Submitted as a comment by Banana-Cou-Cou

immigrationYou David and some of us the bloggers have been speaking out against the large influx of non nationals flooding in our tiny island. We have spoken about the smallest of our size,the finite supply of our resources and the negative impact on our society and our traditions.

Some have worried about the ease with which some of these non nationals,in particular the Guyanese have been able to gain free medical care,free education,take away bajan jobs and in the case of European and north American non nationals the speed with which they were buying up our land.

Well having looked at one of our neighbour in the Caribbean;Bermuda,it is instructive to see how tight that country has been running their ship. Bermuda although still a British dependency has a number of similarities to Barbados. It is my very BOLD suggestion that perhaps Barbados needs to take a page out of Bermuda’s book.

This is what I mean:

• Bermuda -Size – 20.75 sq miles

• Resident Population – 68,500

• Work permit – Foreigners including British citizens must apply for a work permit before being employed there.

• Bermudians however have right to British citizenship and right to work in the U.K.

• Voting – Non nationals cannot vote unless they are married to a Bermudian.

• Bermudian Citizenship – non nationals must wait for 10 years and remain married to that Bermudian for the 10 years before they can apply for Bermudian status – n.b. status may not mean ‘citizenship’.

• Sale of Land – Non Bermudians cannot buy the same real estate properties as a Bermudian but are limited to the top most expensive 5% and are subjected to other restrictions.

Human Rights Act – relates only to Bermudians so although their constitution states ‘no discrimination based on race country etc;in practice there are heavy regulation via work permit,number of jobs non nationals can have,property they may or may not buy etc.

N.B. EVEN CHILDREN BORN IN BERMUDA ARE NOT BERMUDIANS UNLESS ONE OF THEIR PARENT IS A BERMUDIAN CITIZEN.

Don’t you think it is time we start changing our laws too and the easy way these Guyanese and others come in here and get citizenship?

85 responses to “What Changes Would You Like To See To Our Immigration Framework?”

1. You start wrong . Bermuda is not in the Caribbean.

2. Don’t get side tracked bonny peppa,deal with the main issue.

That is,Bermuda got real strict rules to deal with these non bermudians while barbados still a doing a thing yet about that.

3. There MUST be strong tight immigration laws to protect the sovereignty of this country. Thanks to information coming from Negro Man, we would soon see this coming forward. Barbados might become unpopular to some of our neighbours back ” a country has got to do what a country has got to do”, to protect itself and its citizens. No hard feeling people, we bajans are still and always be welcoming people but only to a point.

4. Can we borrow from Canada’s immigration system?

Can we breakdown Visa allocation by sectors? Each sector should be driven by information/data which would inform total visas to be issued if required.

5. Anonymous,
    Somebody framing me. I never submitted that comment bout Bermuda is not in the Caribbean. Somebody using my name. I gun got to investigate or change my name.Sumting wrong.
    I vex.

6. According to an AP news story in the Barbados Business Authority, Monday, 17, 2008, the Paris-based Organization for Cooperation and Economic Development (OECD) has stated that the world’s developed economies have slid into recesssion and will shrink further in 2009. It also said that gross domestic product was likely to fall by 0.3 per cent in 2009 for its 30 member countries, representing democracies with market economies.

It reported that the US economy would contract by 0.9 per cent, Japans’s by 0.1 per cent, and the euro area by 0.5 per cent. These latest forecasts, said the OECD, were a sharp down grade since the last set was made in June, when the organization had forecast OECD growth of 1.7 per cent in 2009 and had indicated the worst of the financial crisis might have passed.

By reading the above helps us – in the PDC – to believe that Barbados is heading for deeper economic and financial crisis in 2009, given that Barbados is already in the throes of recession and given that Barbados has long been profoundly linked to some of those OECD economies. But these recessionary times ought NOT to be the case for us!!

