Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

I share the shock, sadness and outrage of all Barbadians at the Tudor Street disaster, in which six persons perished. I urge all Barbadians to pause and prayer at noon tomorrow, Friday, for the souls of those who died as well as for a cessation of such dastardly acts in this country of ours.

One positive feature of this whole episode was the manner in which all interest groups spoke in unison in their condemnation of the cowardly act that is purported to have triggered the fire. That sounded like the Barbados I once knew!

I say this because repeatedly in my writings over the past six years I have made the call for civil society to stand up and tell it like it is. We have moved away from the tradition of speaking openly and objectively on issues of concern to our people. Few persons who actually speak today can be classified as not having an agenda, and this is woefully unfortunate.

I have spent the past few weeks away from Barbados and it was refreshing to read newspapers and watch television discussions and talk shows and hear people speaking from the heart and from objective professional and philosophical perspectives. In parts of Europe and the United States certain commentators are known for their natural partisan, ideological and or ethnic bias, but yet there are others who can be relied upon to analyze the facts and give an unbiased opinion. That’s why I enjoy reading certain foreign newspapers. It’s perhaps why I also shun Fox News and CNN’s coverage of partisan, political events.

But, back to Barbados, I commend those who have spoken up and out against this most recent act of terrorism against our country. I agree with former Prime Minister Owen Arthur that it was an act of terrorism. On matters such as these and in circumstances such as this, Arthur can be relied upon to accurately reflect and articulate the sentiment of the majority. This is the human Owen Arthur. But then, put him in Parliament or on a platform, before a microphone and he becomes Arthur the politician. And therein lays the contradiction.

There was a time in our not too distant past when political figures such as Errol Barrow, Richie Haynes, Henry Forde, Bernard St. John and others of that vintage could be relied upon in moments of national crisis to rise above partisan rhetoric and inform, enlighten and educate Barbadians about what was going on at home, in the region and farther afield. Please pardon my failure to affix official prefixes but in the context of their robust political personalities, I would wish to refer to them as we knew them.

Sitting from across the political divide, when Bernard St. John or Henry Forde spoke on matters of national interest and concern, no one on our side had to check to see whether they were telling the truth or whether they had taken anything out of context. We knew they loved Barbados and we knew when they entered a public discussion they were motivated in the main by a desire to procure and secure what was best for Barbados. If they said the economy was in trouble and we needed to check ourselves as a country, Errol Barrow or Erskine Sandiford did not argue, because they knew that such advice was well intentioned and rooted, if not in fact, in analyses thought to be correct.

None of these was celebrated economists. They may have dabbled in their college years in some form of economic training, but none professed to be ordained by the Almighty as an Economic expert. But today, I can think of two self proclaimed economic wizards actively involved in the politics of Barbados, whose pronouncements on economic matters are taken with a grain of salt by more than half the population.

I do not know whether Clyde Mascoll understands what he did to the image of the profession of economic theory in Barbados when he did his political somersault a few years ago. I do not think he understands the irreparable damage that was done to the credibility of economists when one day he told us one thing and a week later his actions led us to believe another. I do not know if Owen Arthur understands the damage that was done to his image two years ago when in the Estimates Debate he “put down” a speech that made even the then Governor of the Central Bank speak out in annoyance. Do you recall that gloom and doom presentation, where we were not supposed to make it through that fiscal year?

I have made specific reference to these instances because it is really unfortunate that it is only in tragedies such as that which occurred in Tudor Street last Friday that our opinion leaders can come together and focus on what is best for Barbados and determine right from wrong. It should not take tragedies such as this for us to benefit from the calm, sober, unbiased perspectives of our leaders. Any reporter in this country should be able to pick up a phone and interview any trained economist, lawyer, accountant, engineer or businessman and get an unbiased, factual perspective on matters of national importance. But, not so today! Eight out of ten persons who speak or write is recognized by the society as having an interest or an agenda and this takes away from the essence of what they are saying, even if what they say is rooted in fact. Take the economy for example. Joe the Plumber must be confused by all the partisan, political rhetoric that passes for economic discussion in Barbados today. The type of diagnoses and prescriptions that have been made over the past two and a half years would make anyone with a few dollars withdraw them from the bank and bury them under a tree. The debate on our economy has lost its way. Joe the Plumber no longer knows who to believe. If you see a person walk to a microphone, nine out of ten times you can tell what they are going to say based on their partisan, ideological or financial status. That, I maintain, is woefully unfortunate. The society is suffering as a result.

