Attorney Alvin David Bryan (right) and Wilfred Abrahams (left)

Most people (used reservedly given the Advocateโ€™s circulation numbers) have read the self-serving apologia in the editorial section of the Advocate directed at the Bajan blogosphere, in defense of what many agree is a toothless Fourth Estate of Barbados. A Fourth Estate that blandly and blindly follows the beat of the drum of whichever political party it is affiliated to, ignores glaring incidents of injustice in the Courts of Barbados and refuses to take members of government to task, even if the evidence jumps up and bites them on the gluteus maximus.

A few examples :-

• Barbados is taken to court in Canada in a civil lawsuit with costs running (on both sides) to almost BDS$16 million. This lawsuit involves the future of over 1% of Barbadosโ€™ total landmass, the purchase ofย  influence of the Fifth Estate (blogs) at BDS1,300.00 per week, the establishment of a blog in Miami, Florida, the collection of shredded documents in Barbados and their shipment to Canada to be reconstituted, the surveillance of the former wife of Owen Arthur, the surveillance of the family and person of former Attorney General Mia Mottley in Florida, the staking out of the Barbados consular mission in Miami Florida and the proposal to follow and stalk employees of that mission, contributing to the upkeep and election aspirations of Minister Denis Lowe (including importing Canadian experts to assist with his election), the use of false names and documents, the jail sentence of one of the parties who is now a fugitive from justice. Barbados wins the case in Canada and all is REVEALED. The case is fully and completely reported BU (Go to Search Box and use โ€˜Peter Allardโ€™), with full document back-up. Yet, neither the Nation or the Advocate has even attempted to report on the matter. For them, it is as though it has never existed and the BDS16 million it cost is nothing โ€“ to the extent, we have to ask if one blog was paid BDS1,300 per week by Peter Allard, how much were others paid? The only other explanation is dereliction of duty as members of the Fourth Estate. Sub judice cannot be used as an excuse here.

• Barbados has a new Chief Justice commencing 1st January 2011. BU announced it prior to the Nation, who was then poked andย  made its announcement some two days later. To date the old girl at Fontebelle is pissed because it did not get first crack, has made no reference to Chief Justice Designate Gibson. Neither of these two Fourth Estate organisations got the news first and, had it not been for BU, they still would not have the news becauseโ€ฆ, after all the pontificating about responsible journalism, they have forgotten that the first requirement of responsible journalism is to report the news. It is NOT, as they do, to pretend news does not exist, unless told that it does exist by their political masters.
  • Do you remember when BU was first to raise questions aboutย  3S SRL, the company which was mysteriously given one of the largest government road contracts in Barbados? The Fourth Estate refused* to cover the story for months because they were scooped. Should it not be about reporting the news?
  • What about how the local Fourth Estate covered the Immigration Debate? Remember the anti-Barbados articles which were regurgitated by the Nation newspaper taken from the Guyana press? Remember how Barbadians were prevented from venting on the VOB call-in programs? We can cite so many cases of the Fourth Estate allowing itself to be manipulated.

In its editorial the Advocate focuses on the comments of Commissioner of Police Darwin Dottin, as if they are in some way the Gospel according to Mathew and Luke. The Advocate ignores that Dottinโ€™s job is currently alleged to be on the line and under fire and, instead of doing a bit of investigative journalism to find out if that is true and if Dottinโ€™s remarks about the blogs might be because of the alleged attacks against his administration that may have contributed to the rumoured problems and possible resignation/dismissal he now faces, the Advocate, true to form, has written an editorial of such amazing and self-serving BS, that it makes one realize that the society it reflects is Barbados of 1910, not Barbados 2010. It was instructive to listen to a visiting criminologist in the local media this week. He commented on the importance of community policing. Of note was his advice to the top brass of any constabulary to sing from the same hymn sheet.

Well, Mr Editor (or what passes for an editor at the Advocate) your comments and Commissioner Darwin Dottinโ€™s conflict to how the press and social commentators of the FREE world is currently being conducted. What you would seek to do is to limit freedom of expression of Bajans on our rights as citizens of a free country and world, to that which you think, under direction of your political masters, is appropriate. You Anthony Bryan can BUZZ-OFF. You do not have the pulse of the people or any real interest about what is important in this land to the people of this land. You are a political pimp and a disgrace to one of the most important Estates of the Realm.

