mia_mottley_owen_arthur
Barbados Nation Newspaper Cartoon – 09 November 2009
Submitted as a comment by Adrian Hinds

Two accepted scientific polls with results unfavourable to Mia Mottley, followed by two questionable polls that are favourable to her. The latter enabled by the Nation newspaper; coincident, or a deliberate attempt to create news rather than report it?

We should remember the 2007-8 Cadres poll that suggested 20-10 victory for the DLP in the 2008 Jan 15 national election. We should remember the counter poll by Boxill that sought to counter Cadres projections and results.

Another Cadres poll with statistics that Mia Mottley does not like so the Nationnews decided to counter or is it contained the results of that poll with a text message unscientific poll and has sought to highlight and publicize the results as if they were or could ever be provable “statements of Facts”.

During all of this traditional media employees are reminding us that theyย  check and recheck facts.

131 responses to “Nation Newspaper Creates News Based On Unscientific Cellphone Poll”

1. You were asked to provide supporting evidence to prove your point. A reasonable request.

I agree with many view points express on this blog, but only the ones that have supporting evidence are worth repeating.

There is little difference between saying “It goes without saying” and asking “Need I say more?”

…..Where is your proof that a change in Government brings a change in the STAFF at CBC?

I just “looked up” CBC and using photos from their recently concluded Open day I still saw several faces of STAFF that were there prior to Jan 15 th 2008.

Certainly a government run news media could be expected to favour the government, but this relationship does not dismiss the need for evidence.

So far
    you have assumed the truth.
    you have exaggerated.
    you have stereotype.
    you HAVE NOT provided any evidence

2. So what is the next step for Mia Mottley?

I think that she and or persons (queen makers) will attempt social engineering a palatable Mia Mottley to the Barbadian public.

The method is likely to be a sustain media campaign via radio, TV, newspaper, mail, etc. We have seen some of it already via the Nation newspaper.

The theme is likely to settle on her being a woman. Mottley previously asked if any of the concerns that Owen aired would be important were she a man. I am not sure what approach they will take, as I am not sure what negative image of a woman they will be trying to combat and reshape.

In the last election, we saw some feeble attempts at rebranding her. We had a remake of a popular song “Mia Royal”. We heard of “Nastiness” being said about her. We also saw attempts to present her as a desirable heterosexual person, as if to suggest that they were questions or concerns to the contrary.

If I am correct, I think that a campaign should be launch at the same time, to engage Barbadian thoughts on conservatism vs. Liberalism.

Are you politically conservative? What does this mean in the Barbadian context?

Are you religiously conservative? What does this mean in the Barbadian context?

Are you socially conservative? What does this mean in the Barbadian context?

Are you fiscally conservative? What does this mean in the Barbadian Context?

Then contrast the above with being Liberal.

3. @Adrian

I’m not going to waste time catering to your request for evidence on issues that are commonly seen and known in Barbados. Maybe you are a bit too physically removed to be aware of everthing that goes on. Maybe some of your other friends here could confirm what I have said to be a fact for you.

As usual you type much and say very little. For the longest time you have been trying hard to establish yourself as an authority on Barbadian politics, and so far I have seen little or no progress in you achieving that goal. You spend much time on petty issues being critical and derogative, and practically zero time on new and uplifting ideas to advance the nationhood of Barbados.

4. many are saying that the Democratic Labour Party represents a plot; a setting and a cast of characters that logically constitute a great social and economic horror story.

The people are saying that the DLP is monstrous spectacle of a Government that does not know what it is doing.

Back in France when men were considered barbaric, someone came up with the name of a contraption, which they said would bring a less painful and quick death.

It was called the guillotine or the national razor.

I met a Dem in the supermarket over the weekend who told me that in Barbados today, Prime Minister David Thompson could be described at the โ€œbutcher.โ€

The man told me that many feel that like the leader of the revolution in France, Thompson too is preparing for a special type of cut.

That is โ€“ the amount his party will need to take from the poor in order to give increased comforts to the rich.

There is spooky air or dread as things continue to crumble under the weight of DLP rule.

The only possible happy ending to this fiasco is if Barbadians were to rescue this country from the clutches of the DLP and put its destiny in the hands of a team that have proven to be trusted stewards.

