The BU household turns to You, Divine Physician and Healer of the Sick on behalf of our Prime Minister David Thompson.

Divine Physician and Healer of the Sick:

We remember before you our Prime Minister David Thompson et al who are sick this day. We place our Prime Minister under Your care and humbly ask that You restore him, Your servant, to great health again. Help him to face and overcome his fears. Comfort him when he is discouraged. Touch him with your healing Spirit. Above all, grant him and all of us the grace to acknowledge Your holy will and know that whatsoever You do, You do for the love of us.

Keep your spirits up Mr. Prime Minister
For you we continue to pray that God will make you healthy in mind, body and spirit
And give you better days

74 responses to “Father, Hear Our Prayer”

1. Dear Heavenly Father, I come before thy throne this evening a sinner but Lord I am asking you to put your healing hands on our beloved Prime Minister David Thompson and heal his sick body dear Father. I know that I have sinned and come short of your glory and maybe I don’t deserve your blessings but I am asking for your divine intervention to work through his doctors and restore him to good health. I also bring before thy throne the sick and suffering amongst us dear Father and ask you to shelter them under your loving wings. This is my prayer and what I fail to ask, fail not to grant , these mercies I ask in Jesus’ name and for thy son’s sake, Amen.

Let us all repeat the Lord’s Prayer:

Our Father,who art in heaven, hallowed be Thy name, Thy kingdom come……………..

2. Bonny Peppa
    That was a beautiful prayer, especially from some-one who admits she is not a christian. Your prayer came over as very sincere and I would like to associate myself with that wonderful petition to Almighty God.
    Amen. Blessing unto you, may God pour out his blessings on you.

3. Dear god and heavenly Father.The creator of all thereis in the universe.I come to you in humble simplicity and child like. God you said in your word Ask and it shall be given.Seek and ye shall find. Knock and it shall be opened.
    Yes Lord I am asking for your healing Spirit to touch the body our dear PM.I am seeking your guidance and as I knock i am listening for an answer,
    God only you know what is best but as your children and you our Father you are the only one on whom we can depend.
    Father touch his body ,Touch his mind soul and Spirit .
    In Jesus name I pray Amen! amen! Amen!

4. @BonnyPeppa
    Your pray is so sincere.Halleujiah! Praise the Lord!

5. I am sorry that the Prime Minister is ailing. I hope it is nothing very serious.

But seriously, why bother praying to
    god now. If he cared about and loved us, his so-called people, why did he not prevent this illness. Is he not the omnipotent, omniscient, omnipresent omni everything?

You should hope that the Doctors have the technical knowledge and knowhow to diagnose and treat his condition. Remember, they can only treat the symptoms or amputate/remove, excise, etc.

6. @Pat
    So what’s wrong with using devine intervention. Wouldn’t you want someone to do all they could to help you if you were in ill health. By the way never say never! But you can say “NEVER KNOW!

7. Bro. Scout
    Thank you kindly Sir. There’s still hope for Bonny then? Alright.

You didn’t do bad yaself girl. We unchurchly people in doing too bad a’tall. It is coming straight from the heart, that is why. Keep praying.

Pat
    I trying hard not to laff but you are truly amazing. I gun pray fa ya.’omni everything’. Ya bad. I still waiting fa you prayer. Start,1,2,3,goooooooooooo.

8. You can turn to the invisible, I would suggest the PM turn to a Doctor

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Not Saved
    I can tell you that you cant always depend on the doctors ma boy.

Remember the woman in the gospels who had spent all she had at the physicians and was no better. As a young doctor, that passage amused and impressed me. And there is one of the good kings of Judah who is said not to have sought the Lord but depended on the physisians. Guess what happened to him?

Be good my friend..

10. Even the doctors turn to a power bigger than themselves for divine intertvention especially when dealing with special and serious cases. I was pleasantly surprised when just before my surgery, the entire surgical team surrounded the operation bed and with my permission offered a prayer to God for a safe and successful operation. the the doctors said, as good as they are there is some-one greater than them who controls everything. I know of a case where the doctors did everything that was possible to a patient but the child was still very critical. He called the family together and asked them if they believe in God, having been told yes, he told them to start a pray vigil, because the survival of the child is now in God’s hands. That child is up and around and living a ordinary life right now. It’s good to know that there are doctors who do believe in the power of the Almighty. All those who believe in ptay, whether you are B or D your support for the P.M is needed right now, even if you don’t likr him respect the position he holds. ” for as much as you have done it to this the lease of my children, you have done it unto me.” May he have a full and speedy recovery and may he experience the goodness of God in his life.

