Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

Dear Reader, very often one comes across a piece of correspondence that absolutely floors you. In cricketing terms, it’s called an unplayable delivery. You simply do not know what to do with it. You are left dazed! In such circumstances, I have opted over the years to simply pass it on; share it with others and hear what they say. See if their reaction is similar to yours.

The following is a piece of correspondence that was shared with me by a fellow writer at the Barbados Advocate who also was floored by the sincerity and forthrightness of the author, whom none of us knew and who, to this day, remains anonymous. It does not matter who the author was, what matters is that out there in Bajan country, are persons who are sitting up and taking note of the downward spiral in Barbados journalism.

Dear Reader, I shall share the contents of the correspondence, which came in the form of a Letter to the Editor, and offer no further comment…at this time.

Dear Editor:

Thank you for preserving the dignity of the Prime Minister at this most distressing time.

While your neighbour and competitor seem to thrive on classless, insensitive journalism I want to encourage you to continue to take the high road. Less than twenty-four hours after our Prime Minister did what none of us would ever wished to be faced with, the electronic edition of the Nation Newspaper launched an opinion poll which posed the question, and I will paraphrase – Should the Prime Minister reveal to the nation the nature of his illness?.

What I wonder has informed this question. Is it not enough that he has told us that he is ill – so ill in fact that he has asked us to continue to pray for him and craved our forbearance while he attends to his health? I emphasize ‘continue’ because I know as a people we Barbadians always pray for our leaders.

Does the public’s right to know trump a fellow human being’s right to dignity – even if he happens to be the Prime Minister? If we find out the detail of what ails him will that change the course of the events that have unfolded so far? Is it that we wish to ascertain whether the illness that has stricken our Prime Minister is contagious so that it is in the nature of a threat to public health? I think not? What will we be asking for next – what medication he is on or what diet has he been following?

We must resist the unfortunate human condition which tends to gossip. I would expect our media houses should feel a sense of responsibility in making sure that while they fearlessly and impartially report the news they do not lower our common standards of decency and propriety which I hope we still hold dear.

Unfortunately, the Internet poll was one of three offerings from the Nation which I found particularly distasteful. The second was the image of the PM on the front page. Again, whether or not his current state was plastered on the front of today’s paper, the revelation of him handing over the reins of government to his deputy is already newsworthy. This is not a question of the public’s right to know – we know – PM Thompson laid bare his condition on television just the night before.

The dignity of the man, as husband, father and leader of this nation is what is at stake. Why can we not use the ‘official’ photos of our Prime Minister even now? Do you think we will forget that he is not well?

Equally disingenuous to both the Prime Minister and his Deputy – at least in my view – was the cartoon depicting the PM taking a step down and his seemingly gleeful Deputy stepping up to the top tier of a podium. How absolutely uncalled for! Has the Attorney-General won some hard-fought prize? Has he ousted his colleague and leader from power? Absolutely not! This is not a power struggle that has been determined.

I sincerely hope that this brand of journalism is not in an effort to boost sales. I expect it is not a secret that the Nation’s current circulation is enviable. Can we please put ourselves in the PM’s shoes and follow the oldest maxim – love one another as God loves us. In our speech, in our actions and especially in our reporting let us treat our Prime Minister as we would wish to be treated – especially in this time of illness.

Congratulations Mr. Editor in handling the Prime Minister and your readership with the dignity and respect we deserve.

Dear Reader, what can I say? I do not propose further comment at this stage…but, rest assured, further comment will come! The backdrop to the foregoing will be shared with all Barbados…in the fullness of time.

But I find myself humming to the strains of one of Mighty Gabby’s classics: One Day Coming Soon…the people will wake up!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

330 responses to “Points To Ponder”

1. With regards to the PM’s illness, I think I heard David Ellis on Brass Tacks reading an article in which journalist Julius Gittens is saying that the PM has a responsibility to inform the people of Barbados about the specifics of his illness. Mr. Ellis then read another article by someone else who responded to Mr. Gittens in the same way that the letter submitted by Hartley is written.

