Response to JAMAICA GLEANER: EDITORIAL – Barbadian Press Blunder

Submitted by Fair Play
The Gleaner said to have "fraternal relations" with the Nation newspaper.

The Gleaner said to have “fraternal relations” with the Nation newspaper.

Yesterday, The Jamaica Gleaner newspaper rushed to the defence and support of the Nation newspaper, with which, by its own admission, it has “fraternal relations”. However, right thinking Barbadians, as well as those knowledgeable Jamaicans living here, should point out to the Gleaner that, unlike some other countries – that will remain nameless – the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) in Barbados is a strictly independent one. So, to raise the bogeyman of political interference is total poppycock, and does not befit a reputable newspaper as The Gleaner. Wrong is wrong, regardless of who does it. Enough said on that score.

Now, the same Gleaner newspaper ought to remember that, just a few decades ago, one of its outstanding editors, the late J C Proute, warned its readers against such lecherous and off-colour reporting.  In one of his weekly columns, and subsequently during a guest lecture at the Caribbean Institute of Media and Communication (CARIMAC) in 1980, JC termed such acts “journalistic gaucherie”.

The Gleaner’s spurious argument that “the faces of the minors engaged in the sexual act (were) blurred and unrecognisable”, hence it was ok to publish the picture, is nonsensical. The salient point is that photo was accompanied by (juxtaposed against) the most graphic, detailed and explicit account of the sex act. Nothing was left to the imagination. PLAIN PORNOGRAPHY!

Indeed, many of us in Barbados wondered why it took so long for the police and the  DPP to bring these charges, since weekend after weekend – read I [Lie] Confess, Flying Fish & Cou Cou, and Pudding & Souse –  the most salacious stories, vulgarity and sexual sleaze are passed off as investigative journalism. More like ‘gutter journalism’ if you ask me, written by the perverted and clearly designed to titillate the scabrous sentiments of the depraved.

We are well aware that a particular news medium in Barbados relishes and thrives in sensationalism, sewer politics, scandal and gossip.They tell me, those things sell newspapers. Well, Rupert Murdoch’s News of The World thought so too. At long last, they found out the opposite, and were brought to Christian feeling.

This tabloid’s day is also coming. It may not be with this case, but ‘One Day Coming Soon’. Mark my word!

Click on the link and read The Gleaner’s Editorial. It sounds more like, what we in Barbados call “taking up fire-rage”. The case is sub-judice in this country, so you get your affiliate in another jurisdiction to raise the spectre of collusion and toss suspicion at the government. Nice Try! But, pray tell me, how low can you go! The Gleaner would want its affiliate to go scot-free and continue to publish smut with impunity. Mind Your Own Business! Do Not Interfere.

Who are you to tell this country that we are  “expending energy, public resources and valuable time in pursuing The Nation rather than more immediate and pertinent issues”. In turn, why not expend your energy and resources in helping Portia Simpson, the Jamaican government and people with the myriad of problems and issues you are facing daily. We do not have to list them; you know them well.

53 thoughts on “Response to JAMAICA GLEANER: EDITORIAL – Barbadian Press Blunder

1. Is this a party political broadcast on behalf of the DLP? Or H Austin half-disguised peddling the usual line with all that talk of Rupert Murdoch, sub judice and “Christian feeling” ? Or, since it’s written better than his stuff, the old maid in a DLP apron stirring the pot with a grubby finger and busily “praying”? Certainly a Pharisee or a cynic wrote it. Whichever, it is as much, or as little, ‘contempt’ as anything written on either of the posts and, being totally without balance, is less than ‘fair’.

2. I completely agree with this writer.

I believe the Gleaner editorial was written to put in a plug for a friend.

The truth is there is no evidence given to show political interference just a lot of hog wash from these jamaican hiddiots.

So much material to write about in their country and they’re pushing their nose in another country’s business of which they no nothing other than what Har hoyte and the rest probably told them.

3. The Jamaican Gleaner is talking about political interference, they need to check their country and deal with their issues.

