Submitted to BU as a comment

Credit Photo:Bajanfuhlife Blog

There is no great mystery to the 1.5 billion.  The borrowing is the price for keeping the employees in government and statutory corporations employed during a recession, providing the same level of access to social services (like free university education, bus fares at 1.50), providing support to the hospitality industry and a modest fiscal stimulus.

Wages and salaries were 783.7 ml in 2008 and and 881 ml in 2009.  Transfers and subsidies (payments to the university, community college, QEH, BTA, Transport etc, to subsidize their salaries and other costs), were 1,075 billion in 2008 and 1.135 billion in 2009. Capital expenditures (which Ince does not seem to understand) were 286ml in 2008 and 283 ml in 2009.

To put some context the salaries and wages bill was 797.6 ml in 2007, transfers and subsidies were 901.7 ml in 2007 and capital expenditures were 241.4. Our fiscal problems did not start with the new administration.  The recession and hence slow down in revenues shows how vulnerable the economy is on the fiscal side.  The fact that the previous off budget spending is now clearly highlighted also means that we can observe the issue more clearly (no more Greece style accounting).

Now when professor Howard suggested that we slow the rate of increase in UWI students he was nearly crucified.  I noted that Mascoll (who works at UWI) took that off the table as a corrective measure, despite the fact that UWI is one of the largest transfers.

When Robinson spoke of a vat increase he was cursed out of town.

When Estwick said wage freeze he was shouted down by the unions in particular.

When Owen said that we needed a large fiscal stimulus people said what a great economist he is (he needs to explain how a large fiscal stimulus is compatible with a moderate fiscal deficit).

Motley has said that wages in the public sector are not to be touched.

Can someone please tell me how we are to solve the fiscal problem and meet all the above demands?

In my opinion the government has carried the economy for two years of recession and we have all  benefited.  Whatever you think of Hartley he is right on the employment statement.  unemployment at 10.6 % is a great achievement in the current context. However, I don’t think the government can continue this for much longer, it either needs to make some further spending cuts and/or raise taxes.

153 responses to “Look Where The 1.5 Billion Gone”

1. The problem with the ZRs is that they are poorly regulated and the regulations are poorly enforced and some of that relates to the power of the owners. You would have to turn the Transport Board into a more independent regulator, required to take into account the views of customers, if we were to extend “driver-owned” buses to certain routes. Perhaps we focus on the least profitable routes first and see what difference it makes – I bet the Transport Board has no idea of the profitability of individual routes.

Criticising the way we fund UWI is very difficult to do without the entire establishment bearing down on you. Persaud has been brave to do it publicly. Few rich countries do not have free-for-all tertiary education, why should we? We need to make sure that money is not an obstacle to any student, but it seems fair that graduates who are well off and those who go abroad and pay taxes elsewhere make a greater contribution. Persaud’s loan idea where the government pays interest when your income is below some threshold and you are a local resident seems to make some sense.

There are no easy, simple, painless solutions. But I am against raising VAT for three reasons:

(1) it just allows us to continue on an unsustainable task of spending too much outside of the necessary oversight, when the critical problem is spending spinning out of control rather than revenues collapsing – in general tax revenues are almost the same or higher today than in 2007.

(2) it will raise our high cost of living still further, making it even harder for our businesses to be competitive, which is vital to our economic success

(3) it is a very regressive tax – the poor pay proportionately more of their income in VAT than rich people because the consumer a higher proportion of their income.

2. Economic Common Sense
    That is the name I am giving to Anonymous who wrote at 11.59 am and 1.17pm.

Clyde Mascoll who sounded very bitter on today’s brass tack now wants the DLP to do what he and Owen Arthur should have done over the past five years. Restructure the Transport Board and the sugar industry.

The DLP should increase bus fare to $2.00 and add a transfer system where persons are going to another route in the same time period to $3.00.

For the 2011-2012 UWI year no persons should be allowed to do Sociology, Psychology, Social Work, Management and History free. There are too many persons with those degrees who are underemployed. Some are easing in schools and teaching subjects that they pass at CXC such as science and math.
    All schools should be given a green house to teach agricultural science. Isreal is one of the biggest agricultural producers because they use technology. Students who graduate from schools, Community College and Polytechnic will be well equip to use this technology in producing food for Barbados without large amounts of land.

3. @Dr. George R

Don’t be thin skinned. Discussion in BU becomes a little robust at times. As your namesake on BU would advise, some balls you should allow to go pass the off stump.

4. I heard Mr. Mascoll talking about the central bank losing 94 million dollars and TM having to correct him that it was 9.4 ……….

I so tired of this bull shit boy!!!!!!

Bush Tea I with you on this one I have decided not to go overseas this year. I have also decided to buy what I need and not what I want!

I was going to take off some money that I had saved for 5 years but naaaaaaaa I went and fixed it for another two years. I don’t like what I see at all.

