Submitted by Yardbroom
Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson

It is appropriate to review the performance of the DLP Government after one year in office and an “honest” assessment must conclude that they have “done well.”  You may think that the above statement demonstrates political partisanship on my part, that is not the case.  The words indicated – done well – were spoken by the previous Prime Minister of Barbados the Rt Hon Owen Arthur at a recent well attended public meeting at Alma Parris Secondary School in Major Walk St. Peter, as reported in the Nation Newspaper on 5-1-2009.

In recent weeks I said the DLP Administration is doing well and was taken to task by a few bloggers, for making as they said, a ridiculous statement.  Now that Mr Owen Arthur has come to the same conclusion and made the point in a public speech.  Perhaps some bloggers even if grudgingly will have to admit that Prime Minister Thompson and his cabinet, backed by a group of very competent members of Parliament have got Barbados on track again.

It is only fair to state that Mr Arthur did add a “rider,” that being the “policies” used in the first year by the DLP were those of the BLP…I am inclined to let that go, Governments are about outcomes.

The main point which cannot be denied is that this DLP Administration under the excellent leadership of Prime Minister Thompson has got to grips with some of the issues which bedevilled Barbados prior to the last general election.  Mr Arthur will not agree with me I am sure, but there is a lot more which is good to come from this Administration and it does not matter with what degree of reluctance, people will ultimately accept the quality of this Administration’s governance.

When you are praised by an opponents; particularly one who said they would not like your party to ever be in government in Barbados again…that is praise indeed.  There was no reason for Mr Arthur to speak the “truth” but that he did to my mind signifies some generosity of spirit.  I applaud him unreservedly.

When those bloggers and there are a few who continue to post that the DLP Government have been ineffective in their first year.  I would just direct them to the comments of out previous Prime Minister Mr Owen Arthur as he has a different take on the situation.

The catastrophe that was envisaged by some with this DLP Administration, has not materialised, a great disappointment to a few but there is great benefit to the citizens of Barbados.  The disappointed few and others have instigated a new agenda on the blogs and other places, it has started to gather legs and though of unsteady gait they have been free with their comments.  Implicit in the comments being made are that some would like this Administration to fail, if only to prove that they were right and no mistakes were made in the last 14 years of the BLP Government.

In tandem with this belief of right there is a pseudo intellectualism which scatters itself along the lines we are intellectuals; we know what is right for “you” the plebeians.  These latter day patricians who show disfavour for those whose grammar they deem not up to scratch or whose writing style they abhor and publicly make it known to intimidate…claim to speak for the common man, they do not.

If a common man modestly clothed in the raiment of a beggar should stand at the top of Broad Street shouting ungrammatical “truth” that truth is not negated because it is from the mouth of such a modest person or because of its grammatical worth…”truth” it still is; and do not let pseudo intellectuals infer otherwise, or try to intimidate the “common people” into silence.

24 responses to “…The Thompson Administration Has "Done Well" During Its First Year In Office…”

1. Thompson is having an unprecedented baptism of fire. When he first entered office he had the oil crisis i.e.oil peaked at USD147 per barrel and quickly followed by the global financial meltdown.

How he manages the economy during this meltdown will be crucial. One issue that will not be forgotten is the promise to root out/identify corrupt practices by the government and extend the full weight of the law.

The PEOPLE will hope to have their expectations met crisis or no crisis.

2. Arthur labels current parliament poor rakey. I question that because this assembly is no less poor rakey than the ones Arthur’s blp dominated.

Arthur’s parliaments sported likes of Mark Smart Williams, Rommell, Muscle Mary Lynch, Duguid and the dumbest of all George Payne. I make bold to call Payne dumb because he never spoke.

Check your team for the times Arthur during your fourteen year dictatorship for real poor rakey.

3. Yardbroom,
    I wholeheartedly agree with you. It is obvious to those who are not hypocritical that in spite of the difficulties confronting them this Gov’t is making a genuine effort to make the lives of Barbadians better especially in housing.

