Submitted by Austin

The DLP seem content to waste a golden opportunity given in the last election by the Bajan people to build a better Barbados. The BLP likewise are content to be muscled by their opposition leader in whatever direction she wants to take them.

While both parties seek new levels of ineffectiveness and obstructionism respectively, the Bajan masses stand clueless like sheep in a dry pasture. My apology to sheep cause even sheep will run in the same direction at the sight of danger but not we Bajans.

The political puppet masters are free to take us wherever that want. One would think that with such a high literacy rate our masses would be more vocal and expressive, but no, it’s every man or woman for themselves.

I’ve asked this question before on this blog what will it take for Bajans to rise up and demand more of our leaders. How much of Barbados must we sell off to foreign interest… How high does house prices have to reach… How much eco-racist must be endured…. How high does unemployment have to reach.

I love BIM but I am concerned more then ever about our future.

30 responses to “Bajan Blues”

1. More emotional drivel. If you do not attempt to understand the systems within which these things that offend you are taking place, then what is the point of harping on and on about them? What is the point of rising up in anger without an informed cause?

2. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I am so tired of these crap articles that austin and terrence blackette keep fillingup this blogsite with.

YOu can tolerate one or two but every minute man,stupes.

3. I am tired of them too… I guess understanding the system means swallowing a pill folks like me are not yet prepared to do… Knowing the gem that Barbados is and can be.

Nothing wrong with attempting to live up to our full potential as part of a global social and economic realignment in progress.

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

DLP column: A bull in a china shop

The recent selection of the candidate for Christ Church East reflects the fact that Mia has gotten her man.

It was clear from day one that the Opposition Leader preferred the chosen one.
    The fact that the individual’s profile was the last one to be featured in another section of the press, a mere 48 hours before the nomination process, along with the opportunity he was given to co-host an event on radio is true testimony of the reach of the Opposition.

We all have acknowledged the public race that is on between Mia and Owen to secure candidates of their choice.

In this instance, the rejection of Lovell was quite apparent despite his loyalty and experience in the Christ Church parish. The young lady hailing from the constituency would never have filled the eyes of a Mottley. The choice for Mottley from the start was clear.

There can be no doubt that the blood sport currently taking place within the corridors of the Barbados Labour Party is all about the future leadership. The nomination meetings have turned out to be yet another symbol of the profile of the Opposition. A profile which says that we have a right to govern. The political machine called the Barbados Labour Party does not even know how to shift gear. They continue to behave as if there is no worldwide recession, by giving the public the impression that the bottom has fallen out the economy and things have turned sour because of the current Government’s policies.

The constant harping on the tourism sector and our international ratings is evidence that as an Opposition the only constituency they cater to is the one in Roebuck Street. They have not demonstrated any compassion towards the
    public and their challenges in these times.

The approach to the CLICO affair is a classic example of a bull in China shop. The crass political pretence of the Opposition by inciting fear into policyholders while pretending to care about the workers is the characterisation of their true intentions. This Opposition will go down in history as one that contributed to the recession instead of finding solutions to it. Anybody searching archival material in the future will not find credible evidence to suggest that the Mia Mottley-led Opposition was keen on finding solutions for the Barbadian society in 2010.

The Opposition Leader has set her eyes on regaining the seat of power and living a dream of one day becoming Prime Minister. This is a dream that she may never wake up from. The disturbing reality of the passion with which Mia has pursued this objective has lead to a cut-throat political climate emerging where she has now become the face of a party hungry for power. She has single-handedly captured the essence of her dream as a trait of an entire political organisation.

In this quest, she is seeking out young professionals and wooing them to her political den. In this vein, she has been alienating the movers and shakers of the Arthur era one by one.

However, the Mia /Arthur rumble is far from over. Mia has not come to understand that the power base of the party lies in the views and support of the rank and file. On the other hand, Arthur, who is well schooled in rank and file politics, has kept his distance from any more public rancour while the Queen B does her song and dance…

Once again a nomination has taken place and no sign of the former Prime Minister! Yet, they tell you that all is well??

5. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Tourists arrivals on the rebound

INFORMATION coming from the Caribbean Tourism Organisation (CTO) earlier this year, suggested that tourists arrivals in the Caribbean are on the rebound.

In its Caribbean Tourism Performance Review for 2009, which presented this year, the CTO indicated that although aggregate tourist arrivals to the wider Caribbean (i.e. all 33 CTO member countries) declined by 3.6 per cent in 2009, quarterly data showed successive improvements during the year. The CTO noted at the time that a “further redeeming feature is that tourism activity is still significantly high, recording 22.1 million down from 22.9 in 2008”.

