President Obama and First Lady

The albatross clinging to the back of the Black race continues to remind Black people everywhere of the pain left by slavery. Yes the Black race has made strides since emancipation day but in a fragmented way. As a collective we are woefully short of where we need to be in order to leverage the talent of the Black race.

The rich culture lived by Africans before undertaking the arduous journey of the Middle Passage has been diminished through generations of slaving under a non-Black establishment. Those who understand the concept of culture i.e. the shared characteristics of a people would have witnessed the culture of the Black man subsumed by the more dominant of the colonial masters. Commonsense exposes the fact that the Black race compared to any other race experienced a physical and psychological abuse by another race never visited on any other race in the history of mankind.

The foregoing possibly explains why there is a latent discontent which haunts any discussion about race relations between Blacks and Whites 170 plus years after the emancipation of slaves in the West Indies. Despite it all, while the extreme among us may shout for retribution most will settle for reparation.

Earlier blogs on BU which discussed how the psyche of the Black man could remain bruise 100 years later should examine  this issue through the eyes of a White academic. A White Professor Andrew Manis of Macon State College scribed his perspective about When Are WE Going to Get Over It?. All along Blacks have been made to feel that any tension and distrust existing between Blacks and Whites is all the fault of the Blacks. In Manis’ article mention is made of the fear many White Americans have had to the election of the first Black president of the USA. He mentions how White children are socialized to react negatively to the Black presidency and many other hair raising observations.

Some would label BU as racist. We prefer to seek comfort in the knowledge that speaking about race not in whispered tones, may help to weave the racial harmony some of us yearn for through honest and open engagement of the issue.

1. @RD…

With respect… Can we agree that we generally agree?

I have a theory as to why someone might invent racism.

They would likely be a student of Machiavelli…

Kindest regards….

2. Humanity is diverse and as much research as scientists do they will never fully explain observable facts of human existence.

On the same continent of Africa are found Pygmies and Masai, shortest and tallest humans.

Googled Pygmy Masai and found some interesting links. Here is one.

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=why-pygmies-evolved-to-be-shorter

Learnt that Pygmies can be found in the jungles of South East Asia and South America, not only Africa.

Always associated Pygmies with the Congo. Live and learn.

Also googled ethnicity race. Here is an interesting link that turned up.

http://anthro.palomar.edu/ethnicity/default.htm

To me it seems so plain and ordinary to try to categorize ourselves as black or white given the immense diversity within us.

We should be celebrating this diversity, and yet …. we are genetically almost identical, quite unlike anything found in the animal kingdom.

3. One day I might begin to understand Bajans but, I don’t think I’ll b this side of the grave!!

Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

4. Chris, why don’t u cease all that nonsense about the colour of a persons eyes and skin and answer my more substantive question of how u manage with both feet in two different camps!! Don’t you find it, to say the least, uncomfortable, both physically and morally and, how, in view of same do u manage to sleep at night, or, do anything else!! Perhaps, you’re very agile? Chris, I mus tell yuh boy, u look like a typical, miserable, down-in-the-mouth white boy, well suited to BFP!! I hope I in right!! 🙂

5. Skin pigmentation has evolved darker to deflect sunshine in hot countries and
    lighter to absorb vitamin d in cold countries.
    Children don’t know anything about racism it is taught to them.

6. Institutional racism is a historical legacy that needs to be challenged continually in order to redress the imbalance of power.

7. Came across this info.

When the Irish emigrated to America in large numbers during and after the potato famine, they, like the freed slaves, were at the bottom of the ladder.

“How the Irish became white” puts it this way:

“There, they commonly found themselves thrown together with the free Negroes.

Irish- and Afro- Americans fought each other and the police, socialised and occasionally intermarried, and developed a common culture of the lowly.

They also both suffered from the scorn of those better situated. Along with Jim Crow and Jim Dandy, the drunken, belligerent and foolish Pat and Bridget were stock characters on the early stage.

In antebellum America it was speculated that of racial amalgamation was to ever take place it would begin between these groups.”

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/4/20090902/video/vuk-muhammad-ali-honours-his-irish-ances-49bfa63.html

8. The Irish were called white n!99£r’s.
    Defeating racism is not about tolerating
    others.. it’s about appreciating them

9. @John, you nailed it!

“It is ‘oppression’ that is the key word and has LITTLE to do with skin colour” emphasis added.

Mankind, from the very beginning, as recorded in the Genesis account of Creation, confirmed coherently throughout history, has been ‘oppressing’ one another in a variety of ways, and it HAD/HAS nothing to do with colour, which was/is only incidental, as whites still oppress whites, blacks oppressing blacks, et al, all over the world.

Because, “The heart of man is deceitful above ALL things, and desperatly wicked, who can know it? (Jer. 17:9)

We must stop looking at the symptoms (Racism, etc) and carefully look at the CAUSE, which IS SIN, which has NO colour!