Persons are STILL partying, going abroad like no tomorrow. Persons should see the amount of job letters that are typed at my work place to get loans. It is scary. Me I tightening my belt cause this ride like it gonna be realllllllllll bumpy!

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JC
    Why you tightening your belt? You got flab aroubd the belly?
    Why the ride bumpy? You aint got no schocks. You mean you aint got no bumper.
    Seems instead of me coming to Bim this year I gwine have to send fuh you girl.

6. The issue of how to get ourselves out of this mess is a real challenge at this time. Those transfers and subsidies are alarming. They need to cut gov’t spending back at least to 2007 levels.
    I don’t agree with all the suggestions on UWI. I think UWI has become a day nursery for highschool leavers who cannot get in SJPP and BCC. The last gov’t needed to move faster in expanding the capacity of these two institutions, so our children can study along a specific career path. The increases in UWI transfers in part accommodate this high school group. If we reduce this then we can cut costs, but maintain free access for Bajans, because many will not have the money to pay for it. A disincentive to study oversubscribed areas and non-productive in light of economic needs is not a bad idea.

I would think that if our aim is creating and attracting higher paying knowledge jobs you would need the IT,Mgt,acct. legal, medical Mkting, Project Mgt etc. These should be accessible with training in deploying these skills in advantageous ways globally. This will provide a good supply of skills to generate new businesses, offer skills cross border via internet across the world. I really see the UWI programme as part of a strategy for our economic development. Right now we are losing this talent as they go overseas to find jobs, I think a business programme should be attached to these studies.

7. @ Conrad

I think like you that raising VAT is a bad idea. Our employment is based on gov’t, tourism, retail, construction, agriculture, offshore. In terms of number employed large to small. So more VAT will destabilise your economy as will environmental levies which will have the same impact and also increase VAT takings. I think we do need to reduce gov’t costs, and find money to help the business sector that can earn or save foreign exchange and generate employment.

One of our greatest problems is the way our people work and the nonsense encouraged by unions which hamper productivity and efficiency under the guise of ‘protecting the rights of workers’. if you let a bad practice continue for years and then try to change it, union says you are changing his conditions of work because you allowed the practice. IGNORANCE. This makes cost of business without returns with efficiency and productivity. Increased productivity – getting better returns and increased output will give our economy an opportunity to regain its balance. This is critical and we have to get our workers and unions to really work with the country in this crisis to correct practices.

8. @ Anonymous

“while the country benefits from a highly educated I have always understood that the majority of the benefits to higher education accrue to the individual.”

You have in a sentence destroyed the ethos of the Capitalist mindset towards the education particularly small countries like Ba’bados no..? I am proud of you, but you mus’ not talk these things or people will wake up and spoil me and my family plans…

@ Georgie Porgie

I am not here to steal your woman, she is safe… I make friends with everyone that is my missile… mission, mission… sorry the English is not so good no…?

9. The agenda/mantra for all of us, most of all government, should now be…. “wear it out use it up, make it do or do without.”

I would apply this philosophy to areas like all the buying of “big rides” for government personnel, flying in such big groups on first class airline seating, and booking only 5-star hotel accommodation. Also I would advise repairing and/or replacing worn vehicle and machinery instead of just needlessly scrapping for the want of spare parts.

When we really need to we can find many divers of innovative ways to “cut and contrive” very effectively! This may sound minor & trivial when compared to the bigger picture but, remember, every little adds up eventually. We still need that lowly one-cent coin to add to the other 99 cents to make a $1!!

10. Wanna hear me today..? Wanna hear me today..? I get to correct Clyde Mascoll. Yes ME Toony…! EVERYBODY agrees that I Toony knows what Toony is talkin’ about… ME.. I Toony Marshall.. I made MADE Mascoll retract.. ME… I firing one boy, lemme tell yah I feel SWEET… me Toony Marshall correct Clydey today… Me Toony ..hahahah

11. @BAFBFP

Don’t give BU extra work brother. Mascoll is human and to err is human 🙂

12. @ BAFBFP

So, B, I see you have taken up learning the Chinese language. Is there a message somewhere in there for the rest of us Bajans? 🙂

13. How wanna know it was me…? Wanna too cleva..

14. @BAFBFP

Leave me TM alone.He always right no? Now go cook the Lo Meing !

15. David
    You said he is only human but he did not behave so on Sunday when he carry along the man scruffy, or today when Tony Marshall was trying to get him to apologize for Sunday’s outbursts. Which Mr. Marshall should not have done because if Mr Ince did not know what he was talking about he should not have call in to discuss with a person who is politically angry.

16. I am afraid of what confronts us. We have one side saying do something now or else and the other side – “these people preaching doom and gloom we good”. They both cannot be right. I read something Mr. Henry wrote, just one line actually – The opposition feels that the economy is all there is…..or something like that. I had to stupse and move to another page just to see that his story continued over on that page as well…LOL….But to be serious, that statement is rubbish to the fullest. If our economy is not solid how on earth are we going to pay for all the social programs.

