Submitted by Austin

It is a well known fact that in most nations in the Caribbean, “who you know” is a “key” factor to finding best fit employment, more so then other parts of the world.  However it is still amazing how difficult it can in Barbados, to simply obtain information about open positions, noting advances in online Human Resources capabilities across the globe…. So difficult that many firms in Barbados recruit from their home offices abroad to fill positions that local Bajans can do.

Unless I am totally missing something there appears to be no credible or premier resource in the region, which focuses on servicing the job placement needs of businesses in the region. I am aware of a website called caribbeanjobs.com, however beyond the great site look and feel it severely lacks a key ingredient “job listings”, which I suspect is a challenge for them as well.   This reality leads me to wonder how businesses in the region recruit to obtain the best talent, without access to a rich pool of local talented candidates.

They are many local and abroad Bajans with a wealth of experience and education, who can significantly strengthen the national work force on many levels, unfortunately they simply have no vehicle to obtain employment information.

Our cultural practice of keeping jobs in the “how you know” zone is having an adverse impact in our ability to attract industries to Barbados, as we prepare to exit the global recession. People, processes and technology are key components of any successful  business or organization with “people” being the most important component.

Ok BU … I know we are in a recession… But this challenge had existed for years… What is the secret?

80 responses to “The Secret To Finding A Job In Barbados, Is Exactly That – "a secret”

1. @Bonny Peppa

I like hot fudge! but yuh men same as i cream like to melt de wuman heart. doesn’t dat make yuh crazy. De bush man promise me a bush bathe tea. he nevva sayhot or cold.Yuh know some men like de beating ting too Whips and chains and sum dem pay lots of money for it .

2. @ bonny Peppa

Yuh all handling dominoes real rough. All he ask was for advice and yuh all kicking him in de arss.

3. This is one time I am on dominoes side,a person should seek a job in what he is qualify in, you all want to tell me a person go and study medicine and then come and do gardening,i dont believe any of you all whent to university so you would not understand what it is after studying x amount of years.

4. @Dominoes

The job market can be brutal. Unfortunately there are plenty of university graduates facing the same dilemna as you. So don’t think that you are alone. But for the meantime I suggest that you think about getting another job in another field of work while you pursue your endeavour.

5. ac
    I ain’t handling Dominoes rough a’tall.I told him the say thing as you, that regardless to your qualifcations,you should enter the world of work even if it means that you’re over-qualified. Don’t sit back and lament over the fact that you studied and are qualified in a particular area. Get out and work if it’s available and go from there. Do you want me to tell him to sit at home or go lime on the block n indulge because ‘his’ job isn’t available at this point in time? I’m sure Dominoes understands what I mean. Right Dominoes? Cool man.

Head man
    I call your thinking ‘tunnel vision’. What is wrong with doing a job that you are not qualified in until the one you’re qualified in comes along? Tell me something, if a medical student after studying for x years is unable to find employment what is wrong with looking elsewhere until? A job brings in money and independence is sure to follow. A medical student may not want to be a gardener per se because he/she may see it as degrading but at the end of the day, money is money. Some persons are underemployed and others are overemployed but at the end of the day they are in the world of work and not loafing and eventually they will get their desired work/job.

6. @headman

Sometimes it is necessary to suck your ego in,get off your high horse and face reality . The fact is no one is guarentee any job because he or she went to any high fulloted university or whatever, However for a person to get hisor her feet in the job market .They might have to start from the bottom and work their way up. However if you are not willing to make some sacrifice you might end up on the block smoking. That is up to you . Choose which ever makes your life happy that is up to you.

7. ac @ 6:24 pm

Oh lawddddddd, yes whip, chains, handcuffs, etc. Girl, ya now talkin bout de real ting. You can call me Bonny de Dominatrix from dis nite on. Wax, wax, pax, pax pun de derriere.

