smiling-faceBlogging on the BU generates serious talk on serious issues. This blog request by BU family member Dr. Georgie Porgie is meant to provide a release valve :- )

Have fun!

1. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I forgot GEAR BOX

So if we allow 4 nominations per voter

mine are

My nominations are
    1- YARDBROOM
    2- BUSH TEA
    3- HOG SQUEAL
    4- GEAR BOX

not in order of preference necessarily.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MR DAVID

We need to have a fun thread or competition to vote for the best handle used by BU members tha BEST EXPRESS THE ESSENCE OF BAJANISM.

My nominations are
    1- YARDBROOM
    2- BUSH TEA
    3- HOG SQUEAL

Your humble servant, GP the ex-GP

3. I nominate Bonny peppa,Mash up and buy back and Georgie porgie.

Howszat.

4. Our picks:

Peltdownman

5. BU picks:

Peltdownman
    Rev. Sir Benwood Dick
    Yardbroom

Missing out was Foolbert…lol

6. STEUPSE ~!

7. All I can say is thank you BU for the opportunity to post here.

For the “Deep Stuff Award, I nominate Gorgie Porgie.

For the Most Overrated Award, I nominate, Wishing In Vain.

For the Most Humble Award, I nominate Hog Squeal.

For the Award to the Person who
    have anger issues and need a Bush bath, I nominate, Negroman and Knigh of Long Knives.

