Submitted by The Scout

Minister of Agriculture Haynesley Benn

For sometime I have been monitoring the growth of agriculture or lack of here in Barbados. Successive Governments have paid lip service to this industry and local farmers are becoming more and more frustrated, and rightly so. Praedial larceny again has been put on the back burner, this problem has not gone away, just that farmers have stop complaining as we got more angry when nothing is being done about it.

Also there is the problem of monkey theft, these animal over the years have become a serious problem, destroying almost every crop planted e.g potatoes, cassava, onions, etc, yet the Ministry of Agriculture cannot come up with a solution to the problem.

Then there is the problem with those who actually reap a crop to get it sold, we have to compete against foreign product that is subsidised, then against the foreign producers who are growing crops in Barbados and don’t have the overheads that the locals have. What is noteworthy is that I don’t hear of any of this class of local producers report praedial larceny, or the inability to sell their crops.

Is there a concerted effort to eliminate the Bajan farmer right in his own country? These subtle works of art by our neighbours is just another method to disenfranchise and frustrate Bajans and we are soaking it all up like if the doctor ordered it for us.

I’m calling on the DLP government that we the local Barbadians elected to look after our interest, to protect us in these difficult times . We built this nation up to what it is today and we’re patriotic enough to look after it’s future, we would not use underhand means and dangerous methods for monetary gain, while money is important  the welfare of our country is most important.

1. Colin Hudson used to have several graphs on display.

One I found revealing was the one which demonstraed the inverse relationship between Government support in agriculture and output of that sector.

The highest output the sugar industry achieved was 200,000 tons in 1957 and then again in 1967.

The indiators in the agricultural sector have been trending downward since then.

Output today is at a level, 30,000 tons, which existed at the time of emancipation, and yet we have technology and education levels never seen before in Barbados!!

I don’t believe any government since independence really wanted agriculture to succeed.

2. Please tell me how the BADMC could have imported a 40 ft container of onions when the local farmers for some time now have been getting problems with finding market for their produce? It seems like somebody is getting big on these imports. Farmers are frustrated by the lack of support they recieve from government.

John
    I agree with you, this is not a DLP problem alone. This problem exists with both parties. Somebody needs to come straight with the farmers.

3. Don’t agree Scout. The BADMC is a government corporation and therefore the buck stops at the minister and government. Will we see the Chairman and or general manager of the BADMC disciplined? Don’t think so!

4. Dear David you wrote “Also there is the problem of monkey theft..”

Monkeys cannot steal.

To steal or not to steal is a moral decision which requires a conscience.

I may be wrong, but I don’t believe that monkeys have consciences.

I believe that monkeys take what they need to satisfy their hunger (this can hardly be called stealing)

And yes I farm and have lost crops to monkeys.

This may seem like nit picking but it is not. When people wrongly believe that an animal’s natural acts are bad or immoral, then people punish the animal including killing is for being “bad” as we saw in the newspapers just this week.

Of course no other animal has learned that if you bite a child I’ll chop of your head, so what was the purpose then of chopping off the dog’s head?

5. David
    That is exactly what I’m saying, the problem is, I believe somebody near the top is getting a cutback for impoirting these onions.
    J
    Are you advocating that we allow the monkey population to expold and take over all the crops? Whether you call it stealing or not the monkey population has to be controlled. What would you call monkey just biting fruits and leaving them?

6. Johnny Postle Avatar

What is wrong with Barbados? Our preference seems to be for nonsense rather than commonsense. And I got to throw in the fact that we have become a greedy and corrupt nation. We talk about education beng the pinnacle of personal and economic development yet we preside and decide on matters that does not reflect the inellectual capacity fitting to our big up degrees and higher levels of education. For instance, Agriculture is not going anywhere because we do not understand fully the importance of research. What sense it is to have all these degree holders doing nothing but just getting qualified.

