Submitted by M*M*

Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH)

What is the definitive policy action that the Government has in place for our Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH)? This question remains unanswered in my humble opinion at today’s date. Let me explain to you why this is the case.

Before the DLP came to office in January 2008, then Opposition MP Richard Sealy proposed the much talked about Rescue QEH Plan. The intimate details of this plan were never presented but it seemed like a catchy phrase or buzzword to throw at us the tax-paying public that definitive and critical action would be taken to improve the QEH.

After the change of government in January 2008, the then newly appointed Minister of Health Dr. David Estwick publicly announced that a new hospital would be constructed and he cited amongst other reasons, the limited room for expansion of the QEH, its position in a low lying flood plain and the cost involved in revitalizing an aging plant as opposed to constructing a new one amongst others. Within two weeks of Dr. Estwick’s pronouncement, Prime Minister David Thompson refuted this saying that no decision had been taken as yet and that a decision would have to be made by his Cabinet as to whether to build a new (and second) hospital or to revitalize the QEH thus pouring cold water on Dr. Estwick’s earlier statement.

Mr. Donville Inniss was later named the new Health Minister in a Cabinet reshuffle by Prime Minister Thompson with Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner being reassigned to Parliamentary Secretary in the Minister of Health with special responsibility for the QEH. The Barbados Advocate of September 29th, 2010 (page 9 story – “Government Aiming to make QEH a 21st century healthcare provider”) is reporting that Senator Sandiford-Garner at a DLP St. Andrew branch meeting said that the government’s efforts right now are focused on stabilizing the QEH and finding ways to refurbish and retool it. Senator Sandiford-Garner also admitted that Government had no money but stated that they had said that they would not be building another hospital. This is also in direct contrast to former Health Minister Estwick’s statement and that of the Prime Minister.

However what is worrying is that there was never a formal announcement by either the Health Minister Inniss or the Prime Minister that Cabinet had reached a decision to move ahead with a refurbishment of QEH and scuttle the building of a new and second hospital. In all fairness, the Prime Minister did announce at one of his quarterly press conferences that the government’s shares in Barbados National Bank and Insurance Corporation of Barbados would be sold and the proceeds used to refurbish the QEH. Health is of prime importance to us as Barbadians, others who live here and our visitors and we should have some definitive statement as to the future of the QEH instead of the multiple and conflicting announcements from different officials of those appointed by us to lead us. Note well that QEH was one of the critical areas in the CADRES poll were performance was found wanting. This is too critical to be left “in the air”. While some fortunate ones among us may be able to afford treatment overseas or have superior health insurance that can cover it, the vast majority of us only have the institution on Martindales Road as our only hope. This is not something that can be left to chance, lives are depending on it.

33 responses to “What Is The Plan For The Queen Elizabeth Hospital?”

1. Even if the government wanted to build a new hospital where would the money come from? Are we willing to add to the debt burden?

Any word on the BAMP/QEH dispute?

2. Far as I remember the BLP were saying to build a new hospital.
    The real question would be where we going to get the money from ( barrack and four seasons still outstanding )and where they going to put it.

3. What are you all worrying about? The priest with “balls” , Irene Sandiford Garner, Donville & Dexter James will soon quickly master mind a solution for this man. They will do it like how a snow cone melts on a cool day.

4. New hospital,poor,shoddy service tantamounts to same old,same old. Work with what you have and try to improve where necessary. And there’s a lot of improvement needed. Starting with the bad, unmannerly attitude of some of the nurses. Christ, their behaviour makes one feel sicker than one really is. Another improvement needed badly is the longgggggggg wait in A.E. Everybody running round looking real busy doing nutton. stupseeeeeeeeee

5. Maybe the 48.0 million being used to redesign the marina at the Pierhead could have been used for much need renovations and for much needed equipment at the QEH. Maybe the Chairman of the QEH, Father Hewitt could make contact with the Chairman of BTI to find out where to get a big bundle of money from for the renovations at the hospital.

