lowpantSydney Symmonds the host of the CBC Talk Yuh Talk show  had an interesting discussion on Thursday morning regarding the adoption of low pants and cornrow hairstyle by young people in Barbados. The argument posited to explain the low pants style which has been popularized by the American hip hop and prison culture was –  it is just a matter of style. Interesting is the fact some states in the USA have instituted laws to ban the low pant style.

We have those who say a person should have the right to style as they please. There is the other camp who is concerned about the future of our Black  youth given their willy nilly acceptance of American and other foreign cultures. How can any intelligent being who understands the meaning of pride and industry retreat to a position that our society should surrender to the culture of the USA or Jamaica?

A strength of the Bajan society historically has been our willingness to deal with issues in a Bajan way. The challenges which have started to emerge given the nature of a pluralistic society which Barbados is transitioning to must take centre place as concerned Bajans question the type of society we want to become. This is a difficult discussion which must be taken out of the realm of economic mumbo jumbo. The emphasis must be to raise the discussion to appreciate that a society in our view which is socially cohesive will naturally create economic wealth.

We find it ironic the CNN documentary Blacks In America would be provoking discussion on the airwaves in Barbados regarding the status of our Blacks and specifically our Black young men. Barbados is said to be a well educated society and the void which is being filled by the popular CNN documentary is a sad reflection on our educated Black Barbadians to leverage knowledge to perpetuate the success which has made Barbados great.

Here is a quote from the Press Go published 24 July 2009, a UK website with a focus on issues relevant to journalism:

The best description for the Barbados Nation and Advocate? Stodgy, boring, dull. They make the Bedworth Advertiser look interesting. Boring headlines and even duller stories. It is like reading a parish newsletter for a nation.

The ‘news’ is based on government news conferences and other press conferences by NGOs and the like. On such sexy subjects like polyclinics, insurance and diabetes. Again, writing is prolix and not of great quality.

Barbados is a very polite and ordered society (the murder rate is a fraction of Trinidad’s) and that shows in its press. The hacks need to get themselves some more balls. The TV news is not much better.

Our forefathers and leaders of the past would have laid the platform. Our leaders of the day who seem willing to capitulate to foreign direction will soon relegate Barbados to nothing more than a satellite. The interconnectivity of the world is understood and the consequential influence on national policy but it does not mean our Bajanness should have to be 100% sacrificed in the process.

We find it interesting that many Barbadian parents have allowed their children to mimic the ghetto, hip hop culture of the USA and Jamaica to a lesser degree. On the flipside the fantastic work ethic which sees many Americans working two or three  jobs to maintain a satisfactory lifestyle is shunned if we are to accept the reports from our National Productivity Council. The difference in cultures are miles apart. The starkness of our two cultures was further exposed when the BU household viewed the following video:

The American have their culture and Barbados should battle tooth and nail to keep ours.

142 responses to “Invasion of Cultures”

1. Bimbro // July 27, 2009 at 12:21 pm

I’ve decided never again to read the posts of the foul-mouthed shit as patently, David does n’t propose to do anything about him!!

Praise Jah!!

2. One commentary about Bajans sometimes heard is that they are quick to dissociate themselves from problems, while making a great play on being sufferers. I will let Bimbro’s words sit there for a while [I highlight the pronouns]: “YOU’re brilliant at choosing friends who shit in OUR face, are n’t YOU!!”

3. Congrats, David!! 50% of the respect which I had for u has evaporated, over this business!!

Well done!!

4. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

In the context of whether and how a country supports its own, read today’s Nation on the ‘treatment’ of young athletes (http://www.nationnews.com/news/sports/Lead–AAA-snubs-qualifiers-copy-for-web). Read also and listen to the discussions about Cohobblopot. Should a festival that showcases national talent headline foreign artistes and then not have space for (the) major national artistes, see http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/climax-vs-cohobblopot-FRONT-PAGE-LEAD, though it does not do justice to the discussion yesterday on ‘Fireworks’?

If you do not nurture green shoots they end up as dead plants.

5. BU’s position has been made, Crop Over is about making money and not to nurture cultural expression in any significant way.

6. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“BU’s position has been made, Crop Over is about making money and not to nurture cultural expression in any significant way.”[But what is the corollary? Create something that is about nurturing cultural expression and not about making money–and who will pay for that?Letting cultural expression die–and who will deal with its consequence?]