Jamaica has such serious issues, how can they find time to meddle in other people’s affairs. Does the Gleaner have an agenda, looks so to me

4. Yes, dat is it day! Light in dem David BU! Becausin I finding dese Jamaicans got nuff nuff tuh say bout Barbados and Bajans dese days.
    So becausin everyting is does be party politics in Jamaica don’t mean everyting is party politics in Bim. Dis hay bout wuflessness versus decency. And who brek de law is tuh answer tuh de law! Das how we does do it bout hay. So wunna could really cease and settle. And David BU when de Trinis come say dem tekking up Harr Hoyte fire rage too, please tuh bong in dem craw fuh me. Tank you please. Trouble Bajans? In sweet sweet November? wunnah mad or wuh?! Wunna ever get jook wid a trident yet?

5. David BU. Morning. Fuhget tuh say morning, sorry. I gine here and brew down dis green tea and listen to de deaths, but please to axe you a question? Who you feel is de dangerous body that get and tell de jamaica paper foolishness bout de police only charge de people cause of politics? I don’t feel um is Harr Hoyte yuh know cause I dont feel he suh touchus. So who you feel um is? Study it.

• @Pompasettin Pearlie

Marnin, we let all and sundry toss bullshit at us and we take. What ever we do we lock up anyway. Many of our Caricom neighbours have envied how we have managed our country post-Independence. It should be an incentive for us to do what is right to pull the country from the economic precipice it finds itself.

6. not surprised at the response in theGleaner even though one can suspect that its underpinnings might be of a political nature, however i wish Inniss would have be more diplomatic and kept his mouth shut and not find himself caught up in the whirlwind of a political football. this govt has nothing to be ashamed of the LAW is the LAW, No one is above the law not even the GLEANER,

7. The Jamaican Gleaner should stick to the proverb that ‘people who live in glass houses, should never throw stones’.

8. @ Ann | November 19, 2013 at 5:53 AM |
    “Jamaica has such serious issues, how can they find time to meddle in other people’s affairs. Does the Gleaner have an agenda, looks so to me”

We should also wonder how comes Jamaicans have time (and money) to meddle in the affairs of Barbados especially in its collapsing tourism business. Do you agree, Ann?

Do you think the same Gleaner newspaper should be advising Butch and his Jamaican-based Sandals that “Home Drums Should Beat First”?
    You should be advising the Gleaner to “cuss off” Sandals for investing so much money in the Bajan tourism industry along with Jamaican-grown hotel management skills in the many people expected to be given Bajan work permits.

Do you agree that Butch should be trying to save the Jamaican economy by investing at home instead of helping out ungrateful deceitful places like Bim? After all, it appears that if not for Jamaican Butch Sandals involvement Barbados’s economic ass is grass. Ask Carson Cadogan ,ac and their band of Sandals’ cheerleaders and black political minstrels.

Imagine a country that is so arrogantly cocky to cuss Jamaicans could be brought so low to its knees begging at the doorstep of the same evil wicked criminal-minded inferior incompetent Jamaican people for help?
    The MOU and subsequent concessions granted to Sandals at the serious disadvantage of its own hoteliers say a lot about who is more “uppity powful-foolish”. Jamaicans meddling in Bim’s morality and ‘black’ political business or the Bajan Government’s ass-licking genuflection to a Jamaican- owned hotel chain owned by a white man?
    We wonder what Butch has to say about Pornville’s jingoistic outburst?
    But what can we expect from a man who made his money in the same industry he wants to pretend to be the paragon of virtue in its condemnation other than saying he completely adept at selling his soul to the devil called MONEY?

9. miller you could really hush. This is the month of Independence idiot at least you should close ranks with your fellow Barbadians this month against forces who don’t give a damm about us.