For, as Barbados goes deeper and deeper into recession – and more and more people lose their jobs, their homes, vehicles, their businesses to banks, other financial institutions and to harshness of times, and as businesses downsize and amalgamate, and our national income and national output keep tremendously falling, we in the PDC shudder to think that this already AILING DLP Government has already melted away in the face of this deepening local economic and financial crisis. It really seems as if the Prime Minister has been sound asleep, while our ship of state keeps sinking rapidly.

Nevertheless, were we the Government of Barbados since January 15, 2008, Barbados would NOT be in this deepening sickening dangerous so-called economic and financial crisis. Would NEVER EVER be, in fact!!. For, this country’s material production and distribution sectors would have been entirely helped stimulated and repositioned by way of the fact that such a PDC led Government would by now have implemented or be moving towards implementation of regimes whereby,

1) ALL IMPORTS OF GOODS AND SERVICES WOULD BE ZERO-“PRICED” AT ALL POINTS OF ENTRY,

2) ALL EXPORTS OF GOODS AND SERVICES WOULD BE PAID FOR IN LOCAL/CURRENCY “PRICES”,

3) ALL EXCHANGE RATE PARITIES WITH THE BARBADOS DOLLAR WOULD BE ABOLISHED ( mere use of the currencies that are required for the particular external commercial and debt transactions),

4) THE ABOLITION OF SO-CALLED DIRECT TAXATION CARRIED OUT( later the abolition of so-called indirect taxation),

5) THE ABOLITION OF INTEREST RATES EFFECTED,

6) THE MAKING OF ALL INSTITUTIONAL LOANS FOR PRODUCTIVE PURPOSES NON-REPAYABLE EFFECTED ( incl. meaning the abolition/curtailing of present and future mortgages), and

7) THE REFORM OF THE HIRE PURCHASE SYSTEM IN BARBADOS INTRODUCED ( incl. the setting up of a Hire Purchase Fund for many classes of persons finding it genuinely difficult making Hire/purchase payments).

More than anything else, visionary, progressive and decisive leadership is called for at this crucial stage in the history of our country. Surely, Mr. David Thompson, Mr. Ronald Jones, Miss Mia Mottley, Mr. George Payne, et al, do NOT possess such right now at this stage. Too, it is time that the vast majority of Barbadians come to the clear realisation that the DLP and the BLP are the essentially the same, that they are relics of the past, and that we in Barbados must stop ELECT DLP and BLP Governments in this country.

7. What would you do about people like me that are planning to move to Barbados, bring my business (which will bring money into the country as my clients will still be in the UK) and employ Barbadians?

Am I to find it difficult to buy land/property and refused citizenship?

8. As long as you are sincere we welcome you with open arms! phodethus

9. Please be assured I am very sincere. After my first visit to your island I knew I wanted to live there and was glad I could bring something to the island.

10. What causes recession in a country. high taxation,that is what I think,so barbados could reduce its IMPORT duties and you will see that money will still be circulating ppl will not be loosing jobs.

11. Breaking news David Thompson at a meeting last week mandated that all Caricom nationals living in Barbados be granted citizenship. He proposed amnesty for all of them.
    David & BU please investigate this matter.
    In this proposal 30,000 or 40,000 non-nationals are about to become Barbadian citizens.All Guyanese,Jamaicans, St Lucians,Antiguans,Vincentians & the rest congratulations.

12. A good immigration policy will always accommodate non Barbadians who will bring skills and resources. As always the entry of such people should be managed in the context of a national strategy.

13. It is time Barbadians force our Government to deal with these immigration issues quickly.Many Barbadian and other foreign nationals In Bermuda have been forced to leave the country after divorcing their Bermudian spouse.I know one guy who was forced to leave his child behind and move to another country.The job he had was taken away because he was no longer married to a Bermudian.
    However his Bermudian spouse was granted Barbadian citizenship while they were still married.
    Another guy lost his investment in the home he bought with his wife because as a non national his name was not on the title deeds.After the divorce she got everything.
    Many of these Bermudians are living and working in Barbados with no restrictions, just because they were married to a Bajan.

