Submitted by DLP Political Correspondent
ethompson.jpg
Senator Elizabeth Thompson

Having read the paper this morning and having seen the attack that Sen. John Hutson launched into the ever missing from Senate Liz Thompson and the fact that Kerrie Symmonds continues to state that Liz Thompson sees sitting in Senate as below her status and her calling.

It has clearly reached decision time for Mottley to determine what she will do re the continuous absence from as many sittings of Senate as she Liz Thompson has now missed.

The truth is that it presents a real dilemma, in that to remove Liz Thompson from the Senate it will bring severe stress to her and Thompson’s relationship,this is someone that was placed in Senate because of her support of Mottley.

However to remove her from office and install the person wanting the slot the most i.e. Gregory Nicholls will not provide Mottley with the kind of loyal friend or supporter that she will be removing.

Nicholls cannot be considered a loyal supporter of Mottley he is simply an opportunist looking out for himself, it really does leave Mottley with more questions than answers as to where she can go for loyal support that will keep her on the plus side of the equation.

There are some very interesting days ahead and some tough decisions need to be made, the question does Mottley have the Balls to make those much needed tough decisions?

1. We have published the above submission but we have to make a few comments:

When we got the submission this morning we made it our business to investigate the matter and here is what we found out.

Senator Hutson reported to the Senate that he did not make the statement reported in the Nation. The Nation got it wrong. It was Senator Gilkes who made the comment.

Senator Thompson in her defense indicated that she does not have the worst record and that there is a government Senator she could point to. She indicated that bar one occasion she had informed the President of the Senate and her political leader. She further explained that since leaving government she has had to take on overseas assignments to pay the bill (our words).

BU’s position on this matter as it was when MP George Payne refused to speak for years in the lower house and now MP Owen Arthur who rarely attends sittings is what message are we sending? If Thompson has to be away for long periods to feed her family then she should resign like Payne should have and Arthur, and let another person who wants to serve come forward. To the government Senator who has not been attending the lower house he/she should resign also.

2. fat auntie lizzie getting problems upon problems? Could dear! Could dear!

3. I agree. If she can’t do the job; then resign. Don’t fleece the govt’s coffers.
    Perhaps, she shouldn’t have taken it in the first place

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I honestly think that her comments were airy fairy, the Senator that I believe that she is referring to is no one other than Sen Trotman who we all know to be a Senator appointed by the GG, my records indicate that there is a regular attendence of ALL GOVERNMENT SENATORS ALL OF THEM MAKE IT THEIR POINT TO ATTEND TO DO THE PEOPLE’S WORK FOR THE PEOPLE’s BENEFIT.

My simple comment would be if she is so involved in her own endeavours and finds it to be annoying to visit the Senate, move or ask to replaced but do not just draw a salary and do no work for it.

As George Payne has said many times before she is bombastic and uncouth and the laziest Minister ever to sit in cabinet, easy boy was more productive that the Cantankerous one Liz Thompson, even her Senate mate must be annoyed with her as he is doing all talking for he and her.

5. lizzie getting some real stick. she problem is that she thought st james south was hers forever and being a minister too. but she now got to get up off her fat butt and do some work. what did she achieve as a minister, though? i scratching my head to find out because i can’t find anything though? wait, all she was doing for 14 years was loitering? lizzie, u gotta wuk now. real work, lizzie

6. Bright Clearmind Avatar
    Bright Clearmind

We Bajans do have short memories. What’s all the fuss about Liz. When the late E.W Barrow was in opposition he refused the position of Leader Of the Oposition because he could not sit in opposition….1976 Mr Frederick Smith filled the position. Mr Barrow as he was then used to absent himself from the parliament of Barbados and by extension doing the people’s business to recharge his batteries in Miami for months. It was reported he was lecturing at Universities overseas. In more recent times Mr Thompson when he was leader of the opposition found it difficult to accept that role and passed it on to Mr Mascoll. He did not have a perfect attendence record . The DLP opposition spent a lot of their time walking out of the house. Remember those days . Deal with the cost of living and stop padding and posing. Do something to STOP job losses . Address the cost of living issues. Only we the poor will be affected. Don’t get tied up.

