Outed blogger Rosemary Port now plans to sue Google.

In has become apparent in recent months diabolical forces are working not in the interest of Barbados Underground. It is happening at a time when we have achieved all time popularity since our launch in April 2007. The BU family in the 2 plus years has been able to foster a feel to the discourse where all who enter the debates must do so NOT as primus inter pares but as equals.

We have not been afraid to confront the controversial issues like race, homosexuality, the mysteries of religion, immorality, corruption, the passive Fourth Estate among many. Part of the reason for the BU feel has been and still is the flow to discussions despite the asynchronous nature of blogging. In a nutshell we have not been afraid to call a spade a spade.

There is a price to be paid for freedom of speech. A normal behaviour to expect from some quarters is that with successย  inevitably come those who would attack because of envy or the fact some may feel threatened and the like. Commonsense however dictates if we the BU family want to continue what we have been doing hitherto, we have to exercise a greater degree of editorial control on what we allow on BU than heretofore.

In recent days global media has publicized the case of Google being forced to identify an anonymous blogger, for clarity David of BU is the blogger, you are commenters. Eventually, there are bound to be some sort of defamation laws internationally agreed that can offer redress to people who have been defamed on the Internet. Based on murmurings we presume that even now this is a matter being discussed by attorneys-general worldwide and their equivalents.

What the case more than hints at is the days of the cowboy approach to blogging and commenting on blogs are fast comingย  to an end. It is no secret that with the popularity of BU has come a torrent of comments which have had to be managed. We do our best but given the current realities our best may not be good enough at all times. The BU family we have to say in all honesty is a very intelligent bunch. In light of the challenges ahead BU will have to rely heavily on you to ensure we successfully navigate what may lie ahead. Sometimes it is not what you write but how you write.

Our request to the BU family is to ensure when making commentsย  you be careful to craft your language not to finger any individual as performing a criminal act or suffering from mental deficiency. BU is confident with very small adjustments we can continue to express our views with the same robustness.

We are aware how some BU family members like Chris Halsall feel about the subject of anonymity on the Internet. Some use it to avoid the inconvenience derived from telling home-truths in a small society where victimization still rear its head. Others do it to hurl abuse and other malicious behaviour. In the case of the former we are aware of some of the prominent personalities who read and contribute to BU and remain sensitive to why they would want to do so anonymously.

In the interest of preserving this outlet for Barbadians and friends to keep freedom of expression alive and well, the BU household thought it prudent to clue you the BU family into our confidence as we prepare to flex in order to face whatever lurks ahead.

1. calmie down
    at one time burning the whiteman plantations was also a crime
    we get threats of lawsuits and death threats at propaganda press all the time as we cover the crimes and criminalities of Guyana’s govt cadre and friends [PPP Crime Family Inc.] but we are plugging right along as we are one a collision course with freedom
    we say move out of our way or we will roll right on over you

2. Mr ROK asks: โ€œif a blog is not moderated, is there an onus on the blog manager who does not control content?โ€

This blog IS moderated. The โ€œblog manager” DOES control content.

For example, every time I send a message to this thread, I get a message telling me that my message is โ€œunder moderation.โ€

I donโ€™t know, for example, if this reply to Mr ROK will reach Mr. ROK. The blog owner decides that.

What is known is that the blog owner has read this message and has made a decision.

3. Correcting my post above. My post is not “under moderation”. It is “awaiting moderation”.

Sorry for the mistake.

All best wishes to all.

4. Anonymous,
    Tanks fa comin ta ma defence hear. I is 100% bajan but can represent in Standard if need be. Tell wunna so a’reddy. You understan J/can dialect? Me needa but if reading one a dem blogs, I won’t be offended if I come across some. I doan know wah de ass C. H trying to prove. He tink we in a class room settin? Cah ya c*^t do. Bimbro’s question wasn’t directed to he, so if he got a problem wid he lang. he cudda simply ‘scroll’ pass instead a trying to insult. Show-off shite.

De two analogies he use to consolidate he argument doan even mek de grade.

Bimbro,
    how ya hun? doan leh dese ‘betta dan wunna’ passy-holes come to intimidate you. Spoke it how ya knows it. Good.
    He mussy a corrections offica.

Tell me sumting bout dis defamation ting. If I come an say dat Bimbro is a bulla? I cud get sue fa dah? Xplane.

Mash up / Anonymous,
    I does enjoy de two a wunna. Sucre.

5. @Bonny Peppa…

LOL…

4rn w3 n07 4lw4y’$ 1n 4 c14$$ 400m?

