Submitted by Hallam Edwards

I write in response to your recent article carried under the headline Is This Really Happening At The Hotel Built With The Proceeds Of Barbados National Bank Sale?”

As a regular patron of the Hilton Barbados and, as a result, someone who has built quite a few friends with staff at that establishment over the year, I must state that the allegation about Wayne Jackman’s Show on Tuesday and Saturday nights being cancelled because the new general manager thinks too many black Barbadians attend is quite ridiculous!

The Hilton caters to Barbadians from all walks of life on a daily basis. In fact, I can assure you that the weekend breakfast and Sunday Lunch is almost totally patronized by locals, including me, and it is great value for money.

I can also tell you that I know for a fact that when the Hilton decided to work with Wayne Jackman and his band some years ago, many eyebrows were raised but to everyone’s surprise, it developed into a good relationship. My information, however, is that as the show grew in popularity, the success posed many challenges which were discussed by the band and the hotel’s management in great detail.

Some of these challenges are very much known to us patrons. Foremost among them is the fact that the bar which anybody can see was was built to accommodate no more than about 60 persons at a time is now “bursting” with more than 100 whenever the band plays which causes all sorts of issues, especially with the AC, which turns the place into an oven.

On a nightly basis there’s also a constant scramble by patrons for seats because of too many people. The band attracts a mature crowd, many of whom prefer to sit and enjoy the entertainment rather than stand. However, Wayne attracts so many people that quite often the dance area is packed, all the seats are taken and many of us are left with no alternative than to stand around and this adds to the problem.

In such a congested environment and with no cover charge I would be surprised if on any one night Hilton is able sell enough drinks to pay the band far less the bar staff and take care of overheads. I believe I speak for every Bajan who has patronised this show over the years when I say that it makes me very sad to hear that, as we say, “um done”.

I know that it is very easy to stand aside with no information and just make ridiculous statements and criticize decisions. However, it is an irrefutable fact that we Bajans have always been more welcomed and respected in Hilton than in any other hotel on this rock and I would put my neck on the block and contend that if that Hilton and Wayne Jackman are parting ways it has nothing whatsoever to do with black or white.

By the way, do you all know who else perform at the hotel on a weekly basis? In The Grille it is Brown Soul, Wesu Wallace and Kean Springer – all Bajan and Black. In the Lighthouse Terrace, the Strolling Minstrels – Bajan and Black. At Waterโ€™s Edge, Two Guitars, John King and Karaoke weekly – all Bajan and Black.

76 responses to “Response To Article About Hilton Hotel And Wayne Jackman”

1. Hallam Edwards wrote “the show grew in popularity, the success posed many challenges”

“built to accommodate no more than about 60 persons at a time is now โ€œburstingโ€ with more than 100 whenever the band plays”

“thereโ€™s also a constant scramble by patrons for seats because of too many people.”

Where else but in Barbados would the above be a “problem” and not “an opportunity?”

2. We an inconsistency. In the other blog on the matter a commenter wrote that Jackman’s band was dwindling in popularity. On this blog Mr. Edwards and others have stated the bar is operating at over capacity.

3. And we wonder why cruise tours are becoming so popular?

4. In the East we are accustomed to many many people, very very large crowdy people…We know how to deal with many many people. You should sell me and my family the Hotel and we will learn you how to deal with many many crowdy people..no..?

5. Is Wayne Jackman the best we can do…he should take his whole act back to the strip club he crawled out of. Hilton is an international brand, Wayne Jackman don’t fit regardless of race. What’s next you want him headlining at Disney World? For the record at when that place is full there are probably 200-250 people in there, and yes if you are a tourist or otherwise the show takes over the whole space for the night– not very welcoming.

6. Hants

โ€ข Where else but in Barbados would the above be a โ€œproblemโ€ and not โ€œan opportunity?โ€
    I have a different take as the writer also states โ€œ In such a congested environment and with no cover charge I would be surprised if on any one night Hilton is able sell enough drinks to pay the band far less the bar staff and take care of overheadsโ€

โ€œNo cover chargeโ€ and โ€œsell enough drinksโ€. The show may be popular but patrons may not be spending so is it a question of economics?

I wonder if the management ever gave any consideration to a cover charge.

7. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

I am confused by what Hallam Edwards said, ‘No cover charge” “sell enough drinks”, who idiot he think he is talking to, any one running a food joint, a fair a dance a lime, knows very well that drinks are the biggest seller in this place, I have experience, so don’t even go there.If the place is bursting at its seams obviously it is a very popular show, so why cancel it, Mr. Edwards get on a plane and travel to other hotels that have these shows and see the response I am sure the management of the hotels would be glad if there was not enough accomdation for his guests, that calls for planning again, maybe have the show on the lawn, in a bigger room, remove the chairs something but certainly not cancelling the show it is a money earner, the reasons you give are frivllous and lacks body.

8. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@Yuck – you seem to have a grudge at Wayne Jackman, lets try to be objective here. bajans read history and learn from it, many things have remained the same, just called by a different name Plantation,master and slaves are now replaced by Tourism and Hotel Sector.That law hundreds of years ago that stated no black man was supposed to progress further than a white man is very much still in mind today.As I said earlier what Hallam Edwards wrote lacks body and the reason given sound like folly ANY ESTABLISHMENT WITH A POPULAR SHOW GOING WOULD DEFINITELY NOT STOP THE SHOW IN THESE HARD TIMES, please sir give me a break

9. Hallam Edwards has just proven himself to be full of shit! His article is full of padding and represents exactly what isn’t.So since when Keane Springer was black and true Bajan? At least though she is a good judge of character. Hallam drink a white rum do!

10. Car racing very popular in Barbados no..? Comrade Edwards know this ..no? But off track racing is most popular sport in Barbados because it is the bashment …no? But Raleigh car operators use OPPORTUNITY to promote advertising interest no..? Make big money that Central Bank must convert to US to spend in expensive car parts that my family make…no?

11. It sounds like there is overcrowding in that bar area, which has to be uncomfortable for patrons, and should be against the law. If the show is that popular, then instituting a cover charge, and restricting the number of patrons who can enter by using security personnel at the door should sort out the comfort issues, and may make the venture profitable. Or is it that the patrons who go there don’t want to pay for the entertainment either by cover charge or in bar patronage? Or is it that the Hilton management does not like the look of the patrons who go there? Or the look of the band?

12. Just a thought, but the commercial excuse does not make sense, if the show is so successful.

So, it must be something else ‘other challenges’?

Is the area properly sound-proofed? Are there large groups of patrons coming and going repeatedly?

Either of these would make the resident guests uncomfortable i.e. excessive noise or crowds.

One does not come to an international hotel, a business hotel at that and expect noise / excessive crowds.

If you want such, you go to a nighclub in the Gap.

Hotel entertainment is usually to ensure that guests have something to do in the evening, it is not per se to generate the main income, but ancillary.

Could that be the reason?

13. @Crusoe

All the hotel has to do is to apply a cover charge and or make the price of drinks premium. Hilton is not the first hotel that would have been popular with locals. Why kick out a band at this tough time when management can use price, or even stop new people from entering through the use of guards.

14. @Pretty Blue Eyes
    Bars really don’t make money. I speak as an organiser myself. Check performances like laff-it-off, etc., you will see that they give away the bar because the effort is not worth it. Not only that, having helped Captain Watson from the Landship over a few years now at that bar, I can tell you that if he had to pay a staff, the bar would make nothing. In this instance he is catering to about 500 persons. Yet laff-it-off is able to cover all its expenses from the cover charge.

Also many community efforts at fund-raising have proven that bars do not make money and collecting that entrance fee (cover charge) is where the money is at because there are hardly any expenses involved; except maybe the cost of printing the tickets.

Now having read the above, anybody with a knowledge of how entertainment in structured would raise the question, how long could Hilton keep it up?

15. @Yuck

Why do we try to put down one another like this? Ever occurred to you that probably without the experience of running a strip club, this event could not have been successful at the Hilton? In these times many events are flopping, so Kudos to Wayne Jackman and the Hilton for being able to sustain the show.

BTW, you ever went?

16. Once again this is the same old story. Nasty comments being made by nasty people whose sole intent is to stir up and arouse racial tensions. Yuh want something to stir up? Try stirring some coocoo instead!

17. Dennis Johnson Avatar
    Dennis Johnson

Ahhhh! The old problem returns. And the solution: we attack the messengers, shoot each other, and the problem will go away … to another venue.
    Over 3 years ago, at a “consultation” held at the same Hilton Hotel, I asked then PM Owen Arthur – as Minister of Culture – where at the Hilton could one go to see and hear local culture. I reminded him that his government had torn down and rebuilt the hotel, at great cost, and he was boasting about “developing cultural industries”, so where at the Hilton could culture – local culture – be enjoyed.
    He did not answer.