My favourite song fa Crop Over dis year is Sawyer, ‘Leggo my birdie’.
    murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

8. Dominoe qualify in sumting, cant get a job in it, but I see in the bidness authority dat three amurcans wukking at one of the same said firms.

Yuh tink a bajan gine get a wuk in Amurca, when Amurcans wid the same qualifications end got no work?

Yuh mek joke, boysee. How many udder fawners wukking in dat area, wid domino waiting for a lil pick?

Jokers, tell people to better demselves and treat dem so?

Look domino, run fuh elexshun, next time.

As de peoples above say, get up and do sumting, run fuh elexshun and I fuh one gine vote fuh wunna.

I gine look fuh de lil bright boy, wid a lot tuh offa, instead a de fat cat dat got mout and nutting more.

Change begins wid a lil step by de likes a wunna.

Tek dah!

9. ‘Leggo my birdie’, or ‘Doan hold my birdie’. Cannn rememba de exact name now but it is sumting ta do wid a ‘birdie’.
    wuhloss, wuhloss.

“My Dreambox dead, my Dreambox dead, it dead, it dead, it dead…………………..

10. John Dobbie
    I almos call ya John Jobbie, anyway, I luv de bajanism. ya got ma cryin. bidness, amurcans, fawners,elexshuns etc. I luv ya bad. by de way doe, how you get hole a my dicshunary? Return um pleeze.

11. I did sneak it way, while yuh did wid Chris ‘whistlin’ lol.

I tell yuh doh, one time I did know a gal dat cud really ‘whistle’….goodness deng, wuh!!!

12. @Bonny Peppa

Yuh think de bushman can tek dat kinda a beating. yuhin’t tink me might huv a heartattack. by the way don’t forget to send me a picture.

13. John Dobbie
    Nutton rong wid ‘whistlin’ sa long as de chune sweet. murdahhhhh. ya spile-in me.

not ‘beatin’ but ‘lickin’. and yes, de Bush Tea cud tek a good ‘lickin’. Ask he den, ef ya dout me.
    Send you a picture? I was tinking bout a ‘ring-side seat’. Game?

14. I tell wanna dat Bush Tea old as de hills, the bushman can’t tek them kinda ‘licks’
    …besides two to one is murduh…

15. Bush Tea
    My lollipop, I doan mind you wid dah ‘ol as de hills’ talk. To me, you’re like a fine wine which only gets betta wid age. So come n tek ya ‘licks’ like a real man an a lil ‘bite hay n day’. My lolli,lolli-poppppp.
    But wait, how you get two in dis equation? It’s only room for us two. Us two.fullstop, comma, semi- colon. Git?

16. By de time I ketch up wid all dese comments all ah wunna gun be sleepin’…so I jes sayin’ HI…!

17. BAFBFP
    Oh my God, i search Bush Hall, Bank Hall,Rock Hall, Eagle Hall and khan fine me brotha.

WELCOME back. What a sight for sore eyez.

ya back in axion so please leave minez now.

18. Bonny I hear de Bushman got all de spoils… Ca Dear man… Yah can turn yah beck fah too minutes…

19. @Bonny Peppa

I don’t think so. I tink sumbody gotee under lock and chain .everynow an then they
    let eloose to catch e breathe. I ve seen he peek e head out befoe and then disappear.

20. As stated in an earlier comment, BU would have advised Minister of Sports Stephen Lashley about this matter if he was not already aware.

BU would have advised parties in this matter that arbitration is a preferred route. The decision to go legal means there will be only one satisfied party at the end of it all, the lawyers. Needless to day the legal process is time consuming and costly.

If the Minister is willing BU suggest both sides used his office to bring some resolution to the matter.

21. @ BAFBFP
    Bonny I hear de Bushman got all de spoils… Ca Dear man… Yah can turn yah beck fah too minutes…
    ************************************************************************************************
    Ha Ha Hahahah LOL ROTFLAHMB

Wait BAF….. you playing that you ain’t know???!!!
    All is fair in love and war – ….. so if yah snooze- yah loose…

22. ac I’m sorry
    I misunderstood you
    One day I’ll turn my head
    And look inside you
    ac, I’m sorry.