Like some here I am tired of the cheap political posturing on both sides. And I think the greatest tragedy in our politics is Clyde Mascoll but I think we need all economists including Mascoll to come together and instead of saying my way is the right way, come up with something that will help all of us. I voted for change but my brother didn’t but we will all feel the same pain. I would suggest that bajans tighten their belts cause it is going to get worse before it gets better. The US government is seriously thinking about a second stimulus which would suggest that their economy is not recovering as it should. That is not good news for us.

I have learnt a lot from reading this blog and some of it is downright depressing but I will agree that we need some bold new steps into a new frontier of economic stewardship. I await more info…

17. you voted for change and you got change
    I would call you an (expletive) but I aint gwine worry wid yuh !

Bonny Peppa trained me !

18. TORONTO Ontario’s public sector employees should have their wages frozen for at least two years to help ease the pressure on Ontario’s battered economy, Finance Minister and Windsor-Tecumseh MPP Dwight Duncan said Tuesday as he pitched the freeze to labour leaders.

uh wunda wuh wanna gine do in babadus. Down dey always hot so wanna khaan freeze nutten.

19. What will they think of next. Avatar
    What will they think of next.

BAJAN TRUTH

An interesting topic over at Barbados Free Press:-

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/johnston-international-collapses-amid-corruption-allegations-employees-owed-millions/#more-18282

Johnston International was much loved by your crooked Barbados Labour Party.. This was the company which paid huge bribes to politicians in office for contracts. It is from this company that many Barbados Labour Party politicians received their bribes which they stashed in secret offshore bank accounts.

This is the company which led to the down fall of the Turks and Caicois Premier Michael Misick.

Much to the disappointment of my wife and I the Democratic Labour Party failed to prosecute any of the Barbados Labour Party crooks here in Barbados.

Now the same Barbados Labour Party members are clamoring to return to office to once again loot the treasury.

20. Bajan Truth

This is why you must do business with me and my family from the East. We do not conduct our business along the principles of the West. We make plenty plenty friends in the West because we are a responsible government and we do not tolerate corrupt officials in our companies. We metamorphosise these bad people, you must forgive me the English…

21. “And I think the greatest tragedy in our politics is Clyde Mascoll but I think we need all economists including Mascoll to come together and instead of saying my way is the right way, come up with something that will help all of us.” – person going by the pseudonym, Concerned B, in the above 10.40 pm, July 20, 2010 blog.

In case many people contributing to this BU blog, did not know, or never knew, that Mr. Clyde Mascoll, when he was the Opposition Leader of Government, used to speak of himself as the INTELLECTUAL and POLITICAL LEADER of the DLP, they must know such now.

Truly, it was the case that while he was representing the DLP in the Senate, he was elected to the Presidency of the DLP in 2001, with the support of a group of elders of the party after some serious problems had developed between the then DLP President and Opposition Leader, Mr. David Thompson, and Mr. Kellman – the only other sitting member of the DLP in the House of Assembly then, over the by-election result in St. Thomas in 2001, and truly it was the case, too, that after leading the party into the 2003 General Election, he was sworned in by the present Governor General, Sir Clifford Husbands, as the Opposition Leader of the Government, a position he held up to the point in time he resigned it in January 2006.

True, true, true!!!

But, it is the thought that Mr. Mascoll had himself strangely possessed that he was this INTELLECTUAL LEADER too of the DLP, that really stunned!!!

Whereas, he went to Wesley Hall Primary, to Combermere, the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, Queen’s University – Canada, and had worked at the Central Bank, and had worked at ISER, at UWI Cave Hill, he was NEVER EVER ANY LEADER at that time of any academic institutions anywhere, NEVER EVER ANY LEADER of any think tanks anywhere, NEVER EVER ANY LEADER of any organizations producing any journals, anywhere, he was NEVER EVER ANY LEADER of any INTELLECTUAL MOVEMENTS in Barbados or any where else, NOT even of the joke DLP Academy, then, when he was Opposition Leader, or before or after holding this position.

So, what INTELLECTUAL LEADER What!!!

For Mr. Mascoll to have said so, was indicative of the tacky workings of the imagination of the man, then, and of a bureacrat/technocrat who was going no where fast, inspite of his hopeless dreams!!

But, cud dear, any serious INTELLECTUAL/LEADER in Barbados must themselves know by now that this inverted political ideology, philosophy and psychology called ECONOMICS has been one of the most wicked, backward and unscientific of all those ideologies, philosophies and psychologies that have -since the ending of plantation enslavement society in Barbados – been studied and practiced by ECONOMISTS and many others right now in the ccountry.

But, Mr.Mascoll – like all others in Barbados and elsewhere who have been trained in or well imbued with this economics discipline – has been FAILING to LEAD THE WAY, BY NOT coming up with anything substantially ACADEMICALLY OR INTELLECTUALLY OR PHILOSOPHICALLY – such as a national blueprint/ plan of action – to lift Barbados out of this depression and onto a sustained upward growth path.