If the hotel had been built with as much emphasis on local entertainment, as on food & beverage and accommodation, would anyone be able to say: “no room at the bar????

The MGM Grand has over 5000 rooms; more than all rooms in Barbados combined. A car park as large as the hotel itself, and an area for entertainment that rivals its casino space. Why? Because the builders and operators know that although casino gambling rakes in the millions, entertainment is also a multimillion dollar industry, and people who travel – either on business or for pleasure – want to be entertained!!!

Is tourism really our business??

18. @ ROK……

You said..’bars don’t realy make money.’

Are you serious?…..especially the bar at the Hilton?

If you are running a bar and not making money with the place bursting, then you are in the wrong profession.
    I ran a bar and drinks were the money earner next to food. You buy the drinks, lets say beers whole sale or on consignment. Then you sell them at 150% markup. You buy a litre of vodka and sell it buy shots.. lets say $100 per litre and you get 30 shots from that bottle @ $12per shot….do the maths. If your bar doesn’t make money, while bursting, something is wrong.

19. Johnson please shut up. We tired of your know it all gobblygook. You know nothing. What ask Owen Arthur what? You operate hotels operate banks you are a sailor. You an astronaut .What are you? You are a dumbo straining hard to sound important on radio and here. Give us a break and close your trap tenks much.

20. @Dennis

Thanks for reminding us about where we need to have a focus. Remembers when Sinckler was minister of foreign affair and he was singing the benefits of the EPA EU a great song and dance was made of the opportunity for the cultural industries would take root.

Here it is we have a government designed hotel and no serious accommodation for entertainment.

21. @Paperboy

It looks like you will have to tell BU to shut as well because we agree with Dennis’ last comment.

22. @Tech

Yes, the Bar is the money earner next to every thing else. Asking if I serious? I know what I saying. Just take away your food and tell me that just the bar will do???

23. @Tech,

Man what 150% mark-up will do when you have expenses like ice, cups, napkins, etc. If you put on 150% mark up and it coming in next to food, that should tell you something. A person will buy one plate of food but a dozen drinks.

24. Dennis

You see your people employ my people only to build your buildings… cheap man power no?. Maybe your people should employ my people to design buildings as well… Then you would have a design that show “Cultural Revolution” no..? Maybe you have Kensengton Oval with more cloud cover …. sorry more cover no..? Maybe you have Hilton with more entertainment space no…?

Dennis you actually open you out’ tah a Prime Minister in public, after you cuss de whole batch ah dem pun de radio about the ABC Highway..? I proud ah yah man…!

Since tourism will never be your business, why wunna don’ let my family try…? Sell the Gem Project to my family… we show you the way …no? We have special interest in Peach and Quiet …no?

25. Hallam Edward I am the commenter who posted the article that is the subject of this discussion.In your response to my article you have not disputed or brought any substantial information to suggest that the Wayne Jackman & Showtime Band show was not cancelled because of the large Black local following.In fact your response was nonsensical to say the least.
    The bar at the Hilton makes money only on the Tuesday & Saturday nights when the show in on.The other five nights in the week the bar hardly has patrons in it and a visit to that bar on any of those nights when the show is not on will reveal a practically empty bar with the staff just milling around with little or nothing to do.The Hilton Bar makes a decent income on Tuesdays & Saturdays when the Wayne Jackman Show is on.
    Secondly,no logistical reasons were the determinant factors in the cancellation of the show.The air-conditioning unit in the bar area was malfunctioning for longest possible time.There is no mad scramble for the limited seats available because the crowd that usually attends the show is of a mature nature and the patrons know that seating is of a first come first serve basis.There was hardly a disturbance in the bar since the show started.
    Thirdly,there was never any controversy surrounding Wayne Jackman & his Showtime Band performing at the Barbados Hilton.In fact Wayne Jackman & his Band were invited to perform at many functions the hotel had.For the last 3 years or so every Old Years Night activity at the hotel Wayne Jackman & his Band were the Band that the hotel used to for their Old Years Night activity.At the hotel’s Halloween functions Wayne Jackman & his Showtime Band performed.Even private functions such as weddings & other anniversaries at the hotel Wayne Jackman & his Band performed.Hallam Edwards show me where Wayne Jackman & his Showtime Band performance was in conflict with the hotel entertainment policy.
    In closing this former patron of the Hilton Hotel is still of the view that the Wayne Jackman & his Showtime Band Show was cancelled because the new general manager made the decision to cancel the show because too many Black Barbadians were attending that show.
    Hallam Edwards ,why cancel an activity that is financially lucrative for the establishment
    Until proven otherwise,I am still of the view that the show was cancelled because too many local Black Barbadians were patronising that show.