7. This is the problem, vision, leadership.

8. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“This is the problem, vision, leadership” [Have people chosen ‘leaders’ who cannot see well, or have they chosen people with good sight who cannot lead, or a combination of both? One of my constant conundrums is how Barbados has developed the level of literacy it has but yet seems to flounder on leadership and vision. It suggests that the fruits of improved education have gone into a black hole.]

9. LIB

One of my constant conundrums is how Barbados has developed the level of literacy it has but yet seems to flounder on leadership and vision
    There is leadership and vision but it dies at the feet of political pragmatism. A politician’s first instinct is to get reelected and in order to apply the two attributes they must also promote change. Change is always difficult to implement when the people on the receiving end prefers the status quo, Witness today’s current Health Care debate in the US, everyone knows the current system is broken but they can’t agree on how to fix it.

Corporations can effect change by having the right people in place and move the objectors on but Corporations are not democracies where the people can turf out the management if they are dissatisfied with their stewardship.

Once in a while a politician comes along who is so beloved that people will embrace change despite their misgivings but Bajan politicians are essentially seen as caretakers who earn office because the other guys screwed up.

10. It is not that Barbados has floundered. Barbadians love to debate the issues and not resort to guns and fighting. We have our way.

11. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“Barbadians love to debate the issues and not resort to guns and fighting. We have our way.” [Some would say ‘to talk and do nothing’, but those are not my words–Tony Marshall yesterday. Take a moment to read very quickly about Guinea. Surrounded by 6 nations all of whom had civil strife aplenty, and became home to millions of refugees (-> enormous social and economic strain, in a country that just messed up its economy for decades, after being west Africa’s ‘bread basket’ in the mid 1950s). Its own situation was not easy but did not spill over into significant violent struggle for nearly 60 years. Then…There is always a tipping point. Talk without effective action seems to always need a confrontational resolution.]

12. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Sargeant
    “There is leadership and vision but it dies at the feet of political pragmatism. A politician’s first instinct is to get reelected and in order to apply the two attributes they must also promote change.”[Barabados is far from unique, here.]

“Change is always difficult to implement when the people on the receiving end prefers the status quo, Witness today’s current Health Care debate in the US, everyone knows the current system is broken but they can’t agree on how to fix it.'[True, and I have my view about the need for chaos/crisis/catastrophe.]

“Corporations can effect change by having the right people in place and move the objectors on but Corporations are not democracies where the people can turf out the management if they are dissatisfied with their stewardship.”[Private companies as are common in Barbados fall into the non democracy mould, but quoted companies have their shareholders; consumers too can be important, see today’s Advocate. Warren Buffett and Carl Icahn have promoted much change. We can argue about its merits. So too can the executive and legislative branches as well as the ‘4th estate’. This happens more in the US, Europe, USA than in Barbados, but seems a bit more alive in other Caribbean countries.]

“Once in a while a politician comes along who is so beloved that people will embrace change despite their misgivings but Bajan politicians are essentially seen as caretakers who earn office because the other guys screwed up.”[The negative option is never a good starting point.]

13. @LIB

Do you remember a short time ago it was taboo to discuss immigration and Indo-guyanese matters. Now the airwaves are hot!

14. No country in the world is immune from cross cultural transfer and adoption unless you live on another planet or unless you belong to one of the native tribes that live deep in the amazon or african jungle where contact with the ‘real world’ is limited at best.America america cultural traits is very contagious for some countries more than others,not because it is superior to theirs but because you have a lot of people in those society who think that once it is ‘made ‘in america then it must be good for adoption even if it offend the sensibilities of others or it is antagonostic against their beliefs.To a lot of people it is a sense of belonging, indentification, being modern and progressive and not as some other see it as …falla fashion.Remember our culture makes us unique but their is nothing unique or original about ones culture.Every culture is a an eclectic mix of historical and external influences (even homogenous society) that is driven by social evolution and survival to certain degree.The survival of a people culture depends on its malleability, fluidity and dynamics and a culture that resist positive changes are playing with its economic survivability.
    Let us embrace the positives of other culture and in no uncertain terms reject the destructive nature of others.Then again who is going to be our cultural gatekeepers?

15. @LIB

Last time I read Guinea has become a narco state. The colombians are targeting those poor west african countries as transhipment point to enter the European market. They know that the country is a another african failed state and bribery and corruption is as natural as sunshine.Their two biggest export is bauxite and Cashew.Bauxite market as collapse you are not going to be economically with just cashew alone.Another sad state of the african affairs.