Politicians are not the only ones to blame in this regard. There is also the Church, the business community, the hotel and tourism association, the small business association, the consumer body and the list goes on. Society can tell the motivation behind the pronouncements of a significant percentage of those who speak for and on behalf of those organizations. This, I maintain, is most unfortunate and a sad, sorry blotch on our country.

Oh for a return of objective, unbiased commentary in this our native land.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

98 responses to “Commentators Need To Tell It, Like It Is”

1. Well, I can say that I am confused!

I thought that you would be writing about honoring the dead, not using this tragedy for your political gain!

2. The hunt is for a brand of scratch grain called OSA’S which stick in the writer’s craw and not anything about the pain of the dead or the sorrows of their relatives. BEENZIE says when a man head bad de whole body bad…………

3. I see a predicament. On the one hand, sadly, we have someone fighting a severe illness to provide his abilities to the governing of this island.

However, on the other, we have a man, apparently in good health, well capable of dispensing sound advice and work, forced to retire, due to some ridiculous limitation. Furthermore, forced to retire from an area in which we need expertise.

Sir David Simmons could easily fulfill substantial additional needs to the jurisprudence.

Yet, we now apparently seek someone with no criminal court experience to lead in that area, when a man with capacity is elsewhere.

IF and I said if, he is willing, relevant arrangements, even changing the law, should have been made to address this issue.

As I said, on the one hand, one fighting for his life and determined to keep a spot open for his abilities, yet the other, out of position, while in health.

Ironic?

4. @Anonymous | September 9, 2010 at 9:24 PM |

Good thing Bulldog never caught any of you.

That said, have you read ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ and if so, did your outlook on Bulldog chance after that?

5. Sry, ‘your outlook on Bulldog change after that?’

6. Crusoe
    Its not at all ironic BUT IT SEEMS TO BE THE BAJAN WAY.
    It is really very hard to be in good health and side lined because of envy hatred etc

7. John 3-13 – And no man hath ascended up to heaven, but he that came down from heaven, even the Son of man which is in heaven.

On reading Ephisians chapter 1 and 2. In Chapter 2 which GP quoted, it speaks of an inheritance which will manifest in the future.

In Chapter 2 verse 6 here is what Adam Clarke’s commentary has to say about GP’s quote “And hath raised us up together, and made us sit together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus:”

CLARKE’S COMMENTARY – EPHESIANS 2

Ephisians 2 Verse 6. And hath raised us up together in Christ] Or rather, by Christ; his resurrection being the proof that he had made the full atonement, and that we might be justified by his blood. Believing, therefore, the record which God gave of his Son, we received this atonement, and were raised from a death of sin to a life of righteousness; *and now we sit in heavenly places* – WE HAVE A RIGHT TO THE KINGDOM OF GOD, anticipate this glory, and are indescribably happy in the possession of this salvation, and in our fellowship with Christ Jesus.

Clarke is basically said that htis verse should not be taken literally as GP has done. Because a person has the promise of an Inheritance doesn’t mean he is in possession of it.

It is therefore clear that John 3:13 is correct.

8. Here is what COFFMAN’S COMMENTARY has to say:

Verse 6
    And raised us up with him, and made us to sit with him in the heavenly places, in Christ Jesus.

