Submitted by Looking Glass

Principal of UWI, Cave Hill

There is nothing wrong with a public debate on education, but it should not be fired by the administrator public critique of the professor. University decorum dictates that staff-teacher problems be dealt with internally not in public. For Hilary to openly characterize Professor Howard’s suggestion as an “anti-intellectual knee-jerk reaction,” is unethical and distasteful. Is etiquette/decorum no longer part of the learning process?

Hilary is at best an administrator not an educator or economist. To describe him as an ‘intellectual’ probably requires definition. Economics, unlike chemistry or physics is a speculative discipline. Different circumstances require different approaches. As such analyses should be conducted within the resource capability of the country, not the purely philosophical or theoretical arena.

We are and have been producing a product for which there is no market, developing skills for which there is meagre demand. Cave Hill can be likened to a cloning institution, cultivating students according to established tradition and philosophy, which today runs counter to the demands of the country. The degree does not give decisive advantage in occupational competition where the supply is far greater than the demand. It does not follow that greater output of secondary students will lead to greater demand for entry, or that they all wish to attend. For some Cave Hill may be a “parking venue,” an alternative to unemployment.

Hilary claims the “recommendations if implemented would close the door on many working class families who produce 80% of Cave Hill student intake.” His approach is quantitative rather than qualitative, distributive rather than developmental. The goal appears to be one of generalized mass mobility. Sorry sir, free tertiary education is not a divine right for all and sundry. The emphasis should be on quality not quantity. Education should be a mark/work of distinction not a right of passage. Given the kind of education, the state of the economy, and the utterances of some lettered souls the system of mass education can be judged a failure. The theoretical benefits of education bear a diminishing positive relationship to reality when the economy and total population is considered.

Ours is a commercial economy with hardly an export based sector and highly dependant on fickle tourism; one in which mass or diverse production is not readily viable. Having borrowed to pay salaries and pensions we must now sell the remaining shares in the profitable Bank we once owned to support the one remaining publicly owned hospital. Given the current economic position—horrendous debt to GDP ratio and other deficits— and the long term prognosis, we can ill afford to continue to produce graduates (especial social sciences) for which there is no demand. The oversupply of graduates unable to find work at levels and remuneration appropriate to their ‘skills’ invites socio-economic tension and conflict at the individual and collective levels. This is likely to manifest in terms of attitudes and behaviour at the individual and political level.

Professor Howard has a point. Cost cutting and spending cuts are necessary just to keep the ship afloat. It makes sense to limit the inflow of students at this time, moreso given the extant diminishing returns to education and the demands of the country. To have professors willing to move beyond the boundaries of pure theory is indeed a blessing. They should be complimented not ridiculed. The knee-jerk reaction belongs to Hilary not professor Howard.

Is Cave Hill obliged to remain bound to a utilitarian ethical monism? If so then both faculty and students are expected to remain academically passive while at the feet of the master. It is a luxury we can ill afford. For both the individual and country investment in education will continue to experience diminishing returns. “If he (the administrator) is indeed wise he does not bid you (staff or students) enter his house of wisdom, but rather leads you to the threshold of your own mind…the vision of one man lends not its wings to another man.” (The prophet p56)

Cave Hill should foster and encourage creativity, divergent thinking, independent decision making and originality in problem solving instead of textbook regurgitation; originality instead rigidity in dealing with divergent matters. The graduate should have learnt to question and enquire, to exercise relevant moral and intellectual judgement, and to be critical of existing mores and methods. Otherwise the institution of tomorrow will remain a monotonic extension of yesteryear. Has Hilary taken on an issue beyond the scope of his competence?

We need changes in substance and structure not physical plant. We need applied policy research to better understand vexing policies and to disseminate real knowledge about the nation. Very little is known about our hotel industry, demographics, the labour market, land use…Such knowledge is an essential prerequisite for effective government planning and policy. We need a department, and or Think Tank, for policy analysis and socio-economic research, from which to make recommendations and an up-to-date library.

29 responses to “Education: Quality Not Quantity”

1. Good points as usual looking glass.

I hope that the P.M. will cut some fat off from that UWI budget and bring ‘the administrator’ hilary beckles back down to earth.