THE PRIMARY REASON why Mr. Mascoll HAS FAILED to present such a blueprint-plan of action is because ECONOMICS has never been designed to do so.

And the primary reason why this type of substantially academic intellectual philosophical approach ( es) has (have) to be taken is because ECONOMICS has NOT been designed to produce such a blue print/plan of action.

SO ONE HAS TO LOOK OUTSIDE OF ECONOMICS FOR SUCH AND OUTSIDE OF ECONOMISTS FOR SUCH ITEMS, even if some aspects of it, and even if some of the thoughts and ideas of economists would have be incorporated into such a blueprint/plan of action later on in their development or implementation.

Some aspects of so-called Political Science and some persons who are so-called political scientists have long known what Mr. Mascoll and others of his ilk HAVE FAILED to know or HAVE FAIL to inform about, or if knowing about such – about that which was just described a little above and immediately described below – do NOT WISH TO DO ANYTHING OR MUCH ABOUT – about THE DANGERS AND EVILS OF ECONOMICS and WESTERN FINANCE, AND THEIR DESTRUCTIVE EFFECTS ON THE BROAD MASSES AND MIDDLE CLASSES OF PEOPLE WORLD OVER.

Hence, in those and other related regards, it is the so-called political science discipline and the so-called progressive political scientist that MUST LEAD THE WAY NOW FORWARDS TOWARDS BRIGHTER AND BETTER FOR THE BROAD MASSES AND MIDDLE CLASSES OF PEOPLE OF BARBADOS AND OTHER PLACES, GIVEN THE MASSIVE FAILURES OF ECONOMICS/WESTERN FINANCE AND ECONOMISTS AND BANKERS/INVESTMENT BANKERS.

For, ECONOMICS – aside from helping to empower and enrich elite whites locally, regionally and globally, and helping to empower and enrich ALL elites whether black, white, yellow, brown, locally, regionally and globally, and too helping to make governments locally, regionally, globally, stronger materially politically – has been designed by mainly a few of the old 18th European intelligentsia, the ideological bias and their later descendants (Americans too) – along with their other issue/underling – WESTERN FINANCE – to assist in the systematic constant destruction, oppression, marginalization, and impairment of the life chances and existences of the broad masses and middle classes of people in Barbados and the vast majority of people in the rest of the world.

So, any serious INTELLECTUAL/LEADERS in these modern times – here in Barbados or anywhere else – must know this and must try to do some serious studies and some cucial developing of some serious theoretical solutions to resolve those fundamental social political problems – or it would be clear to many people – like the PDC – on whose side he/she is fighting on, or fighting on behalf of, or representing, mainly – the elites, the governments, or the masses and middle lasses.

So, today, too, in regard of this state of depression in Barbados, even though the broad masses and middle classes have the strengths and the capacities – but almost any thing else other than socio-political ones – to bring and end to this depression, it is WESTERN POLITICS, THE POLITICAL in its natural form, broadly speaking, and in a combination style ( e.g. so-called elite people, so-called government leaders/supporters, using PSYCHOLOGICAL-BASED POLITICAL LAWS, and using some other armed groups that have agreed to USE OR THREATEN the USE of FORCE FOR PAYMENT), which are the fundamental bases and expressions of ECONOMICS and WESTERN FINANCE – that – in turn – have been – literally, figuratively, through involuntary consent, undue influence, indoctrination of the broad masses and middle classes, etc. – carrying out the systematic constant destruction, brutalization, oppression, marginalization, and impairment of the broad masses and middle classes of people in Barbados and the vast majority of people in the rest of the world – .

So, THERE IS NOTHING NATIONALLY PROGRESSIVE ABOUT ECONOMICS, or, for that matter, WESTERN FINANCE.

THE NOTION OF NATIONAL ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT IS ABSOLUTE RUBBISH!!!

And so is NATIONAL FINANCIAL DEVELOPMENT!!

For those who might not have known, economics and Western Finance are primarily about the ways and means through which so-called European power, wealth and income elites, and their later derivatives ( e.g. American) power, wealth and income elites and other Non-European and Non-European Derivatives across the world, would have been for a long time able to come together and accumulate the greatest power and wealth and income possible, through the exploitation of the other classes in Europe and elsewhere, and through the maintenance and replication as much as possible of such.

So, any serious POLITICAL LEADERS that also fail to know the immediately described above, or knows this but fails to do serious things about the said immediately described above, and will fail therefore in their duty to help the masses and middle classes of this country and by extension the country overcome and destroy such big problems, must be derided, ignored, and shunted aside for who they really are.

For, any amount of false, misleading, and sometimes downright false, mathematical, statistical, and actuarial skills methods tinkering used by ECONOMISTS, BANKERS/INVESTMENT BANKERS, and found in ECONOMICS, WESTERN FINANCE, respectively is going to be viewed by the PDC and many others in Barbados as not enough to camouflage the pervasive wickedness Involved in ECONOMICS/WESTERN FINANCE.

