The news that Adidja ‘Vybz Kartel’ Palmer’s is scheduled to perform in Barbados since his release from prison has been confirmed for 2025 according to local media reports. The blogmaster’s opinion posted in 2010, almost 14 years ago remains the same. If anything the social landscape has deteriorated to the point that lends greater support to BU’s position (see 2010 blog below).

It seems Barbados is happy to drift where popular culture wants to take it and our leaders are too yellow bellied to make a stand. The reality is that dancehall music has been determined to have a negative impact on society; it is not the only factor but it is one. Leaders in the room have a responsible to push back. It should be instructive other countries in the region have the courage to say no with the goal to protect our children. Why the hell should we allow entertainment promoters whose goal is to make money to lead on matters of this kind? Vybe Kartel has a reputation of spouting the filtiest lyrics in the art form. Check “freaky girl part 2′ and ‘Come breed me’.

The blogmaster has no fear in repeating the call posted in this space in 2010 – Vybz Kartel and all the smutty dancehall artistes, stay the hell out of Barbados!

2010 BU blog – Movado And Vybz Kartel Should Be Told; Stay The Hell Out Of Barbados!

The Barbados Youth Action Programme, a Government affiliate under the chairmanship of Member of Parliament Hamilton Lashley, has scheduled performances of the Jamaican duo Movado and Vybz Kartel [SIC] for a reggae show on March 27 at the Midway House carpark, Bay Street, The City according to the Nation newspaper. The quote is instructive to shed some clarity on the current debate in Barbados about whether Movado and Vybz Kartel  should be allowed to perform in Barbados.

Another quote which is instructive is extracted from the Jamaican Gleaner newspaper of the weekend: Olivia Grange, minister of youth, sports and culture, responding to this latest saga in dancehall, said: “I am concerned and I have expressed concern about the content in some dancehall songs. I believe strongly in freedom of expression, but that comes with great responsibility. We can do without some of the lyrics, not only in dancehall recordings, but soca and hip hop too, and that is why we took steps to clean up the airwaves. This is an ongoing process.

We have two contrasting positions, a naive member of parliament Hamilton Lashley who believes adding Movado and Vybz Kartel to the entertainment mix of Barbados will help the youth of Barbados to reject violent behaviour. Bear in mind the two dancehall artists have developed a reputation built on violence and smutty lyrics in Jamaica, although the much publicised peace treaty has been getting a lot of air play.  The view expressed by Grange, the minister of youth tells a story of an embattled Jamaica currently battling with the negatives of the dancehall culture.

In light of Barbados’ current challenge with tackling deviant behaviour in the wider society and particularly among the youth, it seems a no-brainer to BU that as a country we should take a deep breath, take a step back and tell the Jamaican dancehall duo to stay the hell away from Barbados at this time. Of concern is the fact Commissioner Darwin Dottin who is responsible for maintaining law and order in Barbados has expressed distaste at the staging of the reggae show which has been dubbed a peace concert. Clearly a public relations scam by the promoters of the show to deflect the criticism by many who are concerned about the gaza gully conflict which  Movado and Vybz Kartel have been embroiled in Jamaica. Yes the gaza gully conflict is relevant to the Jamaican culture but who cares, it is what the two dancehall artists represent, crime and violence!

Minister of Education Ronald Jones has also publically expressed his displeasure at the staging of the show. It was only last week Jones held a meeting with principals of our schools to map an approach to stamping out deviant behaviour in Barbados. It is therefore very surprising that the promoter continues to advise Barbados the show is still on. By whose authority?

Part of the problem in Barbados has been our willingness to be politically correct. There is the argument proffered by Wickham et al, the liberals, that in a CSME arrangement Barbados would be violating the spirit of such an arrangement. It seems that there is an acceptance that if the balance of payment situation is threatened; Barbados has the ‘out’ to implement policies contrary to the economic and partnership agreements. However on the flipside if Barbados feels that its moral positioning is being threatened, we have to sit with our hands between the legs and do nothing.

