Surprisingly the story sparked by the Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA) decision to suspend Equestrian Natya Soodeem has generated a level of activity which is surprising. The BEA has a membership of about 110 members if we recall correctly from the BEA website before it went offline on Monday. BU must admit we find the current disagreement between the BEA and Natya Soodeem to be intriguing. When the dust settles on this issue we suspect there will be some takeaways for the general population.

So who are the people behind the Barbados Equestrian Association (BEA).  Here is what our research has turned up from multiple sources. The 2010 BEA Executive Committee consists of the following officers who are slated to serve for the next two years.

PRESIDENT:    Nicole Tull is a veterinarian who has been sitting for 2 years. She rides horses as a hobby.  Competed very little in her youth; once or twice as an adult.  Only rejoined the BEA a few years ago, attained the post of Vice-president last year.

VICE-PRESIDENT:    Mona Walker – she claims to have ridden horses in her childhood years; young daughter actively competes at riding school level at Big C Stables for Barbados. She held the public relations post last year, which explains why her daughter was featured constantly, some suggest a favourite.

TREASURER:     Monique Archer *(Bjerkham)* – competed in show jumping as a young teenager; rode at Trevena.  Father is one of the BEA’s past Presidents.  Stopped being a member and stopped show jumping for *many* years and rode polo.  Rejoined the BEA about 3 years ago.  Bought a horse, came 2nd in a FEI jumping show in 2008 although incurring a high number of faults, something like 32, Imported an expensive jumping horse believed to be from Sweden.

SECRETARY: Naomi Roachford – rode and taught mainly dressage , she has had many serious fall-outs within the association for many years and served on the BEA committee intermittently throughout the years.  Was quiet after the fiasco within the association at the AGM in 2005 for 2 years when she had the elections null and void Resurfaced as Monique’s show jumping coach; recently got her Level 1 FEI Coach Certificate. It is believed she is the one who runs the BEA.

Other committee members are and sit for 1 year (but can run again):

SHOW JUMPING CHAIRPERSON: Diana Clarke – owner and coach of Big C Stables; the most experienced on this present committee; also the President of the Caribbean Equestrian Association (CEA) which organizes competitions annually between the islands for riding school level children under 17.

DRESSAGE CHAIRPERSON: Tove McIntyre (nee Roachford, Naomi’s sister) – a past serious dressage competitor, competed on the Barbados Dressage Team at the Pan Am Games in Dominican Republic.  Has not competed in several years.

RIDERS REP: Ian Proverbs – does not ride; attempted to have his first riding lessons last year and did not continue.  Both daughters ride and do some riding school level competitions.

PUBLIC RELATIONS: Ricardo Skeete – rode for many years with the Roachford family (Caribbean Riding Centre aka CIRC).  A nice guy, but easily led, has not competed in years.  Never made it past the lowest level of dressage.  Works with horticulture.  Had dreams of becoming an Olympian; gets very agitated that ‘rich’ people only get to make it to the games.  Don’t mind he doesn’t ride anymore, he was still going to the Olympics.

Adriana King: early 20’s; student of Big C stables; competed in both dressage and show jumping at riding school level & CEA until out of the age bracket.  1st time on committee.

SHOW CO-ORDINATORS: Angelique Bjerkhamn (Monique’s sister); like her sister, competed as a teenager and stopped being a member and rode polo.  Rejoined the BEA at the 2008 AGM.

Mike West – English gentleman whose wife and children ride and compete.  They were based here for the wife’s work.  Apparently moving back to England this summer.  We heard that he resigned since January from the committee but the members have not been notified!

BU looks forward to a positive outcome to the discussions!

119 responses to “Looking Behind The Barbados Equestrian Association”

1. lickin my mout Avatar
    lickin my mout

da picture like it is de only one de BEA got, it been n de website now since it was up and running…don believe dem two girls is de only riders bout hey

2. lickin my mout Avatar
    lickin my mout

wayt i furget…the lil yout pun de left is de daughta of de den public relations person mis walker

3. lickin my mout
    A lil nippy black dress n a pair a dem boots would pull loud in de Gap Ol Years Nite. wah u tink? Equestrian or not.