Raised us up with him …
    Paul was speaking of obeying the gospel in the preceding verse, of being saved from “old sins,” of becoming a part of Christ, being made alive “with Christ,” etc. In that light, this clause is a plain categorical reference to Christian baptism, the same being the means by which God makes the penitent believer to be “in Christ.” How astounding are the comments which would make “raised up with” Christ in this place to mean: “the resurrection of believers at the last day,” “a spiritual transformation,” “believers are viewed (here) as already seated there (in heaven) with Christ,” “IN SPIRIT ALREADY, and ERE LONG OUR BODIES TOO WILL BE RAISED” – but the true meaning is given by Paul himself thus:

We were buried with him through baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we also might walk in newness of life (Romans 6:4).
    Having been buried with him in baptism, wherein ye were also raised with him, through faith in the working of God who raised him from the dead … you, I say, did he make alive together with him (Colossians 2:12,13).

The full meaning of this verse is that Christians who have been baptized into Christ, therein being “made alive together with Christ” and being “raised up with him,” ARE PARTAKERS OF THE FULL RIGHTS AND PRIVILAGES OF THE HEAVENLY KINGDOM.

Verse 7
    That in the AGES TO COME he might show the exceeding riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus.

Again believers have the rights and privileges, but are not in possession as yet.

Could all these French men be wrong because GP says otherwise?

9. @A. D.
    Can you expound some more knowledge on heaven. Since heaven was also part of God’s creation then it must be somewhere .My question to you where would that place be?

10. @AC

When the bible mentions heaven it speaks of going up to, or coming down from. This seems to be relative to our position on earth.

The directions to heaven begin with the following:

Rom 10:9 That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.

If you follow the directions according to Rom 10:9 and the teachings of Jesus according to the bible, you will one day know exactly where it is. Jesus will take you there one day.

11. Mr AD
    I am pleased at last to see some one on BU that actually reads a Commentary
    Now tell me where you saw that I said that Jesus was incorrect in his comments inrecorded in John 3:11-13.

I asked you to comment on Ephesians to find out if you ascertain the concept of comparing scripture with scripture and of dispensations . You have demonstrted that you can copy from a commentary, and that you can try to attack me like the BU herd. I also asked you to comment on Enoch & Elijah all for good reason .
    I will ask you also to be more careful in observing the tenses in the text. This might help you a lot in rightly dividing theWord of truth. Then you can return to class.

12. “Are you are aware that there are more than one word translated/mistranslated “hell” in the KJV . So that the rich man went to HADES. The place of the departed dead. Even Jesus is said to have been there. Check the reference.”

The bible says this place called hell offered torment of flames for the rich man.

“Where do you suppose that Enoch and Elijah are?They did not die but were essentially snatched away (or raptured)?”

I suspect these guys are in Abraham’s bosom. The bible, however, doesn’t make it quite clear.

John 3-12& 13 – These verses say Jesus CAME to earth and now IS in heaven.

He will return again to receive those who believe (Joh 14:3).

13. @ Anonymous | September 10, 2010 at 1:38 PM |
    …”however you and Bushman do not have the senses needed to touch, see or smell it.

So when or how do you acquire these senses?”
    Excellent question – already asked (by Nicodemus) and answered (by Jesus).
    Unfortunately, as was his wont, Jesus answered using a parable so obviously poor Nic (and millions following him) have absolutely no idea what he was talking about.

As fate would have it, the Bushman is not constrained to speaking in parables so you can now have the common everyday bushie answer…..

To acquire these senses, you must be born again.

A human being acquires human senses during the 9-month gestation period of development inside the mother’s womb.
    At the start of the process, it is a senseless embryo which is then fertilized by the father’s sperm. Over the next 9 months, if all goes well, that embryo develops into a fully developed baby -with human senses – ready to experience the realities of the world.
    A spiritual being acquires spiritual senses during the lifetime gestation period of development inside the womb of mother earth.
    At the start of the process, he is a senseless (spiritually) human who is then fertilized by the father’s seed (holy spirit). After fertilization, the successful spiritual embryo (christian) develops into a fully developed BBE – with spiritual senses – ready to experience the realities of the Kingdom of BBE.

