Hartley Henry – DLP Political Strategist

I feel sorry for Owen Arthur! The lashes he received from influential elements in the Barbados Labour Party, over his public criticism of Mia Mottley, have served to literally and figuratively knock the wind from his political sails.

The true Owen Arthur, and certainly the Owen Arthur of up to three months ago, could and would never have supported that il-advised boycott of Parliament by the Leader of the Opposition. Were this a year ago, he would have called a separate press conference to disassociate himself from the folly of opposition parliamentarians withdrawing from parliament at so crucial a period in our social and economic journey.

One only need to check the records of Parliament and see how Owen Arthur felt and truly feels about Opposition Parliamentarians absenting themselves from the Chamber. Remember the David Thompson led boycott in the closing stages of the last Parliament? Check and discover what Arthur said back then. However, these days are funny political nights and Arthur dare not go against the leadership of the party at this crucial juncture.

As I wrote a few weeks back, Arthur was about to be ostracized and exorcised by several leading and influential members of the party for his public characterization of Mottley as not being perfectly suited for the position of Prime Minister. It is not that anything he said was without merit or foundation, but, in politics some truths ought never to be spoken. BLP leaders and financiers did not like the public “dressing down” of Mottley and they threatened to pull the plug on Arthur and his bid to wrestle the leadership of the party from the member for St. Michael North East.

To therefore re-ingratiate himself to those who can make or break him politically, Arthur has been forced in recent weeks to swallow his pride, discard his fundamental beliefs and permit himself to be seen as towing the line and being a team player. He knows he will get the last laugh in a matter of months. Mottley, on the other hand, would be politically naïve and downright stupid if she were ever to turn her back or take her eyes off him.

Nevertheless, Arthur was party to this most recent foul up by the Leader of the Opposition. She set the scene and stage to engage the Speaker of the House and other Parliamentarians on the issue of the management of fire arms in Parliament, and then absented herself from the sitting. She caused the process of investigating an alleged incident to be started and then chose not to attend to put her case to the chamber. In other words, that boycott was unwarranted.

Keen students of politics would know that that boycott had more to do with the reluctance of having a face-off with Hamilton Lashley, than it did with the so-called Estwick/Marshall affair. Why Hamilton Lashley? The BLP would no doubt have been aware of the multitude of persons that descended on Parkinson School last Sunday for the Constituency Conference of the Independent Member. They would have deduced from all that was said and done that Hamilton Lashley, the Member of Parliament for St. Michael South East, was likely to take his rightful place on the side of the Democratic Labour Party at last Tuesday’s sitting of the Lower House.

The actual crossing of the floor, in itself, would not have been humiliating for the BLP, but the personal explanation that was likely to follow is what this writer firmly believes Mia Mottley and the BLP Parliamentarians were afraid of and ran from.

The reality is that Hamilton Lashley was elected to Parliament at the beginning of this current Parliamentary term on the ticket of the Barbados Labour Party. He would therefore have been duty bound to explain to the chamber how it is that he would have found himself seated on the side of the government. This is dirty linen that Mia Mottley could not stomach being washed in her presence. Thus the strategy was hatched to boycott the sitting of Parliament.

Check the facts! The first mention of a possible boycott of parliament came hours after it was made public that the top brass of the DLP would have been sharing a platform with Hamilton Lashley at Parkinson School. So the issue of the need for a gun policy to be put in place before last Tuesday’s sitting was merely a red herring. To strengthen that point, consider that there is still no gun policy in place and the Opposition will nevertheless be attending the next sitting of parliament. The question is, in the absence of a gun policy, what danger existed last Tuesday that will not exist next time Parliament meets?

Now on this issue of guns, I am sure it would be surprising to Joe the Plumber to discover that even though there are 20 members on the government side in Parliament and nine on the Opposition side, that there are more gun carrying members on the opposition benches than they are among the 20 DLP representatives. Furthermore, the boys from gaza and the gully would tell you that there are ordinary guns and there are mean, deadly machines also known as guns. The Glock, for example, is a mean, high powered machine. Guess on which side of the Chamber the three Glocks licensed to Parliamentarians are all located? Guess which female Member of Parliament owns and moves with a Glock?