2. ''''''FIRE''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE””’

This article /post is bare SHITE !!!!!!!
    Developing people aint nothing to do with market.
    How did the primary and secondary school developed and why ? We aint get no way yet and wunna so want to return to the phucking dark ages.

go ahead Hilary
    don’t mind the jerkers !–too blind to see
    everything yuh try to do in Barbados , some jack-ass clown does want to play a phucking know-it all- and shoot um down

3. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

I am shocked that the writer of this article would devote such time to spew out the nonsense that is contained therein. It is a senseless, thoughtless, piece of crap. It does not matter if you support one side or the other, or indeed you have an independent voice; but the be so damning in an area where your ignorance appears to surpass your stupidity is incredulous. Maybe it is about time that you stop pretending that you are otherwise more than a silly strife maker. Hilary is at best an administrator … not an educator. O, please, go squirm in the mess that your fingers penned without engaging the brain.

4. Not all “anonymous” are the same. Prof, Beckles by any objective measure has been the most productive Barbadian historian to date. His list of accepted peer reviewed papers and books is impressive by any standard.

5. @ Looking Glass

Your post has its merits, but I feel that is was poorly structured and appears contradictory.

There can be quality and quantity!!!! This can be achieved if the elements of critical and divergent thinking, creativity etc (as posited by you) are incorporated into the curriculum including the Social Sciences.

To suggest that social sciences degrees are useless because there are incongruous with what the local market requires is a porous argument. The undergraduate degree is but merely a stepping stone to many students’ true intent–a postgraduate degree or professional qualification–a majority of which are done outside the UWI system and are fast becoming the new must have.

Moreover, persons are forced to enroll in social sciences because tertiary level education in Barbados is too limited. There is a dire need for degree level applied technology, sciences and arts programmes in Barbados. What is being offered by the SJPP and BCC are simply not enough, and that is manifested in the number of graduates from these institutions who end up enrolled at UWI.

In ending I pose these questions:

How many students are full-time employees and part-time students?

How many of the full-time students move on to postgraduate degrees and professional programmes such as ACCA, CGA, CFA etc?

Is it not better to be studying for a degree rather than sitting at home unemployed?

6. Five required steps to make the education system work.
    (building on the looking glass comment)

It is my opinion that the education system has changed very little from inception, even though the working world is developing at a very fast pace.

This is unacceptable, the way in which the world processes information now is drastically different to pre-internet times, therefore the way we teach must take into account those changes so that students can easily progress from school life to work life. I believe the most cost effective place to initiate the change is in secondary schools, our students have become very efficient at answering different variations of the same questions but not so good at team work or critical thinking. the following steps if implemented are enough to bring the education system up to the required level.

1:Students should be able to access work done by previous students so that they can build on what the class before has done, that way they can seak out the senior students and get help from students and not only teachers, building a teamwork atmosphare. The projects should be made available as reference from the school libraries for as long as the students involved are enrolled.

2:Subjects should be taught in an inter-dependent way, the view that woodwork has noting to do with chemistry or mathematics is separated from physics was never true and should be changed. School projects should be such that the same group projects should be able to be entered to different teachers eg. a information technology project could also be entered into social studies because the IT teacher would be looking at the way in which the project is put together using certain computer programs, while the social studies teachers would look at the content. This arrangement would benefit everyone by getting more done for less. All subjects can be integrated in one way or another.

3:Let the students have a say in the way in which they are thought, if the student thinks they have a better way to teach art have them do a case study for social studies about the effects their way of teaching art would have, and if it sounds good implement it!! The effort is greater when you can see the results.

4: School libraries should have constant, supervised internet access so that students can be the most productive they can be.

5: Embrace technology: the students have access to digital cameras and smart phones, encourage them to use the popular social networking sites to post school work related information online. That garden bed would be done to perfection if the student knows it will be on ‘face book’ right next to the ones done by other secondary schools. This creates school spirit and lets the students know what level their are at in comparison to the other schools.

The above mention changes needs no major overhaul of the school system to be put into effect just willing teachers that love teaching and want to see it progress to the next level. I believe that the way in which we teach education is great but we need to teach the students how to effectively use that information. We also have to teach them real life skills like how to budget for a household and how to shop thrifty.

Most importantly the students must feel as though the work they are doing is for a reason. Only then will they respect what they are doing to the fullest.

7. @Looking Glass…

I find your above insightful and poignant.

We Bajans exist on a small sovereign island with few natural resources; other than, of course, “Sun, Sand and Surf” (SSS).

In the modern world, the most powerful resource any nation has is the brains of its people.