There is great interest being shown by many to see how this matter will play-out. If the show goes forward it becomes a slap in the faces of Commissioner Dottin and Minister Jones. It does nothing for how these two important figureheads in our society would be perceived by Barbadians. Already the two are battling beleaguered positions.

BU is aware that Prime Minister David Thompson and family are fans of dancehall and there is nothing wrong with them liking this genre of music. In this case we believe the banning of  Movado and Vybz Kartel by the Barbados authorities given what they represent becomes a symbolic gesture which sends the message, this is our society and we intend to fight back. Obviously one single act will not do it but in light of the many weeds and cracks which have started to appear on our lawn; we have to fight back.

Yes the deviance must be tackled in the homes but guess what, we have many children who don’t live in homes. This means the government by proxy must play the role as step-father, or stepmother for that matter.

185 responses to “Update: Movado And Vybz Kartel – Stay the hell out of Barbados!”

1. Some (but not all) Politicians have wised up to the fact that they need youth ambassadors that children relate to be able to reach out and advise the children with positive messages. Market Research has identified popular artists such local rappers etc should be recruited as the ideal role models.

2. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

Unlike you, David, I fear the day when the Government as step-mother or Big Brother will decide what we listen to, what we read, what we can say…1984 all over again!

3. @jeff

In the prevailing circumstance what measures do you advocate to take back our society from sinking to the bottom of the moral less pit??

4. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

Is that an accurate description of Barbadian society -moral (less)? I do concede that we are having difficulty with some elements and that those difficulties are more publicised than ever before -for obvious reasons- but we have already devised laws for good order and governance: we need to enforce them.

I am not as perturbed as you clearly are at the sexual exploits of the young and healthy. Much of the condemnation here is self-righteous envy by adults who do the same things, mostly under cover.

Do we really think we can just ban every “bad” influence away in the internet age? That the absence of these two artistes will make our society a better one?

5. I agree those two bad apples should not be allowed to perform. We have to start taking the youth back from guys like these. Some people have to be protected from themselves.

6. @jeff

Yours is a view and yes the age of the Internet gives immediacy and spontaneity to information dissemination. What is missing from the equation is the fear which many wrong doers have for authority figures etc. That is the scary part.

Yes the ills of our society are being manifested via the youth but we know it is symptomatic of something bigger.

Where do we start?

Just enforcing laws is not the solution is it.

Hell maybe you are correct but there is no harm to our society debating the pros and cons.

7. most kids go to concerts to pose and look at each other
    the artists only come on for about 20 minutes per set

8. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

I agree, David, we both/all want the best for our native land and we must debate in order to reach that.

It’s just that I have an inherent distaste for the idea of banning people because they are not to our liking or hold views different to ours. Should we on this basis ban Pat Robertson, ban Raul Castro, ban… ?

9. @jeff

Don’t know if ban is the right word, probably more a ‘not now, maybe letter.

Seriously Barbados is in a place which it is uncomfortable and hitherto have taken the idea of maintaining the stability brand for granted much like how the WIBC believe we would dominate forever.

10. My question about this concert has nothing to do with the artistes per se.

I am informed that the event on the Friday..starts at 10.00 am and finishes about 1.00pm.

Will the schools be on holiday then…if not…is this something that is sanctioned by the Ministry of Education, in terms of taking the children out of school.

Is this a repeat of the Edwin Yearwood type concert a few years back when some of the school population were ushered into the gymnaisum for a show to support” reading”.

Really!!!!!!! And we are all educated etc.etc..

11. Schools go on vacation,March 24.

12. Thanks fairplay..then what are we talking about…Is there organised transportation therefore to get the school children to event on Friday….
    These guys are entertainers fullstop!!!! Nothing more ..nothing less.
    Please dont try to make them into philantropists..they are not..there is still animosity in their home town among them and their fans!!!
    Stop telliing the Barbadian public foolishness about message of peace and love…the guys are performing on the saturday for whosoever will may come..that’s why they are here….