14. I flip flop on the amnesty for non-nationals issue.Idid not cross check the information I received.Nonetheless,the information posted by Anonymous if it is indeed correct is mystifying.
    If amnesty is coming for non-nationals I say this government has surprised us and fooled us.On one hand we have our Prime Minister indicating that jobs in Barbados must be preserve for Barbadians and his government will implement a strict immigration policy.
    If this is indeed the case I as a member of the DLP will resign and canvass on the removal of the DLP from office.David Thompson has proven that he cannot be trusted.many untruths he has told the people of Babados since assuming the position of Prime Minister.
    Negroman does not support amnesty for non-nationals who broke our immigration laws and are now being rewarded with citizenship.If this case amnesty should be given to all criminals at Dodds prison who broke our criminal laws.
    Amnesty for non-nationals should translate to amnesty for criminals.
    On this note I am signing off from the blogs and will not comment anymore of any issue.

15. Negroman, it is with a heavy heart that I write this comment. If what anonymous has written is indeed true I am mystified at my leader whom I canvassed for from day 1.

I thought he was looking out for the well being of my children. Today in the newspaper the nation newspaper made me laughe they started by stating and I quote
    “Two St. St. Philip men were remanded to HMP Dodds.” Really? Wha one of de men look like a blasted Guyanese!

Who dem foolin? For sure not me! I am mad is hell! If they can murder this little girl and she was considered to be of the higher echelons of society, I am from the VILLAGE! What will cause these people from murdering our own! I know I will be castigated by many but at this point in time I will speak out because when negro man, Technician, Scout and others said this woud happen every body said we were preahing hate…..,. there is a saying the chickens are coming home to roost……. things will get worst……..

16. To have a good, immigration policy u first need to know who to keep out!! Bim still does n’t know who the undesirables r, so can’t get anywhere!! Brain first needs to lock into gear!!

17. MR.DAVID THOMPSON,please say it isn’t so. I would be so disappointed in you that I would vote fa de NDP, PNP, ERIC FLIES but never fa you again if what I hear is true. I doan want to jump to conclusions so I holdin’ my peace til further notice. I tell ya, dat would be de day. Amnesty fa dese ‘illegals’. Who you trying to impress now? Surely not we bajans dat fed up up to de brim wid dese people. You would be committing political suicide like McCain did when he hire a donkey (Palin)to run in ‘big horse’ race. I know dat you in sa stupid.
    Right now I in even ending wid’ How ya like ma’ cause I real, real mad.

18. I hope wunna voting for PDC cause 6 is half a dozen.

19. Negroman please find out from good sources if this amnesty story is true or it is just a BLP mole trying to throw a spanner in the works.

Today in the Nation we see again 2 more indian guyanese brought up on charges for refusing to leave someone’s property when told to do so,and could you imagine that female magistrate put them on $750.00 personal bail?

I think that like the U.S. or the U.K once these people are found to engage in criminal conduct they shoould be deported back to their home country whether or not they are here legal or illegal.

I believe this is the same magistrate that told another guyanese indian last year after being convicted of a serious crime that she will allow him to leave since she did not want to deport him.

Could you believe this shite.

I will like to see all these guyanese sympathisers and bleeding hearts be the victim of a crime by these said guyanese and let’s see how fast they will be singing another tune.

20. A non truth is easy to believe,as far as I know ,Mr Thompson is all for the Barbadians,He was very clear Bajans first! From what little I know from a close source ,and have actually seen,These non-Nationals are being shipped out by the bus loads each day,I mentioned earlier in another blog that 15 bus loads were taken uo early one morning,that certainly is not amesty.I was also reliably imformed that all the sim cards from there cell phones were taken so that they could not warn their friends,but were then given back when they got to the Airport.
    These people want sending home,
    there are dishonest,to the bones.Some one close to me help one of them to get an item from Courts,and they refuse to pay,and when they were comfronted about not paying blodly said”I legal i got a permit so no f******* body can touch me.i would like the job to round them up and sent them out of this country.

