Submitted by Terence Blackett

climate-changeThe 64th Session of the UN General Assembly began with the issue of climate change, followed by the G-20 Meeting in Pittsburgh where world leaders work to put together a framework for tackling this issue as doing “NOTHING” could be disastrous.

For most people today, the issues and discourses on climate change is a parody of scientific gobbledegook where proponents like Nobel Prize winner and former Vice-President of the United States Al Gore, uses this agenda as a big stick to beat world leaders, institutional heads and public sectors officials into the looming dangers we face as a planet, if these issues are not tackled immediately.

Barbados is not exempt from the effects of this emergent global phenomenon which has been with us for over 20 years.  Since the years of the oil boom and the mass globalization of what many sociologists have termed the McDonaldization of society or as Davis, Baudrillard et al called the era of “hyper-reality” we have seen climate change climb to the top of the global agenda.

This is a period in earth’s history, where the pace of economic and technological development has not kept pace with ecological sustainability and the rapid pace of change is creating imbalances within our planet. These forces are both structural and aesthetic.

The planetary earth science issues and its effects on climate change affect our atmosphere, weather, geology and oceanography. Our environment is being hard done by acid rain, air pollution resulting in poor air quality, drought, global warming, hazardous waste, melting ice caps, ozone holes, carbon pollution, recycling and waste, a lack of renewable energies, and ecological instability.

The end-result is that our ecosystems is under threat, our energy reserves depleting, disappearing rain forests, slash and burn of our grasslands, invasive hybrid species, environmentally destructive mining, disappearing tundra, water depletion and increased wildfires due to dry, arid conditions and a host of environmental pollutants seeping into our ecology creating cancers and all kinds of weird diseases.

These insidious conditions have exacerbated natural disasters like the earthquake experienced almost two years ago in Barbados. We are seeing more and more severe freak weather resulting in landslides, El Nino and La Nina, hurricanes, cyclones, storms, tornadoes, massive snow and avalanches, tsunamis and volcanoes. And all this seems like only the beginning of environmental sorrows.

No time to bury our heads in the sand

Environmental sustainability high impact studies in the 1990’s in Barbados showed that the effluent and the waste from our hotels and commercial urban sprawl would have been a major contributing factor to the eventual destruction of our coral reefs. The destruction of coral reefs was a biological factor which was subsequently borne out and responsible for the Tsunami on December 26th 2005 which devastated Indonesia and many other countries. A fact subsequently discovered by marine biologists.

In the Science Daily dated (Jun. 11, 2007) it was reported that the “Caribbean coral species are dying off, indicating dramatic shifts in the ecological balance under the sea, a new scientific study of Caribbean marine life shows. The study found that 10% of the Caribbean’s 62 reef-building corals were under threat, including Staghorn and Elkhorn corals. These used to be the most prominent species but are now candidates to be listed as ‘Critically Endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species’”.

Let us be under no illusion. As Science Daily reports that “one of the Atlantic Ocean’s most beautiful marine habitats no longer exists in many places because of dramatic increases in coral diseases, mostly caused by climate change and warmer waters,” said Dr. Michael L. Smith, director of the Caribbean Biodiversity Initiative at Conservation International.

Based on our changing ecology, “climatologists forecast completely new climates. Something we are increasing seeing in Europe. Geographers have projected temperature increases due to greenhouse gas emissions to reach a not-so-chilling conclusion: climate zones will shift and some climates will even disappear completely by the year 2100”.

Eminent environmental scientists like Dr. Cao et al. seek to quantify the effect of climate change on ocean acidity and on the calcium-carbonate minerals that form shells and skeletons. “By using an Earth system model, the researchers find that the ocean pH will decline by 0.31 units by the end of this century if atmospheric carbon dioxide concentrations continue on a trajectory that ultimately stabilizes at 1,000 parts per million. This increase in acidity occurs regardless of how much of a global-warming-related temperature rise takes place as carbon dioxide builds up to that concentration”.

