New General Manager Sandra Forde tours facilities at Mangrove depot

The issues at the Transport Board have bedevilled Barbados governments for the past 30 years. What is evident is the veil of corruption which envelops its operations. With each passing year the political directorate in cahoots with others have fiercely protected the fatted calf.ย  How quickly Barbadians have forgotten the award of an insurance contract to CGI Insurance Company by former Minister of Transport Rommell Marshall. The contempt which Marshall showed for Barbadians by cloaking that transaction in a shroud of secrecy will cement his tainted legacy as a minister of the Crown to his grave.

Unfortunately the relevant legislation that would empower the people to rip away the protection which protects the scumbags who gnaw away at the treasury remains firmly in place. The Thompson government promised to introduce Freedom of Information (FOI) legislation at the earliest opportunity on assuming office. Three years into its term the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) government appears to have become distracted. Yes the global economic storm remains its biggest challenge but in tough times good leaders always* find a way to get the job done.

The Transport Authority was established in 2008 to provide a framework to formulate the vision of the Transport Board into a clearly articulated policy framework for public transport in Barbados. It is 2010 and Barbadians who have witness a transportation system which has descended into chaos remain expectant that a well intentioned body will begin to rollout its mandate soon.

The Transport Board and the PSV sectors continue to operate in a cutthroat environment to the benefit of a few growing bank accounts. Who can forget former Ministers of Transport who issued hundreds of permits on the eve of general elections? If we thought Johnny and Georgie were bad Wuk Fuh Wuk took it to a different level. It is no secret the permits which were exchanged for โ€˜a few dollarsโ€™.

This bullshit has got to stop!

For many years people in the know have questioned the selection of the clumsy Marco Polo Mercedes Benz buses to operate efficiently on narrow Barbados roads. Why do we have these huge buses competing with the smaller PSV, on short routes to boot? What has happen to the ACME Transport Board relationship? The ACME manufactured Hino buses built for the PSV sector in the 90s continue to ply the routes of Barbados to this day. What are we missing?

Why should one Bajan Indian own a fleet of minibuses? Yes he is Bajan but BU can agree toย  substitute Black or White for Indian. Why should our government on behalf of its people approve a system which can be easily manipulated by persons with deep pockets and promise of favours?ย  What was the tendering process which Brathwaiteโ€™s Trans-Tech participated to supply materials to the Transport Board? Despite his his political lineage does it make him exempt.ย  Finally, why is it successive governments have remained married to the decision to purchase Mercedes Benz buses in the face of evidence there are more robust models? Could it be our financially and socially insecure politicians run scared of Sir Kyffin?

What about the operations of United Commercial Autoworks Ltd (UCAL) which is the special workshop arrangement setup to service Transport Board buses? How can the taxpayers of Barbados scrutinize the details of the current arrangement? What external examination is in place to ensure any service level agreement is being strictly adhered to? The people want to know!

The time for the corruption and lack of transparency masking decisions and actions at the Transport Board must stop!

64 responses to “Cronyism, Corruption And A Lack Of Transparency At The Transport Board”

1. Inkwell // July 23, 2010 at 6:42 AM

Why was the successful business, Acme Manufacturing, killed when if was manufacturing good quality, long lasting vehiclesโ€ฆall of the mini buses now on the road were manufactured by them, right here in Barbados using imported chassis, twenty, twenty five years ago? The TB even has some in its fleet.
    ………………………………………………………………….

Driver here again,

I have been at TB for over ten years (won’t give the exact number here) the buses previously made by Acme are the HIno buses there are two types at TB, ones that came in 1997 and others came in either 2000 or 2001 these buses run like a toyota car to a small man – just routine maintenance and diesel and they are all manual which is good. They have one BM16 which has been off the road since 2001/2 why has that not been repaired and put back on the road again don’t you think 8/9 years for a bus to be off the road is too long? (it did not have an accident either, think they took parts from it to fix others back then). We drivers certainly think so, but it is not the only bus there are one or two others, thought for lesser time. They think because we drive that we are fools we talk about these things over a beer daily, things like these contribut to low morale you talk and no one really listens. The board chairman listened but I believe the management finally tired him out we hardly see him now, they will soon do the same to Sandra Forde our lates GM.

If they wanted good buses they would import the larger Hino buses from overseas since Acme has closed. L & N Bodywork shop which seems to be a spinoff of Acme should also be able to make a large hino type bus. Some of the tour operators have imported them and you know these guys don’t waste they money easily buying something that won’t work.

Remember things like buses and roads bring in big money for the right people.

