pump water to its customers’ homes, businesses, in ordinary circumstances, far more in times of disaster when customers did not plan for a lack of this very precious resource. In days of yore, wind mills used to help get  water  to sugar estates. Why with modern technology cant the BWA improve on that once used approach??? And, where has so much of the localized talk about developing alternative energy sources for Barbados, and which was prevalent when world oil prices were US $ 147 per barrel, gone to now that world oil prices are hovering around US $ 80 per barrel???

Moreover, whereas locally owned businesses have collectively had vested interests in Barbados, tourists – though they are ever welcome to these shores – do not have such  fundamental interests in our country. Their primary interests lie in sightseeing, leisure, recreation, relaxation whilst in the country.  Hence, for Barbados to be devoting too many of its people’s services, resources, and such like, to what are essentially the social culinary tastes and appetites of other people, is becoming more and more obscene, even as many of these said tourists wished that they could have packed up and gone home during the onset of  Tropical Storm Tomas, and even as air travel was substantially interrupted then by the closing down of our only airport.

Clearly, Barbados cannot reasonably continue to based its national development on the social culinary tastes  and appetites of visitors to this country.  Surely, in addition to much of what it presently has (production services wise), Barbados can do far better by producing so many versions of consumer industrial capital goods and services that can themselves be used in esp. the manufacturing, industrial, trade and export processes of the country, and in many other countries of this world. Barbados must therefore become a place for the assembling of cars, trucks, tractors, aircraft, the building of ships, production of satellites, missile technology, etc., and with the a proper regulatory environmental regime put in place along side of such to protect against any abuses of business power and pollution of the natural environment.

Finally, it is evident that most of those persons and households which suffered property damage during the passage of Tomas, have been from among the poorest of the poor/the poor. What is also obvious is that EURO-CENTRISM, IMPERIALISM, ECONOMICS, WORK, TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE, HIRE PURCHASE IN ITS PRESENT FORM,  INSTITUTIONAL REPAYABLE PRODUCTIVE LOANS – which form part of the core of euro-centric westernist development, or de-development, have been helping to make thousands upon thousands of people poor from the time of their birth in this country, until their deaths, and helping too to wickedly demonically make sure that they continue living in some of the harshest most miserable forms of habitations and  environments in this country.

With such disastrous social political effects remaining  in place in Barbados, it stands to reason that most of those who have been the ones to have been mainly adversely affected by Tropical Storm Tomas, are the ones who are going to find recovery most difficult at this stage.

It is for these and other reasons that we here by now and will always outrightly categorically reject the notion coming forward from out of the mouths of some people at this stage of compulsory home insurance for home owners in this country – another wicked evil device to help lick up the poor and not so poor in this country, and to help tear down the country. What ignorance and crass madness of the highest order!!!

What our party – the PDC – needs to see is the putting in place of national programs to make sure that all Barbadians in the final analysis will have hurricane/storm resistance homes and buildings; and which themselves can only properly takeoff with the substantially lowering of building costs in the country; the provision of greater access to greater housing/lands in this country; through the ushering into this country of many modern people-centered developmentalist policies and approaches, such as the ABOLITION OF TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, ZERO-“PRICING” OF IMPORTS OF GOODS AND SERVICES INTO THIS COUNTRY, THE PREVENTION OF FOREIGNERS FROM OWNING OUR LANDS SPACES, and the putting in their places the right policies and programs that will assist us in creating a new indigenous path of development for the people of this country.

30 responses to “How Two Utilities Failed Barbados In The Post-TOMAS Period”

1. Having lived through and survived major hurricane Gilbert in Jamaica and experienced life there without electricity for three months and water for six months…learning to walk again with a bucket on my head in order to get spring water from the nearby Hope Gardens and remembering the art of fanning a coal pot, I find this post in a perverse way underscores how good Barbadians have it relative to other Caribbean islands and how exacting our expectations are…for instance, the all clear had not yet been given and people were complaining about power outages or discoloured water. Now let us cast our eyes to St Vincent and St Lucia. Research and look at some of the footage available on the destruction in those two islands, especially the south of St Lucia. Roads destroyed, houses half buried in mud slides. Then go on to spare a thought and say a prayer for the people of Haiti, especially those living in the Port au Prince area…hundreds of thousands in tents, are now experiencing the heavy rainfall of Tomas and waiting with trepidation on the winds to come, when canvas will rip and the only comfort in a storm driven night will be the body warmth of one’s equally drenched compatriots. Then we can all say, there but for the Grace of God go I…but will we genuinely and willingly give help, or will assistance be grudgingly promised, as the P.M. of Trinidad and Tobago has intimated, contingent on some type of return being forthcoming. A heartrending quid pro quo some might say.