21. And I am willing to do it with out pay.

22. @Anonymous…

Don’t Bogart that Anon, buddy…

If you have something to say, say it. If you’re not willing to put your real name behind same, at least choose an alias.

“Anonymous” is reserved for those posting randomly (and who have no backbone). (Slashdot, for example, apply the “handle” “Anonymous Coward”.)

At least BFP change such Anon… posts to be unique number IDs, to differentiate.

Step up, or shut up…

23. This amnesty thing is real very real.Amnesty is coming for non-nationals.A cut off period is being consider.I believe either 3 or 5 year period dating back to 2003 or 2005 is being consider for the amnesty.
    I am so disappointed in my Prime Minister David Thompson.Amnesty for illegals that is death call for his administration.

24. Get in the Action Avatar
    Get in the Action

We should all be deeply concerned. The construction industry has ground to a halt and thousands of illegal workers are about to flood our streets with no work in sight. Layoffs are here! What do you think will happen if they are not aggresively rounded up and deported? We are sitting on our hands, waiting for a serious crime wave if something is not done quickly!

25. There is no need to grant citizenship based on birth or marriage alone.

Citizenship should only be granted to people who have lived here legally for 5 to 7 years and who have no criminal convictions and who can show that they are gainfully employed whether for self or an employer.

Citizenship should only be granted to children whose who have at least one parent who is a Barbadian or legal permanent resident.

There should be a citizenship test. Therefore new citizens must be able to prove that they are literate and have a good sound education. They must prove that they know enough about Barbados and what it means to be Barbadian. We may well ask that new citizens have the equivalent of a minimum of 5 CXC’s or a skilled trade for which a minimum of 1 or 2 years of training has been completed.

Prospective citizens must be able to demonstrate that they are up to date on their tax obligations, land tax, income tax, national insurance, customs duties etc. fully paid up.

All prospective immigrants whether or not married to a Barbadian or not should HAVE to meet the above qualifications. Marriage to a Bajan should never be enough. Worldwide the divorce rate is in the double digits. It is commonplace for people make errors in their choice of marriage partners. There is no need for the state to bless those errors by granting citizenship.

Those people who do not qualify for citizenship can be granted short term work permits; or encouraged to do the work necessary to meet the citizenship requirements.

We Barbadians should insist that the rules are clear, well know to everybody and enforced fairly.

26. Nothing worng with a one-time amnesty for people who have been here for 5 years or more and who are gainfully employed, and have not committed any crimes, and who are up to date on their taxes.

27. Phodetheus
    Not so fast. The question is, are you bringing a business that is unique to Barbados or are you coming to compete against the existing business here? There are/were request from foreigners to set up business here that was no help to the country e.g sweet shops, beauty saloons, etc all in an effort to get into Barbados. We have to start protecting the little land mass we have left and also protect our small business. If on the other hand your business is one that is beneficial to Barbados, we wecome you with open arms but special conditions apply.

28. @ my buddy Negroman

Your friends in the govt have been flip flopping on the issue.
    They’re sending mixed signals.
    Last week Thompson “ever so welcome, wait for a call.”
    Dis week Maxine McClean telling bajan graduates to look for jobs outside of Barbados under de CSME regime.

Wait a minute, wha effin she telling bajans to look for jobs outside bdos, then she must understand de concept of reciprocity. It means that by de same token, she’s telling those outside that they’re welcome to come to Bdos.

Dese DLP clowns really confusing me!

29. @The Scout: “The question is, are you bringing a business that is unique to Barbados or are you coming to compete against the existing business here?

Are you arguing that no one from “away” should compete with a Bajan business? You do understand where you find yourself. Correct?

Do you (and Bajans) have a problem with competition? Are Bajans not the greatest humans to have ever walked upon this earth?

Thusly, Bajans should be more than able to face competition head on. And if not, then they have some work to do, SOON!