6. before the DLP came to office in January 2008, then Opposition MP Richard Sealy proposed the much talked about Rescue QEH Plan.
    ————————————————–
    The DLP always got a plan with a fancy name
    the 543 plan
    St. John Development Plan etc
    all kinda shite plans and they remain just that-plans

What plan does the DLP have for Barbados ?
    Where does the DLP intend to take Barbados

7. Wha become of Irene Sandiford Garner ?
    She seems to be off the radar
    not seeing much of her these days

8. If memory serves the Prime Minister had indicated he would rely on philanthropy to help build the hospital. With FDI drying up it would suggest he may have to look elsewhere because we see a relationship between the two.

9. Both DLP and BLP must be – within the next 7 years – sent packing from out of the parliament of this country.

A new political managerial order is necessary for the further development of this country.

As that, the existing old archaic governmental managerial order will never ever produce the many visionary, sound, decisive and far-reaching public policy decisions and actions that have to be taken right now in the interest of the country’s future development.

The present old and very tattered political managerial order within the private sector of the country also needs to be replaced, as this too will also never ever produce the many visionary, sound, decisive and fundamental policies and decisions that must be taken right now in the interest of the country’s future development.

Furthermore, these old orders have long clearly shown that they are essentially incapable of leading and directing this country – and the people of it – properly into the 21 st century.

Equally, these orders have been failing constantly disastrously at building confidence and consensus relationships between themselves and major portions of the public, esp. as it relates to the planning, organization and development of many projects that are geared towards impacting on the various Barbados/international publics and their expectations and rationalizations – access, information, patronage, etc. A GREAT example of such a massive failure in government/private sector policy planning coordination was the so-called Pierhead Development Project; with another one looking like the presently stalled Four Seasons Project

So, whether it is in the health sectors, educational, community development, sectors, tourism, agriculture, manufacturing sectors, the major players in both the government and private sectors of this country have been massively consistently failing to produce many of those above mentioned kinds of decisions and actions that are absolutely necessary for further development of their own sectors and the country, and that are vitally important in helping make Barbados become world class society.

Needless to say they have also been massively constantly failing to help each other in those regards.

With regard to issues pertaining to whether a new hospital needs to be built or not, or whether the existing one in Martindale’s Road needs to be refurbished or not, it is clear from the reported utterances of some members of the last BLP government, and from the reported utterances of some of the members of this present DLP Government, that there has clearly been no substantial government/private sector cooordination and drive – or even public consultations – behind such major talking points. NONE WHATSOEVER!!!

And, this has been terribly lacking even though it is clear that to build or not a new hospital elsewhere, or to refurbish or not the QEH – which ever option is actually taken in the end – will obviously still mean demonstrable positive and negative effects being brought to bear on existing and future government and private sector produced health services.

The clear likelihood of such effects being brought about on both government and private sectors produced health services therefore means that there must ever be joint government and private sector approaches to major public initiatives of these kinds, sizes and magnitudes like the building of a $ 700 million 600 bed acute care hospital, and esp. if they are to succeed in operational managerial terms in the short and long terms.

Indeed, these old failed DLP and BLP Governmental approaches – and private sector approaches too – of essentially going it alone in respect of projects of these types, sizes and magnitudes and thereby proceeding to carry out such irrespective of the great financial cost and psychic and physical impact on the public, need to be thrown through the window ALONG WITH these old ineffective political governmental and private sectors orders in this country.

For, it does not look or bode well, when a government or private sector project or enterprise eventually runs into trouble and is on the verge of collapsing, for either the government or private sector players to be seen – for whatever reasons – to be thereafter running to provide such SUBSTANTIAL assistance to such a government or private sector project or enterprise, when in the first place it was not sought or given – even though it was very possible to have got such from either side from the start. It really does NOT look good and rational. A good example of this is current CLICO debacle.

Finally, pity that the above lead contribution could not have been altruistic and charitable at all, having regard to the essential points that we have made in this contribution. Really, it is a very weak, flawed contribution – and one that has been bent-twisted by the many seen and unseen partisan biases/considerations of the author. Pity the author did not make reference to any proposals to upgrade the polyclinics system in Barbados!!!!

10. One year ago, in looking at sources of funding for a new hospital islandgal246 wrote:

Raising some of the money by

1…. getting the B’dos Turf Club to pay back the 20 million tax relief they got.

2…Removing the free bus fare and camps for school children. What was fly doing before dog ear get stink?