4. Joshua bin Yusuf, man not again…! Enough, enough, BFP run me, wunna lookin’ to run me too?

5. BAFBFP, is there no serious news that David can find to highlight.
    How about Wayne Capaldi’s castigation of public sector today.
    That has more merit that a bunch of whining horse owners. Who like politiciant
    Will party together when thay are ready. Let’s get to real important issues.
    Enought of this crap already.

6. @ Bonny Peppa

You should be ashamed of yourself, speaking of someone’s child that like.

I love how this has been put up, attacking family status, wealth, age and many other insignificant things.
    In comparison to the Exec committee’s of years ago… with the very same, family status, wealth, age and many other insignificant things, that have all of a sudden become ‘ significant’ because people are not getting what they want.

Maybe I should make a list..

Congrats Ladies…

7. David come on man let’s do this…Wayne Capaldi a man that I actually like could not attract your attention…? Hey hey is a detractor, but Christ he is right for once.

8. @BAFBFP & Anonymous

This topic has brought Barbadians to BU who probably would not have visited.

The Soodeem matter is one which could have happened to any sports association in Barbados. The importance of sport and how we manage it is something which we have not grasped. How many sports association in Barbados are run unprofessionally?

9. You must also be aware that in the last 4 days BU has posted about 10 blogs which deal with a range of issues.

10. David cry guilty of trying to steal BFP’s participants and I will be sober about htis… isht… tsih

11. BAFBFP and Gearbox are one and the same … GP you cool?

12. @BAFBFP

… Lol

Heard you on the callin today.

Keep it going man.

13. David I actually hate you… wrong man White boy… LOL

14. Sorry David, try to identify me and I am gone… ypur chpice… hic..

15. BU wrote “Mike West – English gentleman”

How you know he is a gentleman instead of just a plain man.?

The BEA seems incestous to me.

16. @ BAFBFP “I am gone” Brilliant!

You are nothing but a trouble maker who spends most of your time being banned from one place or another.

17. some of the above comments have forgotten what this is all about….
    SUSPENSION WITH NO REASON …nearly two weeks and still no word on what it is for..discrepancies?? gosh people have those everyday but they still get to go about their normal practices, earning their living, and most importantly, holding their heads up……It would appear to us that the BES dont care….how shameful

18. U forget Sandra Sampson fired secretary of BEA.
    Runs ridin school (with difficult horses)

19. lickin my mout Avatar
    lickin my mout

she did get fired? or remove…..ef I wus she doa…i wud be real glad now, cuz luk at de crap dey dun recently…
    how many others get remove or resign wen dis group did get in? at lees four. doan furget de englishmun did resign already but dem did mek back up but he gon fer gud now…cyan say i blame he.

20. Will somebody please ban me again… I need activity in my life… this discussion jus’ ain’t cuttin’ it

21. The englishman dine back to englan u en here

22. @BAFBFP

Sometimes it is not only the discussion but the blog itself which serves a purpose. If only the BU family would trust the BU household sometimes. What this issue has tossed up is that issues are not peculiar to socio-economic backgrounds.

23. OMG, what is this coming to, belittling members of the BEA and the Executive.. for what fun!. This behaviour is deplorable and you all should really think before spewing this hate. Shameful!

As a member of the BEA I know all of these people on the executive… and Sandra Sampson, and I find the comments in general to be insulting to all and unnecessary. But I guess we are a pull down society so if we don’t get our way our next action is to “Bring Down” the opponent.

David, the “facts” on the exec you have in the head are not all correct, I suggest you try getting information from more than one source.

I can’t comment on Sampson’s firing, but I do know that her stable has been responsible for developmet of riding skills in junior riders for many years. In fact many who have gone on to compete at school level started with her.

I am getting sick of the childish behaviour being exposed in this blog on these topics.
    you know the funny thing is when you see all of these “horse people” together there is not the hate displayed that I have seen over the last few days.

Because you have a disagreement does not mean that you have to be so mean, the only reason these comments are so harsh of course is because of the fact that few are identified personally as authors in the blog. I question if this is a good thing even as I write as XYZ.

