Submitted by CGID

Commissioner of Police Green (l) President Jagdeo (r)
Commissioner of Police Henry Green (l) President Bharrat Jagdeo (r)

NEW YORK: The New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) has harshly condemned the July 15, arrest of Lincoln Lewis, General Secretary of the Caribbean Congress of Labor; Norris Witter, General Secretary of the Guyana Trades Union Congress as well as journalist and former political, Mark Benschop, by the Guyana Police.

The three high profile Guyanese were protesting against human rights violations and atrocities by the Guyana Government and Police, during a Police Awards Ceremony outside of the Guyana Police Headquarters.

They were subsequently arrested and taken into custody. They are being held at the “A” Division Police Headquarters, Brickdam Police Station, Georgetown, and have been denied access to their Attorneys. The Police Station was immediately besieged by supporters and well wishers, who commenced a massive impromptu vigil outside the compound.

Guyana’s Police Commissioner, Henry Green, while addressing the ceremony, mocked the three and referred to them as “the three Musketeers,” and made special mention of CCL General Secretary, Lincoln Lewis.

This evening, CGID President, Rickford Burke, in interviews on New York and Caribbean Radio stations, blasted the arrests as “unprovoked, ethnic and political thuggery” by the Guyana government, which he labeled “A Gestapo ethnocracy and Narco-dictatorship.”

Burke observed that “It is indeed a sad day for Guyana when a “crook,” whose United States visa was revoked for alleged involvement in the violation of US narcotics and racketeering laws, can use his constitutional office as a crutch to execute political directives, and mock and arrest citizens who exercise their constitutional right to protest against their government.”

He warned that “The Bharrat Jagdeo government will continue to commit these unlawful acts of ethnic and political persecution until and unless the international community and the Guyanese people hold them to account.”

Burke contended that the arrest of the three was another example of the coercive machinery of the Guyanese state is being used to crush dissent and trample on the basic rights of the people. He stressed that this must not be condoned and called on all Guyanese to “Resist this precipitous slide towards a “Gestapo” state.”

The CGID President lashed out at Caricom Leaders whom he said “Sit back and witness abject racism, ethnic discrimination, extra-judicial killings, as well as gross constitutional and human rights violations in Guyana– all international crimes, and say nothing in the name of justice and human dignity.” He questioned whether Caricom Leaders’ manifest indifferent for such suffering is rooted in “preconceptions about Guyanese.”

Burke demanded the immediate release of the three, and called on the Guyana government and Police to respect “the civil liberties of citizens and the rule of law.”

1. Though words my Guyanese brother. Watch your back because you know Bharrat Jagdeo, Ricky Singh and the rest of the clan would be out to get you for speaking the truth!!!!!!!

2. Tough words my Guyanese brother. Watch your back because you know Bharrat Jagdeo, Ricky Singh and the rest of the clan would be out to get you for speaking the truth.

3. If the late Sir Frank Walcott was alive today,he would be ashamed of leroy trotman and Bobby Morris.

They find it more expedient to support norman faria and migrant guyanese workers right to be given work here ahead of bajan workers than to speak out against atrocities being committed against afro guyanese by the racist indian administration of basdeo jagdeo.

Lincoln lewis is a trade union comrade and he has been speaking out for a while,yet not a word from them.

They are black stooges pure and simple.

I hope the NUPW also speaks out about this.

Let’s see what guyanese roxanne gibbs does,and her brother aubrey armstrong who wants to run to lead the opposition PNC party.

I believe the leader of the Opposition in Barbados should also make a statement and all NGOs in Barbados.

4. The Jagdeo government is now seeking to intimidate the judiciary.

Chief magistrate melissa robertson ruled a ‘confession’ by an accused in the murder of former PPP agriculture minister Sawh, to be inadmissible,and Jagdeo kicking up a fuss.

When will some of these prime ministers in Caricom get some steel and speak out publicly and not behind closed doors, against the happenings in Guyana.

I suppose only Golding of Jamaica might be bold enough to say something.

5. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

”and have been denied access to their Attorneys”

Sorry, but I cannot see this going anywhere good, methinks that the line has been crossed, such that only a very strong retraction, apology and censure of the releveant authority head will suffice.

If Jagdeo will not listen to Caricom heads on this one, the UN must intervene on a human rights basis.

If we are of Caricom, we should not and cannot afford to act like rogue states, with no constitution and no political negotiation.

My other question is, what is Jagdeo playing at? Is his economy that bad and is he losing control, such that he must seek to eliminate Opposition at all costs?

There are points in a nation’s history that define what the next ten or twenty years will be like and whether the country will be able to achieve its potential or fall short because of political malfeasance.

This is such a point.

My best wishes to the Guyana people.

Peace & Live Strong

6. Here he goes again flaunting his dictatorial ways in everyone’s face! He will never be satisfied until the entire black community decides to take matters in their hands. As for the CARICOM leaders, in my view they are a spineless group with no intestinal fortitude who are cloaking behind the words… we will not intervene in a country’s domestic affairs. When BLACK people are being murdered by state sanctioned death squads in Guyana, it is the whole world’s business. THERE SHOULD BE NO EXCUSES. The Guyanese people need to take a page out of the Hondurans’ book and take back their country from the hands of these THUGS, BIGOTS AND MURDERERS. On the other hand those same indians who run to Barbados, are the ones who are keeping them in power. They are the worst kined , since they only see themselves as indians and care nothing about their country as long as a “COOLIE” IS IN POWER. BLACK MAN GET UP STAN UP PON YUH FOOT AND GIVE BLACK GOD THE GLORY! By the BALLOT, THE BIBLE, THE BULLET OR THE GUN, ANY WHICH WAY BETTER MUST COME!M DOWN WITH THE EVIL, RACIST BHARRAT JAGDEO DICTATORSHIP!

7. Having monitored the media in Barbados this morning there is small mention of the arrest of three human rights activists. Bear in mind we have one who has no less a stature of Secretary General of the Caribbean Congress of Labour, Burns Bonnadie must be turning to see what the comradeship in the labour movement has come to, we already know of the impotence of the media.

8. One man show PNC linked CGID supports assaulting police officer and disordely conduct. Folks, go back to (late PNC leader and who rigged elections even more than Burnham)Hoyte’s call fuh “More fyah” which led to burning down of Georgetown buildings and raciost assualts against Guyanese…you will see the connection.
    Folks, it’s called “shift blame” tactics to try and make people forget what the Burnamites did to Guyana. Let these individuals getting on like hooligans be treated like anyone else in the Brickdam lockups.NO priviledges..

9. Marx take the hood from over your head. Do you really know anything about PPP politics? Have yyou ever lived in Mahaicony during the sixties? Do you know about LIVING IN FEAR OF THE INDIAN MAURAUDERS WHO WERE PROVIDED WITH GUNS WHILE THE BLACK PEOPLE HAD NOTHING TO DEFEND THEMSELVES; YES GUNS PROVIDED BY JAGAN AND HIS WIFE JANET WHO HIJACKED THE PRESIDENCY OF THE NATION.THESE GUNS WERE OBTAINED FROM CUBA AND OTHER SOURCES. Take a hike and do some research I do not have to, I LIVED THROUGH IT!

10. Marx, it is funny how you can talk about shifting blame by others,while you are doing the same thing.
    Your effort to show that violence is unique to the PNC will not fly. As Juan Gabriel noted, let us talk about the murder of the Sealey family behind Buxton, the slaughter of the entire Abrahams family by PPP goons during the 60s, the killing of Ronald Waddle by PPP supported hit squad…. yeah Marx, your racist PPP is not without sin.
    Maybe, you should tell the folks here why the racist PPP govt refuse to allow the majority afro-guyanese population the right to have their own radio and television stations.