The parallel processes are NOT coincidental.

14. @GP

I also wanted to remind you of the thief who died on the cross next to Jesus. He would have died, but went the same day to paradise, which is believed to be Abraham’s bosom.

This is the same place where Lazarus, Elijah, and Enoch maybe residing.

So to reiterate persons who die do not immediately go to heaven as Hollywood teaches. Class dismiss.

15. Amazing! Amazing! Anybody else wondered how an amplitudinous, mammoth, load of bovine excrement, originally placed in this blog by the principal political advisor, could eventually be discarded and replaced by an interesting sriptural discussion?

16. @AD
    Ref: When the bible speak of heaven it speaks of going upto or coming down . I hate to belabour the point of the discussion on heaven. However can you explain “Going up”or “coming down”. In the world where we exist we underst and that going up takesone to a place of height. and the opposite is true for coming down.
    Is it possible that Jesus was speaking in parables and was trying to show the importance of living a spirtual life which has its advantages that of being “heavenly” or being in heaven

17. @ac

I suspect that is not the case, because Jesus would have been shooting himself in the foot.

The bible says to be saved one must accept Jesus as Lord and Saviour, to eventually reside in heaven. (Rom 10:9 )

Living a “spiritual life” might offer a “heavenly”, or heaven-like sensation, but do you think this heaven?

Have you accepted Jesus as Lord and Saviour, he is the only way to heaven?

I know persons believe that all roads lead to Rome, and all you have to do is live a good life being kind to all men etc etc. This will not stand-up before God because God can’t stand no form of sin, and we ALLLLLL have sinned in thought, word, and deed, and no amount of good works (although important as it shows faith) can clean that.

This thing is so serious, that Jesus in order to save us had to give up being God, and become a man like you an I, so his blood could be spilt to cover our sins.

If you really want to go to heaven. Then you must accept Jesus as Lord and Saviour. Get to know God by reading the bible on your own, and attending the place for sinners in recovery (The Church) :).

18. @AD
    Thanks for your time and patience.In your above comment you say Jesus had to give up being God. Am i to understand that Jesus is God. Or that God beame Jesus in the Flesh.

19. I dont feel like teaching this week end, but I must ask………
    Where does the Bible ANYWHERE say that Jesus ever stopped being God?

20. @ac

“Am i to understand that Jesus is God.”

Yes.

“Or that God beame Jesus in the Flesh.”

Yes.

21. @GP

re: Where does the Bible ANYWHERE say that Jesus ever stopped being God?

Php 2:6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:
    Php 2:7 BUT made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:
    Php 2:8 And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.

22. @GP

If you read between the lines here Jesus is saying he is not good, because he is not God. That is, while he was on earth. Have you asked yourself if man would have been able to kill God, or can a man be God and man at the same time?

Mat 19:16 And, behold, one came and said unto him, Good Master, what good thing shall I do, that I may have eternal life?
    Mat 19:17 And he said unto him, Why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God: but if thou wilt enter into life, keep the commandments.

23. @ AD
    You only going to confuse GP now.
    Do you realize what this does to his trinity? What happened to the ‘trinity’ when Jesus was on earth then as a man?

Of course when the Bushman raised this before the BU trinity ducked- and allowed the ball to brush pass the helmet… LOL

24. @Bush Tea

GP is correct, as the trinity is again in place.

25. @ A.D
    ….after being temporarily out of order? LOL

Ha Ha – and more disruptions planned or likely in future yuh think?

26. @A.D.

Didn’t Jesus emphasis the importance of livimg a spirtual life during his ministry on earth as evident in many of his teachings?Believing in Jesus is only the begining but as Jesus Said “Doing the willof his father who is in heaven” and that should would only be accomplished by being GOOD. As God himself is Good!

27. I love how GP hijack this one and is really giving good commentary.
    Amen to that.

28. Ad
    You have gone to the right passage but you have interpreted it incorrectly LOL
    re: Where does the Bible ANYWHERE say that Jesus ever stopped being God?