24. @XYZ

Agree with your concerns.

Would be pleased to report on the weekend that there is settlement.

Feel free to put the other view.

25. anonymous@11:03
    you is a idiot or wah, you is a idiot or wah? I feel you is both. Where/when did I make sport at somebody’s child? Ya idjit. That lil nippy black dress is for me, ya khunt.
    Did you do Comprehension at school? You use ta get bare ‘nots’. stupseeeeeeee.

BAFBFP
    tallk ya talk do, doan mind de idjit ‘anonymous @2:51. BU nor nun a de udda blogs doan ‘peel you onions nor you pot doan bubble at nun a dem’. Ban or unban you gun still live. Leh de klown ‘anonymous @ 2:51 kno dah.

26. It is class and I will add clicques that is at cause here. Similar thing occurred back in the 80’s with the Miss Barbados show during the reign of Jazehray H, the Trinidadian born cloth desinger/franchise holder for the show.

27. All need to take a time-out , this situation is now just sad.
    reflect on what you have said, it is painful to see this level of hate in discussions.

David, you have given the opportunity for fruitful discussion, but it has been hijacked by hate, and hate from both sides of the fence, when we see adults behaving in this way what do we tell our children, how can we repremand them when they misbehave.
    Shame !

28. Disappointed! Avatar

@ XYZ

I agree that this has taken a disastrous turn for the worse! The use of the language by “Bonny Peppa”, regardless of the spelling is abominable to say the least!

I also agree with your comment that when you see these “horse people” together at shows, etc, they do not show the level of animosity we have seen on these blogs, however I do believe that some of them are brilliant actors and actresses and do the typical bajan thing “smile in your face and talk about you behind your back”!

It’s alot easier to castigate someone when you are hiding behind a mask and can’t directly deal with the ramifications of your words!

29. Who cares about these tossers? What does this story bring to the BU.

30. Bonny Peppa // June 16, 2010 at 9:15 PM. Bonny, you done have to go to nuh Gap. Parking lot? Same time. Convertible bicycle? Dusting of nutmeg this time? Don’t pay any mind to anonymous. You can always tell the people who don’t get none – and those unpatriotic Bajans who don’t want none.

J // June 17, 2010 at 12:34 AM. Listen, you got to stop making me agree with you. You are right, of course.

Anonymous // June 17, 2010 at 2:51 AM. You need some meds. Leave the man lone. He got a right to an opinion.

XYZ // June 17, 2010 at 7:23 AM. My dear, you have made the point repeatedly that you are close to or indeed are, a member of the BEA committee or someone who is in a position where you feel you have to kiss their individual fundaments. You have made the point REPEATEDLY!!! What I want to know is why you did not engage Mr. Iain Deane, one of our former international show jumpers, under your real name. What’s the matter? You prissily say that he is “irresponsible” and seek to lecture him, like if you are his mother or a maiden aunt who thinks she has the right to scold. Now, you are scolding all of us in the same way and you sound exactly like a frustrated spinster.

I have read the comments here are want to make a few points.

The issue of whether Natya is Bajan-born or not is completely irrelevant. She honours and brings great credit to Barbados by competing as a Bajan. If, in his heyday, Viv Richards had declared his allegiance to Barbados, you think we would have questioned him?

The qualifications of the people who run the BEA to run the organization, are not in question – these are administrative posts, probably unpaid. What IS in question is their bona fides – that is very much in question and under extreme suspicion. And that is what they must address.

Is the BEA relevant to sport in Barbados and does it advance the international stature of the sport? The answer is simple – if it improves the standard and encourages the development of the sport and the stature of sport generally, then it is. If it seeks to reduce the sport to the level of competence (or incompetence) of the children of executive members and their friends, then it is not. I believe that is one of the points that Mr. Deane was making. In addition, Natya’s representation of Barbados and success internationally brings relevance to equestrianism in Barbados as a sport and not just as the equestrian equivalent of a game of bat and ball on the road, which needs no association nor does it have the cachet that allows members of the BEA to think they are hot stuff when they go abroad and try to hook up socially with more enlightened and advanced equestrian organizations.