7. Does BU know the name of Gov’t senator who has been absent from the senate more often than Liz Thompson?

8. @Anonymous

We are reporting what Senator Thompson said so we have not way of verifying. Hopefully the BLP surrogates on BU will shed some light 🙂

9. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

From my information the ONLY Senator who has been away from Senate more often than Thompson is Sir Roy Trotman, now his times away have all been done by having the courtesy of writing to the President as is right and decent thing to do so unlike the Cantankerous one Liz Thompson she has written to excuse herself true but just as many times that she has written to excuse herself she has been away and has not written to ask for leave, I seem to recall that it became so bad that there was a day of a sitting that neither one of them attended Senate with only Symmonds doing the decent thing and writing to the President for being out of the island with no communication from Miss Cantankerous he left the island whereas she never showed, then my reports state that she has put in excuses to be overseas and has never left the island, simple and plain she is sick compulsive LIAR.

10. I have to agree with Bright Clearmind submission. It is the truth, and probably underscores the Government’s inability to contain the current LOTO. Mia’s activity todate in the constitutionaly provisioned office of the Leader of the opposition is by far, a best practice not equal by any other holder of that office.

Uh still can’t stand de woman, but she is performing the role as is intended, and she is, by so doing, ensuring a government that we all can be proud off and may very well re-elect in 2012. A catch 22 that she may not have thought about, but that she could have come too realize, if she had asked herself why all those previous LOTOS, were not to keen on doing the job? lol!

Parliament’s job is to provide good government during it’s life, and the LOTO plays a key role in ensuring that. The sad thing is I have never seen the LOTO and their party awarded for keeping the government honest and good.

11. A good point Adrian and may prove to be a real dilemma for Mottley. By keeping the government on its ‘toes’ there is real benefit for them.

Governance wins, LOTO loses!

Maybe we should say.

12. Let me Jump in hey Avatar
    Let me Jump in hey

In other words, no one is rewarded for excellence or seeking to do thier jobs.

We prefer mediocrity or/and preserving the staus quo.

13. Senator Thompson must have had a wry pleasure to stand on a point of order to make the point at 10:50 this morning that enough government Senators were not seated to constitute a quorum.

Nothing like exposure to get the Senator performing her duty to the PEOPLE?

14. Let me Jump in hey // March 27, 2009 at 9:50 am

In other words, no one is rewarded for excellence or seeking to do thier jobs.

We prefer mediocrity or/and preserving the staus quo.
    ===========================

Please do not blame the people for this. This is all the doing of the westminster system. You cannot expect to have a mixed government, so designed to concentrate power, while making it extremely difficult to identify the responsible and the not so responsible, and then fault the people for NOT recognizing and awarding those who by their individual efforts led to good governance. The people do not elect or select a Prime Minister, a LOTO, or any Minister of government as such. Attended to this, is the election process where candidates are paraded to the electors, not as individuals per se but for the most part under and subservient to the politcal party.

The people in part or whole did not give the LOTO the job, her parliamentary collegues did. I hope. lol!

Electors in their varoius constituencies are ask to elect a person to represent them in parliament. How does becoming the PM, LOTO, or a Minister furthers this understanding?

15. Further to my comments. If Mia Mottley and before her Mascoll did not think that they had to prove themselves first and foremost their parliamentary collegues, followed by their political party membership, they too would have opted to be like all the other LOTO’s, leaving the cabinet to it’s own devises, and not provide the “outside the box” thinking and criticisms that can keep engaged people from becoming their own worst enemies.

Don’t you recall Owen’s frequent call during his last term for fresh ideas and thinking? and his constant criticism of the then LOTO thompy for not doing the people’s work?