10. Green Monkey, Pied Piper, John, Guppy Gizzard, (David?) and all the other White people (Reality Check, Jack Bowman, Jason, Robin Hood, Micro Mock) and the half White ones (Bimbro, Rumplestilskin) that blog on this site (Halsall is an internet ‘bot, had a lotta a wana fooled nah!) should understand that racial hatred in Babados stems from the fact that White people are continuously and obviously pushing a “separatist/segregationist” agenda! When that stops the whole issue of race in Babados will go away…Simple!

11. kiki, the Irish r as racist as anybody else so, I’m not sure of the point ur making!!

12. BAF, the point is that it’s pretty unlikely ever to stop, ‘cept by some miracle. I’ve a solution but, no one wants to hear it!!

13. Bimbro, you alright, I always understood thsat you are or were married to an Irish lady, hence why you won’t come back to Bim. As to BAF, boy so glad you leave me out of your name calling, let me tell you something, whenever you get up out of your drunken stupor, black will be black, green will be green and white will always be white. In any case why bother, it ain’t bout white and black now, it is about the haves and those have nots. It is about the green man whats wrong with you.

14. Yes, ‘Ignorance does have something to be said for it; it gives rise to about 9/10th of world’s conversational output.’

15. Sorry

Johnnie Too Bad White too…! White, White, White, White..! Da’s the kinda shite I expect to hear…!

16. Bim my Bro,

Lemme hear yah…(of course if you’re thinking about blowing up all of the Africans ’bout hear you should share your thoughts with someone else). LOL

17. Bimbro. the Irish (ROI) football team has
    some black players who still look Irish with chubby faces

18. Hi Johnny, don’t know where u got that from bro but, no, never been married to an Irish woman! The point I was making there is, they’re no different from anybody else, whether Irish, English, French or whomever!!

BAF, ‘blowing up africans’?!! I would seriously consider blowing up Africans (as oppossed to my Barbadian bros and sis)! However, I’m not contemplating blowing up anybody! My solution concerns my first becoming PM of Bim and, nobody wants tuh hear dah so, it’s a non-starter and, the problem will thus always b there!! (of racism)!!

19. people mix when they drink alcohol and go to nightclubs

20. There are black people all over the world
    even in russia and israel

21. @ BAFBFP // September 3, 2009 at 12:20 PM

BAFBFP wrote..”racial hatred in Babados stems from the fact that White people are continuously and obviously pushing a “separatist/segregationist” agenda! When that stops the whole issue of race in Babados will go away…Simple!………”

My reply…… Do you want to expand a bit more on that statement? You seem to have lost me.

Don’t we have laws in Barbados against such occurrences?

22. Robin Hood
    The very well known Phenomenon of Whites leaving clubs and other places of association to form new ones whenever the population of Blacks increases (Boat Yard, Negroman mentioned the Warehouse, Banana Boat and the Garage, The Ships Inn and The Castle Tavern). The fact that there are still establishments like St. Winefred’s, Harbour Lights, Blue Box Cart and a couple of newer ones that were recently formed with demographic make ups that in no way reflect wider society. COW likes to advertise these Polo games but I am prepared to bet that should the number of Blacks at these games increase such advertising will stop. The fact that to this day Whites still exist as a very well defined species in a population where they are outnumbered 20:1. No laws have been broken but…

Come on Robin let’s have some clean fun here..!

23. I forget, Ace White too..!

24. robin hood // September 3, 2009 at
    My reply…… Do you want to expand a bit more on that statement? You seem to have lost me.

Don’t we have laws in Barbados against such occurrences?
    +
    Legal system is a joke
    fraud

25. @BAFBFP

“White people are continuously and obviously pushing a “separatist/segregationist” agenda! When that stops the whole issue of race in Babados will go away…Simple!………”

You think they understand that? I think they do. They have come to enjoy their status so much that they could fly in the face of Bajans and set up segregated activities. We should not listen to them when they come with foolish arguments like we sell ourselves to them. I think they wanted to buy. If there were no market sufficient money to bribe, coupled with a cruelty mindset, then there would have been no slavery.

If there were no people in Barbados who sought to segregate themselves and hold themselves up as gods, then there would be no racism.

As far as I know, racism is against the law. They try to ensure we don’t break any laws but their very existence and status is based on breaking the law; racism.

26. @BAFBFP

You know, when I take this thing right down to the baller. When you catch a criminal that has been breaking the law all his life and his empire is based on criminal activity, they get all their property confiscated; proceeds from crime.

Anybody who practices racism and their very existence is based on racism, they should get their property confiscated too. We need to promote that idea. The racism would done in a hurry.