26. Techy

I have seen ROK behind a bar… Patrons find it odd that a barman must wear suspenders, you know those straps that old men wear to keep up pants… Patrons not comfortable so they stay away..no?

27. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@ROK,

If you are running a bar and not making money something is definitely wrong, the markup on drinks is high, drinks are always flowing, I know what I am speaking about, if you do the calculation you would see. The reason the show was cancelled certainly cannot be the reason given. As was stated earlier,the Hilton could then commence a service charge or something, in these hard economic times and ‘recession’ what business establishment would cancel a money earning show, bear crap, and the black bajans, idiots I must say would always find a reason why this was done.Look at the stupid reasons given to some of these hotels doctors offices shools, to import labour under the guise that the ‘vacancy advertised cannot be filled by locals since they do not meet the criterion’ .What these businesses do, is when they are placing the ad for a vacancy they put a whole lot of requirement for the local person, then when they advertise overseas they put one maybe two, that is the kind of junk going on around here that is what the Unions are faced with on a daily basis.

28. Anyone who knows Hallam Edwards would have to come to the conclusion that the original poster was very likely to be correct in his assessment.

Barbados is full of hidden agendas and Hallam is a past master at the game

29. @BAF

Man you full of it. In the bar you see me in an apron; from chest down… not only that, I know many barmen on the coast that wearing suspenders now.

@Pretty Blue Eyes, I agree that a bar has a high mark-up, but I have seen many bars on the tourist belt fold up… but as you say, the ones that have activity associated with it are the ones that survive and even then, these guys are at their wits end to keep the entertainment interesting so that the crowds keep coming.

One thing I find is that too many people jump into the bar thing, expecting to make big profits because of the mark-up on the drinks and pay very little attention to running costs.

30. Dennis Johnson Avatar

@BAFBFP:
    Honorable sir: can you ask Honorable family and Honorable friends from the East, to please assist Honorable Minister of Culture in the rebuilding or renovation of the Empire theatre so that your honorable cultural exponents may come from the East and show us how to put on cultural shows?

31. Dennis

My Intelligent agent informs me that Barbados already has cultural exponent from East… in fact my intelligent agent advises me that there are in fact two… Our best information is that one is called Red Biodegradable Plastic and the other Mac Ping Ball .. no?

32. ROK

I need you to understand that patrons find it odd to see barman with suspenders under apron from chest down … no..?

33. One thing I find is that too many people jump into the bar thing, expecting to make big profits because of the mark-up on the drinks and pay very little attention to running costs.

Like most things in life ROK but please make the distinction between a Bar and a rumshop, regardless of how fancy the rumshop looks.
    One pointer to note, if you can buy a mini or flask rum, chances are you are in a rumshop, glorified even….lol.

34. It seems the Barbados Hilton is trying to do some damage control.Indications are the show will be shifted from the main bar to the the beach bar starting sometimes next month.
    Feedback from sources at the hotel suggests that the white expatriate general manager along with his black cronies in Leroy Browne & Mark Welch were concerned about the large numbers of local Blacks at the show.
    Concerns were raised about the apparent non-attendance of the hotel guest the white ones in particular at those shows.It was suggested by certain interest groups that white guest at hotels in Barbados feel very uncomfortable when too Blacks are at hotels.This view seems to have some credit to it because I observed that very few of the white tourist at the Hilton Hotel do not attend the show and if those tourist are in the bar and a significant amount of locals arrived,many of those tourist usually leave the bar.The white tourist visitors to Barbados are generally racist and they do not neccessarily want to mix with Black people.
    The shift of the show from the main bar to the beach bar is definitely going to have an impact on the number of locals attending that show because the beach bar setting is not going to be suitable enough for the locals who attend that show..The beach bar is usually filled with hotel guest,the seating is limited and there is limited or no shelter at the beach bar.If the show is shifted to the beach bar,I foresee problems for that show.The locals will not be that keen and the band equipment will be exposed to the elements.
    It seems this is a strategic move on the part of the hotel management to frustrate & sabotage the popular show.
    The Barbados Hilton is trying all in its power to limit the number of local Black Barbadians visiting the hotel.