Information reaching the Barbados Advocate from the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA) comparing visitor arrivals by major markets and cruise ship passengers and calls for the period 2008-2009, also suggests that things may be looking up.

For the period January to May 14th of this year, data reveals the highest percentage of visitors have been coming out of the United Kingdom, followed by the United States and Canada and this pattern is as consistent in 2010 as it was in 2009.
    However, while the total number of visitors from the United States has seen a percentage increase of 27 in 2010 over that of 2009 and likewise a percentage increase of 13.2 for visitors out of Canada for 2010 over 2009, there has been a drop in UK visitor arrivals from 80 853 in 2009 to 68 985 in 2010, registering a percentage change of -14.7.

A comparison between 2009 and 2010 shows that arrivals have been relatively steady out of Germany and other parts of Europe for the January to May period, while in the Caribbean there has been a slight increase in visitors coming out of Trinidad and Tobago, from 8 694 in 2009 to 9 054 in 2010. Yet, there has been a slight drop in arrivals from other CARICOM countries, with 21 502 visitors arriving in 2009, compared with only 19 921 for the corresponding period in 2010.

As it relates to cruise ship passengers and cruise calls in 2010, there has been a slight increase in the total number of cruise ship passengers for January to April 2010, a rise of 3.6 per cent over the corresponding period for 2009. As it relates to cruise calls however, there has been a drop from 260 to 212.

6. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Two quick notes above, still get to view BU every so often, even with travel and work load, keep the good work up.

7. What is more important to Barbados and our future than having accountability after increased taxation within our Government?

Where should one focus when we run ongoing deficits of 5-10%?

Due to ill health the Prime Minister has not been able to address either one and we are now way overdue for the budget. I’m sorry Mr RH Pm- not to cross you and wishing you well….

Would one be impolite or out of line to ask the RH PM to meet with his deputy and cause him to present our budget that he would dictate/order to be sent down?

All Bajans are worried that our elected leader is mortally ill, but even in this case he himself must realise that the masses and country’s interest is critically at stake; and he must act in our best interest to protect our island’s future.

It could take a super-human effort from him to personally present a balanced budget.

Especially if I knew I myself was going to pass away (and if i was the pm or boss), for Barbados I would write the speech for Freundel, bring the legislation, and balance to the budget, make an honest country out of us; and follow Sandi’s and Barrow’s footsteps, stamping a true respectable legacy for myself and in the process rescuing us from the disaster that Austin, and many of us, foresee coming.

I would raise the VAT 2% – 2 1/2% there is no alternative; and I would cutback on public spending like Germany has taken the lead in doing.

Implement green initiatives and tax incentives, and innovation incentives, and all the rest we talk about now or sooner.

Only solution to what we/he inherited.

I would bring the VAT increase and the accountability together to bring closure to the corruption issues and restructure public service with a brand new department to monitor these things. It would generate significant value added to our local government expenditure via direct employment.

Anyone else have further suggestions?

Most importantly, I would like to wish David Thompson sincere wishes for recovery and do hope that this is not a strain to him- perhaps it may even be part of what is precipitating the problem. Anyway, I wish the Boss man all the best.

8. Is this Austin, Hal Austin from London? Stupse!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

9. @DS

Thanks David for putting some solutions on the “table”, That’s exactly what we need more of in Barbados coming from the public to our elected leaders…

Step one in solving any problem is to “1st – Recognize the Problem” … Many bajans are not ready for step one and would prefer to keep their heads buried in the the sand until the tourism industry returns to full strenght.

10. Donald Duck Esq, Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq,

There is an environmental levy coming on locally manufactured goods which is going to make people snort!!!! You will be affected in your business. Commencement date is July 1 and the private sector have not got a clue who is to charge and on what it is to be charged.

11. Donald Duck Esq, Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq,

WIV

Why is your government so tardy in telling us details about how the environmental levy is to be charged. Do you realise that in its present state it will precipitate a greater decrease in output from the manufacturing sector.

12. @mash up $buy back

You exemplify what the writer is trying tosay i.e Bajans tire easily. THat is why after they vote they fall asleep leaving everything for those in charge to do as they bloody please. The only time Bajans organize in masses is at Crop Over events. Don’t bother them with nothing else.