These are issues that have to be factored into this farcical and artificial stand-off, because it explains the hypocrisy of some politicians. From time in memorial, parliamentarians on both sides of the House have, as is mandated by law, carried their firearms with them at all times, even in parliament. If one is saying the time is right to relieve them of this obligation while in the precincts of Parliament, then we can and should say so in a calm and less acrimonious manner. But it is hypocritical and downright misleading to give the impression that a single member is guilty of such. Furthermore, to create a song and dance over a minor skirmish among parliamentarians is to practice the type of politics that most Barbadians would frown upon.

I take no comfort in the commonly held view that last Tuesday’s sitting of Parliament was among the most productive in the last two and a half years. I believe that the place for parliamentarians when parliament is in session is inside the chamber. That is why I appeal to Mia Mottley and her colleagues to cease the child-like stunts and get on with the job of helping to make and shape laws, for the betterment of this, our island home.

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com

40 responses to “Who Own The Guns?”

1. HH
    Even though the BLP’s M.P’s boycotted parliament, it does not mean that the general public, those without party ties, still at a lost to what went down that day. Until the truth be told, this will go down as a dark day in barbados parliament and the DLP will carry some if not most of the blame for not exposing the whole incedent. Therefore, your trying to shift the topic back to Mia and Owen does not mean this will go away. I believe this is certainly not the end to this matter. Parliamentary maturity now has to come to the fore and your antique type of tongue lashing will only stock the fire more. The less you speak the better it is for the DLP.

2. @ The Scout

HH is becoming more and more pathetic by the week, and if you are a regular reader of this blog you would notice that the contributions by WIV are like previews to the theme/content of his (HH) weekly articles.

“I take no comfort in the commonly held view that last Tuesday’s sitting of Parliament was among the most productive in the last two and a half years.”

Were the usual items of the last 27 months not debated–acquisitions and amendments?

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I really hope that the Parilament of Barbados sends this months wages for all nine opposition members to anyone of the deserving causes of their choice as these clows did not earn their pay this month, from the reports seldom have they earned their pay since elections but so be it.

The whole program of staying away from Parliament was conditioned more by the fear of the expected arrival in Parliament of Halmilton Lashley than any fight issue with Gay Marshall they were in denial and still are in denial as to exactly why they were evicted from office and maybe it is only now that it is sinking in that with Hammie on the other side some home truths will hit home hard about their actions while they were the GOV’T BEST KNOWN AS THE GOV’T OF CORRUPTIION AND THEFT.

4. To imply the house of assembly is more productive with the opposition away is a dangerous as well as an oxymoronic statement.

5. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Dave, What does Forde, Muttley, Pain, Toppin, Clarke, Duguid contribute meaningfully to parliament ?

No a good opposition is worth is weight in gold and a poor opposition as is this case is not worth Sea Crab Sh__te in a bucket.

Do we have an opposition worth its weight in Gold ?? ( even if Muttley was slim still no )

NO WAY.

6. @WIV

Who determines the value of the Opposition; the others on the other side?

7. Well answered, David.

HH’s articles are like some sort of perverted US Presidential style “fireside chat”. He is taking himself far too seriously – almost vice regally – and I agree that his style of politics is extinct. He has become a liability to what is shaping up to be an excellent prime minister. Time to cut HH loose, Mr Thompson. He will bring you down if you don’t.

8. Hartley, please stop. Your jurassaic old fahisoned 1980’s style of politics are outdated and the PM better realise. That’s why St Kitts PM Douglas did not use you in getting elected in January. He used an international company because he told me your old way of thinking about politics would cause him to lose. PM Thompson, I suggest you have a word with leaders in Bermuda, Turks and Caicos, St Kitts and neighbouring St Lucia. All countries that do not want to see Hartley Henry ever again.