6. Anonymous, I can perceive some sense in Bush Tea’s assertion. Ur assuming everyone’s intelligent and will view a piece of writing for what it’s worth. However, there r posters who’re more hung-up on who wrote the piece than what the item says to make the exercise not worth while. There are a number of idiots on this blog and perhaps, most blogs. There’s merit in both your arguments!

Hi Bonny and thanks for the defense honey. No, I’m not worried about Chris! I wonder why he shows his pic and, he’s no beauty either!!

Ladd!!

Bonny, was thinking this morning they’re lots of little stories I could share with u ’bout my exp. of life hay in Britain but wid d weirdos pun dis board who love tuh throw things back in yuh face and twist things, I caan do it!! Sad, but dat’s some uh d idiot Bajees fuh yuh! Anyhow, u have a good time in Bim today dear. Nearly my bedtime here!! U take care!!

7. Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy Avatar
    Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy

It is time for me to begin weening people off of BU and begin to position the next forum to take over.

8. Mr ROK asks: โ€œif a blog is not moderated, is there an onus on the blog manager who does not control content?โ€

Letโ€™s be clear about this. This blog IS moderated. The โ€œblog managerโ€™ DOES control content. I have given examples of this before and I choose not to do it again.

So, for example, the owner of the blog is entirely free to choose, and is free to choose as many time as he wants, to publish the assertion that a decent and elderly Canadian woman, murdered in Barbados, is โ€œwhite trashโ€.

โ€œDavidโ€ and โ€œthe BU Familyโ€ are completely free to publish that for an international audience. โ€œDavidโ€ and โ€œthe BU family” are entirely free not to challenge that assertion in any single way and to let it stand.

โ€œDavidโ€ and the entire โ€œBU Familyโ€ can and, demonstrably, WILL decide whether or not to post this message.

If thatโ€™s not clear, please do not hesitate to send me a question through the โ€œBU Familyโ€.

What is certain, of course, is that the owner of this blog has seen this message and has made a decision about whether it should be published. Just as he made decisions about the lady who, apparently, was “white trashโ€.

Best wishes to you.

9. Bimbro, I can understand what you say and it sound honest. The blog really has separate types of audience but they are cramped into one space, you saying. Is a chat room what some really want? I dont like to repeat the word ‘idiot’. A place for ‘intelligent’ comment should be separate? That what you saying? You think that can work or crossing over will go on again?

10. C.Halsall,
    F*^k you too. Good.

Bimbro,
    As woman, I tink he kinda cute but pussees cute too and he sure is one cute pussee. Meowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    Nevva had a white meat yet but where there’s life there’s hope. So he betta watch out. Bonny doan segregate. He want lickinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

11. @Bonny Peppa and Bimbro…

Sorry girls… I’m “taken”.

I’m also *faithful* to my woman….

12. HOw could Bonny degrade her self so low whether in jest or in earnest to such a white foreigner runt?

13. C.H
    ‘I’m taken.I’m faithful to my woman.
    Heard the same sentiment before,all the while being ‘taken’.

Bimbro,
    He trying ta impress ‘he woman’. We kno’ betta.

Anon,
    He dun kno’ I mekkin sport. You mean he is a runt or a kunt. Maybe both.

14. David wrote “we presume that even now this is a matter being discussed by attorneys-general worldwide and their equivalents.”

“The first thing we do, let’s kill all the lawyers”. – King Henry VI Act IV, Scene II / William Shakespeare

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I came across this information a little while back, but I think that it is still useful for bloggers and blog owners.

1. Use an anonymous email account to register your blog. Hushmail is one free service that provides encrypted accounts; RiseUp is aimed at activists; MintEmail gives you a 3 hour temporary email address and FilzMail gives you one that expires after 24 hours. You could also use these to post to your blog via email. Posterous is a great blogging service that allows you to do this.

2. Make sure your IP address isnโ€™t logged when you register or post to the blog. You could use something like Anonymizer or Tor or Psiphon. Other services that mask your IP are listed on this forum.

3. Or you could use an anonymous blogging platform. Invisiblog was one but no longer exists. BlogACause claims to be โ€œanonymousโ€ but Iโ€™m trying to find out exactly how UPDATE: hereโ€™s how, apparently. In the meantime, this post recommends WordPress and something like Tor.

4. Use a pseudonym that you donโ€™t use anywhere else. If you use a pseudonym, donโ€™t use it on other services as well, as this will make it easier to trace you. If youโ€™re struggling, a Random Name Generator will create one for you.