Contributing to the decline is the fact that the DLP is a truly dreadful steward of this countryโ€™s affairs.

It is now uglier than 1991-1994 and there is no reason to assume that things will get better under DLP rule.

The DLPโ€™s incompetence cannot be disguised and the situation is extreme and fraught with the danger of chronic mismanagement.

There is, however, a potential saviour waiting in the wings. The solution is for the people to save Barbados by kicking the DLP out.

What is happening in Barbados is truly a horror story of unprecedented proportions.

5. Atman, is that your final answer? ha ha lol!
    When are you going to give me something that I can “look-up” to prove or disprove what you are saying?

Just remember, until you do, It is but your opinion. lol!

6. @Adrian

If you see it that way…fine by me. If I walked up to you and said “I just witnessed a murder”, it would be up to you to believe it or not, but I won’t have to convince you because it makes no difference to me either way. I prefer to leave people like you who profess to know so much, to your own ignorance.

7. Understood Atman. proving what you have published never occurred to you. It is probably a foreign concept to you inspite of it being core to the generations old biblical story “Doubting Thomas”.
    He got his proof and became Thomas the believer, why can’t I?
    Jesus provided him the proof why can’t you?

…maybe you have never heard the story. ha ha ha lol!

8. But Adrian, the only person who wants proof is you…and I choose not to accommodate you. Certainly you can do your own research and determine what the facts are. I would not rely on you to prove me with proof of any statement to make, I would find the facts for myself and then I would be in a position to either say either I agree or disagree with you. Now stop being so lazy and do your own homework man.

9. (corrected version of my last statement)

But Adrian, the only person who wants proof is you…and I choose not to accommodate you. Certainly you can do your own research and determine what the facts are. I would not rely on you to provide me with proof to any statement that you make, I would find the facts for myself and then I would be in a position to either say either I agree or disagree with you. Now stop being so lazy and do your own homework man.

10. Jesus proved his own opinions, I endevour to do likewise with my own, and expect the same from others regarding theirs.

If a person does not wash their undergarments they have no right labeling others as lazy for not washing them.

11. Have you suddenly become a religious person Adrian? Well let me correct you on something, Jesus did not come with “opinions”, He came with clear guidelines and rules for living. It is up to you to prove my statement false if you’re so dead set on challenging it, but I’m not obligated to provide you with any proof. I know what I know and that is sufficient for me…I’m not here to convince anybody of anything. Do you understand me now Adri?

12. @Adrian

By the way, on my blog you stated that you do not think that Starcom Network deserves to get a local TV license, would you like to state for the public why you take that view?

13. @Atman

Currently there is an over-concentration of ownership of the media space in Barbados by One Caribbean Media. To give that group a TV license would be deepening a vulnerability which exist.

14. @David

That is a cop out if I ever heard one. So you are telling me that the citizens of Barbados should continue to be deprived of having another local TV option for that lame reason? What exactly is the “vulnerability”, and who exactly is vulnerable to it?

15. @David

If I may also raise another topic simultaneously. One of the David Thompson’s pre-election campaign points that encouraged me further to give him my vote, was his desire to introduce integrity legislation as it pertains to government ministers, but I’ve heard very little about it since he took office, and I would have expected this to be on his list of priorities as a matter of urgency. This is disappointing for me personally…it could cost him my “X” come next election.

Here’s what the folks over at BFP had to say about it…

http://tinyurl.com/yflrs88

16. Good point David. I would like to contrast the Government’s monopoly of TV which is a subset of the media in Barbados and the concentration of the radio, and print media in one company.

Who has the potential the reach more audiance with their agenda? Government or those who controls One Caribbean Media?

17. The vulnerability is obvious as in what defines monopoly. The ability to control information in any country makes the owner very powerful as in what are opinion shapers?

BU is not against issuing a TV license just not to OCM. There is also a lot of bad blood between the DLP and the Nation for example. If you followed the last general election you would have detected such. There is also the current simmering spat between Henry and the Nation i.e. Carol Martindale.

18. @David, @AH, et al…

If I may… May I please point out that in Canada (the Land of the Beaver) the Government owned TV station (who’s acronym is also CBC BTW) is never afraid to ridicule, insult, or to take the Government to task.