Driver Out

2. L.E, “Boychild” Smith, (MP St Joseph) during a debate on the Transport Board in the House of Assembly some years ago recommended issuing uniforms to the conductors without pockets. Looks like more than ever we need to outfit those at the top in similar garb. For the life of me I still cannot see why the Transport Board and the Minister of Transport opted to scrapped the Transport Board’s workshop and farm out the repairs on a contractual basis. When a bus was under repairs during those times when the Board was in control of the workshop, the repair staff and management of the workshop were always cognisant of the fact that keeping a vehicle unduly long under repairs affected the overall availability of the rolling stock.Not so with the outside repair businesses, the longer the unit is kept at their premises , the more likely the repair cost will rise.
    Over the years the “accountant style managers”, have not given much thought to adequate selection of vehicles or have respected the maintenence staff, whether their own or UCAL’s and seem to be unaware that the Transport Board only starts earning revenue when that first bus trundles out of the depot and starts picking up passengers.The bus is the vital life line of the Transport Board.
    Most of the old bus concessionaires, all had valid driving licenses,and it was not uncommon to see the owner/manager of the business doing an early morning run himself, if the assigned driver did not turn up in time. They also patrol their routes at peak hours ,and if necessary, arrange to have additional buses service the route. Do the Managers of the Board ever take the opportunity ,like Liz Thompson, to get their hands dirty ,so to speak?
    In these days of information technology,the Transport Board should have at their finger tips passenger data pertaining to every route and every hour.This information would allow better management of routes and should prevent the assignment of a 80 passenger capacity bus on a 12 passenger route,or the other way round, which happens frequently,hence why commuters opt for the private PSV’s .

3. I will always sing the praise of Capt Hill, he, as I stated previously ,was an accomplished mechanic , having trained in France under the Citroen dealership programme. Twice a day , he had the habit of what we then consider casually walking through the workshop.During those walks he observed much, and if he saw anything less than satisfactory workmanship, he would let it be known. The maintenance staff became second to none in the island. Coupled with a very effective Preventive Maintenance Programme, breakdowns and inordinate downtime were severely reduced.

4. Brutus // July 23, 2010 at 8:46 AM

There is an ad in todayโ€™s Nation where the Transport Board is asking for tenders to supply tyres and batteries, from September this year for two years. We should keep track and see who wins these contracts.

@Driver โ€“ are the bus repairs still being done by a company owned by employees, and if so, how has this been working?
    >>>>>>>>>>

The average life of a battery I understand from the electricians is now around 6-8 months from the last supplier of the tender, they say sometimes less.

A few weeks ago I got some heavy black batteries in the bus i usually drive, seems the company with the tender has been having some problems lately supplying. These batteries are said to be VERY GOOD said to give a good 12 – 18 months. Can’t remember the name of the company but understand it is in six roads.

If the politics are taken out and proper buying pratices observed then we can get good batteries, tyres, bus soap liquid and SAVE MONEY for everyone.

Oh, UCAL is the name of the company they have the years experience but they are in need of modern equipment to speed up the work, understand that they are getting less and less work, work not goes to:
    UCAL, SIMPSON MOTORS (mercedes dealers), TRANSTECH, L & N BODYSHOP, and QUALITY CARE some where in Searles.

5. Mr Tucker, Capital F // July 23, 2010 at 2:55 PM

Sorry if I seem to differ.Driver is still an employee of the Transport Board, and should therefore demonstrate some measure of loyalty to his employer. Has he raised these concerns at Union / departmental meetings? How long has Driver worked at the Transport Board. Did these or similar problems occurred only in the last 2-1/2 years. And if not, has Driver ever attempted to highlight these concerns in public as he is doing now?

I have been here over 10 years, but less than 12 so you get the drift.
    It is because of loyalty to our EMPLOYER the Gov’t of Barbados that these problems are being raised. Management is clamping down on hours and other things while letting money waste in so many other areas, so many of the management is weak and have no balls at all every one is looking out for themselves, the board seems to be putting their “friends” and family to get rich don’t you think they get something from it; lets be real, do you remember a few years ago two of my colleagues went to the Nation and highlighted some problems we had, the management denied everything. But it was all true, they tried to find the drivers to victimise them, they were trying to target anyone they thought it was.
    Our union delegates are jokers, they only try to get a supervisor pic or some type of perks for themselves. Our union president drives the scenic tour bus, BM334 when they have tours even on his off days only him, for him not to drive it he would have to be on vocation. If you have a serious issue you have to get a lawyer to send them a letter to let them know you are no fool, so many of us have had to spend that $175.00 to protect our rights in the early. He cusses everyone who raises issues, serious issues that he does not agree with, he is a tool of the management everyone knows that he get what he wants and everyone else has to struggle for themselves (Sir Roy loves him though)
    He also drives BM264, if you ever see it on the road look at it good EVERY THING ON IT WORKS how many of us can say that? You write a memo for the bus and the mechanics want to cuss you. But the president makes sure that his is right.
    I love my job, most workers at TB are paid well, we want to keep our jobs and not let the management and the board pull it down, that is why I am here and why my colleagues and myself will contribute to this through me if necessary.