16. @Zion: Exports mainly bauxite, alumina, gold and diamonds; cashews being pushed by some US projects. Lots of veg and fruit exported without documentation. Need yto understand history of French desertion after independence and Guinea’s political stance: better to be free and poor than rich and enslaved.

17. @Zion, comments above were from LIB

18. Anonymous: I have read the history of the continent especially after independence of all the Francophones and Anglophones countries. Yes I agree with you about France behaviours towards its former subjects and the battle for idealogical souls during the cold war that pitted the commie vs the capitalist.But that alone cannot excuse all the 53 countries with the exception of (Bostwana, South Africa, Tanzania) that were governed by coups , dictators, President for Life, and mass murderers. Take the Case of Equatorial Guinea(the quwait of africa),the only spanish speaking colony.Population 500,000 one of the smallest african countries yet one of the wealtiest in terms of GDP since its discoveries of oil in the early 90,s.Mr Obiang has be President for Life since 1979, one of the richest man in the world but still the average citizens lives on less than $1.oo /day.Here is a leader who rape the treasury of his country like is personal bank account and then turning to the IMF for Loans.This is the typical behaviour of all of these African strongman and the continent is littered them ( a few countries are trying to change but they are the exception rather than the rule)Tribalistic, corruption, rule by fear or by the gun and ruler for life is their mentality.

Even though we have our problems in the caribbean I am glad our leaders didnot go down that road.Our leaders in the caribbean(with the exception of Hiati and the situation in Greneda and Trinidad) we stand as testimony and contracdition to our african brothers that Black people can lead and rule without tyranny.Imagine if we in the caribbean had been naturally endowed with just 1/10 of sub-saharian wealth, we would be a force to reckon with, but then again thats just my opinion.

19. LIB, Sociology was invented specifically just for you, I think, to afford you the opportunity to talk all day and say nothing of great import!!

20. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Zion: will come back. Trying a little south coast staycation.

21. Bimbro, why don’t you go take a big dose of laxatives and free your soul.

22. Mongoose, I will but after he’s spoken to the TWO Jamaican murderers shown on British tv, THIS EVENING ALONE, one for murdering a grandmother and the other a young girl, then there might be some point to his twitterings! Want them for neighbours do you! Did n’t think so!

23. Bimbro, did any English people kill anyone recently? A lot of English people come to Barbados. Are we safe?

24. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Bimbro: Sociology? Only did one class, as a teenager. Must be naturally brilliant. If you have a specialism on which you would like to spar I could give it a whirl or read up fast and try my best. Or you could enrol in one of my MBA classes and I would try my best to educate you. No suceess guaranteed, however.

25. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Zion, many African countries are ill drawn tribal combinations and ethnic strife was something that got overlaid on the usual combat for resources. I’m one of those think that the continent was drawn onto a path it would not have chosen and we cannot turn back the clock. Not for discussion here, I’m also skeptical of the way colonial powers used the countries’ resources and did little to develop added value activities. Just a for instance. Why would it make more sense for aluminium companies to develop alimina and aluminium plants in Ireland rather than at source in a country like Guinea, where it was a contractual obligation but nevere effected over decades?

26. LIB

I think one of the reason was that it takes a lot of electical power to convert Bauxite to alumina and then to aluminium and a lot of those countries didnot have that generation capacity.And even if they did the cost of production was not competitive.Most of the Alumina produce in Jamaica is proceesing into aluminium in Canada where electricity from hydro-power is cheap.

27. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Zion, on power generation, many of the companies self generate, even supply national grids. Places like Guinea have hydro electric plants. But something else is at play. Things are hard to change now.

28. Anonymous, it just shows how little u understand if u think the English and other ethnicities, view it in those egalitarian terms!! – and, I remind u that THEY’RE the bosses here, not us!! Need I say more, really!!

LIB, I think this blog is about politics and social interaction. I don’t think it’s about business! That’s the trouble, u people just don’t get the point!!

LIB, u think the coys would n’t process the alluminium there, if they thought it was in their best economic interests to do so? U think they did it because they hate nigs, do u!!

Lord!! Nuh wonda I hasta laugh!!

Zion, u tell e boa!! I caan tek nuh mo uh he!!