“Like a piece of chalk dissolving in vinegar, marine life with hard shells is in danger of being dissolved by increasing acidity in the oceans. Ocean acidity is rising as sea water absorbs more carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere from power plants and automobiles. The higher acidity threatens marine life, including corals and shellfish, which may become extinct later this century from the chemical effects of carbon dioxide, even if the planet warms less than expected”.

Many in Barbados and throughout the Caribbean (especially in Guyana & Trinidad) will agree with these finding but moreover that in the last decade our local temperatures has increased several degrees hotter due to wilfully destructive practices of maize and soybean producers, urban developers, house builders and infrastructural planners in both our Town & Country Planning and Urban Development departments, where basically men are void of vision and lack the fundamental knowledge of ecological sustainability and how that impacts on climate change.

It is common sense to deduce that if one cuts down trees while slashing and burning to plant crops (which is a good thing) or refuse to plant trees as a form of sustainability, as we plant more and more houses every year, at the same time concreting over the landscape of beautiful Barbados and our other idyllic island paradises, the end result will be increased heat, and unpredictable patterns of seasonal instability.

The greatest threat facing our nation states is not from international terrorists, money launderers, unscrupulous politicians and business people, youth crime and violence, drug trafficking, or even the spiralling cost of living even though these are all symptomatic of the moral landslide endemic within contemporary society and the breakdown of ethical values which makes us human and not ruled by the conventional law of the jungle – but the real burning issue is how climate change will change us all in the near future.

Governments must lead from the front to avert what will be a catastrophe of unparallel proportions to our environment if these issues are not addressed speedily. We cannot continue the wanton destruction of our society or our fragile planet without calamitous results both for us and for our children in the very near future. Now is the time for all of us to act with resolve to change Barbados and our world to more “GREENER”, sustainable and friendlier planet. Let’s make that change!

79 responses to “Barbados At The Crossroads: Are We Winning The Battle Against Climate Change?”

1. Terrence has just given us every reason why we should not “beleive” nor worship his, GP nor Zoe’s God.

You forget to factor HAARP into your damnation equation.

A few men sat at their roundtable years ago and planned it all, give you a book and call it prophecy!

What happen to the meek inheriting the earth, when they will be no earth for them or is that another untrue in that Bible?

2. @George Porgie: “Did you in your haste to condemn the man,, note that he was quoting from a book?

Do you guys ever produce original thought?

Or is it all mindless cut-and-paste?

3. Hopi // September 29, 2009 at 2:39 PM

Terrence has just given us every reason why we should not “beleive” nor worship his, GP nor Zoe’s God.

You forget to factor HAARP into your damnation equation.

A few men sat at their roundtable years ago and planned it all, give you a book and call it prophecy!

What happen to the meek inheriting the earth, when they will be no earth for them or is that another untrue in that Bible?

I will say it again. SOME GOD!

The christians can have it.

4. Re What happen to the meek inheriting the earth, when they will be no earth for them or is that another untrue in that Bible?

Interpret the text in its context.

What is Jesus talking about here in the Sermon on the Mount?

To whom is he speaking?

Why did he say this?

Who are the meek?

Try to grasp what the original word translated “earth” means.

What does the Bible say about a “new” heaven and a “new” earth that will come into being after Armageddon.

Remember the cardinal principle of Bible interpretation is given in 2 Peter 1:20 Knowing this first, that no prophecy of the scripture is of any private interpretation.

Certainly any one can make these silly jabs that you make Hopi. They do call for a lot of original thought I presume.

Yes Pat we will keep our God. He is the ONLY REAL GOD & THE BEST!

Here are a few thoughts from Psalm 115 that I find interesting.
    115:1 Not unto us, O LORD, not unto us, but unto thy name give glory, for thy mercy, [and] for thy truth’s sake.