11. Juan Gabrel, tell the people about the many times more Indian people who get run out of Linden and women raped and brutalised with bottles and the attacks on Indo – Guyanese after the PNC tried to overturn the elections results after 1992 by racist attacks on Indian businesses in Georgetown and elsewhere .Don’t forget recent massacres by organised elements in Lusignan and Bartica whose victims were overwelemningly Indo and which majority of ordinary working class blacks condemned..
    Let’s not revise history with your interpettation fo things abou alledged incidents that you supposedely lived throrugh and to pander to largely black readers in Barbados. Yuh beating a dead horse….
    Dwell on the positive that Indos and blacks cooperate and that their intersests are the same until organisd oppotunist elementss like Burnham played the race card…Its all in the history books …Peace…

12. J.B
    I had an incedent too. I was liming in Side Walk Cafe when San Hinds came down in an openback pickup with a rifle mounted on the back in true western style and demanded Nigel Hughes to close the cafe or he would open fire. I could not believewhat I saw. I simply got up and walked down Middle street away from the action. I didn’t leave Barbados to go to guyana and be shot.

13. Marx, that is your problem… you only see wrong from the other side,rather than deal with the root causes. Stop the crap about women being raped with bottles during the Mackenzie riots, the COI debunked your nonsense.
    Yes, tell the folks here about ‘apaan jat’ or vote for your own comments. Tell the folks about Jagdeo telling indians supporters at babu john that the “black people who steal guns now, will not do so if you allow the PNC back in power”…. I know you will pretend that did not take place, but the press has a recording of his putrid speech.

14. P.M David Thompson
    I hope you are taking note of the racial tension that is occuring in Guyana. Do you think that a short trip by an indo-guyanese to Barbados would change their hatred for blacks? It is just a matter of time these indo-guyanese in Barbados show their true colors. Secondly, do you think that these illegal guyanese who cannot qualify for an amnesty are really going to return to Guyana without a fight one way or the other? think on these things, Sir.

15. Seems to me from the discussion here that both sides of the racial divide give as good as they get!

16. @Themes

Solid observation, how will the cycle be broken before it descends to civil war?

17. @Themes

Yes indeed! That is the reality of Guyana’s political equation,however, it is refusal/failure on the part of the new leaders to bridge that divide.In 1992, we thought that we had turned a new page and for the first time begin to define our society along the lines of justice and equality, how wrong.The PPP had to payback those who they perceive to be their natural enemies. Professional civil servants were cast aside for incompetent and unqualified PPP lackeys.Our foreign service was gutted of any and every non-indian senior diplomat…. these persons had to seek redress in the courts , and won.
    The PPP believes that democracy begins and ends with the holding of free and fair elections every five years and no more. The building of institutions that deepen democratic norms escape this racist cabal.
    Today, drug barons have carte blance in all aspects of life… their money fund the PPP and their gunmen provide the security against those who the PPP deem undesirable,and worthy of elemenation.

18. @ The Scout // July 16, 2009 at 10:22 am

What year was this?

How do you think Leroy Trotman, Bobby Morris and David Thompson respond lol!

Sorry to laugh!

19. Marx, you dunce, here is a true and unvarnished account of what transpired yesterday in Guyana from the largest newspaper in Guyana

Benschop, Lewis and Witter thrown into Brickdam lock-ups
    Keiteur News papers in Guyana July 16, 2009 | By Christopher | Filed Under News
    -refuse $50,000 bail each