Right now, crucial considerations, analyses and catapults must be given by many thousands of political conscious people inside and outside of Barbados, to the IDEA OF many so-called POLITICAL SCIENCE LEADERS ( NOT SIMPLY POLITICAL LEADERS ) leading millions and millions of people across the world – thousands upon thousands here in Barbados – sooner rather than later, democratically, populistically in a spirited concerted strategic global campaign – a micro local campaign here connecting with the latter too – against economics and western finance, with a view to eventually finally seizing the SUBSTANCE and SYMBOLS of them by the scruff of their necks, taking them to multifarious intellectual political operating rooms across various countries, and with one common aim and purpose, to knock them to ASS OUT, TO HELL OUT with power shocks, or better yet to send to sleep under the correct and most powerful political anaesthesia, and to then throw them over to where they rightfully damnedly belong – on the political operating table – to be relieved of their old dirty dingy economic western financial garments by expert political science surgeons, to be cut and opened up and dissected and examined by them, with a view of carefully removing all the political mathematical statistical cancers – TAXATION, Interest Rates, etc. – well, so much for the untold misery and the destruction that they would have helped brought to the lives of so many millions across the world and are still continuing to do so; and then on successful completion of these political surgeries, they each being tidied up with acidic cleaners, and stitched back up with moral thread, and clothed again but this time with new political ideological garments, then to be removed from that political table, to be put back on a different course of good political moral ideological philosophical health – prayers given to the Almighty for that Hallelujah !! Amen!! – and, too, to be given the right regime of political and other post surgery treatments and checks ups and continual tests under the eyes and ears of very perceptive progressive newer generations of people and more enlightened social institutions and processes across the world.

This is an allegory of what needs to be done to this DAMNED ECONOMICS and this FOOLISH WESTERN FINANCE wheresoever!!!

So, to simply, again, bring together economists mainly for them to help create more profound national social material and financial problems for the masses and middle classes of people of this country and the country itself is unnecessary and unwise.

22. I have spent the last 24 hrs giving some thought to this excellent thread and the various points raised. The focus has shifted onto the transfers and subsidies, and by extension QEH, UWI and the Transport Board. These have been referred to as sacred cows and the ones that need to be addressed to solve the fiscal problems the country now faces. Persaud and others are essentially calling for a privatization program.

When I look at the figures for transfers and subsisidies provided here, the “other” category is quite large. It is clearly imperative that all public sector entities be held up to scrutiny, efficiencies ruthlessly pursued and some of them disbanded. My question is, are QEH, TB and UWI sacred cows or whipping boys? Do we have some new sacred cows hidden in the “other category?”

We have an entity called Invest Barbados. It is far from clear to me what trophies this well funded body has brought to Rome. Can the experts explain to me why money spent on Invest Barbados is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? What new value added is brought to the table by this entity that justifies the cost of these entitites? Why are the the TB and UWI on the chopping board ahead of this entity? Is this a new sacred cow where the brightest and the best now go and enjoy private sector like salaries and perks on the public purse, while TB and QEH are now old school to be looked down upon? Invest Barbados seems to be part of the new glittering, financial services driven, high end tourism, no agriculture, no manufacturing, do not get your hands dirty, Dubai, Iceland model that Persaud and others seem to favour for Barbados. Or is that Owen’s services economy?

We have an entity called Barbados Tourism and Investment (BTII)? Is this government funded? How much is the funding? the entity seems to do a number of things that rather like private sector activity to me. Can the experts explain to me why money spent on Invest barbados is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? Can the experts explain to me why money spent on BTII is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? What new value added is brought to the table by this entity that justifies its costs? Why are UWI and the TB on the chopping board ahead of this entity? Is this a new sacred cow where the brightest and the best now go and enjoy private sector like salaries and perks on the public purse, while TB and QEH are now old school to be looked down upon? BTII seems to be part of the new glittering, financial services driven, high end tourism, no agriculture, no manufacturing, do not get your hands dirty, Dubai, Iceland model that Persaud and others seem to favour for Barbados. Or is that Owen’s services economy.

We have an entity called Hotel and Resorts Limited. This entity was made famous by the Gems Affair. Can the experts explain to me why money spent on HRL is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? Can the experts explain to me why money spent on HRL is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? What new value added is brought to the table by this entity that justifies its costs? Why are UWI and the TB on the chopping board ahead of this entity? Is this a new sacred cow where the brightest and the best now go and enjoy private sector like salaries and perks on the public purse, while TB and QEH are now old school to be looked down upon?