Quite frankly the PM has a right to his privacy and that is the way he should keep it. Most of the people who are so interested in knowing exactly what his illness is, are people who just want to predict how long he has to live. To hell with that type.

2. Quite frankly the PM has a right to his privacy

Quite frankly the PM gave up that right when he decided to be a VERY public figure… 30 years ago. You make sacrifices… grow up

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP
    Bad idea man
    I have to give Marshall at least one vote,
    In 1980 he gave my ex and I our first loan to buy a house, when he was at Barclays Wildey.
    I cant forget that, man.
    So however bad he is I have to give him one vote. So I think you should recant. LOL

4. GP

I proud ah me man. Don’ worry too much, but I got to admire your loyalty. This time my friend I am convinced… yah misplace it…!

5. Christopher Halsall

Somebody sen’ an tell me that you and Georgie kiss an’ make up… Lemme tell you.. two years from now when the sun reach the centre of the galaxy where there is a black hole waiting I intend to remember this possibility …. HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

6. Public figure or not the PM owes us no explanation as to the natures or type of illness he is going through.We are only interested because some of us human beings get a” high”(sic) off knowing about the private lives of other people. Gutter journalism in the form of TMZ, The Sun, Globe and People magazine existence are along this model. What you don’t wish for yourself you shouldnot wish for others. All the people on this thread who are calling for the PM to disclose his illness, how would you feeel if your privacy is being invaded by other people? The notion of public figure don’t cut it either, leave that to the Americans and the Brits.

Let us not adopt the bad habits of the foreign media here, because a lot of their behaviour are alien to our culture.

7. @BAFBFP who wrote:

Quite frankly the PM gave up that right when he decided to be a VERY public figure… 30 years ago. You make sacrifices… grow up
    ============================================================
    Such stupid misconception. All the public needs to know is that he’s sick, it’s nobody’s business what his illness. We the public pay him to do a job, not to inform us of every detail of his life. We pay public servants to do a job, we don’t own them.

8. @GP

See how you usually confuse issues. You’re giving Marshall a vote based on a business transaction he assisted you with in 1980 at a bank, while we’re discussing Marshall’s performance as a moderator on Brass Tacks. It’s the same way you confuse Israeli behaviour today with the second coming of Christ. But let’s move on.

9. Atman
    I stop listening to VOB since de incident wid Veoma Ali or wah evva she name is but back den I did too love Marshall and my feelings in change. I would like ‘e ta propose ta me now. Pass on de messaj fa ma.
    Wha you tink bout John Lovell’s style of moderator? He sharp n uncouth too? I love he real bad too. Pass on de messaj fa ma.

10. sir i think TM was a good guy then and i think he is a good guy now .Don’t confuse me with the facts.
    @To Whom It May Concern!LOL

11. When Situations Test & Expose PR Inadequacy

The dilemma of the P.M.’s illness and the management of the pr in relation to the public grow more and more pathetic. In between the cracks of incompetence is squeezed a family and a nation. Either you are reporting or not reporting, don’t call a press conference if you do not want his condition to be broadcasted; don’t put him to sit under his picture so the comparison does not occur. Don’t make promises that you cannot keep. You cause people to doubt you, when you say you have no diagnosis. Wwhy is he taking medication, having surgery… it seems that when PR deviates from attacks, lies, myths, scandal, self-styled PR experts lose their way.

His Privacy versus the Right to Know.

People vote for parties based on who is leader, if this person is ill and it affects his functioning as leader, his followers have a right to know. When Sandi was ill (angina), he said what the problem was; Manning had cancer of kidney, he told his people went for his treatment Man, even Mr. Bird in Birdland (Antigua) said when he was ill. Jesus himself prepared his people for His death. Standard procedure, cost of being a public figure.

The debacle of the announcement of Adriel Brathwaite, weak Henry weak. Sinckler states emphatically Adriel is substantive minister. Wickham explains oh you can’t act for 8 weeks, too long. Appoint him for two months. (Which company ever did such a thing). Now Stuart, turns it round and said oh well he cannot be appointed as Acting AG because he is not a Minister, he has to be a minister before he can act, so appoint him as AG. Michael Lashley normally acts but two months is too long, and Michael is needed in housing to continue the housing programme (apparently he is on the worksite laying blocks).