9. Based on your frequent and relentless attacks and foul abuse, a great deal comparable to what your party is contributing to government . As a matter of fact the opposition got you wukking time and overtime. Oh you are earning your keep . You do so well enough.

10. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

HH

Don’t forget the boycott in dec 2009 by the then dlp opposition. The blp said they had a very productive time. All governing parties in this position will have a productive time when there is no one to oppose what you want to get through. if it was so productive why was the new environmental levy act not passed?

11. I realise that when the d l p is put in a corner,H H allways comes up with something about the opposition.

12. The more the jackass talks the better for the BLP. Keep talking you fool! The big question is what you are doing to earn the taxpayers’ money. Dont you call yourself a strategist? Sounds more like a St. George Secondary buffoon to me. It’s not the role of the opposition to fix the economy. That wunna job. Wunna asked de electorate for the job, now get on with it.
    If you were such a great strategist you should have won the last three previous elections.
    Gimme a break Hartley Henry. If ever there was a buffoon knocking around local politics, it’s you. After all this time and at your age, you are satisfied with less than BD$10, 000.00 a month?
    Um is a good thing only a handful o people read de Advocate.
    Keep on talking St. George secondary graduate. That’s the big chip on wunna shoulders.

13. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Do the taxpayers realise that we are paying for HH’s services. HH should tell us what he is paid by the government.

14. Quite honest with you, if I wasn’t a true DLP supporter, H H and/or WIV would change my mind of supporting that party. Just before the last elections, the then P.M Arthur said that he would not want to see the DLP win any seats in the elections. This statement, I’m sure swung the pedulum of many undecided voters to support the DLP. It seem the spokespersons for the DLP are falling into the same trap. It appears the DLP guru H H/WIV,is echoing the same stupid remarks as Owen Arthur. With a party that is struggling to govern, even though no fault of their own, the very thought of a one party state is scaring many voters. Mr. P.M be careful of H H/WIV he is causing serious damage to your party.

15. St. George Secondary buffoon to me.

These type of statements make me SICK!!!! SO BECAUSE HE FROM ST. GEORGE SECONDARY HE CAN’T MAKE A STATEMENT OR MAKE MONEY IN THIS COUNTRY? YOU ASSSSSSSS!

My aunts and family have gone to St. George Secondary in HH’s time and have suceeded what the fuck you trying to say ASS#####!

16. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Warren Bourne, you are trying to mislead the wonderful people of Barbados Sylvan,he did work for PM Douglas and like in Barbados he won !!!

17. Wishing in vain. I work for the company that was hired by Douglas to run his campaign. Hartley’s involvement was minimal. Our company ran the show. We were totally in charge because PM Douglas was not sure that Hartley’s old fashioned 1980’s politics could get him re-elected. So I am not talking from hearsary. I am talking from fact. I worked on the campaign with the UK company that was hired. And Hartley was hardly around. And he is no where around in St Lucia, nor Turks and Caicos, now Bermuda, nor Antigua. And all of these countries realise that he has to update his political strategy and get some qualified people around him if he is to win elections in 2010 and beyond.

18. Dear HH:

I think that you shouild quit your political job, but not for any political reason. The article above is the funniest piece of fiction I’ve read in a long time.

Quit today and write soap operas instead; soon you will be as rich as Bill Gates or Oprah. Your name will be hotter that Rihanna’s on the world stage.

19. HH wrote “Hamilton Lashley, the Member of Parliament for St. Michael South East, was likely to take his rightful place on the side of the Democratic Labour Party at last Tuesday’s sitting of the Lower House.”

Dear HH:

You really wrote that piece of fiction?

You know as well as I do that Hammie La does not have any rightful place.

Hammie La’s place is always where the power is and where the money is.

As soon as the DLP loses an election Hammie La gone, and you know that as well as I do.

Who you trying to fool?

20. HH wrote ” Guess on which side of the Chamber the three Glocks licensed to Parliamentarians are all located? Guess which female Member of Parliament owns and moves with a Glock?”