Please see “The Rick Mercer Report”, “This Hour has 22 Minutes”, “The Fifth Estate”, et al.

Available to (just about) everyone in Barbados on MCTV channel 703…

Anyone have any ideas as to why the same thing is not true in Bim?

19. @CH

Good question, obviously a different culture one which has a higher standard attached to the profession. Remember some of the best universities in the world which train journalist are located in Canada. The other consideration maybe the competing ideologies that exist in Canada which gives rise to competition for space. BU would welcome your views and others who have a better knowledge of the Canadian environment.

20. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@Chris Halsall, from what journalists and media houses say their reluctance is borne of fear. They say fear of litigation (defamation laws). You’ve cited just fear itself. As I’ve noted before, even in military controlled dictatorships in some of the worst run places in the world, journalists seem to be prepared to challenge all, including the government and head of state, but in Barbados we mostly hear ‘special’ pleading.

21. @LIB… (May I call you Dennis?)

@LIB: “…from what journalists and media houses say their reluctance is borne of fear. They say fear of litigation (defamation laws). Youโ€™ve cited just fear itself.

IMHO, fear is a stupid emotion.

Fear is what weak people feel.

Fear can and should be faced directly. It should be stood down. Fear should be challenged directly.

To some, fear is debilitating…

To others it is nothing but noise.

22. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Chris Halsall, DJ or LIB work fine enough, so long as you’re not confusing me with someone else.

Fear may well be a stupid emotion, but it still exists, and not every one can learn to control it and not be debilitated.

For it to be ‘neutralised’, means a process where those who hire have courage to go with those who seem to have no fear or have it in control. But as a process it clearly cannot start if the hirers are gripped by fear.

Alternative. Those who feel they have no fear or at least courage should go where others fear to tread. It may be a lonely road, but a satisfying one, I’d argue.

23. @Dennis Jones (AKA LIB): “…means a process where those who hire have courage to go with those who seem to have no fear or have it in control.

But this is the problem we have in Bim… “Those who hire” are fearful; they have no courage.

@DJ: “Those who feel they have no fear or at least courage should go where others fear to tread. It may be a lonely road, but a satisfying one, Iโ€™d argue.

I would agree with this statement….

24. @David

Starcom did not get a license when the BLP was in power either, but yet you would want to give the impression that OCM media houses are pro-BLP. That is just non-sense as far as I am concern. The bottom line is that both parties would like to control the news media to the point where nothing negative is reported about their respective parties. There is no valid reason why Starcom should not be given a TV license, and most important consideration here is that the citizens of this country deserve to have another TV option that they do not have to pay for.

25. @Adrian

So you finally have a reply, or were you just waiting on David to give you some assistance? What is the agenda of OCM Adrian? And if you also believe that OCM is pro-BLP, then tell me why wasn’t Starcom given a license when the BLP was in power. Or maybe you’re going to tell me that OCM is a Taliban run organization that is trying to destabilize the government and convert Barbados to a religious state under Sharia law.

26. Atman, I like yuh style man. Dah give muh a good belly laugh.

27. Seems like comedy hour. Joker in the house?
    de taliban? OCM is own and operated by bin laden aint it?

@David:
    Besides having a choice to satisfy the saying “variety is the spice of life”
    Can you think of any benefits that the Barbadian public may derived from the issuance of a second TV licences?

Should a TV licence be issued to first and foremost benefit the public or a corporate entity?

What are the benefits to public?
    new news? and other programming? not already available on the free public television, but nevertheless can only be fitted to the television media format?

Is this a priority in the current scheme of things? Why am I even dicussing this. chuspes.

28. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

There is financial value is selling rights to broadcast, and with limited fiscal space, the government ought to be thinking about ways to bolster its income given that there are few options for broadening the tax base. Whether it sells the TV license outright or with some sort of payments over time, the gains could be substantial. I’m no expert but using the basic principle that currently applies for radio broadcast, cellular transmission, etc.

Something like that would be consistent with the message the PM gave this week about what he’s prepared to do to guard the investment grade without compromising living standards.

29. @Anonymous

Well I’m glad I could put a smile on somebody’s face. Thanks.

If they (David and Adrian) had told me that maybe the different administrations are looking at things from a business perspective, and doesn’t want CBC to have to compete with Starcom for TV advertising dollars, that would have made more sense to me, but would still be unfair to the public.