The chief Agriculture officer comes over to me as a mere joker. In fact the Ministry of Agriculture seems to come over to me as a bunch of jokers who are too busy with their biases to get any real work done. I think they genuinely do not know what to do in the agricultural ministry. The honourable Minister is beating his head against the coals with this lot. I say fire the whole bunch and bring in some over and away people to manage this very important ministry. No wonder the auditor general got problems with this ministry, they too busy getting and not giving.

7. Our Agriculture theme needs to be:EXPORT OR DIE

8. “I say fire the whole bunch and bring in some over and away people to manage this very important ministry.” Jesus wept! More of the same shyte. Bring in over n’ away people to do what your grand parents can do? Why not hire the capable elderly who know the soil, who fed Barbados from the get-go? How much are you willing to pay these people from ova n’ away to sit on their fat arses and attend parties while poisoning Barbados soil with Monsanto and other GM seeds? Why not pay the Barbadians?

Bajans need to take a long hard look at themselves in the mirror and ponder the direction of that island!

9. It seems that the appointment of every Minister of Agriculture whether BLP or DLP the appointment is heralded as the ‘tipping point’ for his important ministry. For example Erskine Griffith was thought to be a person who would have used his experience in Geneva to push start agriculture. As they say, he came, he saw, he left.

Benn seems to have his heart in the right place but the stakeholders in the agricultural industry need to get on the same page. Again a flaw in our civil service given its unwieldy design to respond to change.

10. … Hopi, these old folks are in their 80’s and 90’s …. or sadly dead.

We actually did bring in people from over and away in the 1990’s but I think it is just a case of too little too late.

The damage has been done.

Robert Goddard wrote an article entitled “The Fall of the Planter Class” which provides an interpretation of the crisis in the sugar industry in the 1980’s.

It illustrates some of the machinations that went on over this period.

Good to see historians documenting history when the players are alive and memories are clear.

Robert Goddard, “The fall of the Barbados planter class: an interpretation of the 1980s crisis in the Barbados sugar industry,” Agricultural History, 75 (2001), pp. 329-345

Available in UWI Library and probably online.

11. I agree with the analysis of Scout, we have put agriculture on the back burner for several years; there should be a change and we would then see the benefits of growing our own produce. We have a historical barrier to leap…but that should be possible.

There is nothing more disconcerting than to see “luxuriant bush” growing beside some properties in Barbados, with very little effort and enterprise that land could be put to productive use.

We must start early to change a “mind set” a Government initiative led by the schools is the way to go.

Across Europe and other places abroad professional people are out digging in their gardens or rented allotments at weekends or in the evening…they are no less “respectable” for so doing.

With regard to the theft of crops it is a “scourge” which should be punished not solely on the value of the items taken but also considering the lawlessnes and lack of respect for peoples property which such theft engenders.

On a larger picture we treat agriculture as just growing potatoes or planting canes. We have never sought to learn from those at the cutting edge of agriculture technology. There is no point talking about a lack of land, some small specialised enterprises could be started, giving employment to many in “niche” markets. We are often constrained by “we have never done it before.”

12. A suggestion would be for the government to train farmers in new technologies and then find market for their crops. This would call for a proper and transparent policy about foreign importation. It would seem that some “big-ups” in Barbados have to be satisfied irrespective of which party is in power.All those local farmers who are registered in the system and are adhering to the project would get their fertilisers and chemicals subsidised. Very few farmers follow the directions on the label of the product used, all this need to be taught to farmers.

13. There is something that bothers me about the chemicals used especially the imported ones. Most of them carry a warning in bold print, FOR EXPORT ONLY. I would like the Min of agriculture to explain why EXPORT ONLY

14. … and the chemicals used in Golf Courses ….?

Google Golf Course and water quality

15. @ Scout

This is not an ‘agriculture’ problem, it is a leadership problem.
    Look at any important area of national life – you see the same thing….
    INCOMPETENCE / No sense of responsibility / No consequences for foolish behavior – not even for ILLEGAL behaviors

You heard what senator Millington said?
    THAT is our problem.