Wait HH you mean to tell me that the people’s representatives so afraid of the people that they have to move with Glocks at all times????????????

I wonder why????????????????

Be like the National Enquirer now and tell us who & who moving with the Glocks.

The PEOPLE want to know.

Looking forward to hearing form you.

Yours insincerely

J

21. You BLP clowns are dealing with the messenger, like children you quarrel about where the man work and which PM he get elected and what school he went to, so silly.

Deal with the message.

22. Dear True Bajan:

I ain’t “B” nor I ain’t “D”. Like you I am just merely Bajan.

But I have to tell you that HH’s message is so obscured with fluff that he has lost those of us who didn’t get to go to school at St. George Secondary.

23. Oh Dear

Sounds more like a St. George Secondary buffoon to me.

The above is precisely at the core of the problems in Barbados. That is why there is all this angst in the other thread about the Bjerkhamn affair. It is all about where you come from, which school you attended, who your father/mother is and what colour you are.

Rather that attack Henry for his politics or ideas or his blinkered approach to his political writing, the writer hurls what he thinks is the ultimate insult “St. George Secondary buffoon”.

Suddenly anything Henry does or says is worthless because he didn’t attend certain “special” schools, he only attended that school which graduates “buffoons”.

As a public service could “Oh Dear” let us know the other schools that attracts “buffoons” . You would be doing many parents a favour since they can ensure that their children avoid those schools.

Plus ça change

24. Given the high interest in The Johan Bjerkhamn Affair the blog will not be updated today.

25. Do you throw stones in an empty mango tree? Hartley, you seem to be hitting them too hard. They can’t take it at all.

David Thompson would do well to ignore their advice!

26. Albert
    It is people like you who will encourage H H to do irrepairable damage to the DLP. H H is a dangerous “animal” on the loose that can cause its own a big expense.

27. WATCHER OF COLES Avatar
    WATCHER OF COLES

For all those who forget some important information

Please see the following about the stock that MYA is descended from:

“Then there is the interplay: – A Dowding and a Goddard went into politics and ran for seats. Barrow came back and got hauled in and beat Dowding, in St. George. A Goddard in most cases was the bailiff that sold the indebted plantations to Miller Austin and the Goddards, who were paid by the local council to clean the streets of Bridgetown, turned that job over to Ernest Deighton Mottley and he ran a protection racket with it, only difference is that if store owners did not pay him protection money the outside of their shop would not be spotless like the other businesses that paid. A dirty shop front was not good for business.

W.W Reece had no clout, he was the Solicitor General and the Attorney General’s junior. A mulatto, his mother was a maid and his father a Reece. His son Jube was a lawyer and later Solicitor General. W.W. Reece and his maid produced Mottley. And his original was Skinner. Why did he come back as “Mottley” (meaning fool). from America?. Mottley was Jube’s half brother and also his tout both as a lawyer, then as a politician. Jube ran for the conservatives against Edwy Talma and Edwy got in.

Mottley was a very scheming person and he had his plans and agenda. The time of white people elected to the House of Assembly waned but white merchants began to run the island with dollars passed to the new black politicians and from the beginning the white people put Mottley in charge of poor people. Little old ladies with no money but land ran into trouble and Mottley undertook to pay for things for them and ended up with their titles.

No vice was below Ernest Deighton Mottley”, just like grand pa’s, grand daughter’s behavior is same. The ackee don fall far from de tree.

Ask her what is the lock in deal that she, G/Pain, AlBarok, CheKham etc in?

The government should not give them one cent.

Give them their buildings.

Both the NHC Country Road which has structural Engineering issues and the Warrens one which has the same because of the fact that the Contractor did not know how to build.

The government should move out their staff from these buildings and put them in the new ones being built in Warrens. Let them – after their attempt to storng arm, blackmail the government- and get their cut deposited in overseas bank accounts, fill these buildings.