11. A reminder this blog is to facilitate those who want to offer up a prayer. Other comments can be posted elsewhere.

12. We in New York are wishing the Prime Minister good health. May the power of prayer and the skills of the doctors be as one…

13. As a fellow Combermerian and human being I wish David Thompson a speedy and full recovery with God’s help.

14. David and the BU family while you are all in the prayer room can I ask that you include some others in your prayers?

I humbly asked that you include in your prayers all those persons who now journey to the QEH desperately in need of medical assistance but find themselves sitting in A&E for hours. In many instances the medical condition of such persons are made worse, in some cases resulting in death.

It is no secret that the poor and vulnerable people in this country are the major users of this country’s state sponsored health service, drug service and the welfare department. It can therefore bring no comfort to this class of individuals when the Prime Minister can find it so easily convenient to cut the financial vote to QEH by $16 million, the drug service by $10 million and the welfare department by $10 million.

Financial cuts to such departments can only result in a cut in the provision of services to persons who can lease afford to absorb such cuts.

I take note that the Prime Minister’s physician has stated, with pride, that the Prime Minister has been attending one of the BEST hospitals in the WORLD – a boost for which many Barbadians can only dream of. I do not envy the Prime Minister for his ability to afford the best medical attention available I just ask that he display a higher-level of empathy and conscience when making decisions that will impact on the poor and vulnerable in this country.

That the monies being saved by the financial cuts to these departments are being used to finance Government’s “fatted calf policies” and to promote a “soup kitchen and begging bowl” politics is gross insensitivity to the cries and sufferings of ordinary Barbadians.

I ask, for whom is prayer most needed for at this time – the sick who cannot get assistance or the wealthy who can afford the best medical treatment?

We should not be praying for the Prime Minister alone but for all those who are ailing at this time, for our country’s economic problems and those suffering from the social ills.

15. This wasn’t happening b4 the DLP come to power! I am not saying it is right!

But PLANT that argument on another blog!!!!!!!

FOOL!

16. There is work to be done Prime Minister – David Thompson – and may God give you the time to do it.

“Is life worth living? Yes, so long
    As there is wrong to right,
    Wail of the weak against the strong,
    Or tyranny to fight;
    Long as there lingers gloom to chase,
    Or streaming tear to dry,
    One kindred woe, one sorrowing face
    That smiles as we draw nigh.

So long as faith with freedom reigns
    And loyal hope survives,
    And gracious charity remains
    To heaven lowly lives;
    While there is one untroden tract
    For intellect or will,
    And men are free to think and act,
    Life is worth living still”.

Alfred Austin

17. RoyalRumble
    wrong blog ya zygote.

18. Royalrumble is a classic example of what’s wrong with this country. May the PM recover well.

19. Let’s keep this blog clean. I saw a pic of the P.M and he really looks very sick. I have been praying for his full and speedy recovery ever since I heard the news and I’m asking God to let His will be done. I have never been one to tell God what I want but to ask him to cleanse me, so that when he performs hia will I would be presented as spotless before him. This too I ask for our P.M. Spotless before God, does not mean that I’m thinking death but that our P.M sees himself as a person in need of Divine Healing from Almighty God. Healing his physical body is one thing which we would like but healing of the soul is what is most important. I pray that when he return fully fit to us , he would be a more spiritually focused individual because as the leader of this country, we do need a spiritual reviving and no better a person to do it than the P.M himself. God Bless our Prime Minister.

20. A silent prayer to you Lord for the ailing PM ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..Amen

21. Bosun
    You mek sure dat this prayer is so silent dat not even me can’t hear um but dat is ok.Still one love.

22. Remember all the times when prayer works!!!!!!

23. Forget all the times when prayer did not work out the way you expected!!!!

Best way to reinforce the prayer delusion.