Suppose you need back your position Mr. Stuart, remember the debacle of BTA. Sandi had found Sylvia to be an able deputy and recommended that the BTA experience the same. She was appointed to the position of Deputy Manager, while the substantive officeholder was acting Executive Director. When Sandi could not get the board to appoint Tony Arthur to the E.D. position, he no longer had a job. Madness, is history repeating itself.

Now since when the DLp was particular about following established protocols – did they not appoint an Executive Chairman at BWA, a post that does not exist and is therefore illegal; political consultant for the DLP party paid from the public purse, corruption. Pleaseeeeee!!!

Should the nation be told? Let the incompetence continue, and the people will get more and more anxious. Increase their insecurity and you will lose them, they will gravitate to certainty and an anchor in the time of storm.

12. Bonny Peppa, clarify something for me. Are you male or female? Would you mind also sharing your age?

13. My Name Is Not Sylvan..... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan…..

Hartley writing an article about a letter that he wrote to the editor of the Advocate.

Hartley, was it not you who put the PM to speak to the Nation in front of the official picture of him specifically to emphasise how much weight he has lost?

Does not the most basic PR practitioner know that the best way to kill rumor is to release the facts? So was it not your advice to the PM not to release the nature of his illness in order to promote as much discussion as possible in the public domain. You KNOW that in the absence of hard fact, the rumour mill will flourish.

Isn’t the next step in your PR strategy to decry public comment as vocally as possible in order to fan the flames of the discussion? Because every PR person knows that the next best way to kill rumor is to ignore it and not to feed the discussion.

So why are you jumping into the public debate with both feet when you KNOW it will only increase the public comment about the PM’s illness?

Isn’t this true that this article is part of a cynical, PR strategy on the part of the DLP to divert attention away from the Government’s lack of performance and to try to gain sympathy by way of David Thompson’s personal tragedy?

Basic points of PR.

1. In the absence of facts the rumour mill will flourish (no facts released by DLP on PM’s illness)

2. One of the best ways of ending a public discussion is to ignore it and over time it will die down. (Here we have the DLP’s PR hack jumping right into the discussion he wants to promote)

But I guess Hartley as far as you are concerned you are just glad that the people are talking about something besides the Government’s lack of performance.

14. above said ”don’t wish for yourself you shouldnot wish for others”

It was something when, in the late eighties, in England the gossip blew up in the faces of two news editors, Andrew Neil of the Sunday Times and Donald Trelford of the Observer, both of whom allegedly had links with the beautiful former Miss India, then Pamella Bordes, who allegedly had many other (British MP’s, alleged arms dealer Adnan Khashoggi and a senior Libyan official)…links.

Apparently, Miss Bordes, now Miss Singh, is a photojournalist in the East.

Likewise, are the Editors and news owners here, quite happy to play an ‘open’ game???

15. Blimp
    Irrelevant. I thought that the Housing n Population Census was over? Or you starting you own questionnaire now, dat you asking me dem sorta questions? Or you comin ta tell me my fortune now? Start de ball rolling boo-boo.

16. Blimp
    On second thought, I’m a 23yr. old male prostitute.
    Hope that helped.

17. To: My Name Is Not Sylvan

You are absolutely correct in your analysis. I was thinking similarly when I responded to JC earlier today……..

[JC, You have never heard of the silent majority?
    If you think the people don’t recognise this nasty psychological ploy (by Hartley) to extract every last piece of political sympathy out of the P.M’s illness, while at the same time trying to paint others as glorying in the unfortunate circumstances, think again.

In the meantime, the country’s business is taking a long slumber. A lot of cosmetic foolishness going on]

18. Blimp
    On third thought, I’m a 32yr. old female stripper.
    Hope that helped too. Seriously.

19. Atman
    “We the public pay him to do a job, not to inform us of every detail”

We the public pay him to do a job that he volunteered to do IN HIS OWN INTEREST. NOBODY forced him or any of the other parliamentarians. GROW UP P’Y….!