Lastly BM 586 that the back wheels dropped off in the north, do you know that the main driver kept writing memos for a noise in the bus? Won’t call his name just call him Mr. A. Luckily he still has his memo book for every memo that he wrote. Do you know what they did? They said he did not want to work, sent him to town to work instead of from speightown and gave the bus to one of our new guys to drive. When you try to speak up they find ways to frustrate you to break you in, just like in slave days. We write memos that still disappear from Quality Assurance daily, Oh and the bus that ran off in Sheraton car park, did you know that it was not coming back from Transtech for rapairs to the brakes? Luckily no one was injured and the duty driver she is back out to work a while now.
    This forum can get someone to realise that if they stop making TB a political football that so much money can be saved. Once we have qualified and efficient managers and supervisors it can happen – that is another issue for another day.

Driver Out.

6. Kudos to you Driver
    We need more people like you
    Thank you

You inspire me

7. Please forgive the typo in my previous submission

It should have been work NOW goes to (instead of work NOT goes to)

UCAL, SIMPSON MOTORS (mercedes dealers), TRANSTECH, L & N BODYSHOP, and QUALITY CARE some where in Searles.

Driver Oout

8. @Driver

How were those vendors selected you mentioned? Quality Care, L&M etc

9. @ David

Is that not a question for the manager?
    Driver cannot be expected to to have an answer for such questions – maybe an opinion which would likely be hearsay anyway.

It seems to me that we already have a number of questions that Minister Boyce should be asked publicly…..

10. @Bush Tea

Sometimes a driver is more than a driver.

11. Robert Deschappe Avatar
    Robert Deschappe

Driver,
    Well stated. I have heard of the problems of the Transport Board from some of my friends who are drivers and who work at UCAL as well. One driver told me that the bus he usually drives went to Trans Tech Inc. to undergo transmission repairs, and it has been defective since its return to the road. The guys at UCAL have also indicated that most of the work is being contracted to Trans Tech. The connection between Trans Tech and the Transport Board is the deputy chairman. Another amazing observation is the situation with the Mercedes Caio Alpha, BM100. I was informed that this bus had undergone refurbishment on two occasions during the last three to four years, but was still parked at Weymouth for that duration of time. My source also told me that a young driver wanted to operate this bus, but was denied permission. However, I have seen it on the northern routes for about three weeks a few months ago. It is parked at Weymouth again.
    The Speightstown terminal has lost four buses, two through fire (BM53 and 55) one through an accident (BM586), and the other to the City Circle Route (BM214). Buses from the north, identified by the “S” are seen operating on routes from the Fairchild Street terminal, while passengers traveling to Connell Town are forced to share with Josey Hill, and Boscobelle with Indian Ground.
    Another problem is that when new units are purchased, the older buses are driven to Mangrove to “rust out” or auctioned off for as little as $500. Cannot the old buses be refurbished and used as school buses? Presently, many of the northern buses are used as school buses, and passengers are forced to compete with the school children to use the remaining few on the road.

12. True David,
    ….but they may wish to remain a driver. Remember (s)he said that (s)he liked the job and the pay…

13. @BT

Understood!

@Robert

It would seem to lay people given some of the ineptitudes of the TB, integrating the PSVs under a well managed structure i.e The Transport Authority is the obvious way to go.

14. Robert Deschappe // July 24, 2010 at 8:51 AM

Everything that you have said is so true, BM100 is and on again off again bus, it is like the phantom you see it then you don’t. Like you said it works for a few weeks then it is down again. My sources have indicated that the connection you mentioned about the deputy chairman Mr. Nassar is also correct. And have also indicated UCAL fixes a transmission for around seven thousand $7,000.00, Trans Tech fixed one and charged around thirty thousand $30,000.00 AND WERE PAID had the management at UCAL fuming, they are constantly trying to cut the prices of UCAL but pay the polictical put-ins huge invoices.

One or two of the old buses have been bought back from Mangrove to be refurbished right not BM60 is in UCAL’s workshop getting mechanical repairs and will probably be sent to L & N for bodywork and electrical installations, the problem is when these buses are allowed to go that far the repair bill almost like buying a new bus, huge. The gov’t is not too keen on buying buses unless totally necessary so they have to bring back these ones.
    Do you know that these starting motors from Trans Tech are still giving trouble and another one of the last fleet was smoking on the ramp in Weymouth yard from the starting motor. And do you know that when he sent the bus to UCAL to be repaired he was cussed out by the number two head of the department. Someone has something to hide.