So, if I may ask a couple of questions with regards to the current educational system here in Barbados:

1. How many Bajans know the famous equation on how much Energy can be produced from an amount of Mass? (Hint: Einstein.)

2. How many Bajans know what the ((square root of negative one ) squared) is? (Hint: the answer is one natural number, and the negative of the same.)

@All… Please forgive me for pushing the envelope. I’m trying to do good.

8. Let the rich buy these (worthless) degree’s
    Let the poor turn to crime

9. @kiki: “Let the rich buy these (worthless) degree’s
    Let the poor turn to crime

Please let *everyone* be truly educated.

10. @ kiki // March 15, 2010 at 2:44 PM

That is the dumbest thing i ever hear.

11. Chris
    Sorry that was exactly what I meant too
    (stating the wrong mentality was sarcasm)

12. On our educational system… how can something be flawed from the beginning and have a good ending ? David , they should somehow get u a tv show ! i tell yuh,

If at age 11 and some months the system places you into a societal meat grinder called the eleven plus , that will more that likely (see probabilities) carve up our young brains based primarily on their societal and economic demographic and set them on a course predestined in life , how can we look at age 18 and 21 and expect that this same system which failed so miserably a decade previously be any better ?

YES de damn degree ain de best ! but if yuh mess up de playing field by mekkin it uneven from den yuh got to give dese people who thru no fault of theirs ain get de best education for a greater part of 10 years a chance to recover , how ? give dem a degree, and dat easy to do, get de 5 o levels, or enter as a mature student, go class, do de tutorials pass de exams however yuh can and get a degree, notwithstanding that when dey was supposed to be learning yuh something dey was crying yuh down and sending sub par teachers to your school ! notwithstanding that de educational system here ain teach yuh nuttin bout enfranchising yuhself, or that when yuh arrive at uwi yuh english wus dan mine !

I agree wid de man ! (Howard dat is) Lets look at what we are producing and de amount of money we are spending to produce it, and fix it ! He never said “dun wid free education or nutin so” he said fix it ! Put down de victim flags and see how our society and our businesses are suffering from the sub par product that UWI is producing.

13. ''''''FIRE''''' Avatar
    ”””FIRE””’

Christopher Halsall !

14. @ islander, i see you have a problem with the eleven plus.

So you say the 11plus is based mostly on societal and economic demographic, so what should we base the test on? what parameters do we look for to decipher what secondary school the children go to? Should their even be a transition from primary to secondary? or would it be better if you just let them go to one school until cxc?

Well it might cause a ease on the traffic as the children will most likely be within walking distance to their respective schools. The classes would be smaller for sure meaning the student could get closer attention. And the teachers would have known the student from young or at least know the teacher that dealt with the student from young which will create a closer teacher to student bond.

I cant see any negatives with this approach, are there any schools in Barbados like this? that the student goes to from reception to cxc?

What is the stated reason for the 11plus anyways? Can anyone help me?

15. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

11 plus should be banned
    age of transfer raised to 13 or 14 for secondary

Teach the kids life and how to live during the interim
    drill them and train in all aspects of life-sports, entertainment and otherwisethem given the increased time at primary rather the rush to pass the 11 plus

This would be in concert with the increase age in retirement because you would not put so many people on the job market too early.

SCRAP THE 11 PUS NOW
    TAKE UP MY BRILLANT IDEA

SOMEBODY SHOULD PAY ME FOR THIS IDEA
    IT IS A BRILLANT IDEA

BUT I EXPECT SOMEBODY to oppose it only because they themselves did not come up with it

16. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

Teach the kids life and how to live, drill them and train them in all aspects of life: -sports, entertainment and otherwise given the increased time at primary rather the rushing them to pass the 11 plus

—————————————
    correction

17. I agree the 11 plus want donning with.

18. There is little or no difference between secondary schools in terms of educational materials and resources, teacher quality or even curriculum structure. The “differences” are in the students. Even so all schools are turning out graduates who are making a positive contribution to this nation. On an interesting side note, nobody get allocated to secondary school based on athletic ability yet is it not interesting that certain schools in spite of a large school roll, win almost no sporting competitions? For example check the points standings at the now on-going athletic championships. Maybe it is, that success in the common entrance as well as every other endeavour in life is really determined by one’s attitude more than intrinsic ability.