ALL OF THIS DONE BEHIND OWING BACK BECAUSE THEY SAY HE IS A BAREFOOT POOR BOY FROM NOWHERE.

ASK MYA AND G/PAIN HOW MUCH WAS TO BE HER AND HIS TAKE FROM THE SETTLEMENT THAT THEY ARE NOW TRYING TO GET FROM MINISTER LASHLEY?

28. To all the St. George Secondary sympathizers who support the buffoon Hartley Henry, tell me which schools wunna does put down fuh first choice when wunna children doing de 11+ exam?
    If wunna does put St. George Secondary or de Garrisun as first choice, then I rest my case.
    I would bet US$1million that even graduates of these dumps for schools dont put them down as their first choice for their children.
    Live with the hard realities of an elite system. Until wunna rise up against it and change it, wunna are complicit in its existence.
    Bajans like um so!
    So who are the real buffoons?
    Survey where most of the criminals went school? Where most of the minibus hooligans went to school. Wheel and come again!

29. @ Oh dear! // April 23, 2010 at 4:38 PM

A very wise man once told me its better to keep your mouth shut than to speak and let the world know your an Ass.

Its time to close your mouth.

30. @True Bajan: “Its time to close your mouth.

Never!!!

31. @ Christopher Halsall // April 23, 2010 at 6:22 PM

That was meant for someone else not you, but if you support his thoughts go right ahead.

32. Political tribalism does not allow HH to genuinely deal with the issues that impact our country. Prime Minister Thompson hired Hartley Henry to do just what he is doing. How he has performed so far indicates that he views his job is to win by fair or foul means. Until Mr.Thompson gets rid of him, or strictly ensures Hartley sticks to different principles, then we have to assume this behaviour has his blessing. The way Hartley conducts his political game is not how we bajans would want. let’s look at transparency and integrity HH & DLP style:

He has not challenged the unbridled rage by Estwick, hence display of gun with intent to warn; he does not advise P.M.to shed Estwick; rather than who else had guns. Others who had guns (if this is true) did not use or retaliate in a similar manner during altercation.

look at HH & DLP brand of transparency and integrity in motion: Play up the cost of the prison, downplay the fact that the economy continued to decline during its traditional period of strongest growth Jan -Mar. Yes he should reveal the true cost of prison plus explaining interest charges truthfully for loans or bolts, plus full disclosure on other BLP loans and include the three DLP loans about to be added, especially the one for water authority at 150m. Don’t forget the new 200m U.S. loan in today’s paper announced by the Prime Minister without the transarency tag of stated full cost plus interest charges. Thus far in two years DLp has borrowed one billion dollars, what are the total interest charges over the next 25 years. That must be causing the Central bank governor to lose some sleep. Highlight the additional 1$.5 billion DLP plans to be borrow in the next four years, according to the medium term plan revealed by the Prime Minister, and don’t forget the interest charges for that too. We Bajans holla when we heard about $750m in interest for the prison, full transparency on total borrowing gine mek we bawl.

Talk about the environmental levy and how it will impact Barbadian pockets, because the way it is to be implemented will drive up business costs, which drives up consumer costs(i.e. cost of living) which drives up wages or push people more along the pathway to poverty. The fact that this is needed after taking major cuts to budget should concern all of us. I would want to hear how the continued slide in GDP means we must emphasize, talk about, demonstrate that Barbadians must work harder while freezing wages and it is necessary for our survival.

Yes say the opposition should not walk out like the DLP before last election. They must not follow the creed given to this country by the Prime Minister, if you do not like what is happening on the cricket field, get up and go home. Both are wrong, integrity demands this confession. At least BLP will be back next week.

Don’t ignore the death of the infant in Accident and Emergency, and the man who fell to his death, the man who claimed to have been put in the morgue, all within a couple of months of our better managed hospital, with two ministers. Integrity demands it. We talked about the long waits in Accident & Emergency under the BLP, as we should, because we need to keep BLp on its toes, and we must now do the same for the DLP. Yes and the fact that bridge in St. Joseph should have been fixed by the BLP already.