13. p.s. tickets will be overpriced
    It is massive money industry
    ** Warning Adult Content **
    Stop Snitchin Stop Lyin pt 2

14. These Guys were at ‘war’ all the time, making money form the youth regardless to what their music does to the people, until European countries ban them, them bans really hit their pocket, now all of a sudden they know the value of peace.

I personally think they should be ban until dance hall music is not so violent.

15. I am in total agreement with the powers that be in banning these two lyrical perverts who glamourize illicit sex and violence through their music, in reading some of these lyrics I am disgusted and ashamed that parents has these lyrics playing @home, ringtones, parties etc DO NOT LET THEM OR ANYONE ELSE OF THIS ILK COME TO OUR SHORES

16. D of BU
    I had a link
    that looks
    /18-and-over/

17. D of BU
    had a link
    18-and-over
    disappeared
    up the bum[*]
    [*]=techie term

18. The problem is that Barbadian parents are failing their children.

The problem in Barbados is bad parenting.

Prehaps the state is now forced to ban some negative influences
    because of the failure of parents to “control” their own children.

19. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

WHY ?????

20. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

The problem in Barbados is bad parenting.

———————————————————–
    WRONG !!!!

The problem is that the SCHOOLS HAVE FAILED-
    The schools need to teach
    Women have taken over the schools
    and that is where the problem lies
    Women are not up to it
    SIMPLE !!

21. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

Is it really true that Government cannot say what we should or should not listen to? in the USA hate speech legislation prevents the inciting of violence against gays or minorities I believe. The Barbadian Government cannot dictate what you listen to or watch in your homes BUT the same way we would not allow a “blue movie” to be shown at the globe or the Olympus then the Government can state that they will not allow these performers to hold a PUBLIC show here. That is the key a “public show”. By the same token Government can dictate that individual songs by these artistes that incite violence or are misogynistic cannot be played on any radio stations even after editing. That is what the Jamaicans did with the “daggering” songs. Even after the cursing or overtly sexual words are edited out the theme of the song remains and is easily discernible.

It is true that the PSVs , radio stations or music are entirely responsible for societal decline but they contribute and if we can clean them up little by little it helps. Jamaican artistes can no longer sing anti-homosexual lyrics with impunity so they have turned increasingly to violence and misogyny. The same way that the US and EU have brought about that change by drying up the markets for those performers who espouse violent homophobic lyrics we can do the same with random violence and misogyny. These artistes are in it only for the money. if there are no lucrative shows in the Caribbean and no airplay to drive mainstream popularity for these songs then the trend will die. Reggae and dancehall music are much bigger than daggering and violence. We have been tolerant for a long time so that singers who were raunchy or rude or gangster with some of their material still got a pass. the thing is that artistes kept pushing the envelope until we have gotten to a point far beyond anything before.

Mavado, Kartel and Aidonia are simply pervasive. Its not just a word or a line. Its song after song. Its an entire body of work reeking with violence an disdain for women. Its one thing for an adult with a strong mind to listen to those songs. That is his choice and should never be infringed on. Allowing them in the public domain where they can be accessed by young and impressionable minds is entirely another matter. Never mind what the radio stations and DJ’s say either if it makes them a buck and it is permitted then they will gladly do it. The next step is not to permit it.

I know people will say that with easier access to technology young and impressionable minds will still access the music but it is a lot harder to access without the mainstream marketing push which comes from heavy rotation on radio. Is it any surprise that the increase in access to this type of music comes after the ascendancy of the clash DJ’s to the popular radio stations? This type of music was always there but never in this volume, intensity and never readily accessible to the mainstream. DJ’s in the dubs always had this type of music but those DJ’s never had mainstream radio access. Never mind how they polish themselves for radio they are dub DJ’s and they will play what they play in the dubs and shows on the radio. Even when it is edited the message is still there. Should we continue to allow it to be sent? That is the question.