15. David // July 24, 2010 at 7:38 AM

@Bush Tea

Sometimes a driver is more than a driver
    Well said David on the above, I will send you a private email.

To answer your question on the vendor selection.
    L & N Introduced by the last BLP Board – they do great work though
    Quality Care Introduced by the DLP Current Board since elections – they do great work also.
    Trans Tech introduced by the DLP Current Board since elections – they leave a lot to be desired prices huge.
    Simpson motors – well they are the dealership
    UCAL – the company that was formed by the workers in 1997 or there abouts operates from TBs compound.

16. @ David

I am not sure a Transport Authority is the answer. Remember our government’s oversight of public transportation is less than stellar as given by “Driver”. Everytime a politician wants to get elected he/she illuminates all the problems at the TB and then when elected he/she just continue the trend of incompetence and pilferage. The TB performs a social good but it needs to be run more efficiently. And it is the politicians that impedes that process. The politicians need to be able to send their constituents to the TB for a job and that does not include interviews….:) Do you think a Transport Authority would address those concerns or would it be same old same old? My fear is that it wouldn’t. I look forward to further debate.

17. It seems the Transport Board has become the quintessential political football. Here are a couple things we have learned over time on BU:

The Accountant is not qualified, this came up last year. It is said she does not even have level 1 ACCA, CGA etc. She is thought to be clocking about 7 000 per month. At that time we learned that the HR manager is not qualified either. This begs the question why does the BWU tolerate this state of affairs. Should tax payers be concerned given the level of subsidies? Hell yes!

While we are at it the Accountant based on our information has responsibility for the Purchasing Officer who is her husband. Please remember the DLP government promised CHANGE!!!

What change what!!!

Can our media practitioners show a little gumption and ask a few questions please? Didn’t Stetson Babb work at the TB? Guess he doesn’t want to blow the whistle on his friends?

18. Just wanted to make sure ,as you correctly hinted, that your complaints are not political motivated. Did you meant that the bus which crashed at Sheraton car park was returning to the depot after brake repairs by Transtech?
    What is the purpose of the Quality Assurance Section? Just a rubber stamp. Because if these problem keep cropping up time and time again,then they could as well make the QA team redundant. Seems to me that there are a lot of square peg in round holes, or at ;least many round holes at the Board these days. I remember the time when Eric Earle was Chief Engineer,(is this position still there)/general Manager (ag) and the then Minister of Transport used to send him former employees of the Board who were previously dismissed for one reason or another. When Mr Earle, hesitated in re-employing such persons he was taken to task by the minister. When the Transport Board ceases to be a political football and dumping ground for many o rejects who cannot run their own businesses or not wanted in the private sector, is the day that it will be on the road to recovery,and reducing the burden on the tax payer.

19. My bus driver friend told me when he gets good overtime he can earn $1500.00 per week. Now that is a good salary which is close to the accountantโ€™s salary.
    This DLP government will have to be treated like the last one, because it seems that they do not believe that people voted for change. No wonder there is any haste for FOI or integrity legislation.
    If what I read in todayโ€™s paper with two truckloads of marl costing $25 750, and paid by government, then I would have to vote for PDC because it would not be my taxes that they are spending.

20. The previous BLPGovernment was a good Government—-THE BEST -Better that the rest

Only people blinded by lies told by the DLP and Hartley would disagree. The Country was running good. There was absolutely no reason to change the Government–None whatsover. —And the gloom has returned to Barbados just like in the early 1990’s

Now these jokers we have do not know what they are doing and this situation is compounded by an off the job PM.

ONE TERM –for this Government
    ONE -TERM
    Why should they get any more
    ONE TERM !
    ONE TERM !
    ONE TERM !

and then lets get things back on track
    because even Crop Over they mashing up. IT SEEMS like they want to destroy Crop Over

21. The TB is representative of the deeper issues corrupting the political process and abusing taxpayers. To get elected, politicians need money; to get money they have to have contributors; to have contributors politicians have to provide paybacks; to provide paybacks politicans make decisions to hire someone, square pegs for wrong holes to payback for a vote and support; a contract awarded to payback for contributions. How does it look in Barbados – who you buy the buses from, who gets repair contracts; who gets road or housing contracts; who gets 20m in taxes waived; who gets cost controls removed from fuel and chicken; spend 1.5b to generate jobs for supporters in the midst of the greatest recession in recent history.

So the real question is why a politician needs so much money for an election though? Because we the people want a round of drinks, a cellphone/light/water bill paid, cash for a vote; house fix, busfare fuh de chile; lil food in de house. I understand a constituency has close to 5000 – 6000 people in it. Let 500 want something that cost money once a month, even only 20 dollars, now you know why we don’t see politicians until election time.