…as to when it will be solved? Soon!!! when things get so bad that the jokers who make excuses for incompetence, stealing, murder, ILLEGAL immigrants and other foolishness are too poor and hungry to protest more…

…of course by then it will be too late for ALL of us…. but as I always say, we always get exactly what we deserve.

With respect to agriculture, you must admit that we are GIANTS at moving the earth around to please though, been by St Davids recently?

…see how fast they can clear bush, move topsoil, cut road track, and so on?

One would think that we have endless land available to us and our descendants…..

@ John
    There is no need to import any special planters to address this problem (they will be frustrated in short order). What would work is a strong, single minded and honest leadership with the guts and staying power to step on some heads – lodge or not….

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@ Bush Tea

You better be careful that somebody down there don’t write you off for telling the OBVIOUS TRUTH with such CLARITY!

You better be careful that they dont take your name out of the book of life, FOR LIFE, like they did for me!

As you thruthfully said
    1- This is not an ‘agriculture’ problem, it is a leadership problem.
    Look at any important area of national life – you see the same thing….
    INCOMPETENCE / No sense of responsibility / No consequences for foolish behavior – not even for ILLEGAL behaviors

CORRECT! IT HAS BEEN SO FOR SOME TIME NOW!

After all the agricultural sector produced enough food to feed Barbaos during the war, although then we were not in to fast food, and we ate sweet potatoes and yams locally grown, and had fresh meat grown in the village!

2- the jokers ……..make excuses for incompetence, stealing, murder, ILLEGAL immigrants and other foolishness

3- see how fast they can clear bush, move topsoil, cut road track, and so on?
    One would think that we have endless land available to us and our descendants…..

4- There is no need to import any special planters to address this problem (they will be frustrated in short order). What would work is a strong, single minded and honest leadership with the guts and staying power to step on some heads – lodge or not….

YOU HAVE AGAIN HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD IN EACH OF SEVERAL PHRASES IN THIS SHORT PARAGRAPH.

OUR LEADERSHIP REJECTS AND ABHORS AND ARE AFRAID OF FOLK WHO HAVE IDEAS OR WHO DO NOT LICK TAIL OR HAVE A MENDICANT DISPOSITION.

But Humpty Dumpty has fallen off the wall a long time ago. We know the rest of that story! All the kings horses and the king’s men only mulling around pretending to look smart, muttering some rhetoric occasionally, and as the scriptures say they PROFESS THEMSELVES TO BE WISE, although THEY KNOW THAT THEY ARE FOOLS, and that MANY OF US ALSO KNOW THAT THEY ARE FOOLS.

17. @Bush Tea

We are watching closely but the current government seems to be operating under the guise of finding houses for people as a workaround to cut up some of our most fertile land. Staple Grove Plantation in St. Davids is a case in point.

18. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

John,

Correct, was it not RT.Hon Errol Barrow who declared that no one will again work in the cane fields?

However, this has been compounded in the last number of years, by the absolute impossibility of the ‘average man’ being able to afford an acre or two, for the purposes of growing.

The same youngsters who either grow up in the country or come out of University, fresh with eagerness of youth, cannot afford even a ten square foot property.

The developers push to have every last piece of land changed to commercial or residential use.

There is much arid land suitable for non-real estate purposes, but instead agricultural land is being sought for this.

Why? For two reasons, ‘virgin’ land can be acquired by developers with a connection to obtain a change of use, probably for less than land already approved for development.

Secondly, much of the existing land available for building is owned by, proportionally few people, who really have no urgent need of the money, but sit on the ever escalating values, until such time as someone with enough bank loan, desperately buys a property.

The profit motive guides in both cases.

Our land has become an easy way for some to become wealthy beyond dreams, something outside the reach of us average citizens.

One might argue a case of free market forces, but at an interlude in our development when we should still be supporting the spreading of wealth, after the ending of the era of the large planters and merchants, the market should have been regulated.