20. Just as I thought Bonny Peppa. I believe you are telling the truth about yourself, except your age. I feel sure you about 50-55, a broken down male prostitute. Only such a person could have volcanic burning hots for a man like Tony Marshall.

21. Blimp
    Honestly now, I’m a 56yr. old former FBI agent currently working undercover for the CIA. That is the honest truth now.
    No lie.
    Satisfied yet?

22. Blimp
    And now that you got that off your hairy-ass chest, move along smartly smarty.

23. Bonny Peppa // July 8, 2010 at 8:44 PM

I did too love Marshal

You an’ me done… fah good…!

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Atman // July 8, 2010 at 8:18 PM

See how you ARE UNABLE TO READ A STATEMENT IN ITS CONTEXT? My point is to tell BAFBFP that he would lose his bet because I will give Marshall a vote.

I dont care two hoots about how Marshall moderates. I dont listen to those shows.

And two I have repeatedly made it clear that I am not interested in discussing the current behavior of Israel., and that rather my interest is in the imminent fulfillment of OT promises that relate to them.

I am not half the jackass that you think I am. I am very clear in my thinking so far. I have not got early Alzs yet thank you.

Marshall’s assistance in 1980 supercedes any wrong he does in moderating call in bovine excretory sessions. And when you guys have exhausted yourselves argiuing with Zoe and Dictionary about History that is well known and current behavior, as is predicted in the OT, the OT promises will still come to pass.
    1 usually confuse issues. You’re giving Marshall a vote based on a business transaction he assisted you with in 1980 at a bank, while we’re discussing Marshall’s performance as a moderator on Brass Tacks. It’s the same way you confuse Israeli behaviour today with the second coming of Christ. But let’s move on.

25. Shut up and Go away Bonny Peppa, to Mount Stinkeroo. Had enough of your garbage.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

You just could not resist in engaging in the standard black man’s ploy- the crab in the barrel syndrome.

27. Hey Bonny,this guy Blimp knows very much about broken down mail prostitutes. Is he is Psychiatrist or is his car number RU-12?

28. Bottom line is dat Bajans just malicious as shite, as we would say, and just want something to talk about. I voted DLP in the last election, and since I live in St. John that means my X went next to Thompy’s name, but I’m not not concerned about exactly what his illness is. I know that he is ill and I sincerely wish him well and hope that he pulls thru, regardless of what the illness is. I do not believe that I have a right to know exactly what is wrong with him, and I’m not so inclined to want to know. I reserve such inclination for close blood relatives. Bajans never cease to amaze me.

29. Atman

But I tekkin’ you out from one side and Georgie tekkin you out from the other… In the words of Plastic Bag… Somet’ing’s Happening..

30. Well then Atman you speak for yourself and yourself alone. I, me, myself… I as a relevant Babadian (I hope) deserves more.. no, sorry, demand more…

31. Hartley’s anonymous letter writer wrote “let us treat our Prime Minister as we would wish to be treated – especially in this time of illness.”

If I was the Prime Minister and I was ill the same way I had asked “my people” for a vote I would take “my people” people into my confidence and tell them what ails me.

The old fashioned businesses of hiding up illnesses is long pass. The Prime Minister should use his illness as an opportunity to educate the rest of us about that and other illnesses and how to avoid them.

Lest we forget Elroy Phillips went on televison and publicly revealed that he had AIDS. Elroy’s courage helped to reduce the AIDS stigma, and was a catylyst for a vigorous public education campaign,.

Many of us were educated about AIDS because of Elroy’s courage. Many of us are alive today because we heeded the public education campaigns.

In the face of a serious or life threatening illness I expect my Prime Minister to be no less of a man than Elroy was.

32. You are an idiot Bosun. I don’t know anything about male prostitutes. Read the thread up earlier, and you will see that is how Bonny Peppa discribed her/himself.
    I am really done with this assinine distraction now; there are many important things to discuss

33. One thing I know of Tony Marshall ,he is probably the only gentleman left in this society where uncouthness and disrespect appears to be the norm. I have actually seen this man stood up while being addressed by others,as they walked on, he sat back down .They addressed him again,and he stood back up.
    Definitely not a product of the ZR Cultural age.