By the time they add up the amount of money they have to pay to get elected and stay elected; and by the time it hit some that this is only a five year job, and some have to start from scratch, and will and do end up poor, DOWN HANDS IN THE COOKIE JAR, unless that person has strong personal integrity. So all the shouting bout corruption corruption to oust the last government might have only be panic that ‘none wun be lef fuh we crew’, because of perhaps the promise of the shares in the fatted calf. Hence drag feet on Integrity legislation for as long as possible. Vicious cycle will start again when they go canvassing – wuh you got to gi’ me.

When we fix that, TB will get fix. Is it not time and more that elections are funded by the treasury, to bring in and sustain honest persons seeking political office, and eliminate the control of big money in our country; should we not have a contractor -general, whose work is audited and published for all to see, so that gov’t business is not overcharged and given to the most ocmpetent person; should we not have Integrity legislation that includes civil servants (yes paybacks for positive recommmendations for contracts to ministers; licenses issued; reports witheld; get inspections done;). Is it not time we educated people to understand that to ‘sell your vote’ sets you up for poor governance later; that a politician with a 100bill is no more qualified to run your gov’t efficiently to improve your opportunities for jobs, and services than taking 1000 dollars from Ninja man to let him perform surgery on you and write a prescription for psoriasis. Isn’t it time?

22. Fair Play // July 24, 2010 at 3:20 PM

My bus driver friend told me when he gets good overtime he can earn $1500.00 per week.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    That is true IF overtime is around but things have slowed down in that area some what, yes you get but not like previously. That is why you are always advised to budget around your gross wage of $809.00

23. David // July 24, 2010 at 12:14 PM

A little correction David don’t think that it would be correct to indicate that Mr. Markley Clarke the HR Mgr is unqualified, he has an Masters in Business Administration, as does the Deputy General Manager, the thing is it seems that he never had any previous experience since he apparently was an Lab Technician before.

It is his deputy the HR Officer (who is acting HR mgr, since he is on vocation)
    who was previously a conductor who has no qualifications for the job, she got it after acting for over a decade as well Her government is in now so she is untouchable. She is in that very close to $7,000.00 bracket as well.

The retirement age for monthly workers at TB is 60 plus the extra time (year or so that the government has extended it by)

It is 65 for the weekly workers drivers, general workers etc. plus the extra time (year or so)

The thing is that we have some persons at mangement and mid management level, persons who are relatively close to retiring, who are trying hard to pull strings to get their time extended for the same as the weekly workers.

What goes for one should go for all and if they can pull strings and get an extension, then persons who are interested in staying on, whether weekly, or monthly should be afforded the same privilige. After all person out there want work.

Driver Out

24. @Driver… A sincere question…

Why is we in Bim so often see two Transport Buses with the same “route” being displayed on their LED display in front immediately behind each other, travelling at high speed?

My girlfriend and I were almost killed by two such Transport buses travelling up the west coast last night — they were going *way* over the speed limit.

It was only because of the driving skills of my girlfriend (who slowed down and pulled over to allow these two maniac bus drivers to pass in the opposite direction) that a collusion didn’t occur (we would have been killed instantly if she hadn’t)…

25. @Driver

Thanks for lining up the facts!

Can you shed any light on former GM Jessamy the IT Manager and possible malfeasance?

26. Perhaps we need to change the Transport Board livery from Blue/Yellow to Gold,as it for many, Weymouth seems to be the end of their rainbow.
    @ CH , this reckless speeding by some Transport Drivers has exacerbated since many ex ZR drivers are now driving for Transport Board,compliments their parliamentary representatives. And as the saying goes ,Can a leopard change it spots? To give the Transport Board its due,over the years,it has exposed its drivers to many Defensive Driver Training sessions, but some have either “missed the bus’,or just does not care about defensive driving,to the detriment of the public.
    But how strange to hear that Transport Board is now employing people with inadequate or no qualification, yet some years ago,armed with some of the highest qualifications and experience in my discipline,I applied for a job there,and to use a good Bajan term, they did not even fart on me.

And another thing a bus travelling in the same direction should never overtake another bus which is stopped to pickup or set down passengers. Imagine a commuter wishing go to Chalky Mount and waiting at a bus stop in Station Hill, for the last bus just minutes after midnight. Along comes the bus to Horse Hill, stops at the same bus stop to pick up a passenger,and while doing so the Chalky Mount bus whizzes past it . The driver unaware that there is a person/persons there awaiting his bus.
    Since the 1950’s Bajans have been working with London Transport and other county bus companies in the UK. Many have returned to the island, one wonders if the authorities has ever made a real effort to enlist the experiences of these, what we like to call, Returning Nationals.