Nevertheless, ‘should’ is not a word that comes easily to decision-makers and cavaliers when the profit motive is involved.

The real wake up will come when a world catastrophe occurs, such that we can neither feed ourselves, nor keep the peace as a result.

All hell will break loose then.

Peace

19. Our leaders are incapable of doing anything creative.

What is their track record?

How many have any experience running a business?

How many have a clue as to how to look at large tracks of land marshall resources and make them work?

This is the flaw in parliament today.

The model of educated technocrats advising ignorant politicians has cost us dearly.

This is because technical support staff advice can be poo pooed when inconvenient and can be doctored to suit.

It is strategic thinking which is missing from the heads of those in authority, and this flows from a close understanding of how the natural processes of our country work.

This is the difference pre and post independence.

Pre independence parliamentarians invariably had a strong connection to the land and the people who worked it.

These guys and gals today have not got a clue.

We may claim to have come far … and we have, but what was the point if the natural processes that support us potentially render our existence unsustainable?

20. Each time I pass St. Davids my heart burns. I know that we will regret what we are doing I can feel it in my gut!

We need to value (treasure) that soil!

21. @ GP
    .. my name has been erased from their ‘book of life’ for years now…. But surely you know that ‘who BBE bless no man can curse…’

I see that too…. and if you were to investigate closely, you will also discover the ‘cartel’ behind the whole charade…. They make their millions from this scam no matter who is in Government; no matter if the project comes off or not; no matter if it is profitable or not; and no matter the damage to this small country.

…from Paradise Beach;to below St Lucy’s church; and along many of the beach fronts that represents the REAL tourism assets of this country, these rapists have been raking it in -while we have been watching our goose being choked….

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Within the last 25 years ago there was a white guy at Vineyard I think it was who invested seriously into irrigation and was doing a great job on his land.

Even his own white friends put him out of business, by not buying his produce at thier big supermarkets, and since we did not have export markets the chap folded, as he got the message.

THOU MUST NOT PLANT!
    LET THE LAND GO WILD SO IT CAN BE TERMED RAB LAND THEN WE CAN TURN IT INTO RESEDENTIAL LAND SO THAT A FEW FOLK CAN GET RICH IN THE SHORT TIME—— FOR THE SHORT TIME!

The politicians, who grew up landless, and have no regard for the land, and no longer care that the dream of the once entrenched middle class was only to own thier own little piece of the land…..sold us out.

One of the very last patients I saw in Barbados, was a young woman with a serious headache whose origin I could not illucidate, until I asked her what was her dream. What was her goal in life.

All she wanted was a little piece of land.
    I told her I cant help you today sweet heart. I said to her there was a time I would tell you to save $6000 and when you see an old wood and wall house on a suitable piece of land for 60, 000 go pay down on it quick. You can fix it up and write of the cost against your income taxes.

We all know that even ten years ago those days were gone. I threw up my hands in despair, cause to prescribe Panadol for her headache, might only have resulted in liver damage for the poor soul.

We must weep for pour once sweet Barbados!

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JC darling

I have to postone the wedding cause I aint got de money fuh we to buy a piece o land chile, and none o de BU famlee cant help we out! Sob sob, Boo Hoo

24. We now have a class of highly educated Bajans who subscribe to the economic concept that land MUST always be sold at its highest economic value. So there we are.

25. Did 5 hours on the land today, form 6:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.and it feels good.

I am glad that I was able to refuse a recent offer to permit a commercial building on land in zone 1.

Our family has been receiving offers from people who are sure that they will get permission to convert from the time I was at school (1960’s) , including one time an offer on behalf of an American client, whose lawyer was a long time eminent parliamentarian, QC, and a Sir, you all know the type. My dad said no to him in 1969, I am glad to say no in 2009.

Some of us behave as though we will get into trouble if we say no to politicians, lawyers etc.

The truth is if we say no, nothing bad happens. We have to stop giving people permission to rape our land and then pretending that we are victims.