Php 2:6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:
    Php 2:7 BUT made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:
    Php 2:8 And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.

Go some where and read up on what is called the KENOSIS & THE EPISTATIC UNION . Read the verse in the original Greek, and you will find that your opinion is the exact opposite.
    Even in the English it does not say that he stopped being God. It says he TOOK UPON HIMSELF THE FORM “morphe” of a servant . Note it does not say he became a servant (although in effect he did become a servant) . Note if the Lord of the manor does the servants duties that does not alter his status or rank as Lord of the manor.

Jesus became the GOD-MAN otherwise he could not fulfill the role of KINSMAN REDDEMER (Hebrews 2:14)

Read also John 1:1-2 in the Greek and correctly interpret the verb meant. You need to know that the Greek has a special past tense

Here is a Biblical defintion of the gospel for the seed picker

Note that the Biblical definition of the GOSPEL is given in I Corinthians Chapter 15:3-4. Read from verses 1 for the context.

1. Moreover, brethren, I declare unto you the gospel which I preached unto you, which also ye have received, and wherein ye stand; 2. By which also ye are saved, if ye keep in memory what I preached unto you, unless ye have believed in vain.
    3. For I delivered unto you first of all that which I also received, how that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; 4. And that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures:
    Note Paul says that Believers STAND on the gospel and are SAVED by believing the gospel.
    Note also that the Gospel is that 1 CHRIST DIED FOR OUR SINS as predicted by the OT scriptures and declared by the NT scriptures.
    2 CHRIST WAS BURIED & AFTERWARDS ROSE AGAIN THE THIRD DAY as predicted by the OT scriptures and declared by the NT scriptures.

This is the REAL good news that Jesus brought to this world BASED ON HIS VICARIOUS SACRIFICE. Now a proper perusal of the NT will reveal several scriptures that back this scriptural definition up.

29. @GP

I realized that Php 2:6-8 could possibly offer some loopholes. It was meant to be a yorker, but after release of the delivery I noticed it would be a full toss, and you would put me in the Greenidge and Haynes stand.

I therefore made a another quick run-up with the perfect yorker to back-up the first delivery, and although you, and I know you would like to just ignore it. It can’t be ignored because it might go on to hit the pads for a call of LBW, or to claim the stumps.

Can you therefore make comment concerning the following yorker?

Mat 19:16 And, behold, one came and said unto him, Good Master, what good thing shall I do, that I may have eternal life?
    Mat 19:17 And he said unto him, Why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God: but if thou wilt enter into life, keep the commandments.

30. @ac

I noticed you have focused again on “living spiritually” but what is your understanding of living spiritually?

31. @Bush Tea

“Ha Ha – and more disruptions planned or likely in future yuh think?”

Yes. That will be the second coming of Jesus. This time around he won’t be coming as a humble man, but as God.

At this time there will be judgement, that every knee should bow, and every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.

Php 2:9 Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name:
    Php 2:10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;
    Php 2:11 And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
    Php 2:12 Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.

32. @A.D
    Living a spiritual life would be that of the way Jesus commanded us to do in his summation of the ten commandments..That is why i believe that if while on earth one can do those things which were commanded of Jesus we would alll be for the better of it and our journey to heaven would be complete.

33. @A. D.
    I do appreciate your input and your persistence in dealing with the issues. You are a breath of fresh air on BU. Your simplicity and humility comes across in the way you relate to others. Continue on . You are heavenly bound.

34. AD
    What team you does play for Sir? Sugar Hill or Sweet Bottom?

First you take two verses out of context
    Second you discard all the scriptures that detail how salvation is wrought
    Third with respect to the general context of this conversation and the dispensation in which this conversation, you want to use these texts to prove that Jesus is not God? You are trying to test me right? Cause you cant be serious

Have you ever read John chapter 5 from verse 16 onwards. Do so and see who Jesus is.