30. Until I get an official statement saying that amnesty has been granted, I don’t bewlieve it. On the other hand if that is true, it will be time for us bajans either to act by showing our disaproval or shut up. I ready to “fight for the preservation of my country.” Like Negro Man as from now I’m silent, the time for talking is over. I will await comments/statements from this government before I post again. To all my blogger friends; until.
    Keep sweet Bonny Peppa
    Negro Man we will meet someday.

31. You beat me to it,CH.

How can anyone shout for lower prices yet demand protection from competition?

However I’m almost sure Phodetheus
    is not uprooting to open a sweetie shop.

Very strict in immigration for what unique qualifications and amount of working capital you are importing prior to giving work permits.

Apparently not so with our Guyanese brothers.

32. Cruiser shut the FUC*** up! You talking bare shite! It is not in my mind that we were dragged and whipped across here amongst shite and pist what the hell are you saying is that all in my mind too! What are you saying!

I’m saying you are not there now. But you can choose to remain there, and be chained there … in your mind … You are here now, in the present, which is the only time and place there is. Get on with your life/

The world and it’s peoples are not perfect. Wise up. For your own good, be here. Now.

Of course, next time you have a head ache you can cut your wrist and let out some blood instead to swallowing a Panadol. Its your choice.
    ————————————————

This is JC responding and not anon, but on the behalf of anon, when I look at the world I see that the majority of black people are still at the bottom no matter where we live! but the question I ask how many of us have acheived! Yes we have achieved! But at what cost! We have tried and we are continuing to try but at what cost! The blood sweat and tears of our ancestors and our foreparents we must remember, if we dont we will never suceed. We will not cut our wrists to proof in your eyes or anyone elses for that matter that we are the born losers that you think we are we will take two goddam panadols and have another headache BUT live to fight another day to proof to you that we have what it takes and that is SHEER DETERMINATION to suceed. Unlike those who just had greed and hatred in their hearts for our ancestors and saw us as cattle! Have a nice evening sir/madam! We are getting on with our lives (but with memories.)

33. @JC… With the deepest of respect to you and yours…

IMHO: Never forget (any of) the past. Live in the present. Always keep (all of) the (possible) futures in mind…

34. Is there a case when a country in the world has had to consider amnesty at a time when economic downturn/recession is imminent?

35. @David…

No country *has* to consider amnesty. Ever.

A country *chooses* to because they consider it to be in their own best (long term) interests.

36. Chris Halsall wha u dont left me doh lol I dun wid de blogs I giv my self at least a month of not writing here!

I can tell it is not doing my health any good that is the truth! god bless all fellow bloggers until!

good luck with the Guyanese issue! by the time I am back I know that IT WILL BE CT PIST AND PEPPER HA HA HA LOL

Chris Halsal LEAVE ME NA!

37. The reality is that I think the P.M. will do the right thing & to run counter to what he has already said would be out of character.

Even CSME is failing according to our late great PM Owen Arthur.

http://www.nationnews.com/story/321848196502338.php

The idea that there will be an amnesty is imho a farce.I understand that Bermuda & Cayman islands have strict immigration laws but I would rather not emulate any other country.We should create laws that work for Bajan citizens & the country as a whole.I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again we can create all the new laws we want but if the current ones aren’t being enforced what is the point of so called “new laws”.I also believe that Guyana should be removed from the visa free list to Barbados would solve the problem,but that is highly unlikely due to so called “Caricom” obligations.

RBPF……check,RBDF……..check,Barbados Immigration Department……check.We are just waiting for the word Mr. Prime Minister.

Sorry for the rant,but I had to.

For proper immigration controls I believe in a points-based system for work permits[4 year college degrees only],end birthright citizenship,proper internal enforcement of Barbados immigration laws,Guyana removed from the visa free list,CSME being limited by a country’s resources rather than economic potential,biometric information taken at all ports for countries consistently trying to break Barbados’ immigration laws.More immigration dept. personnel to enforce the laws[they should also be screened].

38. Wonderful,wonderful suggestios Jay.

I hope minister Mcclean is reading this.