2. PDC’s perspective on the performance of the BL&P and BWA post-TOMAS is an exacting one for sure. There is merit in the view though that the BWA pumps should not* be 100% dependant on fossil power. It is too important a service to be so casual in how its distribution infrastructure is supported. The same can be said for the BL&P. The government needs to create the policy and framework to encourage RE development in Barbados.

3. I am thankful that Barbados is served by the skillful, hard working persons of the Barbados Light and Power Company. As for the PDC, it could not organize a piss-up in a brewery.

4. @Karl Watson,
    I agree with you. Barbados has been fortunate compared to the other Islands.

@David, it does not matter what kind of power plant you are running, after poles and power lines are downed BL&P has to replace the poles and lines and then go through a checking process before they can run power through the lines.

I would like to know how many of our bloggers were properly prepared for Tomas.
    How many live in a house with a concrete roof and proper hurricane shutters?
    How many have power generators?
    How many have a crank radio and a crank flashlight that requires no battery?

Take responsibility for your own safety.

This does not mean that BL&P and the BWA does not need to improve.

We should be thankful that we have a developed infrastructure and I will be coming back to enjoy my favourite place on the planet “if God spare life”.

5. @ PDC
    That is the most senseless contribution to date on BU.
    Now we all know that you understand even less about the utility business than you do about taxation.

….there must be something meaningful that your party can actually grasp…..

6. Barbados has excellent utility service companies whose rapid response is commendable.How many time must CERO and other agencies drill Barbadians of taking precautionary measures in case of disasters or hurricanes.Be Prepared is the motto of The Girl Guides.It should be applied to our lives in its entirety!!

7. There is no doubt the BL&P is one of the best in looking after its customers. The ignorance of Barbadians in not understanding that it will take a week or two to get back to normalcy is more the issue.

8. I had no problem water whatsoever.

Once the reservoirs start with adequate water and people are careful about consumption the need for backup generation capacity at BWA could be superfluous.

Besides, BL&P have the pumping stations as a priority.

Under those circumstances only a cash flush utility would invest in total backup generation capacity.

BWA is far from this.

In fact it is owed millions by its customers and to make matters worse, the product it sells is underpriced.

On the approach of a storm the BWA could reduce water availability and fill the reservoirs.

Might be a bad thing as householders do need to store water for a few days.

The reservoirs act like batteries.

Given what I saw and was told by others, telephone poles also took a hit. More than one person I know had telephone service by luck and chance as poles on their circuit were precariously perched.

My bet is these will remain so for a while.

Cellphones remove the pressure to repair them.

Electricity can kill.

The liability the privately owned power company faces if it leaves power to any circuit with suspect poles is great.

I actually enjoyed the few days of no power.

I saw fireflies from 6 to 8 like I remember as a teenager. I think it is because the blazing lights all around tend to hide them.

I was asleep some nights at 7.

The absence of lights around me took me back to my youth before all the heavy development in Barbados.

… and the candles and flashlight …… like camping.

It was actually most relaxing, if only because I had water and did not have to solve this problem.

I have to do something about the fridge for next time.

At US$2.35 per watt solar remains expensive.

Just to supply one 20 amp circuit requires 2 kilowatts, US$4,700.00. A small electric pump could possibly be run by this as well as the fridge so it might make sense to have a water tank.

If I do it right and make solar the supply for the fridge, I will save money and there will be a payback period. The fridge is the major consumer of electricity.

Need to dig deeper although I’ll probably never get around to it though and curse myself next time.

A backup generator makes too much noise and attracts attention.

I heard in Grenada after Ivan when things got grim, looters were drawn to those houses with generators like moths to a flame so I would be a bit leary of going that way and advertising.