4. Wishing In Vain Avatar

I must say Owing See Thru Arthur has some gall to call the Parliament POOR RAKEY absolutely sickening and callous, does he not know that he is being critical of his own ilk, none more so that a wild lash at Mottley.
    Her it is a naked former leader in Mr See Thru who has attended Parliament the grand sum of 12 times in TWENTY FOUR sittings of the House Of Assembly and has spoken THREE times in his time, now here is a person who as a former leader has neglected and refused to attend Parliament and contribute as we have seen in the 12 times he has attended Parliament he merely did so to be marked present.
    I will go as far as to state that if there is a POOR RAKEY person in Parliament it sure must be he!!!

5. @Yardbroom:
    I just want to add to the Common man theme, as I see myself as such. The nationnews article titled “Adrift but fearless” published on: 1/10/09, portrays yet another common man. The story of his ordeal records, thinking, common sense, love, strong family ties, humaness and kindness to one another. The picture of the man an is wife shows a couple approaching 60 yet don’t look a day over 40. These are the kind of people that i willingly pitch my tent amonst, and feel quite at home relating too. Read the article and tell me if this fisherman strikes you as the kind of person who would give a mortgate to someone who clearly could not afford it, as some so called smart people did.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/340157486100146.php

6. @Wishing In Vain

Her it is a naked former leader in Mr See Thru who has attended Parliament the grand sum of 12 times in TWENTY FOUR sittings of the House Of Assembly and has spoken THREE times in his time, now here is a person who as a former leader has neglected and refused to attend Parliament and contribute as we have seen in the 12 times he has attended Parliament he merely did so to be marked present.
    ==========================

De man said he was giving Mia all the room she needs to lead, that she has failed and that he is now ready to resume his rightful place and will move to do so when the time is ripe.

Cou cou and Flying fish: Animal Farm revisited (IV)
    Published on: 1/3/09.

2009 resolutions

THE FARM WAS abuzz with activity as the animals gathered with their respective kin and looked to the New Year. They all made resolutions and determined that this time around promises would not simply be comfort for fools.

Napoleon (Owen Arthur) told the young swine in his corner that though he was no longer in charge of the farm, it was his intention to position himself to retake leadership of his own pen and make a bid to recapture the entire farm whenever the occasion presented itself.

To grunts of approval, he said though he had allowed Squealer’s (Mia Mottley’s) star to grow while he took a sabbatical, the animal’s leadership qualities had proven unsatisfactory and had given him little comfort. To even louder grunts, Napoleon (Owen Arthur) said Squealer (Mia Mottley) had first to deal with an identity crisis before seeking to lead the animals.

Squealer (Mia Mottley) was livid. After receiving word of Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s) 2009 resolution, the animal gathered those who were still loyal and aired the principal resolution for the New Year. Get rid of Napoleon (Owen Arthur) once and for all. Squealer (Mia Mottley) told the loyalists that gracious efforts had been made to put Napoleon (Owen Arthur) out to mud during the year but he had refused, muttering something about the fatted calf.

Squealer, (Mia Mottley) swelling to even greater girth, and puffing even stronger on a cigar, resolved that the same inside plan which was put into effect to get rid of Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur) hand-picked heir apparent, would be put into high gear to oust the old swine from his sty.

Snowball (David Thompson) was surrounded by his crew as he made his resolutions. He told those in his corner that 2009 would be a time to weather tough times on the farm and work hard together to make life better for all and sundry. He said that after taking over from Napoleon, (Owen Arthur) he had been forced to spend a long time cleaning up the monumental mess bequeathed to him.

Action year

Now, he added, 2009 would be an action year. He told his charges that he would not tolerate sloth and failure. He looked into a corner and saw Moses (Dennis Lowe). He told the philosophical raven that he would be keeping a special eye on him. “Expect a back seat on the farm the next time you fail to deliver. That’s the environment into which you will be shuffled.”

Boxer (Hamilton Lashley) peeped into Napoleon’s (Owen Arthur’s) pen, but did not enter. Then he peeped into Squealer’s (Mia Mottley’s)but again did not enter. Though he tried to appear to be of independent thought, he was caught sneaking into Snowball’s (David Thompson’s) pen with butter running down the side of his mouth. There, to the amusement of many, the old horse resolved that he would join Snowball (David Thompson) in fighting to help the poorest animals on the farm.