24. I am not a christian and I do not believe in christianity,however,I am a highly spiritual individual and the Prime Minister’s health problems are in my daily thoughts.

I wish the Prime Minister all the best

25. Negro
    My hero, you are a humanitarian. Bless you, christian or non.

26. Tell me that I am wrong, but Bajans seem to only pray when the lion is right at their door steps, like death,a pending hurricane ,sickness and a 8% pay cut.
    God is not a Coolieman , that you can hide from and only face when you want some new threads.

27. @ Paling Cock

Are you God to question when people ought to pray?

28. palin cock
    And because He knows the heart of all men, he understands and says, ‘well done, thy good n faithful servant. And he listens to our pray because He’s our Father. If you have children of your own you would understand. Sometimes they forget about us, until they’re in a ‘tight-spot’ but we doan turn we back pun dem. It’s the same with our Father, who art in Heaven.
    Now lemme hear ya pray. Ya in got ta pray fa de PM but ya could pray dat we be spared a hurricane, sickness or even anudda 8% cut. Lemma hear ya Starboy. Start de ting.

29. But God is too wise and good to answer our prayers always at just the time and in just the manner we desire. He will do more and better for us than to accomplish all our wishes.

30. I am a man of no faith, I believe we are all living a purposeless and meaningless life so I am just enjoying the ride while it last. I sincerely hope and wish the PM a speedy and healthy recovery . May the positive vibrational energy of the universe sweeps over him and all of BIM.

31. THOUGHT FOR TODAY –

A MOST POWERFUL PRAYER

BY INSPIRATIONAL AUTHOR (Alan Cohen)

An angel attempting to earn his permanent wings was given the mission of finding the person on earth whose prayers had the most power to reach the heaven. He journeyed for a long time and returned with this report: “I circled the entire world and found many people reciting rote prayers without feeling or conviction. Many prayed so that others would see them, others prayed for things to fulfill their worldly addictions, and some prayed to be victorious over others. Just as I was about to give up I heard the sobbing of a little boy in a poor section of a big city. Through his tears he was reciting, “A…B…C…” and on through the alphabet. When I listened closer I heard him pray, “Dear God, I do not know how to read and I cannot recite from the prayer book, but I love you with all my heart. You take these letters and form them into words that are pleasing to you.” The angel was given his wings.

It is not the form of our words or acts that brings us closer to heaven, but the sincerity of our intentions. In the film How Green Was My Valley, Walter Pidgeon advises, “When you pray, think. Think well what you’re saying, and make your thoughts into things that are solid. In that way, your prayers will have strength, and that strength will become a part of you in body, mind, and spirit.”

In another Jewish legend, a cobbler told his rabbi, “Most of my customers are men who work every day and drop their boots off to me at for repair overnight. I often stay up all night to get their boots ready for them in the morning. Sometimes I am so tired that I do not say the morning prayer. Other times I just say it quickly so I will have time to work. Other times my heart just sighs, “How I wish I had the time and energy to say my prayer.” The rabbi answered, “If I were God I would value that sigh more than the prayer.”

Our love of God is not measured by the rituals we do or the forms we create, but by the intentions of our heart. We may lead a busy lifestyle, but if our soul is connected with Spirit our daily activities become communion. By contrast, there are people who go through rote prayers and rituals, but their minds and hearts are elsewhere. We live from our heart or we do not live at all. Here is a benchmark by which you can assess the quality of your actions and make important decisions: What is your intention? If you truly seek to serve and give love, you cannot fail.

Throughout your day, say hello to God occasionally. Lovers call each other several times a day just to say hello. I used to call a girlfriend who had a pager. I would punch in the numbers equivalent to the letters, “I love you,” or other romantic phrases she would decipher. Those brief messages were the highlights of our days when we were apart. Give God a heartfelt call every now and then, and your love affair with spirit will bloom in the most wonderful ways.

The best way to connect with God is the way that works for you. You may talk to God as your father, mother, lover, friend, or agent. You may thank God, ask God for help, just think aloud, kick ideas around, or even yell at God. Once I was so frustrated that I wrote God an angry letter, telling Him all the things I was mad about. The letter got results; the next day everything changed. I don’t believe for a moment that God was intimidated by my wrath, nor do I believe He would punish me; those are human responses. I believe that God heard my sincerity; I heard my sincerity. I needed to get clear that I deserved better, and the moment I did, the universe mirrored my deepened intention. God translates all communications into calls for love. Do not be afraid to speak to God in your own terms; how else could you do it?