By Dale Andrews

A peaceful picketing exercise outside the office of the Commissioner of Police ended abruptly with the arrests of former treason accused Mark Benschop; General Secretary of the Caribbean Congress of Labour, Lincoln Lewis; and Acting General Secretary of the Guyana Trades Union Congress, Norris Witter, yesterday.
    The trio was hauled off to the Brickdam Police Station shortly before midday by a group of armed ranks and subsequently placed onto the lock-ups pending charges.
    Benschop, Lewis and Witter were part of a five-member demonstration, which included former Chief Magistrate Juliet Holder-Allen and Canadian Immigration Consultant, Balwant Persaud.
    While the police took no action against the other two persons, Benschop, Lewis and Witter appeared to be the target in what many persons are describing as a calculated move by the police.
    Police, in a press release last night, said that the men were arrested for illegal picketing, disorderly behaviour, resisting arrest and assaulting peace officer.
    This newspaper was on hand outside the Commissioner’s office during the demonstration which commenced some time around 11:00 hours.
    Within minutes, several ranks descended on the scene and ordered the demonstrators to remove from the location.
    However, the demonstrators insisted that it was their democratic right to protest and refused to heed the request.
    After several minutes of verbal confrontation during which the demonstrators insisted that they will not remove, the ranks acting on instructions, attempted to arrest them.
    But the demonstrators demanded to know the reason for their arrests and the police appeared to be backing off.
    A few minutes later another senior officer arrived on the scene and he issued an immediate order for the arrest of the trio.
    There was some resistance as Lewis and Benschop questioned their arrests citing their right to protest peacefully.
    Lewis even went into the Young Street canal and dared the police to come and arrest him.
    “I will lie in this trench and y’all will have to come in and arrest me,” Lewis told the ranks.
    Eventually he came out and was promptly set upon and bundled into a waiting minivan that contained Benschop and Witter.
    The police then sped along Carifesta Avenue, taking the men to the Brickdam Police Station where they were booked and subsequently locked-up.
    As they were heading to the lock-ups, the men stood and gave the victory sign to several reporters and cameramen who had converged on the Brickdam Police Station as news of the arrests circulated.
    Yesterday’s demonstration, the second outside the office of the Commissioner within a week, occurred just minutes after Police Commissioner Henry Greene had described the trio as the ‘Three Musketeers’.
    Benschop, Lewis and Witter commenced their three-man demonstration at the opening of the CARICOM Heads of Government Conference, which opened on July 2, last, at the National Cultural Centre.
    They continued with demonstrations outside the Ministries of Education and Home Affairs last week and again this week.
    This newspaper understands that the decision to arrest the men was reportedly hatched at the 170th Police Anniversary breakfast last week.
    Attorney at law Khemraj Ramjattan, who appeared at the Brickdam Police Station on behalf of the detained men, said that the detention was uncalled for.
    According to Ramjattan the officer he spoke with at the station had indicated that he would have determined whether the men would be released since he had to do further investigations.
    “I told him that it is a minor offence, if indeed they committed the offence of disorderly behaviour. He’s saying that he has his job to do and he wants to complete that aspect of it before he makes a determination as to whether bail should be granted,” Ramjattan said.
    According to the attorney, the trio has indicated that the conditions in the Brickdam lock-ups are atrocious.
    “The persons are indicating that it is inhumane condition, it’s filthy, smelly. I told the officer that these are popular figures, public figures and they ought not to be thrown in like that but he indicated that he has to do his job,” Ramjattan said.
    He pointed out that the arrested men were protesting, as is their constitutional right.
    The attorney stressed that anyone is entitled to protest anywhere in a public place in Guyana.
    “Like I said rights are being taken away in this country at a pace far more rapid than what happened in the Burnham regime and these are popular figures who have been carrying on a campaign for a couple of days. What’s wrong with that?” Ramjattan who is also an opposition Member of Parliament said.
    He said that while he has some reservations, indications have revealed a tendency towards a dictatorship in Guyana.
    Ramjattan noted that it is ironic that Home Affairs Minister, Clement Rohee, is presiding over a police force at a time when these types of ‘atrocities’ are taking place.
    “The last time I was here for something like this, it was in relation to peaceful picketing and Mr. Clement Rohee was locked up like that. Mr. Rohee was indicating that it was so wrong and unlawful. Now he’s Home Affairs Minister and he’s allowing this to happen. It’s terrible. It seems like it’s just cyclical at this time.
    “It happened several years ago and today we see this happening again. Those who suffered and are now in ministerial positions are having others suffer exactly like them,” Ramjattan pointed out.
    By 18:00 hours yesterday, several sympathizers assembled outside the Brickdam Police Station.
    These included, Mayor Hamilton Green, Alliance for Change Leader, Raphael Trotman; PNCR leadership candidate, Dr Richard Van West-Charles; and President of the Guyana Trades Union Congress, Gillian Burton.
    Trotman said that he believes that the right of any person to peacefully protest should be respected.
    “The right to protest is a basic human right. We may not always respect what people are saying but we must respect their right to speak. I didn’t know that we were living in a dictatorship but these little events when coupled with all the other things that we see happening tell us that this country has become a dictatorship,” the AFC Leader said.
    According to Trotman it is obvious that the government feels afraid, lashing out at anyone who tries to embarrass it.
    TUC President Gillian Burton also agreed that what has happened to the three men is a transgression of the rights of citizens.
    She said that the Trade Union Movement saw it coming when a Bill was taken to the National Assembly, seeking to limit the rights of workers to take industrial action.
    “What has happened here is that they have decided to send a signal to people that they are serious about what they are doing,” Burton stated.
    She said that it is a very sad day for trade unionism when one looks at the struggle put up by Hubert Nathaniel Critchlow and late leaders of the very political party in power including Janet and Cheddi Jagan, for the rights of citizens.
    “Today, with the passing of those persons, we have seen the very political party that they had founded has now turned the guns on the workers and the trade union leaders,” the GTUC President told this newspaper, adding that the movement will stand up against further attempts to trample on the rights of citizens.
    Mayor Hamilton Green said that the same people who speak about freedom of speech and the return of democracy are doing the exact opposite.
    “A cardinal aspect of democracy is that people should express their concern and there are a lot of concerns in this country. A lot of discrimination is taking place in this country and the Trade Unionists and Mark Benschop and others should express their views and not be interfered with,” the Mayor said.
    He said that the use of the Guyana Police Force to perpetuate the trampling of citizens rights is very unfortunate.
    And Dr. Richard Van West Charles said that the arrest of Benschop, Lewis and Witter is once again a clear demonstration of the abuse of power by senior police ranks and the continued violation of people’s human rights in Guyana.
    “I think that enough is enough and we have to mobilise to ensure that this government does persist in this action. And we are going to mobilize and get to that point very soon,” Dr. Charles said.
    At around 19:20 hours last evening, in the midst of a noisy vigil, a police officer informed that the trio was granted bail in the sum of $50,000 each.
    However, the detainees indicated that the bail is extraordinarily high and that they would rather remain in jail since they preferred to be released on their own recognaissance.