Old Major,(Fruendel Stuart) who many saw as Snowball’s deputy, reminded Boxer (Hamilton Lashley) he had been singing that song for 14 years but seemed to think that the only animals pining for help lived in his part of the farm. Major, (Fruendel Stuart) as erudite a boar as one could find on the farm, resolved that he would expose Boxer (Hamiliton Lashley) as a naked opportunist in 2009.

Mollie, (Cynthia Forde) the old mare, held up her head momentarily from scribbling unintelligent, unintelligible notes on a piece of paper, found it difficult initially to come up with a resolution, and finally settled on resolving to provide a sea on four acres of centrally located land for some animals who had given her support over the years.

Not to be outdone, Minimus, (William Duguid) with his dentures shining white as usual, resolved in banal verse that he would have another tummy-tuck, and with a bit of luck, would be able to put more into his ‘wuk’. Mollie (Cynthia Forde) applauded.

Benjamin, (Ronald Jones) showing that though he was a donkey he was not an arse, resolved that his role was to educate the young farm animals and in 2009 he would have the heads of anyone who dared to frustrate his efforts. He said he would demolish one particular garrison (Matthew Farley) of opposition that existed.

Happy New Year!

7. yep things in Barbados are looking up and are wonderful with this new gov’t……

Keep repeating that until its true ( to you at least)

8. Whether Arthur debates in parliament or not will have no bearing on the debating skills. These are skills honed from school, church, reading and generally being open to being a student of life. The emphasis nowadays is for the party to attract people with technical skills, a passion to serve the PEOPLE is no longer the major imperative.

9. David,

First of all, it would be impossible for a new government to totally abandon what the former Government was doing without bringing it to a closure and that takes some time. It is a question of continuity. In some cases the time will be short and in others it will be long; I would dare say that some moved from one ruling party to the next and back again. Of course the DLP when it handed over to the BLP in 76 and 94 would probably have said the same thing.

The credit here is really to the incoming party that honours Government’s legitimate commitments, even though made by the former ruling party. That is what makes the system stable.

After that however, it is business as usual. Different strategies, different players, but on the same playing field.

1. access to small business finance – limited to a few; still have to be a good nigger.

2. wide and rampant discrimination in the Civil Service, which seeks to deprive black and let in white – e.g. shipping agents.

3. that situation at the port with taximen sleeping in their cars all night and big coaches carting away the majority of passengersbefore they could get one job needs to end. There is a solution.

4. There is still not the will to deal with monopolies like C&W, which is holding back the development of Barbados, adding to the inflation with its inflated rates and carting out millions in foreign exchange, while giving back nothing to the country.

5. the will to elevate our people in a meaningful way is still lacking. We are still throwing our people in jail and marginalising them because of the failure of the education system, which should be measured, not by the brightest it produces, but by its ability to give opportunity to the vast majority and add to the economic growth of the country.

6. If rum could be legal, so should be cannabis and remove those from jail for it; less stress on the prison and savings too; less clogging of the court process and probably a whole new world of tourism.

7. Money laundering laws need to be repealed. If a piece of paper is legal tender, why should circumstances cause it to be illegal? We are being played for fools if you remove the very principle upon which capitalism and the world economy is based, i.e. opportunity. When they were pirating the world and pillaging nations, there were no money laundering laws; so why now?

None of these things will change, as much as you may say that the Thompsn Government has done a good job. So yes it has done a good job in continuing what went before, except for two factors:

1. Free transport for school children – masterstroke.
    2. The idea of Community Empowerment, but we will just have to wait and see how this is defined and how far it goes.

All the rest is just management of what went before. On that score, so many deep wounds were left that the healing is taking some time; e.g. Donville Inniss’ effort with the QEH.

10. ROK can’t fault much of what you have written although #7 is a little unclear. Maybe you can expand?

The comment about Donville Inniss as Minister of Health we are not sure what he is bring to the table. It is a difficult ministry with deep rooted problems. As far as we know he comes from a background of working in the international business sector which is not burdened with alot of the bureaucracy etc of the QEH/civil service.

We will give him some time to spring a surprise.