We have an entity called the Urban Development Corporation and another called the Rural Development Corporation. Can the experts explain to me why money spent on Invest barbados is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? Can the experts explain to me why money spent on UDC and RDC is money better spent than on QEH, TB and UWI? What new value added is brought to the table by these entities that justify their costs? Why are UWI and the TB on the chopping board ahead of these entities? Is this a new sacred cows that allow regime consolidation by which ever party is in power? As a rural dweller I support constituency councils and I am very active in mine. Do you need UDC and RDC if you have these councils?

I hate to impute motive, but Mascoll has not pointed to one program associated the previous administration. He seems to want to focus on the TB because he wants to knock free bus fares for school children and the change in energy policy. But the BLP has to face up to the fact that the explosion of these state owned corporations and government owned companies happened under their watch. Behind Persaud’s impeccable logic and smooth delivery I sense a healthy dose of ideology. The ideology that government provision of goods and services is inherently inferior to private. Barbados’ public and social services have served us well. As an old school person I pick the TB over a ZR any day. I have not found bayview to be superior to QEH in health care delivery, and uwi still provides a pretty good education.

Our social capital and cohesiveness has helped us through this crisis. We need to be guided by pragmatism and not let ideologues and political opportunists unduly shape the debate. I can see the benefits from QEH, UWI and TB, I am not so sure about some of the others. What would happen to foreign investment in Barbados if Invest Barbados was disbanded? What would having to the Tourism Infrastructure if BTII was disbanded? We need rationalizing and chopping, but lets do it carefully and put all these entities that benefit from transfers and subsidies on the table.

23. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

Have to disagree with you

You cannot dismiss Mascoll in your rather weak argument that he was not a leader of anything even after posting his academic and work experience. Mascoll’s experience must mean something !
    I am surprised at you PDC

24. Management Barbados Underground

I have posted a comment on the happenings at the Barbados Hilton where the newly arrived white general manager has decided to cancel the popular Tuesday & Saturday shows featuring Wayne Jackman & his Showtime Band.The reason for the cancellation was the large Black local following that visited the hotel on those nights.As I stated previously the new general manager does not want Black Barbadians visiting the hotel.
    Fellow bloggers might not be that keen on that development,but as a Barbadian, I am deeply concern with that development taking into consideration that the government of Barbados has significant investment in that hotel.
    Last year a white manager kicked a Black worker and now there is a new white apparent racist general manager who does not want Black Barbadians patronising the hotel.
    I believe the management of Barbados Underground if they think it is news worthy should investigate this development because I do not think in 2010 that Black Barbadians should be discriminated against from visiting hotels in Barbados.
    I will repeat my request for the Barbados Workers Union,Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association,Ministry of Tourism,Minister of Tourism,Barbados Hilton Board & the government of Barbados to investigate the allege cancellation of the popular Wayne Jackman & Showtime Band show at Barbados Hilton because of the large local Black crowd that frequented the hotel.
    This is the same Barbados Hilton along with other hotels in Barbados who are advertising the Staycation concept for the locals to stay in their hotels during these slow months in the the hotel industry.
    Whither Blacks in the tourism industry!

25. @ David

I believe that the above will be of interest to my family from the East. This issue should be made a topic to discuss… The hidden secret of racialism in the tourism (forgive me the English). ..

26. Jackie Chan is the Man.
    When he does a stunt he really does it
    Kids don’t try this at home or anywhere at all
    This is Jackie Chan’s top ten

27. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

Jackie Chan is a MADMAN !!!

28. Some of you have inquired about the detailing of the transfers and subsidies, please note this info can be found in the most recent Estimates laid in parliament.

QEH – $145.5 million
    National Council on Substance Abuse – $1.8 million

Community Legal Services Commission – $2.4 million

Regional Police Training Centre – $2.1 million

Transport Board – $10 million

Secondary Schools – $10 million

UWI – $71 million

BCC – $21 million

BCC Hospitality Institute – $6 million

Higher Education Awards – $33.1 million

BTA – $92 million

Barbados Conference Services Ltd – $2million

NCF – $7.3 million

Pensions, Gratuity and other Benefits – $188.1 million

NIS – $32.7 million

Invest Barbados – $18.9 million

BTI – $4.9 million

Hotel and Resorts – $2 million

Barbados Vocational Training Board – $8.6 million

TVET Council – $1.8 million

National Summer Camps – $6.1 million

Child Care Board – $19.4 million

Gymnasium – $1.7 million

National Productivity Council – $1.4 million

Fund Access – $1.9 million

BIDC – $15.5 million

BNSI – $1.8 million

Sanitation Service Authority – $47.5 million

National Conservation Commission – $33.4 million

Caves of Barbados – $2.7 million

National Heritage Unit – $1 million

Welfare Department – $1.2 million

National Disability Unit – $1.5 million

29. The Barbados Economic Society (BES) has posted on its blog some feedback on the Governor’s 6 month review.

30. To the person going by the pseudonym, Flavour of the Month

Sorry for surprising (disappointing) you!!

But, still, you obviously did not read the post very properly!!

We recognized that Mr. Mascoll was THE Political Leader of the DLP.

