President Obama and First Lady

The albatross clinging to the back of the Black race continues to remind Black people everywhere of the pain left by slavery. Yes the Black race has made strides since emancipation day but in a fragmented way. As a collective we are woefully short of where we need to be in order to leverage the talent of the Black race.

The rich culture lived by Africans before undertaking the arduous journey of the Middle Passage has been diminished through generations of slaving under a non-Black establishment. Those who understand the concept of culture i.e. the shared characteristics of a people would have witnessed the culture of the Black man subsumed by the more dominant of the colonial masters. Commonsense exposes the fact that the Black race compared to any other race experienced a physical and psychological abuse by another race never visited on any other race in the history of mankind.

The foregoing possibly explains why there is a latent discontent which haunts any discussion about race relations between Blacks and Whites 170 plus years after the emancipation of slaves in the West Indies. Despite it all, while the extreme among us may shout for retribution most will settle for reparation.

Earlier blogs on BU which discussed how the psyche of the Black man could remain bruise 100 years later should examine  this issue through the eyes of a White academic. A White Professor Andrew Manis of Macon State College scribed his perspective about When Are WE Going to Get Over It?. All along Blacks have been made to feel that any tension and distrust existing between Blacks and Whites is all the fault of the Blacks. In Manis’ article mention is made of the fear many White Americans have had to the election of the first Black president of the USA. He mentions how White children are socialized to react negatively to the Black presidency and many other hair raising observations.

Some would label BU as racist. We prefer to seek comfort in the knowledge that speaking about race not in whispered tones, may help to weave the racial harmony some of us yearn for through honest and open engagement of the issue.

1. @David,
    There is of course an altogether different perspective that would dispute your suggestion that we are not moving forward as black people.

We must be careful not to use the measures of our oppressors to determine our progress or lack thereof. Admittedly, we have not by and large been able to accumulate the levels of wealth and influence that some other races have…

However…
    As you may have gathered by now, Bush Tea contends that there is a deliberate designed purpose in our existence on this earth. I have explained that this ‘purpose’ is not really about accumulating wealth, nor about exercising power and influence.

THE REAL PURPOSE OF LIFE IS ABOUT THE REFINEMENT OF CHARACTER.

A look at the black race from this perspective provides a very different picture.

Like a diamond that needs to be refined through great pressure and heat, the black race has unquestionably been through the grinder. I have to tell you that the results have been noticeably impressive.

While Nelson Mandela is probably the most celebrated, there are a disproportionate number of black leaders who have come through extreme hardships to demonstrate levels of forgiveness, love, fairness and maturity not matched by other races.

Obama’s ability to overcome all the odds and redefine Bush’s America is a phenomenon that continues to beg explanation.

….if the objective of life is the refinement of character, then I challenge you to name a more successful race.

…of course if you insist on measuring by who have money and power in this dying world….. we probably should be concerned.

2. Funny how to even think about assasinating George Bush was a crime worthy of extradition and trial in an American court. Now Americans outwardly speak of assisinating a democratically elected President.

My God, Fiji is expelled from the Commonwealth because they are ignoring this process called democracy!

Race renders democracy useless. In a way I am glad because I am no democrat.

3. DAVID

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

I noticed that you have quietly removed your link to Barbados Free Press.

5. @BT

Ours is an attempt to show that there is an opinion on the other side of the race debate which helps to shape the debate as well. It is not only about the Black perspective.

6. Dave, it seems u have an over-simplistic and romanticed attitude towards Africans whereas, truth be known, they have a very pejorative one towards you, as a West Indian!! – don’t shoot the messenger ’cause u don’t like the message!! – instead, learn to deal with it, bro!!

7. Looka, d udda day the african nurses come hay to do a job of work and could n’t lef widout busing wunna!!

Steupse!

Wunna fool wunna-selves bout dem people!!

8. What a snobby attitude Africans in the UK have to West Indians, they are “drug addicts” “Iow Iife” etc, whereas the West Indians caII Africans “Bush Niggas”, Iacking in understanding. There’s an underIying tension about who soId whom to who, and a mutuaI sense of devaIuing each other, snobbery on both sides. West Indians are seen as “one of us” by the white community, whereas Africans, though more Iaw-abding, are seen as corrupt and many these days are MusIim which adds another dimension to the distrust. NotabIy in the case of Nigerians, who are seen to be on the make, fuII stop. At the same time there are strange Christian cuIts, a corruption of West African beIiefs which I can onIy bIame missionaries for, where tiny kids are deemed to be possesed by the deviI and weird behaviour resuIts, such as dismembered chiIdren found fIoating in the Thames. Rastafarians seem to be the onIy group to have bridged the divide, bizzareIy Iooking to North African Ethiopa as their home whiIst their origins tend to be Ghanian or Nigerian. You can see from this drama unfoIding that it just is not about coIour of skin and maybe we shouId Iook at that . You can’t expect a sophisticated Ghanian to put himseIf in the same category as one of the Janjaweed, murdering entire viIIages, just because he is bIack too. It’s Iike expecting an EngIishman to Iike HitIer just because he was white.