If you have read through John’s gospel and don’t reach the conclusion that that is what the Holy Spirit through John is seeking to tell us, YOU DON’T UNDERSTAND JOHN’s GOSPEL OK? All John is saying in his gospel is my cousin Jesus is God!

When Jesus asked Why callest thou me good? He was asking a very reasonable and a great question in light of the fact that the religious ruler class of his day did not accept Jesus as God. See John I :11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not……
    The Jews taught and believed that the only one who was good was God. Therefore to call Jesus good was to call him God. Peruse the OT and you will find that “good” or “goodness “ was one of the characteristics of God.

A simple and well know example is Psalm 23”6 Surely goodness and mercy etc Here the Psalmist is using personification and puts two of the divine characteristics for the Shepherd. Remember the Psalm the Lord God (Adonai) is my shepherd.

Jesus is entangling the man in his flattery and folly by in essence saying YOU KNOW THAT YOU DONT ACCEPT THAT I AM GOD WHO ALONE CAN BE THUS CALLED SO WHY DO YOU CALL ME GOOD WHY DO YOU CALL ME BY A DIVINE CHARACTERISTIC?

Now Sir tell me what you understand by working out your salvation in Phil 2: 12. How does that differ from WORKING FOR SALVATION/ What does the BIBLE SAY ABOUT WORKING FOR ONE”S SALVATION?

35. @GP man
    You should throw away your Instruction Manual and speak to your Manufacturer God directly
    Later At Minton’s*

(*)=Jazz Osmosis
    Osmosis
    It has been suggested that Electroneutral exchange be merged into this article or section. (Discuss)
    Osmosis is the movement of water molecules across a partially-permeable membrane down a water potential gradient

36. Very interesting. Same verses two different interpretations. both of which can be seen as valid. One person take the context litteraly The other persons interpretation is given from the view as to who were asking thequestions of Jesus ande the manner in which Jesus responds.

37. Isaiah 58:8 Then shall thy light break forth as the morning, and thine health shall spring forth speedily: and thy righteousness shall go before thee; the glory of the LORD shall be thy reward.

Gregory Isaacs – Bumping and Boring

38. @ac

I see where you are coming from. Just continue to read the bible for yourself, because persons can read the same verses and come up with different conclusions.

You mentioned the ten commandments, but I don’t think these are still in place. The ten were replaced by two great commandments.

Mat 22:37 Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind.
    Mat 22:38 This is the first and great commandment.
    Mat 22:39 And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.
    Mat 22:40 On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.

39. @A.D.
    Your response is exactly what i alluded to in my above comment when i said :Jesus summmation of the ten commandments” On this we agree.

40. @GP

In the finally analysis you are saying that the rich man was mocking Jesus, and that Jesus decided to reply with sarcasm.

“Now Sir tell me what you understand by working out your salvation in Phil 2: 12. How does that differ from WORKING FOR SALVATION/ What does the BIBLE SAY ABOUT WORKING FOR ONE”S SALVATION?”

I’ll have to look into this.

41. @ AD
    Re @GP
    In the finally analysis you are saying that the rich man was mocking Jesus, and that Jesus decided to reply with sarcasm.

I did not say that at all
    I am saying that the rich man used flattery to some one whom he considered only to be a rabbi and not God..We know from John 2 24 &25 24 that Jesus as God could discern the hearts of men. We know hat as a Jew he knew thier culture and beliefs. Jesus thus answered him appropriately

But Jesus did not commit himself unto them, because he knew all men, 25. And needed not that any should testify of man: for he knew what was in man.

Now if we met in town by Nelson, and folk heard me say clearly that AD IS A BIG HEAD IDIOT, what would be the correct interpretation of what I said? Anyone can interpret that sentence as they like, but what is the one and correct interpretation?
    The Bible is a translated book that describes events in a different time and in a foreign land do you think that all these things ought to be taken into consideration.

what does it mean in John 4 when it says that Jesus must needs go through Samaria? How do you go about interpreting that CORRECTLY.