3…Leaving the BNB in the hands of the Trinidadians and do not try to buy it back.

4…Stop spending money on attracting Tourist from China and concentrate on cutting advertising costs.

5….Forgetting about LIAT and back the ferries that want to operate in our waters. This will help bring our food cost down and proper meals can be served at the QEH. It is really bad there.

6….Hiring competent staff at the QEH who will put the hospital first instead of politics.

7….Making all the contractors who have gotten monies for doing shoddy work or no work at all to pay the government back.

8….Look at the working practices of the BWA when it takes 4-6 men to fix a broken pipe when 1-2 are needed including the driver who should be able to help rather than look on.

9…..Stop making the public feel that everything is free including the houses that were given to them by the state.

10….Collect all the outstanding rents that are owed by the tenants of the NHC

11. The queston is what is Donville Inniss doing about it. While lots of PR including the opening of new toilets and canteen makes the major changes. The A&E still remains a several hours of wait. Qualit yof service elsewhere is incosnistent, to be kind. Theplant is aging and cannot be repaired while in use. It is located where it is subject to coastal flooding, and would be a disaster rather than a help in a flood disaster or tsunami aftermath. The needs of citizens has outstripped its size and services. So what is the plan?

12. PDC
    After your long winded presentation of woffle, will you now tell us how you and those of your ilk plan to solve the situation?

13. @Bonny ,must agree with you, We should work with what we have. We like too much “lick down and build back.” We do it with Buses, Ambulances and Sanitation trucks.The former National Insurance building at the Corner of Fairchild & Probyn was only some 18 years old when it was condemned, not by Engineers or the Fire Service, but by the Head of the National Insurance, a Civil Servant, who went on a build a new complex at Culloden Road, first estimated to cost the taxpayers some $15 Million , but eventually ended up costing in excess of $44Million. The true figure up to now has not been revealed to the very same taxpayers who had no choice but to finance it. And to add insult to injury, the original condemn National Insurance building continues to be used by other public servants.
    In the UK ,USA and all over the world we hear of hospitals still very much in use after 100 years,and still offering supreme service.
    I wonder how old, the following hospitals are,
    New York Presbyterian, John Hopkins, Mount Sinai, Guy and St Thomas’ hospitals in London.

14. @ Georgie Porgie

Dead!! I was here saying the same thing.

15. @Bosun

They also have civil or private employees that ensure proper maintenance of the buildings and equipment and do upgrade every few year to ensure they kept up-to-date with latest medical standards. Those two issue sum up the problem with most government building. Lack of maintenance and lack of upgrades. The same new nis building has paint peeling from the outside walls ( when last i checked).

16. This is why I am in agreement with Dr. Ishmael that my buddy David Thompson should never step into QEH for treatment. He smartly went to a top notch healthcare facility New York Presbeterian in New York. Bajans only seem to be using the QEH as a hotel for their senior citizens and would not consider even paying minor user fees for the services they receive at the hospital

17. @LeRoy

For the record Dr. Ismael stated certain procedures the PM was recommended to undergo were not available at the QEH.

Also please cease and desist from using the email and website info you insist on using. It is dishonest.

18. Barbados First
    You mek some real good observations ya. I agree wid ALLLLL.

Bosun
    Do you have any other choice but to agree wid me? Doan ansa.

And why is it that everytime Gov/t. is erecting a building it must be a monstrosity and on completion only 1/3 is occupied. What a waste. stupseeeeeeeeeeeee.

19. Is there no DLP plan for the QEH or Health after three years in office?

20. Georgie Porgie
    you got talk fa my husban Donville? leff he fa me. i luvs he, plan or na plan.

21. Bony
    I got talk for he and the failure that appoint he as MOH. Both aint got a clue!

22. Where is the Government going to find a billion dollars to build a new hospital?

The only logical plan would be to refurbish sections of the QEH and upgrade all the Polyclinics. The Polyclinics close to densely populated areas should be equipped to take some of the strain off of the A&E.
    There are enough intelligent Bajans other than Dr.GP who are capable of creating a Plan for the QEH.
    Unfortunately, there is no political will to do anything about the QEH not even when Barbados is in an economic boom.
    Sate of the art prison instead of a Hospital. sumting wrong.