If this is transparency and integrity, HH & DLP style, Bajans know ‘crapaud smoke we pipe.’

33. Wishing In Vain Avatar

They should have known better

Seven hundred and forty-nine million dollars – that’s roughly how much the Barbados Government will pay over the next 25 years for the construction of Dodds Prison.

This remarkable figure was revealed last week by Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Dr. DeLisle Worrell, in his first-quarter economic review. As would be expected, there was an immediate outcry from some segments of the public who, based on earlier references to a $200 million price tag, queried the apparent increase in cost. Since then, information coming to light has shown that $200 million was only an initial estimate of the general costs; the actual contract agreed to $288.6 million. Furthermore, we are now made aware of an additional consideration of $460.5 million in interests! Therefore, despite supposedly receiving a few million in savings for coming in under the contract price, the Government is now tied to an agreement ultimately costing around $749.13 million – just over two-and-a-half times the contract amount.

Poor reasoning
    The Arthur-led administration should have known better. Surely if that Government had done adequate research into potential financing for rebuilding a prison, it would have found a more suitable arrangement; one which would not be a burden on present and future generations of taxpaying Barbadians. The current BOLT – build, operate, lease and transfer – arrangement is inappropriate, to say the least. A government should have more bargaining power and should have been able to negotiate for a soft loan to cover the expenses of construction, rather than committing itself to such a massive long-term debt.

At the time, with Glendairy destroyed and inadequate housing and security to secure dangerous criminals, the situation was indeed a national security crisis. The government of the day should have had the foresight to appeal to more developed countries and seek assistance in getting Dodds off the ground. In this global community, our international friends would no doubt have had sympathy for our situation. This is all the more likely considering the fact that the Caribbean has been favoured in the past with financial assistance packages aimed at developing the region. From former US President Ronald Reagan’s Caribbean Basin Initiative and current President Barack Obama’s funding to fight drug trafficking in the Caribbean, to information technology and environmental development funds made available through the United Nations, the region has benefited from the generosity of First World countries over the years.

Added to its failure to show correct reasoning in securing a suitable agreement for the construction of Dodds prison, the previous Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government again showed poor judgement in selecting the contractors for this feat.Media reports in 2007 highlighted a criminal investigation into the activities of executive members of Veco Corp. – the Alaskan company hired to construct Dodds prison. Subsequently, former chairman of Veco, Bill Allen, and former vice president, Rick Smith, pleaded guilty to conspiracy, bribery and tax violations. The Barbados Advocate notes that we were building a house for seasoned criminals. We would not have expected the persons in charge of its construction to have any serious irregularities.

How can the BLP hope to lead this country with a track record of poor reasoning and bad judgment? If you cannot negotiate with the interests of everyday Barbadians at heart, then you cannot hope to govern them.

Still, what is done is done. We cannot change the course of history, we can only hope to improve our future. So, we look now to the Government of the day to bring us through yet another trial. We pray that it will have continued strength to carry on its good work.

34. @wiv

It seems that the other commentators were right, WIV is really Hartley Henry.

35. Again I say: these Bees find swallowing HH like eating a lead pipe without a Ju-C! It sticking in their craw. The truth is that HH has the BLP game plan in his back pocket. He has deftly exposed Arthur.

36. It has been said that Barbados because of its relatively strong economy was “graduated” from the category of countries eligible for loans at concessionary rates by the world bank etc. A “national security crises” occurs due to the destruction of prison and WIV recommends that the Government of the day should have gone cap in hand to our “international friends” for assistance!!! How long would it has taken to get a response from our “friends” to our plea for assistance? Why would the cost have been less? Ever heard of the saying “there is no free lunch.”