16. With failing vision, substantial memory lost, compounded by a serious attack of diabetes that cause him to be uncontrollable and erratic – Brandford Mayhew Taitt of St. Joseph Hospital fames, who is now a shadow of himself – seriously erred in the Senate Chamber again, while presiding over the Appropriations Bill on Friday, March 27, 2009.

Getting personally involved in the debate (something which decent Presiding Officers have avoided from time immemorial – Taitt allowed a wounded Maxine McClean to introduce new issues into the debate, as a desperate, damage control ploy and with the clear intention to give a weak DLP – an unfair advantage.

Despite the pleading of Senator Dean Crichlow – Taitt who is above the law – would not recognise his serious error of ethics and judgment (it must have been a sudden drop of his sugar level).

But the entire Senate Chamber and old man Taitt – was no match for the alert the bright and dynamic, Senator Kerrie Symmonds, who certainly makes Harrison College; the legal profession and the Barbados Labour Party, proud.

Maxine McClean was at the time speaking about: “good governance” but saw nothing wrong with trying to be the Government and the Opposition at the same time, while introducing new issues, knowing full well that neither the Opposition nor Independent Senators – could have responded.

Brandford “St. Joseph Hospital” Taitt permitted Leader of Government Business – Senator Maxine McClean to set a new low in the Senate, which since January 15, 2008 – has become like a rum shop.

It is the trough that is luring the DLP to the dark side. Taitt is merely holding the door open.

What a sad day it was in the Senate!!!

You may say: “Estimates to Remember.”

I do not disagree!!!

Brandford Mayhew “St. Joseph Hospital” Taitt was at his worst.

17. Let me Jump in hey Avatar
    Let me Jump in hey

Adrian

That is what I mean man.

When thompy was doing nothing he thing as the mediocre LOTO it was OK, because his mediocrity was then preserving the status quo.

How dare mia to try to raise the bar (maybe she still mediocre- but she trying)

Cant she see that by so doing, that she is failing to preserve the staus quo.

In Bim mediocrity is rewarded, and excelence or attempts thereat ridiculed!

18. That is abig stinking lie everyone represented themselves well …….

19. Let me Jump in hey Avatar
    Let me Jump in hey

Of course we know that he lied Anonymous

GP would tell you that a serious attack of diabetes a k a DKA would put Taitt in the QEH not cause him to be uncontrollable and erratic.

GP would tell you also that if Taitt had a sudden drop of his sugar level he would not have been able to preside over the chamber or get personally involved in the debate either.LOL

Wuh you say GP? Tell me if I got it right, man. LOL

20. @At Darknight: after reading your submission i left with your opinion of certain events as they occured in the Senate. What those events are remains a mystery to me.

….So Branford have diabetes and suffers from out of balance blood sugar levels much the same as Rawle “diabolical forces” Eastmond? Well we should listen to Brandford more often, as it seems, during these episodes a whole lottuh truth does come out. lol!

21. Let me Jump in hey Avatar
    Let me Jump in hey

Is the senator really missing in action
    or missing the action
    or is she missing for her actions

22. You, Dark SH…TE, are a despicable character to gloat over someone’s illness, but what else can one expect from a BLP slimeball. And by the way, he is DOCTOR Branford Mayhew Taitt and you are not fit to spit upon the ground he walks on.

23. ha ha ha Jude you like you realll vexxxxx lol lol!

24. Jude // March 27, 2009 at 4:07 pm

You, Dark SH…TE, are a despicable character to gloat over someone’s illness, but what else can one expect from a BLP slimeball. And by the way, he is DOCTOR Branford Mayhew Taitt and you are not fit to spit upon the ground he walks on.
    ===========================
    This aint Jude the Dude Eastmond, Rawle’s brother nuh?
    I saw Brandford in 2004 walking the beach down by the flour mill, and more recently i watched and listened to his interview with Stedson Babb, on vobtv. For a man his age and with his alledged ailment he sounded and looked well to me. To those of us who are 43-44 years old, and has been overweight all of there adult life and are known chain smokers, and like to serve and eat burgers, the challenge for you, is to reach Brandford’s age, let alone his health at his current age.