30. @Atman

You obviously have been selective in interpreting BU’s comment. The substantive point we want to make is there is already a heavy concentration of media ownership in the hands of OCM, a T&T concern.

@Adrian

The problem BU has with issuing a second license has to to with how it fits into our national strategy for nurturing and building the cultural industries. Who wants a TV station to feed our young people more CSI and American networks?

31. @Adrian

Only you would be silly enough to ask what would be the benefits to the public in having a second local TV station. Maybe you should give up all the various sources of news and entertainment that you currently enjoy, and see how important it is to you. But what do you care about Barbados and Barbadians anyway? You live in America, you believe in America, and you seldom (if ever) have anything good to say about Barbados. When was the last time you visited your homeland Adrian? I’m sure you could afford a trip.

32. @David

When you speak you always say “BU”, so I have a question or two. Who or how many persons comprise BU, and do you speak for all?

David, I’m not being selective in my interpretation of what you said, I’m just telling you point blank that I disagree with that reasoning. OCM may be a T&T concern, but that does not change my opinion. Would BU be interested in applying for a TV license?

33. @David

What I mean is that you gave reasons why the current administration wouldn’t want to grant a TV license to an OCM company, but what reason(s) did the Arthur administration have for not granting it? I don’t think the BLP had any problem issuing a license to a T&T company to do business here.

34. I don’t think it is silly. I would like to have a very good reason for the government to sell any part of the public spectrum to any private entity. I am for community type television and if CBC being a public broadcasting entity cannot fullfill this role then the concept of Community television and licencing for such should be issued non-profits, or cooperatives, colleges or universities strictly for local programming.

BCC just started an FM station I think.

I did not have access to television as a young boy and do not watch much of it currently. I get my news by reading and listening to the radio. Television makes me sleepy.

I tell you already that I am one hundred percent bajan and you are not, and never will be. lol!

35. @Adrian

As I always say, it’s a good thing that the fate of Barbadians to not rest in your hands. We the taxpayers here on this rock have to keep reminding government that we employ them to do a job for us, and they need to listen to what the majority of us want.

David first spoke of BU’s concerns about the type of programming that a new TV station should provide, and now you’re jumping on that bandwagon when just a few minutes earlier you didn’t think it was worth discussing. Well Starcom radio stations (especially VOB) have proven to be very community spirited with call-in programmes and other programmes that are positive and nation building…I don’t see why some of that wouldn’t spill over to TV if they had a channel. But the government doesn’t want another TV station around where the opposition would have more opportunities to be seen and heard. It’s all about keeping the opposition at bay…it always has been.

36. Ditto, I have been saying the same for years; but what does the public servant status of our government; have to do with the issuance of a TV license to a private for profit concern? Do you want to suggest that this is what the public wants? Proof please! Moreover, your opinion alone would not suffice.

Sometimes people have the same opinions on a matter, such is the case with David and I. I think that I have demonstrated a similar but varied opinion on the matter. Here are my points
    1: more local programming is desirable
    2: If for some reason CBC cannot do then it should be done via Community television by one of the mention entities, not by a for profit company

Pointing out community programming that is already available via existing media formats proves my point more than yours. Do we need issuance of a new TV license and to a private concern to enhance what is already available? I say no.

Keeping the Opposition at bay via control of the only TV station on the island has not benefited of the governing party. If that is the only reason that you can find for giving a TV license to Starcom, I approve governments DENIED stamp on their application. It appears to me that on the issue of TV licenses to private concerns both parties are in accord with the public.

Yes, I question why I am discussing this none issue, and yet continue to do so. People make absolute statements all the time only to fall back on it eventually. The Jamaican LIB said he was โ€œdoneโ€ discussing an issue yesterday only to return hours later. I am no different. You are no different. Did you not say on your blog that you do not venture into places like BU? Why are you here? You need to quit following me. ha ha ha

Anyway, it is becoming apparent that this subject is dear to your heart only because you think it gives you something about which to harp. Clearly, this is not a public interest concern at this time.

37. You are lost Adrian. I keep telling you that you are out of touch with this country and its people, and you just keep proving my point more and more. Since you have no idea how the average bajan feels about having only one local TV channel which they refer to as “no-choice TV”, then you don’t even qualify to be debating this issue.