God doesn’t care what name you call Her. God is neither man nor woman, yet can be approached as the Absolute Father, Divine Mother, or Innocent Child. Every religion has a different name for God, and they all get results. God can be known personally through form, and God is beyond all form. God is the ultimate shape-shifter.

The most important element of prayer is that it is real for you; the most important element of anything is that it is real for you. Our life has meaning not by the forms we create, but by the intentions of our heart. The Bible tells us, “Pray without ceasing.” That means we must make not just our words into prayers, but our thoughts and acts as well. I know people who approach taking out the garbage with the gentleness of communion. When we remember that God is where we are and who we are, we enter into a love affair that will keep the flame in our heart burning forever.

32. I find this to be such a cheap stunt to win the publics sympathy and create emotional hype. We’ve had other high profile government ministers (including PMs) who kept their health issues private.
    It’s a stunt.
    I’m not impressed. Sorry!

33. Zion1971
    I doan believe you.you serious? you don’t think that we’re here for a reason? It would be interesting to hear what others think. At times I too question my existence so I in doubt you.You tink dat when ya dead, ya done? These things confuse me at times and I don’t know what to believe.

Anon
    Ya in lie bout keeping certain tings private a’tall. Not a boy din know bout Owen n Julie first girl. But you see de fuss da mek wid de second whun that was still-born? Tings dat mek ya go ‘huhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh’.

De PM’s absence from public view was becoming a concern and persons were beginning to ask fa he.
    I would like ta pull a ‘stunt’ like dah n lose some pounds like he too.

34. Anon
    But wait, I now famemba, Eastmond is a bad diabetic too. And dah in private, evrybody know bout he. You faget? stupseeeeeeeee, oh shoottttttttttttttttttt.

35. Bonny Peppa. Trust me, I have struggled for years with my christian belief system that was handed down to me and have come to the conclusion that human existennce is a result of some cosmological accident , in other words our existence is by pure accident .Life and its purpose is overated and this is fuel by the theological notion the some how we are created special by a omnipotent and omnipresent invisible creator in his own image and that after this ephemeral and superficial physical existence some how we must look forward to some better life beyond this one.This sound good to a lot of people because of the fear of death.

36. @ac… I am by no means God, but neither is the bible,as it advises us when to pray in
    Ephesians 6 verse 18, Thessalonians 5 verse 17, Luke 21verse 36, Romans 1 verse 9 and Luke 18 verse 1.
    @Bonny, my dear, I always pray silently, probably a habit from my army days when I wanted God to hear me rather than the enemy next door.

37. zion1975
    Listen, i like you real bad. you in easy a’tall. ya sweet. i guess we all have our different beliefs about human existence and also about christianity. all i will say is, to each his own. but lemma tell ya sumting, i frighten as shite ta dead too. whether there’s life after death or not,is something that we will never know. Zoe will tell us different.

Palin cock
    ya sweet. lemma hear ya crow one moe time, cockadoodledooooooooooooooooooo. ya like suga. my two sons were once in de army and i still have a good few relatives in day. army life in fa me boe. i very own-way. i can’t deal wid tekkin orders from nabody a’tall so i would be in ‘lock-down’ regla.

38. Bonny, most of us fear death because we take for granted that tomorrow is a promise to us and forget – because of our preoccupation with our daily struggle- that we are a mortal being .Once we are constantly aware that everything in this life is fleeting , their is no permanence and we all are just passing through then we will see that death is as normal as sunrise. The fear of death is an irrational human behaviour.

39. @Pat. I am shocked at a comment such as the one that came from her lips, basically why pray to God if he could have prevented this illness. Pat, that is a very sad testimony of your either unbelief, lack of faith, anger, bitterness and unforgiveness ot just naivete. Maybe you had a bad experience, maybe you lost a loved one and do not understand. So have I, but I still believe in God, my faith is intact. If so, give yourself time. You sound like Job’s friends.