25. We listened to the exchanges between President of the Senate Taitt, Senator Kerrie Symmonds, Independent Senator Cricklow and Leader of the Senate Maxine McClean. To say that Taitt was angry would be an understatement. It would be good if those who listened to the debate from scratch can summarize and point out what triggered the episode.

26. So Adrian Hinds tell the BU family from where and when did Branford EARN his doctorate?

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC….

“GEORGETOWN, Guyana: A High Court judge in Guyana has complained to the Chief Justice that it was brought to her attention that at least three divorce petitions were purportedly granted by her when in fact she never heard the cases.

According to the Kaieteur News, Justice Rozanne George wrote to Chief Justice Ian Chang concerning the fraud and stated that all three cases involved the same attorney, a well known city lawyer.”

Is there no act too low for Guyanese to do?

What will they think of next?

28. So true carson,so true.

This country barbados will never be the country that it was.

Now that corrupt bajan officials allowed these low class guyanese to get permanent residence thorough fraud, the effect of their behaviour will soon be seen in this society in a couple of years.

Those slimy,oily hair indians are the most corrupt and no principled ones.

We will soon lose that wonderful image we developed over the years.

29. Branford Taitt’s Doctorate is an honorary doctorate

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Guyana’s fourth Executive President, Mrs. Janet Jagan, died at the Georgetown Public Hospital on Saturday at 00:35 hrs, she was 88.

31. Wishing In Vain // March 26, 2009 at 11:49 pm

but do not just draw a salary and do no work for it
    ————————————————–
    Hartley Henry as we Bajans always say you spitting up in de air and letting it drop down in yuh face.

You and Liz same thing so stop throwing stones

32. Wishing In Vain Avatar

It appears to me that based on the Nation report today that Liz Thompson’s days are indeed numbered in the Senate.

One of the leaders must have spoken up and said enough is enough and out goes you Cantankerous Liz Thompson.

33. J // March 28, 2009 at 1:33 am

So Adrian Hinds tell the BU family from where and when did Branford EARN his doctorate?
    ————————————————–
    I don’t know and I don’t care! well,. the real sequence has been, that I didn’t care, and therefore I do not know. lol! and so it is, that I do not care to know. ha ha ha ha

34. I know that Wishing in Vain is not Hartley Henry dont ask me how I know I just know ………

35. Adrian Hinds,
    Well if you don’t know, don’t endow Mr Taitt with somethng he has not earned. You will make him look like some of the other “doctorate” frauds out there. Mr. Taitt certainly does not derserve this.

36. In more recent times Mr Thompson when he was leader of the opposition found it difficult to accept that role and passed it on to Mr Mascoll – by Clear Brightmind
    ______

Rubbish. The only post David Thompson gave up was Parth Leader. He could not give up Opposition Leader to Mascoll because Mascoll only became a Member of the Houue in 2003. The DLP team in 2003 voted him as LOTO and then got rid of him for lack of performamce.

You were neither clear not bright on this matter!

37. Mia’s activity todate in the constitutionaly provisioned office of the Leader of the opposition is by far, a best practice not equal by any other holder of that office.

Uh still can’t stand de woman, but she is performing the role as is intended, and she is, by so doing, ensuring a government that we all can be proud off and may very well re-elect in 2012. A catch 22 that she may not have thought about, but that she could have come too realize, if she had asked herself why all those previous LOTOS, were not to keen on doing the job? lol!

Adrian, my understanding of the state of play in the Bees is clear. Mia is not performing her job “so well” to please/satisfy electorate. She is under a real internal threat. Clearly, Owen is still keen.

Last week he visited an old political friend he had alienated and told him he wants bygones to be bygones! He is making the rounds quietly. He held two lunches at Savannah Hotel for the former candidates and MP’s. His office at Cave Hill is being used by a group of his guys (Lynch, Mascoll, Wood et al) to meet every day (over a few drinks) to monitor Mottley’s decline.