27. In a comment in response to my blog, The PSV Sector, The Transport Board and The Fiscal Deficit, Bush Tea said, in what I am sure was unintentional support for my stated position, because by that time the focus of the blog had been derailed into more general discussion:

“I put it to you that an โ€˜efficientโ€™ transport system will attract bus fares at significantly higher levels than at present exists.”

Very few would question the efficiency of the PSV, given its ability to survive the current adverse conditions and low-fare restrictions.

BT continues by asking the question:

โ€œWhat are the benefits to our society of having almost free travel for all citizens?”

Implicit in that question is the admission that private enterprise is being made to foot the bill for subsidizing “almost free travel for all citizens”. and BT apparently does not see the inequity is this situation, given that the PSV sector transports a greater percentage of the commuting public than the TB, somewhere between 60% and 70%.

Where in any capitalist, free enterprise system is the private sector expected to carry the burden of subsidizing a service, if a subsidy is seen to be in the national interest?

Why don’t we force the shareholders of the Barbados Light & Power Co to provide almost free electricity for all citizens?

Why don’t we force the owners of Cable & Wireless to provide almost free telephone services for all citizens?

Why do we only force the PSV sector to provide almost free travel for all citizens?

Can I get some legal advice on a class action suit against the Government?

28. Is Chairman of the TB Board Pedro Stanford the right man for the job? So far the only recommendation BU can find is that he attended Combermere in the Thompson years.

29. @Driver

Can you tell us the names of those who are on the Quality Assurance team? What specific reports has this team generated as a result of the inferior starter issue and the tyre problem?

30. We have been told Brathwaite’s Trans-Tech has been able to acquire business from TB because of the influence of Deputy Chairman Nassar. How was the decision made to give Trans-Tech business? Does the new GM and Chairman know about it? If they do have they issued recommendations to Minister John Boyce?

31. David

I will respond to you before the day is out by email.

Driver Out.

@
    Bosun

You are correct there for the most part on the speeding it is the type of mentality that some of these guys have. Seems something very ugly will have to happen to bring them to an understanding. The midnigh and 12.30 speightown/oistins is the worst offenders, but you know to be honest you rearely get and accident reported on the last trips, but I know that fellow road users get quite a scare.

One fella said that when he gives the lights twice and the horn once, after that the road is his. (he said it to me one night after he gave me the lights but I was unable to let him pass since the road was being repaired, of course he gave me the bright lights .. then let me know that I should know better…)

Driver Out.

32. More in the mortar..... Avatar
    More in the mortar…..

@ David,

This expose makes for intriguing reading.
    Can we look forward to similar assessments of the operation of other Boards eg QEH, UDC etc?

33. @More in the mortar

We do receive notes of concern via email, the challenge is to be able to verify some of the mind boggling stuff we have to read. Here is a note received only this morning from Barbadians who are concerned with the current path:

Just came from reading the transport board issue and the Wayne Jackman issue. If it wasn’t for BU and sites like this we would be walking around in blissful ignorance in Bim. Respect for bringing out these issues for discussion. At some juncture if you keep doing so, someone will be called to account as these things become more and more public. I am constantly sending links to your articles to other people who express surprise that such information exists. I can only encourage you to encourage your contributors to do the same to make it more well-known and not an “inside” club with the same commentators. These stories have to come out.

Also I was impressed with the level of commentary re the issue raised with austerity as a tool to rebuild an economy. As an employer I an HORRIFIED at the lack of intelligence and analysis displayed by Bajans lately, we’re shooting out people with first class honours that can’t find their way out of a paper bag. That discourse made me feel that all is not lost.

Please, keep it up. I am feeling enlightened today. A good feeling.

34. BU understands that a sweetheart contract was facilitated by a Board member to supply the TB with a low quality “Solite” brand battery which has been yielding 4 to 6 months use. Here is the unbelievable which BU needs confirmed. This supplier has given a 4 month warranty on the batteries when it is standard practice for batteries to receive a 12 month warranty.

The more BU learns about how the TB is being run we can only ask where is the leadership? When will the cronyism and patrimony stop?

BU had asked the following question:

Can you tell us the names of those who are on the Quality Assurance team? What specific reports has this team generated as a result of the inferior starter issue and the tyre problem?

We have been able to search out that the Quality Assurance Team is comprised of Quality Assurance Manager, Mr. Slyvan Codrington  and the Quality Assurance Officer is Mr. Leibert Rowe.

What do we know about the two gentlemen?

The QA Manager Mr. Codrington is NOT academically qualified, he is a mechanic, senior foreman, workshop manager who rose through the ranks because of his experience.