26. It is still true that we cannot eat money.

27. David, it is going to be very interesting to see what happens to the three applications to develop 136 acres of prime agricultural lands at Staple Grove.

The records of the corporate registry indicate that Staple Grove is owned by P.D.F. Inc. with directors being Peter Defreits and Cheyub Investments Ltd. What’s interesting is a note in the financials regarding a “Development Cost” The note says “This consists mainly of professional fees incurred in planning of a 500 unit low income housing development on lands at Staple Grove. Town Planning Permission was refused and the project was abandoned”.

Now it seems there are new applications that aim to provide “Housing Solutions” on the agricultural land at Staple Grove. New government, new applications.

Better connected?

28. It is also true that, today, very few can eat without money.

29. Yardbroom

You said let us start with the schools.

Most persons would believe that would be the road to go. Most of the students who take Agricultural Science do it make up the six or seven subjects to get into Community College to study another area although Community College has an Associate Degree in Agriculture.

There is no support at the secondary school level for agriculture. Most of the students refuse to choose it as a subject and the ones who are perceived to be slow learners are forced into taking it as a subject.

I saw on the news Harrison College receiving a large modern green house. The head of department for science said it would be used for Biological research. This school would never teach Agricultural Science because that is where the brightest goes.

A green house like that should have been presented to Grantley Adams School, which has a very good Agricultural Science program.

The young boys and girls there would be involved in using modern technology in the production of crops. You can just go and look at shade house technology at work at Strong Hope in St. Thomas.

30. 50 condos or 500 low income units, the end result is the same, somebody will make a lot of money and more good land is lost, even if the latter project is an easier sell to the gullible.

31. Once when people used to work the land there was little talk of agriculture science.
    People worked the land out of necessity and fell in love with it.
    Some educated fool then decided that it was a science, created a certificate, set an exam and the rest is history.
    Why would a student “waste his time” trying to gain a certificate in Agricultural Science when he has been programmed to believe that Physic, Chemistry and Biology are more important to his quest for financial success.

The problem in agriculture is simple, too many people with no love for the land, studying science, getting degrees, running the Ministry and do not know elephant grass from bamboo.

32. Poor Great

…. and I know this will rile up Yard broom …

Agriculture only worked in the past because families were intimately involved with the land at all levels.

Land has become a commodity now, to be bought and sold so there is no love involved.

No Government operating like previous post independence governments will ever get it to work again.

Something’s gotta give soon …. and I admit …. I haven’t got a clue what it will be!!

33. Poor Great
    I understand your frustrations with all of those Doctors at the MOA but you cannot segregate agriculture from science.

Take a tour of the shade houses at Strong Hope and see a white Barbadian using scientific methods to produce all the sweet peppers that Barbadians can consume without many pests and disease problems.

This project operates with a computerized system where fertilizers are delivered to each house specifically for the crop that is growing. The houses are located on soil but the plants grow in a soilless medium. That is science at work.

Let the persons who study physics, biology and chemistry become medical doctors and cannot get food to eat.

Food security must be our buzzword. Produce or perish.

34. What’s the problem with saying Strong Hope may be our path to self-sufficiency?

The GoB doesn’t care a toss, if our most vulnerable have to shoulder the pain.

Waiting for BADMC to promote an effective plan, is marginally more optomistic than “Waiting for Godot”,

Let the UWI technocrats swallow their pride and admit there are existing operations within Barbados who, if their lead is followed, will provide our salvation from the greedy import merchants.

35. For a moment there I thought that the Staple Grove application had been approved. I hope the meeting with the residents of the area wasn’t a show to pull the wool over the public eyes so the powers that be can claim that the people were consulted. I mean they weren’t even given the names of the beneficial owners.

If you think traffic is horrendous in the BET/Wildey triangle wait and see what it will be like if the development goes on stream and people move in.

Not sure what all the earth moving is all about in St. Davids but doesn’t the People’s Cathedral have permission to build a church in the area? If a church is being built it will require parking etc.