115:2 Wherefore should the heathen say, Where [is] now their God?

115:3 But our God [is] in the heavens: he hath done whatsoever he hath pleased.

115:4 Their idols [are] silver and gold, the work of men’s hands.

115:5 They have mouths, but they speak not: eyes have they, but they see not:

115:6 They have ears, but they hear not: noses have they, but they smell not:

115:7 They have hands, but they handle not: feet have they, but they walk not: neither speak they through their throat.

115:8 They that make them are like unto them; [so is] every one that trusteth in them.

5. CH
    Re Life is not just about *you*. Your life is also about what you leave behind for those who follow (no joke intended).

Are you talking about posessions such as the real estate that my children’s mother now controls that I worked for, for them.

Or do you mean the education and example that they recieved that allows them to lead meaningful lives?

Or are you just spewing from somewhere near your “shelves of Houston”?

6. @Georgie Porgie…

I mean, for example, Bajans (and everyone living within 40 degrees of the equator) being able to live where they currently do without suffering 60+ degree centigrade summers.

I mean, for example, everyone who lives on this planet having enough to eat and drink.

I mean, for example, everyone who lives on this planet being educated enough to argue their position, in both written and verbal form.

That’s what I mean.

Thanks for asking.

7. @Georgie Porgie…

Sorry… I missed a *very* important point, which I trust you’ll resonate with…

I also mean that *everyone* will have access to the very best heath care currently available, no matter their location or station.

8. @Pat…….I say let them have their God.. i.e the god of destruction and damnation, the god that supposedly created this vast and magnificent realm just to destroy it because of a few bad, bad MALE entities, when it would be so much easier to eradicate the bad ones while continuing the process of LIFE TO BEING.

And in the meantime we’ll keep our Goddess i.e. the Goddess of Creation, Love, Beauty and Justice . The Goddess of CAUSES and CONSEQUENCES!

@GP………… That didn’t even take any thought at all furthermore original thought.

9. Pray Tell Halsall

Whose fault is it that there is not provision of access to the very best heath care currently available, no matter their location or station to everyone?

Whose fault is it that there is not enough to eat and drink for everyone who lives on this planet?

Whose fault is it that everyone who lives on this planet being educated enough to argue their position, in both written and verbal form.

Who is responsible for people suffering 60+ degree centigrade summers .

Do tell us Halsall. Do tell us

10. @Georgie Porgie: “Do tell us Halsall. Do tell us

In the short form…

I would argue that those responsible are mostly those who derive profit from scarcity.

What says you?

11. In the “free market” competition
    would drive price down to the level
    of cost (approximately).

In monopoly capitalism, price
    always equals at least cost plus
    taxation plus rent plus interest.

Robbery Aggravation
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/09/29/robbery-aggravation/

12. @kiki: “In the “free market” competition would drive price down to the level of cost (approximately).

Sort of correct. This is only true in “truly” free marketplaces.

“In monopoly capitalism, price always equals at least cost plus taxation plus rent plus interest.

Sort of correct…

In a properly regulated marketplace, “natural monopolies” can be as efficient as free marketplaces. Sometimes even more efficient…

@kiki… Is there any chance you might not post a link over to a music Blog every time you post?

You’re coming across as rather parasitic….

13. OK Christopher, a Science Debate it is.
    Forget about the poetry, music and art.

14. (Science), when reversed: Conceit and
    intellectual pride. Being stuck in a
    problem which has no apparent solution.

15. @kiki…

Are you in *any* way associated with the WordPress site you have provided several links to?

16. Chris, Surely you can answer your own
    question yourself without engaging in
    such a tedious drawn out process.

The people that appreciate reggae
    music are the people it is meant for.

You should listen to rock music if you have no sense of musical rhythm.