8. My nominees are:

1. Yardbroom
    2. HOG SQUEAL
    3. Peltdownman
    4. Bonny peppa

9. Slightly off topic but Bajan

Ya Know Ya is a Bajan When……

» You refer to a national holiday as a bank holiduh
    » Jug is somethin’ ya eat and not somethin’ ya does put ya food in
    » Ya does move scruffy
    » Cheese on bread aint got nuttin to do wid being hungry
    » Ya uses words like fowl cock, rock stone and ram goat
    » Somebody stupid is actually a poppit
    » Every childhood game can be played for licks
    » Soup is a bit of water and nuff dumplings, potatoes, yams, eddoes and any other ground provision ya could find
    » Any hot beverage is considered tea – cocoa tea, coffee tea, tea tea, green tea
    » You finish sentences wid de word dennn
    » You take sick people to the horsepital
    » IMF means I man father
    » You have a bad fall and ya either lick up, break up, skin up or catspraddle
    » Tek is more than the name of a toothbrush
    » Yuh does eat leadpipes!!!
    » Yuh does see the humour in a cartoon named “gumby and pokey”!!!
    » De cardinal points is eass, wess norf and sowf!!
    » Yuh constantly explaining dat de dolphin you does eat is a fish and not a mammal!
    » Nuh fish doan taste like a fish from Baxter’s road!!
    A bread and two is not 3 breads!!!
    » A cutter is not a sharp utensil
    » All de seasons uh de year start wid “C” – Congaline, Crop Over, Cricket and Christmas!!!
    » Choice bread doan mean a good selection!
    » Yuh does stupse when yuh hear a Tobagonian talking bout “their flying fish”
    » Liming in front Cave Shepherd is a integral part a growin’ up
    » Yuh pun a “brasion”!!
    Even ef yuh only goin’ tuh de beech, yuz be dress dung in bare hard gear
    » Yuh doan got tuh be mystical tuh be gypsy
    » Yuh just cyant guh town an’ doan see someone yuh know
    » When somebody call ya pun de phone and sa ‘wait you still home?’ or when da see ya pun de road and ask ya if ya still living
    » Yuh don’t have to be drinking to ask for a scotch
    » Yuh don’t have to be spiteful to be malicious
    » Yuh call every stranger either boss man, partner or skipper
    » It could barely get overcast and everybody coming school in a sweater
    » Asking ‘fuh piece’ cud mean :”gimme a turn”, “mek some room for me” or “u cud as well gimme de whole ting coz i licrish”
    » ‘Banks’ not only good for keeping ya money
    » School work does got yuh “caffufle”
    » When it too hard to spell some a de things ya does say: “wahever”
    » You can “go in Kentucky” or go up Miami Beach without leaving the Country
    » You say “whappenin” even at a funeral
    » De word unmarley en got nutten tuh do wid Bob
    » Yuh understand de word bozie
    » De word juk could be a noun or a verb
    » De word collins don mean somebody name
    » If yuh cyan believe someting true yuh does either say “Wait?!” or “fuh chu?!”
    » If being “sporty” hardly have enyting to do wid sports
    » De word ‘Oba’ is synonymous wid track and field
    » If ya ‘did de dawg’, it has nothing to do wid a canine
    » “Don’t off-set me!” is used to mean “leff me lone”.
    » You distinguish between public and private owned transport by ‘bus’ and ‘van’.
    » You ‘skin ya teeth’ when you smile and ‘put up ya face’ when you frown
    » You can ‘go up St Lucy’ and ‘go down St Lucy’ without changing direction
    » Words like ‘hard’ and ‘bad’ have 30 different meanings
    » The word liberty brings to mind 98.1 and not freedom
    » The warehouse is always the warehouse no matter what they name it
    » You speak of ‘the van stand’ and everyone knows what you are talking about even though they are three of them
    » The beach refers to the South or West Coast and Bathsheba is anywhere on the East Coast
    » Yuh might tink dat being a half idiot is worse than being a idiot
    » Hell is de worse place ever was, and the best…You could look good as hell, and dem fishcakes could be oily as hell, that garbage pile could smell stink as hell…
    » You know the licence plates of all public transportation, and you are on first name basis with de drivers…
    » You could be hot wid perspiration, vex with botheration and sick wid palpitations
    » Being described as real ignorant is a compliment
    » You spell college with a ‘k’ and a ‘j’!
    » Yuh live 5 minutes from de beach and does get a sea-bath 5 times a year…
    » When somebody got talk fuh you, dem does never >be talking to YOU
    » Yuh don’t have to be an Athlete to know bout de “runnings”
    » “Hold” doan necessarily mean “to hold” cuz yuh cud “hol’ nuff, nuff licks” in a fight
    » Yuh could be anywhere in Bim and still be guin’ down East Coast Rd.”
    » Yuh noah dat “pickin a lime” ain gots nuttin to do wid a visit to de orchard
    » When you give directions like this. bubble up the street, Make a right at the mango tree. Go all the way down till you get to 3 rude boys liming on the block. You will see an esso. dont turn there, make a left. you will see a green house. That not it, go straight. Its the blue house in front of the Two dunk trees. You can’ mis it. It has the white Toyota Camey with the plates S001 in front of it.if u see de big house nex to de church You Gone Too Far.”
    » You refer to all storage spaces built in your home as “cupboard.”
    » You tell the host “Good Night” when you first arrive at someone’s home in the evening.
    » When someone sympathises with you, you comment “Yuh tink it easy?”
    » You always find yourself standing next to plenty luggage and boxes at the airport – when you travel home, you bring an extra suitcase – going down, it has none of your clothes; returning, it has food.
    » You hate to throw away empty containers as they might come in handy for pepper sauce or “green seasonings.”
    » You chew and suck all the marrow from the chicken bone.
    » You bring home food from a party» You chew the ice when you finish your drinks
    Ya grannmotha always tell ya de sea aint got no back door
    If ya is a Bajan ya gine make sure to spread this

10. Anonymous,
    Haven’t been doing much smiling these days but you sure made my cheeks rise.
    They’re probably a few more that can be added too but I’m not thinking too clearly right now.
    Good job.

Rumbleroyal,
    Thanks for the nomination. Mine would be:
    HOPI
    NEGROMAN
    GEORGIE PORGIE
    SCOUT/ADRIAN HINDS.

11. Bonny Peppa thanks for the nomination

Mines nominations are
    Hopi
    Bonny Peppa
    JC
    Scout

Least of the lot
    Royal Rumble
    Dark Knight
    Reluctant Non Believer

12. Pause for a minute.

Someone on BU talk about the John Boyce Death Trap at BET Hill.

