Recently one of Barbados’ leading developers responsible for obliterating the West Coastline of Barbados made the statement he has a vision for Barbados being transformed to a Monaco. In the month of November when Barbadians will be reminded of the Mirror Image speech, is this ‘our’ vision for Barbados and is it what our 500,000 long stay visitors and 700,000 plus cruise ship passengers are expecting? According to our West Coast activist Save Mullins it is business as usual on the West Coast.

Watch the video and decide for yourself.

26 responses to “Should Barbados Be The Next Monaco?”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

‘The average price of an apartment in Monaco is Euro 34,276 per square metre.’

‘It is difficult to imagine anyone paying over US$50,000 for a single square metre of residential real estate. But that’s the cost of the rich mans ghetto which is Monaco’.

Source: Global Property Guide

2. Thanks Adrian L for the video!

3. Barbados will never be the next Monaco nor Singapore nor Macau nor Hong Kong nor Capri nor whatever.Our location (and geography) is against us. If we continue to develop as we are doing, environmental collapse is certain and the cost of intervention will be much too high to sustain habitation of the island. That is a pity. One possible response is mass relocation to Guyana, Suriname, Trinidad or Belize.

4. Agree with the first part of the comment above and it is a point made by Dr. Persaud recently.
    Part of the Barbados value proposition is the quality of our environment.
    We have to be careful how as a country we make decisions which will diminish our environment.
    There is a view which BU agrees that our environment is already under pressure.

5. It seems that both BU and BFP have very similar concerns.

Here is what the developer was reported to have said.

@Collins

Barbados has a Physical Development Plan.

6. We live in a world where the reward for anything seems to be only financial or monetary, the goodwill nature has been thrown out through the window, and the benefits any and most people see nowadays are the price/profit. Longevity is appearing to be a long lost notion. Instant gratification and “quick money” are the recipe in today’s society, at any cost.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

That is a ridiculous question.

8. There should be a national physical development plan which if derived properly would cease these emotional debates of who obliterated our coastline. We have no natural resources as per others in the caribbean, therefore ANY government has to decide where we will procure our foreign exchange. We chose tourism and offshore business and tourism has become the main plank in our economy like it or not. Having chosen tourism then we have to decide to create the physical plant to accommodate the tourists. We cannot decide that we will have our hotels inland because what places apart from some of the others is our white sandy beaches. Finally there is so much land area on the coast and that is what our NPD plan would speak to how much land we can use for any development and what would remain open for our people to enjoy.

Now as for this monaco talk, I wouldn’t think that the developer should be taken literally. I would not want to live in a monaco because of the things that associated with being such. Neither would I want to live in a jungle so agitate let’s for a REAL NPD plan.

9. Quite frankly this video and this post is a bunch of crap. It seeks to give the impression that Barbados can one day become a concrete jungle like the ones we see in the video and that is a lot of nonsense.

We have a model for development in this country and it has served us well over the past decades. The Town and Country Planning Department has not changed their policy on development and so Barbadians can be assured that the model of development will be within reason.

This post is intended to be a scare tactic to raise alarm in the public domain about the project proposed for the area. They will always be those you will oppose large-scale development for Barbados. The we still have amongst us persons who still see Barbados as country with donkey carts, bicycles, standpipes, dirt roads, outhouse, fire-hearth, smut lamp does surprise me.

My advice to such persons is that they should move to the Zimbabwe.

10. @Royalrumble

You guys are out of government because part of your vision for how our coastline should be developed run afoul of the average Barbadian yet you persist?

11. wow, did that post above really suggest that bajans (read: black people) should move back to Africa?

umm…

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Royalrumble

I agree with you one hundred percent.

13. Royal Rumble
    Please let us know what the model for development in this country is. When there is a Physical Development Plan is it followed, or can governments just up and put a garbage dump in the middle of an area of outstanding natural beauty when they feel it is politically expedient? So what is the plan RR?

14. David let me tell you this. You do not have a clue why the BLP is not in office today and I will add that you will not have a clue what will return us to office at the next election. You are as lost as a pin in a haystack on political matters. I know I read them.

Peltdownman in case you are not aware it is the BLP that produced the latest Development Plan for Barbados. It is than plan that now dictates our model of development.

If you had a chance to read the Development Plan then you will understand why Barbados can never become a concrete jungle.

15. @Royalrumble…

Your message would hold a *whole* lot more weight if you used your real name.

Why must you and Peltdownman et al hide your names from the messages you send; which you empirically feel about deeply?

Do you have the testicular fortitude to stand behind what you say?

Or are you unics?

16. Unic all the way, Chris!

17. @peltdownman: “Unic all the way, Chris!

(Probably not the “real” Peltdownman. Part of the problem being “Anonymous” or a similar alias.)

Few men would be comfortable being unic….

18. @Royalrumble

It is understandable you et al would be a little upset given that your argument of comparing Guyana’s growth to Barbados negative was debunked on BU and on the talk shows by the best economists on the land. It would serve you and company who serve so close to those who comprise the government in waiting that a dose of humility is a good thing when interacting with the people.

19. Qeustion…when the international bodies rate Barbados in wahtever..economics, social, enviroment etc and then the government of the day use the results to say”we are doing better than country X or country Y”… Are we not doing the same folly as is now being said about the guy who sought to compare guyana’s economy with Barbados.? Like how we do the same with Singapore and the fact that we say “things are so much cheaper in the States” ..but as my teacher said…comparisons are always odious

20. I saw the video and i saw no black people in it……..when are we going to wake up, do you all think that the white man want to see black people around him…….just ask the people in st vincent if they can go to the island mustique……already there are trying to take the beaches from us……just look at how the security at the court house is managed this is only the prelude getting us use to being treated like the slaves we once were now the white man don’t have to dirty his hands we will do it to each other for him …..is that how you want to be treated when you want to enter (barbados monaco)just look at our political leaders ,our solicitors,look how we are treated by them with total contempt i would not even entertain the idea.do you any body know how many afro hating white people live in bim.not because the black bird show he teet he is laughing wid yuh

21. Quite frankly i agree with Royal Rumble

22. The economic crisis, is about to ‘melt’ US (and the US) all down, and a hole lot of crap is being discussed about this development plan, and that, when are we going to wake-up and realize that,

‘The abundance of a man’s wealth, is not in his earthly possessions, therefore, store not up for yourselves treasures on EARTH, where moth and thieves brake in and steal, BUT, store for yourselves treasures in Heaven, where neither moth nor thieves can brake in and steal, FOR, where your TREASURE is, there your heart will be also” (The Bible)

A word to the wise is enough!

23. I see,the the person who posted as the Oracle just want to irritate,this is how white or white minded people think ,never mind one day we will have a truly democratic government which will do what the people want and those palaces you are building will become the property of the people that live in market hill or mylords so you can think about that ,he who laugh last laugh the longest

24. @michael

There is really no need to go postal on me since all I did was share (for what it’s worth) the advertising (bad spelling and all) potential buyers in North America, Europe, etc., receive when they ‘blunder around’ and leave their email addresses at the St. Peter’s Bay website. The connection with this conversation is that one of the developers of St. Peter’s Bay was the one who made the original remark about turning Barbados into Monaco or some such.

25. @ The Oracle
    ok Bro