When Jesus says I am the DOOR. What did he mean? How do you go about interpreting that sentence.

42. !A.D.
    The man who called Jesus “good” was not using flattery . Insteadit was sarcasm since the believe of the Jews was that of Jesus was not God and Jesus knew it and he answered them appropriately as i have read it by the above context given. Again same verse different interpretations.

43. AD
    Here are the correct answers to my questions which I will have to give you any way.

WHAT DOES THE BIBLE SAY ABOUT WORKING FOR SALVATION

It says you cant work for your salvation.
    Titus 3: 4-6
    4. But after that the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appeared, 5. Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost; 6. Which he shed on us abundantly through Jesus Christ our Saviour; 7. That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.

** Note that believers are justified {just as if they had never sinned) by grace(God’s unmerited favor) and they are thus mad heirs or inheritors of the hope(assuramce) of eternal life

Ephesians 2:8
    8. For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9. Not of works, lest any man should boast.

** Note again that believers are saved by grace through faith via a gift of God.
    Note that it is not of works, i.e you cant work for salvation. Because the work has been done by Christ on the cross as taught in several NT scriptures.

Romans 4:4&5
    4. Now to him that worketh is the reward not reckoned of grace, but of debt.
    5. But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness.
    Phil. 2:12
    Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling [Phil. 2:12].
    “Salvation” in this verse is used, I believe, in a general sense. Paul is talking about working out their problems which they had in the church and working out the problems in their own Christian lives. He is not there to help them and is not sure that he ever will be there again because he is in a Roman prison. So he tells them to work out their “own salvation with fear and trembling.”
    A preacher was reading this verse of Scripture in the morning service. A little girl whispered to her mother, “Mother, you can’t work out salvation unless it has first been worked in, can you?” Now that is a very good question. The next verse answers it.
    For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure [Phil. 2:13].
    So God works out that which He had worked in. If God has saved you, He has saved you by faith—plus nothing. God is not accepting any kind of good works for salvation. But after you are saved, God talks to you about your works. The salvation that He worked in by faith is a salvation He will work out also.
    Calvin expressed it this way: “Faith alone saves, but the faith that saves is not alone.” James states it like this: “Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works” (James 2:17–18). Only God can see the heart; He knows our true condition. He knows if I have saving faith; He knows if you have saving faith. But your neighbor can’t see your faith. The only thing he can see is the works of faith. True faith will work itself out so that the people around us will be able to tell that we are different, that we are Christians. We don’t need to wear a placard or some sort of symbol to identify ourselves as Christians.

WHAT DOES THE BIBLE SAY ABOUT WORKING OUT or after SALVATION

Note Ephesians 2:8-10
    8. For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: 9. Not of works, lest any man should boast.
    10. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

Titus 2:14
    14. Who gave himself for us, that he might redeem us from all iniquity, and purify unto himself a peculiar people, zealous of good works.
    Note that good works cones AFTER salvation or redemption in this verse
    Note also that Titus 3:14 follows Tutus 3:4-6
    14. And let our’s also learn to maintain good works for necessary uses, that they be not unfruitful.