22. Everyone is forgetting CSME ya know! Even IF the Minister and COP would like to call a halt to these artistes they cannot do it!

Can someone correct me if I am wrong?

23. JC, you are wrong, what if CSME call also to have us all Bajan put out of Barbados are you going to settle for that to. Barbados is a island/country govern by laws so we can band and stop who we want to.

24. It’s strange to take a stand against an artist by not letting them into a country.
    This is business not politics. And fashion not politics. Australia did it to Snoop
    Dogg on MTV Awards.

25. JC, CSME does not imply, mean nor insinuate free reign for all those who think they should be able to do as they please.

26. It seems to me that the government has been banning
    just about anything on daily basis. A few months ago
    it was the clothes people wore to go into a certain
    government building to get personnel information. Not so long it is the children to be banned from riding on the ZR. Now it is the muiscian. This is a dangerous predecent and it must be stopped. One day Barbadians would wake up and find they have no rights. It just take a ripple to make a wave.
    The parents must take full control of they children and stop waiting for the government to do it for them.

27. @ ac
    true
    ✘✘✘

28. this is way off topic, but can someone please define what a “yard-fowl”, “yardfowl” is please. i have seen the term used before on this and another blog

29. 1. facety 99 up, 12 down love it hate it

buy facety mugs, tshirts and magnets
    Jamaican slang for someone being cheeky, rude or out of order. Commonly used by black people in urban areas of UK, in early 1960’s onwards. Now adopted by the various cultures (youth) of those areas, as much of Jamaican slang has now been.
    Jamaican: “Bwoy yu sa facety!”
    English: “Na man, you’re facety!”

30. We live in a decaying age. Young people no longer respect their parents. They are rude and impatient. They frequently inhabit taverns and have no self-control.” These words – expressing the all-too-familiar contemporary condemnation of young people – were actually inscribed on a 6,000-year-old Egyptian tomb.

Later, in the fourth century BC, Plato was heard to remark: “What is happening to our young people? They disrespect their elders, they disobey their parents. They ignore the law. They riot in the streets, inflamed with wild notions. Their morals are decaying. What is to become of them?”

And then, a few hundred years later, in AD1274, Peter the Hermit joined the chorus. “The young people of today think of nothing but themselves. They have no reverence for parents or old age. They are impatient of all restraint … As for the girls, they are forward, immodest and unladylike in speech, behaviour and dress.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2009/mar/17/ephebiphobia-young-people-mosquito

31. Nuttin’ Nuh Go So 22 up, 1 down love it hate it

buy nuttin’ nuh go so mugs, tshirts and magnets
    1) A Jamaican patois of: “Nothing goes the way you say it goes.”

2) A phrase used to say, “Stop talking B.S.”

32. Are we now living in a nanny state? Parents are soley responsible for the moral upbringing of their children. Parents cannot want to sub-contract their responsibility to the state. I am no fan of Kartel or Mavado but rather than ban them the promoter could then insist that the lyrics performed should be fit for airplay. We in Barbados need to get off of our moral high horse because the’ wuk up culture’ during crop over is no sunday mass. Calypsonians have song as much dirty lyrics as some of these arist. When Kitchner sang ‘my pussin’ we know what he was talking about.When roaring lion sang ‘Netty Netty give me the ting we you have in you belly’ that leaves nothing to the imagination and that was in the 1940s.and dont even talk about sparrow reportoire( saltfish, congoman, big bamboo, etc).Let the people decide not the government.If these two artist continues to turn off people by their virulent lyrics then vote with your feet. Hit them in the pocket. Everybody understand the power of the mighty dollar more so if it is the green back.

33. Parents and the State must work together to protect the youth and this country we call home. Those two dope heads are bad any way you look at it. We have enough local crap, no need for more. Just because they were here before means notrhing. The longest day has to end! Enough is enough! We need leaders with the balls to do what is best for the country.