17. Message From The King – Words Of Wisdom – Biblical Quotations In …
    Hear what my good brother Culture got to say. Black, black, reggae, you know. Black reggae music is a message from the king. Black reggae music is a message …

http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/09/30/message-from-the-king/

18. Its amazing how the discussion went from climate change to religion. I don’t necessarily subscribe to the notion that religion is the opiate of the masses, but it clearly has some drug-like effect on people. People will defy all logic, convolute the truth to tey to justify the “prophecies” in the bible. These hand waving arguments about the end times are nonsensical! Irrespective of whether climate change is a farce or not, in order move towards a sustainable development we have to calibrate our “business as usual” approach and reduce our footprint on the environment. Don’t we at least want to give future generations a chance to enjoy the diversity of flora and fauna, relatively fresh water and air we breathe. Alternatively, we could cling to religious dogma and say the end of the world is near and do nothing? This issue is beyond science, religion, racial prejudice, etc. We need to collectively put our differences aside and work for the common goal of leaving an environment for our great grandchildren to enjoy. Shouldn’t God judge those who do nothing to protect what we inherited harshly?

19. @Scientist…

Well said.

20. @Scientist

There is much merit in your comment. When the dust is settled we need to be optimistic in how we live our lifes.

21. Making Scientific Sense Of The News
    Science Determines Scientists Are
    Smarter Than You

22. @kiki…

Dangerously close to Haiku.

23. 古池や 蛙飛込む 水の音

24. Translated:
    old pond . . .
    a frog leaps in
    water’s sound

25. Red faces at Copenhagen.

Looks like our “climatologist” scammers have really been exposed fiddling the figures to cover the inconvenient truth that their AGW agenda is unsupportable by raw data.

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/news/jamesdelingpole/100017393/climategate-the-final-nail-in-the-coffin-of-anthropogenic-global-warming/

26. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

ST… perhaps that hacker should get next year’s Nobel prize 🙂

27. MME:

Maybe the Booker Prize would be more appropriate.

Along with the emails at CRU were the data sets and programmer’s notes.

The give us an idea of the statistical integrity of the IPCC’s raison d’etre.

There’s a very disturbing “HARRY_READ_ME.txt” file in documents that APPEARS to be somebody trying to fit existing results to data and much of it is about the code that’s here. I think there’s something very very wrong here…

This file is 15,000 lines of comments, much of it copy/pastes of code or output by somebody (who’s harry?) trying to make sense of it all….

Here’s some particularly interesting bits, one from early in the file and one from way down:

The below are the notes of Ian Harris, a CRU programmer.

7. Removed 4-line header from a couple of .glo files and loaded them into Matlab. Reshaped to 360r x 720c and plotted; looks OK for global temp (anomalies) data. Deduce that .glo files, after the header, contain data taken row-by-row starting with the Northernmost, and presented as ‘8E12.4’. The grid is from -180 to +180 rather than 0 to 360.

This should allow us to deduce the meaning of the co-ordinate pairs used to describe each cell in a .grim file (we know the first number is the lon or column, the second the lat or row – but which way up are the latitudes? And where do the longitudes break?

There is another problem: the values are anomalies, wheras the ‘public’ .grim files are actual values. So Tim’s explanations (in _READ_ME.txt) are incorrect…

8. Had a hunt and found an identically-named temperature database file which did include normals lines at the start of every station. How handy – naming two different files with exactly the same name and relying on their location to differentiate! Aaarrgghh!! Re-ran anomdtb:

The deduction so far is that the DTR-derived CLD is waaay off. The DTR looks OK, well OK in the sense that it doesn;t have prominent bands! So it’s either the factors and offsets from the regression, or the way they’ve been applied in dtr2cld.

Well, dtr2cld is not the world’s most complicated program. Wheras cloudreg is, and I immediately found a mistake! Scanning forward to 1951 was done with a loop that, for completely unfathomable reasons, didn’t include months! So we read 50 grids instead of 600!!! That may have had something to do with it. I also noticed, as I was correcting THAT, that I reopened the DTR and CLD data files when I should have been opening the bloody station files!! I can only assume that I was being interrupted continually when I was writing this thing. Running with those bits fixed improved matters somewhat, though now there’s a problem in that one 5-degree band (10S to 5S) has no stations! This will be due to low station counts in that region, plus removal of duplicate values.