44. The Endless Wars of Islam

Islam emerged from what is modern day Saudi Arabia in the 7th century, and never looked back. Muslim armies swept across North Africa and invaded Catholic Spain, destroying or converting the Christian communities along the way. They turned churches into mosques, and made Islam the official religion. Muslim armies also took over the Holy Land, destroyed the last non-Islamic Persian empire, and moved into Asia Minor (modern day Turkey). By the 16th century, Islam had destroyed the Christian Byzantine Empire, had taken over Constantinople, and had turned the Hagia Sophia — the most beautiful church in Christendom — into a mosque. A century later, Muslim armies were outside the gates of Vienna.
    While the years have passed and the names of the armies and countries have changed, Islam’s war against the rest of us continues at full speed. There isn’t a day that goes by without a new terrorist attack carried out by a Muslim militant. Women are stoned in Afghanistan because they had the nerve to be raped… Children are beaten to death and strung up in Pakistan, because they were suspected of theft… Non-Muslims living in Muslim countries are in constant fear of kidnapping and murder… It’s even happening here. In Buffalo, New York, a Muslim-American television executive who attempted to use his station to improve U.S public opinion about Muslims later beheaded his wife after she filed for divorce. Of the roughly 25 wars currently ongoing, 21 involve Muslim countries. Put differently, Islam is connected to 80% of the planet’s armed conflicts, while making up only 20% of its population. There’s a reason for that.
    In Islam the world exists in two Houses. The House of Peace, where Islam is the recognized religion, and the House of War, where Islam is fighting to become the recognized religion, and because Islam teaches that Allah may change his mind at any time, for Muslims, there is no stable and universal moral code. When you eliminate reason as a guide in human thinking, force is the only thing that determines truth. For that reason, in the House of War, anything goes.
    In regard to the Park51 mosque, both critics and supporters are getting the context wrong. They’re framing the debate as if it were a New York or American affair — a local dispute over land use. This is dangerously naive. The context isn’t New York in the year 2010, but the whole world since the seventh century. If you ignore that, you miss the entire point, and are reduced to explaining the protests as examples of bigotry or religious intolerance.
    Islam has always grown through conquest, never through peaceful conversion or persuasion. Furthermore, there is nothing in Islam that allows for religious freedom, because Islam rejects the use of reason. If you can’t depend on reason, then what’s the point of having the freedom to use it? After all, it will only mislead you. In Islam, you’re expected to submit to God (as he is presented to you by Islam), no matter what your reason or logic tells you.
    That theological point has real-world consequences: The God of Islam will do what he will do, when he wants to do it, and there’s no telling what that might be. God might make the sun rise tomorrow… Or he may not. He may upend the laws of gravity, or he might maintain them. We don’t know, it’s all up to Allah. That means we don’t live in a stable natural world, and science is therefore impossible. That’s the reason the Islamic world has fallen so far behind in technology, science, and medicine — because they’ve rejected its very foundation. That’s also why democracy is ultimately incompatible with the religion: If you can’t depend on reason, how could you successfully choose a leader? Instead, a leader will be chosen for you by whatever Islamic authority has jurisdiction.
    Contrast that with the attitudes of both Christianity and Judaism throughout history. While both have had (sometimes serious) conflicts — and have carried out periods of religious suppression — they both share a devotion to God-given human reason. Think of what that makes possible: People can be persuaded through argument, and not violence. Might no longer makes right. When Christians and Jews have violated this in the past, it is because they have acted contrary to the foundations of their religions, not because of it.
    This devotion to reason also creates room for religious freedom. If we can use reason as a guide, then truth — if presented fairly — will be more compelling than error. We don’t need to impose our religion through force (as is the case with Islam), but can simply create a free society where people can make their own decisions about faith and government. They’ll sometimes be wrong, but when they are, it’s because they neglected some aspect of their reason.
    Islam is entirely different. They rejected philosophy in the 11th century, and have been in a cultural free fall ever since. Muslims are fine with religious freedom when they’re in the minority in a country, because it gives them room to grow. But once they become the majority, they transform the nation into something else entirely, because a liberal democracy run by human reason is an offense (and an impossibility) to the Muslim Mind. Islam doesn’t thrive in a liberal democracy; it merely bides its time

45. well! Well
    Tony Marshall asked questions on Vob
    Where is heaven ?Where is hell?

46. @ac ‘Where is heaven ?Where is hell?’

Everywhere can be heaven or hell. Now, gotta go get some sleep, to be up early and worship the Sun Goddess as she rises, from the East.

47. @Crusoe
    The Sungoddess
    She is one hot tamale too!

48. I wonder what would Jesus say to those of us who have called for the death penalty for those two young criminals.Also what would say to them .