36. I Have been growing all my vegetable and fish needs in a 4 by 16 foot space for 4 years.

The technology is called aquaponics it works by circulating water between plant roots and a fish tank. You feed the fish and the waste the fish produce is food for the plants.

No harmful chemicals are used and i also grow heirloom varieties and believe these are Delicious. i will have something available for the average person to own and maintain at home. within the year.

If you want to know more just ask, i am forth comeing with info.

37. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Report today on the issue at Mullins.

Now we clearly the problem with rife overdevelopment along the coast.

This ‘process’ creates problems with erosion, by interfering with natural tides.

Not to mention, that persons overbuild on the coast, then complain when their properties are threatended by sea erosion.

The wise man does not build on sand, nor in too close proximity.

Why do people disregard the old houses on the seaside were chattel type?

Why do they disregard that the land was not previously valuable?

When a large structure is build right on the coast, the owner must have adequate maintenance monies set aside, for expected repairs, rather than go screaming to Government for help after the fact.

The complaint is about the goins built on another project, well maybe those groins will not last beyond one hurricane either.

This is a clear example of overbuilding and the players all around, being burnt by irresponsible actions by developers.

They took away our ‘windows to the sea’.

It is only a matter of time before we have them back.

Peace

38. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Oops, early am, ‘now we see clearly, the problem with rife overdevelopment along the coast’

39. When BU was shouting West Coast rape where was the nation?

Now BU is shouting Inland Rape of our most fertile land being sacrificed for concrete.

40. Rumplestilskin Avatar
    Rumplestilskin

Noted. If you go back roughly three years on BFP, you will see the raising of points on a suggested Barbados Land Use Policy, which would have addressed both the Coastal and Inland concerns that you raise, actually the blogging then, specifically addressed the need to maintain agricultural land as is at that time.

I remember John at the time, referring to the Strategic Physical Development Plan, I think it was, that was supposed to be governing document.

However, my preference, stated at that time and still holding today, is for a new Land Ownership and Use Policy.

However, the powers that be ignore such calls, which would place known parameters on any development, which would apply to all.

That would not suit some.

Peace

41. I think it is time that we make lots of noise about these developments. I was taking a drive up Yorkshire and slowly but surely I realise that a few houses are being built just now we will eat the blaste concrete!!!

This is not good enough!

Georgie Porgie // May 30, 2009 at 4:42 pm

JC darling

I have to postone the wedding cause I aint got de money fuh we to buy a piece o land chile, and none o de BU famlee cant help we out! Sob sob, Boo Hoo
    _________________________-

Dont worry boo I am young and am willing to work for both of us!!!

Sooooo dont worry you still CAN AND MUST marry me!

Can’t wait to be Mrs. Georgie Porgie …. smooches!

42. Agriculture in Barbados needs a complete turn around.

The consumer has no interaction with what is to be consumed until it is in the supermarket. People don’t know what goes into getting that food on their plate.

I am sure if people had to kill the chickens them is eat, we would got nuff more vegetarians.

It is time that technology is used to better agriculture.

the most viable way to achieve food security is through aquaponics. it address many problems like

land use- aquaponic uses much less space as the plants can be planted very close.

Water runoff- these are close cycle systems and all water is recirculated fertilisers and other harmfull chemicals are not used.

Cheap protein – tilapia fish are a excellent source of protein and raising them are relatively easy as compared to conventional farming + there is no scent & no sounds.

43. Fairplay

I bet the people at Strong Hope love what they do.
    How many of the people presently responsible for developing Agriculture have that same love?

I accept that we cannot separate Agriculture from science and should therefore not segregate it, but I believe we should get the children interested in the practical applications of the science first and then teach the theory to those that desire it.

The positioning of Agricultural Science, next to Physics, Chemistry and Biology, guarantees its rejection by the brightest students, who do not see a clear career option at the end and the others, who generally ignore the sciences, will avoid it.