20. r.h.Carr, tell the Bajans when you walked into the Ministry of Foreign Afffairs pre-1992 how many Indo-Guyanese staffers (who make up nearly 50 per cent of population) were there (and don’t mention Ramphal please) Also Guyana governmen reps overeas.. Very, very few.I went thee once in the 1980s and thought I was living in a black township in South Africa under apartheid . That is, 95 per cent Afro staff despite many avaulability of qualified people of Indo descent.
    I met a few so called Foreign Ministry “profesionals” running around teh Hilton Hotel when Burnham visited there in 1980s –all trying to do damage control about rigging of elections. I couldn’t belie their inelletuctual limitations .
    Prior to 1992, the Mintsyr was basically a travel agency for the PNC top brass and to do damage control in the region and world about the hell that was Guyana under the Burnahamite neo facist dictatorship. With the 1992 elections and the massage of a multi racial Guyana (the PPP couldn’t win with Indo-Guyanese votes alone) the Ministry’s role changed and its staff, both at home and overseas will now naturally have to reflect the new democratic demographic dispensation in Guyana..In other words, some people had to be let go…

21. we are bracing for more action here in Guyana
    these thugs in power will be confronted head on. the build up is slow and gradual but you can’t stop this train
    we are moving on to freedom, total freedom and we will break the PPP chains that attempt to bind us, with or without the help of all the negroe leaders and stoll pigeons
    they were hear at the Caricom heads of govt summit eating biscuits and drinking tea while Black people are suffering under the guns of PPP Crime Family & Bharrat Jagdeo and the rest of the gang of the Guyana East Indian Cocaine Confederacy

22. […] Ralph Gonsalves. This will demonstrate how dangerous the PPP propaganda machinery is. The post from “Marx” indicates that he is clearly party of that slime machine. They must be debunked at all cost. As a […]

23. Caricom leaders need to condemn what is going on in guyana against black people. Then all illegal guyanese should be deported forthwith from all caricom sister states. We don’t want racism spreading from south america to the “caribbean”. If indians cannot get along with black people in guyana how the hell are they going to live peaceably with black people in black dominated caricom states? All of the “caribbean islands” have democratic stable governments and we intend for it to stay that way.

24. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Marx

Stop hiding norman faria and let r.h. Carr and the others know that it is you guyana honorary consul to barbados who is on this blog spreading PPP propoganda.

25. Anonymous 16th July 10.32 a.m
    Scout, what year was that?
    I really don’t remember but it was a while ago since I have not been to Guyana sor quite a while and I have no plans of going back there either. Reports I just recieve state that it is just a matter of time something BIG blows up in Guyana. For your information the last time I was in Guyana, I went as usual to the cambio next to the police station on Brickdam Street. I always went there to change money as i thought it was safe, being next to the police station, the day after I went, the cambio was robbed and someone was killed. I would sometimes depends who I’m with go by the fish shop just off Camp St or hang out with some fellows in Broad St. However, my incedent by Side Walk Cafe was even long before my last visit there. i used to stay at Cara Suite

26. @ Marx, aka Never Reddy, wow… you think you can take off your short pants and actually do your job,rather than try to spin tall tales about your racist regime.
    Never Reddy,why not tell the folks how under Burnham, the position of attorney general, foreign minister, deputy prime minister, PNC general secretary, the police led by indian, the military led by indians…. however, you spin this tall tale.
    You met qualified diplomats in Bridgetown, most of whom were educated at LSE,Cambridge, Columbia etc. Just a few, Dr Grant, Dr Moore, Fred Wills, Harry Dyett, Sir John Carter, Pat Thompson, and yes Sir Lionel Luckoo who at one time represented both Guyana and Barbados to the Court of St James.
    Today your racist regime had a foreign minister who did not know the difference between Dominica and the Dominican Republic. The current foreign minister does not know where Brussels or Lisbon is.

27. was just at Brickdam torture house as they’ve seized some buses off the road and a negroe traffic rank Boyce 19499 threatened an Indian fella that if he keep talkin ‘we gon do you like we do Benschop’

this is the level of ignoramuses we have to deal with where they hold on to your vehicle for days after you’ve paid fines and bail
    lawlessness galore

28. Marx / Reddy/ whatever or who ever you are, YOU ARE AN APOLOGY FOR A PROPAGANDIST! You need to do proper research before you try to defend the MURDEROUS AND DESPOTIC PPP REGIME. You will only continue to embarrass yourself since it’s quite evident that you are not very knowledgeable about the masters you serve. You are a mere puppet who does not seem to be privy to much. Indians lived a good life under Burnham and Hoyte. Those who choose to leave left because of their racist thoughts (apart from a few). Indians PROSPERED GREATLY! Do YOU WANT TO DENY THAT? However you people are never satisfied. You had to place yourself in a position that would provide you with the opportunity to rape the country’s coffers from every angle. Underhand deals , selling off the natural resources, using diplomatic bags to fetch cocaine and the list goes on. IS THIS (PPP) A GOVERNMENT OR A MAFIA MOVEMENT? Answer that question!