I used occasionally to attend shows when people like Mr. Deane were competing. There was spectacle, danger and excitement and also some very famous international faces attending. Recently, I have attended shows under the BEA and the only excitement I have got has been propping up the bar and getting drunk. Watching a seemingly endless procession of children jumping (or mostly failing to jump) courses is extremely dull. Sport is supposed to be exciting.

31. Someone mentioned my old friend, Sammy Chandler. Sammy is Jeff’s older brother and used to run the Brighton Riding School. Jeff used to borrow horses so he could compete from Sammy – horses that were usually tired from working and from being ridden (by Jeff and Sammy) to wherever the show was being held. While the rest of us arrived by car and our horses in horse boxes with grooms ready to look after them, Jeff and Sammy did all this themselves – and yet Jeff was always in the money. So, you see, it is not money that counts, but talent……and I confess to being relieved that Jeff did not have a horse dedicated solely for show jumping. If he had, I suspect the rest of us might not have stood much of a chance.

32. Amused you seem to have some difficulty reading and understanding.. go back and review my several comments re Deane’s comments on which we prefer to differ.

I am a member of the BEA and do know all of the people mentioned it seems you don’t and I think it a shame that people like you would come to shows to get drunk at the bar rather than assist in the growth of the sport.

33. XYZ // June 17, 2010 at 10:05 AM. I think you missed MY point. What growth? There has been no “growth” to assist with. Only regression. I am for progress, not the stifling of it. I won’t speak for Iain, but I suspect that is his main beef too.

34. Yes Amused but if we get people with ideas coming to prop up the bar that doesnt help the growth. I you have ideas 1. join 2. run for office and 3 see if you can do better or
    4 ride off into the sunset……….

35. @XYZ

Can you address the point raised by a commenter which questions the bona fides of some members of the committee? Remember this is not an attack on the characters of BEA committee members. Until now we were unaware of the workings of the sport.

36. @ lickin my mout // June 16, 2010 at 8:37 PM

wayt i furget…the lil yout pun de left is de daughta of de den public relations person mis walker

wuh dis Mis walker must ha hartley henry fuh family, ‘cos she sheself was all ova my newspapers and pon my tv wid the Chelsea flower show gole medal ting las week…I tink the ole press like winners… wuh yuh say?

37. XYZ // June 17, 2010 at 10:42 AM . Let us examine what you have said.

Yes Amused but if we get people with ideas coming to prop up the bar that doesnt help the growth. NO, BUT IT HELPS TO TOLERATE THE BOREDOM OF THE SHOW. I you have ideas 1. join HOW DO YOU KNOW THAT I HAVE NOT JOINED – ONLY ONE WHO HAS JOINED WOULD WANT TO ATTEND 2. run for office SO MY IDEAS CAN BE OVER-RULED BY THOSE WITH A SPECIFIC AGENDA TO MAINTAIN THE MEDIOCRITY? and 3 see if you can do better I WOULDN’T BE GIVEN THE CHANCE or
    4 ride off into the sunset……….WHAT A GOOD IDEA.

38. David

I have been a member of the BEA for several years, and I think the committees over the years have been very well intentioned, since I joined we have seen the presidency of Allison Elliot, her husband James and now Nicole Tull, all people of sound ethics and principles, independant strong characters. While Amused and Deane may not agree we have many talented riders, who compete not only in school level competitions but outside of the island, Guatamala, Ecuador, Venezuela, Martinique and soon in the Youth Olympic Games, all as a result of the efforts of the committees and schools and parents to improve the skills of our riders.
    It is obvious Amused has not been to many shows if he was “bored” maybe he/she needs to play chess instead.

The shows held by the BEA and individual schools have shown the talent we have just last weekend there was an independant sow at Yorkshire show ground which was of high quality next week id the FEI World Jumping Challenge should be another good event… no we are not jumping 1.40m like may have happened in the past with Deane. But we follow rules set down by the FEI, and have competed in both their World Dressage Challenge and World Jumping Challenge.
    We also do well in the Caribbean Equestrian Association events.