11. David,

I think that I may be coming from the viewpoint that I do know Donville and his ability to heal situations. You see, he is the kind of person who would say to all concerned, “okay, okay, we have all of this mess, how do we clean it?”

Not saying he can’t be dogmatic at times, but when it comes to matters of great significance, he brings maturity; and I am seeing it unfolding in true character. As you say, we will see what his stamina is like.

12. David

At #7, the question I would ask is how did the West build its wealth and power, if not by stealing and converting property? Now that it is on top, it is seeking to stay there by pressuring other countries into outlawing things like drugs and proceeds of crime; as they call it. Also into this terrorism vigilance all of which is based on ensuring that we remain at their behest; poor and mendicant.

There is a rule somewhere in the law which states that possession is 90% ownership. I would consider such a thought as a basic tenet for theivery and for eroding ownership. It is what the west is based on; stealing. It is a basic tenet of capitalism as well as imperialism and therefore the rule by which business is conducted.

e.g. default on your mortgage you lose everything (get back nothing). Default on your insurance and you lose all you coverage. If you can’t complete your hire purchase you lose the item and all the money you paid, although the company has back the item.

Ever notice how many businesses resort to charging non-refundable fees? See how the bank will charge you $30 for a returned check and only about 25 cents if it is good?

This is what I mean by opportunity.

In terms of terrorism, where is it targeted, anywhere in the Caribbean or Pacific? No, only at those countries who can be termed the aggressor and what is the basic objective one can gather from this so-called terrorists activity?

The terrorists are seeking to inflict on the population of its aggressor, the same terror being inflicted upon them. To hit another target would defeat that purpose… but as they say, war means big profits and for the war against terror, you can be sure that somebody making big bucks out of surveillance and other electronic equipment, trying in vain to track terrorists that will never come to shores like ours.

13. @ROK…..True for the most part. But the only terrorists in the world are so called legitimate democratic governments. For eons the west has been terrorising Latin America and Africa.These criminals use terrorism to control their populations and thus the whole world. Perfect opportunity was their 9/11. They endgame is total dominance.They are going in for the kill, and when they are ready they will bring terrorism to the shores of Barbados. Those that you call terrorists are freedom fighters. Never underestimate the power of this beast.

14. Hopi, boy I am so glad that some black people’s eyes are opening up to this realisation!

15. @Hopi

Concur!

16. Adrian,
    I like that. Reminded me of my days at school reading Animal Farm.

17. @ Adrian Hinds January 10, 2009 at 3:52

Thanks for drawing my attention, what a nice story. A triumph for the indomitable human spirit.

Re: The common man a group of which I am proud to be a part of, with “honesty,” decency and a collective effort there is almost nothing we cannot achieve.

18. I give the David Thompson administration a passing grade. I hope that they will keep the promise of integrity legislation so that any administration in the future cannot use tax payer’s money like it belongs to them.

I have an exception with the Ministers in education.
    They need to unite with teachers and parents to bring some discipline back to our school system.

We owe our children a better future. Not chopping up one another. Do not say this is a one off thing. Our school system is experiencing tremendous problems with indiscipline.

19. ROK

Great sense in your comments above
    Thank you very much for your opinion on this matter. It is quite on the mark and it makes me wonder if others are as aware, as awaken, or as sensitive to this kind of thinking. It makes me want to restate the call that WE NEED TO TEACH OUR HISTORY —It is an URGENT matter.

20. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck, Esq

Remenber these DLP manifesto pledges. Can anyone say what has happended to them. The page numbers below refer to the relevant pages in the dlp 2008 manifesto

IMMEDIATE ACTION

Labour rights legislation (page 36)

A new DLP government will move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 A Full Employment Rights Act
     An Alternative Disputes Settlement and Arbitration Committee
     A Sexual Harassment in the Workplace Act
     National minimum wages legislation
     Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.

Approval of capital account transactions (page 25)

Immediately review the current Central Bank procedures for approving capital account transactions with a view to simplifying and speeding up the approval (or denial) process for restricted transactions.

Port charges (page 33)

The DLP pledges to immediately re-examine the Port charges with a view to significantly reducing these to manufacturers as they consider them to be a burdensome cost. They say that tonnage dues are charged twice; – on raw materials when imported and again on finished products when being exported.