39. The Scout & Anonymous
    Unfortunately amnesty is coming for all CARICOM non-nationals livingin Barbados.That is a fact.Iwant BU,The Advocate & The nation Newspaper & even the Radi Stations to investigate this issue.This is no lie.Amnesty for illegals is here.
    This government is sending mix signals.
    Like you I will wait until it is official before I comment again.

40. Dear Jay:

What ae you talking about 4 year college degrees?

You do understand don’t you that the standard University of the West Indies bachelor’s degree is a THREE year program.

41. Dear Jay:

Do you understand what you are saying when you speak about ending birthright citizenship?

Suppose for example a 23 year old Barbadian Jane/John moves to country A, B, or C.

While there Barbadian Jane/Johm earns a master’s degree or a PhD, stats a business or is employed in a professional position.

Marries another Barbadian, and at age 40 decides to return to Barbados to live, work, and to provide care for the now elderly parents.

What would you have that couple do with their (under your rules) non-Barbadian children who are ages, 6, 9, and 12?

Please explain, because you have truly lost me there.

42. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

@Chris Halsall. Chris not all of us are in a position where we will not be victimized for our positions on issues and I, and others I am sure, have used confidential info to make points. So it is not cowardice in all cases.

43. Dear J,

To extrapolate on my immigration plan pertaining to your questions

Work Permits-To be approved for a Barbados work permit one must have a 4 year Bachelors degree from abroad.The UWI being a 3 year program is irrelevant since Barbados’ version of CSME clearly states what the requirements are already.How many times do you see Barbados employers giving long winded names to jobs they KNOW a Local can do & to curtail that problem having a requirement for a 4 year degree would be a well added impediment for Barbados employers to not only shop local,but it would also add a well educated & financially stable individuals to this nation who come legally.

Ending Birthright Citizenship-Bermuda,The Cayman Islands & The UK[WHERE OUR PRIME MINISTER WAS BORN] use to base citizenship by jus soli but have changed it to Jus Sanguis where in order for a child to get citizenship one Parent must be at least a Citizen or Permanent resident in order for the child to acquire their status.Barbados currently expresses that beyond its borders when applying for Citizenship by descent but not internally,what would change under the plan I have stated is that it would also work internally where one parent must be at least a Permanent resident or Citizen of Barbados in order for their child to acquire Barbados citizenship.The cost savings would be huge to our overburdened social services such as NIS.The non-Barbadian children you speak of would be automatically Bajans under my plan & current Bajan law since the couple were married & are both Nationals.

44. @Negroman,I forgot to mention that I think it is highly unlikely that the Thompson government will be giving an amnesty.I think what it might that it also might be misinterpreted.

It might be just like the Bermudan amnesty given in September.

“Amnesty for illegal immigrants

Illegal immigrants have been given 30 days to leave Bermuda without facing prosecution.

Immigration Minister David Burch announced the October amnesty, with a warning that Bermuda would enforce a zero tolerance for illegal immigrants and those who harbour them.

He added that following the 30-day period, consideration would be given to offering a reward to residents who provide tips on illegal immigrants.

Mr Burch said there are currently 200 illegal immigrants on the island. “

45. Jay believe Negroman amnesty is coming for all CARICOM non-nationals.That is a fact.

46. “What’s so great about Bermuda?”

They have the most restrictive immigration laws, but the local blacks remain on the bottom of the economic ladder. They are only recycling British expats. There isn’t going to be any amnesty. The PM will go in the opposite direction, visa restrictions for some while quotas for others.

47. We had promised to blog on the immigration issue but our source did not deliver.

48. David

Have you heard anything from any good source about this rumour about amnesty for illegals?

From all indications it seem that the deportations of these illegals are proceeding full speed ahead,thankfully so.

49. We have not been able to confirm which way this issue is blowing. What we have been able to squeeze from a high ranking source is that the immigration issue is very ‘messy’.

We will keep trying.

50. Thanks David.

Been also hearing some very worrying stuff about the goings-on at that immigration department during owen’s regime.