23. Hants you supposed to set up a CONsultancy on this matter LOL

24. GP we have to find a ovaseas rite fella to be de front man.
    Duh din listen to you because you did not bleach yuh face befo yuh mek yuh presentation.

25. GP I expect they are going to use your plan because there is no money to build a new hospital.

The rich folks will invest in the “specialty clinics” like Sparman and Sandy Crest etc. as staging areas to prepare for their air ambulance trip to New york or Miami.

The GP plan of a refurbished QEH and upgraded polyclicinics will have to suffice until they find a billion dollars for a new QEH.

26. @Hants

Make sure you hire a good lawyer to draw-up the documents.

27. @David,
    I am sure GP know some good lawyers. He probably save a few of them. Doctors have an advantage.They save lives.

28. Well I did my best. Gave them what I had free of cost. When I got no immediate response I posted my ideas on BU. So give BU credit as I doubt that the Advocate or Nation would have carried it.

As a result a certain young Bajan woman says she fell in love wid me, but now the Bushman like he horn me, man. I will leff he lone cause he is a top BU performer.

29. @David,
    Lawyers get some licks from the president of the BIBA. Read it in Barbadostoday.
    Interesting that he would speak out against the Legal mcguffees.

30. The QEH was a state of the art facility when it was opened in the 1960’s, paid for by the labour, sweat, blood and tears of our parents and grandparents but the QEH has long since become a run down third world hospital. Tell the truth now would any of you feel happy if you had to go to work in that building everyday? No wonder the staff are sour and grumpy.

David wrote “If memory serves the Prime Minister had indicated he would rely on philanthropy to help build the hospital”

When I first heard this statement I almost died laughing. We must really think that philanthropists are stupid.

My question to you David (and to the PM if he really made that foolish statement) why should philanthropy build a hospital for us when we are rich enough that our Prime Minister can afford a months long stay in an American hospital. You think that the philanthropists who want to help truly poor people and truly poor countries won’t notice this?

Has the Prime Minister in an act of philanthropy left anything in his will for the QEH? has the PM before him done so? or the PM before that one? or the one before, or the one before? No? Have any of us on this blog asked our lawyers to put in a little berry for the QEH when they are drawing up our wills? No? Then why should strangers do for us what we ae unwilling to do for ourselves?

I can’t believe that so many of us still believe that an old white guy, from the far white north has a new or refurbished hospital waiting fo us in his Christmas sack.

It ain’t there, we won’t get it so.

We will get a new or substantially hospital when we pull our pockets to pay for it. Government will have to use tax money from us and through bonds government will have to tax our children and our children’s children in order to raise the funds.

Government has to take the lead.

Santa Claus is NOT going to bring us a shiny new hospital. We will have to do what our parents, and grandparents, and great grandparents did. We will have to work hard to pay for it. We will get a new or substantially refurbished hospital by the sweat of our brow or we won’t get it at all.

And we will have to keep the conmen (and conwomen) out of the tendering and construction process, because those rascals can end up doubling the cost of the thing, just so that they can live large (and perhaps die young)

31. Hospitals are partially funded in Canada and the USA with charitable donations by rich Individuals.
    In Canada there are many hospital lotteries and some of the earnings of gambling casinos are used to fund hospitals.

There is nothing wrong with Barbados doing what the Canadians do.
    It would be nice to see the BS&T chronic illness wing at the QEH etc.

32. Georgie Porgie,

Sorry, for not responding sooner to what you had asked@September 22, 2010, 10:01 am. Many situations here go beyond our control.

What situation though??

Anyhow, what we would mainly tell you now is that we are prepared to listen to and laise with people like yourself – the experts in any particular areas in this country – in order to gain greater wisdom and understanding.

33. PDC
    Re what we would mainly tell you now is that we are prepared to listen to and laise with people like yourself – the experts in any particular areas in this country – in order to gain greater wisdom and understanding.

===================================
    Many on BU think you guys not fit to lead the country.
    But do you think it makes sense to educate a man from the cradle right through medical school and then disregard his opinions that would clearly benefit the country just because he is not in your party?

That is the wisdom of the DLP & St David. That is why this country is badly off

I am quite sure that the highly valuable opinions of others like mine are disregarded for similar reasons. C’et la vie!