Integrity legislation (page 48)

Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring

 a declaration of assets by public officials,
     a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
     a new Freedom of Information law,
     amendments to the Defamation laws and
     new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister.

Health issues (page 11)

A new DLP Government will immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles

ISSUES TO BE DEALT WITH IN FIRST 100 DAYS

Don’t forget the DLP promises to do the following in the first 100 days

 Introduce the Agriculture Protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

 Remove VAT from building materials on houses valued up to $400,000.
     convene a National Consultation on Education

21. Jeff Cumberbatch perspective on Arthurs comments,

=========================
    MUSINGS: A way with words

1/11/2009

By Jeff Cumberbatch

He might best be remembered by different people for a variety of things, but one undeniably endearing quality of now former Prime Minister Owen Arthur over the years has been his use of language to characterise given situations or people. While these epithets might not have always been “les mots justes”, they nevertheless have tended to evoke some reaction from a Barbadian public not exposed to anything but the most mundane use of language coming from officialdom. His usage is therefore not ordinarily of the nature of stock phrases such as “at the end of the day…” or “in the fullness of time…” terms far too often heard in local politicospeak.

Hence, he once amazingly described a former Cabinet colleague as “cantankerous”; a former newspaper editor was incorrectly termed, of all things, a “negrocrat” and the current governing administration was equated to a pack of “wild-boys”, a word with a particular offensive Barbadian usage. Mr. Arthur added to this lexicon last week with his description of the current Parliament as “po’rakey”, a word which, so as not to offend the purists among us, I suppose, the news reporter transcribed as “poor-rakey”.

It is a word which is not included in Professor Allsop’s esteemed work, the Dictionary of Caribbean English Usage, but it is one which should be familiar to all Barbadians of, as they sometimes say, a certain age. It most often means “bad-looking” or “emaciated” when used in reference to persons but, when applied to objects or, as novelly in this case, institutions, signifies “piddling”, “insignificant”, “mediocre”, or “ne’er-do-well”. The word is probably a variation of “rake-and-scrape” and equates to the Jamaican “maaga” and another Bajan expression “nay-nay” which, oddly enough, in the Allsopp publication is exemplified by some local MP denying that a meeting of the House would be a “nay-nay” meeting!

As intriguing as his use of the epithet may be, I disagree with Arthur that the present Parliament compares unfavourably with those of past years. According to him, “…the House of today is the most poor-rakey (sic) Parliament in the history of Barbados. I had the opportunity to serve in a Parliament with … some of the finest parliamentarians in the history of Barbados, and it is for me sometimes a strain to have to go to Parliament to see what is not there”. But in my view, Arthur might be a victim of the times. After all, the present Parliament is one of the most academically qualified in its history, and while this clearly does not make for more impressive debate or more intriguing speeches, there is ostensibly sufficient intellectual candlepower within the House to attain these heights.
    Further, it is submitted that much of the acclaim surrounding parliamentary practice in bygone days is owed more to the greater disparity in the educational achievement of the MP’s as compared to the general population and to the relative lack of access to information (including Parliamentary debates) at that time as opposed to now than to any gaping disparity in debating skill or achievement. Hence, a perusal of previous issues of Hansard fails to disclose any more numerous alluring turns of phrase, any more frequent uses of exceptionally reasoned argument and, indeed, in a few cases, there are similar digressions from the issue to score dubious political points, much as there have been in recent times.

It might have been in the perception, I assume, but then history has a way of being kind, and sometimes myth-creating. And in any event, in his reported comparison, Mr. Arthur referred only to Mr. Patrick Todd’s infamous call for a declaration of sexual orientation by MPs, a contribution now widely regarded as anomalous.

22. Donald Duck, Esq Avatar

When will the dlp realise that elections are over? When will they start running the country?

23. Donald Duck, Esq,
    If you haven’t realise the DLP is running the country and doing a reasonable inspite of the bad economic situation the world is in. I guess you would still find something wrong with how the gov’t is running the country because you might not have voted for the party. The gov’t might not have done everything as some might have wanted but they are trying.

24. Tony Hall,

I agree. The ‘ayes’ have it.