But, he was NEVER THE Intellectual Leader of the DLP.

Far less, of any of those types of organizations we would have referred to, sufficient that it if it were so, it could have been said that such would have strengthen his claim to such a title at the time.

Furthermore, if there was such a title of INTELLECTUAL LEADER, there had to be such a position, but there was no such position, so there was no such title.

The DLP was and is NOT an INTELLECTUAL organization, so therefore such a position could NOT have emerged out of it because it is a POLITICAL ORGANIZATION.

But, The Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr. Rowan Williams, is the Spiritual Leader of the Chruch of England as well as the Political Leader of the said Church of England.

Now, let us say the Archbishop had made the claim that he was the Spiritual and Political Leader of the Anglican Church, it would have been entirely appropriate and valid, because he deals with spiritual as well as ecclesiastical affairs in his role, as well as he is the primus inter pares political authority and power of the Church of England.

A more interesting circumstance is applicable to former and contemporary Popes – e.g. Pope Benedict XVI, who is the Spiritual Leader, Pontiff of the Catholic Church, and in his primus inter pares role has primacy jurisdiction of the Roman Catholic Church worldwide. He is also the Bishop of Rome, and that of Sovereign of the Vatican City.

If each had laid claim to being the intellectual leaders of their respective churches, despite the fact that their Churches are semi-intellectual organizations – NOT purely intellectual organizations, then such claims could have each had a significant validity because of the fact that they are looked up to – as canonical ecclesiastical authorities ( intellectual authorities ) – for sound intellectual, academic and doctrinal leadership by their inner organs and wider flocks, and which is reinforced by the relevant different highest structures within and without their churches (The Anglican Archbishop – He helps chairs the General Synod, convenor of the Lambeth Conferences – by virtue of his office he is Chancellor of Canterbury Christ Church University, Governor of Charterhouse School, Governor of Wellington College, and Visitor to so many Colleges and schools in England – the Roman Catholic Pope – via ex cathedra pronunciations – via the doctine of infallibility – he is seen as the principal teacher via his supreme apostolic authority to be theoretically followed by all Catholics – through his interpreting and adherinng to the principles of dogmatic constitution on the Church, the latter via the Second Vatican Council ( 1964), etc.

Produced with moderate assistance from Wikipedia.com.

31. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Thanks for the info David. Its quite a list. Pensions, gratuities and other benefits is the single largest item. I wonder what it has been over the last five years and exactly what it is? Are these non NIS pensions?

32. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

I find it interesting that Owen has so far not commented on the deficit or the debt levels. At least he would be consistent because he called for a gargantuan, Obama like stimulus.

33. These numbers don’t add up to the numbers given by anonymous in an earlier post (20 July @ 11:59)! The ‘other’ category was given as $719.6 million. The list from the estimates sums to $796.3 million but this includes transfers to UWI, QEH and the transport board. If these amounts are not included then the sum is $569.8 million which is $149.8 million less that that given by anonymous.

34. Trained Economist Avatar
    Trained Economist

Anon give actual expenditure figues as reported by the central bank. the estimates are just that, estimates.

35. National Productivity Council – $1.4 million

I think your Government is otherwise better persuaded to not waste anymore money here no,,?

36. @Anonymous

BU is working to confirm the Hilton matter.

37. It would be interesting to know how many Consultants are being paid out of these transfers.

38. BU, have you have out anymore about the transfer that refers to Pensions, Gratuity and other Benefits. Is the single largest transfer.

39. How do you reduce the deficit and still promote the recovery of our economy?

You have to increase income. What statutory corporations or activties you keep and what you reduce revenue to, depends on what you want to achieve in the short term. If your aim is to reduce costs, increase income and start the economy to counteract the crisis, this would condition which ones you choose to cut and which ones you choose to expand or revamp and expand. If gov’t revenues are falling, it is because your businesses are losing market and money. To raise gov’t revenue in a sustainable way and not create a spiralling condition, requires that you boost the sectors that can make money, earn foreign exchange and make jobs. Gov’t puts money there, cuts from non-earning sectors, then when the earning sectors pick up, gov’t earns more revenue and can resume the support for first the non-earning but essential and then to non-essentials. For example do you cut Invest B;dos? Its job is to generate inward investment and promote outward trade. You revamp Invest B’dos if it is not working properly, finance its operations properly, and let it go out and get business, so we can earn. It is essential and will earn foreign exchange and promote trade in B’dos. Do you cut QEH cut out the waste first, and reduce some services except for the poor; do emergencies. It is an essential but non-earning in relative terms. But it is not necessarily first on the chopping block, you evaluate all of your social services and the most important are education, health, as distinct from essential services like fire or police. For sure camps, free busfares, community councils constitute non-earning and non-essential.