Well there is a bad smash-up there now. A bus and three cars.

John Boyce should be held personally liable for all hurt, pain, suffering, medical bills and lost associated with this and all accidents in that area.

This was reasonably foreseeable but because of the Minister’s arrogance: a bus and three cars.

Barbados, where is your outrage?

13. Wha you mean by outrage? YOU MEAN RAGING MAD before but not now at all . Unions tied tongue , workers lassoed ,Church leaders loyal to man , the voices of the antagonists hushed as their swallow pipes block up, radio and tv moderators now starring as provocators of reason and conscience, goading public opinion into streets lined with yellow and gold. Some callers to radio shows hogged up and frisked off the airwaves while privileged others are allowed to speak til never ever morning.
    Dam lamentations.
    There is now peace in paradise join the team and all will be good.
    “Who de cow likes he does lick”
    Yet you entreat me to come over to Masadonia to help.

14. I mean, we seem to be developing a tolerance for cruel and inhumane torture, even though there is a better way.

O judgment! thou art fled to brutish beasts, And men have lost their reason.

Barbados, where is your sense of “outrage” – that the DLP, which said it was “READY to lead – now calls sick-old-men out of retirement, to run this country, because David Thompson does not know what he is doing.

When all that is necessay to rescue Barbados and put it back on track, is for the DLP to call elections.

That we have lost our sense of outrage is why Barbados is on the “Pathway to Poverty.”

15. Listen DLP fools, there is a fundamental Calf for Dems Only, and: “A Team Barbados Approach.”

How can the DLP promise to “slaughter the fatted calf for Dems only,” and through the next corner of its mouth – talk about: “A Team Barbados Approach?

Which version of what it is saying does it want Barbadians to belive: “Fatted Calf, or: “A Team Barbados Approach.”

16. Depends on what ya talking bout. If ya having a wedding feast or a big able kadooment ,it is the fatted calf that would be slaughtered for the occasion for de invited guests to feast on. On de otherhand the team approach applies to work. Ya would want de workers wid hands or ideas to get de job done.
    Ya get de picture now different situations.

17. “Foolbert,” change you call-sign. You too smark.

I hear the BTA are giving “somebody” $250,000 to hold a fete. Is that right

18. “there is a fundamental Calf for Dems Only, and: “A Team Barbados Approach.”

I see where the confusion could have come.

I meant:

There is a fundamental difference between: the DLP’s fatted calf for Dems only, and: “A Team Barbados Approach.”

Sorry about that!

19. Dat is a lot of grain. I would never be in dat kind of world even wid a bumper crop. Every body want to mek a berry quick quick. I wud have to say milk quick. Tings cost money, you should da ask de body dat giving out de news.
    Eggs doan go to big rock dance. Ask Pearlie bout dat one.

20. Foolbert,

Ask Brian Lara

21. I love Brian Charles Lara but I can’t get na pick pun dat team.I would really like to get a chance to know him. We soon gine got to name sum ting after he. He has done a lot for West Indies Cricket and West Indian Unity. You can advance my idea. He is much deserving of some unity. Time to rally round de West Indies. All of we is family.

22. correction: He is much deserving of some honour.

23. To those who have nominated me thanks.
    My nominations are:

(1) Georgie Porgie: For his wisdom and freely giving worthwhile advise.

(1) David (BU) For allowing all to blog free of interference, even those who oppose him.

(3) The family and friends of l’Akobi Tacuma Maloney: Regardless of the circumstances of his death, fighting doggedly, with determination and tenacity for one of their own, respect.

(4) The BU family: For lending a sympathetic ear, and giving words of comfort to one of the family in difficult times.

24. AAAAAAAAAggggggggggggh

25. This is no ole talk, this is serious.

The NCF says that it is raising its fees.

This is a noting more than an attendence tax, especially since in the last budget, Prime Minister Thompson did not do – the only thing he could not have done. That is – raised more taxes.

