Praedial larceny lament Manager of Friendship Estate, Patrick Bethell (right) has decried the impact of praedial larceny on agriculture, after suffering at the hands of thieves once more. Here, he inspects one of the uprooted cassava plants along with CEO of the Barbados Agricultural Society, James Paul. Both want the police to do more about the theft of crops. (CA)
Praedial larceny lament Manager of Friendship Estate, Patrick Bethell (right) has decried the impact of praedial larceny on agriculture, after suffering at the hands of thieves once more. Here, he inspects one of the uprooted cassava plants along with CEO of the Barbados Agricultural Society, James Paul. Both want the police to do more about the theft of crops. (CA) – Nation Newspaper

Longstanding farmer Patrick Bethell has come under some public criticism in recent days because of his reported decision to plough his cassava crop back into the soil. Those oppose to his action cite the fact that to destroy food in the prevailing times of economic hardship represents an insensitivity on the part of Mr. Bethell. We have not heard the farmer’s side of this story but we know is that this is a man whose love for agriculture CANNOT and SHOULD NOT be questioned. From this distance the BU family has concluded that Mr. Bethell’s action clearly represents a frustration which is felt by other farmers in Barbados.

We understand that Mr. Bethell has been a farmer for nigh on 40 years. In our books that makes him exempt from the vitriolic episodes which have been allowed to entertained on our national airwaves.

It is easy for the majority of Barbadians who look down their noses at the farming community to spout hot air. We encourage Barbadians to try to focus dispassionately on the solutions which are required by the agricultural sector for sometime now. The government cannot be serious about promoting a strategy of food security and we have the problem of praedial larceny allowed to run unchecked. Barbados is a small place and the inability to crackdown on this problem over the years represent a lack of will on the part of the stakeholders. It makes us question who might be the players supporting this illegal activity. The quantities of produce which has been reported to be stolen over the years leads the BU family to conclude that some significant players maybe involved. Remember that if a buyer of a commodity has knowledge that it maybe stolen they are are complicit in the crime.

We disagree though with the call by Mr. Bethell that the police should do more. While policing is an important strategy to try to curb praedial larceny it is not the sustainable approach. The Prime Minister announced in his first budget that, or was it on another occasion, the government would provide an open space for farmers to sell produce. We believe that by bringing people in a central market to sell produce, maybe on weekends, it would provide the opportunity to quietly investigate the scourge of praedial larceny. If the government is serious about reviving the farming industry given its commitment to transforming the negative culture, the government needs to act NOW. We say now because if we are to judge by Mr. Bethell’s recent action, we may have arrived at the tipping point represented by a long time committed agriculturalist threatening to leave the profession.

We have supported Minister of Agriculture Haynesley Benn in previous blogs and we continue do so, we hope he does not disappoint us.

79 responses to “Agriculture In Barbados At The Crossroads”

1. Peppa Seed
    I like dah name doah. Peppa Seed, chawwwww.
    You feel dat a “tief” could know my environs better than me? He would got to bring a army a ‘thiefs” to overpower me at me man. Tek my word.
    How ya like ma?

2. People have died in their own homes at the hands of thieves.

The “tiefs” as has been implied above, might be working for you, so they might know your fields and produce better than you. They could be working for you during the day and against you during the night.

The willing buyers, with their obtain a bargain regardless mentality, are the root cause of the problem.
    This foolishness will only stop when it is no longer possible for the theives to profit from stealing produce.

3. thiefing too rampant these days.I have friends who got ground and plant on it too and ppl who live round d same farmer i know also.one of the guys who live near the farmer goes around asking people if they want buy casava or any bananas or any such thing,but this guy does not even have a casava plant or a banana tree at home.it all comes from the farmers ground ,yet when he talks to the farmer on a daily basis you would never guess it is him thiefing and word has reached the farmer as well.on another note,went to buy an animal a day from a guy who i know raises them.when i ask him if he has any ready he goes to me no but there are loads over there and don;t worry i will sort u out.i gently went to him no thank you and walked off.him offering to go thief something to sell me and then saying at end of it i wud get what i want and he will get what he want (money).i have never returned to buy anythign form him again.also some meats which end up in the butchers meat stall and supermarkets are also stolen (not saying the butchers steal them).ppl don;t realise what they r buying

4. Peppa Seed
    Ya frightening me now. So wah gun happen? Is there any consolation for these farmers who toil night and day only to have their produce stolen? By the way, I salute these farmers because all of us can’t do it. I for one, can’t even hold a hoe farless dig up and plant. Lord hah mercy.
    Ya got to help we out hay Peppa seed. I give up.
    How ya like ma?

5. Farmers will have to employ secruity when crops are near to maturity.

Mobile elevated towers can be constructed, these would be placed in the centre of the fields, enabling security personell equiped with night vision equipment to have a bird’s eye view of the fields. The police would have rapid response units to answer calls for assistance.
    Of course this would have to be subsidized by the government, and farmers would have to plant crops with similar maturity rates in close proximity, to minimized the numberof towers needed on each farm.
    Greenhouse farming could be done more as it is easier to secure greenhouses.