5. If youโ€™re going to register a domain name do so anonymously with a service like The Online Policy Group.

6. Be careful what information you include. Although police blogger NightJack changed or did not include names in cases he was involved in, the details were specific enough for a journalist to track him down.

7. Donโ€™t win awards. Or book deals. Itโ€™s safe to say that a major newspaper would not have been interested in the identities of NightJack or Girl With A One Track Mind if both had remained cult underground heroes. So just pretend youโ€™re sub-literate, OK?

16. Are defamation cases decided by (lay) juries or by lawyers?

17. CCC said

So just pretend youโ€™re sub-literate, OK?

Shouldnt be difficult for you? Should it?

Say hello to Eustine for me though.

18. Bush Tea wrote “reputation buildersโ€™ like LIB to jump in and misuse the blogโ€ฆ.’

And yet LIB’s use(or mis-use) of this blog has not enhanced his reputation.

19. โ€œJโ€ quotes Mr. Shakespeare, from King Henry VI Act 4, Scene 2 (as we now have it): to whit: โ€œThe first thing we do, letโ€™s kill all the lawyersโ€.

Really funny. Iโ€™ve actually seen the same thing on T-shirts in the upper east side, but usually only among the deeply dull who couldnโ€™t tell a really good Shakespearian joke from flying fish.

All good wishes, anyway.

20. Chris Halsall wrote “And this is the thing โ€” we Bajanโ€™s seem to think itโ€™s cool to talk in a way that only we can understand each other.”

But Chris the French talk in a way that only French speakers can understand, and so do the Germans, and the Dutch and the Portugese etc.

You get me?

Speakers have responsibilities, but so do LISTENERS. If the cabby was speaking heavy Bajan your friend should have listened more carefully. That said when I was a student a a major North American University it took me the the better part of a semester to understand my Indian born English Literature teacher. And once when I was in Birmingham I listened to a conversation between my brother in law and a native of Birmingham and up to today I have no idea what was said.

So you see Chris it is not only a Bajan thing.

If you and you friend are to live among us you both have a responsibuility to learn standard Bajan English.

21. Anonymous,
    All de talk a lot a we gun become sub-literate. Well , I day a’reddy, just left fa wunna ta folla.

CCC,
    Informative. Tank ya. But I sub-literate so I cahn undastan de jargan. ๐Ÿ™‚

22. Chris Halsall wrote “2. I once had an understudy who refused to speak โ€œinternational Englishโ€, even though he could. He stopped being invited into the Executive conference callsโ€ฆ.”

Fair enough. But this blog is not about executive conference calls. It is a BAJAN blog. It is called Barbados Underground.

Chris you have to learn time and place. Even though Standard Bajan English may not be acceptable in a international conference call, it is perfectly acceptable and indeed shoui be encouraged on a Bajan blog.

Time and place Chris. Time and place.You have to learn time and place.

23. J,
    My Nubian Queen, you very nicey nicey to de Halsall fella after his vain attempt to ‘dis’ a good fella like Bimbro and Bonny, de elder empress. Wah happen to de acid drops man?
    I still sense a tinge of sarcasm in your post though, so all is well.

24. J asked:

“Are defamation cases decided by (lay) juries or by lawyers?”

The defendant elects whether he wants a jury or a judge alone. Lawyers do not sit of jury panels.

25. Anonymous wrote on // August 24, 2009 at 3:22 PM… “Am I the only one confused by the Bush Tea notion?

Yes anon.

Poor soul.

Are you a lawyer?

26. To Chris Halsall:

Bimbro is a better writer than you are.

He writes excellent Bajan.

And when he feels like writing standard English his writing is much better than yours (or Jack Bowman’s).

27. Bonny Peppa // August 24, 2009 at 6:11 PM

C.Halsall,
    F*^k you too. Good.

Bimbro,
    As woman, I tink he kinda cute but pussees cute too and he sure is one cute pussee. Meowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.
    Nevva had a white meat yet but where thereโ€™s life thereโ€™s hope. So he betta watch out. Bonny doan segregate. He want lickinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Dont waste your time. They good at the appetizers, but let down on the main course. he he he he!

The Jewish (secular) ones better. They like to lickkkkkkkkkkkkkkk/suck the toes and move up. ha ha ha! By the way, scientists say that native Americans and Jewish men as the best endowed. I dont know about that, but I can tell you that they dongs black like me. Mark of the beast?

28. @J: “Speakers have responsibilities, but so do LISTENERS. If the cabby was speaking heavy Bajan your friend should have listened more carefully.