34. Somewhere lost in all of this is the fact the PM has a life threatening affliction.

On this note there will be a prayer session led by Senator Rev Durant tomorrow.

35. @BAFBFP

Why is it that when you quoted me you left off the “of his life” at the end? Are you trying to pull a Tony Marshall on me? Rather childish don’t you think?

36. By the way Blimp…

Nobody, and I mean NOBODY talks like Bonny.

FO

37. David wrote “Where were these journalists when former PM conceived a child while still married?”

Dear David: This is so funny I can’t resist commenting. Dear David I am sure that you know enough of the facts of life to know that conceptions mostly take place in deep, deep privacy, and most sweetly often in complete darkness. Ahhh!!!! The sweetness!!!!!

At least that’s how I did mine.

Do you do your conceptions in public David?

38. Atman

“of his life”

Clear. My sentiment stands. Go play with someone else..

39. Dear David:

You wrote “Also BU agrees with HH that the publishing of the PM’s close up photo was in bad taste ”

Dear David:

When newspapers everywhere publish a close-ups of Usain Bolt winning a gold medals at the Olympic Games is that in bad taste also?

And if not can you explain why not?

40. David, the prayer session for the P.M. is Sunday evening at Garfield Sobers Gymnasium 6-8 p.m………also being broadcast live on Channel 8.

41. Dear David:

You may not understand, and I know for certain that HH does not understand either, but the Nation is not the DLP’s nor David Thompson’s public relations organ.

The Nation must write in such a way as to please its readers (are you surprised at that) and since the readers are still buying the Nation and logging on to the Nation’s website it must mean that the readers’ are mighty pleased.

42. David // July 8, 2010 at 9:46 PM

Hey David, notorious (White) decedent of our unfortunate English (Anglican – meaning Catholic rogue state) heritage, what is there in the program for people like me???

43. Of course the DLP or David Thompson (or is it the taxpayers??) pay Hartley Henry a very good salary to advise on public relations. And yes Hartley has to EARN his wages, but I don’t see how or why he should expect the Nation to help him do his job. After all Hartley does not share his salary with the Nation so why should they help him do his job?

Stupseeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Wunnuh want this thread to get real real hot tonight?
    All I got to do is talk about argricultural activity LOL
    And the herd will explode once more.

45. @Blimp

Thanks for the correction!

@BAFBFP

You could still participate man, show love.

46. J

I like you but I feel an obligation to piss you off in order to bring you into the fold.

“The Nation must write in such a way as to please its readers”

The Nation must write in such a way as to please its ADVERTIRSERS…nincompoop..

Please GET ANGRY

47. David wrote “Somewhere lost in all of this is the fact the PM has a life threatening affliction.”

Aren’t you being a bit presumptous and maybe more than a little gossipy.

The PM has said the doctors are still investigating, and that he MAY (not will) require surgery. NOWHERE, NOWHERE, has the PM or any of his spokespeople said that he has a life threatening afflition NOWHERE.

Dear David: Are you making up things up or is it that you know more that you have told us? Dear David: Are you hiding things from the BU “family”

48. @BAFBFP

No…I enjoy playing with fools like you. People like you assign the right to yourself to know the personal details of man’s life simply because he’s the leader of the country. It is sufficient to know that he is ill, or that his illness is life threatening, you have no further right to any specifics about the man’s illness…what good will it be to you? Stop being nosey!

49. Negroman, Hopi

I wid you but, but

If it is that you think it relevant to bleed in public my God seriously people, there are far better ways to do this.. BU likes you but BU is not one of you… aight..!?

50. Atman

Seriously man, I will go easy on you… No insults no result.

I voted… I voted for people who I believed were prepared to EXPOSE themselves with the belief that the public would accept them as being the right fit to manage the PUBLIC’S FUNDS.

Perhaps there is opportunity now for you to engage