In the end people will have to support farmers by only buying produce from reputable sources. Farmers could help themselves by selling directly to consumers at reasonable prices, reducing the need for people to go bargain hunting.

6. Recently, I was told of a farmer who had a two acre lot of corn. He would monitor the corn often,when he went to reap the corn, starting on Monday morning, all he had to reap was corn stock. Someperson/s raid the corn over the weekend and took hunderds of corn from the man’s land. These people want nailing to the cross when caught.

7. I agree with Mr. Bethell 100%.

8. Peppa Seed

You got to be into agriculture. You got dis ting down-pact. Only needs some enforcement now.
    Greetings and salutations to your good self Peppa.
    Your contribution is worth its weight in gold.
    Come to the front of the class. Scholar.
    How ya like ma?

9. Just heard of another farmer who got a large part of his melons and patatoes stolen. When will it end? These thieves are bold and dangerous.

10. The Scout,
    It will stop when one or two of them become ‘target-practise’ for the farmers. Ya only got to start by making them an example and the others will ‘lie-low’, if only for a while, then when it starts back, oops, another one bites de dust.
    How ya like ma?

11. Bonny Peppa
    Da song good.When a farmer tek up a fella, I will be there to give him my support.

12. The Scout,
    Aw-rite den. You will be there to give your support and I will be right behind you ’cause you know what they say about unity? It is strenght.
    How ya like ma?

13. Wunnuh gwine be there to say “wuhloss, wuh de @#$? farmer gone and do? He like he foolish! How he could shoot a fella just so, cuh dear!”

14. Marcus Gravvy
    Um in jus so? I’m seriously thinking about getting back into agriculture, after many cases of praedial larceny. If I do decide and return and I catch a fella in my land tiefing, it will be he or me gine down and I don’t care who support me. Unless somebody take the bull by the horns and show him who’se boss he would always try running over you. I’m not afraid to say it, this guyanese invasion into this country is distroying the very fabric of our bajan culture. Don’y get me wrong, I’m not saying that we didn’t have problems before but not of the magnitude that we are having them now. If you want to get information, pass Fairchild Street especially Friday night when them buyanese drunk and their tongues loose. You would hear everything you want to hear and more and bajans remaining silent.

15. The Scout
    You know that we Bajans are a very docile people too. We only do a lot of talking but when it comes down to standing up for what is right, we crumble like stale cake. You go ahead and do your planting man and do whateva it takes to protect your interest.
    How ya like ma?

16. Marcus Gravvy,
    You really feel dat if a tief get kill whether it be ‘tiefing crops, robbing a bank or gas station etc and the bitch is shot and killed or better yet crippled for life, that there would be an outcry? It always is this tiefing bitch’s mother or other family members that swear on a stack of bibles that ‘he was a good boy who went to church everyday’. I never hear nabody sympathising wid dese criminals. We got to start being vigilantes or we won’t be able to step out we house in time to come. As de Scout say, ‘ we got to take de bull by de horns.
    How ya like ma?

17. I ain’t got any sympathy fuh no tief and whatever hell dey get dey deserve! But I ain’t going advise nuh friend of mine to shoot a fella cause when done de police and de courts going come down hard pun de shooter especially if he white and de tief black. Look at some of the stupid comments made about Bethel plowing up he own cassavas in frustration! You could imagine what would happen if he did shoot a fella tiefing he cassavas?

My advice to anyone wid plenty agricultural land is to sell it fuh house spots, make a fortune and retire in Miami. We could import food cheaper anyway than if we try to grow it. De Guvment got plenty land leh me see dem grow something instead of grass. All dem politicians could only talk purty. Haynesly Benn nevah grow a thing in he life, before he became a Minister he dint wukking fuh DaCostas?

18. Marcus Gravvy, you are a jackass. Haynesley Benn was manager of the BAS for over 20 years, a 4H member for his whole life and a farmer in his own right.

Why don’t you go to Miami and rest your distorting soul?

19. Where dis farm was? The BAS is bare boo and de 4H did nearly dead! Don’t worry I gwine be resting in Pinecrest real soon. Agriculture in B’dos is only a hobby nobody tekking it seriously. Fuh the last 40 years all I hearing is how important agriculture is but wuh happening and Benn did one of big mouths about agriculture fuh a long time til even he had to run. Wuh happen? Tek my word he going retire wid a nice pension and agriculture going be in an even worst state. But don’t get me wrong not because of Benn but in spite of Benn.

20. Marcus Gravvy
    When you don’t know something, it’s better to ask than to make a FOOL of yourself. Mr Haynesley Benn’s first love has always been agriculture, from a very young age Mr Benn was involved in agriculture, he was very intsrumental in forming or reviving agriculture through Barbados as a school teacher, then became manager of the 4H movement. Even after joining DaCosta’s Manning, he still was involved in assisting farmers throughout this country. I believe, Mr Benn is one of the most knowledgable Agriculture Ministers in recent times in this country.