29. @Bimbro, you manage to hit some nails well. The English really in charge? Do you think politics and social interaction are in a vacuum? If the companies operate in their self interests and add value away from sources like Africa and the Caribbean, how can these regions make progress? They clearly do not have our interest in mind. So think again what it means that the English are in charge here.

30. Zion, sorry bro. I’m in England and was referring to the situ here! Clearly, many people on this blog think it’s ok to kill and muder the people who we rely on for employment and have to work with, in such large numbers! I would say they need their heads testing but I can’t be bothered!!

31. Zion, I think u may be confusing the funtion of commerce and government! They don’t always share the same objectives. U must know that’s the way the system works. We’ve tried the alternative and that’s even worse! The best we can hope for is to arrive at some happy-medium!!

32. Zion, re: 5:31 – not to mention, live among!!

33. WOW, while you are busy being smug about who has more gangs and who has more drugs, the fewer gangs that you have are still reking havoc. See
    http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/camp-terror-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER. It’s always healthy to ignore the boils that are festering on your own body because someone else you know has leprosy.

34. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

@Zion
    “No country in the world is immune from cross cultural transfer…”[Of course, no society has the luxury to experiment with cultural additions and subtractions. Would the English-speaking world have been better off if the French had prevailed? Would the Caribbean have been worse of it they had not sought and been granted independence? The answers are all hypothetical, and of course, going back to an ‘old state’ does not get you back to where you were.

On Guinea being a narco state, this is more urban myth to me. The drug barons seek weak links and they can exist everywhere, and among many people. As ‘rational’ people they also do not want to lock into any place or person that may be unstable for any length of time. The recent documentary about an English woman being locked up in Barbados is just another eye opener for some about how the ‘weak’ are easy prey.

35. The build of a culture is fluid and dynamic. The very act of discussion and debate which is ongoing is part of the process. How we teach our young, How we implement enabling laws to facilitate cultural expression. How we use PR and other programs to transfer information from old to new. How we create symbols. How we enforce laws. When do we draw a line in the sand at the risk of being on our own etc.

36. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

David ‘When do we draw a line in the sand at the risk of being on our own etc’

That is what is called leadership!

That is also why West Indies Team getting cut right now….,no LEADERSHIP, just as that Boston professor said.

Leadership is required to make a vision, good decisions, implement.

Without that we are lost in the abyss of mediocrity.

37. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

By the way, that is also why with leadership someone is ACCOUNTABLE and accepts that accountability.

I seen some who want leadership, but cannot make a decision and deflect any potential blame, rather than taking their licks.

That is NOT leadership.

38. “Without that we are lost in the abyss of mediocrity.”

You tell e, Ben!! or, even degeneracy!!

Sir Bentwood Dick // July 29, 2009 at 6:45 am

By the way, that is also why with leadership someone is ACCOUNTABLE and accepts that accountability.

I seen some who want leadership, but cannot make a decision and deflect any potential blame, rather than taking their licks.

That is NOT leadership.

Sir Ben, I know what u mean!!

39. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“The build of a culture is fluid and dynamic. The very act of discussion and debate which is ongoing is part of the process. How we teach our young, How we implement enabling laws to facilitate cultural expression. How we use PR and other programs to transfer information from old to new. How we create symbols. How we enforce laws. When do we draw a line in the sand at the risk of being on our own etc.”[It’s interesting to try to do this exercise with regard to a few subjects on recent threads to see what comments suggest, or your own views imply, and if you can be consistent. A good crop of issues, which I could categorise as (a) same sex relations [remember that the Sodomy Laws are neutral as regards gender, if I read correctly–and I am not a lawyer, and that Barbados tends not to prosecute for acts covered if done in private], (b) appropriate behaviour of school children, (c) political leadership and accountability, and (d) public expressions of racial intolerance.

40. @LIB

The solutions will not be hand and glove fit there will always be tension given we are responding to a dynamic matter. See Sir Ben Dicks comment on the top blog.

41. livinginbarbados Avatar
    livinginbarbados

“The solutions will not be hand and glove fit there will always be tension given we are responding to a dynamic matter.”[Like that metaphor. Made similiar comments to Sir BD myself, though they got ‘blocked’ by a dose of (d). I would got further and say that misfitting wrong hands in glove will also be there too.]

42. This excellent website certainly has all of the information and facts
    I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.