It is bad, bad strategy for an opposition not to give a new government time to do its thing. She will find that even five years in the wilderness is long. Her supporters will expect miracles and she can’t deliver. The country then loses interest!

Wait and see.

38. This is my first time on a blog. Interesting comments.

I have to agree with Anonymous. Mia is trying to whip up the BLP support and affect the non-political . But it is too early for that kind of politics to reap any sensible success. I have tuned out and most of my friends many of who are Bees have also tuned out.

There is enough bad news all over the world!

The BLP needs a new leader with fresh ideas and a new team to champion them. The last five years of the BLP truly made me reflect on where barbados was going.

Right now, despite the critics, David Thompson has proven to be an accessible, likeable, competent and admirable Prime Minister. A political elixir.

He has a good team and a supportive private sector and civil society. In fact, I have found him to be more my cup of tea now that when he was Opposition Leader and I suspect from my soundings that most Barbadians agree.
    He brings people closer to him both by performance and by character.

On the other hand, Mia has challenges which she must surmount. The biggest is a moral challenge and matters of this sort are coming to the fore politically worldwide. We don’t like to speak openly about these things. But behind Mia’s back I suspect that she will do worse than when she was Deputy under Arthur. She also appears abrasive and in a hurry.

In other words, Deputy yes. Leader no.

The David Thompson/Obama style and substance is so attractive and balanced. They live our dreams with a wives who have poise and brilliance, a family that we like to see. They are not perfect but we could do a lot worse at this time.

To me, David Thompson doesn’t pretend. After many years of public scrutiny and crticism, he passes the tests public opinion and the Bajan society have set and I strongly believe that a Divine Hand put him there for us.

39. And, I might add, Liz Thompson who was my MP turned me off many years ago. She is simply incompetent and highly opinionated without any flashes of brilliance.

40. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

TTH,
    You were spot on in your writings, Mia has more questions that answers about her morally and capabilities as a leader she is very, very poor.
    As someone mentioned the other day, have you ever looked at a written manuscript of a speech delivered by Mottley and really examined it in full?
    Emptyiness at its very best, emptyiness.

41. What nonsence about Mia’s intellectual abilty?

Did you not hear her speak in the Estimates debate? She demonstrated pure; natural brilliance!!

Is was clear for all to see that on matters of economic, finance and social policy – Mia is way ahead of Thompson.

David Thompson is merely a reminder that you do not have to be bright to be Prime Minister of Barbados.

Secondly, it is well known that both he and the DLP were elected ONLY because Barbadians felt that the DLP should be given a chance.

That, at a time when every persons on planet earth knew that 2008 and onward – was going to be very bad, requiring competent leadership and the best talent making decision at the macro level.

The projection was not necessarily based on AIG and Leymond Brothers but on speculation that a barrel of oil could fetch $200 per barrel by July 2008 while the price of food would also have gone up.

The BLP reminded that leadership matters most.

Unfortunately for those who have no access to the “fatted calf,” Thompson now relies on the people who assisted his DLP to crash the Barbados economy in 1991, to advise him.

Therefore, on the question of intellectual ability, Thompson is no match for Mia, in the same way that no one in the DLP can match Mascoll, Lynette Eastmond, Wood, Dale, Kerrie, Lynch and Gooding Edghill, interms of intellectual ability.

42. TTH // March 29, 2009 at 4:49 pm

This is my first time on a blog. Interesting comments.

I have to agree with Anonymous. Mia is trying to whip up the BLP support and affect the non-political . But it is too early for that kind of politics to reap any sensible success. I have tuned out and most of my friends many of who are Bees have also tuned out.
    ———————————-
    Imagine such an outlandish concoction of tropical hogwash and froth. Further, a week after an Estimate debate and the DLP is struggling.

Day after day the DLP get a little closer to prooving Peter Wickham right: “one term government.”

I agree with Wickham, the DLP does not know what it is doing. That is why Barbadians started to tune-out within 100 day of voting for the DLP.