The question is, why would the DLP (through the NCF) raise fees for Crop Over, but the same DLP (through the same NCF) give Brian Lara $250,000 to hold a fete on August 1, 2009?

26. Oh boy o boy , in these tough and hard times , money is being spent on circus. Was the NCF budget cut?
    Is Lara party purse for the purposes of tourism promotion?
    Is it for all inclusive cliques?
    Is it to be used in a joint project with the Vocational Training Board to help train the jobless?
    What is the NCF getting in exchange?
    Is Lara bringing a contingent to Barbados?
    Is the Ministry of Tourism part and parcel of this package?

This doesn’t seem to be a sign of hard times just looks “like de pump is stroking”. Tell Barbados why.

27. Barbados has been so D’valued that it has now reached an all-time low?

The DLP is now telling people from Europe, North America and everywhere except the Caribbean – that if they come here and the temperture drops, they will get $200.00 back, each day it happens.

So anybody coming between June and December (the raining season) can end up having a free holiday at taxpayers expense or Barbados can end up having a very bad reputation in the market place.

That has nothing to do with the US$300 upfrom off the package there are getting up-front.

What a circus!

The DLP is now paying a Trini $250,000 to hold a fete and the Church is silent.

Barbadians are being taxed trough their teeth and have to hide their pockets and piggy banks from Thompson, so that he can give Lara $250,000 to hold a fete.

And just so the DLP can give Lara $250,000, Barbadians are being asked to pay increase fees to attend crop over activities.

And some “Klown” on BU has the temerity to tell me about being “patriotic.”

How is giving Lara $250,000 of our hard-earned tax dollars – to hold a fete, “patriotic?”

28. I really would like to hear Wise Old Judge Sir Frederick ‘Sleepy’ speak to some of these goings on here in Babados. If you try something once and it aint what it supposed to be, you should throw it out.
    Not my words. Jus calling to mind what was said on a VOB brass tacks show.

29. I might as well post this as it is more germane to the topic than most of the political junk posted here. At least it will make a few laugh

TEACHER: Maria, go to the map and find North America .
    MARIA: Here it is.
    TEACHER: Correct. Now class, who discovered America?
    CLASS: Maria.

TEACHER: John, why are you doing your math multiplication on the floor?
    JOHN: You told me to do it without using tables.

TEACHER: Glenn, how do you spell ‘crocodile?’
    GLENN: K-R-O-K-O-D-I-A-L’
    TEACHER: No, that’s wrong
    GLENN: Maybe it is wrong, but you asked me how I spell it.

(I Love this kid)

TEACHER: Donald, what is the chemical formula for water?
    DONALD: H I J K L M N O.
    TEACHER: What are you talking about?
    DONALD: Yesterday you said it’s H to O.

TEACHER: Winnie, name one important thing we have today that we didn’t have ten years ago.
    WINNIE: Me!

TEACHER: Glen, why do you always get so dirty?
    GLEN: Well, I’m a lot closer to the ground than you are.

TEACHER: Millie, give me a sentence starting with ‘ I. ‘
    MILLIE: I is..
    TEACHER: No, Millie….. Always say, ‘I am.’
    MILLIE: All right… ‘I am the ninth letter of the alphabet.’

TEACHER: George Washington not only chopped down his father’s cherry tree, but also admitted it.
    Now, Louie, do you know why his father didn’t punish him?
    LOUIS: Because George still had the axe in his hand..

TEACHER: Now, Simon, tell me frankly, do you say prayers before eating?
    SIMON: No sir, I don’t have to, my Mom is a good cook.

TEACHER: Clyde, your composition on ‘My Dog’ is exactly the same as your brother’s. Did you copy his?
    CLYDE : No, sir. It’s the same dog.

TEACHER: Harold, what do you call a person who keeps on talking when people are no longer interested?
    HAROLD: A teacher

30. Dr. Porgie

it’s about time you list the full Cabinet. Think Ready-Done could get a pick in agriculture?