13. @Austin

Keep trying. Hopefully one day Bajans will wake up and be more pro active or get a little Latin in them and start protesting (peacefully though) about things they do not agree with that really matters to them. The way things are going they may not be too far off.

You can only push a person back so far, once they meet the wall they will either crumble and give up or start fighting back.

14. Bajans need to be more proactive at looking after themselves.

I just start writing a calypso bout Bajans.

De guvament dis de guvament dat

duh wan a job from de guvament
    duh wan a house from de guvament
    duh wan a car from de guvament
    an free gasoline from de guvament.

will complete this calypso for Crop over 2011……if uh cuh get lill help from Gabby some funding from de Guvament.

15. @Hants

One cannot deny that commercial activity is public sector led.

One cannot deny that there is a government bureaucracy which has been the impediment for entrepreneurial enterprise over time in Barbados.

There is also the educational system in Barbados which support the class system which exist, To be an entrepreneur for example does not fit well in the class structure of Barbados.

16. @David,

Doan care wuh you sih, I still gine try an finish muh calypso fuh 2011 doh cause I is a de facto an enfacto bonafide jenueyene enterprenoor.

Uh may still beg de guvment fuh a lill pick doh since I gine soon be a returner Bajan like Tom Clarke aldoh wen I come back I en leffin cause I en nuh mahguffie up in Canader like Tom.

One dese days I gine try an write a book an I gine beacherize he writing style. You wud onstan ef yuh know de french word fuh beach and yuh brite an shining like Georgie Porgie.

17. Hants
    Ef u lookin fa a singeress fa dah kaisa, I available but ya got ta put in a line or two a lil smut (double entendre, hear?) An Bonny gone mad in de tent nex ‘ear.

18. @Hants
    I’ll be yuh road manager. I tink yuh got sumting guing on they man and wid bonny as de side kick money galore,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,me set it up fuh yuh two.

The entreprenurial spirit disappeared wheny bajans went overseas to work for “Quick money” Does any body remember the mom and pop store , Today they are call Supermarket, Unfortunately the government back then didn’t have the foresight to see that Bajans giving proper funding were capable of establishing a business

19. Dear Austin:

If you love Barbados so much, how come you still living in the “great white north”

Ya mek’in’ me laugh man.

20. ac
    No, I doan rememba na mom n pop stores. I rememba de ‘sacred, rescue-in-d-time-a-storm’, village shop dat use ta sell from wine ta iodine n piss ta poison. De supermarket replace many a de village ‘rescue-in-d-time-a-storms’.

21. @ac ,Many of these Mum and Pops stores as you call them,went out of business, not because of a lack of foresight of the government of the day. As Bonny aptly refer to these shops as ” resue-in -de -time-of -a-storm”. Storm had nothing to do with the weather pattern,but rather an empty pocket.When we got paid , in those days on either a Friday or Sardah we ketch bus with pockets full of money and went into the city and bought our goods. Come Tuesday /Wednesday when we are skint, we find ourselves trusting little bits and pieces from the village shop keeper.
    There used to be two shops at Eastmond Corner (thats the traffic light junction with Bank Hall/Bridge Road/Station Hill. Bajan shopkeepers went through renting those shops like the proverbial dose of salts. A few months and they had to give up due to lack of patronage. An Indian man took over the east side shop, and had to install wrought iron burglar bars and mesh wire, from getting robbed, as he was making so much money. And guess who made up 100% of his customers.
    And to this day this sort of thing still goes on. Big money for Bridgetown, the left over copper change for the village shop and the Anglican Church.

22. Bosun
    you mean de shop dat was Worrell’s Meat Depot? Wah ’bout Sawh shop in Eagle Hall? Dah shop did day from de late 60’s or early 70’s and still operating along wid one or two mo bout de place. Most a de village shops dead a natural death and Sawh’s shops still reinging supreme. Wonda wah is dem ‘secret’. Mapp at the corner by de stop lights (traffic lights now) at Eagle Hall still weathering de storm too. Changed hands probably but still holding on. Worrell’s Meat shop obliquely opposite the same Mapp shop and still holding on too. I rememba as a girl going to Worrell’s meat shop in Fairfield cross road pun a sundee mornin fa pork ta cook de same day.we in had na frige, like most people in dem times.

23. I like Bonny Peppa

24. @ 10:41
    who is dis dat like me? you like bare trouble, hear? me likes you too, name or na-name.