10. I am disappointed at the general reaction to the Gleaner newspaper,a journal of repute and held in high esteem in media circles.I like the fact that this honoured newspaper saw it fit to take up an issue in a sister Caricom state and I hope to see more of this input into each others’ affairs so to speak.I am not interested in any parochial right or wrong.I welcome the views of our regional press in our affairs.I hope to see more of it.Less of the stupid DPLTV and their comic political hacks.More of how our neighbours and brethren see us and relate to us.

11. Seems strange that a government talks in a constant negative light about a newspaper and at first chance talks of getting them for the article and one does not connect the action of the political directorship with that of a supposedly independent agency. I would have to be rather naive to think that there is no connection with the two actions.

12. .Ruffin | November 19, 2013 at 8:58 AM |

miller you could really hush. This is the month of Independence idiot at least you should close ranks with your fellow Barbadians this month against forces who don’t give a damm about us.
    Forces? what forces mate…..like you din hear T’dad has more interest in Bim nowadays than most born locals…..and the CCJ informs… we have made signatory to loose some rights….Ruffin boy, month of independence or not Barbados is not the Barbados of yester-year. By the way we selling off rights to citizenry nowadays so any buckaroo can be a Bajan for a shilling or too….not true?

13. Here is an Editorial which is quick to cast stones at the barbados govt.yet in the meanwhile has closed its eyes to the recent unfolding where the rights of free SPEECh by their govt was denied to gays who seek permission for advertisingviA media outlets both public and Private targeting intolerance against.surely a case of the pot calling the kettle black

14. @ Ruffin | November 19, 2013 at 8:58 AM |

So Ruffian, you want the miller, through arrogant purblind ignorance, to join you in your jingoistic xenophobic nonsense in attacking people because of their opinion of Bajans or they dare express a view on what is going on in Little England? Haven’t you learned any thing from the Shanique Myrie experience?

I am a citizen of World and will NOT join you in unjustifiably attacking other people for expressing an opinion out of pure nationalistic misguided crap. We leave that kind of blind subservience to the Nazis and white supremacists. You can follow suit, if you so wish.

But you need to be given a piece of advice before you go too far.
    Until the following lines from your National Anthem becomes a reality the true meaning of the word “Independence” would continue to ring hollow especially in the ears of those “foreigners” who own and control over 80% of the country’s economic resources while you brainwashed lot continue to mimic the Royal changing of the guard in your local talk shop- the trappings of which the real players in Westminster have long abandoned:

“We loyal sons and daughters all
    Do hereby make it known
    These fields and hills beyond recall
    Are now our very own
    We write our names on history’s page
    With expectations great
    Strict guardians of our heritage
    Firm craftsmen of our fate.”

15. @ ac | November 19, 2013 at 10:41 AM |

Ac, I must commend you for your rarest stroke of luck in winning the lottery of commonsense and perspicacity (if not perspicuity).
    It would be most interesting to find out if the Gleaner had failed to express an enlightened opinion on this most human right issue. But like the Nation newspaper hypocrisy can always be employed in the service of Money.

16. Appears narrow minds like Ross has missed the boat as regards the grandfather, uncle, brother daddies in Jamaica and the small defenseless, innocent children who are regularly sexually exploited by their deviant, disgusting, predator/beasts for their amusement and sexual stimulation, then again Ross, we all know that perverts tend to support perverts.

17. Miller

Of course, in a sense we’re all on the same page on this one. Yet whatever the Gleaner’s opinion it hardly detracts from the substance of its present editorial. The gay issue is a red herring and, besides, we are all very fallible including the three (inclusive) of us. Could we have realistically expected any rag here to publish criticism of Jamaica for its attitude on the issue (well, other than an article by PW)? Think of the attitude of the blessed regional bishops collectively expressed.

18. Well Well

I see you’re as usual fumbling for something to say however mindless.
    Doesn’t all that happen here, poor thing that you are.

19. @ robert ross

“Is this a party political broadcast on behalf of the DLP?”

It certainly reads like one.