So.. we don’t have the coefficients files (just .eps plots of something). But what are all those monthly files? DON’T KNOW, UNDOCUMENTED. Wherever I look, there are data files, no info about what they are other than their names. And that’s useless.. take the above example, the filenames in the _mon and _ann directories are identical, but the contents are not. And the only difference is that one directory is apparently ‘monthly’ and the other ‘annual’ – yet both contain monthly files.

These are very promising. The vast majority in both cases are within 0.5 degrees of the published data. However, there are still plenty of values more than a degree out.

TMP has a comforting 95%+ within half a degree, though one still wonders why it isn’t 100% spot on..

DTR fares perhaps even better, over half are spot-on, though about 7.5% are outside a half.
    However, it’s not such good news for precip (PRE):

Percentages: 13.93 25.65 11.23 49.20

21. A little experimentation goes a short way..

I tried using the ‘stn’ option of anomdtb.for. Not completely sure what it’s supposed to do, but no matter as it didn’t work:

..knowing how long it takes to debug this suite – the experiment endeth here. The option (like all the anomdtb options) is totally undocumented so we’ll never know what we lost.

22. Right, time to stop pussyfooting around the niceties of Tim’s labyrinthine software
    suites – let’s have a go at producing CRU TS 3.0! since failing to do that will be the definitive failure of the entire project..

The IDL gridding program calculates whether or not a station contributes to a cell, using.. graphics. Yes, it plots the station sphere of influence then checks for the colour white in the output. So there is no guarantee that the station number files, which are produced *independently* by anomdtb, will reflect what actually happened!!

Well I’ve just spent 24 hours trying to get Great Circle Distance calculations working in Fortran, with precisely no success. I’ve tried the simple method (as used in Tim O’s geodist.pro, and the more complex and accurate method found elsewhere (wiki and other places). Neither give me results that are anything near reality. FFS.

Worked out an algorithm from scratch. It seems to give better answers than the others, so we’ll go with that.

The problem is, really, the huge numbers of cells potentially involved in one station, particularly at high latitudes.

out of malicious interest, I dumped the first station’s coverage to a text file and counted up how many cells it ‘influenced’. The station was at 10.6E, 61.0N.

The total number of cells covered was a staggering 476!

Back to the gridding. I am seriously worried that our flagship gridded data product is produced by Delaunay triangulation – apparently linear as well.

As far as I can see, this renders the station counts totally meaningless.

It also means that we cannot say exactly how the gridded data is arrived at from a statistical perspective – since we’re using an off-the-shelf product that isn’t documented sufficiently to say that.

Why this wasn’t coded up in Fortran I don’t know – time pressures perhaps? Was too much effort expended on homogenisation, that there wasn’t enough time to write a gridding procedure? Of course, it’s too late for me to fix it too. Meh.0
    The problem is that the synthetics are incorporated at 2.5-degrees, NO IDEA why, so saying they affect particular 0.5-degree cells is harder than it should be. So we’ll just gloss over that entirely ;0)

ARGH. Just went back to check on synthetic production. Apparently – I have no memory of this at all – we’re not doing observed rain days! It’s all synthetic from 1990 onwards. So I’m going to need conditionals in the update program to handle that. And separate gridding before 1989. And what TF happens to station counts?

OH **** THIS. It’s Sunday evening, I’ve worked all weekend, and just when I thought it was done I’m hitting yet another problem that’s based on the hopeless state of our databases. There is no uniform data integrity, it’s just a catalogue of issues that continues to grow as they’re found.

28. On Friday, young people from 139 countries protested about climate change. Barbados was missing. Explain.