34. De young people always bad and de ol days always better………….stupsssssssseeeeeeee.
    AL’s post saying that to me very loudly …throughout the ages , the young people have always been said to be wayward and going downhill . I’ve seen the Micro Minis worn back in the day and they don’t look like no ‘Sunday ‘ wear to me .
    I sure when the late Teddy Pendagrass had women throwing their under garments on stage he was thougth to be lowering public morals too
    I guess the young people have raised themselves.

Why don’t we get out of bed with China and the US . China has a terrible human rights record….people actually die from their behaviour . The US blow you up if you don’t do as they say . Yet there is no public out cry about these associations .
    Young people and others see this type of double standard operating all the time and then are expected to respect authority or our leaders……..stuppppseeee.

We talk about money laundering and lock up the small time pushers. When we know the real movers and shakers in the drug business have to be much much higher up.
    We talk about de young people but de big able adults in church fornicating , committing incest , bulling and all manner of things buttt………um is de young people .
    Ya got some people that always listening to gospel and crying down any loud music or wukking up and is de wickedest f’ing people ya could ever come across.

All this may sound a lil disjointed but I think you guys get the gist of what I am trying to say. I have to get my beauty sleep but I still wanted to make a comment.

35. I find that DOTTIN seems to have a problem with young people music. DOTTIN like he is a relic of the colonial past, a conservative, a danger and constant reminder that the conservatives are gaining ground.
    Soon they goin ban yuh from walking or congregating on public streets after 9 pm

36. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

ANON @11.38 WAS I and I

——————
    Listen to me people -Owen ARTHUR is the best thing since slice bread,

I love Owen Arthur so bad then !!
    I love the short man
    The man is a boss
    The man bring this country from ROCK BOTTOM
    and will have to do it again cause this Government IN POWER right now is SHITE !!! pure SHITE !!!!—
    MORE GWINE FOLLOW PETER ! IT START !

37. I feeling your vibed FIRE. I feel that the short man going to tek out the big woman. Just wait and see! The short man’s problem was that he started to loose site of the lower classes. Next election will be nuff fire. Hammy Lah can get Movado and Vybz Kartel to sing an election jingle for him!

38. The PM at dub fetes with known ‘pusher’ men.
    Owen have children older than the separation time from his ex-wife.
    Mia getting ‘big up’ and shout outs in Lava Ground, smoking weed in Chapman Lane.
    Police kidnap a carwasher and use him as target practice..no jail.
    Police beat guys coming from cricket, caught on film, no jail.
    Police shoot girl in head ‘accidentally’, not a word or a red cent to the family.
    Politician take away old woman land, build house for deputy.
    Police driving WRX , RunX, Mitsubishi EVO at 180 kph at night racing, no reports.
    DPP send Police to collect rent from tenant.
    ‘Pastor’Jippy Doyle in jail for rape.
    Lawyers stealing old people money. nobody lock up.

This list goes on and on, yet everyone ask…how de youth get so.
    It is because they are not blind and they see the hypocrisy of our democracy.
    A singer says….dem tired ah de fuckery and we fed up from bout ’95…

@Illuminator… and Zion

I could shake your hands.

39. BU is currently experiencing technical difficulties and no new blog would have been posted.

40. Regardless of what you say, what is available for children to consume should be monitored, children must be saved from their self, But if we going to ban the current ‘role models’ that the children love you got to replace them with some one worthy,

Or you could work with the roll models to push the youth in the right direction. I suspect if Kartel or Mavado was to walk into ANY school, unexpected with Dottin and the head teacher on the other side ALL the students would listen to the artist over the head teacher and dottin. ALL

Kartel and Mavado has more control over the youth of the region than all the headteachers combined. We could harness this influence to get what we want, or we could resist.

Reminds me of the pied pipper story.

41. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

@Zion, there is no calypsonian that is as misoggynistic or as violent as Kartel and Mavado

“Squeeze her breast like the trigger of me gun
    fuck her hard back way til she come”

“tek buddy gal tink me easy”
    2 backshots that a fa de what not”

“Gal me will fuck ya backway til yuh pussy jaws cramp”

“Kill them all Kill them all and done; Boy head lie pun de fucking ground”

“She say please Mr. please
    Thats how she cry when de tits get squeeze
    and me put her to sit down pun de long cock”

Those are just one or two lines from 4 or 5 songs that i can remember offhand. multiply those sentiments or themes for 3 verses and then 40 or 50 songs per artiste and you are left with a body of work so pervasive that neither artiste should be allowed to perform. I am also pretty sure that charges were laid following a melee when one of them was here last year or year before. If my memory serves me correctly it involved supporters of one group attacking the artistes group or something like that.

I am pretty liberal. I don’t advocate banning willy nilly but you have to dictate what you allow publicly for consumption. its a sad day when we can protect blatant and violent misogenistic themes under the guise of free speech. Lets not get like the Americans and be so politically correct that we lose sight of common sense .

42. Anonymous // March 16, 2010 at 5:27 PM

JC, CSME does not imply, mean nor insinuate free reign for all those who think they should be able to do as they please.

I was just asking Anon ……. don’t get all your panties in a bunch! Another thing wannah realise that the people still coming!!!!!!! Things that make you go hmmmmmm

As usual BT I got your back AGAIN! Look BT we like we have a lot in common GP like he better watch heself!!!!! Not fah trut! LOLOLOL

43. I really din plan to write so much , but look, if u ban movado and vybes cartel from coming here, it will be like burning joan of arc, u creating a quasi martyrdom for these kids to worship, its easy for kids to get the music online anyway ? so they will hear it on their cell phones etcetc…anyhow look and see who going to the show anyway , is its 16 year old kids ? no it is adults and and parents of the said same kids who hear thier parents listening to movado and vybes and bounty etcetc..and got de same ring tones….so how banning dem from coming gine help ? it may help for a weekend , but who like de gazza gine still like de gazza and who like de gully will still like de gully…by de way Jamaica has been popularized as this war zone, it is not and there are elements of the jamaican society who want to stamp out de foolishness too…

anyway all dat to say this, lets address de root problem of our societal issues , which are but not limited to

1 a move away from God and his teachings
    2 a permeation of our society by the north american way of life (price of progrees ?)
    3 an change in the population demographic of a larger middle class (more crabs in dat barrel )
    4 re# 3 less parenting cause people looking for money to pay dey big azz mortgage and car loan to keep up wid de joneses
    5. a change in the employment demographic where people work longer ie into their seventies , thus there is a lacking of the extended family to teach and care for the youth.
    6. The woman’s role as a caretaker (guh long share de licks) has changed, they ain home tekking care of de children nuh more dem out wukkin and mekkin money too ! so everybody educated, everybody chasing paper, everybody is de same now, but tekkin care of de poor children ?
    (let me answer dat , vybes cartel, de internet, and playstation/xbox360 dah is who)
    7 the failure of MEN in this society to provide good role models for young boys( it ain girls dese shows shooting each other)
    i can go on…

Hope nobody ain vex cause does type me bajan.

44. ''''''FIRE'''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE”””

ISLANDER
    Yuh safe
    you care who get vex

I endorse the part about women

45. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

I endorse all that Islander but I still feel limiting access and availability of the music will help. I can remember songs and riddims that were huge in Jamaica but never really made it over here because they were out around cropover and didn’t get the airplay. Airplay drives popularity.

46. Bad Man Saying Nuttin Avatar
    Bad Man Saying Nuttin

2. they were her before but they never perform together. Wait til that show get hype.

47. @Islander

Yuh know why us woman out there wukkin and mekkin money is because de men has failed to do their loyal duty in supporting de home. Instead de luv running around in de big fancy car and having nuf woman. The men share a big part in de problem wid de children .Too many fatherless children.Mummy as to play dual roles.

48. Agreed Islander.