@Fair Play

Agreed that the laying of the charges are not politically motivated.
    Agreed that the Nation and Advocate really are rags/tabloids and not serious journalistic endeavours.
    Disagree entirely that the photo and accompanying story are separately or together “PLAIN PORNOGRAPHY!”
    Yes in poor taste and the objective was to sell newspapers and maybe titillate but not for the purpose of sexual arousal.
    Yes the story could have been reported in a more thoughtful, responsible manner but then this is the Nation and par for the course with them.
    No one make us buy their rag.
    PS. “Fair Play” Excellent example of a misnomer.

20. robert ross | November 19, 2013 at 11:49 AM |

Well Well

I see you’re as usual fumbling for something to say however mindless.
    Doesn’t all that happen here, poor thing that you are.

Ross…….i did not want to call you a dummy since you claim to be a lawyer, but i do believe that is the reason for the charges against the sleazy nation newspaper trio, in case you forgot…….THE SEXUAL, PORNOGRAPHIC EXPLOITATION OF MINORS……in saying that, if you were not indeed a dummy you would have figured that in my comment i plainly said that Jamaica has more sexual exploitation and rape of minors than Barbados simply because of the population size, over 2 million people in Jamaica, therefore the Gleaner should not be throwing stones at Barbados because of the size of their GLASS HOUSE, and neither should you Ross, regardless of how perverted you are, your words, not mine, children need to be protected, not hard-back disgusting journalists who see rape and sexual exploitation of children as sensationalism to sell newspapers….or for voyeurs like yourself to feel excited and alive………….hope you got my drift this time.

21. Well Well

Try this.

Sit in front of the mirror. LOOK AT YOURSELF VERY CAREFULLY. Take your finger inside your nose and turn. REMOVE THE FINGER. Contemplate what you see there and try and find a parallel with what you write. OK? Now sod off.

22. Did Donville write this post

Methinks Donville doth protest a tad too much

————————-
    Yaaaaaaaaagga —is right

23. the connection between one freedom of speech and HR violation is “a red herring” according to the ignorant and misinformed Ross as he continues to climb the slipper slope of legal misintrepretation slowly but surely falling into a gallows of misinformation and inaccuracies. the notion that ROSS practice law gives me the creeps.can.t imagine going before a judge and seeking represention from this legal clown

24. theb gleaners fraternal links to the nation are as fellow journalists, its main competitor is jointly owned by butch stewart and one caribbean media.

25. the gleaner is trying to guard against any political interference or pressure being places on any media house in the caribbean. it is position of principle, they have also stated in the article that they do not support the publication of the photo. let us not play on zenophobic feelings or blp vs dlp bull.

i support the gleaner in what they are trying to protect, i do not support what the nation did

26. An indivudal freedom to excerise free speech which underthe constitution in democratic is a “right”which should be of equal importance to the EDITORS OF THE GLEANER and clearly this issue has not beensuch priority given the recnt high court decision to clamp the mouths of gay rights advocate who choose the media to voice their concern and was denied. The editors of the gleaner not only “jump the gun” in their effort to castigate bdos govt but they have opened aa gapping hole of political hypocricy

27. Gabriel | November 19, 2013 at 3:09 PM |
    You mean to say Robert Ross is a moniker for F J Stuart?

ROSS CANT POSSIBLY SO STUPID.

28. Ross gets here on BU and exposed why the legal system is in legal dreadlock.he profess to be a lawyer but seems to know nothing about the law. He goes beyond stupidy putting him in a class all by himself enough to be punished by laughter.

29. AC AC don’t treat that one Rust or Ross with such distain and question his legal abilities, you don’t want to embarrass the writer Ross in such an outright manner as it is indeed Douglas Trotman who is the joker the same joker who requested the position of Ambassador to China, have you ever heard more nonsense and such outlandish behaviour as a person applying for a post of Ambassador?