9. Don’t mind Bimbro David he want to pull a Willie Lynch but it can’t work around here,the people that like to pull wool over our eyes and call this blog racist don’t know the amount of ammo there is to shoot themselves with,here you go.

http://whitewatch.wordpress.com/
    http://www.stormfront.org/forum/

10. so free willy whitewatch.wordpress.com is Negroman’s website????? lol!

11. I just started reading “How the Irish became White”!!

The introduction begins:

“No biologist has ever been able to provide a satisfactory definition of “race” – that is, a definition that includes all members of a given race and excludes all others.

Attempts to give the term a biological foundation lead to absurdities: parents of children of different races, or the well known phenomenom that a white woman can give birth to a black child, but a black woman can never give birth to a white child.

The only logical conclusion is that people are members of different races because they have been assigned to them.

Outside these labels and the racial oppression that accompanies them, the only race is the human.”

12. Bush Tea: I beg to differ about your statement regarding the purpose of life. Just like all other living creatures on this planet (and probably else where), the sole purpose for our existance is that of procreation.

The human species has done such a wonderful job of reproducing, it is bringing us to the brink of extinction of life on this planet (or at least life forms as we currently know them).

However, given that we can’t stand anyone or anything which does not remotely mirror our image perhaps it’s a good thing.

13. Duppy Lizard

I agree.

I would go further.

There is no such thing as a Black race or a White race.

We are all part of the human race and our fundamental purpose is to procreate, as is the fundamental purpose of all living creatures!!

Black and White are social constructs, a simplifiation of the more complex earlier constructs, Caucosoid, Negroid, Mongoloid …. and all their varying and myriad subsets.

When we get to realise we really are only one human race and act to suit, then our character will have reached the level of refinement to which Bush Tea alludes.

Check Wiesenthal, Mandela, or for that matter any human who has had to face the horrors of human degradation similar to what these faced …. and still survived with an unbroken spirit to tell the tale.

These individuals are examples put there for us to see what is possible.

14. “Some would label BU as racist”

African-Americans and Afro-West Indians must be less sensitive about the charge of “racism” because we thereby give a gift to those who do not wish us well. It is now commonplace for “conservative” whites in North America and Europe, as well as whites and Indians in the Caribbean, to shut us up by throwing the R-word in our faces whenever we complain about racial discrimination, or seek to protect our interests, either as individuals or as a group, from the attacks of those who see us as The Other.

15. @John… I partially agree with your above.

What I agree with absolutely: “There is no such thing as a Black race or a White race [or, for that matter, any race]. … We are all part of the human race

I do, however, disagree with this: “…and our fundamental purpose is to procreate, as is the fundamental purpose of all living creatures!!

With respect, never-ending and unending, unconstrained procreation doesn’t scale. (A fact so ignored by many of the Catholics and Muslims, et al.)

We humans, unlike any animal (or life form) before us, are sentient.

I would argue, therefore, that instead we humans are uniquely positioned to recognize this fact, and thus to each endeavour to further *everyone*.

We don’t each, individually, have to pass on our own genes… To simply procreate… We each, instead, have the option of passing on our knowledge for the benefit, furtherance, and sustainability, of *all* we humans. And for the entire planet upon which we happen to find ourselves….

(My apologies if my above comes across as pedantic, elitist, etc. This is, however, what I truly believe.)

16. A Gigantic Lie

17. @John
    “There is no such thing as a Black race or a White race.”

Thanks Kiki. This psychiatrist has been at it for a long time. Last time I saw her she was a young woman.

What I think John must understand is the saying, Life is what you make it. Biological proof or lack of it, is merely incidental to the problem.

As the lady said it is all a lie, but we live it and it is real; manifested. It is therefore meaningless to say that we are all of the human race; something we have long accepted and which the white dominating class has not made a move to accept.

Until the philosophy that makes one race superior than another is finally and totally annihilated; utterly destroyed.

Remember that racism s an ideology. it is a philosophy and it is what we are fighting to end.

So go tell that to the white supremacists and don’t try to use it her to subdue us. It is not us that need to be subdued.

18. Dr. Frances Cress is the name. Getting old

19. @John

You need to move from the theory and deal with what the world has served up. We can only play the hand dealt.

20. Victor, It is through the good works of His Majesty Emperor Haile Salaisse that Rastas are able to from a bridge to Ethiopia. On a visit to Jamaica in the 1960’s His Majesty invited the rastas to come and settle in Ethiopia at Sheshemane. Plus if you join the Ethiopian Orhtodox Church-the oldest church in the world you can make a conenction with Ethiopia.