9. @John

Let us move to the macro position. If oil price continues to rise and foreign exchange earnings continue to contract fueled by a protracted global recession, what do you think will be the out outcome?

10. Bush Tea i agree with you. Only fault i see is bwa depending on bl&p and not have backup generators. Now they not the most cash rich utility but i taught by now it would be common sense to have backup power for the major utilities such as water, elec and phone but as with everything else we take don’t do anything proactive just reactive .

11. Dr. Karl Watson,

The above PDC column piece is NOT essentially about the extent of the ravages brought to Barbados by Tropical Storm Tomas, as opposed to the extent of the destruction that has been wrought on St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines by the said Tomas.

This piece has been essentially about the public and private sectors of this Barbados country using people-centered developmentalist infrastructuralist policies and programs to mitigate the worst of “NATURE’S” effects on Barbados and on the Barbadian people and their interests, and to make sure that any post-disaster national reconstruction efforts engaged at anytime are facilitated therewith, rather than continuing to pursue clearly failed, backward public private sector policies and programs that have clearly been helping to further expose the vulnerabilities the risk preparations recovery efforts of Barbados and the Barbadian people ( esp. the poor and the middle classes), in relation to such natural disasters.

Dr. Watson, it would have been better if you had carefully looked at some of the footage coming out of St. Lucia and St. Vincent and the Grenadines, in relation to the damage caused to those territories by Tomas, and had come to a fair conclusion that there appears/appeared to have been poor unsafe building sitings, building designs and improper road building carried out in both those territories – situations which would have compounded and made their rehabilitation problems worse. Yet, you recognized – to our amusement – in your above blog this, “houses half buried in mud slides.”

And rather than hazarding some guesses as to why these houses were half buried and why those two countries suffered such damage to some extent – beyond the ordinary – you leapt right on to the favourite omen of some people – Haiti.

Moreover, your resorting to romantically misplaced notions that we in Barbados are better positioned than those people in the said two CARICOM countries at this stage, and your making reference to your personal experience observations recalled during and in the aftermath of Hurricane Gilbert in Jamaica in 1988, reflect an latent insularity and hubris that simply CANNOT help Barbados at this point in time or in any other time of post-disaster reconstruction.

12. @Bushie

One thing you can say about the boys from the PDC, they are not bashful.

Referencing boys, any female members of the PDC?

13. I shall address point 1, 3 & 4 of reason why BL&P failed from PDC

If people calling about power down majority don’t have access to web so to the majroity making social update = doing nothing. ones that do have power not going to need the info.

Most back up genators are either 120/240/400v so just putting them on network does no good. Why ?

It deal with network distribution and simple ohms law. Why pdc you think there so much step down transformers on poles in neighbour hoods . they there to so the voltage from the main 12 kv can be step down for distribution so that you have multiple point to input the 400v into the lines. this allow low voltage drop across the whole network. Now by putting on generators in who areas you now need to separate the 400v line so you dont’ overload the generators and make sure the distribution does go too far otherwise voltage loss on the power lines would be enough that you power anything. that is in no way built in to out network far be it anyone network in the world. Now what about using step transformer and powering the 12kv lines ? Well you get into the problem of need to isolate the network meaning crew have to be out pulling line breakers for each neighbourhood instead of repair line even then if the line down you can’t do anything. so we see your just talking nonsense not having any idea how distribution works

Now what about commercial building. Most already have backup generators the ones that don’t well they should. it is not up to bl&p to provide them as it is capital expense and be written off before taxes.

Eletricity is not easily storable so to compare the two is ridiculous.

If all the trucks already out at work what do you expect these people to do ? sit and do nothing. smh

14. David | November 5, 2010 at 5:55 AM |

Let us move to the macro position. If oil price continues to rise and foreign exchange earnings continue to contract fueled by a protracted global recession, what do you think will be the out outcome?

Something’s gotta give!!

Cut and contrive!!

15. @ PDC – A diatribe of verbal vomit and projectile diarrhea.

16. That first paragraph cis comprised of one single sentence with 155 words. Guys… punctuation goes a long way in making things readable.

17. So many of us are ungreatful people, complaining about everything, instead of giving thanks and praying for all those hard working folks at the BL&P, who have given us very good service over the years, and the BWA, men who are so tired, braking their backs to bring services back to normal, we have SO MUCH to be thankful for.

Whenever I get a chance, I go up to the Sanitary (Garbage) trucks fellows, and say THANKS to them, whose response is, ‘…NO BODY EVER says thanks to us…” they are as important and should be appreciated for their service to the rest of us.

Also, one Sunday by where I live, the BWA crew were fixing in the boiling mid-day sun, a leaking main, I saw those men soaked to the bone in sweat, I made it my busuiness to go outside and THANK THEM, for all they were doing, instead of complaing I had no water, which is what most others were doing.

There are multiplied MILLIONS around the world that have NEVER had piped water, MILLIONS more that have NEVER had electricity in their dwelling places, and we are complaining?

We ain’t see nothing yet, regarding what is coming down soon, and no PDC or anyone one but CHRIST, can save us from the HELL that’s just around the corner, wait and see!

“UNLESS the LORD builds the house (NATION), They labour (BLP, DLP, PDC) in VAIN, who build it. UNLESS, the LORD guards the city (house, town, etc) The watchman stays awake in VAIN.” ( Psa. 127:1) emphasis added.

18. Karl Watson
    So true. We should be a lot more thankful and a lot less ungrateful. I hear persons complaining about having to throw away food because of lack of electricity. Are these people serious? I don’t think so. They remind me of the man who was complaining that he didn’t have money to buy a pair of shoes until he saw the man without feet. Cud Christ man, we were spared the ravages of Tomas n complaining, complaining, complaining. I would like to give them all a ticket to Haiti. Be thankful n patient nah. Christ man. Where ever I go, I am seeing the BL&P men working feverishly to restore power.
    Be PATIENT people n remember that no lives were lost in Barbados. A few roofs blow off, palings blow down etc but we more fortunate than St.Vincent, St.Lucia and now poor Haiti which has had more than its share of natural disasters for this year. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

X
    school in starting back til Mundee, so chill.

19. It seems ok for many to jump on the bandwagon and thrash the BL&P. Has it ever occurred to those who are complaining about the recent performance of BL&P line crews that these same men might have also suffered at the hands of Tomas, but made the sacrifice to leave their homes and families behind to serve the public.These are men that also answer the call when a hurricanes one of our neighbouring islands, and at times had to spend up to four weeks there working to get back electricity to those people,who were more grateful than their own back at home.
    And what are they getting for their troubles, beside being slagged?The taxman will exact most of the overtime money paid out to them.
    Those unfortunate people in St Vincent ,St Lucia and the many back here who have lost their house roofs, would have been more than pleas it was only electricity that they had lost.
    On one hand we see the old Bajan community spirit brought alive by some in the the community that many of us would not otherwise take a second look at. And on the other hand, we hear people, especially those who like to label themselves as Middle Class, bellyaching about a fallen antennae or spoilt meat in their freezers,but who would not lift a hand to help others.
    The line crews of BL&P cannot act in the same manner as the Stormy carpenters now employed to repair damaged homes.The electric grid has to be repaired to the highest standards,now.We do not know if we will have more bad weather next week. A botched up repair job on the lines may cause some unfortunate linesman his life ,sometime down the road. The job must be done right the first time.
    And a good day to you too!

20. I must commend the B’dos Light and Power for the hard work they are putting in to restore power to Barbadians. We have become a nation of softies, complaining about any and everything. I believe that it is the Barbados Met office is the one who failed us. As a daughter of a former Meteorologist I find it very hard to believe that they missed this one. They are employed to alert Barbados beforehand yet they were asleep on the job. Many of us were watching this system online and was wondering why the Met office didn’t take it seriously enough. Kudos to the boys at B’dos Light and Power.
    I have noticed that no one has mentioned the shortage of food for the next few months. The poor farmers have had a double whammy with the floods and now Tomas. Our food bill will quadruple and the merchants will be digging out our eye balls. We are going to have to look to Guyana to help us out with some veggies.
    The Red cross has an appeal out for St. Lucia, so anything you can spare please help.

21. John | November 5, 2010 at 12:30 PM |
    David | November 5, 2010 at 5:55 AM |

Something’s gotta give!!

Cut and contrive!!

There is of course an alternative, ……. there always is!!!

We can stop complaining, get up of our backsides and find new products and services which the world wants.

Then we can pay for what we need.

22. islandgal
    I would prefer not to cast blame to any particular organization. Tell ya why. I’ve known of many instances where we were forewarned by de MET office n bajans panicked n went out n clear de supamarket n hardware shelves in a flash. Storm, hurricane, tidal wave never came n bajans ‘buse de MET office like pirates man. some saying dat de MET office gone n mek we buy up all dis food an now not even a high wind in pass. some even sound disappointed dat dis ‘friend’ didn’t come a callin.so ya see, if ya do, ya damn n if ya don’t ya still damn. i doan tink dat de MET office would wilfully with hold dat sorta info from us. what is there to be gained by dem? we would all be blown away should such occur anyway, probably. I’ve also heard some say dat dem would like to experience a hurricane/storm. (curiousity killed de cat)
    so insteada casting blame n pintin fingas, leh we sah a pray fa good luck. an den pray fa we bruddas n sistas in St. Lucia/Vincent n Haiti.
    you start ta pack dem few tings yet? I sen off minez today n when dem start askin fa clothes, i gun sen sum fa dem too.

23. @Bonny
    whopeee my phone line is fixed, hope the power don’t go now. LOL

I know what you are saying about the warnings in the past. My father used to get cuss too, in fact he trained many of the Met officers at the airport and in many of the islands. I still prefer to get a warning way before whether or not it has changed course or not. I know the weather can change suddenly (my husband is a weather watcher and I am always laughing at him) but to be forewarned is better for me.
    I got nuff clothes dat get too small fuh muh and some sheets to send with some food but I was here busy with a fella cleaning up the yard. Should see me cutting with the chain saw. I going early in the morning to Warrens to take muh tings.

24. islandgal
    clothes doan usually get too small unless dem shrink. it is dat we get too big fa de clothes. LOLLLLL. de years can be so unkind when we’re gettin on in years nah? happen ta me too n i say de same ting; ‘dese clothes gettin too small’.
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

25. @Bonny

I managed to get to Warrens this evening to deliver some foodstuff. They said that they won’t take any clothing nor sheets at this time. They used to before until people start bringing dem dirty sheets. I can’t believe dat people sooo stink. Yuh right dat is we dat get too big fuh we clothes LOLLLLLLLLL but it sounds betta ef we say dem get too small fuh weee ROFLMA. I did plannin to loose de fat and fit back inta de clothes but ………it ent wukkin. So ah just gine buy new ones.

26. I an a Bajan lineman.Thanks to all of you for your patience and appreciation shown.To the PDC: I left home at 10 o’clock when the storm was still passing ,drove through water,over down trees and through wind driven rain.I got to work and found others there.We headed out ,leaving our families home out of power to restore yours.Worked till midnight.Returned home to darkness,left for work in rough dry uniforms to go out to restore your power.Had lunch at 3 pm on the street.Worked till midnight.Next time you want to help,don’t sit behind a keyboard and type garbage!Get some gloves,a cutlass and clear some trees so that I can get to the next customer!!!

27. Hebrew
    De nex customa is me. My ‘line’ down. LOL

But seriously though, Mr. Hebrew, thanks to you and all the other utility companies who worked fervently, tirelessly long undue hours to restore our utilities. Thanks again for your yeomanly service to which we are indeed indebted. You put your lives in danger but God was on your side and you made it ‘through the rain’. (pun intended) We can all be proud of the work you guys did. And there were no casualties.

I had a problem some time back with my meter and I called the BL&P to report it; before I could hang up the phone, a truck was at my door that night. They gave the meter a kick, cuff and a few jabs and all was well.
    The response time was overwhelming.

Kudos to all of you.

28. Thanks Bonny Peppa.We are not perfect but we try our best.We are not going to cut out until the last customer is back on!!

29. islandgal246, November 7, 2010 at 3:04 PM:

“My father used to get cuss too, in fact he trained many of the Met officers at the airport and in many of the islands.”

Was that before or after you hit him in the head with the club?

30. By having a number of websites on the same server, internet hosting providers can provide the service at a much inexpensive charge.