30. I am not the slightest bit embarrassed by you people who busily cover up your real identities in fancy underwear and rubbish talk. You must be afraid of something. As for the law, male-ac, come and mix it sometime. Oh but you already did in the probate post – and where did it get you? As for the female of the species, stuck as it is in a reus not a rea and busily oozing garbage, the nonsense takes you nowhere and proves nothing other than your total inability to reason under cover of toothless mouthing and usually with a finger up your ass – though I do realize that as monkey that is your role. And as for Rational – yes of course I am Douglas Trotman, and Stuart and Mottley and the whole charabanc….you pathetic bunch of nonentities.

31. Poor Ross………..now you are looking for a playmate, you will not have to look too far, the Roy person from the nation newspaper is on bail, go play with him.

32. robert ross | November 19, 2013 at 8:24 PM |

I am not the slightest bit embarrassed by you people who busily cover up your real identities in fancy underwear and rubbish talk. You must be afraid of something. As for the law, male-ac, come and mix it sometime. Oh but you already did in the probate post – and where did it get you? As for the female of the species, stuck as it is in a reus not a rea and busily oozing garbage, the nonsense takes you nowhere and proves nothing other than your total inability to reason under cover of toothless mouthing and usually with a finger up your ass – though I do realize that as monkey that is your role. And as for Rational – yes of course I am Douglas Trotman, and Stuart and Mottley and the whole charabanc….you pathetic bunch of nonentities.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

Ross how can anybody take you seriously with that gibberish nonsense you wrote, a third grader could do better. make ac wonder if u made it to first grade, seriously it is time turn in your license to the Bar for surely you are in contempt of court ,Did some one called u a Fraud,,, hum .

33. ac

You still up after 8.0? I hope you’re now sleeping. At your age you really do need your rest and your oxygen cylinder. Night night sleepful-baby. No wet dreams mind. OK? Don’t worry, I’ll still be here for you tomorrow.

34. This guy is a leech of the worse kind, he jumped into the Barracks affair trying to extort money from both Al Barracks and also from Gov’t for work never done, one that should be removed from the roll of Lawyers and disbarred, he is nothing but a piss poor lawyer looking for a big payday at someone’s expense that is what Douglas Trotman AKA Robert Ross really is an opportunistic vagabond with no ethical standards.

35. Who cares what the gleaner has to say another rag like the nation. This paper has been in publication for years an just like the Nation is very bias and political. Usually birds of a feather flock to together. not surprised it pull its tail from between its legs stuck its neck out and do a “wukup” on barbados govt…

36. Now to U Rosss…..Good morning Counsellor. after much careful consideration and review i found u gulity of “the abuse of LAW and shotgun approach in our exection thereof However i am going to issue a warning ONLY at this time since your only crime was one of inept self defence and irrationale reasoning and misintrepretations of LAW. Even though u have been found guilty a harder sentence would not be imposed at this time. CASE CLOSED

37. Miller…,Butch wanted barbados for 15 years, at $105.00 to one the hotels, and the gleaner news brek-as-A-whole. in jamaica, Plus butch knows barbados is still 105.00 tkimes more stable than ja: business is business. More Donville are needed in bim right now. Too many smart men like you knocking around.The young boys need to..beat. ..ya.
    cu.’t.

38. I am Barbadian and I commend the Gleaner for defending their fellow journalists. Anything less would make them a disgrace to their industry and profession. This official that retorted by saying the Gleaner should mind its own business needs a lesson in history and diplomacy. What does Jamaica’s ills have to do with the issue at hand? Yes, I do believe the Barbadian government has the right to take action for the journalists’ violation of the law, and certainly the Gleaner is justified and obligated to bring to light what it conciders to be an unjust law and associated punishment. That is and will always be the relationship between journalist and governments in a free society. We need both. Gleaner, stay true, fair, and dignified. Barbadian official, grow up. Good Jamaicans keep up the fight, your nation’s ills will not always be, and that’s for sure.. And to my fellow Barbadians realize that we are slipping fast. The old days and long gone. Hight literacy rates in this day and age is of little bragging rights, Tourism is a dismal business model. Be vigilent of hubris or you will wake up one day wondering what the hell happend.

Leave a comment, join the discussion.