There is a God and because of sin, we are all fallen. So, we get ill, all kinds of horrible (and also great) things happen in our lives. We should pray at all times regardless. God is God and as the old people say, what he does not hinder he allows. We are only flesh and blood. Personally, I pray that the PM has a speedy recovery. I believe that he will be fine. If he is not, that does not mean God abandoned him or anyone else. We all get sick, we all have to die, that is life. I know loss very well, it will make or break you but it is all up to you and your reaction and in Whom you believe.
    I believe in God the Father Almighty and like everyone else, I pray that the PM is well. I pray too for this Country which is clearly on a pattern or morally obtuse behaviour. That has not a thing to do with the PM, just an observation. And by the way, look around – Haiti, Chile, Iceland, everywhere…..we are not immune. So what is wrong with prayer, Pat?

I rather live as though there IS a God, than die to find out there is not. I KNOW THERE IS A GOD.
    Good nite.

40. I join my prayers with bajans for the rapid and complete recovery of their leader. We do not need to loose those whose examples of National Leadersip gives hope to the region.

41. Ruel Daniels
    On behalf of the BU family and the majority of Bajans, I would like to say thank you Sir for your kind sentiments. Thank you once more.

42. @ Godisable // May 22, 2010 at 3:03 AM

Well said. I’d leave it at that.

43. Get Well Prayer

Lord, hear my heartfelt prayer
    for the healing of our Prime Minister, David Thompson.
    I pray for your mercy,
    Your compassion, Your grace and Your love,
    in making him whole and well again.
    Make the work of those treating and helping him
    full of Your perfection,
    and grant him a quick and complete recovery.
    Lead and guide those around him
    to provide what he needs: encouragement,
    assistance and support.
    Lord, I pray that you will
    wrap Your loving arms around him,
    giving him comfort, strength and peace,
    drawing him ever closer to You,
    as you lead him through this trying time.
    In Jesus’ name

( adapted from Prayer by Joanna Fuchs)

44. @Zion1971

None of us can really prove how the universe and life came into existence, but if this was all by accident, I would have to say it is THE MOST PERFECT ACCIDENT THAT EVER HAPPENED. Usually accidents leave things broken and in a mess, but this accident produced some very amazing things that couldn’t have been planned and designed any better. From all that I see, hear, smell, feel, taste, and think, I am very much inclined to believe in a Creator and His grand design.

45. But in all seriousness,where are all of these Faith Healers we hear on our air waves spouting their skills and gifts almost every night.Are they banned especially for the Childrens Ward of the QEH? By now every Bajan should be enjoying a healthy life ,under the hands of these miracle workers, and they do not have to touch you. They are able to heal through the wireless,and soon you will,be able to call them up on your Blackberry,and get afix if ya suddenly run outa the little blue pill while on the job.

46. Galli Cantu
    Faith Healers? Wah is dem? I would believe in Santa first.

47. I just hear news that Mr. Norman Faria Guyanese ambassador lies critically ill at QE 2 Hospital. Please kindly let us know any details of his illness. Thank you

48. I have never been able to figure out if Mr. Faria is a Guyanese or Barbadian, my feelings tells me Bajan, but anyway Mr. Faria, a speedy recovery, trust in Jesus, for he is the great healer, and you will be healed of all illnesses that plagues your body. God is love. I am also praying for the Honourable PM Mr. Thompson, may the dear Lord heal this great man so that he may continue to lead Barbados through these difficult times. God is Love.

49. Anonymous
    Doan mek ma laff. Faria is as GT Banna, as apple-pie is American. But I too wish him well if he is indeed ill.

50. Well wishes for a speedy recovery go out to our beloved Prime Minister, David Thompson and to Norman Faria, Guyana’s Honourary Consul To Barbados.

I ask that our heavenly father, God of all comfort, giver of life and health, look upon both of them with the eyes of his mercy, comfort them with a sense of his goodness, preserve them from the temptations of the enemy and give them patience under their affliction.

I also ask that God give his power of healing to those who minister to their needs that they may be strengthened in their weakness, their strength be restored, their health be renewed, and that they may feel his hand upon them, renewing their body and refreshing their soul.