There are say 120 – 150 places available each year at any given school. For about 8 – 10 schools out of the 22 secondary schools, there are more “applicants” than places. Hence the Common Entrance. How else will the places be allocated that is considered fair? Now for the other 12 schools particularly about 3 of them there are actually more places than students desirous of attending them. So for reasons not stated these schools are not preferred. How shall students be allocated to these schools? Before anyone says “Zoning” is the answer, remember that allocation to primary schools is theoretically based on “zoning” otherwise known as the catchment areas. There has been many complaints of people living next to a school not being able to get their children in while those living many miles away get in. The Bridgetown primary schools are bursting at the seams while many rural schools have many unused places. So it is clear that there is a preference for schools in the St Michael area.

I like the idea of getting rid of the Primary-Secondary school structure and just having schools catering to students up to 16 years. However the Ministry of education would have to ensure that ALL schools are equally equipped and that the curriculum is exactly the same in all schools. Also there will be a need for support services for those students that have social, medical and educational (dyslexia, disgraphia etc) problems.

19. Spotting-Prejudice Avatar
    Spotting-Prejudice

I recommend a name change for ‘annonymous’, but please do not let me be the first to throw it out there.

20. “We have discovered that there is an inverse relation between knowledge, culture and crime: for example, the greater the knowledge, culture and access to university education, the less crime…… despite the enormous number of professional and intellectuals in this country, only 2% of those in prison are the children of professionals and intellectuals. when you go to our prisons, you discover that many inmates come from marginalized barrios, they’re the children of people whose families live in one room, in those forgotten barrios. at first we put an end to some of the marginalized barrios. But a culture of marginality already existed. even though you built new houses, the phenomena that occurred in that place tended to continue, unless a new culture arises on the basis of education. Professionals saw to their own – they taught them, sat down and did homework with them, so they could get into the best schools.

Fighting discrimination against women was tough; we even had to pass a law regulating morality, in a sense, the Family Law, stipulating a man’s obligation to share in household chores, cooking, childcare, with his wife … we have made great progress in that area….We had to impose quotas – let’s say 45 per cent men and 55 per cent women, because the vast majority of those who met the criteria for admission would be women…so that today 65 per cent of the country’s technical force is female.”

The words of Fidel Castro from the book “My Life” edited by Ignacio Ramonet, translated by Andrew Hurley.

21. “unless a new culture arises on the basis of education”

I like that quote, Castro is a boss no matter how you look at it.

Barbados has little or no culture that is why our people are looking towards Jamaica and USA for a culture. The heads of this state and people like Hilary and Howard need to first come to an agreement of the type of culture we want in Barbados, what is best for us now and what is best for the future. A broad, long term goal for Barbados, a plan of what we want to do. is there such a thing? a written description of where we would like Barbados to be in ten years? If not this is just an island with every one trying to do their ‘own thing’.

Surely we have discussed things like the carrying capacity of the island that we would know when it is time to stop having so much babies, or are we going to over populate this small rock? What is the quality of life going to be for the average man in three years? do we have a ‘yard stick’ to measure our progress? are we getting better or worst as a people?

If not then we need to get to the drawing board. All the educators, public/private sector players and the general public needs a set standers to work towards, cohesiveness is what will make it work.

Some seam to think that they can highly educate the masses of this island while creating an economy based on a sector like tourism, where the bulk or the jobs don’t require high education, if that is the case the lead learning institutions should be focused on the tourism sector and educating the masses in ways to maximize to productiveness of that said sector. Witch in reality is not advisable because only a small percent of that highly educated mass can hold jobs that pay what they expect in the sector.

I think a small island like this with limited resources should focus on technology as a main sector, technology should be embedded in our culture, we already are consumers of a high amount of teck. we love our cell phones, tvs and all types of teck. It is time we start making our own. A teck sector can employ/pay a larger percent of that highly educated mass than our tourism.

What is UWI doing about this? What is UWI know for? surely it cant be as Enuff suggested “merely a stepping stone to many students’ true intent–a postgraduate degree or professional qualification–a majority of which are done outside the UWI system and are fast becoming the new must have.”

Has UWI truly become a mere ‘stepping stone’ ? If that is the case then we need to rethink the focus of the institution.

What is UWI know for anyways? MIT is know for teck. Universities of Cuba are know for their excellent eye surgeons etc. what is Cave hill known for producing?