As a post script please tell Barbadians why you recently refused to give coverage in your newspaper about the arrest of your lawyer son Alvin David Bryan? The fact that he repaid the monies he was accused of stealing what does that say? That he is not a tief? Why is it that since the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has come to office it has coincided with an about turn in your political allegiance? What comes to mind is whether your master has now given you the go ahead to attack the Bajan blogosphere because the heat is now being turned up. Yours is a newspaper not worthy and does a grave injustice to our society.

85 responses to “The Barbados Advocate, A Disgrace To The Fourth Estate”

1. I believe that the Barbados Advocate is the worst newspaper in the English language…

2. @ David, I would not publish anything about my son either. David Bryan was right even if his son is whatever he is.
    That is human.

However, everything else you have written, to my mind is fair comment.
    How could the Newspapers in Barbados not publish the details of a case that was adjudicated in Canada?
    What is the liability in publishing a transcript and the judgement in that case ?
    Could one of the BU legal eagles tell us if the refusal to inform the Barbadian public about that case and the results was warranted?

I undestand the attack on blogs. The freedoms uppity uppity Bajans were accustomed to are being eroded.
    Yuh does kyaan get way wid nutten nuh mo bo. Babadus gettin like de states.
    aaze sumting happen…it pun de blogs.
    rememba wha bfp an Dogood did to Gine Cark wid dah pickcha uh de benz by de wall house?

3. I do not know of any impediment that should have prevented publication of the Canadian matter, but was it really that significant? The suggestion that “BARBADOS” was sued is clearly hyperbole, and are those matters which are listed above facts which can be proved true in a court of law?

4. @Anthony Bryan

Now that you have decided to tug the tail of the blogoshere let us ask you a couple of questions in your capacity as Chair of Invest Barbados. BU notes with great alarm that Invest Barbados was voted 18.6 million in the estimates 2010-2011. Ordinarily this would not be an issue given the importance of this government agency to helping Barbados gain a global foothold.

Can you explain why you used your influence to hire Donna St. Hill? What is her relationship to you? Why was she fired after a short while at the agency? Why is it with the sickness of Thompson all seem to be doing as they like at Investment Barbados.

Why donโ€™t you write about this matter in your newspaper? Better yet how the hell do you qualify to be on Invest Barbados Board?

5. @Jeff

Are you serious?

The fact tax dollars to the tune of 16 million were spent is not newsworthy?

All the court documents filed in the Ontario Court have been posted for all* to see.

Jeff, you may feel obligated to defend the Advocate for the obvious reasons but please don’t compromise yourself.

6. @Hants reference your 2010/09/25 at 1:14 PM comment:

You are always quick to cite Canadian references to support your points. Do you think if the sibling of a Canadian publisher/editor was found out in similar circumstances the news would have been suppressed?

7. @ David
    Why are you allowing yourself to be riled by the Advocate’s idiotic editorial…. sometimes you amaze the bushman. What did you expect from them? wisdom?

This is a newspaper (which the Commissioner of Police was able to brag at his last press conference,) that obediently printed what the COP wanted…. like a good little puppy.

The big joke is that the information they were trying to hide was all over the blogs – and it did not compromise anything…..

This is a newspaper that was ‘BLP’ when the Bees were in power, and is DLP now that the Dees are in…

LOL Dottin probably told them to write that editorial….

On another note,

It is really amazing how these people seem to think that Barbadians are all idiots.
    You think that because some idiot write something on a blog and press ‘send’ that Bajans will automatically be misled????

Even bright sparks like the Mighty GP are hard pressed to post any foolishness ’bout here for fear of being grilled into submission…
    This is all the same as the ‘sub judice’ foolishness. ..as if the masses cannot think for themselves – so the editors, lawyers and politicians must do it for us.

Ignore the foolish, outdated, irrelevant, jokers do…..

8. @Bushie

But how can you ignore the oldest newspaper in our fair land who has allowed the extensive library which use to be the boast of Barbados to go to tatters?

It has no credibility and now it has ventured to ridicule the blogosphere must be held to account. It has no credibility. The Bajan blogosphere is an unstoppable force the sooner they get with the program the better it will be for all*.

9. David, are you saying that $16 million was spent by the Government of Barbados to defend this matter? Was the suit not against these individuals in their personal capacities? I must confess that I was unaware of this.

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I see nothing wrong with the Barbados Advocate. I encourage everyone to buy a copy. It is much better than the Nation.