29. E.H. Carr, you provide some names. I said A FEW pre-1992 Ministry operatives were ignoramuses. When asked about CARICOM, they asked ;”I din know CARAMEL chocolate give way here. Is I is support freedom fighters in Africa.”.
    Indo-Guyanese Ministers ? Your logic is flawed.. The essential conclusion serious analysts draw about Guyana under Burnham-Hoyte is that attempts were made to ensure Afro-Guyanese had state power on a permanent basis.We know what became of that illusion: down the garbage can with the blessing of progressive and democratic minded Guyanese of all races.
    You cite “LSE, Cambridge, Columbia..” as if this is some guarantee of capable representation. My friend, most of Hitler’s’ ministers had impeccable degrees from some of Europe’s finest universities.
    There are some challenges in Guyana. Which country doesn’t have them ? Their roots lie in the pre-1992 divisons.Until we recogise that, learning the lessons (and getting apologies) while moving on, we will be like trying to spin a top in mud. The neo-fascist Burnhamite dictatorship discriminated against the Indo-Guyanese population at the time among other policy follies. Its so called socialist economic policies hurt Afro-Guyanese the most. Afro Guyanese at the mines had dogs set on them for protesting..
    The Foreign Ministry effectively had to apologise for all the shameful things that went on, despite the idealist independent efforts of some of the operatives.. .
    We have to move ahead and work together for the national good, but no amount of shift blame, wordy fancy footwork , pandering to the largely black population of Barbados, can alter the well documented reality of that period and to derail efforts of making sure it never ever happens again. Cavalier, lazy name calling, and convienently overlooking the overall picture, won’t help.
    Today, Guyana is progressing with documented economic/social achievements and good governence, including unprecendented freedom for opposition charges, benefitting Guyanese of all races……. Peace

30. http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/letters/07/16/pppc-governance-has-contributed-to-racial-insecurity/

An interesting letter that analyzes the issue of Indian superiority and African insecurity in Guyana.

31. 150 years living in the same country and they can’t get along with each other; yet they want to inflict this divisiveness on Barbados. Perhaps partition may not be a bad idea.

32. The bottom line is if you allow Indians to lay a solid foundation in any country to which they migrate, their primary ambition will eventually be to DOMINATE. This is followed- DEFINITELY SO- by corruption.Of the people then the government.

33. Sargeant
    This thing is so engrained in them that they can’t change. The same thing with white, they may pretend to be your friend until crunch time comes and they got to take sides and you are left in the cold. I must say indians are even worse than whites, they would smile with you and stab you in your back in cold blood, just to get along. They always project themselves as the victims

34. Sargeant , that is not such a bad idea about partition. Here is my solution(playing devil’s advocate) .Trinidad and Guyana could solve this problem by allowing all the East Indian from Trinidad to move to Guyana and all the Afro-guyanaese to move to Trinidad or vice versa and there the racial strife is solved.

35. Then again from my peronal experience it seem to that the East Indian Trinidardians donot fancy much,their East Indian Guyanese bretherens.

36. Scout you are on the ball with that. These people will suck up to you to the extent of crawling on their belly to get what they want. When they have achieved their goal, you then begin to wonder if that is the same person who was purporting to be your friend. I think the worst kinds of indians – in terms of their mentality- were taken to Guyana. While living inGrenada many years ago, I came across this Indian teacher who no arrival there sought to demonize the Burnham government in a bid to get the people’s sympathy. This individual had rented his mansion in Guyana and relocated to Grenada and was fooling Grenadians into thinking that he was a poor man who was being victimized in his country. The principal of the school gave him the school’s house to live in FREE OF COST. He had succeeded in fooling them. LIVE FREE AND LAUGH AT THE BLACK FOOLS.

37. There is so much happening in Guyana yet our media is SILENT!

‘Biscuit’ admitted to hospital, poisoning suspected

By Stabroek staff | July 17, 2009 in Local News

Murder accused David Leander also known as ‘Biscuit’ and David Zammett was yesterday admitted a patient at the Georgetown Public Hospital (GPH), suspected to have been poisoned and is said to be in a serious condition.

According to hospital sources, Leander was admitted at approximately 9.15 am yesterday frothing at the mouth and complaining of feeling severely unwell.
    When Stabroek News visited him at his bedside in the male surgical open ward yesterday he was wearing an oxygen mask and groaning while tossing from side to side, appearing to be in unbearable pain. He seemed unable to speak and made only moaning sounds.

Leander, clad in his prison pants, was handcuffed to the bed and under heavy police guard.

Concerned and disgruntled relatives, who had gathered in their numbers at the hospital, were heard speculating about his illness.
    As they constantly quarrelled among themselves about the incident, one woman was heard saying, “is she [no name] poison he.” Another kept repeating, “how people could be suh wicked.”