25. My point being that a good government looks out for its people. Now can you imagine if the reps for some of those villages had see to it that these small village stores were giving financial aid to expand their business we wouldn’t be asking outsiders to come in and set up shops. Most of them would be bajan owned. Now we have the outsiders take over and setting up shop .A government must have the foresight in order to govern its people .

26. The Government in those days only gave financial RBC (Rum Biscuits & Cornbeef) aid to certain shops during an election campaign.
    But without patronage of the people in the community,aid or no aid, the Sow would have eventually ended up under the counter. One of the things that also caused the demise of many of these village shops, is that the sons of the shopkeepers only interests in the business,was relieving the cash box of money.When a father like C.C. King , for example,died, there was no one to carry on the business. The business came to a grinding halt, and the benefactors of the will, fell prey to the quick cash offers of the Sawh’s and Collawallahs . I always thought that it would have been better off grooming the daughters to carrying on the businesses rather than the sons.But it was always the sons who were given preference,and as they say, Easy Come ,Easy Go.

27. Bosun
    While you refer to CCKing as an example,even today in these modern times when women are just as or in some cases more qualified than the men in the family, the business men in the family prefer to pass the ‘baton’ on to the sons. Guess it’s a male domineering thing. Wonder what they’re scared of? Common sense, which is an integral part of running any business successfully, has no gender.

28. Austin, you really have cause for concern. This situation is in paralysis as the gov’t is failing to act. The way out is not more taxation. The way out is not wholesale cutting of gov’t spending.

INSTEAD CUT GOV’T SPENDING IN SPECIFIC AREAS- not in supports to businesses, they have to generate the money that you will get in taxes. Cut the gov’t feting. Not in education – you need your graduates to earn and start businesses to get more taxes and build a platform for future economic growth. You cannot minimise a difficulty now by causing a bigger ditch for tomorow.

DO NOT INCREASE TAXES – This will slow down spending more, which means you end up with same revenue or less. Slowed down spending will shut down more small businesses – less VAT and tax for gov’t. This widens the ditch tomorrow.

DON’T INCREASE TAXES – drives up cost of living for all, it increases pressure on social services which requires more money from gov’t. Can’t build the society that way, you will destroy it with a pathway to poverty. Higher cost of living will require more school breakfast programmes as children will go school hungry; more women and men will prostitute themselves; crime will increase; mothers have to look the other way as stepfathers interfere with their children; children will prostitue themselves – worse ratings from int’l agencies about human trafficking and child abuse.

SPREAD GOV’T SPENDING : like seasoning in pork, if you give 80% of your building projects to JADA and Preconco as has been the case these two years small contractors will close and suck salt. This reduces spending in the economy which creates less revenue and increases unemployment, and the social problems intensify. find ways to give more business to small business. Quit the talk, and wlak the walk

I wish my contractor friends would blog so barbados could get their full story, and the horrors experienced at the hands of Michael lashley. For every one house a small contractor gets – Jada gets 20. But some said that the little work they are getting is putting on only the roofs of houses because of the preslab work given to Preconco. Lashley you are creating a’ big business gets all syndrome’ reversing the move towards empowering small people to share in the pie. Idiots.

START AS MANY CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS AS YOU CAN: – what is the problem now with Four Seasons, – 700 jobs there. St. Lucy will take time, good project.

PROMOTE FINANCIAL SERVICES – people want good regulated places to put their money, what about our offshore sector.

PUT MORE MONEY PROMOTING IN C’DA, AND AMERICAN MARKETS – Put joint C’bbean promotions in those markets and save money. It will make more money by the winter season. It will bring more money now gulf oil spill is diverting tourists to other destinations.

DO NOT LISTEN TO THE IDIOTS TALKING ABOUT INCREASE VAT. You will put everything into a tailspin. Where is the budget? What progress on the medium term plan? Did you get the money from world bank and iadb or cdb? What is happening?

29. With a serious sense of humour, Bonny cracks me up everytime.

Love Bonny to the max

30. @12:27
    only last night I was introduced to a youngster who’s here holidaying from jolly ol England; I know his papa but not him, and just so in about 5mins. into our conversation, I had him cracking up. At times he couldn’t understand de slang but when I gave it to him a lil slower, he was cryinnnnnnnn. Already he’s making plans to come next year and wants to stay by me. Not a problem with me a’tall. I love to laff and love to make people laff. My friends always tell me dat I’m crazee but all dem luv me like crazee.
    But wah ya name doe? Mek up one ef ya in got nun.