38. I’m still waiting for somebody to give me a good reason as to why Thompy hasn’t address the integrity legislation issue as yet.

39. @Adrian

I’m only here at BU to show you up Adri, you know that’s one of my favorite passtimes. Since you keep avoiding me I’ve decided to come find you…but my visit here will be rather short.

40. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Adrian Hinds // November 19, 2009 at 10:39 PM:
    You wrote “I donโ€™t think it is silly. I would like to have a very good reason for the government to sell any part of the public spectrum to any private entity. I am for community type television and if CBC being a public broadcasting entity cannot fullfill this role then the concept of Community television and licencing for such should be issued non-profits, or cooperatives, colleges or universities strictly for local programming.”[What do you see the ‘community’ as if it is not a set of private entities? Do you mean that you would rather not see the public spectrum sold to profit making entities? What is inherently good or superior in terms of broadcasting about non-profits, or cooperatives, colleges or universities? Or are you implying that these entities would be given access to public spectrums at no cost? If so, how will the government justify giving away a potential revenue stream when it is in a tight fiscal position?]

On a more general point, should we preface all of our references with a locational description, such as the ‘Bostonian Adrian Hinds’ or the ‘Barbadian living in Boston Adrian Hinds’. I’m wondering if this is useful packaging? If you find it helpful in one direction surely it should be useful in all.

41. Nope! I am definately not lost, and yes you do say a lot of things most of which require proof, none of which you have provided.

You are simply stringing words together, and they become meaningless when simple questions are applied to them. Define the way that I am proving your point, and don’t forget to mention what that point is.

It is not for me to have an idea of what the average Bajan feels about one local TV channel. You are the one wanting to argue on their behalf for the issuance of another TV license to a private concern. You need to bring proof that your view is a majority view.

Are you not confusing local free public television (tv8) CBC channel 8, available over the public spectrum via analog signaling with subscription (MCTV) mult-choice TV? Same company different services. I have heard the malapropism “no-choice TV” used in reference to “Multi-choice TV”.
    Starcom competes in this space (subscription tv) with Direct TV.

But lets say that the “no-choice TV” comment is directed at TV8 and not MCTV. From the label “no-choice TV”
    , How does this reference lead you to the conclusion that government benefits politically from the TV license under their control? How does it lead to another conclusion of yours that the people want to hear the opposition views via another TV company?

Are you getting tired yet? ha ha ha ha

42. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

I tried to find some definitive information about countries that have only one (government owned) broadcast for TV and or radio. The information I found was partial. However, my experience has been that it’s only in state controlled regimes where such things are still maintained. That opens for me yet again the philosophical question about what kind of democracy Barbados really is. On the one hand one reads here much about free expression, only to see that modified to be ‘so long as it’s not’ [choose from a range of things not liked]. There seems to be a contradictory desire to close off certain types of expression but argue in the same breath for freedom of expression. I do not understand how arguments cannot be allowed to flow and citizens be allowed to determine how they are influenced rather than some desire to ‘balance’ the broadcasting of the message as is if that is the same as balancing the reception of the message. After all, in a highly literate society sifting through the messages should not be a problem.

43. Atman // November 21, 2009 at 10:42 AM

Iโ€™m still waiting for somebody to give me a good reason as to why Thompy hasnโ€™t address the integrity legislation issue as yet.
    ————————————————–
    THERE IS NO GOOD REASON. THERE IS ONLY THE REAL REASON.

Thompson is one man. He is the Prime Minister yes but in parliament he is “The member from St.John” Only first amongst his equals.

The constitution says “The member of parliament who commands the most loyalty amongst his fellow parliamentarians shall become the Prime Minister.

He cannot legislate without the constent of those from whom he derives his power. Not only does he need the support of his parliamentary party members he needs it from the opposition.

The entire DLP lied to the people on the time frame for ITAL. If their entire term expires and there is no ITAL, I will rephrase to say that they lied to the people about ITAL.

44. My view on television is shape larely by Author Neil Postman in his book “Amusing ourselves to death”.

In the Barbadian context more local programming would be my preference, available free of charge over the public spectrum, leaving foreign programing to subscription services. Of course there could be exceptions i.e public programming from other countries may be of interest to Barbadians and could be made available over the public tv.