A cousin of the sick man who requested anonymity said she could not say what exactly had transpired except that the family was informed that Leander was suspected to have been poisoned and admitted to the GPH in a serious condition.

The relatives were at times also heard praying for the man’s recovery while others were moved to tears. “Is only the oxygen dat he teking keeping he alive right now,” one of them said.

Meanwhile, Minister of Home Affairs Clement Rohee in a telephone interview with Stabroek News, when asked to comment on the issue said he was aware of Leander being taken to the hospital to have several tests conducted. Rohee said he did not know of any suspected poisoning. “I cannot comment on any suspected poisoning because I don’t know of that. I am still waiting the results of the tests,” the Home Affairs Minister said. “Beyond that I cannot say anything.”

Leander of Vigilance, East Coast Demerara (ECD) became known to the public when on November 8, 2007 he was charged with the murders of Satyadeow ‘Sash’ Sawh, his brother Rajpat Sawh, his sister Phulmattie Persaud and his security guard Curtis Robinson on April 22 at La Bonne Intention (LBI), ECD.
    Magistrate Yohhannseh Cave on Monday ruled an oral statement purportedly made by Leander inadmissible in the preliminary inquiry (PI).

Leander was captured during a joint services operation in Buxton that resulted in the deaths of Noel ‘Baby’ James who had recently been released from prison after serving a sentence for larceny and Orlando Andrews called ‘Bullet’ or ‘Jeffrey’ of Buxton who was wanted in connection with a number of murders.

When Leander first appeared at the Georgetown Magistrate’s Court, he had visible injuries about his body and could hardly walk. His attorney had said that he was tortured by police while in custody. He was later admitted to the Georgetown Hospital following an order by Justice Jainarayan Singh Jr. These allegations were again presented before Magistrate Cave when the PI commenced at the Sparendaam Magistrate’s Court.

38. I saw the artical but didn’t read it. how can some-one, other than a prison officer, be allowed to give something to eat to a prisoner? or is it an officer who did it? Get accustom bajans, it will soon happen here.

39. prisoners beat and kill prisoners in Guyana on a regular basis so they can definitely poison one

40. Ministry of Health building in Guyana burnt to the ground!

Will the Barbados media and Rickey Singh share their perspectives?

41. Guyana does not have a government, it is being run by an ethnocracy. They want to reduce the amount of blacks in the public service but ignore the commercial, agricultural and private sector where Indians have dominated throughout the 28 nyears of PNC governnance.

What the Governance of Badseo Panday in Trinidad and Tobago , the Governance of Fiji, and the Governance of Guyana under Bharrat Jagdeo has proven, is that it is dangerous for blacks when Indians of the kinds of dispositions of those involved in these theatres, get their hands on power. They are incapable of jettisoning the cultural baggage of caste that has been passed down to them from generation to generation. They should not be making decisions on the lives and well being of those they perceive as being born from the bottom of the feet of their God.

42. The auditor found that the Ministry of Health in Guyana could not account for hundreds of millions dollars spent on purported purchases of drugs, nor was there any evidence of the drugs purchased arriving in Guyana. Now the Ministry of Health, where all the irreplaceable records are located has been burned to the ground.

The PPP has to be the most villianous regime to have ever held office in the Caribbean. The Minister of Health name has surfaced in links with drug felon Roger Khan, and the purchase of telephone monitoring equipment that Khan was found with. Now there are no records from which an independent inquiry can be conducted.

Bajans do not allow these people into your country. Look at their conduct in Guyana, the lack of ethics and morals, the bald faced lying by the President. Let them call you what they like, but keep their asses out of you country.

43. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, these guyanese need to be declared political refugees and denied entry into Barbados. We are pussy-footing around with the enemy and we will soon see our mistake. Mr P.M, you are too much of a gentleman, it seems your bark is much worse than your bite.

44. Mr. P.M.
    Have you heard R.P.B’s calypso, “Home drum beat first”?