22. As a business man “one” key goal of obtaining higher education is to qualify for a good paying job in whatever market conditions exist. This basic concept seems to have been lost the higher you go up the educational ladder in Barbados. I think this reality exist because we continue to view education more as a “class elevating thing”, than what is should be which is a “wallet elevating thing”.

As a nation we need to align a significant portion (not all) of our educational pursues with what the local and international markets are demanding. If Information Technology (IT) is the big thing of the day, then we need to implement educationaltraining programs (UWI-BCC) to meet these types of market demands, in a real world jobs creation manner.

Many local and international firms in Barbados “have to” recruit non-nationals outside of Barbados simply because the talentskillsexperience base is not in Barbados (hard fact).

Too many parents in Barbados still want their child to be an Attorney or Doctor when tons of attorneys and doctors already exist in Barbados…. (Why? – “class elevating thing, that’s why”).

They are new job/career opportunities emerging in the international IT industry daily. What is the value of our proclaimed “high literacy rate” if some of these opportunities can’t be outsourced to Bajans. Just look at what India has been able to do with the “Call Center” outsourcing market in support if US companies, and English is not even India’s first language.

To get us going in the right direction we need Government leaders who “GET IT”, not just ones with walls of degrees “WHO DON’T”.

23. The more i read this piece the more i think that looking glass is a genius, but the lack of people involved in the discussion just shows that very little people actually care about the education system.

24. I think my principal spends too much time in his office. If he actually sat in a class room or spoke with students he would know that we are dissatisfied with the current system at Cave Hill. I am tired of poor administration – departments that do not liase with each other and have the students running around like headless chickens trying to find out what the hell is going on but that is an aside

You have persons leaving cavehill who on entering the work place cannot function because they were never taught how to apply practice to all that theory they were taugh. You have people leaving cave hill with first class honours who are recruited by top companies and then are fired at the end of one yr. why?? The employers say that these people have no analytical skills, cannot think for themselves, do not know how to work with groups and are burnt out because they cannot handle the pace of every day work life. Is it any wonder that companies have told Cave Hill that they no longer want any first class honours students coming out of the institution?

There is lack of expression. Students would love to tell admin what they really feel but there is no forum given and if you try to take it, you have your petition ripped from notice boards or as of monday, peeled from the door of the library. They tell you Speak Your Mind which comes in a form of a fixed questionnaire. now tell me how do you speak your mind just by ticking yes or no? Half of those questions were not even relevant. We students want more choice in programmes. You have over 250 students for e.g. graduating with a basic management degree. now tell me, what separates you from your fellow graduand? nothing that I can see. School re-opens the last week of January and you have exams in April. Don’t forget they took away our semester break. You have no time to process the material. All you can do is regurgitate it for an exam just so you can get an A. Ask me a few months later what I did, I cant tell you but I know I got an A.

Why are there no internship programmes for students to put into practice what they learn during the yr? Why are there no forums given where students can interact with others and have intellectual discussion? All i see the guild do is put on fete after damn fete. Is that all Cave Hill students want? Give me a break. Why is the guild not held repsonsible to the students who elect them for the $20,000+ dollars that they receive from the students??

Sir Hilary needs to wake up and smell the stench at Cave Hill. We students have an online student system which the lecturers themselves cannot use so we students cannot get extra materials to help us. The library has now cut back its hrs simply because it cannot pay its staff so we students must leave the library at 4:30pm on saturdays and 2-8pm on Sundays. The library hardly has enough materials for the students to use either.

My principal needs to open his eyes to what Cave Hill has become. The new admin building is beautiful but students need to park their vehicles. we are tired of the LTs that leak when it rains so we cant have class. I am tired of seeing students with wheelchairs who cannot get into classrooms because there are no ramps and the doors are too small. I am tired of the blasted greasy, unhealthy food and a book shop which closes at 5pm on a friday when classes end at 9.

Its amazing that the only beautiful thing on campus in this drought, was the cricket field which was lush and green while the rest of cave hill was cracked and dry.

25. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Bajan Goddess

My heart goes out to you and others like you at Cave Hill.

People like my bro Bush tea,yours truly,Looking Glass,David and others have been here on this blog speaking out against the monuument hilary beckles has built for himself in the form of these new buildings and cricket grounds etc.

This DLP government and the former BLP administration don’t seem to want to pay attention to the little money being spent on the resources the students need e.g resources for the library, recruiting highly qualified,specialist lecturers etc.