If we went by Deane and Amuse we would all stop put the horses to sleep and go about our business… but that is not on, too many people are commited to the sport, for the love of the sport and the animals… believe it or not the animals become part of the family, when they hurt we hurt, Those people commitedare made up of some of the people commenting on both sides of the fence in this debate. Administering an organisation composed of competitive members will never be easy, there will always be disagreement.. we still have to hear the BEA on why Soodeen was disciplined, knowing the members of the executive I am sure there is good cause… was it a swift action as people are suggesting I dont know, I will wait for word from the BEA.

I believe the committee cares, but you know there must always be order and unfortunately some members do not like to be told they are wrong, or have acted inappropriately.

If Amused is a member I would challenge her/him to become involved instead of being drunk at the bar as he/she has admitted doing.. what example is that setting for our children.

39. @XYZ

Thanks for your last comment. It should be of concern the level of distrust which may exist in your association sparked by this suspension. Are we reading you correctly the BEA will be making a statement?

40. I hope so and hopefully soon

41. Bonny ,with your nippy black dress and black riding boots, I’ll take you on my back to the Gap. Don’t forget the riding crop.,but mek sure it ain’t no bull pissal…….I got ma own,thank you.

42. @Bosun

That was top drawer…lol.

43. Disappointed
    Wait, where you now cum frum? And why you cuming ta tell me how ta xpress myself or bout my gramma n spellin. Why you challenging me ta a duel nah? man keep quiet. If you is a ‘born-again’ jus by-pass my name ok? Sorry fa any inconvenience cawsed. Now carry on smartly an no need ta be disappointed. aaighttttttt.

xyz
    Persons attend shows for different reasons so if my honey-suckle Amused feel like going to prop up de bar,dat is his rite. I love ta go ta Dog-Shows. I know absolutely nothing ’bout dogs a’tall. I just luv lookin at dogs of diff’rent size n breed. rufff,ruffffff.

Amused
    You sure kno how ta put a lil ‘wiggle in my jiggle’. No one does it like you.
    tonite, carlyle car park. you got any ‘snuff’? bring long lil fa ma.de head blok-up.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

44. Bosun
    ya got ma cryinnnnnnnn. but i’m game. but wait, befo I get on n start ridin you, you bull pissal black or brown?

45. Amused I would agree with you but from my checking the bars have not been doing too well perhaps, he has a flask in the back pocket and only begging for water and ice.

46. sorry last post to bonny peppa

47. why are we making this an issues its their darn business which cliques they form and who they allow to represent barbados. its not like our views will change the situation so lets not waste time debating the big shots and their horses lets discuss what affecting us( the poor black man)

48. @ Bonny, I got snuff, but um brown in colour. Apparently I got a hip flask though. Mount Gay or Hennessy? Or you want something white like gin or vodka….or rum? I got some plant though. Carefully cultivated in St George at one of the riding schools. LOVELY flowers with a magnificent bouquet when heated. Creates a feeling of total well-being. Might even make XYZ come out of she pulpit and sin!!!! And spend she time at the bar at dem blasted horse shows and live a little. Or maybe she would appreciate some fine dogs to. Poor soul needs to get out more. Bonny, you gon wear them riding clothes? If you do, remember the whip….and the spurs.

49. xyz
    My man Amused walks with his ice n water too so he only using de bar as a ‘prop’.

bajangal
    but ya know dat when dem represent B/dos in de outside world dat dem represent all a we? even de poor black man hence de interest to discuss it. I did plannin ta get my two lil gran girls into dis horsing bout ting too but one frighten as shite fa a horse n de otha whun frighten fa a fence. so I enroll dem in ballet wid Woodvine pun a Satda mornin. ya should come n see dem tippy-toein n spinnin like a top, girl. i tell ya.

Amused
    wait, ya inta aromatherapy now? Uh-uh, I doan want na gin nor nutton so. da got a white, creamy whun dat i luv. De name slip me now, but it white, creamy and I hear dat it good fa sore throat. Oh, I rememba de name now; um is am, am, Bailey’s. (now tek ya mind out de gutta)

50. @Bonny. Baileys it is. BUT DON’T FORGET THE SPURS!!!!!