The powers that be should impress upon the student population the importance of Agriculture to the country, even if they believe otherwise, by granting extra credits to students who study Agricultural Science and promoting the numerous employment options available.

Adequate support would then have to be given to the industry, but everyone knows this already.

Are they willing?

44. John

If men are to be known by their deeds we can conclude that this bunch is like the previous, even if they words are different.

If we are prepared to depend on others to feed us we should prepare to go hungry one day.
    We will only go back to growing our own food if we are forced to do so.

45. At the time when Barbados produced its peak output in sugar I reckon from looking at aerial photos of the day that small holders probably produced 40% of that output because smallholders controlled about 40% of the land area.

All through Bank Hall there were canes in the small lots just as in much of St. James and St. Peter there were canes to the sea!!

Bank Hall plantation had been sold out to housing years before but in lot sizes that permitted agriculture.

Canes grew at Bath where many of the seaside houses are located now and Atlantic Shores and South Point was populated by numerous smallholders also producing cane.

There were canes in the Sand Pit area of St. Andrew, close to the sea.

Much of St. Philip was conrolled by smallholders and in St. Thomas the Spring Farm area was also thus controlled.

These photos from 1951 show the situation in agriculture before the heavy development of the 60’s and onwards.

I think they indicate that most people were deeply involved in agriculture in some way or another.

The smallholders have to a large extent departed from agriculture and their lands are now houses, hotels, appartments and condos.

The larger plantations were and are being picked off one by one.

We are nearing the end of a long road of “development” and are beginning to realise that there is actually an end in sight!!

What next when all the land is all sold or committed to paying bills?

… or has been converted to its “highest economic value”?

What’s the plan?

46. Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 9:21 am

John

If men are to be known by their deeds we can conclude that this bunch is like the previous, even if they words are different.

If we are prepared to depend on others to feed us we should prepare to go hungry one day.
    We will only go back to growing our own food if we are forced to do so.

The other thing the land “produces” is water !!!

The easily available water resources have been committed since 1996.

This was predicted since 1978 and was based on work done as long ago as 1946.

Food is not the only issue!!

47. In the future the plan will be to produce water by desalination and reverse osmosis.
    The Belle pumping station will be converted to a desalination plant and water pumped from Spring Garden.
    The process to upgrade the BWA should commence in July and any additional funds needed to complete this project will be sourced from the Land Bank:-)

48. The continued De-vegetation of Barbados is another story.
    Less rainfall, more heat, more air conditioners, less foreign reserves to buy imports.
    Paradise becomes a hell hole.

Depressing.

49. Water is not a problem, they are ways of produceing water easily, there is a household device that taps the water in the air and makes drinking water from it.

Here is a link.

http://cleantechnica.com/2008/11/05/how-to-make-water-from-thin-air/

Also i guessing lots of people don’t know about this but i have been running a small engine on salt water yes SALT WATER, for about 3 weeks now, the next step it to put this on my car. It is called HHO gas (check it out on youtube) its every where.

Through electrolysis it is possible to cut your gas bill in half and these work on any car.

50. Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 10:18 am

In the future the plan will be to produce water by desalination and reverse osmosis.
    The Belle pumping station will be converted to a desalination plant and water pumped from Spring Garden.
    The process to upgrade the BWA should commence in July and any additional funds needed to complete this project will be sourced from the Land Bank:-)

Spring Garden produces potable water from “brackish water”, not sea water.

It is really a glorified treatment plant, not a desalination plant.

The cost of producing fresh water from sea water is many times more expensive than from “brackish water”.

Brackish water contains fresh water and this fresh water comes from the land.

I reckon that 6/7 of the output from Spring Garden comes from fresh water collected on the land.

When you say that Belle will be converted to a desalination plant do you mean that the 10 or more million gallons per day pumped from there will now need treatment?

Given the heavy development at Warrens and its environs this would be logical.

I can’t see the logic of pumping sea water from Spring Garden to a desal plant at the Belle.

Where would the brine go? … back to the sea, or into the fresh water aquifer?