Yes!

The 800 plus who have gone home for Four Season, the 45 from Sagicor, the 35 for the Nations, the dozens the DLP fired and those who are on the list to be fired, the dozens who Ralph taylor sent home from Almond – are also tuning out from the DLP?

So too, those who are struggling with the high cost of living the DLP promised to reduce.

Also, policemen; teachers and nurses who did not get that increase pay of duty free cars and those who have no access to the 2000 houses the DLP promised to build every year, but did not build last year.

Yes!

Barbadians are disappointed because the DLP does not know what it is doing.

And yes! Day after day the list of those who are tuning out continues to get longer. In Opposition the DLP used its 90 and 100 day gimmick to win the election.

Now in government, it is using housing – “not through the UDC and RDC but through the NHC.”

But in order to get a house through NHC, you have to be working. But – with no job creation or job lost prevention plan, the DLP is placing Barbadians on the breadline daily.

Sinckler promised high paying jobs where no one would work in Barbados under a DLP government for less than $200 per week.

The DLP has a new job creation plan for Barbadians: $0.50 per pound for African Snails.

43. Did you not hear her speak in the Estimates debate? She demonstrated pure; natural brilliance!!

Is was clear for all to see that on matters of economic, finance and social policy – Mia is way ahead of Thompson.

Maybe that is why Arthur had to correct her every statement with another lie

44. Anonymous // March 30, 2009 at 1:41 pm

Maybe that is why Arthur had to correct her every statement with another lie
    …………………………
    You want to hear lie? Then consider this:

On page 10 of the Barbados Business Authority of Monday, March 30, 2009 Prime Minister Thompson said that Constituency Councils are an important aspect of his government’s response to the global economic crisis.

What utter nonsense!!!

On page 48 of its 2008 Manifesto, which was released prior to the January 15, 2008 general elections – the DLP promised state-funded Constituency Councils.

The truth

The global financial crisis, which was caused by a massive failure of regulations, greed and poor risk analysis – in New York and Europe – become known in September/October 2008 when large amounts of taxpayers dollars had to be spent to prop-up banks like: AIG; Fortis, Northern Rock RBS and Citigroup.

If Thompson and the DLP were concerned about the impact of the global crisis on Barbadians, surely he would not have made a bad situation worst by:

(a) imposing a silly 77% diesel price increase,
    (b) introducing an inflationary budget,
    (c) imposing $180 million in new taxes on Barbadians;
    (d) failing to adjust the land tax rates and bands, and
    (e) refusing to introduce a sensible and timely Stimulus Package.

Therefore, having made a bad situation worst, David Thompson cut the amount allocated to the Welfare Department by some $7 million, and refuses to outline a job creation strategy for Barbados – other than offer to pay fifty cents per pound for African snails, collected and establishing constituency councils as part of the promised DLP fatted calf.

The most intelligent people in Barbados are already aware that Constituency Councils are no substitute for Stabilization Programme. Thompson and the DLP are not.

Noone in the history of politics in Barbados have ever told or will ever tell as much lies as Thompson.

The longer David Thompson speaks, the more lies he tells. Sinckler and hartley henry says that Thompson tell a new lie every twenty seconds.

45. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Dark Knight / +royalmummble/ aka Slyvan Greenidge aka PARO IN A SUIT,

Where do you find your crap from to write?

Maybe you would be better served by telling the public why Owing went to the lengths that he went to undermine and create the strife he caused for mottley in the recently concluded debate?

He was more brutal on her than ever before, did you also notice Marshall was no where to give it comfort or cover?

46. Wishing In Vain // March 30, 2009 at 8:39 pm

Dark Knight / +royalmummble/ aka Slyvan Greenidge aka PARO IN A SUIT,
    ……………………………….
    Tell me! What do all of these have in common:

Paula, David, brick back Mountain, “Liberachy” DD and hartley “in a dress, ask Skerrit” henry.

47. Dark Night.

Ya yard fowl.