This man Beckles must be exposed and I suggest that you write a letter to both the Nation AND THE ADVOCATE,the latter might more be willing to publish the entire letter than the Nation.

In addition continue speaking out here on this blog.

26. @Bajan Goddess…

Well done!

Keep doing it!

Encourage others to do so as well.

Consumers only receive the level of service they *demand*.

27. Interesting news,

Trinidad is to convert 20 secondary schools which are now co-ed to single sex schools.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/nart?id=161614923
    Minister: Shift to same-sex schools to target males
    Anna Ramdass aramdass@trinidadexpress.com
    Friday, March 26th 2010

Education Minister Esther Le Gendre said yesterday the underperformance of male students in this country was the main reason for a push to convert some 20 secondary schools to same-sex schools.

Speaking at the post-Cabinet news conference at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s, Le Gendre said the pilot project would be conducted on a phased basis over a five-year period, with the first phase starting in September this year.

This means some 3,000 of the 17,000-plus students who wrote the Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) exam will be placed in these 20 schools where the Form One levels would comprise of students of the same gender. By the end of five years, the schools would be fully converted to a same-sex school.

Le Gendre said the change had nothing to do with school violence.

’Violence and indiscipline is not the driver of this programme. The driver for this particular programme is the improvement of student performance with particular attention to male student performance,’ she said.

making a point: Education Minister Esther Le Gendre responds to a question during yesterday’s post-Cabinet media conference at the Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s. At left is Trade and Industry Minister Mariano Browne. -Photo: MICHEAL BRUCE

Le Gendre said the ministry is currently undertaking consultations with the relevant stakeholders and will continue through April.

She said the ministry will also host a special seminar, as well as an educational series where an international expert on same-sex education would speak. She said the ministry, also, would be in communication with all parents who selected any one of the 20 schools (see box at left), so they can make changes if they wish. Le Gendre said all schools will remain five- and seven-years and in the future, Government would establish a joint Sixth Form in all jurisdictions.

Le Gendre said she chose to announce the decision after the SEA because of sensitivity, adding she did not want to affect the students before their examinations. She said with the same-sex schools, there would be a revision and enhancement of the curriculum at all levels, and teachers would be trained.

’The techniques proposed for the male or female classroom are not unlike those which are currently used in co-educational classrooms, except that the former would include teaching strategies that are gender specific,’ she said.

’Based on an analysis of modern research studies and findings, the ministry is of the view that there is ample evidence to support the consideration of more same-sex schools, in the context of the significant success of single-sex schools in Trinidad and Tobago.’

28. Attendance at school is compulsory for children between 5 and 16 years of age. It is such a critical period of a person’s life that much consideration should be given to the curriculum and associated activities of schools. Some readers might find the following interesting:

http://pubs.aged.tamu.edu/jae/pdf/vol39/39-02-11.pdf

An interesting statement of purpose from the sited article is reproduced below:

” Moreover, it is not our purpose to teach technical agriculture in the common schools, but to inculcate the habit of observing, to suggest work that has distinct application to the conditions in which the child lives, to inspire enthusiasm for country life, to aid in home-making, and to encourage a general movement toward the soil.”

Can a similar statement of purpose be truthfully made about schooling in Barbados?

I would be ecstatic to send my children to a school that not only had the following as its mission statement but actually operated in pursuance of the same:

“It is our purpose to not only facilitate cognitive development but to develop work and social skills, to inculcate the habit of observing and critical thinking, to suggest work that has distinct application to the conditions in which the child lives, to inspire enthusiasm for life in Barbados and the wider Caribbean, to aid in home-making, and to encourage a general movement toward the preservation of the soil, the water, the flora and fauna of the island and the sea surrounding Barbados and to engender a confidence that a happy and useful life living interdependently with others can be attained”.

However I am not waiting for such a school to be established. I take every opportunity to expose my children to those many different activities that I believe help to achieve the objectives stated. I encourage other parents to do the same.

29. A Bajan Girl Abroad Avatar
    A Bajan Girl Abroad

Cutting the education budget of any country is like losing weight by chopping off a leg and an arm. It is false economy to deny the next generation the academic growth it requires to survive in a rapidly competitive world. In fact, the education budget should be doubled. Why is Barbados so afraid to see its youth excel? These are not Other People’s children. They are OURS and they represent our country’s future. Who wants to be represented by a nation of third rate idiots? Education is no longer a privilege. It IS the right of every child in a modern world.