21. victor // September 2, 2009 at 4:24 AM

What a snobby attitude Africans in the UK have to West Indians, they are “drug addicts” “Iow Iife” etc,

Victor, congratulations on trying to eduate some, your Barbadian countrymen on, at least some, of the realities of life in the UK. However, you’re wasting ur time ’cause when I’ve told them I’ve been bused and make to feel that I were the problem and not British society so, congratulations on a well-intentioned, intelligent but largely, wasted effort!! The Bajees r in love with Africans and don’t really want to hear anything other than that they’re wonderful!!

LOL!! Never one like he who likes to fool himself!!

“West Indians are seen as “one of us” by the white community,”

Is this the schpeil which u use to comfort yourself, Vic!! It’s news to me! In my experience, every single male one of us is regarded as a mugger and stupid!! Maybe u live in a different UK!!

Oh, and BTW, I was out! Did u see our monthly run-down of major crime in the UK tv prog. ‘Crimewatch’, broadcast tonight and, as usual, did any of our Jamaican ‘friends’ feature in it, as they usually do!! I’m guessing that they probably did which is n’t what d Bajees want to hear either! Like the Africans, they want to fool themselves again into believing they’re no worse than anybody else!! V, please answer my question bro for the unwelcome illucidation of ur Bajan bros, even though they won’t thank u for it!! As I said, Nothing like those who love to fool themselves’!! You can tell them the truth – I’ve recorded it and will watch it later!!

Sorry, ‘freewilly’, no idea what ur going-on about! Might be confusing me with somebody else? In case u had n’t noticed, I’m fully in support of this blog!!

22. kiki

The lady is using skin colour to define race.

It just doesn’t work.

I have never heard anybody claim that one skin colour was in a majority.

Please give some examples of anyone you have heard in your life who has actually claimed this.

23. @Chris Halsall – I actually had to look up the meaning of “sentient”, my dictionary defines it as 1.”responsive to or conscious of sense impressions 2. Aware 3. finely sensitive in perception or feeling”. By your statement it is obvious that you are not familiar with animals or perhaps you yourself are not “sentient”. If anything, I believe that animals are far more sentient than humans.

The problem with us humans is that we think we are “special” – sorry to dissapoint, but there ain’t anything special about any of us.

The human race is driven by greed and lust.

24. @John

“The lady is using skin colour to define race. It just doesn’t work.”

What does not work? You saying that slavery never happened based on a racists ideology?

Are you saying that racism is non existent?

Exactly what do you mean by it doesn’t work? It worked?

25. David/ROK

Here is another way of putting it.

The white race that people keep speaking about is made up of those who partake of the priveleges of the white skin in society.

It is a sociogical concept and not a genetic reality.

A member of the white race can be white, black, brown, red or yellow.

By extension, the Black (or non white) race is made up of people who don’t partake in the priveleges of a white skin.

A member can also be white, black, brown, red or yellow.

Listen to what the lady is saying in the clip carefully and you will hear her speak of people with white skins and those with black, brown, red and yellow skins, …. ie white and non white ….. white and black if you like,

… in Barbados still you will hear Bajans speak of a black person who thinks he/she is white!!.

“The hall mark of racial oppression [is the reduction of] all members of the oppressed group to one undifferentiated social status, a status beneath that of any member of any social class” within the dominant group”. … taken from “How the Irish became White” which in turn is quoting from “The Invention of the White Race, Volume One; Racial Oppression and Social Control” .

Applying this logic to what I have written about early slave society in Barbados, it begun with Negroes and Christians, the Christians being the dominant group.

As manumission and miscegination occur you start seeing the appearance of Negroes, Mulattoes, Free Negroes and Free Mulattoes as social classes within the records.

Some of the Free Negroes and Free Mulattoes were also Christians, and by that I mean they were baptised and became members of the Anglican church.

I don’t think black and white were terms used socialogically until relatvely recently.

By emancipation, the records become “almost” colourless and classless.

Take a look sometime and you will see why I say “almost”.

The reality is that in society there are haves and have nots, confused with white and black, which is confused with skin colour.

The oppression of reducing members of the oppressed group to one undifferentiated social status showed up in the assignment of a number to a Jew or any other concentration camp inmate. Thereafter the inmate was known by a number not a name.

It is the same as an African being reduced to slavery by the elite (white race bu with a black skin) in his/her society and losing all social status, …. perhaps even his/her name as a result.

It is oppression that is the key word and has little to do with skin colour.

26. John Boy. The point she was making was people of colour are already categorised as minorities and are sidelined in american society. However, America is facing a cultural shift where whites will become a “minority” in 40 years. Racial categories themselves will be altered.