If you do not appreciate how business works and its relationship to the economy you can make errors in determining what to do to deal with the crisis. It is not just knowing economics it is the application of economics within the context of understanding the dynamics of small developing economies and the vagaries of the int’l system on small economies in these times. Otherwise you will get it very wrong and cause us further harm. At this point in time incompetence is an unforgiveable and will become unbearable. As someone said on another blog, I think it was Georgie Porgie who said he never applied for a job that he did not have the qualifications and in the case of his field the expertise to handle. It is no different with an economy, it is not for rookies, especially in a crisis when experience is most necessary. The consequences are too severe as we as a nation will learn in the months to come. If this crisis does nothing more than teach us to take our economy seriously and our politics seriously so that people who come to us to be elected are asked to prepare themselves for the task, goodwill is not enough.

40. Bajan Truth the question is do we need both BIDC, BTII and Invest Barbados. For example. my own sense is that the BIDC can be structured to take on all of these functions.

41. @ Old School

I was using the contrast of two types of entities, not necessarily a specific choice of this over that. But to respond to your general point. Rationalisation of entities doing similar functions is exactly what is needed. In the case of BTI my uderstanding of what they do is big infrastructural projects and renewal of the townscapes, so their function cannot be easily absorbed by the others. The real challenge to successive gov’ts is the internal civil service politics where you have entrenched internal interest that resist change by political directorates. If you look at both parties you will realise that they all come in to sweep clean, and they will change this and that and want to get cracking on implementing their agendas. Then the civil service raises it head like a troll under the bridge , who is that coming here to do what!!!!you can do anything you want, don’t distrub me, and don’t offend me, or I will show you which God you serving. These civil service interests are not necessarily party political but civil service political, and they can destroy a gov’t by just sitting on its hands. When politics is in the mix, blue murder.

This will be the challenge when you seek to change and rationalise, upgrade. Yes Minister was not a joke. Sit down with a set of them liming and things you hear, you then see why some things do not get done. You then understand why a seemly simple something is not done. Remember the guy caught destroying the hospital elevator, that’s the mix of civil and party politics at its worse. Evah heard about two people in a department asked to order a piece of necessary equipment to help communities in times of ‘stress’, two years later, still ain order it. When ministers try to ‘lock horns’ they block the project and when they try to get rid of them or try to make them work differently, they bring in the union, which depends on which gov’t is in. So successive gov’ts have TRIED D and B, but this licks them upside down. That is another element that needs to be addressed nationally. Until we fix this problem we will not fix the deficit and it will continue to retard changes to the economy.

42. The politicians are in a position to change the system to overcome the problem highlighted above by Bajan Truth, so why haven’t they done so? Maybe the truth is that the civil servants are too much smarter than the politicians!

43. What does the National Conservation Commission do for its annual $33m?

It is half the amount that goes to UWI.

44. NCC employs people, labour ..no? This is very good thing, as we focus on that in the East…More hands doing things that you can see and complain about when it is not done properly or not at all… no..? Now in comparison, what does the Productivity Council do with its 2 Mil…?

45. @Conrad – I tried to check the NCC website to see if they have an annual report but the website seems to be down.

What are Higher Education Awards – $33.1M?

46. @ Brutus

Bajan Truth has hit the nail bang on in the above analysis of the problem of achieving change in the civil service.
    None of the politicians are smart enough, brave enough or assertive enough to deal with this problem, so they all settle down after a few months and play the game – reading the speeches written for them, doing as they are told, and supporting the things that they opposed while in opposition (LOL)

The only thing that will change this impasse is either a strong, assertive, positive leader or a serious economic crisis that results in them HAVING to get rid of some of the jokers and hopefully having to focus on insisting of REAL work for the salaries paid.

47. Q: To whom will civil servants be answerable?

A: To other civil servants.

Thus there is no solution to Bush Tea’s dilemma other than to minimise the role and functions of government.

[to those who thought the answer was “to the people or the nation”, I can only encourage them to grow up.]

48. @ Anonymous

Man Bush Tea ain’t got no dilemma… LOL

What if it became impossible to hold secrets?
    What if disgruntled staff could simply post details of the scams ANONYMOUSLY on the blog, and then others could support / explain or decry the complaint publicly?

Do you think that many of those crooks would take the chance if they knew that there was a GREAT likelihood of being exposed publicly?

…even if there are some false accusations, it would merely give the opportunity to explain what the TRUTH really is…… there are too many deep dark secrets

Also….
    …… just wait and see what difference it will make when a RIGHTEOUS MME takes over the leadership of Barbados…

49. In the East we have effective way of dealing with wayward civil serpent… we introduce them to small high velocity metal object. We get him to lose his mind… literally.. We know what we mean when we refer to mindless civil serpent…no?

50. “just wait and see what difference it will make when a RIGHTEOUS MME takes over the leadership of Barbados” – my guess is that we’ll do the same thing as when the last righteous Guy was around….we’ll crucify Him!

[Oh just ignore me…it’s early in the morning and I’m just an old cynic that’s had too much to drink!]