Why doesn’t the present administration now go to these same “international friends” and beg them for assistance in paying the debt for the prison? Why not go to CH2M HILL (the company that bought VECO) and negotiate a settlement over the arrangement. Something like a one off payment of $300 million and let them walk away from responsibility for the upkeep of the prison and all other involvement with the prison. Get a “soft” loan to cover this $300 million. According to WIV’s reasoning over next 25 years this arrangement (the principal plus interest plus the costs of maintaining the prison ) should be considerably less that the $749 million given by the Central Bank Governor.

Better yet apply this strategy and show the country how it would work it getting us a new hospital.

37. Back with you WIV/HH. I have had time to look closely at your latest offering. I heartily agree with you about reasoning and judgment. Let me help you point out more instances of these.

The 750m issue- if there was inappropriate approaches to this the auditor general’s report would have highlighted it. Has it? You need to check this before concluding it was faulty. Is there anywhere else where a country graduated from borrowing soft loans from international agencies can get loans at less than 10%? You may not have been aware, probably writing for the paper rather than reading the papers, that most soft loans are unavailable for countries with B’dos profile of growth and socio-eco. development. Barbados has had to borrow from the open market for last 10 years or so. Not understanding that probably led you to err in your judgment.

That was why with this crisis, Barbados had to beg back the World bank to allow them to get assistance. By the way those always come with IMF conditionalities – raise cost of utilities, cost of gov’t services , reduce gov’t spending, the things that DLp have complied with in the medium term strategy plan to get the $1.5b in the next 4 years. The damage will hit the Bajan public in May’s budget. I don’t know if the DLP did such a good job on negotiating these because this will impoverish thousands of Barbadians for quite some time, and really does not reflect good care of us. They should have had the foresight to apply to those more’ generous countries that have been helping us for years to get the loans on soft terms and EASIER CONDITIONALITIES. In hindsight 30 m per year out 3 billion dollars of gov’t revenue might be easier to bear. Do you agree with my reasoning?

I personally feel it has a tendency to reduce a country to being beggars. I subscribe to the views of our father of Independence who described some people as ‘ a society of mendicants’. I heard this charge made against the BLP in lead up to last election, that they were creating a nation of mendicants because of UDC and RDC that provide loans to small people – farmers; and build toilets for poor etc . I was therefore stunned that David Thompson administration started life with free bus fares and free camps, especially when there was no mass problem of thousands unable to go school becauseof money.A dedicated bus service and bus tickets for children with problems would have been more consistent with Barrows position and national pride.

To have followed this up with international begging ( World bank)shamed me, Wrapping yourself in the flag should not mean dragging it in the mud as you walk. Guess what DLP did, formed a group to go after philantrophic groups to build our hospital; begging the wealthy who visit Sandy Lane for contributions (if they volunteered on their own, fine), but I distinctly remember the PM outlining this as his policy for social growth; and now this, an international begging bowl to build a prison. PAY YOUR WAY suits us proud Bajans better. What do you thik HH is this poor judgment, faulty reasoning or incompetence not to have devised a better approach to solving our problems, take your pick.

Just between us HH, because you might not have heard, there is a rumor circulated around that it was alledged that you were charged with interfering with a police officer (female) in St. Kitts or St. Lucia and allegedly attempted the same to Dee Dee Myers. It would therefore be better to downplay the tactic about ‘the judgment in th ‘Veco choice to build a prison’, as the P.M. ‘s judgment in choosing you and his integrity in keeping you could be challenged for employing you as a political consultant with such allegations.

But think how lucky the PM is because he has time before the next elections, to correct these things before it becomes too widespread. Oops he has not shed Parris yet, so maybe HH you are still safe.

38. To True Bajan

The truth hurts, doesn’t it? Ouch!

39. I form st gorge sekundary shool and i no like wha unna say bout hartley. he went at da skool and i like he. stop kritesizing im. e is a brite fella. st gorge stewdents like me real brite. st gorge stewdunts mo briter dan horrorsuns stewdunce.

tank u for listunin.

40. WIV writes that “they” should have known better with regards to the prison contract. Little did we know that “they” included the present Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance, Senator Darcy Boyce.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/VECO–Edited-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER