Submitted by Douglas Phillips
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur

Mr. Owen Arthur, the Prime Minister of Barbados from 1994 until 2008, in his recent speeches has made comment on the present use by government of large contracting firms rather than the small man. At first thought it appears that Mr. Arthur is attempting to get easy political mileage at the expense of the present administration, but he went on to mention the name Mr. Mohammed Nassar and you realise that even Mr. Arthur would know that there is a limit to the number of times one man should be bailed out by the same economy.

Clearly the name he should have called was Mr. Barrack which experience we are sure Mr. Arthur would like to forget. It was Mr. Arthur’s administration which contracted with Mr. Barrack that has left the present administration with the fiasco which has been publicized so well. In retrospect Mr. Arthur’s regime in an effort to avoid more experiences like the Barrack one, started contracting with large contractors to build Sapphire Beach condominiums, that construction was completed last month at a a cost which was 1½% over the cost estimated when the contract was signed. The new Supreme Court complex and many others. Appointing large contractors was clearly a step in the right direction when you compare some of the other projects which the present administration inherited like the ABC Highway among many others.

No where in Mr. Arthur’s criticism of the present Administration does he mention the question of cost and whether the larger contractor can produce better value for the limited money which the Government has to spend; the question raised by Mr. Arthur is purely with whom the Government is contracting.

Following Mr. Arthur’s logic, it appears that the award of Government contracts is the distribution of Government largesse. Those days are done, Mr. Arthur. It is the stated intention of Government to keep the largest number of jobs available for the Barbadian work force so that is necessary to contract with persons who can perform the job at the cost agreed and so make the Government’s limited resources go further.

Mr. Arthur pointed out in his speech at the University the need for the Government to control wastage. Now in speeches of a more political nature, not two weeks later, he criticizes Government for following the trend which he, in his wisdom started, and which has proved successful.

76 responses to “Critiquing Owen Arthur’s View On Awarding Contracts”

1. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

This tooooo sweeeeet

DLP COLUMN: MPs [GP + WD +RT+ DM ] – [Mia] = Owen

The assembly of the Anti-Mia Order (AMO) was convened with George Payne, William Duguid, Ronald Toppin, Dale Marshall and Owen Arthur seated in the front row. The fact that George Payne was in the same room as Owen Arthur is an indication of politics of inclusion at work again. We acknowledge that once Owen was able to woo George Payne, he would get Dale Marshall as part of the package. The pact that has been agreed upon will seek to eliminate all public rancours among and between a select few men.

It is amazing how people can switch their loyalties and the battle has only gotten to the halfway mark.

The Barbados Labour Party branch meeting, held without the presence of its leader, is a clear sign of the times to come. Arthur has summoned his troops to his side as he mounts his campaign to further undermine her office, as she is obviously not offering leadership.

Mia had an early run around the country every other night nominating a slate of Mia candidates. She has lost even more of the little political capital that she brought with her into Opposition over the last year of political foul-ups, bleeps and blunders.

It is Owen’s turn to run around making his presence felt at meetings where potential candidates make their return speeches. This is typical Labour Party politics as they pretend to show an interest after two years have gone. But we have been reliably informed that the other half of the Symmonds dynasty is being urged to throw their hat in the ring.

The comments by Kerrie Symmonds, cheered on by the front row posse of Members of Parliament, are to set the tone for what else is to come. We warned that Owen was not going to sail into the sunset, despite requests from the Opposition Leader to do so. The obsession with power has so intoxicated the AMO that in the face of the recession the only light at the end of the tunnel is the return to power.

The political alignment of the male forces tells us that some have shed their deep animosity towards each other and a pact of the brotherhood is now in effect.

The problem, however, is that the female response cannot be led by Mia Mottley as she has offended one too many of her kind. Mia has found herself with the support of Cynthia Forde, whose political muscle is of no real value. Mia’s best option will lie in the embrace of the old guard. She will now have to look to the Millers and the Thompsons of the party to rally support for her leadership.

Kerrie’s dismissal from the Senate has now come back to bite her. The innuendo in his delivery fell short of calling her name, but we know what the Symmonds of politics give as we have had that experience.

We are convinced that Mia has a thing or two up her sleeve and we eagerly await her response. But be warned, Mia will not be allowed to serve out her term as Opposition leader. The AMO in the Barbados Labour Party is out to get her.

2. I now have a better grip on what David Thompson is trying to achieve for Barbados. I found his presentation quite sincere. He revealed something that I – maybe we – had forgotten – while our economy was growing, so were all the others in the Caribbean.

That doesn’t say much for Owen Arthur’s brilliance. Westmoreland and all the FDI et al started under the Dems. How did we forget all of this?

As to Ms. Mottley, he put her down so deftly on that point about their “philosophical” difference in relation to running a deficit. Adrian: You got to give it to him. That Cawmere brain is expansive and he has the goods.

I was riveted last night when he said, I give Barbadians one statistic to chew on: the biggest public sector project embarked on by this BLP in 14 years was building a prison for 1,000 inmates rather than invest in 20,000 young people who are not in prison.

$700 million plus.

Clico for him is about 1600 jobs! Why support only Four Seasons which is an “if” and close Clico which is here already? Logic all the way. A bird in hand…

Prison — crooks built it. BIDC building — crooks built it. 3S — crooks. LIB wants accontability and transparency on his blog?

When I read guys like Living in Barbados and Sylvan and those types, they’re lost. They should take a slow boat to Jamaica. They want me to listen to Owen Arthur because he is an economist? Come on, that got exploded last night.

I am in Thompson’s corner 100% after last night. He opened my eyes.

3. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Albert, the worse enemy of Muttley and Owing is the fact that people are finally seeing them for what they are the biggest bunch of crooks, vagabonds and low life ever cast onto the Barbadian people, the truth is hurting them at every step of the way they have no answers for the goodly Prime Minister the Hon David Thompson QC, they would rater people did not refer to the Prison Project, the 3 S Road Works Project or the HardWood Housing project or the IDC building or the $ 1 million dollar payment for TCP permission, or the statement from Hallam Nicholls that he is worth over $ 25 million and he would never work another day in his life, no, no, no that is not right forget those actions turn a new leaf.

4. @Albert:
    I have been reading Thompson for years. I had a brief falling out with him over the Mascoll affair. I was told then that I should trust Thompson, that what was eminating from Mascoall is not the truth. Trusting someone is always a hard thing for me to do. I questioned why Thompson was not hitting back at Mascoll. I have since learn that it is the nature of the man to give people, even his advisories an opportunity to right themselves. After Thompson reveal the inner communications and activities of Mascoll, I had no choice than to retract my previous position and comments on the matter.

Those people who don’t like to read the blogs, are never fully informed about the goings on in Barbados. What is occurring with Mia has been fortold, events predicted, and is not surprising to me as they come to fruition. Barbadians rejected her a long time ago all that is left is for the political class to follow.

Thompson may not “read” the blogs, but Thompson knows what is being said in Barbados and what is being said on the blogs. I contend that those of the political class who keep their feet on the ground and ears tuned to the voice of the Barbadian people will be rewarded in the end.

5. Grand standing and Lies

Certain people are good at it

Oistins 1st Jan. 2008- BLP CUT THE WIRES TO PA SYSTEM———BIG LIE

WHO TOLD THAT LIE ???
    More examples of lies later

6. My Name Is Not Sylvan.... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan….

Let’s talk about lies and consistency and CLICO….

When Mia first made noise about CLICO she was “being alarmist”, there was nothing wrong it was an irresponsible act by the Leader of the Opposition.

Then we heard about selling the company off….

Then we heard about government guarantees

Then we heard about how having sold the better parts of the group off the dross that they can’t give away is being placed under judicial management.

The rest of the Caribbean placed CLICO under judicial management MONTHS ago! All this time new policies have been written and Bajans are no clearer on whats happening. The godfather of the PM’s children has been unceremoniously fired and evicted from the house. Barbadian taxpayers are on the hook for a guarantee of we are not sure how much, there is a memorandum of understanding that has never been made public.

But still when Mia questioned it almost a year ago Thompy said “nothing for you to worry about….”

Let’s talk about consistency and who in this issue has the interests of the average Barbadian at heart and who doesn’t.

7. @My Name Is Not Sylvan….

Let us accept that you are correct this CLICO business cancels out GEMS. Do you remember the number of times Bajans were asking what was the GEMS debt. It made a whole minister walk out of a callin program. The more things change the more they remain the same.

8. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

huh ?? am seeing or reading correct ?

9. Ok. i am lost how people are so foolish. Dodd never cost 700 to build. 700 is final amortize price. when you add interest over 30 year period. Are out people so blind to see that. when you go to bank to get a loan to build a house of buy a house you have the price you pay. if you want to consider final price of what the mortgage would cost you can also have that to but they always quote you what they willing to lend and what is your monthly payment or biweekly. If you want to start quoting all government work as the amortize price let start with the 1.3 Billion in loan pm wants. That will leave over a 2.5 billion debt to Barbados.

10. I don’t know why Thompson waiting… he should put Clico under JM, close down the estates, close down the agricultural estates and the construction etc. Send home 1,600 tomorrow and done.

I woud love to hear that those same people brek Mia house and kidnal “I am not Sylvan” to send their children to school and feed their families.

Where is Clico under Judicial Management in the Caribbean?

11. Thompson got people fooled again. Thompson fooling people again –700 MILLION DOLARS ??? TO BUILD ??—-that is what people would be seeing

12. Mia didn’t deny it! I listened throughout the whole debate. In fact, the BLP sought to explain and defend it.

Was it the biggest BLP public sector project? Yes!

Wunna lost that one and Bajans vex as shite!

13. of course they sought to defend it. did they defend it rite. No they didn’t. was it the most expensive public work project. yes. no doubt. but the prison amortize cost only little more than 1/2 of what the pm want to borrow in 1 year 1.33 billions. this is on top of 100us millions bond they have to pay back this year after borrow last year. this bond is being replaces by a 200 million bond so the balance sheet don’t look to terrible.(you see commercial foreign investment at 200million look at amortize expenditure and foreign funding in this year budget ). how is this 1.3 billion going be used? we will have to pay back at some point . One can simple say given a 30 year rates on each of these loan they they will probably cost taxpayer 2 billion + The pm use of the amortize cost leaves openings to use it to against them in any major capital project. Just a poor case in all i think to distract people. Has the government started the 800 million overhaul of bwa as promised last year. It is part of the reason why water rates went up 60% we paying for it all now

14. You dont think water more important than a prison? Which got greater priority for you? Who you think should pay for our water? St. Lucians?

Dont forget where your argument started: David Thompson trying to fool people! How could you fool people with the truth?

You argument is a typical yardfowl show. But it aint got no substance – Thompson told the truth. You might not like it. But its true and the Bajan public got to “chew” on it for two more years!

15. Dah fuh lick ya. Cause wunna want licking!

16. well here some truth for you. i can tell you that the house cost 300,000 to build. the bank will loan you 300000 to build it. but finally cost after you paying for the house for 30 year be over 600000+ . So i cannot say today that the house worth 600000+ or or that is cost me 600000+ to build it cost me 300000 so to say it cost 700 million to build is as good as nonsense to any person with common sense. which you seem to lack. the 60% water increase was to help fund the 800 million upgrading of bwa. i not saying the blp or dlp ever took good care of bwa. it probably worst kept ministry. but at least we saw what the money for the prison built , money for gaia built the new judicial center. it they overprice if another argument. just wonder when the over haul can start so we can see what we paying the extra 60% for. after all it speculated over 50% of water is loss thru the main network.

17. JC // March 18, 2010 at 10:17 AM

NOT MANY!!!!

THESE phuckin PEOPLE WANT LOCKING UP!

My faminly would be locked up for things one can say that is trvial!

WHY GEORGE PAYNE AINT IN JAIL!

This is not right!
    —————————————————-
    At least you have a PRISON!
    What everyone forgets is that that the felons burnt the prison down
    Where you gonna put all these crooks and tiefs?
    If yuh borrow money yuh havfta pay it back so quit whinging DLP

18. So the cost of the prison is $200,000,000. And the cost of financing it is $500,000,000. That is $700 million.

What did David Thompson say? That the largest public sector project by the BLP is a prison which will cost the taxpayers of Barbados $700 million. He said project not building. And he certainly never said the cost of building it.

I heard him say that his daughter will still be paying for it when she is 44.

anthony, we know you half-bright. But you aint brighter than David Thompson. The prison will cost $700 million. That is a fact.

The conclusion: you shame!

19. anthony, we know you half-bright.
    ————————————————-

Better than been none bright
    Antony was quite correct in his analogy .
    Yu’all been born with money coming out yuh ear holes and never had to lend any or yu ‘all is as naive as new born babes.
    Lend money and it costs.
    Thats how banks do business.

20. Hello Webmaster,

I am webmaster of Silk Flowers and Silk Plants websites; I’ve found your website information (http://bajan.wordpress.com/ ) and advice to be a very good fit for our visitors so could you please give us the best price for a site wide link on your esteemed website for a period of half and 1 Year? We will make payments Via PayPal so if interested, please mention your PayPal id.

If we are happy with your price, then we will send you the Link details that you can place on your website and we will make the payments to the PayPal id provided by you.

Regards,
    Peter Freeman
    nearlynatural@gmail.com

21. Disillusioned Civil Servant Avatar
    Disillusioned Civil Servant

Government gave $10 mil to Clico, $700 mil in a prison for criminals etc, many spent on week-end parties but yet would come and tell its civil servants, it cannot afford to give them an increase. they gave us an 8% pay cut after regrading them and their friends’ jobs in 1990 (many of them bought cars with their back pay) now the same DLP is telling us there is a wage freeze. who the hell do they think we are? that is why when civil servants act like the devil may care, people should not complain. we have to go to the same supermarkets as they, pay the same bills and the PM would choose to give the BWA and Light & Power permission for an increase yet we have to live off a salary that was increase 2 years ago and at that time it was still less than how much the economy had increased by. this is a one term government. not that you want the damn BLP. for heavean’s sake can’t some brilliant group be formed to deliver us? my gosh, this is getting horrible.

22. Disillusioned civil servant

Why the ***** you don’t get up and do some work instead of barely giving a 2 or 3 hours productivity reading newspapers,coming to work very late,leaving very early etc.

This is pure BLP rubbish from a BLP operative.

When supersession in the public service was taking place under O wen,we heard not a word from you and yours.

Big steupse.

23. Disillusioned Civil Servant Avatar

@ Anonymous,
    I am one of those who does not read the newspaper at work, i get to work around 7 -7:30 a.m. eat my breakfast. start work at 8:30 leave at 4:30 but usually 6:00 p.m. yes it is rubbish to you but not to me. i am liable to fall into that pattern you spoke about but can’t – i was taught better. however your sentiments, i believe is the sentiment of even those in authority who take no time to see the hard work we put in – no wonder we can’t get the salary increase that we deserve. i do not blame you for your infantile and infinitesimal statement, it’s not expected that a bajan would choose to see the entire picture. hahahahahahahah sad me – lost before i began

24. Disillusioned Civil Servant ,

You sound just like thieffing Owen Arthur……pleading guilty before the police reach his door ! But such tactics won’t work this time.

He can keep away from Parliament as much as like……we know how to expose the other cheques……which are much larger than ones publicly disclosed thus far !

25. Disillusioned Civil Servant Avatar

@ Anonymous,

Don’t talk about supercession, i see it all around me but who cares enough to do something about it? it’s always talk. PAD is the head place that does this. what can we do that we are not already doing? i am leaving as soon as my studies are done – i’ve had enough. i’ve seen people with less qualifications than me, perform poor work, yet are promoted because of their political affiliation or who they know. i’ve witnessed people attending interviews to answer questions that has nothing to do with the job because the top man has the job for one particular person, who will also be at the interview. i’ve witnessed very bad reports done on people so that they would not get promoted and they not even know about it. i’ve seen bosses write glowing reports on someone who has applied for a higher post and witnessed that same boss call the Dept to which the person applied, to inform the powers that be to ignore a report coming to them with their signature as they wrote it under duress – obviously the person was never called for the interview. i’ve seen people go to interviews for one job and questioned about another of which they know nothing about and failed the interview obviously. i’ve seen people miserably failed interviews and still get the job, even jumping over people who trained them. i see it everyday, yet who cares to change it? or who dares to change it?

26. Disillusioned Civil Servant Avatar

@LOVE

You must be dreaming – which police will charge Arthur? puleeeeeeesssse. there is not a crooked politician in Barbados who will ever spend time in jail. the DLP came in breathing fire and steel yet nothing has ever or will ever be done in the issue with Hardwood but people put their monies there and what? it took $700 mil to build the prison – really! there are so many, many missing monies not accounted for and no government in Barbados will put anyone in prison – never, because they know that they would want the opportunity to get rich quick too from the pockets of Barbadians and not spend a day at Dodds. Dream on – yes Dream on