I will develop my thoughts on this later.

45. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Adrian Hinds: “BCC just started an FM station I think” Do you mean the BBC? If so, they did not ‘start’ a station but are relaying World Service programs on an easily accessible FM frequency in Barbados (see http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/story/2009/11/091118_pmbriefs.shtml).

46. [Summation]

Dennis, I don’t think Adrian himself has a clue about what he’s saying.

I don’t know if any other private business entities besides Starcom has ever applied for a local TV license, but I find it ridiculous that after all these years we still only have the lone state owned TV station.

Some are of the opinion that because OCM owns so many media houses and is a T&T interest, that’s a good reason to deny Starcom a TV license. I fail to see anything substantial in that reasoning.

From a business and economic point of view, if Starcom were to be granted a license I believe it would have to pay an annual fee, it would also become an additional source of tax revenue for the gov’t, and it would most likely have to employ staff. The only drawback here is that CBC would then have to compete for advertising dollars with Starcom. If this drawback happens to be the reason for denying Starcom a TV license, then it would suggest that no private entity is likely to get a license once competing with CBC. I doubt very much that this is the reason for denying a license.

I do not believe that Starcom and OCM is the issue, but as I’ve stated already on more than one occasion, I believe it boils down to partisan politics and keeping the opposition out of the public’s view as much as possible. A private local TV station may bring too much balance and fairness to the viewing public, or worse yet, it may take a bias stance and lean toward one party or the other. History has shown that neither party is willing to take that chance, they just prefer to have control over the only TV station there is.

47. @Adrian

Again, you haven’t got a clue on the ITAL issue…do you realize how silly you make yourself look?

Thompson made a pre-election promise as leader of the opposition at the time, did he make that promise without first knowing his team’s position on it? Is that the way a leader of a team operates? Now assuming that it wasn’t just a lone ranger empty promise, shouldn’t ITAL be a priority on the list of things before he and his ministers get too deep into managing the taxpayers’ money?

Adrian, I would caution you to think before you type…sometimes I feel ashame for you.

48. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@Atman // November 21, 2009 at 12:16 PM

Much of what I have read here opposing OCM getting a license seems to lack coherence.

What is to stop the government launching a bidding process for a new license, and setting certain conditions on the winning bidder? Whoever, that is, would then be bound by those conditions, or the license would be revoked. There is nothing to stop the government stipulating conditions on programme content, including whether a portion of broadcasts should reflect community interests or other ‘socially desirable’ elements. (This is similar to some private development projects where a portion must go to low cost housing or some other public policy objective.) It’s just a case of structuring the bidding process.

Now, no one may want to bid given these conditions.

But such a process has many financial advantages, and as I mentioned earlier, potential revenue streams for the government are few and far between.

49. Atman you are funny. lol! you simply have not put up one cogent rebuttal to anything I have said. Of course to do so would detract from your stated reason for being here.

Thompson made his promise as political leader of the DLP. Indeed he would have made it with the consent of the party, parliamentary team and the field of candidates in the then upcoming elections.

There is election politics and politics after elections. The many promises made and never fullfilled, some dating back to 1976. Manifestos that have seen a 30 or 40 percent implimentation etc. This is why I said that as of right now the DLP reneged on their promise to legislate ITAL as a matter of priority. So far they (the entire party) has lied on the timing. Come the end of their term and it is still not legislated they would have lied about legislating Ital period.

50. Commonsense alone spells out that OCM will NOT get a TV license in Barbados. Even if we subtract the politics from the decision we can easily replace it with an astute risk assessment decision model . To add the TV channel to the mix of existing OCM chanells in Barbados would contravene acceptable risk given its heavy concentration of ownership currently. If one is to judge by STARCOMS recent launch of Internet TV it is obvious they have read the writing on the wall.

@Adrian

Didn’t Obama promise to generate thousands of jobs by launching the Renewable Energy sector?
    Did he promise to withdraw from Iraq in how many months?
    Did he promise to close Guantanamo base in Cuba when?

The point as you stated above there is a politics before and after an election and to deny is to demonstrate naivetรฉ on the subject ๐Ÿ™‚