The QA Officer has been attending BIMAP to pursue managerial courses, we understand he is a person who has seized every opportunity that he could when the former General Manager Mr. David-Jean Marie was at the TB.

BU understands these two gentlemen canโ€™t get along but have readily close ranks to protect the inefficiency which is obviously at play. The poor quality of the Solite bus batteries and starters is known to both and in any reputable bus company that is responsible for commuter safety would have been thoroughly investigated and an accurate report made available to management. It appears such has not been the case.

36. @ David, what exactly do you mean that the Quality Assurance Manager is NOT academically qualified?This is one of the problems which we are face with daily in this country. Unless one has a degree, he or she is not considered qualified. I am registered as an Engineer in the UK, because of my years of varied experience,and the many training courses that I’ve undertaken there, some lasting as long as 18 months, yet in Barbados I face prosecution if I promote myself as an Engineer. There are other technical qualifications which cover adequately , the Job which Mr Codrington is doing, A job which I myself has done overseas.
    But I’ll await your reply,excuse me if I appear to have jumped the gun there, Bro.

37. @ David
    When will the cronyism and patrimony stop?
    What stop what??!!
    …sometimes you amaze me you know David.
    You REALLY mean to tell me that you have not yet concluded that cronyism and patrimony is the VERY POINT of many of the activities in our business places today?

@ Bosun
    If you are registered as an engineer in England (or anywhere civilized) then how would David’s reference to someone being not academically qualified relate to your situation?

The problem with ‘unqualified’ position holders is not only related to their ability to function in the job (they may be very well qualified by experience) but more so to their lack of ‘options’ and hence their susceptibility to pressure to conform to shady arrangements.

Crooked managers just LOVE employees of that ilk. (of course the real favorites are foreigners – these tend to be very much more ‘pliable’ than locals – and much easier to dispose of (immigration dept) if they don’t ‘work out’….

38. @Bosun

The comment is not meant to be pejorative, only to recognize that a quality assurance manager at a corporation like the TB which is responsible for millions of dollars in rolling stock should have some formal training in the activities which would make up a job description of a QA Manager.

39. @BU.David: To your immediate above…

Please tell us all exactly what you would consider to be appropriate “formal training in the activities which would make up a job description of a QA Manager.

A separate question: would you trust someone who’s “been there; done that” over someone who’s “got paper”?

40. In my view it doesn’t really matter whether David can explain the formal training that one would expect from a QA Manager. What matters is whether the Board that appointed the gentleman in question can answer that question, whether they were satisfied that he has the appropriate skills, knowledge and aptitude for the position, and whether they felt that he would benefit from formal training.

And why is it a question of formal training vs experience – can’t we get someone with both?

41. @Chris

Given the job in question read weighting and complexity BU would want experience as well as some management training. A google can list the JD of a good QA manager.

42. Bush Tea,

I thought I might have elicited, at least from you, a response to my post of July 25, 2010 at 7:21 AM

It seems that what I said makes no sense and has no relevance to anything. Oh well.

43. @ Inkwell

Man sorry!!! Bushie had missed the referenced post. (David have this blog so hot and interesting that it is hard to keep up…)

…but having now read it – what am I missing…?
    Bush Tea is in agreement with your position (with two relatively minor amendments LOL)

1 ~What do you mean by “Bush Tea said, in what I am sure was unintentional support for my stated position, …..” Bush Tea often concurs with your stated position sir….. It is not clear why you have assessed this instance to be ‘unintentional’

2 ~ It is not really correct to say that “we only force the PSV sector to provide almost free travel for all citizens?”
    You surely know that we ALL are forced to provide almost free travel for all citizens via our taxes -which we are now coming to understand, are made even higher through cronyism and ineptitude.

But the bushman agrees with you that those in the ZR industry are forced (probably to a larger extent than the average bajan) to subsidize very low cost travel for Bajans.

….I can’t figure out exactly who you will sue – they chose to get into that business knowing the constraints….

44. Continuing the BU Inkwell Transport Board Inquiry โ€“ It is our understanding the Fare Boxes which were installed sometime in 2008 (we believe) were not given out to tender. We would love to be proved wrong here. With a fleet of over 300 busses and if we were to estimate a box to cost $1,000 this translate to $300,000 plus other procurement cost e.g. shipping, freight, insurance etc, of course there is the installation cost! For the purpose of this scenario BU estimates this job would have pushed up to $400,000.00. Clearly the amount if not tendered would have contravened the financial rules of Barbados.

It is our understanding as well that there was major disagreement between the IT Manager and the former GM Jessamy on the vendor selection. In fact this is a matter which needs further investigation. Why was Jessamy so hot on the vendor finally selected that he would overrule his technocrat?