11. Knowledge Is Power Avatar
    Knowledge Is Power

Jeff Cumberbatch @ 1:43 PM
    “I do not know of any impediment that should have prevented publication of the Canadian matter, but was it really that significant? The suggestion that โ€œBARBADOSโ€ was sued is clearly hyperbole, and are those matters which are listed above facts which can be proved true in a court of law?”

Kudos to you, Sir.
    Respect

12. @Jeff

Can you further explain why Pat Hoyos of the now dormant Broad Street Journal would have done a kick off story on the Kingsland matter to his credit but subsequently dropped it like a flaming potato?

13. @ CJ BT
    Re Even bright sparks like the Mighty GP are hard pressed to post any foolishness โ€™bout here for fear of being grilled into submissionโ€ฆ

What you puttin in your bush tea man. GP fears being grilled into submission? When? Where? By whom?

You all right man? You got me worried now, yeh? I hope you aint sick nor nuttin so. A woman put something in your cou cou today, man? Get to Ishmael quick let he get you up to “KORNnell boh” cause you head like it gone gone bad. Must be the alkaloids in the bush tea. LOl

14. Truth is though that though there are some columnists that try hard and are readible like Jeff, we can safely rename the Advocate THE REGURGITATED NEWS from here and there.

15. @ Mighty GP

Admit it GP, the girls got you in a corner and you can’t raise up your head without licks raining…..

Between BP, ac and Islandgal, it look like the women’s boxing championship all over again – except that you is the punching bag. …wuh even JC like she looking at options now (with BT) … you in duck’s gut man!!

Looks like you may need a few cups of bush tea – or even a whole bush bath by the time that trio done with you.. LOL

16. David, come now, you would not expect me to know Pat’s mind would you? I do not know much if anything about the whole affair…sounded like some family squabble over land that just got out of control with the consequent ill-judged court action, but I am not sure it ever assumed NATIONAL importance. And I do have an interest in the Advocate, it is true, but I am being forthright as always.

17. @Jeff

Now bear with us. A suit even if judged to be a nuisance is brought against the Prime Minister, Attorney General and other prominent Barbadians and you say it is not of national importance? Let us compromise and say it is news and merits reporting on.

A move by the Plaintiffs to have this matter tried out of Barbados jurisdiction and as a law lecturer you don’t think it merits even case study effort at UWI?

A case which involves significant land holdings family squabble not withstanding and you still opine it is not of national importance in a country 166 sq miles?

Why Jeff we are disappointed by your position.

18. The Advocate maybe looking for a way to regain trust in those who do not support them anymore. And the easiest way they know how to tackle it is by criticising the blogs for informing the public ahead of them and giving the public an outlet to form their opinions, right or wrong. Therefore if and when the newspaper decide to run the story it is already stale news to many.

Some people just don’t care what they have to do and who they hurt to stay afloat or make themselves look good.

Isn’t that what we call the name of the game

19. Bushie
    You may have noticed that I dont take those girls serious. They can talk to the cows come home but I remain resolute in my positions. I will never be an idolator. Most of the time I ignore them.

20. Porgie
    Ahemmmmmmm, I don’t recall the BU trio (me, she n she) ever seeking your attention. We remain resolute too ta. But as man, ya cudda ansa de simple question.

21. @Jeff. Man you obviously did not read the style of cause in the Canadian action. Go look again and then tell me that the Country of Barbados is not named? Not the Attorney General (which is the customary way) although he/she too is named, but the COUNTRY OF BARBADOS. Also Owen Arthur, David Thompson and former Chief Justice David Simmons…….and you do not think that is worthy of report? If such an action was brought in, let us say Canada, can you see the Canadian press failing to report it? I would also point out to you that BU has posted documents that prove conclusively that the costs in that action, both to the taxpayer and in terms of foreign exchange capital, was $16 million. At stake was over 1% of Barbados, to be subtracted and made vassal to the Canadian courts. You do not think that is worthy of outrage and of reporting? Now, you can try to put whatever spin you like on it, but the facts speak for themselves and obfuscation will not serve.

@Hants. The matter of not reporting on Attorney Bryant because of his father and our being expected to understand that, is bare balls. The Fourth Estate has a duty to transcend family ties in the national interest. The Advocate has failed to do so for many years now and, relict that it is, it is time it shut up shop and became as exinct as the dodo. It has outlived its time and its usefulness. Time to go – and take the Nation with it.

@Bonny. You tell them, girl.

22. @David wrote “You are always quick to cite Canadian references to support your points. Do you think if the sibling of a Canadian publisher/editor was found out in similar circumstances the news would have been suppressed?
    1. I cite Canadian references because I live in Canada.

2. A sibling as I understand the word is a “brother” or a “sister”.
    I thought in the case of the Advocate you were talking about the Owner and his SON.
    I think in Canada a father would use his power to “protect his son”.

23. @Hants. Many of us have lived in Canada. And the Canadian press you imagine exists and the one I KNOW exists are at extreme ends of the spectrum. If any newspaper failed to report a matter of national interest, simply because the editor/owner/ head honcho’s son or daughter would be cast in a negative light, the outcry by other sections of the news media would set the circulation of the offending rag back at least 10 years. Readers would not stand for it –

24. @Hants. Nor would the advertizers who would view it as having a negative effect on their public profile. Clearly the Advocate doesn’t give a damn that its public profile is in the toilet – and nor, apparently, do its advertizers. Interesting!!!!

25. @Amused,
    “The Fourth Estate has a duty to transcend family ties in the national interest. Absolutely correct.
    But I am being honest. If any of my children do anthing and I Hants have to protect them I will by any means necessary.

That is why people like me belong in the powerless lower eschelons of society.

@Jeff, “sounded like some family squabble over land that just got out of control with the consequent ill-judged court action,”.

Ill-judged is correct. By the time there is a settlement most of the combatants would have died and their children and grand children
    will benefit.

26. @Amused,
    The only reason it would be difficult to “hide the story” is because Canada has a freedom of information act.
    That is the big difference. Barbados needs an FOI.

You are also looking at Canada with rose coloured glasses.
    I have been living here for over 30 years and I may have a different perspective.I watch the news everyday.

27. So, Amused, are you telling me it is possible to sue a COUNTRY? As opposed to the government thereof? That’s ridiculous! Costs to the taxpayer? Is this public knowledge? Who paid these?

David, the fact that such a suit is brought outside a jurisdiction is nothing big. It happens quite frequently once a foreigner is suing a local entity. I might accede to your opinion that the case merited a report for prurient reasons but certainly not because of any legal merit.

28. What if the foreigner lived and owned property in Barbados?

29. “I will never be an idolator”

Velly velly strange comment from Christian …no? This Jesus worship not idolatry…?

Bushman why you use puppy picture..? Not understand puppy picture…!

30. David,

The issue is what is he suing for and whether the suit has some connection with the forum in which he sues. So the claimant may be domiciled in Canada. Remember Ms Mia Mottley sued or threatened to sue an English publication for defamation in England sometime ago?

31. @Jeff

If you read the case file on the matter at dispute you would have gleaned the plaintiff brought the action primarily because concern was expressed about the ability of the Barbados court system to deliver justice. The bloddy cheek!

32. “Bloddy cheek” ha ha ha that is Bloddy funny… yah yah yah..

33. I did not follow the case that closely, David. But was he nonsuited because the Canadian court was not the proper forum or was the matter decided on some other ground?

34. @Jeff

You really need to do some bedtime reading and form your own opinion!

It is the opinion of BU that this suit was brought to embarrass Barbados because Allard (owner of Graeme Hall ) could get his request to government approved among other reasons.

35. The Advocate’s Bryan has an interesting business policy. He reads the scripts of his business and sports reporters.Where a sponsor or the name of a person is mentioned ;he researches whether that company or person advertises in his newspaper. Where he finds a company or a person’s name mentioned, who does not advertise with him, he insists that the writer of the article remove the name of the person or company.
    The editorial staff are really puppets.I guess that they have no where else to go.
    Reporting facts/ truth does not matter to Bryan.

36. yeah. i read the advocate everyday. I read the nonsense some whatever person wrote about Blogs. Now yuh see what is happening . First the DPP and now the advocate all harping about about commentators on the blog . Next it would be a whole line of upper bigups wanting to keep we little people mouth close. Dont give them an inch. next they would be telling people what to say or else!

37. @BT
    GP is a marked man dat is why he running from blog to blog hiding from we girls. we dun got he black and blue. maybe he can ask one de lawyers here to represent he if it should come to dat. we girls got lot more blows for he . Poor Soul!

38. BAFBFP
    dat is Bush Tea lil dog he did tellin me ’bout all de time. He tell me doan mind it small, it does do it job. stupseeeeeeeeeeee. I would still like ta rub it lil cute head n gih it a lil cute peck. ‘come hay lil doggie, come n gimme a lil cute bite’.

39. @BAFBFP
    When you guna put back de udda picture. i mean de one wid de bald head i like dat one alot .

40. @ BAFBFP and Bonny

Dat is my new ‘web guard dog’. He may look cute and cuddly, but he gets vicious when BT is attacked – so watch it!!
    He would eat you raw Bonny girl …..careful.

41. I ADVOCATE TO THE NATION
    THAT THE ADVOCATE IS BETTER THAN THE NATION
    FAR BETTER THAN THE RAG further across on Fontabelle.

42. “lawyer son” and “the sibling”

Dear David:

You referred to David Bryan as both a sibling and a son opf Anthony Bryan. Unless David was born of an incestous relationship he cannot be bothe a sibling and son of the same man. Son means male child of a father or mother. Sibling means brother or sister.

Ya trying David but unless you can get such simple things right the blogs won’t be taken seriously.

Forgive me if I seem to be nitpicking.

43. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/stop-picking-lawyers-at-random/

BARBADIANS must โ€œshopโ€ better for legal representation to reduce the chance of being exploited.

President of the Barbados Bar Association, Leslie Haynes QC, made this point today, while expressing the associationโ€™s deep concern about lawyers ending up in the court for unprofessional conduct.

Overseas Bajans mussee worrying eff duh gine see dah money duh got in client account.

44. Dear David:

Why are you taking the Advocate seriously?

Nobody else does.

Why do you think that on a good day they get their circulation up to 6,000?

45. Do not get sidetracked about the use of sibling slip. The point BU is making has to do with family-brother, sister, son, daughter whatever.

46. ac;

Bald head man now work as intelligent agent in other constituent. He back for Christmas with turkey. He not disposable right now.

Bonny run risk of being eat alive… no? Man from East not know Bush medicine man from Japan… No have stomach for sushi, food must fry first …. like Bacon no?

47. @Jeff. As David says, do a little bedtime reading. This is a very important case, family feud aside. It is also the last civil case to go to the Privy Counsel. The Canadian portion of the case is also educational – and one would have thought that an educator would have familiarised himself with it, particularly as it impacts on Barbados. After all, how many times have you seen a judge waive solicitor-client privilege? The fact that you, an educator, are not familiar with the case, begs the question – is that why we are getting all these arrogant, rude, undereducated and just plain stupid yearly additions to the Bar – the ones I like to refer to as the “unemployables”?

@Hants. You are an honest man – there are too few of you around. My respect, sir.

@Bonny. Chile, ah dead wid de laugh. Time you were in parlaiment. Wisdom and humour. New ticket. Women rule. Not Mia – she too humourless. But Bonny, Pat. ac and J.

48. I does gotta laugh Avatar
    I does gotta laugh

Ha ha! Who are you people? Both the 5th and 4th estate are self-serving. Investigative journalism and social commentators are largely misnomers in the print, visual and audio media as well as the blogosphere in these parts. The questions I hope your readers are asking and you are prepared to answer are what stories are you not commenting on? What evidence do you have to show that you do not delay or turn a blind eye to stories where you have been scooped? For whom have blogs such as this been “useful idiots?”
    Few men are apolitical and we all have biases. Whether or not we want to disclose our alliances make little difference to the fact that we have.

49. We really have a poor selection of newspapers on the island. It is very much like the politicos it is EITHER or it is OR.

The Advocate even though content wise is a better newspaper than the dirt rag called the Nation, is BORING. The journalism style is BORING. The Nation has a user friendly face BUT content wise it is scandalous with very little care to spelling and grammar. They both boast of being fair and balanced, yet their contents denotes the opposite. A letter criticizing them would NEVER be published. A letter that is not of the same religious dogma that they adhere to, WILL NEVER published! Yet they will publish the GLOOM and DOOM prophecies of many self elected GOD MEN and then in their classifieds section carry OBEAH ads.

I think that we are expecting too much from the Advocate. We cannot raise the bar for them when they are contented to crawl under it! The blogs and electronic print media are a great alternative to the print media. The print media is shrinking and their survival is terminal.

50. @ Island gal
    Maybe me , You and Bonny can launched we own newspaper! we can call it “DE TRUT!