27. @John

If I even half understood where you were going with this, I may not mind engaging you but it seems as though you setting up yourself for somebody to tell you where to get off and then we are going to hear about profanity on BU.

You need to behave yourself. I charge you with conspiracy to incite men with vulnerable psyches… and if that don’t succeed I will still lock you up and throw away the key after declaring you are a risk to national peace and security.

28. @John

Sorry but I forgot to tell you that the real fight is against the white imperialists, a word that people don’t like to use, headed by the illuminati. They are the ones maintaining the ideology. As several have said on this blog already, it is the system.

29. Kiki – Would you not say that the same is true for whites, Indians and Chinese in Barbadian society i.e. minorities are sidelined in American society?

30. @Duppy Lizard: “I actually had to look up the meaning of “sentient”

…and then you go forward to insult me for my interpretation, and consideration, of a word (and concept) that I’ve comfortably used for twenty years.

You have read your Penrose. Right?

You have read your Dawkins. Right?

You are comfortable arguing why conscience (and sentience) cannot manifest in a deterministic system. That it requires a quantum uncertain system to manifest.

Right?

31. Chris – It is regretfull that you interpreted my criticism as an insult.

Superior intellect does not equate to common sense.

32. @DL: “Superior intellect does not equate to common sense.

To that I will agree.

33. duppy. I think people are people, each person is unique and different races and cultures make life interesting.

34. Chris -I guess you truly are not sentient.

35. Or should I say you just proved you are not.

36. Laughing at yourself? LOL

37. Sure…

I laugh at myself all the time.

It’s important to be comfortable doing so (IMHO)….

38. (Sometimes I’m the only one laughing. I’m comfortable with that, too….)

39. Pseudo intellectuals in search of the meaning of life.

40. @ Duppy Lizard
    Bush Tea: I beg to differ about your statement regarding the purpose of life. Just like all other living creatures on this planet (and probably else where), the sole purpose for our existance is that of procreation.
    Careful DL, It is not sustainable to beg to differ with BT – and then go on to state exactly what BT is saying….
    …LOL ….or it shouldn’t be…

Our purpose IS about procreation. In previous threads, I tried to explain that this is EXACTLY what life is about.

However, mankind IS special, in that we have the unique POTENTIAL to be transformed into a higher level of existence…(like a sperm has the potential to become a human being)

In summary then, the whole experience of life as we know it, is but a project designed to facilitate the procreation of a higher form of life which is not constrained by the boundaries of time and space.

….and trust me, the fact that you disagree or disbelieve me on this-has no impact on the reality of this assertion.

41. BT – I was merely referring to your sentence in capital letters which read “THE REAL PURPOSE OF LIFE IS ABOUT THE REFINEMENT OF CHARACTER”. I am more than happy to live in my ignorance and belief that we are merely a product of evolution that emerged from the slime of the earth.

42. Come on DP, don’t give me that bull. You are way to intelligent for that cop-out.

You can reason that ‘life’ is too complex, too intricate and too interdependent to be an ‘accident of evolution’.

You sound like the kind of person who can recognize complex design when you see it…..

What emerge from what slime what?!!

I challenge you to do some research and to think about this seriously for a while, and come back and tell us that you have concluded that we are Nth generation slime…. (well there MAY be some specific exceptions ….LOL LOL)

43. If a two humans can distinctly different skin types, can we not conclude that they well be other differences?

44. *If a two humans can have distinctly different skin types, can we not assume they are other differences?

45. @RD: “If a two humans can have distinctly different skin types, can we not assume they are other differences?

Like what?

Eye colour?

Hair colour?

At the risk of coming across as way too liberal, what *EXACTLY* does the wavelength of the photons bouncing off our various body parts have to do with what any individual might think? Or what they can or might do?

46. I am just saying there is the possibility that with a certain skin color might come with other traits attached.

Black skin people come from the tropics where as white skin people come from a place with less sunlight.

The sun is the source of energy that keeps keep this world turning, the tropics are closer to the sun therefore tropical life has evolved at a different rate.

I am just saying that they could be other physical traits attached to skin color.

47. @RD…

I will agree that we *all* are different. Each and every one of us.

But I would argue that we’re also all the same. I hope (perhaps pray that) we might all realize this….

(And just to make sure that I don’t disappoint those who expect me to be pedantic… The Sun is indeed our source of energy. But it does *not* keep our world turning — we simply orbit the Sun. Our world’s rotation is simply angular momentum, gifted to us from the Universe’s creation.)

48. The sun’s gravity is what pulls the earth and the light energy emitted from the sun when changed to different forms powers the earths ecosystem.

I see the problem we have CH, i only meant physical traits, eg. bigger heads, lungs etc..

Any non physical ‘traits’ would be very minor and rendered null by globalization. All humans have the same thinking capacity.

49. Why would one invent racism?

What purpose would this serve?