35. Hallam, what a lousy excuse for cancelling a show, in this environment, that it is too popular. Couldn’t management come up with some ideas, charge a fee, bigger bar, more space, more chairs. Now I understand how you can be too successful for your own good.

36. I had the opportunity to hear Wayne Jackman at a function outside of the Hilton and the band is a very versatile one. It can cater to a mature audience and a back in time fanatics.
    Maybe he should use his entrepreneur skills and find a venue where he could put on the show where a cover charge could be put in place. Mature persons go every Sunday night to Shades of Black and Rhythm of the Night to dance and have a good time and they pay.

37. Yuck
    Ya talkin nonsense. Wayne is a aw-rite fella. He in na sundee school teacha but he in all bad. Gih he a lil chance, a beg ya. Anudda ting too, he is a very caring, generous fella. Doan ask me how I kno, I jus kno.

38. Anonymous said – “The white tourist visitors to Barbados are generally racist and they do not neccessarily want to mix with Black people.”

Yet somehow Oistins (where tourists of all colours mix with locals) is year after year the number 1 tourist attraction in Barbados, as voted by the tourists themselves.

39. @Bonny Pepper relax!

Also your generality earlier, back in the day we had murders being committed but would you compare to now?

40. In the submission Hallam wrote”When the Hilton decided to work withWayne Jackman and his band many eyebrows were raised”.
    It makes me think that those who had first opposed the idea might be using economics to cancelled the show when in truth they never wanted them their in the first place . It would be interesting to know from Hallam what caused the eyebrows to be raised.

41. whiteboy slimz Avatar
    whiteboy slimz

in Bim…when in doubt….just blame the whiteman…….its always been like that…..lol…as to the thought of white tourists being racist…..why would they come to a country with 95%+ black people……

42. We have several comments on this issue and some would focus on the 1 or 2 comments which deals with race?

43. David
    Why you tink dat i in relaxin? I live/love a stress-free life ma boy.
    I doan kno wah generality you referrin ta but murder is murder as long as de body dead. LOL

Anyway, I want Eric Jerome Dickeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
    Popsicle, ya too swoiteeeeeeeeeeeee.
    Eric Jerome, Eric Jerome, Eric Jerome Dickeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.

44. BU has evidence that Hilton personnel are aware of the issues being raised here. Keep the discussion real and let us push for a win win.

45. Giving the several reasons why the band was cancelled it is hard for many not to zoom in on race. Even if you think it was a matter of economics nowhere in the submission was it stated that other solutions were tried to resolve that problem.other than the band being cancelled, Even some on BU had alternative solutions to some of the problems mentioned by Mr. Hallam Therefore why couldn’t the hilton pursue such alternatives .When they are more question than answers something doesn’t seem right.

46. whiteboy slimz // July 23, 2010 at 7:15 PM

“โ€ฆ..why would they come to a country with 95%+ black people”

Dey Want de Big Big Bamboo Bamboo…
    Oh la la la la la la la…

You I am from the East, we have chop stick onlly ..no? You have to learn how to use the chop stick..no?

47. whiteboy slime

By the way, whiteman bomb China six time in past 100 years ..no? They bomb Combodia, Korea, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam man dey even nuke Japan… twice…! (My intelligent agent tells me that now bombing the shit out of Arabs..) Dey ’bout hey covertly carrying way lan’ from under Bajan noses cause Bajans frighten that if they complain, they will get bomb too..no?

In the East We do not bomb nobody. Everybody is our friend. We make friendly with everybody..no?

48. Wayne Jackman is one of the best hotel entertainers in Barbados. Most of the so-called big names in entertainment can’t even get close to him when it comes to the performing in hotel sector. When he is on stage he is much more than an entertainer, he becomes an ambassador for Barbados.
    Raised eyebrows my ass.

49. @ David you said “We have several comments on this issue and some would focus on the 1 or 2 comments which deals with race.”

Man yuh got muh head all confuse dis morning an’ it doan tek much to confuse it chile, but isn’t this thread all about race, the Hilton hotel, expatriate white managers who close up de shop ’cause dey dos doan want nuh dark complexion people socialising and contaminating de place?

50. @Duppy Lizard

True but most of the commentary has been about offering suggestions on how the hotel could have avoided closing the show.