Bushman
    If you enjoying de spoils well I ain’ got na choice but tah be happy fah yah. But there is another saying, “When somet’ing goes around, keep lookin’ back…!” Hahaha

Bonny
    What is a “birdie”…??

23. Call a spade... Avatar
    Call a spade…

@Dominoes

Getting that first job is a bitch: no two ways about it. Unless you are pursuing a career in law, engineering, medicine, dentistry or some other profession, which incidentally can take you 7 years to qualify for, there is no guarantee of anything waiting for you when you come out of university with a 3 or 4 year general BA. All that says to employers is that you know HOW to
    learn. I have a BA English and History and an MA Journalism from one of Canada’ top universities Got them before you were born, probably.
    My first money-paying job: working 3000 feet underground in a copper mine in Ontario, North of Lake Superior. So cold you pissed ice cubes.
    A year later I got my first job with a newspaper. No previous experience, but the fact that I had worked in a mine in the ass end of Ontario intrigued my employer. It also showed him I wasn’t afraid of hard work.
    Today I am a self-employed consultant who charges $250-$300 an hour.
    Your career is a long road. Just get on it and keep moving, even if you start out walking. You will come to any number new roads to the left and to the right that you can take that will lead you to bigger and better destinations. If you are not “on the road”, no one is going to take much notice of you.

Regards

24. ac
    as long as BAF in up at Her Majesty’s Dodds, doan worry bout nutton. when he peek out he head just mek de most a um.evryting else would fall into place.

Bush Tea
    ‘if ya snooze…….ya loose’.
    I herd dat n tekkin note.

BAFBFP
    I doan kno wah is a ‘birdie’. ya gotta ask Sawyer. but de women seem ta be gine crazy bout he ‘birdie’. I maself would like ta hole he ‘birdie’ n rub it head lil bit.

Popsicle got a chune fa Crop Ova name ‘Eric Jerome Dickey’. My Gawdddddd, dah chune sweetttttttttttttttt. I want Eric Jerome Dickey too.

Call a spade
    Sound advice. And not only pissed iced cubes, sometimes ya can’t even find wah ya got when ya ga ta ‘fir a leak’. Sa cold everything shrink man. Um in easy. I’ve heard some stories from fellas who went to pick apples in Canada too. Sus Crois, talk bout COLDDDDDDDDDDDDD. I visit Michigan in de Summer and on mornings it is cold as piss too.
    Guess you can relate to the coal miners who lost their lives every year? Dangerous job man but someone has to do it I guess.

25. De above ‘Anonymous’ is only me.

26. Bonny why you don’ teach some ah dese women pun dis blog to talk like you… I is a perv and you treatin’ me real good…!

Talk yah talk babe, oh yeah….aaahhhhh

27. BAFBFP
    (whisperin) an I got even mo gooda tings in store fa you. jus keep it secret. doan leh ac kno, she is ma frien.

28. @Bonny @Baf

I listening !

29. And check this one out , found in todays Saturday Sun ..page 28.
    NOTICE WORK PERMIT
    Having received no suitable applicants to our advertisement for the post of
    Indian Chef
    It is our intention to submit applications for work permit for non-national.
    Any objection should be forwarded to the Chief Immigration Officer within 14 days.

Shoemaster’s Ltd
    48 Swan St
    Bridgetown

Questions: Can a Black or white person with experience in Indian Cuisine apply for this position or is it strictly reserved for someone of the INDIAN race.

Does Shoemaster operate an Indian type restaurant in Bridgetown,or is its leathers goods still alive and requires the skill of a Chef to separate the prime beef from the shoe leather.

30. Imagine that! a job advertised in today’s papers,has not asked for a Certificate of Competence, or a Certificate of Skill, but wants a Certificate of Character from the police.