21. Marcus Gravvy,
    Like my learnted friends said, Mr Benn is very knowledgable in that area. More than you could ever imagine I guess. So before you go shooting off ya mout and talking sh#&% ’bout my minister pleeze check ya data first man. I still maintain dat dese mudda-fu__ers want killing or crippling. It is not fair for a handfull of criminals to holdup a whole country to ransom.Why should they be allowed to reap crops that they didn’t plant? And your answer to this nonsense is to shut shop and migrate to Miami. You more foolish than ya look.
    How ya like ma?

22. School teacher, manager of 4H, manager of BAS, manager at DaCostas

See agriculture did he hobby. Never made a living solely from farming. Benn is a pleasant, well meaning fellow but like Scout- a hobby agriculturist.

sorry agriculture going nowhere fast!
    Look dey could put Einstein to be Minister for all I care. Is there a comprehensive plan with allocated resources (land, money, equipment, training, marketing, etc) for agriculture? Other than wishful thinking and vague generalities please tell me. What is B’dos food security plan? Have we identified areas of comparitive advantage? OK it is early days yet for this administration but sorry if I’m cynical but I’ve heard this song before. For a man who has been in agriculture for so many years what is Benn’s solution to say praedial larceny? He couldn’t get farmers to work with the BAS scheme some years ago so what will he come with now? I hear the minister call for increased fines but the police don’t catch anybody so dey could have de death penalty for stealing crops yuh got to catch the crooks and prosecute first. Furthermore, the same people who was advising the last guvment advising this one and I am to expect something different? and Atlee Brathwaite bogged down at Water Authority when he should be full time engaged in an agriculture sector enhancement program.

BTW Peppa, how you know what I look like? You could look through my monitor?

23. Also remember the farmer up in St John (can’t remember his name he used to be a land surveyor, ah think it was Kinch) who grew vegetables and installed flood lights and had dobermans to help patrol his fields? He shot at a few tiefs, I heard once the tiefs shot back. He sell out to Clico,( who own most of the plantation land in St.John). Look at the state of their fields and yuh can’t get a tomato or an okra from those lands now! Look at the state of Colleton yard or Todds yard. Clico got money, they are a serious company but what is their plan for their considerable land holdings? Yuh mean they had to wait for the DLP to get elected before they do something? Government running BADMC, which running the sugar industry, what they doing with all the old factory yards that all over the island. Couldn’t some of these be refurbished as post harvest centers and rural business centres as part of a rural development thrust? What is the story with Black Belly Sheep? Vincent Layne and COW trying something but are they getting any help? While Barbados may not be major meat supplier couldn’t we be suppliers of associated technology and know-how to say Guyana or Surinam where land is available. What going on with cotton? One of the most knowledgeable persons in cotton growing, trained both here and in Israel, get runway from B’dos and working as a teacher in New York! Wuh Benn gun do bout dat. Rotherly investing in greenhouses up in St Thomas and the Ministry begging them fuh advice. Shouldn’t it be the otherway around? What about urban gardening? De Cubans and de Venezuelans developing this kind of intense farming wuh we doing? UWI had some success with responding to oinon blast but OGarro left UWI gone working for the UN and I ain’t hear anybody continuing this kind of work (but I could be wrong). But wunnuh hear of plans to invest money in biotechnology at UWI? I hear bout a Fifa football pitch, and a masters in African History. Wuh going on wid de Scotland District other than it washing way?

Look Scout and Peppa wunnuh want to shoot a tief but duh got much much more to dis agriculture thing but I understand yuh want to send a message.

24. Look Marcus Gravvy, I never told you I would shoot a tief, all I am saying whatever he gets, i hope he can that it. whether it is in my land or in my house. If you want to ind out what anyone who trys it would get, you or one of your friends are welcome to experience the scenerio. Be my guess, the pleasure is ALL yours.

25. Marcus Gravvy,
    Look, I don’t want all de hyperboles and ‘long talk’. You seem to know a lot about agriculture. But we were discussing how to prevent praedial larceny and you gone on ‘rattling’ ’bout everything unda de sun. You showing-off or wah? Just joking. I am impressed with your info. We could use you in the sector.
    Another thing, when I say, ‘you are more foolish than you look’, don’t take it to heart, Mr.Thin-skin, I was just using a simile.
    Please put a handle on my name. It is Bonny-Peppa, not just Peppa, OK?
    How ya like ma?

26. The Scout,
    You like you backing down from dis “shoot a tief ting” but not me. I stand by my decision still. Shoot or cripple. Would somebody please tell me if de fella dat fall in de well trying to tied de man sweetpotatoes is still around. Somebody in BU got to know he man. You feel dat he ever went praedialing again. He would got a really big heart.
    So Scout, don’ let Marcus Gravvy intimidate your thinking. If you feel a tief want killing fa tiefing wha’ he din’ sow, stick to ya guns man. I backing ya.
    How ya like ma?

27. […] 26, 2008 · No Comments Comment posted by BU family member  Marcus Gravvy on the Agriculture In Barbados At The Crossroads […]

28. Haaaa whats new wanna.Crop teffing been around in Barbados for generations.As a young man growing up in Bim we used to sit in the middle of the cane field and suck the de whole center out of de canefield.
    Only thing dat stop we was de blast from de shot gun.
    Fifty years later the solution could be the same—–shoot de tiefs

29. COOOL