Why? We Bajans claim to be English speaking? We also claim to be 98% literate. Are we?

@J: “But this blog is not about executive conference calls. It is a BAJAN blog. It is called Barbados Underground.

Agreed.

But is has been argue that we Bajans need to become more competitive.

The cabby lost the job. As did the young Bajan who was originally welcomed into the conference calls?

Are we comfortable being an island amongst ourselves, amongst a planet of competitors?

(If yes, then may we rest in peace….)

29. Chris Halsall wrote “4rn w3 n07 4lw4yโ€™$ 1n 4 c14$$ 400m?”

Chris do us all a favor.

Go buy yourself a copy of Richard Allsopp’s Dictionary of Caribbean English Usage.

Read, study and learn it from cover to cover, then come back.

30. @J: “Chris do us all a favor[sic].

8u7 w3’r3 y0u, J, 4813 70 und3r $74nd my 480ve?

31. Chris!

Man done with that foolishness!
    ..you have no point.
    The Blog is called Barbados Underground.
    When in Rome…..

$4vvy?

32. No need to correct my spelling Chris.

I can spell favour in the English way.

Or favor in the American way.

I canunderstand Bajan English, English English, American English, Jamaican English, and Canadian English and a few more Englishes besides.

You can unburden yourself of the responsibility of teaching me.

33. Pat,
    Doan worry, I know how it is wid dem. Little or nutton ta hold. De chinese too.
    A girlfriend of mine was married to a German and he would always be complaining to me, ”She don’t want gimme no sax, no sax a’ tall’. I use to be saying to myself, wah in front he is look sa flat, na kinda buff a ‘tall, na wonda she in wanna gih he na sax. Pure torture for human man. Flat, flat, flat wid na signs a lil buff a tall. Real stressor man.
    I gun gotta date a Jewish an report back ta you. Doan ask me how I gun get it do.
    Whites dongs black yu sure? Mussy look funny.

A lil off topic David. I apologize.

34. J,
    You pun a ‘high’. Go girl. If you ga any hiah, you gun touch a cloud ya, sus ‘croissssssssssss.

35. Chris if you had lived in Paris for years and still could not understand French would you understand that that would be ENTIRELY your fault?

If you have lived in Barbados for years and cannot understand Bajan English you are ENTIRELY at fault.

I really can’t state it any simpler than that.

I’ll go do something more worthwhile.

I’ll feed the cat.

36. Men so damn touchous; I glad enough I had that sex change as soon as I turned 18.

37. Christopher Halsall, shaming all of us with his heartbreaking valor[sic], his endless integrity and his immortal sense of honor [sic], says this:

8u7 w3โ€ฒr3 y0u, J, 4813 70 und3r $74nd my 480ve?

In the field of human conflict, has anyone ever been so boring, to so many?

38. J,
    Wah you gun kill me hay fa tonite nah?Lord mek peace. Ya had a sex change?So wah ya is now? A piece a dis n’ a piece a dat? Havis mercy LOrd. A deadin.

Jack Ass Bowman Human Rat Faeces,
    ‘Has anyone ever been so boring to so many’?
    Yes, you Jackass. So now ya kno wah ya plan ta do ’bout it? Get lost? Good riddance to rubbish.

39. Christopher Halsall, shaming all of us with his heartbreaking valor[sic], his endless integrity and his immortal sense of honour [sic], says this:

8u7 w3โ€ฒr3 y0u, J, 4813 70 und3r $74nd my 480ve?

In the field of human conflict, has anyone ever been so boring, to so many?

40. Bimbro
    ” There are a number of idiots on this blog and perhaps, most blogs”

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh

41. I gine back to sleep, do!! I still got dah girl up day pun my mine!!

Laaaaaaaaadddddddd!!

Tek care, Bonny!! C u later!!

42. Yuh c d girl who MJ wanted to mother his nex child?!! I tell yuh!! I wun mind ****ing her either!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2605269/Michael-Jackson-wanted-British-doctors-baby.html

43. @BU family

We truly regret we have had to disable the email notification on BU. We have a commenter who has intimated legal action and we have decided to batten the hatches and be prepared for whatever comes our way. The BU family would have observed we get several hundred comments in a day which are routinely posted to BU. Along with the comments we get additional email from BU family members and friends which we welcome.

44. In reaI Iife we have to express ourseIves coherentIy, so to be understood by other EngIish speakers. Whereas on a bIog you can say it how you want, take it or Ieave it. How you expresss yourseIf sends a message, in both reaI and cyber terms. You want to excIude peopIe? Use words to excIude them. More fooI you. Go ahead, preach to the converted if you wish. In the meantime, do stop critising grammer etc. how banaI.