27. kiki // September 3, 2009 at 3:14 PM

“Bimbro. the Irish (ROI) football team has some black players who still look Irish with chubby faces”

That is because Irish people White or Black start serious alcohol consumption from very early in life..!

28. ROK

Yah half breed (LOL), please let me add that it is rediculous to be considering those of the traditionally disadvantaged as “Racist”. The most that you can attribute to them is that they are “Reactionary”.

29. Rok, Black / Brown people have properties too.
    Watch the whites abuse their own law to repossess them.
    (KPMG Scum)

30. @BAFBFP
    “…it is rediculous to be considering those of the traditionally disadvantaged as “Racist”.”

I ain’t consider a thing. Them is what them is. They forgot where they came from when they reached where they are. Without racism, they could reach.

31. ROK // September 3, 2009 at 5:02 PM

@BAFBFP

“White people are continuously and obviously pushing a “separatist/segregationist” agenda! When that stops the whole issue of race in Babados will go away…Simple!………”

You think they understand that? I think they do. They have come to enjoy their status so much that they could fly in the face of Bajans and set up segregated activities

The guy I told you about who was in your form at school and reckons he is a caucasian told me wherever he went in his youth you were there too.

I don’t buy this segregation thing at all.

32. Well John, I can’t remember going to Harbourlights or yacht club or any of those spots, but you cannot compare Lodge and HC Black boys with the average Bajan. That is part of the racism too.

You don’t have to buy anything. It does exist. How about these white children going overseas to find a white partner? I know, you want documented proof. Well then fork out some money if you want to buy.

33. @John

“The guy I told you about who was in your form at school and reckons he is a caucasian told me wherever he went in his youth you were there too.”

Like you are this guy. He don’t have fingers too. I will not sit here with you asking for documented proof and let you get away with some phantom.

In those days, house parties was the thing for us; not harbour lights or even the one up Bishops Court Hill. Joke! So he nor you could not have seen me those places.

34. @BU Family… With respect to *all*…

When are we going to realize that this is not about Race or Colour? This is instead about MONEY???

Machiavelli, sadly, is *required* reading for just about all students. Even more sadly, it is taken seriously, and used, by many…

@ROK… As always, I again enjoyed working with you today. I think we accomplished a serious win, working together on a matter that we are legally bound and sworn not to talk about (in any detail)….

35. @Chris
    I would agree that its about money as a means of acquiring abundance.

Thanks for the compliment Chris but the confidentiality is about the figures. We will wait until the FTC publishes its decision, but basically we will get the info minus figures; which are still under negotiation anyhow.

The principle of the approach was that all efforts must be made to ensure that as much of the info as possible should be on the public record. The fact that no final figures had been arrived at in this case makes any insertion of figures meaningless to the hearing.

Today, experienced also showed, as we were the only intervenors in the confidentiality hearing. Again the process beat the newcomers, although one or two admitted that they were neither here nor there about the confidentiality of this matter.

Of course, it was still good we objected otherwise there would have been no intervenors to witness what went on.

I think that Sir Neville has to ease up on his criticism of the intervenors. Like he is there with this mindset that Intervenors are the worst. Too much innuendo and in a way intimidation too. It was so funny that the very section of our objection which he started out by saying was a non objection, was the very basis of the probe that yielded results….. hmmm.

The only problem we had was that we were fishing because we were handed an abridged version which had the pages in question blanked out. Thanks to the two Commissioners for their exploratory questions. At least we must give the Commission credit because we did not have the information. Had not for their probes it would not have been as surgical as it turned out.

36. @ROK
    So you want to start with my property, ROK? You would be most welcome to it if you would want my little board & shingle that I have here up in St George.
    Gotta warn you though I ain’t finish pay the bank for it yet. I still struggling to make the payments when the month -end come. Just let me know when you ready to commandeer it.

Funny thing though, I, my wife or my 2 children never see the inside of all them clubs and other places you and others naming here. We just hear about them and see some of them when we pass by on the road. And I VERY sure there are lots and lots of other people like us as well in Barbados who could say the same regardless of their skin pigmentation!
    So just exactly what was the point you were trying to make again with that statement? I not too sure exactly.

37. @ ROK, Adrian Hinds, BAFBFP etc.

Just what is it you all really want from light skinned people here in Barbados?

You want their money, their property, breed their women folk?? Tell us for everybody to see and hear now. Shout it out real loud, get a PA system and get in the middle of Broad Street and make a public statement about what it is that you all really want from the “ekky beckies”, “poor whites”, “backrah johnnies”, the “honkies” whatever other names you could think to add. Tell the world what you want. Get it off your chests!! Clear the air once and for all!!

38. @RH

Why you don’t chill? We don’t want a thing from you… but I see you get the point. It is about privilege.

Tell me something though. Would COW and RL Seale be classified as Ekky Beckies?