45. Hi BT,

Thanks for the response and the support. However, in reference to your last comment: “they chose to get into that business knowing the constraintsโ€ฆ.”

They didn’t.

People who invest in a business, any business, have a reasonable expectation that their income will not be restricted by law, unreasonably and unfairly by the government of the country, without due consideration for the increases in the cost of inputs into that business especially over such a long period as nineteen years.

Suppose you were a baker and the Government said: We don’t care how much flour, water, sugar and yeast cost, we restricting the price of a salt roll to 10 cents in the interest of providing almost free bread to all citizens, what would be your position? especially if there was a Government bakery which the citizens’ taxes were being used to subsidize to keep the selling price at a level which had little relationship to the cost of production? And then the Government set up a bread shop in your neighbourhood to compete with you and start to distribute free bread to all the school children and pensioners. Would you not consider yourself oppressed? Would you not explore the possibility of looking to the law for redress?

Should the case of the restriction of bread prices not be subject to the scrutiny of a “Fair Trading Commission” if fairness in trading was espoused as a desirable condition in a fair society?

46. @ Inkwell

The bushman would look for another business….and let government (the people) provide the bread.

….where do you see it written that society was meant to be fair…?

47. @ BushTea . In Barbados we tend to overlook technical qualification in preference for academic qualification. A degree covers all.
    Check this advert for a QA Manager for the largest UK bus operator ,which carries 3 million passengers daily.
    http://www.transportengineer.co.uk/displayjob.jsp?jobid=375

48. @Bush Tea,

“โ€ฆ.where do you see it written that society was meant to be fairโ€ฆ?”

You mean other than in the Constitution and various laws where specific rights are guaranteed?

49. Robert Deschappe Avatar
    Robert Deschappe

David:
    Your statement is very true; however, if the Transport Authority has been established by the government, we can expect it to function like any other government department, e.g. the Licensing Authority. You also questioned the selection of buses. If you remember in the early 1990, during Don Blackmanโ€™s tenure as minister, the TB purchased approximately 25 Leyland DAF units from a South American company, which closed soon after the purchase. These buses were unsuitable for our roads, (terrible shock systems) and one unit, BM228, remained in Fort Royal Garage (then located in River Road) for over one year. The Transport Board also purchased a number of Mercedes chassis, for which ACME built the bodies (BM268-BM304; BM344-366; BM377-384. When these were ready to be utilised, the authorities saw it fit to park a number of road worthy Leyland and Seddons at Mangrove, which were later auctioned. Soon after they bought 20 Mercedes Jonchere (BM353-BM356; BM367-BM376; BM385-BM390), these units did not remain on the road for long after the purchase of the 51 Mercedes Caio Vitoria units (BM100, BM400-BM449). Some of the Joncheres were taken to Mangrove to rust, some were painted white and utilised by the Barbados Defence Force, and one or two were utilised by mini bus owners to operate on the Sargeantโ€™s Street route. The TB also had approximately 28 small Mercedes buses (BM305-BM333), which were also parked at Mangrove; the Defence Force also acquired a number of these units, painted them white, and used them for a period of time
    When the Board purchased the Mercedes Marcopolo Torino GV and the Mercedes Caio Alpha units, all the Caio Vitoria, the locally built Mercedes, and the remaining Willow Brook Leylands, were dumped at Mangrove.

All buses that were driven to Mangrove had full tanks of diesel. UCAL workers are sent to Mangrove to take parts from the Caio Vitorias to use on the Caio Alpha. Could you imagine that the Leyland DAF engines were sold for as little as $500; the Ministry of Health bought a number of them. They same way that these buses were utilised by others, could the Board not have refurbished at least 25 to use specifically for school buses. The Board has taken a Caio Alpha from active service and transformed it into a mobile office. Could they have not used one of the older buses for this purpose? This could be done; an old Willowbrook Leyland, BM334, is still being used for excursions and scenic tours. The Police Force still use their Willowbrook Leyland, MP108, which is a similar model to BM334 and was purchased around the same time the Transport Board got theirs.

Refurbished units could be used for a dedicated school bus service. These units would be used twice per day for the three school terms. During the school vacation, the units could be checked, undergo any necessary repairs, and prepared for the new school term or semester.

Driver:
    What about the two Marcopolo Torino GV (BM521 and BM541), these are two units that are parked at Weymouth that could be utilised in the system. Even if they are of manual transmission, they were being used when they were licensed as BM522 and BM523, and all of the HINO units are manual.

50. @Robert

Who would have made the decision to retire the buses?

What process would have been used to support the decision?

What would have been the role of the QA Manager in all the decision making?