45. U can always rely on some black *unt wanting to spoil the party for everybody! Is it any wonder we don’t get any where!!

46. What’s this *ucker complaining about now, Dave?!!

47. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I s that commenter Living in Barbados aka Dennis Jones?

If so,he should not be allowed to come here posting on different names like Bright man,Anonymous etc.

Just delete his post.

You need to tell us as much as you can,because there might be some in this BU family that may be able to offer guidance in different ways.

I am sooooooo sorry david for this unfortunate incident.

Stay strong.

48. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I have just noticed that you said ‘intimated;

and not ‘initiated’ legal action.

Sorry,I thought you were saying that someone had started legal action against you.

That had me very,very concerned.

Relieved to know that I misunderstood what you posted.

49. To the BU family we say do not be afraid, BU has had to confront challenges before and we have always found away to surmount the challenges. For those new to the family we restate, the BU household is prepared to defend a position, we will not go away without a fight.

On the question why we used the full name Kim J Young, that is how she signs-off on her Internet postings, nothing more.

50. David, this is an EXCELLENT piece of journalism. And the BU family has responded extremely well. Very intelligent and insightful, but more important than anything else, sympathetic comments and responses. Except, of course, our old friend J, who, as usual, mired in her egomania and out-of-date prejudices, completely misses the point.

I am in the course of researching the matter of defamation and will suggest a few guidelines later. For now, however, and in order to add a little humour to the situation, and the law CAN have its funny moments, I want to alert the BU family to the โ€œsmall penis ruleโ€. I am not making this up…refer to Wikipedia.

Back in 1908, a newspaper in Manchester in the UK called the Sunday Chronicle, published a fictitious report on life in the French town of Dieppe. In it they referred to the carryings on of one Mr Artemus Jones, a church warden from Peckham, who was the life and soul of a gay [this was before โ€˜gayโ€™ was synonymous with homosexual] band that frequented the casino and patronized the local French hookers (female specified).

There was, however, a barrister whose name was Artemus Jones (later Mr Artemus Jones QC and even later, Sir Artemus Jones, a judge). Mr Jones sued the newspaper and the jury awarded him substantial damages, even though he was not in Dieppe at the time and had never been a church warden anywhere, far less Peckham. The newspaper pleaded that it was a fictitious name and not intended to cause damage or affront. However, it lost.

Today, if that case came before a court in Barbados (or most countries, for that matter) Mr Jones would lose and rightly so. It could be proved that malice was not a factor (and the existence of MALICE plays heavily in establishing a case of libel) and that, as Mr Jones was not in the location reported on and had never been church warden, the character was not identifiable as being him.

So, as long as the BU family avoids the motive of MALICE, they are on fairly solid ground. But still, a few simple guidelines by way of safeguard are a good idea.

Which brings me back to the โ€œsmall penis ruleโ€.

The theory of that rule is that, if the reporter had said that Mr Jones possessed a small penis, Mr Jones might have thought twice about exposing (pun intended) himself to the laughter and derisory comments of his peers.

There is no reference to a rule similar to โ€˜small penisโ€ for women and maybe the BU family would like to suggest a few acceptable alternatives for the ladies.

Sorry, David, too good to let go and the Family might have fun with that.

While the law has certainly moved on since 1908, the small penis rule subsists and was highlighted in a case involving the prolific and very popular novelist, Michael Crighton, just a very few years ago. Look it up on the Internet.

Generally, however, the Google case is not something to over-react to, merely to keep an eye on and put a few guidelines in place as protection against.

Here is an example. Remember, there is one woman, which the paucity of the English language forces me to refer to as an โ€œauthorโ€ or “writer” who, eschewing her black roots and African heritage, has chosen an Arawak name which now appears to have also been adopted by her son (who has a VERY small penis), and who constantly publishes books in the traditional manner. Books that make defamatory remarks (for example) about a former chief justice, accusing him of sexual misconduct with underage boys. By the way, this “author” or “writer” has amazingly large pectorals.

The sum of all this is that the BU family, with a few guidelines that will not really reduce their comments and freedom of expression substantially, can continue just as they have always done.

As for the cowboys, well, if they fall to some massive libel suits, that is their problem for not recognising, as BU has, the signs and searching the Internet through Google under the heading of “internet defamation” and keeping themselves updated properly on what is, after all, their business.

Well done, BU. VERY well done.