39. @robin hood et al…

May I please expand upon your above: “…whatever other names you could think to add.

If I may please add the following labels (as a “Honkey”):

“Exploitests”, “Big Men”, “Expansionists”, “Optimizers” and (with respect to the Economist) “Capitalists”.

IMHO, this is about nothing except money and power. And the furtherance of same….

40. @RH:
    Just so you know. I usually agree with those you mentioned, on matters of Immigration, telecommunications, BFP agenda, LIB agenda, etc. I part ways with them on socialist dogma, Obama support, and probably any geopolitical situation concerning Cuba, Isreal/Palestian conflict, Russia and China so called resurgence etc.. I have come to know myself as been somewhat conservative.

41. @ROK September 3, 2009 at 8:59 PM

ROK asked….”Tell me something though. Would COW and RL Seale be classified as Ekky Beckies?”

I reply………..So check where came from.
    St. Joseph? And how did he make his start? With an old D6 tractor that the bank manager refused to lend him the money to buy because he was seen as an “extreme risk”.
    That is something all in Barbados should know. Where u livin?

I will chill when I could see some intelligence being displayed from those who should know better!

Seale? From reports he took over a family business that had been built up bit by bit, not overnight like some people would like to do today, in Roebuck street.
    But he would have to be a “honkey”! Not a “ekky becky”.

42. Correction,
    I meant to type check where Sir Cow come from!

43. There was a guy that went to school with ROK who was involved in a motor cycle accident and refused emergency medical attention because the only medics available at the time were black. The idiot lost his arm. My God.

What I would like to get off my chest Robin Hood is that I want all White women in Babados to breed wid Black men and have mix breed children. All this in-breeding and importing new stock can’ be healthy. Again I say that Whites in Babados are traditionally part of a separatist movement. You ain’ nah fun nah more, yah talkin’ shite Robin! I gun set Bonny pun you..

44. @RH
    When I think about poor people, I think about people who can’t eat everyday. A person without assets or money. A person with no job and no opportunity.

One thing you have to say about COW. Doors opened for him otherwise he could not have been that successful.

COW being a risk is by the way. I believe that he was one of those who were sidelined by the honkies but despite the apparent odds, he overcame. I think it has to do with the fact that power landed in the hands of blacks who did not see him as any different to any other white man and hence he got his privileges where whites refused him…

but my problem with you is that you real sensitive. Does a cap fit? Why you as a red man lump yourself with the honkies? If you were different, my comments would fly over you like water off a duck’s back. If the issues that we targeting don’t fit you, who you defending?

I think you should chill because from what you saying, you can’t defend them and I certainly don’t mean anybody who the cap don’t fit. So when you fly up it means you side with them and condone what they do. You cannot defend what you are not and simply because you fly up don’t take the problem away. From your position you cannot negotiate for them, so what you arguing?

45. ROK I thought that Chris was the latest generation Artificial Intelligence…. Yah mean he is flesh and blood?

46. @ BAFBFP // September 3, 2009 at 9:45 PM

You wrote….”There was a guy that went to school with ROK who was involved in a motor cycle accident and refused emergency medical attention because the only medics available at the time were black. The idiot lost his arm. My God.”

And you think that most “whites” would have done the same, right? Well, I got news for you,buddy, not all of them got poop for brains like that guy had!!

You also wrote…..”What I would like to get off my chest Robin Hood is that I want all White women in Babados to breed wid Black men and have mix breed children.”

I write…….. That does not surprise me one bit. However, you are about 400 years too late. That’s been happening since Barbados was 1st settled! LOL

47. @ Rok//September 3, 2009 at 9:46 PM

ROKie,
    I ain’t got a fella to defend but me! But when I hear dung like “they want their properties taking way from them” that is when I’s get kinda “igrunt”. Because I know of people in this country afro/euro, whatever you want to call them, that work real hard for whatever little piece of the rock they own or would like to own and when some others come along and want to make some real “igrunt”general statements and put every tom,dick and his brother in the same boat that is what does not make any sense to this “man of the people who was known to take from the rich and give to the poor’.Pun intended.

48. Man Robin don’ talk foolishness. Which Babados you talkin’ ’bout? Evelyn bannish he daughter because she marry a Black man..! Somebody tell Robin ’bout Barry Forde mudda in law! A Chief Justice sen’ way he daughter before she got any further involved with a Black.

49. @RH

Boy, they not letting you in at all. Of course you may mean the ekky beckies, especially the men. Them love a black woman.

50. Of all de White chicks that I know from Codrington, some did real sweet, only one lives in Babados. All the White Winipegs that I know of marry an live over an’ away in places like England and New Zealand and dey ain’ marry nah Aboriginals nider…! An’ dese girls had look good, wid back sides and all..! GONE.. Yeah Mr. Hood I vex!